Agora represents the daily life on Delos
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
13°
THU
16°
FRI
13°
SAT
14°
SUN
13°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Un monument classé au patrimoine mondial et un des plus beaux et des plus importants sites archéologiques de Grèce

Grèce, mer Égée. Lumière d’Apollon. Éblouissante. Vous fermez les yeux et des disques rouges lumineux à la taille du soleil sont en train de vibrer dans l'obscurité totale. À Délos, l’île d’Apollon, la lumière est reflétée par les marbres et les roches de granit tendant vers le ciel. Elle perce les nuages et s’étend sur la mer Égée. Autour de Délos, d’autres îles émergent comme un cercle magique: les Cyclades.

Attractions à Délos

Pèlerin de la Lumière au milieu de la mer Égée

Vous êtes debout au cœur du Temple des Déliens. Vous êtes intimidés de lever haut les bras, bien que vous le désiriez fort. Autour de vous, la maison des Naxiens, l’Artemision, le Pythion, l’estrade de Dionysos et plus loin le théâtre antique, les habitations des Déliens et le temple d’Isis. Votre regard recherche l’Andiro des Lions, les cinq lions-gardes en marbre et le palmier sacré auquel s’est tenue Léto quand elle a donné naissance au dieu de la lumière, Apollon: vous vivez les débuts du monde antique de la mer Égée et vous y êtes à son centre!

Musée Archéologique: les œuvres des dieux et des hommes 

Une des meilleures collections de la sculpture grecque antique est là. Le musée archéologique de Délos a été édifié en 1904 et est un des plus importants en Grèce. Dans ses neuf salles, vous verrez des statues (tumulaires notamment), mosaïques, vases, inscriptions et bijoux de l’antiquité. Vous pourrez distinguer le corps de Kouros du Temple d’Apollon, les statues de Dioskouridès, de Cléopâtre et de Voreas qui enlève Orithyia.

Le Temple d’Isis: une des plus remarquables attractions de l’île

Vous y verrez la statue d’adoration d’Isis, déesse patronne des marins. Ce lieu se distingue du reste des sanctuaires. Il se trouve au pied du mont Kynthos.

Le Théâtre

À l’origine, il était en bois, mais au début du IIIe siècle av. J.C., il a été remplacé par celui en pierre que l’on peut visiter aujourd’hui. Il avait la capacité d’accueillir cinq mille spectateurs. Tout le quartier du théâtre disposait en outre de maisons privées, parmi lesquelles celles de Cléopâtre et de Dioskouridès.

Les trésors cachés de Délos

La montée sur le centre des Cyclades  

La montée à Kynthnos, la colline la plus haute de Délos (133 m) dure 20 minutes. Un escalier antique vous guide là où l’œil se perd dans le bleu de la mer Égée. D’habitude, le vent souffle fort et toutes les îles sont clairement visibles, formant un cercle.

L’île d’Apollon

C’est un extrait de la mythologie grecque et une partie de l’âme de cette île. Désespérée et chassée de partout, Léto, portant l’enfant de Zeus, recherche un endroit pour accoucher. Zeus demande à son frère, Poséidon de l’aider, en immobilisant le rocher invisible errant sans but, qui s’appelait Adélos, pour que Léto y accouche d’Apollon. Poséidon accepte et amarre le rocher.

Il l’attache au fond de la mer avec des chaînes en diamants et l’appelle Délos. Léto donne naissance au dieu de la lumière, en appuyant son dos contre le mont Kynthos et en se tenant au seul palmier de l’île.

La découverte de Rinia

Elle se trouve très près de Délos et de Mykonos et a une superficie de 14 km². Un couloir étroit d’un kilomètre de large la sépare de Délos. L’île dispose de plusieurs rades, baies et plages de sable et représente une expérience unique pour ceux qui la visitent en bateau. Il y a cinq chapelles et des fermes sur l’île, qui se trouvent pour la plupart non loin de la chapelle d’Aghia Triada, devant une plage de sable splendide.

  • Musée Archéologique
  • Le Temple d’Isis
  • Le Théâtre
  • Le mont Kynthos
  • La découverte de Rinia
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

Les 10 sites archéologiques de Grèce les plus importants

Au pays qui a engendré la civilisation occidentale, chacun des vos pas est un voyage à l’histoire
Poseidon Temple at Cape Sounion near Athens, Greece

Soleil, plage et culture en Grèce

Des vacances au bord de la mer inspirées par les trésors de l’art grec ancestral et la lumière grecque
Technopolis vu depuis un bar du quartier de Gazi en Grèce.

LGBT le rythme de la scène gay européenne bat son plein en Grèce

Saisissez l’occasion d’une expérience unique de voyage en Grèce, où le passé somptueux rencontre le présent cosmopolite.

Delos

Light of antiquity, Apollo’s sacred island
Agora represents the daily life on Delos
Scroll
Today
14°
MON
15°
TUE
14°
WED
15°
THU
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A key piece of the world’s cultural heritage and an archaeological site in itself

Greece. Aegean Sea. Apollonion light. On Delos, where Apollo was born, the summer sun reflected off the marble and baking stones symbolised the light of inquiry, reason and harmony for ancient Greeks. It radiated throughout Greece, making Delos the centre of an archipelago of islands arranged, as if magically, in a circle around it. Hence the name Cyclades.

What to do on Delos

A pilgrimage to the core of Greek civilisation

As you stand in the centre of this historic holy place, you’re bound to feel awe simply imagining how the Delians and their sanctuary could have the impact that they did. Take a good look. Spread out around you are the most famous monuments: the House of the Naxians, the Temple of Artemis, the Pythion, the House of Dionysos and the ancient theatre, the homes of the Delians and the Temple of Isis.

There’s the Terrace of the Lions, with five of the marble lions that guarded the Sacred Palm that Leto, Apollo’s mother, held onto when she gave birth to the god of light. You are at the heart of the ancient cosmos.

Archaeological Museum

One of the world’s finest collections of ancient Greek sculpture awaits you here. Since its inauguration in 1904, it has been among the most important in Greece. Its nine rooms house sculptures, mosaics, pottery, inscriptions, jewellery, funerary statuary and gravestones. Look for the torso of the Archaic kouros from the Sanctuary of Apollo, the statues of Dioskourides and Cleopatra, as well as Boreas, abducting the nymph Oreithia.

The Temple οf Isis

Inside, you’ll find the statue of Isis, patron goddess of sailors, and one of the most significant attractions on the island. The site stands out among temples to other foreign gods and can be found in the foothills of Mt Kynthos.

The Theatre

Originally made of wood, it was replaced by the stone structure seen today in the third century BC. It could hold 5,000 spectators in all and the entire area has archaeological remains, private dwellings from the time of Kleopatra and Dioscorides.

Hidden gems of Delos

Ascent to the hub of the Cyclades

The climb up Mt Kythnos, the highest point on this small, flat island, at just 133m, takes a mere 20 minutes. Steps carved by the ancients will lead you to the often blustery top, where you can see the islands that form a circle around Delos.

The birth of Apollo on Adelos, the invisible island

As mythology tells us, before the birth of Apollo, Delos was an invisible rock floating in the Aegean. The goddess Leto, pregnant by Zeus, was desperate to find a place to give birth but no one would take her in, fearing the wrath of Hera, Zeus’ jealous wife. Seeing her distress, Zeus sought help from his brother, Poseidon, the sea god, and asked him to anchor the floating invisible islet for Leto’s sake.

Poseidon obliged, tied it to the deep and named it Delos, “visible”. Leto leaned back against the slope of Mt Kythnos, holding onto the island’s single palm tree, and gave birth to her son, the god of light.

Discovering Rineia

Very close to Delos and Mykonos, this 14 sq. km island has a width of only 1km and is known for its many bays, inlets and deserted sandy beaches. There are five chapels and a number of farmsteads scattered across the island. The chapel of Agia Triada overlooks a particularly stunning sandy beach

  • Archaeological Museum
  • The Temple οf Isis
  • The Theatre
  • Mount Kythnos
  • Discovering Rineia
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Poseidon Temple at Cape Sounion near Athens, Greece

Sun, sea and culture in Greece

All the pleasures of the beach combined with the chance to visit historic treasures, enhanced by the legendary Greek sunlight
Technopolis as seen from a bar in Gazi neighborhood, Greece.

LGBT: The pulse of Europe's up-and-coming gay scene beats strongly in Greece

Seize the opportunity for a travel experience in Greece, where the magnificent past meets the cosmopolitan present.
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

10 of the most important ancient sites in Greece

In the country that gave birth to civilization, every step is a journey through history