Делос

Святилище и остров Аполлона
Agora represents the daily life on Delos
Scroll
Сегодня
11°
FRI
12°
SAT
11°
SUN
13°
MON
16°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Памятник Всемирного Культурного Наследия. Самые чарующие археологические места Греции и, возможно, самые значительные

Греция. Эгейское море. Свет Аполлона. Ослепляющий свет. Вы закрываете глаза, но красные круги размером с солнечный диск не перестают пульсировать даже в полной темноте. На Делосе, острове Аполлона, свет излучается от мраморных и гранитных скал и направляется к небу. Затем пронизывает тучи и простирается над Эгейским морем. Вокруг Делоса, образуя магический круг, всплывают и другие острова. Их назвали Киклады.

Стоит увидеть на Делосе

Поклонник света посреди Эгейского моря

Вы стоите точно в середине святилища Делийцев. Вы смущаетесь высоко поднять руки в мольбе, хотя вам этого очень хочется. Вокруг Сокровищница жителей острова Наксос, святилище Артемиды, Пифии, Экседра Диониса, а чуть дальше древний театр, дома Делийцев и храм Исиды. Вы ищете глазами Террасу Львов – пять мраморных львов, охраняющих священную пальму, за которую держалась Лето во время родов, когда появился на свет бог света, Аполлон. Да! Все это здесь. И вы здесь, в самом центре, в самом начале древнего мира Эгейского моря.

Археологический музей: творения бога и человека

Одна из лучших в мире коллекций древнегреческой скульптуры находится здесь. Археологический музей Делоса был построен в 1904 году и является одним из самых значительных в Греции. В его девяти залах можно увидеть древнюю скульптуру, мозаику, сосуды, надписи, украшения, надгробные плиты и стелы. Заметно отличаются от всех остальных корпус статуи юноши (куроса) из святилища Аполлона, статуи Диоскурида и Клеопатры и мраморная композиция, изображающая Борея, который похищает Орестию.

Храм Исиды

Это одна из значительных достопримечательностей острова. Внутри храма еще сохранилась культовая статуя богини Исиды– покровительницы мореплавателей. Святилище отличается от других подобных святилищ и расположено у подножия горы Китнос.

Театр

Сначала театр был деревянным, но в начале 3-го века до н. э. дерево было заменено сохранившимся и сегодня камнем. Театр вмещал пять тысяч зрителей. Кроме того, в округе есть древние жилые постройки, среди которых следует отметить дома Клеопатры и Диоскурида.

Скрытые сокровища Делоса

Восхождение на центральный холм Кикладских островов

Восхождение на Китнос, самый высокий холм острова Делос (всего 133 метра) занимает 20 минут. Одна древняя климака – лестница по-новогречески – ведет вас туда, где взгляд утопает в синеве Эгейского моря. Здесь обычно сильно дует, поэтому все очертания островов архипелага четко просматриваются, образуя виртуальный круг.

Остров Аполлона

Один из греческих мифов и есть душа этого острова. Отчаявшаяся и гонимая отовсюду Лето с чадом Зевса во чреве, ищет себе место, где можно было бы родить. Зевс просит своего брата Посейдона помочь ей. Он просит брата остановить невидимую и блуждающую по морю скалу, которая называется Аделос, чтобы Лето могла родить на этой скале Аполлона.

Посейдон соглашается и ставит скалу на якорь. Он привязывает скалу алмазными цепями ко дну моря и называет получившийся остров Делос (видимый). У Лето рождается сын – бог света. Во время родов она прислоняется спиной к холму Китнос и держится руками за единственную пальму, растущую на острове.

Открытие острова Риния

Остров Риния находится очень близко от Делоса и Миконоса, его площадь составляет 14 кв. км. Узкий пролив шириной всего 1 км отделяет Ринию от Делоса. На островке есть множество небольших бухточек и пустынных песчаных пляжей – уникальное впечатление для тех, кто доберется сюда морем. Здесь есть пять небольших церквушек и несколько ферм. Большинство ферм находится недалеко от церквушки Святой Троицы около великолепного песчаного пляжа. 

  • Археологический музей
  • Храм Исиды
  • Театр
  • Гора Китнос
  • Открытие острова Риния
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

10 самых известных археологических мест Греции

В стране, где родилась культура, каждый ваш шаг – это путешествие по истории
Poseidon Temple at Cape Sounion near Athens, Greece

Солнце, море и культура в Греции

Отдых у моря на фоне исторических сокровищ и многовекового искусства Греции
Технополис, как видно из бара в районе Гази, Греция.

ЛГБТ биение пульса растущего гей-сообщества европы сильно ощутимо в Греции

Не упустите возможность посетить Грецию, где великое прошлое гармонирует с космополитным настоящим.

Delos

Light of antiquity, Apollo’s sacred island
Agora represents the daily life on Delos
Scroll
Today
14°
MON
15°
TUE
14°
WED
15°
THU
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A key piece of the world’s cultural heritage and an archaeological site in itself

Greece. Aegean Sea. Apollonion light. On Delos, where Apollo was born, the summer sun reflected off the marble and baking stones symbolised the light of inquiry, reason and harmony for ancient Greeks. It radiated throughout Greece, making Delos the centre of an archipelago of islands arranged, as if magically, in a circle around it. Hence the name Cyclades.

What to do on Delos

A pilgrimage to the core of Greek civilisation

As you stand in the centre of this historic holy place, you’re bound to feel awe simply imagining how the Delians and their sanctuary could have the impact that they did. Take a good look. Spread out around you are the most famous monuments: the House of the Naxians, the Temple of Artemis, the Pythion, the House of Dionysos and the ancient theatre, the homes of the Delians and the Temple of Isis.

There’s the Terrace of the Lions, with five of the marble lions that guarded the Sacred Palm that Leto, Apollo’s mother, held onto when she gave birth to the god of light. You are at the heart of the ancient cosmos.

Archaeological Museum

One of the world’s finest collections of ancient Greek sculpture awaits you here. Since its inauguration in 1904, it has been among the most important in Greece. Its nine rooms house sculptures, mosaics, pottery, inscriptions, jewellery, funerary statuary and gravestones. Look for the torso of the Archaic kouros from the Sanctuary of Apollo, the statues of Dioskourides and Cleopatra, as well as Boreas, abducting the nymph Oreithia.

The Temple οf Isis

Inside, you’ll find the statue of Isis, patron goddess of sailors, and one of the most significant attractions on the island. The site stands out among temples to other foreign gods and can be found in the foothills of Mt Kynthos.

The Theatre

Originally made of wood, it was replaced by the stone structure seen today in the third century BC. It could hold 5,000 spectators in all and the entire area has archaeological remains, private dwellings from the time of Kleopatra and Dioscorides.

Hidden gems of Delos

Ascent to the hub of the Cyclades

The climb up Mt Kythnos, the highest point on this small, flat island, at just 133m, takes a mere 20 minutes. Steps carved by the ancients will lead you to the often blustery top, where you can see the islands that form a circle around Delos.

The birth of Apollo on Adelos, the invisible island

As mythology tells us, before the birth of Apollo, Delos was an invisible rock floating in the Aegean. The goddess Leto, pregnant by Zeus, was desperate to find a place to give birth but no one would take her in, fearing the wrath of Hera, Zeus’ jealous wife. Seeing her distress, Zeus sought help from his brother, Poseidon, the sea god, and asked him to anchor the floating invisible islet for Leto’s sake.

Poseidon obliged, tied it to the deep and named it Delos, “visible”. Leto leaned back against the slope of Mt Kythnos, holding onto the island’s single palm tree, and gave birth to her son, the god of light.

Discovering Rineia

Very close to Delos and Mykonos, this 14 sq. km island has a width of only 1km and is known for its many bays, inlets and deserted sandy beaches. There are five chapels and a number of farmsteads scattered across the island. The chapel of Agia Triada overlooks a particularly stunning sandy beach

  • Archaeological Museum
  • The Temple οf Isis
  • The Theatre
  • Mount Kythnos
  • Discovering Rineia
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Poseidon Temple at Cape Sounion near Athens, Greece

Sun, sea and culture in Greece

All the pleasures of the beach combined with the chance to visit historic treasures, enhanced by the legendary Greek sunlight
Technopolis as seen from a bar in Gazi neighborhood, Greece.

LGBT: The pulse of Europe's up-and-coming gay scene beats strongly in Greece

Seize the opportunity for a travel experience in Greece, where the magnificent past meets the cosmopolitan present.
The Tholos of Athena pronaia, originally consisted of 20 Doric columns arranges around 10 Corinthian columns

10 of the most important ancient sites in Greece

In the country that gave birth to civilization, every step is a journey through history