Lune imbécile sur l'île de Naxos, Cyclades
COVER STORY

Cyclades: Un régal parmi les Cyclades

sponsored by Region of South Aegean
READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour manger une tranche de pastèque

Préparez vos valises, vous allez voyager d’île en île ! Vous partez pour Naxos, vibrante et accueillante, la porte d’entrée parfaite des Cyclades… Amorgos, domaine du Grand Bleu, et puis les petites Cyclades : les îles aux noms étranges de Koufonissia, Donoussa, Iraklia et Schinoussa, avec leur excellente nourriture, leur fin sable blanc et leurs eaux peu profondes qui donnent à la mer des nuances de rêve en vert et en bleu.

Aiguisez votre appétit à Naxos

Naxos sait comment choyer ses invités. À votre arrivée en bateau, vous serez accueilli par l’ancienne Portara (la porte qui ressemble au logo de National Geographic), au-delà de laquelle se trouvent une infinité de plages sur lesquelles profiter du soleil. Depuis les plages organisées d’Agia Anna et d’Agios Prokopios aux petits bijoux que sont Aliko et Panormos, il est si facile de passer une journée au bord de la mer ! Après tout, les habitants de Naxos sont aussi décontractés que les Kouroi emblématiques – les statues colossales, à moitié achevées, d’hommes couchés sur le dos au même endroit depuis des siècles.

On vous accueillera à bras ouverts et avec une assiette pleine – dans toute la Grèce, on connaît les fromages de l’île (graviera, arseniko, myzithra et xynotiri) et ses pommes de terre (dues à un sol riche en potassium). Et le miel… si vous en rapportez chez vous, vous emporterez aussi dans vos bagages le thym, la bruyère, la sauge, l’origan et les fleurs sur lesquels les abeilles ont butiné.

Mais votre visite ne doit pas se limiter à la haute saison estivale. La magnifique vallée de Tragaia , avec sa douzaine de charmants villages, plus de trente églises byzantines et un accès facile à l’aéroport, vous offre de nombreuses possibilités pour des séjours sur l’île.

Vacances à Naxos

Halki medieval village, untouched by time

Le charme irrésistible d’Amorgos

Après les fromages et les pommes de terre de Naxos, vous voudrez peut-être un peu d’exercice. Dès que vous arriverez à Amorgos (à environ 75 minutes de là en ferry), mettez-vous en route pour le monastère de Panagia Hozoviotissa, incroyablement haut et fin, qui s’accroche à la paroi rocheuse. Vous comprendrez immédiatement pourquoi Le Grand Bleu a été filmé ici, avec la vue indescriptible qui vous charmera.

Les lieux de baignade abondent. Outre les plages principales de Katapola et d’Aigiali, vous trouverez la plage de sable d’Agios Pavlos et la tranquille Fokiotrypa au nord, Kalotaritsa au sud, et bien d’autres encore.

Vous serez fasciné par les vestiges des cités-États d’Arkesinide Minoa et d’Aigiali. Il y a aussi un château du 13e siècle. Mais consacrez un peu de temps à la dégustation du patatato – de la viande de chèvre cuite dans une sauce tomate, avec des pommes de terre et le célèbre raki chaud, qui rappelle le schnaps. Vous ne serez pas déçu!

Mettez les voiles pour Amorgos

Two slices of heaven on Koufonisia

Nous ne partons pas pour un coin de paradis, mais pour deux : les îles paradisiaques de Koufonissia. À 40 minutes à peine de Naxos, ces îles font partie de ce que l’on appelle les «petites Cyclades». En effet, Ano (Haute) Koufonissi, qui est habitée, possède la plus petite circonférence des Cyclades. Et pourtant, elle produit toujours son effet.

Le sable doré et les eaux bleu-vert attirent les connaisseurs depuis longtemps. Vous comprendrez rapidement pourquoi en allant voir les plages de FinikasFanosItalida et Pori.

Koufonissia est d’une simplicité irrésistible, avec une seule localité : hora. Mais vous n’en voudrez pas plus. Les habitants sont aussi fiers de leur île et accueillants que vous pourriez l’imaginer.

Prêt pour un tour au paradis?

The arch on Kasteli Beach in Kato Koufinisi

Donoussa, Iraklia et Schinoussa

Pour le bouquet final, nous nous rendons à Donoussa, Iraklia et Schinoussa, à 1h-1h30 de Naxos, qui appartiennent aussi aux petites Cyclades. Avec moins de 1000 habitants répartis entre elles, elles n’en réussissent pas moins à trouver leur propre identité.

Si vous faites le tour de Donoussa en caïque, vous adorerez les grottes marines – tout comme les phoques moines qui y trouvent refuge. Quant à la baie paradisiaque de Kedros, avec ses cèdres, son sable doré et ses eaux bleues, elle vous laissera un souvenir d’autant plus mémorable que vous pourrez y voir une ancienne épave allemande.

Iraklia est une île de collines, avec le rocher vertical de Merichas , haut de 100 m., parfait pour abriter les nids de nombreux oiseaux rares. On y trouve aussi les superbes grottes d’Agios Ioannis Prodomos, avec d’impressionnantes stalactites et stalagmites.

Enfin, direction Schinoussa. On y produit d’excellents haricots verts, des concombres, des melons, des tomates, des aubergines, des figues et bien plus encore, mais c’est avec leur fava (pois cassés jaunes) que les habitants ont gagné la reconnaissance internationale.

Faites le tour des petites Cyclades

Kedros brach from above on Donousa

Naxos, Amorgos, Les petites Cyclades

Un régal parmi les Cyclades

Des bras accueillants de Naxos au charme d’Amorgos, sans compter la simplicité et le naturel des petites Cyclades… voilà une aventure qui satisfera votre appétit, mais qui vous fera en même temps souhaiter que ce voyage ne s’achève jamais!

En savoir plus

Réservez votre voyage

the-highlights-of-milos-private-day-tour-logo
Private

The Highlights of Milos Private Day Tour

8 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
69 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 48 hours in advance for a full refund
A special day tour to discover the incredible volcanic island of Milos, one of the most beautiful places on earth.

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Mylopotas is the best-known beach in Ios

8 des meilleures plages à Ios

The blue and green of the sea at Pano Koufonisi's Ammos beach is mesmerising

8 des meilleures plages des îles Koufonisia

Mikri Vigla is one of Naxos’ standout beaches where you’ll find many water sport options

10 des meilleures plages à Naxos

chora

8 des meilleures activités à faire à Sifnos

Mersini in one of Schinoussa’s most beautiful beaches

7 des meilleures activités à faire à Schinoussa

Village on Iraklia island

9 des meilleures choses à faire à Iraklia

Spring is a beautiful season to visit Monodendri and other Zagori villages

12 inoubliables activités à faire à Zagori

The amphitheatrically built Old Town of Skopelos

9 des meilleures activités à faire à Skopelos, l'île de Mamma Mia en Grèce

Fine white sand and shallow water greet you at Fanaraki beach in Lemnos

10 des meilleures plages à Lemnos

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 bâtiments historiques à Athènes pour les amoureux de l'architecture

Aegina harbor

14 des meilleures activités à faire à Égine

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

12 des plus beaux glaciers d’Athènes

Fool moon on Naxos Island
COVER STORY

Island-hopping from Naxos in the Cyclades

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a slice of watermelon

Pack well, you’re off-island hopping! You’re heading to Naxos, vibrant and welcoming, but also the perfect gateway to the Cyclades… to Amorgos, the island of the Big Blue, and on top Small Cyclades – the intriguingly named Koufonisia isles and on to Donousa, Iraklia and Schinoussa, with wonderful food, fine white sand and shallow waters that turn the sea all manner of dreamy blues and greens.

Whetting your appetite in Naxos

Naxos knows how to treat its guests. Arriving by ship, you’re greeted by the ancient Portara (the one that looks like that National Geographic logo), after which there’s a litany of beaches to worship the sun on. 

From organised Agia Anna and Agios Prokopios, to the smaller gems of Aliko and Panormos, spending a day by sea comes so easily here. After all, Naxians are as laid back as the iconic Kouroi – the colossal, half-finished statues of men that have been resting on their backs in the same spot on the island for centuries. 

You’ll be welcome with open arms and a full plate – the island’s cheeses (graviera, arseniko, myzithra and xynotiri) and potatoes (thanks to the potassium-rich soil) are famed around Greece. And the honey… well, if you take some home you’ll also be packing the thyme, heather, sage, oregano and spring flowers on which the bees feed. 

And nor should your visit be limited to high summer. The picturesque Tragaia valley, with its dozen delightful villages and more than 30 Byzantine churches, and easy airport access, give you plenty of island break options.

Let Naxos show you the way

Halki medieval village, untouched by time

The irresistible charm of Amorgos

You’ll want to work off those cheeses and potatoes from Naxos. So as soon as you’ve arrived on Amorgos (around 75 minutes by ferry), it’s up to the impossibly tall and thin Panagia Hozoviotissa monastery, that clings dramatically to the rock face. You’ll instantly understand why the Big Blue was filmed here with a view that charms you beyond words.

Swimming options abound - beyond the main beaches of Katapolas and Aigiali, to sandy Agios Pavlos and tranquil Fokiotrypa to the north, or Kalotaritsa to the south… and so on.

The remains of the city states of ArkesiniMinoa and Aigiali are fascinating, and there’s a 13th-century castle, but save some time to sample potato – honey-baked goat’s meat cooked in tomato sauce with potatoes and the trademark schnapps-like toasted raki. You won’t be disappointed.

Set sail to Amorgos

Two slices of heaven on Koufonisia

We’re moving on to not just one slice of paradise but two – the heavenly Koufonisia isles. As little as 40 minutes from Naxos, the islands belong to the so-called Small Cyclades. Indeed, the inhabited Ano (Upper) Koufonisi is the smallest in circumference of all the Cyclades isles. But it still manages to pack a punch.

The golden sands and blue-green waters have long lured those in the know. Just check out FinikasFanosItalida and Pori beaches and you’ll understand why.

There’s an irresistible simplicity about Koufonisia, with only one settlement, hora. But that’s all you need. The locals here are as house-proud and welcoming as you’d expect.

Ready for a spin in paradise?

The arch on Kasteli Beach in Kato Koufinisi

Donousa, Iraklia & Schinoussa

For a final flourish, we move on to Donousa, Iraklia, Schinousa – between 1-1.2hrs from Naxos and also members of the Small (or Lesser) Cyclades. With fewer than 1,000 inhabitants between them, they still manage to find their own identities.

As you circumnavigate Donousa on a caique, you’ll adore the sea caves – as do the monk seals who take refuge here. And the heavenly bay of Kedros, cedars, golden sand and blue waters is made more memorable by the German shipwreck found there.

Iraklia is an island of rolling hills, with the 100m vertical rock of Merihas the perfect nesting site for many a rare bird. It also has the beautiful caves of Agios Ioannis Prodomos, with impressive stalactites and stalagmites.

And finally to Schinoussa. Here, beyond the delicious produce of green beans cucumbers, melons, tomatoes, aubergines, figs and more, the islanders have won international recognition with prize-winning fava (split yellow peas).

Take a tour of the Lesser Cyclades

Kedros brach from above on Donousa

Naxos, Amorgos, the Small Cyclades

A tasting menu of islands in the Cyclades

From the welcoming arms of Naxos, to the charm of Amorgos, and simplicity and natural beauty of the Small Cyclades… an island hopping adventure that both satisfies your appetite and leaves you yearning for your journey to never end.

Learn more

Plan your trip

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 steps to uncovering the authenticity of Tinos

Fyropotamos, a seaside settlement with a tiny sandy beach

8 reasons why Milos is out of this world

Miaouli Square with its grand Town Hall, palm trees and cafes and shops

8 highlights to light up your holiday on Syros

Bazeos tower, one of the most well-known monuments of Naxos

8 reasons to make you visit Naxos again and again

Scuba cave diving

5 popular scuba diving destinations in Greece

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout