Каламата

«Хозяйка» Мессинии
Kalamata has everything you need for a delightful day at the beach
Scroll
Сегодня
12°
FRI
13°
SAT
12°
SUN
13°
MON
16°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
У подножия могучего Тайгета, в объятиях Мессинийского залива Каламата приглашает вас пожить в её ритме

До Каламаты можно добраться машиной или самолётом. Перед тем, как покинуть её и отправиться в Мани, окунитесь в её очарование. Гора Тайгет величаво возвышается над ней. Море сверкает у её ног. Пляж её бесконечен. Её ритм увлечёт вас:  современные кафе, пляжные бары, рестораны, роскошные гостиницы, магазины, исторические здания, порт, бурная ночная жизнь. Здесь всё кипит энергией, поскольку «хозяйка» Мессинии, рождённая в благодатном крае, понимает толк в хорошей жизни... Добро пожаловать в Каламату!

Стоит увидеть в Каламате

Самый красивый пляж под сенью горы Тайгет

Гуляя часами босиком по песку, вы отдадитесь очарованию этого бесконечного пляжа, который простирается на 5 км от Верги и до порта Каламаты. Жизнь здесь «кипит» целый день: большие гостиничные комплексы, многолюдные пляжные бары, дизайнерские кафе, таверны и маленькие закусочные; здесь есть все виды водного спорта и луна-парк. Скучать вряд ли придётся, здесь можно найти всё, что необходимо для пляжного отдыха и прогулок по набережной.

Летайте наслаждаться всем, что дарит Каламата, самолетами Aegean.

Город с тысячами лиц

У Каламаты не одно лицо, а тысяча. И стоит узнать их все. Крепостные сооружения, монастырь Калогрион, где до сих пор делают известные каламатовские платки, Фестиваль танца, который вызывает интерес у всего европейского юга, неоклассические особняки, площади с церквушками 19 века, брендовые магазины одежды и аксессуаров, картинные галереи, традиционные кафе.  Этот город на Пелопоннесе обязательно удивит вас!

Ночная дольче вита в Каламате

Каждый вечер Каламата преображается. Сверкающие огни, громкая музыка, шикарные наряды, громкий гул моторов машин, и занавес ночной жизни в самом сердце Пелопоннеса открывается. Воспользуйся этой возможностью и насладиться ей вволю... Вы не вернётесь в гостиницу до утра! Так развлекается Каламата!

По тропинкам города и времени

Откройте для себя историю города, которая спрятана в каждой улице, в каждом здании. Везде в Каламате вы встретите достопримечательности. Притягивает взгляды церковь Ипапандис с колокольнями и серебряными куполами. Севернее храма, на улице Александраки, находится государственная Консерватория. На пересечении улиц Кириаку и Святого Иоанна расположено здание неоклассического стиля, в котором находится интересный историко-этнографический музей. Южнее – площадь Офонос, где когда-то был рынок.

На улице Папазоглу, ещё один неоклассический особняк, в стенах которога находится Археологический музей Каламаты. На площади 23-го Марта расположена историческая церковь Святых Апостолов – это символ города. Церковь была построена в Византийский период. С каждым шагом перед вами оживает история.

Поезд идет ... в Железнодорожный парк

В одном из первых тематических парков Греции можно услышать свисток приближающегося поезда. Паровозы, дизели, пассажирские и грузовые вагоны разных типов, двухэтажное здание вокзала – всё здесь погружает вас в атмосферу ретро. Вы увидите водонапорную башню с каменным цилиндрическим основанием, пассажирские платформы и металлический пешеходный мост длиной 28 метров.

Прогулка по Мессини

Город Мессини находится на небольшом расстоянии от крупнейшего песчаного пляжа Мессинийского залива. Центр города, окруженный десятками ресторанов, кафе, тавернами и магазинами, впечатляет своим парком с большими деревьями, фонтанами и старыми городскими часами.

История и культура древнего города Мессини

Всего в 30 км от Каламаты вы можете посетить один из самых значительных по размеру и форме городов древности, находящихся на Пелопоннесе. Древняя Мессини начала свою историю с 4 века до н.э. Здесь расположены древние храмы, жилища, оборонные укрепления и административные здания, которые сохранились в хорошем состоянии.

Помимо всего прочего вы увидите оборонные укрепления 3 века до н.э. с возвышающимися Аркадийскими Воротами с их восемью башнями, общественные здания, рыночную площадь, храм Артемиды Фосфору или Ортияс, Стадион, Героон, Театр, Источник и жилища. Летом 2013 года прошло торжественное открытие древнего театра Мессини, который снова стал действовать и принимать участие в культурной программе округа.

Скрытые сокровища Каламаты

Каламатовский платок

Это местное народное искусство. Часто упоминаемые в греческих песнях каламатовские платки продолжают создавать на старинных ткацких станках и сегодня. Приобрести их вы сможете в магазинах, расположенных вокруг церкви Ипапандис. И знайте, настоящий каламатовский платок всегда одного цвета.

Район Папломатадика в Каламате

Мощенные камнем улочки и площади, традиционные кофейни, маленькие магазинчики, таверны и закусочные – все это находится рядом друг с другом. Насладитесь прогулкой по этому месту - самому оживлённому району исторического центра города Каламата.

Арочные улочки

Спускаясь вниз по улице Аристоменус, обязательно пройдитесь под арочными сводами Лонду и Варвуцы, которые всегда переполнены людьми, сидящими за столиками местных кафе. 

Seaside horse ride activity close to Kalamata city

Лучшее в Каламата

The first monument as you enter is the theatre, built in 3-2BC and regarded as one of the greatest examples of its kind

Древняя Мессиния - археологический памятник на юго-западе Пелопонесса

Это один из наиболее впечатляющих и хорошо сохранённых памятников древности на территории Греции. Древняя Мессиния похожа своим великолепием на Дельфийский археологический памятник, а по...
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

По оливковым садам Мессинии

Откройте для себя Мессинию, живописный район на юго-западе Пелопонесса, знакомясь с его самым известным продуктом – насыщенным оливковым маслом золотого оттенка.
  • По тропинкам города и времени
  • Поезд идет ... в Железнодорожный парк
  • История и культура древнего города Мессини
  • Арочные улочки
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Походы в Греции: популярные маршруты

Открывая секреты Греции: лучшие направления Для спорта в горах
Весна на острове Санторини

Греция Весной, Греческая природа во всей своей красе

Теплый климат, цветущая природа, особые обычаи. Весна в Греции дарит впечатления, которые нельзя упустить
Деревья с золотыми листьями на осень в Valia Κalda

Осенний отдых в Греции

Kalamata

The enticing seaside city that dances to a different tune
Kalamata has everything you need for a delightful day at the beach
Scroll
Today
16°
MON
17°
TUE
17°
WED
16°
THU
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Between the peaks of Mt Taygetos and the Gulf of Messinia, Kalamata has developed a cult following by those who have discovered it

Arriving in Kalamata by plane or car, you may well be on your way to Mani, but why not stay a while and get caught up in its charms? Magnificent Mt Taygetos towers above a city that boasts modern cafes, beach bars, restaurants, hotels, markets, historic buildings, a port, a summer dance festival and a pulsating nightlife. The capital of Messinia, in the blessed land of the Peloponnese, knows just how to enjoy itself.

What to do in Kalamata

An endless beach with limitless possibilities

Walking barefoot in the sand will give you plenty of time to appreciate Kalamata’s seemingly endless beach, stretching 5km from Verga to the port of Kalamata. Bustling with life are major hotels, busy beach bars, designer cafes, tavernas and ouzeries, water sports and funfairs – everything you need for a delightful day at the beach.

The city of a thousand faces

There are so many sides to Kalamata and it is worth getting to know them all. Check out the fortified castle from the Middle Ages, the renowned dance festival that attracts fans from all over Europe, the nunnery where traditional handkerchiefs are still made by hand, neoclassical buildings, 19th-century churches, fashion boutiques, art shops and traditional cafes. This city in the Peloponnese is chock full of surprises!

Dolce vita after sundown

Kalamata really dresses up for a night out. Bright lights, dance music, chic gatherings, racing engines and the curtain rises for the evening’s entertainment in the heart of the Peloponnese. Grab the opportunity and carpe noctem. You won’t get back to the hotel before the cocks crow.

Tracking down history, a step at a time

Discover the city’s history, imprinted on every street and building. You’ll come across sights and attractions everywhere in Kalamata. You could start with the church of Ypapanti, which stands out in town with its belfries and silver domes. North of the church is the Municipal Odeon on Alexandraki Street. At the corner of Kyriakou and Agiou Ioannou streets, a neoclassical building houses the interesting Historical and Folk Museum. 

Further south, Othon Square used to be the site of the central market. The Municipal Gallery, in another neoclassical building, is on Papazoglou Street, almost directly across from the town’s Archaeological Museum. In March 23rd Square you’ll find the historic church of Agii Apostoli, which was built around a much older Byzantine church. Every step has a story.

Blowing the whistle on... The Railway Museum

One of Greece’s first theme parks, its steam locomotives, diesel engines, passenger and freight cars and two-storey central station building make it a treat for kids of ALL ages! You will also see a water tower with a cylindrical stone base, embarkation platforms and a 28m-long metallic foot-bridge. 

Branching out to Messini

This town west of Kalamata has the advantage of being a stone’s throw from the longest beach on the Gulf of Messini. Besides that, it boasts a pretty park with tall trees, fountains and an old clock tower, ringed with dozens of restaurants, grill houses, cafes and attractive shops. 

Ancient Messene, a ‘brand new’ archaeological site

Just 30km north of Kalamata, the city of Messene, founded in the 4th century BC, is becoming one of the most exciting archaeological sites in Greece. Noteworthy for its outstanding perimeter walls erected in the 3rd century BC, its massive Arcadian gate and eight surviving towers, Messene was little more than a green valley before its secrets began to be unearthed as recently as 40 years ago.

Since then, however, important remains have kept coming to light – temples, houses, walls and public buildings – in excellent condition. Now you can walk freely among them and feel like a true citizen as you visit the Agora, the Temple of Artemis Orthia, the Stadium and Heroon, the fountain and various dwellings. What’s more, the ancient theatre has been restored and opened for performances in the summer of 2013.

Hidden gems of Kalamata

The Kalamata kerchief

The local craft. Richly commemorated in Greek songs, the kerchiefs are still made on hand-operated looms. You can find them in the shops around the church of Ypapandi. But be warned, the genuine article is NOT multi-coloured.

Paplomatadika of Kalamata

This is one of the most exciting parts of the city’s historic centre, full of traditional cafes, hole-in-the-wall shops, ouzeries and grills lining the cobblestone streets of Kalamata.

Secret arcades

As you walk down Aristomenous Street, make sure you duck into the Londos and Varvoutsis arcades, which are full of people and places to eat.

Seaside horse ride activity close to Kalamata city

Experience the best of Kalamata

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata

Whatever the season, whatever your tastes, Kalamata is a city in the Peloponnese’s Messinian Gulf that has it all.
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, in the southwest Peloponnese, through its most famous product… luscious, golden, extra-virgin olive oil.
The first monument as you enter is the theatre, built in 3-2BC and regarded as one of the greatest examples of its kind

Unearthing Ancient Messene in the southwestern Peloponnese

One of Greece’s best-preserved archaeological sites, Ancient Messene combines the grandeur of Delphi with the natural beauty of Olympia.
  • Tracking down history, a step at a time
  • The Railway Museum
  • Ancient Messene
  • Secret arcades
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

5 popular routes for trekking in Greece

If you love hiking through nature, Greece has everything you could want.
Mastic tree

Greek produce, nature’s generous bounty

Fresh fish and seafood, delicious cheeses, local produce and, of course, wonderful olive oil
Springtime on the island of Santorini

Spring holidays in Greece

Warm weather, nature in full bloom and unique customs… Spring in Greece is a celebration not to be missed