Les Cyclades

Les îles-joyaux au cœur de la mer Égée
View of Oia, Santorini island
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
18°
SAT
20°
SUN
19°
MON
20°
TUE
20°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Les Cyclades: Villages d’un blanc éblouissant, paysages sublimes, plages dorées, eaux claires couleur azur, complexes hôteliers élégants et criques privées

Non loin d’Athènes vous pourrez découvrir les joyaux les plus précieux de la mer Égée: les îles des Cyclades. Le cercle magique autour de Délos sacrée, que les géographes de l'Antiquité ont appelé Cyclades - résultat d’une gigantomachie mythique, mais aussi des éruptions volcaniques et tremblements de terre successifs, forment un groupe  d'îles unique dans le monde. Leurs couleurs sont le bleu et le blanc avec des plages de rêve.

Ces îles de toute taille et même si les ingrédients de leur succès sont les mêmes – une luminosité incomparable, des eaux translucides, des bâtiments blancs lustrés et une roche nue – elles possèdent toutes un caractère différent. Les plus prestigieuses, Mykonos et Santorin, n’ont plus besoin d’être présentées et les îles moins connues, grandes ou petites, sont tout aussi fascinantes. Essayez Syros l’aristocratique, Paros la cosmopolite, Tinos le paradis des sculpteurs, la généreuse et grande île de Naxos, Délos l’historique - mais aussi les «diamants cachés» qui ornent la mer Égée: Kea, Ios, Kythnos, Sifnos, Serifos, Amorgos, Sikinos, Anafi, Folegandros. Que vous voyagiez en famille, avec des amis ou en amoureux, vous trouverez assurément votre paradis sous le soleil des Cyclades.

Découvrez des plages d’une beauté indescriptible aux Cyclades

Quelle serait la plage dont vous rêvez? Une eau bleu turquoise et du sable blanc? Des bars de plage et des sports nautiques? Des rochers pour faire de la plongée sous-marine? Une crique secrète de la mer Égée uniquement accessible à pied ou par bateau? Quelle que soit selon vous la plage idéale, vous la trouverez dans les Cyclades. La première place revient à Mykonos pour son sable doré, ses eaux turquoise et ses hôtels 5 étoiles. Paradise, Super Paradise, Psarou et Elia sont classées dans le top 10 des plus belles plages du monde.

Ensuite il y a Milos la volcanique, avec la plus grande palette de couleurs et de formations rocheuses, comme à Sarakiniko et Kleftiko, et les plages sauvages noire et rouge de Santorin, comme Kamari, Perissa et Perivolos qui vous dévoilent la beauté sauvage des Cyclades. La petite île de Sérifos dispose, sur la quasi-totalité de ses côtes, de très nombreuses plages, tandis qu’Amorgos au relief extrêmement varié mérite parfaitement son nom de «Grande bleue» tiré du célèbre film de Luc Besson tourné notamment à la plage d’Aghia Anna.

Les plages de sable ‘secrètes’ d’Andros comme Ahla et Grias à Pidima reçoivent la palme pour leur photogénie, tout comme celles de Tinos pour leurs galets à Livada et l’immense dune à Pachia Ammos. Pour s’éloigner de tout cela, la petite île de Polyaigos entre Kimolos et Milos et les petites Cyclades, proches de Naxos, regorgent de surprises des mers du sud pour ceux qui viennent en yacht, une destination inexplorée de pure beauté qui se dévoilera devant vous.

Le temps d’une leçon d’histoire indolore

Des siècles de civilisation sont visibles ici, en grande partie sur les sites archéologiques et dans les musées locaux. De l'île de Délos, qui est presque un site archéologique à elle seule, au site préhistorique d'Akrotiri à Santorin, les Cyclades débordent d’attractions majeures: les Kouros de Naxos, l'ancienne Karthea de Kea, le grand sanctuaire orthodoxe de Notre-Dame de Tinos, les églises Ekatontapiliani à Paros et Hozoviotissa à Amorgos, ne sont que quelques-unes parmi les attractions que vous découvrirez au cours de votre voyage dans les Cyclades. Les musées à voir les plus importants: le musée de la Théra préhistorique de Santorin, le musée d’art contemporain et d’archéologie d’Andros, le musée industriel à Ermoupoli sur l’île de Syros, le musée d’archéologie d’Amorgos, les musées minier et d’archéologie de Milos avec la fameuse réplique de la Vénus de Milo, le musée de l’exploitation du marbre à Pyrgos sur l’île de Tinos et les musées vénitien et d’archéologie de Naxos.

De l’action dans un cadre cycladique

Vous recherchez de l’action sur l'eau? Faites de la voile aux Cyclades et découvrez le charme des îles et le contraste cycladique unique de maisons blanches et bleues. Les courtes distances entre les îles offrent de nombreuses options et ainsi on peut mettre les voiles pour une destination différente chaque jour. Faites du kitesurf et de la planche à voile à Paros et découvrez des sports nautiques amusants que vous trouverez dans chacune des îles des Cyclades, grande ou plus petite. Des sentiers de randonnées bien balisés existent sur toutes les îles et en particulier pour les amoureux de la nature à Naxos, Tinos, Amorgos, Syros et Andros. Ils traversent des paysages aux reliefs très divers rendus encore plus intéressants par les châteaux, chapelles, tours en ruine et monuments antiques fréquents. Découvrez-les!

Plaisirs gastronomiques et vins de qualité

Chaque île a ses délices locaux au parfum de la mer Égée. La terre volcanique de Santorin produit d’excellents vins ainsi que de petites tomates délicieuses, des câpres et des aubergines blanches, cultivés sans eau. Sur les autres îles, découvrez: d’excellents fromages tels que le kopanisti épicé et le xinotyro à Mykonos, l’arsèniko à Naxos et le san michali à Tinos, Paros et Syros; la très bonne omelette nommée froutalia à Tinos et Andros; les saucisses et le filet de porc cuit (louza) à Mykonos et Tinos; les pois chiches cuits dans des bols d’argile à Sifnos; et les douceurs telles que le pastelli (barres de sésame) et l’amygdalota (sablés aux amandes écrasées) dans toutes les Cyclades. Ces îles distillent leur propre version d’eau-de-vie, mais le raki de Tinos est considéré comme le plus léger et le plus raffiné, tandis qu’à Amorgos, on boit le rakomélo mélangé à du miel. Pour le dessert, n’oubliez pas les gâteaux au sésame et aux amandes dans différentes variations sur chaque île.

Les principales attractions de Cyclades

  • Santorin: Fira et Oia (prononcer «ia») au coucher du soleil sur l’île de Santorin, ainsi que son volcan et une balade en mer dans la caldeira.
  • Μykonos: Mykonos la cosmopolite, avec ses moulins à vent et sa Petite Venise balayée par les vents.
  • Syros: La majestueuse ville d’Ermoupoli sur l’île de Syros, une des plus imposantes villes que vous rencontrerez aux Cyclades.
  • Andros: La Hora néoclassique d’Andros des armateurs.
  • Serifos: La ville cubiste et escarpée de la Hora sur l’île de Sérifos.
  • Milos: La ville de Plaka sur l’île de Milos avec son château et ses anciennes églises.
  • TinosLe plateau du Volax sur l’île de Tinos avec ses rochers de granit géants.
  • Amorgos: Les villages préservés de Tholaria et Langada sur l’île d’Amorgos.
  • Paros: Le petit port de Naoussa sur l’île de Paros et les villages de montagne tels que Lefkès, Marpissa et Prodromos
Fishing boat on turquase waters on Koufonisi

Vivez le meilleur de Cyclades

Beautiful paved streets, neoclassical buildings and a lively market and shops all testify to Halki’s past as the capital of Naxos

Les villages de montagne à Naxos

Les petits villages de montagne pittoresques de Naxos se tiennent là pour révéler toute l'authenticité de l'île... un pavé à la fois ?
There are plenty beaches to choose from, amongst them the sandy Pano and Kato

Une excursion en bateau à l’évasion naturelle de Polyaigos

Partez à découverte de la plus grande île inhabitée de la mer Egée: non seulement un paysage vierge et des plages parfaites, mais aussi un...
Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Découvrez les routes du vin de Santorin

Comprenant toute l'authenticité d'une île réputée pour son charme cosmopolite, les vineries et les vignobles de Santorin vous permettent de profiter de milliers d'années de...
To meander through the cobblestone streets of Upper Syros (as the name translates) is to uncover the medieval and Catholic character

Une promenade à la magnifique Ano Syros bien préservée

Ville forteresse par excellence, Ano Syros, merveilleusement préservée, vous permet d'explorer un monde d'architecture cycladique et de charme vénitien, ponctué de vues magiques sur le...
A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Découvrez à pieds la Chora de Mykonos

Derrière la beauté de Mykonos, parfaite pour Instagram, bat un cœur authentique et puissant que vous découvrirez avec bonheur
From the beautiful chapel of Agios Konstantinos nearby, you can look out beyond Livadi onto a who’s who of Cycladic islands

Explorez le charme cycladique d’ Hora de Serifos

La ville principale de Serifos est d'une beauté parfaite, des vues sur la mer Égée depuis le sommet du château jusqu'à l'architecture des Cyclades et...
  • Le coucher du soleil depuis Ia, Santorin
  • La petite Venise et les Moulins-à-vent, Mykonos
  • Naoussa, Paros
  • L’ancienne Portara, Naxos
  • Sarakiniko, Milos
  • Ermoupolis, Syros
Highlights

Îles des cyclades

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
plongée souterraine

Plongée: les destinations les plus populaires en Grèce

Planche à voile, kite surf, wakeboard, ski nautique: aux amateurs des sports nautiques, la Grèce sait comment leurs offrir des émotions
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

Destinations populaires pour des expériences de voile dans la mer Égée

Naviguer sur la mer Égée au choix d’îles et d’îlots innombrables et aux expériences uniques. Faites-en la découverte à l’aide du vent, sur votre voilier
Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Vacances en Grèce: Les ingrédients pour un séjour idéal

Plus de 200 îles magiques, un continent montagneux, des villes festives et un paradis gastronomique réunis en un seul pays.

Cyclades

The crown jewels of the Aegean
View of Oia, Santorini island
Scroll
Today
10°
FRI
11°
SAT
11°
SUN
15°
MON
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Cyclades: Dazzling white villages, golden beaches and clear azure water are just the start of what these islands have to offer

Within easy reach of Athens, these are the Aegean’s most precious gems. Ancient Greek geographers gave this unique cluster of islands the name Cyclades because they saw that they formed a circle (kyklos) of sorts around the sacred island of Delos. According to myth, the islands were the debris that remained after a battle between giants. In reality, they resulted from colossal geological events like earthquakes and volcanic eruptions. 

Their colours are blue and white like the Greek flag. The islands come in all sizes and, though the ingredients are the same – incomparable light, translucent water, heavenly beaches, lustrous white buildings and bare rock, each one has its own distinct character. The group’s stars, Mykonos and Santorini, need no introduction but the lesser-known islands, big and small, are just as rewarding. For starters, try aristocratic Syros, cosmopolitan Paros, the sculptors’ paradise of Tinos, bountiful Naxos, exotic Milos and historic Delos, not to mention the ‘hidden gems’ that adorn the Aegean, such as Tzia/Kea, Kythnos, Sifnos, Serifos, Amorgos, Sikinos, Anafi and Folegandros. Whether you’re travelling with your family, friends or sweetheart, you’re bound to find your summer paradise in the sun in the Cyclades.

Beaches of indescribable beauty in the Cyclades 

What’s your idea of the perfect beach? Green-blue water and white sand? Beach bars and water sports? Framed by rocks for snorkelling and scuba diving? A secret Aegean cove accessible only on foot or by boat? No matter what your ideal is, you’ll find it in the Cyclades. First stop: Mykonos with its extra golden sand, turquoise water and 5-star facilities. Paradise, Super Paradise, Psarou and Elia, all rank in the top 10 beaches worldwide.

Next comes volcanic Milos, with the biggest range of colours and rock formations, such as at Sarakiniko and Kleftiko, and Santorini’s black and red beaches like Kamari, Perissa and Perivolo that reveal the wild beauty of the Cyclades. Small Serifos is ringed with beaches, while rugged Amorgos can claim the ‘Big Blue’ at Agia Anna beach, where Luc Besson shot his seminal movie about testing the limits of man. Andros’ ‘secret’ sandy beaches, like Ahla and Grias to Pidima, win rave reviews for being extra photogenic, as does Tinos for the round boulders at Livada and the enormous dune at Pachia Ammos (Fat Sand). For getting away from it all, both tiny Polyaigos, between Kimolos and Milos, and the Lesser Cyclades, near Naxos, offer unexplored destinations of raw beauty, for those who come by yacht.

Time for a painless history lesson

Thousands of years of civilisation evolved here in the Cyclades, much of it visible in local archaeological sites and museums. You’ll see its mystique encapsulated on the whole island of Delos and within Santorini’s Akrotiri, the Minoan Pompei. It is also present in the two colossal horizontal statues lying on Naxos and in Kea’s ancient Karthaia. Virtually every island has at least one ancient ruin. While beautiful, typically Cycladic churches exist on every island, the most visited are the 19th century Panagia on Tinos, the early Byzantine Ekatontapyliani on Paros, and the 11th century Hozoviotissa monastery on Amorgos. The best museums to visit are Santorini’s Prehistoric Thera Museum;  Andros’ Contemporary Art and Archaeology Museum; the Industrial Museum at Syros’ Ermoupoli; Amorgos’ Archaeology Museum; Milos’ museums of Mining and Archaeology, with a copy of the famous Venus de Milo; Tinos’ Museum of Marble Crafts at Pyrgos  and the Archaeology and Venetian museums on Naxos.

Action against a Cycladic backdrop

Known for the iconic blues and whites of their villages and their stunning beaches, the Cycladic islands also  deserve worldwide renown for what their crystalline waters and rugged  shorelines offer to sailors and sea lovers. Are you looking for action on the water? From the private coves of the Lesser Cyclades, to wind and kite-surfing on Paros, and fun-filled watersports, there are options for everyone. On land, discover the well-marked hiking trails that exist on all the islands, especially Naxos, Tinos, Amorgos, Syros and Andros. They cross rugged landscapes made all the more enchanting by castles, chapels, ruined towers and temples shrouded in the mysteries of the ages.

Gourmet treats and superior wines

Every island specialises in a local treat with the distinctive flavour of the Aegean. Santorini’s volcanic soil produces exceptional wines and extra delicious small tomatoes, capers, white aubergines, grown without water. On the other islands, look for wonderful cheeses like spicy kopanisti and xinotyro on Mykonos, arseniko on Naxos, San Michali on Tinos, Paros and Syros. The rich omelette called froutalia on Tinos and Andros, sausages and cured pork fillet (louza) on Mykonos and Tinos, clay-pot chickpeas on Sifnos, and sweets like pastelli (sesame bars) and amygdalota (crushed almond shortbread) on all the islands. All the islands also distill their own versions of firewater but Tinos’ raki is thought to be more refined and lighter, while on Amorgos they drink rakomelo, raki mixed with honey.

The most significant sights in the Cyclades

  • Santorini: Santorini’s Fira and Oia at sunset and the majesty of the caldera.
  • MykonosCosmopolitan Mykonos, with its windmills and wave-lashed Little Venice
  • Syros: Stately Ermoupoli on Syros, one of the most regal settlements in the Cyclades.
  • Andros: The shipowners’ neoclassical Andros town.
  • Serifos: The steep cubist Hora of Serifos.
  • MilosMilos’ Plaka with its castle and old churches.
  • TinosThe Volax plateau on Tinos with its giant granite boulders.
  • AmorgosThe unspoilt villages of Tholaria and Langada on Amorgos.
  • ParosThe little port of Naoussa on Paros and the island’s mountain villages like Lefkes, Marpissa and Prodromos.
Fishing boat on turquase waters on Koufonisi

Experience the best of Cyclades

Beautiful paved streets, neoclassical buildings and a lively market and shops all testify to Halki’s past as the capital of Naxos

Mountain village hopping in Naxos

The quaint little mountain settlements of Naxos stand ready to reveal all the authenticity of the
There are plenty beaches to choose from, amongst them the sandy Pano and Kato

A boat trip to the natural escape of Polyegos

Discover the largest uninhabited island in the Aegean: Not just a virgin landscape of pristine
  • Sunset ritual, Santorini
  • Little Venice and the windmills, Mykonos
  • Naoussa, Paros
  • Archaia Portara, Naxos
  • Sarakiniko, Milos
  • Ermoupoli, Syros
Landmarks

Little Venice on MYkonos_edit

Mykonos

An island legend where luxury finds its natural home
View of Oia

Santorini

An island-volcano embraced by the Aegean sea
Naoussa's tiny harbour with restaurants, bars and the old castle

Paros

A cycladic dream in the middle of the Aegean

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

What better way to see the Aegean than by boat? All you have to do is decide which islands to hop to and which unexplored bays to anchor in
Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Holidays in Greece: Ingredients of a dream vacation

Over 200 magical islands, a mountainous mainland, fun-loving cities and a foodie’s paradise all rolled into one
Fakistra beach, where some scenes from the movie Mamma Mia! were filmed here

Authentic beach holidays in Greece

Traditional seaside villages and cobblestone streets, regional flavours and smiling locals: a genuine Greek welcome for your summer holidays