Kalamata

Die gastgeberin von Messenien
Kalamata has everything you need for a delightful day at the beach
Scroll
Heute
26°
TUE
24°
WED
23°
THU
24°
FRI
25°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Zwischen den Gipfeln des Taygetos und dem Golf von Messenien tanzt Kalamata zu ihrer eigenen Melodie und lädt Sie ein mit zu tanzen!

Sie können entweder mit dem  Flugzeug oder Auto mit dem Auto nach  Kalamata kommen, Vielleicht befinden Sie  auf dem Weg nach Mani, aber ein Zwischenstopp in dieser charmanten Stadt lohnt sich. Herrschaftlich thront der Berg Taygetos über der Stadt mit den unendlichen Stränden. Kalamata hat viele moderne Cafés, Strandbars, Restaurants, schöne Hotels, Märkte, historische Gebäude, einen Hafen, ein Sommertanzfestival und ein pulsierendes Nachtleben. Kalamata, die Hauptstadt von Messenien liegt in einer reich gesegneten Landschaft von dem Pelepones und weiß, wie man sich amüsieren kann.

Besichtigen Sie in Kalamata

Ein endloser Strand mit grenzenlosen Möglichkeiten

Bei einem Spaziergang durch den warmen Sand können Sie den 5 km langen Strand von Verga bis nach Kalamata am besten genießen. Voller Leben sind die großen Hotels, quirligen Strandbars, Designer-Cafés, Tavernen und Ouzerien, Wassersport- und Vergnügungsparks: Alles, was Sie für einen schönen Tag am Strand brauchen..

Um alles, was Kalamata zu bieten hat zu genießen, fliegen mit Aegean.

Die Stadt der tausend Gesichter

Kalamata ist vielseitig und es lohnt sich für Sie, jede Seite kennenzulernen. Dazu gehören: Eine ummauerte Burg aus dem Mittelalter, ein Festival, das Fans in ganz Europa hat, ein Kloster, das immer noch traditionelle, handgemachte Taschentücher herstellt, neoklassizistische Gebäude, Kirchen aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, Modeboutiquen, Kunstläden und traditionelle Cafés. Diese Stadt des Pelepones hält einige Überraschungen für Sie bereit.

Dolce vita, sobald die Sonne untergeht

Kalamata putzt sich für die Nacht heraus. Helle Lichter, laute Musik, schicke Ensembles, summende Motoren und Vorhang auf, das Entertainment kann beginnen. Nutzen Sie die Gelegenheit und carpe noctem. Erst wenn der erste Hahn kräht, geht es zurück ins Hotel.

Ein Spaziergang durch die Zeit

Entdecken Sie die Geschichte der Stadt, die in jeder Straße und jedem Gebäude sichtbar ist. Sehenswürdigkeiten sind in der ganzen Stadt verteilt. Beginnen Sie den Spaziergang mit der Kirche Ypapanti, die mit ihrem Glockenturm und den silbernen Kuppeln heraussticht. Nördlich der Kirche ist die Musikhochschule Odeon auf der Alexandraki-Straße.

An der Ecke Kyriakou- und Agiou Ioannou-Straße liegt das neoklassizistische Gebäude, das ein interessantes Geschichts- und Volksmuseum beherbergt. Weiter südlich am Platz Othon, fand einst der zentrale Markt statt. Die Stadtgalerie in einem anderen neoklassizistischen Gebäude ist auf der Papazoglou-Straße, fast direkt gegenüber vom Archäologischen Museum. Auf dem Platz des 23. März steht die historische Kirche von Agio Apostoli, die um eine viel ältere, byzantinische Kirche herum erbaut wurde. Jeder Schritt hat eine Geschichte.

Nächste Haltestelle... Das Eisenbahnmuseum

Hier können Sie den Zug fast noch pfeifen hören. In einem der ersten Vergnügungsparks des Landes warten Dampflokomotiven, Dieselmotoren, Personen- und Güterwagen und das zweistöckige Gebäude des Hauptbahnhofes; alles hat die Aura einer längst vergangenen Zeit. Hier stehen auch ein Wasserturm mit einem zylinderförmigen Steinsockel, Bahnsteige und eine 28 m lange Besucherbrücke aus Metall. Kinder lieben das Museum.

Ein Spaziergang durch Messini

Diese Stadt westlich von Kalamata hat den Vorteil, nur einen Katzensprung von dem längsten Strand am Golf von Messenien entfernt zu liegen. Außerdem gibt es einen schönen Park mit hohen Bäumen, Brunnen und einer alten Turmuhr, viele Restaurants, Grillhäuser, Cafés und attraktive Geschäfte.

Das antike Messinia, eine „brandneue“ archäologische Stätte

Nur 30 km nördlich von Kalamata liegt die Stadt Messini, die im 4. Jahrhundert v. Chr. gegründet wurde und zu einer der interessantesten archäologischen Stätten Griechenlands gehört. Die Mauern aus dem 3. Jahrhundert v. Chr., das massive, arkadische Tor und die acht überlebenden Türme sind gut erhalten. Messini war noch vor weniger als 40 Jahren nur ein grünes Tal.

Seitdem wurden jedoch wichtige Entdeckungen gemacht – Tempel, Häuser, Mauern und öffentliche Gebäude – in sehr gutem Zustand. Jetzt können Besucher frei zwischen der Agora, dem Tempel der Artemis Orthia, dem  Stadion und Heroon, den Brunnen und verschiedenen Wohnungen spazieren gehen und sich wie echte Bürger fühlen. Das antike Theater wurde restauriert und führt seit dem Sommer 2013 wieder Stücke auf.

Versteckte Juwelen in Kalamata

Das Kalamata-Taschentuch

Das regionale Handwerk. Die in den griechischen Liedern besungenen Tücher werden immer noch auf handbetriebenen Webstühlen hergestellt. Sie können sie in den Geschäften rund um die Kirche Ypapandi finden. Nur zur Warnung: Die echten sind nicht bunt.

Paplomatadika von Kalamata

Einer der spannendsten Teile des historischen Zentrums der Stadt, voll von traditionellen Cafés, Geschäften und Ouzerien.

Die geheimen Arkaden

Wenn Sie die Aristomenous-Straße entlang gehen, machen Sie ein Abstecher  in die Londos und Varvoutsis-Arkaden mit den vielen Restaurants voller Menschen.

Seaside horse ride activity close to Kalamata city

Erleben Sie das Beste von Kalamata

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

Ein Spaziergang durch die aufstrebende Stadt von Kalamata

Zu jeder Jahreszeit, für jeden Geschmack: Kalamata ist eine Stadt im Messenischen Golf auf dem Peloponnes, die alles hat.
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Folgen Sie den Olivenöl-Straßen in Messenien

Entdecken Sie die Geheimnisse von Messenien, auf der Südwest-Peloponnes, durch das berühmteste Produkt der Region… Das köstliche, goldene, extra native Olivenöl.
The first monument as you enter is the theatre, built in 3-2BC and regarded as one of the greatest examples of its kind

Ausgrabungen des antiken Messene im Südwesten des Peloponnes

Das antike Messene ist eine der aufregendsten und am besten erhaltenen antiken Stätten Griechenlands und verbindet die Größe von Delphi mit der natürlichen Schönheit von...
  • Ein Spaziergang durch die Zeit
  • Nächste Haltestelle... Das Eisenbahnmuseum
  • Das antike Messinia, eine „brandneue“ archäologische Stätte
  • Die geheimen Arkaden
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Wandern in Greichenland: beliebte Strecken

Entdecken Sie die Geheimnisse der griechischen Berge: die beliebtesten Urlaubsziele.
Frühling auf der Insel Santorini

Frühling in Griechenland

Mildes Klima, aufblühende Natur, traditionelle Sitten und Gebräuche: Frühjahr in Griechenland ist ein Schauspiel, das man sich nicht entgehen lassen sollte
Bäume mit goldenen Blättern am Herbst in Valia Κalda

Herbstferien in Griechenland

Kalamata

The enticing seaside city that dances to a different tune
Kalamata has everything you need for a delightful day at the beach
Scroll
Today
16°
MON
17°
TUE
17°
WED
16°
THU
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Between the peaks of Mt Taygetos and the Gulf of Messinia, Kalamata has developed a cult following by those who have discovered it

Arriving in Kalamata by plane or car, you may well be on your way to Mani, but why not stay a while and get caught up in its charms? Magnificent Mt Taygetos towers above a city that boasts modern cafes, beach bars, restaurants, hotels, markets, historic buildings, a port, a summer dance festival and a pulsating nightlife. The capital of Messinia, in the blessed land of the Peloponnese, knows just how to enjoy itself.

What to do in Kalamata

An endless beach with limitless possibilities

Walking barefoot in the sand will give you plenty of time to appreciate Kalamata’s seemingly endless beach, stretching 5km from Verga to the port of Kalamata. Bustling with life are major hotels, busy beach bars, designer cafes, tavernas and ouzeries, water sports and funfairs – everything you need for a delightful day at the beach.

The city of a thousand faces

There are so many sides to Kalamata and it is worth getting to know them all. Check out the fortified castle from the Middle Ages, the renowned dance festival that attracts fans from all over Europe, the nunnery where traditional handkerchiefs are still made by hand, neoclassical buildings, 19th-century churches, fashion boutiques, art shops and traditional cafes. This city in the Peloponnese is chock full of surprises!

Dolce vita after sundown

Kalamata really dresses up for a night out. Bright lights, dance music, chic gatherings, racing engines and the curtain rises for the evening’s entertainment in the heart of the Peloponnese. Grab the opportunity and carpe noctem. You won’t get back to the hotel before the cocks crow.

Tracking down history, a step at a time

Discover the city’s history, imprinted on every street and building. You’ll come across sights and attractions everywhere in Kalamata. You could start with the church of Ypapanti, which stands out in town with its belfries and silver domes. North of the church is the Municipal Odeon on Alexandraki Street. At the corner of Kyriakou and Agiou Ioannou streets, a neoclassical building houses the interesting Historical and Folk Museum. 

Further south, Othon Square used to be the site of the central market. The Municipal Gallery, in another neoclassical building, is on Papazoglou Street, almost directly across from the town’s Archaeological Museum. In March 23rd Square you’ll find the historic church of Agii Apostoli, which was built around a much older Byzantine church. Every step has a story.

Blowing the whistle on... The Railway Museum

One of Greece’s first theme parks, its steam locomotives, diesel engines, passenger and freight cars and two-storey central station building make it a treat for kids of ALL ages! You will also see a water tower with a cylindrical stone base, embarkation platforms and a 28m-long metallic foot-bridge. 

Branching out to Messini

This town west of Kalamata has the advantage of being a stone’s throw from the longest beach on the Gulf of Messini. Besides that, it boasts a pretty park with tall trees, fountains and an old clock tower, ringed with dozens of restaurants, grill houses, cafes and attractive shops. 

Ancient Messene, a ‘brand new’ archaeological site

Just 30km north of Kalamata, the city of Messene, founded in the 4th century BC, is becoming one of the most exciting archaeological sites in Greece. Noteworthy for its outstanding perimeter walls erected in the 3rd century BC, its massive Arcadian gate and eight surviving towers, Messene was little more than a green valley before its secrets began to be unearthed as recently as 40 years ago.

Since then, however, important remains have kept coming to light – temples, houses, walls and public buildings – in excellent condition. Now you can walk freely among them and feel like a true citizen as you visit the Agora, the Temple of Artemis Orthia, the Stadium and Heroon, the fountain and various dwellings. What’s more, the ancient theatre has been restored and opened for performances in the summer of 2013.

Hidden gems of Kalamata

The Kalamata kerchief

The local craft. Richly commemorated in Greek songs, the kerchiefs are still made on hand-operated looms. You can find them in the shops around the church of Ypapandi. But be warned, the genuine article is NOT multi-coloured.

Paplomatadika of Kalamata

This is one of the most exciting parts of the city’s historic centre, full of traditional cafes, hole-in-the-wall shops, ouzeries and grills lining the cobblestone streets of Kalamata.

Secret arcades

As you walk down Aristomenous Street, make sure you duck into the Londos and Varvoutsis arcades, which are full of people and places to eat.

Seaside horse ride activity close to Kalamata city

Experience the best of Kalamata

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata

Whatever the season, whatever your tastes, Kalamata is a city in the Peloponnese’s Messinian Gulf that has it all.
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, in the southwest Peloponnese, through its most famous product… luscious, golden, extra-virgin olive oil.
The first monument as you enter is the theatre, built in 3-2BC and regarded as one of the greatest examples of its kind

Unearthing Ancient Messene in the southwestern Peloponnese

One of Greece’s best-preserved archaeological sites, Ancient Messene combines the grandeur of Delphi with the natural beauty of Olympia.
  • Tracking down history, a step at a time
  • The Railway Museum
  • Ancient Messene
  • Secret arcades
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

5 popular routes for trekking in Greece

If you love hiking through nature, Greece has everything you could want.
Mastic tree

Greek produce, nature’s generous bounty

Fresh fish and seafood, delicious cheeses, local produce and, of course, wonderful olive oil
Springtime on the island of Santorini

Spring holidays in Greece

Warm weather, nature in full bloom and unique customs… Spring in Greece is a celebration not to be missed