Zakynthos – Zante

La «fiore di Levante» de la mer Ionienne
Navagio beach from above
Aujourd'hui
24°
FRI
23°
SAT
22°
SUN
22°
MON
22°
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Des plages impressionnantes, la star Caretta caretta et une ambiance de fête interminable : Zante (Zakynthos) vous offrira des vacances inoubliables

Pourquoi l’île la plus au sud de la mer Ionienne est aussi surnommée la fleur de l’Orient, la Fiore di Levante, par les Latins ? Parce que chaque été elle fleurit et nous appelle à goûter à son nectar… Aux plages de Laganas, Tsilivi, Argassi, Kalamaki, Alykès, des Anglais, Français et Italiens dansent tous ensemble dans une beach party qui ne se termine jamais.

Êtes-vous à la recherche de moments intenses ? Vous pourrez les vivre en nageant dans la plage mondialement connue de Navayio (naufrage), en admirant le coucher de soleil à Kéri ou Kryonéri, en découvrant les plages où les tortues Caretta caretta déposent leurs œufs en écoutant les sérénades des habitants de l’île. Êtes-vous à la recherche d’une île grecque vraiment spéciale qui en a pour tous les goûts ? Ne cherchez plus : bienvenue pour vos vacances à Zakynthos.

Attractions à Zakynthos

Cap sur les plus belles plages

Penché sur la rambarde d’un caïque qui fait le tour de l’île, telle est la meilleure façon de voir défiler devant vos yeux, les plages de Zakynthos. Navayio, Laganas, Tsivili, Gérakas, Vassilikos, Marathonissi, Galaziès Spiliès (les grottes bleues) sont classées parmi les plus belles plages de Grèce. La plus connue d’entre elles est la plage de Navayio, exotique, au sable d’un blanc pur et aux eaux turquoise. Venez à l’aube ou bien jetez l’ancre la veille afin de pouvoir faire un plongeon matinal avant que le monde n’arrive.

Parc Marin National de Zakynthos : un parc réservé aux tortues de la mer Ionienne

Pourquoi le premier Parc marin national du pays se trouve-t-il à Zakynthos (Zante)? Parce que les eaux autour de l’île sont fréquentées par les Caretta caretta, espèce rare de tortues de mer. Leur point de départ est la baie de Libye ou bien l’Adriatique du Nord pour arriver à Zante, non pas pour leurs vacances, mais pour déposer leurs œufs sur les plages de Iérakas, Daphni, Kalamaki, Marathonissi et surtout sur celle de Sékania, à l’est de Laganas. Chut! Si vous avez la chance de les voir pondre, admirez ce spectacle naturel en toute discrétion.

Préparez-vous à enrichir de photos votre profil instagram

Êtes-vous prêt pour une promenade dans le plus beau quartier de la ville de Zakynthos? Le vieux quartier de Bochali, à 2 km du centre. Vous pourrez admirer la vue panoramique sur le port, le village d’Argassi et la baie de Laganas. Vous marcherez dans des ruelles avec des maisons anciennes et des cafés où la vue est incroyable… Encore plus haut, au milieu d’une végétation luxuriante, vous pourrez visiter la forteresse de Zakynthos, où se trouvait la capitale de l’île sous domination vénitienne.

Aghios Dionyssios

Un des plus grands lieux de pèlerinage des îles ioniennes, qui rassemble les masses durant toute l’année, comme dans son sanctuaire se trouve ses reliques. Ce temple majestueux a été fondé en 1926 suivant les plans d’A. Orlando. Il appartient au type de basilique en trois parties avec voûte intérieure. Le grand tremblement de terre qui a frappé Zakynthos (Zante) en 1953 l’a laissé intacte. Un miracle ou bien des fondations très solides ?

 

Trésors cachés de Zakynthos

Les îlots Strofadès près de Zakynthos

Embarquez pour Strofadès: à 37 miles nautiques de Zakynthos  se trouvent deux îlots solitaires et un château-monastère datant de 1440. C’est ici que s’est échouée, intacte, une icône de la Vierge du XIe ou XIIIe siècles, lancée à l’eau par des croyants de Constantinople afin de la sauver, au cours de la période de l’Iconoclasme, mouvement prônant la destruction de toute image comprenant des figures humaines.

The Rolling…stone à Zakynthos

Les habitants aiment dire que Mick Jagger est originaire de Kilioménos («qui roule»), un village de l’île, et ce serait pour cela qu’il a appelé son groupe les Rolling Stones (les pierres «qui roulent»). L’information a été démentie mais la beauté demeure. A Kilioménos, vous pourrez admirer l’architecture traditionnelle de Zakynthos (Zante) et les maisons anciennes qui ressemblent à des forteresses.

Zakynthos dans votre verre

Prévoyez une visite des établissements vinicoles de l’île, certains ont une longue tradition. A peu près 19 000 hectares de vignobles sont cultivés à Zakynthos et vous y trouverez plus de 60 cépages.

Lire la suite Read Less

FAQs sur Zakynthos, Grèce

Toutes les îles Ioniennes possèdent deux noms – Zakynthos est le nom grec, alors que Zante vient de l’Italien. Cependant, cette île est mentionnée sous le nom de Zakynthos depuis des millénaires déjà dans les poèmes épiques d’Homère, l’Iliade et L’Odyssée. 

La renommée de Zakynthos tient en grande partie à sa célèbre plage du Navagio, signifiant naufrage en grec. Mais l’île est aussi un lieu de reproduction de l’espèce menacée des tortues de mer caretta caretta. 

Si vous recherchez une vie nocturne intense, alors Laganas est fait pour vous. Ses beach parties et ses discothèques sur la plage sont tout simplement légendaires. Cependant, si vous désirez passer des vacances plus calmes à Zakynthos, alors préférez Limni Keriou où les divertissements se font plus discrets.

Vivez le meilleur de Zante

Sea kayaking offers a unique water-level appreciation of Zakynthos’ extraordinary Blue Caves

Kayak aux Grottes Bleues magiques de Zante

A boat trip to Shipwreck beach in Zakynthos

Un voyage en bateau à la baie du naufrage à Zante

Réservez votre voyage

zante-island-full-day-tour-logo
Group

Zante Island Full Day Tour

9 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
401 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Spend a memorable day steeped in history and culture discovering Zakynthos with an expert guide. Very proud of many local products and crafts from olives,...
keri-kaiki-cruise-from-zakynthos-logo
Group

Keri Kaiki Cruise from Zakynthos

3 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
401 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Sail through the crystal blue waters of the Ionian sea, enjoy the sunshine and feel the sea breezes on this amazing sightseeing cruise from Zakynthos.

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
A boat trip to Shipwreck beach in Zakynthos

12 des meilleures plages à Zante

Par où commencez-vous quand il s'agit des plages à Zante ? Ici, nous avons déjà tout exploré pour vous afin que vous prépariez au mieux vos vacances de rêve à Zakynthos.
Noctua beer

Un guide des meilleures bières grecques et des micro-brasseries pour rafraîchir vos vacances

Une bonne bière bien fraîche à déguster sur une île grecque, cela vous tente ? Alors, il ne vous reste plus qu’à choisir votre bière artisanale, exactement comme vous l'aimez… Lager ou Pilsner; pâle, blonde, rouge ou noire; IPA ou Stout ?
Hiking Balos trail

Les 8 activités de plein air les plus appréciées en Grèce

Si vous aimez les vacances actives, vous adorerez ces activités de plein air : randonnée, voile, kayak, VTT… même du ski. Toute activité à la montagne ou à la mer (ou les deux en même temps), vous la trouverez en Grèce.

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€

Zakynthos - Zante

Show-stopping beauty and hidden depths
Navagio beach from above
Today
10°
WED
18°
THU
18°
FRI
18°
SAT
18°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
White beaches, sea turtles and a party atmosphere make Zante – or Zakynthos as the island is known in Greek – a favourite holiday destination in the magical Ionian Sea.

The Venetians called Zante Fiore di Levante, the Flower of the East, and its nobility and fertility made it the jewel of their empire. Today’s visitors to the southernmost Ionian Island (known as Zakynthos in Greek) would agree, though they come mostly for its iconic beaches – Lagana, Tsilivi, Argassi, Kalamaki, Alykes – where British, French and Italians know how to have a good time.

Looking for lifelong memories? You’ll find them when you swim at the famous Shipwreck Beach, watch the sunset from the cliffs of Keri and Kryoneri, listen to the islanders sing their cantatas and see the endangered caretta caretta sea turtles lay their eggs in the island’s white sands. Welcome to your holidays in Zante, the Ionian island that has it all.

 

What to do on Zante
 

A different beach every day of your holiday

From your seat on the caique, you’ll be treated to a procession of beaches around Zante, each seemingly more magical than the last: Laganas, Tsilivi Gerakas, Vasilikos, Marathonisi ... all ranking among the most splendid beaches in Greece. Not forgetting, of course, that Zakynthos landmark, Shipwreck Beach (Navagio), with its famous beached vessel that adds drama to the sandy setting, white cliffs and turquoise water. And then there’s the Blue Caves … not a beach, of course, but an unforgettable swimming spot. Come early in the morning or drop anchor the previous evening, so you can enjoy your first dive before the rest of the world arrives.

Take a boat trip to Shipwreck Beach
 

Spot the sea turtles in Zakynthos’ marine park

The sea around Zante was picked for Greece’s first marine park. This is where the rare caretta caretta sea turtles lay their eggs. In spring, these endangered creatures set off from the Libyan Sea and the southern Adriatic, not because they like the swim but because nature tells them to lay their eggs in the sands of Gerakas, Dafni, Kalamaki, Marathonisi and, especially, Sakania, east of Laganas, as they always have. If you’re lucky enough to witness this spectacle, please don’t disturb these beautiful creatures or their eggs.
 

Prepare your Instagram feed for panoramic views

Zante isn’t just about beaches. Take a stroll through lovely Bokhali, 2km from the centre of town, through alleyways lined with old houses and traditional cafes. You’ll find yourself stopping to admire the panoramic view of the harbour, Argassi, and the Bay of Laganas. And if you walk a bit higher, you’ll come to the castle, camouflaged by all manner of plant and shrub, where the Venetians had their island capital.
 

Pay a visit to the miraculous St Dionysios church

The church of St Dionysios draws visitors throughout the year as it houses the relics of the saint of the same name (also the island’s patron saint). The impressive church was built in 1926, with a three-aisled basilica and inner arch. Zante’s catastrophic earthquake of 1953 left it virtually undamaged. Miracle or just solid foundations?

 

Hidden gems of Zante

The Strofades, more islands to explore

Only 37 nautical miles from Zante, these two islets are unknown to most tourists, Greek or foreign. A mystery surrounds the 15th-century fortified monastery here. It houses an icon of the Virgin that washed up here undamaged after being thrown into the sea by 13th-century Orthodox Christians in Constantinople to save it from the iconoclasts who were destroying all paintings with human figures.
 

Was Zante the original rolling stone?

Locals claim that Mick Jagger hails from the village of Kiliomeno (which translates as rolling) and that’s why he named his band The Rolling Stones. This is a big local tease but nobody’s kidding when it comes to singing the virtues of this delightful settlement. Take your time to admire the traditional architectural style of Zante and old homes which resemble fortresses.
 

A final cheers to Zante at the wineries

Set aside some time for a visit to a local winery, some of which go back centuries. Hundreds of hectares on Zante are devoted to vineyards and there are more than 60 different grape varieties.

Read More Read Less

FAQs about Zante, Greece

The Ionian island goes by both names – Zakynthos, which is its Greek name, and Zante, its name in Italian. It was first mentioned as Zakynthos thousands of years ago in Homer’s epic poems, the Iliad and the Odyssey.

The most famous sight in Zante is Navagio beach, meaning shipwreck in Greek. The island is also a breeding place of the endangered caretta caretta sea turtles.

If you are seeking lively nightlife, then Laganas is the best place to stay. Its beach parties and seaside clubs are legendary. For more peaceful holidays on Zante, other places like Limni Keriou offer more low-key entertainment.

Experience the best of Zakynthos

Sea kayaking offers a unique water-level appreciation of Zakynthos’ extraordinary Blue Caves

Kayaking to Zante’s magical Blue Caves

A boat trip to Shipwreck beach in Zakynthos

A boat trip to Shipwreck beach in Zante

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

9 of the best things to do in Zante
You won’t be the first, and you certainly won’t be the last, to fall for Zakynthos. But it will happen in ways you never expected…
Discover It
The best beaches in the Ionian Islands
Boasting so many of the best beaches in Greece, the Ionian Islands offer a treasure trove of heavenly swimming spots, whether you’re looking for water sports, beach bars or total relaxation under the sun.
Discover It
Porto Katsiki beach

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
A boat trip to Shipwreck beach in Zakynthos

12 of the best beaches in Zante

Where do you begin when it comes to beaches in Zante? Right here because we’ve got you covered as you prepare for your dream holidays in Zakynthos
Noctua beer

A guide to the best Greek beer and microbreweries to freshen up your holiday

How does a refreshingly chilled beer on a Greek island sound to you? Now make that a craft beer, just the way you like it… lager or pilsner; pale, blonde, red or black ale; IPA or stout? And best of all, it’s brewed just down the road.
Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

If you love active holidays, you’ll adore outdoor adventures in Greece: Hiking, sailing, kayaking, biking… even skiing. If it involves mountain or sea (or both), you’ll find it in Greece.