A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos
EXPERIENCE

Пеший тур по столице острова Миконос

За глянцевым шармом острова Миконос скрывается сильный, подлинно островной характер, который покорит каждого гостя острова!
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
полдня
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

Никто не станет оспаривать, что  Миконос  является самым модным и фотографируемым островом Эгейского моря и всей Греции. Но что скрывается за шикарными клубами и ночными коктейлями, за глянцевым шармом острова?  Ответ прост. Достаточно лишь прогуляться по главному городу острова – Хора, чтобы почувствовать настоящий пульс города. Поверьте, это знакомство очарует Вас!

Вам кажется, что Вы уже всё знаете о кикладической красоте. Это белоснежные домики и вьющаяся букамвилия, спукающаяся вдоль синих оконных рам и балконов. Но как насчёт домов капитанов, от которых веет величием и могуществом? А не хотите ли узнать об истории Городской ратуши, построенной в 1870 году для русского князя во время Русско-турецких войн, а сегодня служащей в качестве библиотеки?

А знакомо ли Вам имя женщины-революционерки («la Bella Greca»), которая сыграла решающую роль в успешном восстании Миконоса против турок во время Освободительной революции 1820-х годов?

Предалагаем посетить музеи, которые поведают об истории острова, многовековые церкви, а также познакомиться с историей ветряных мельниц и с Маленькой Венецией. А почему бы не узнать у местных жителей о лучшем месте на острове, чтобы смотреть на закат? Всё это за один день, а вечером заказать долгожданный освежающий коктейль.

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Археологический музей 

Начнём с истоков! Археологический музей расположен в Старом порту. История, представленная здесь, уводит в 9-8 вв. до н.э. Особого внимания заслуживают древние экспонаты из керамики, найденные при раскопках на островах Миконос и Делос (соседний островок, представляющий собой археологическое сокровище). Ещё одним сокровищем музея являются осколки статуи Геркулеса, выполненной в 2 веке до н.э. из мрамора с острова Парос.

Площадь Мандо 

В конце Старого порта Вы увидите площадь с элегантным памятником Мандо Маврогенус, известной также под именем «la Bella Greca» (прекрасная гречанка), благодаря своей красоте и утончённости. Мандо родилась в 1796 году в Италии в богатой греческой семье и прибыла на Миконос в 1821 году. С собой эта женщина привезла не только космполитский стиль поведения, знание иностранных языков, но также горячую страсть к Греции и желание освободить её от Османского ига. Считается, что Мандо организовала несколько морских военных действий (в которых даже участвовала) и всячески поддерживала подготовку местных революционных сил.

Район Матоянни

Район Матоянни, знаменитый  своими бутиками,  может также похвастать историческим богатством. Здесь находится три одинаковых колодца, которые являлись основным источником питьевой воды в городе до 18 века. Примечательно, что глубина колодцев составляет всего 5 метров. Здесь же расположен и Морской музей острова Миконос, в котором Вы увидите модели кораблей с раннего минойского периода и вплоть до 20-ого века. Среди экспонатов есть также другие исторические реликвии, рукописи и фотографии. В районе также находится дом матери героини революции Мандо Маврогенус.

Ветряные мельницы

Ветряные мельницы Миконоса, расположенные на вершине холма над самой гаванью, настолько знамениты, что не нуждаются в представлении. Они были построены венецианцами в 16 веке. Их камышитовые крыши и деревянные ветряки давно стали эмблемой острова. Появление мельниц когда-то явилось революцией в сельско-хозяйственной жизни острова, так как они дали возможность местным жителями расширить производство круп и даже продавать их на экспорт.

Маленькая Венеция

Наряду с ветряными мельницами, Маленькая Венеция является наиболее фотографируемым местом города. Эта цепочка ярких, связанных друг с другом домов была построена в 18 веке. Их отличительной чертой является то, что фундаменты домов находятся в море. Считается, что раньше пираты прятали здесь свою наживу, но сегодня в этих домах находятся в основном рестораны и бары. 

Церковь Богоматери Парапортьяни 

Под конец дня советуем посетить самое волшебное место на всём острове, чтобы любоваться закатом. Это наиболее фотографируемя церковь острова – церковь Богоматери Парапортьяни. Она словно встроена в скалу и окрашена в светящийся белый цвет.  Название церкви переводится как «церковь  Богоматери боковых ворот», потому что её вход был обнаружен у маленького входа в зону Крепости. Церковь стоит на этом месте уже 600 лет. Её строительство началось ещё в 1425 году и завершилось в 17 веке. Чего не разглядеть сразу, так это того факта, что церквей здесь на самом деле пять, а не одна. Четыре из них построены на первом уровне, а пятая – Византийская – построена на уровень выше.

Подробнее Read Less

До города Хора

Из аэропорта:

  • На машине/ на такси: 3.5 км 

Из нового порта Нео Лимани:

  • На машине/ на такси: 2.5 км 
  • Пешком: около 35 минут, вдоль моря
  • На автобусе (до Старого порта): с апреля до ноября (8 минут)

Более подробная инофрмация

  • Главный город острова бует интересен в любое время года, но Миконос переполнен отдыхающими в период с июня по август. Поэтому рекомендуем приезжать в более тихие периоды с апреля до начала июня или с конца сентября по октябрь.
  • Не рекомендуем совершать пешие прогулки в разгар дня, так как солнце ярко отражается от набело выкрашенных домов острова. Напротив, световое преломление в сочетании с нежным бризом создают волшебную атмосферу по утрам и в послеобеденное время. Поэтому советуем начинать такой тур либо в 9:00 (когда главный город острова наиболее спокоен), либо в 17:00.
  • Музеи и археологические памятники

Музеи и археологические 

  • Летний период (с апреля по октябрь): открыт ежедневно с 8:30 до 15:00 (кроме понедельника и национальных праздников). 
  • Стоимость билета: 4 € (льготный билет - 2 €)
  • Более подробная информация или по телефону: +30 22890 22325 
  • Подходит для посетителей с инвалидностью.

Морской музей

  • Летний период (с апреля по октябрь): открыт ежедневно с 9:30 до 13:30 и с 18:30 до 21:30. 
  • Стоимость билета: 4 € (льготный билет - 2 €)
  • Более подробная информация
  • Не подходит для посетителей с инвалидностью.

Не подходит для посетителей с инвалидностью.

  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Организованные туры, включающие несколько из вышеуказанных достопримчательностей длятся около 3-4 часов.
  • Если Вы планирутете самостоятельный тур, то лучше иметь в запасе полдня, чтобы увидеть все достопримечательности.

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Помогите нам сохранить волшебную красоту греческих деревушек, провинций и городов, чтобы передать это живое наследие будущим поколениям.

Поддерживайте чистоту на улицах. Используйте установленные мусорные урны. В случае их отсутствия носите мусор с собой до ближайшего мусорного бака.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Берегите культурные памятники и монументы. Не используйте вспышку на фотоаппарате, если висят таблички с соответствующим ограничением. Данная мера направлена на сохранение монумента.
Поддерживайте местный рынок, покупая продукты и сувениры в небольших магазинах и семейных лавках. Это также прекрасная возможность найти интересные предметы ручной работы.
Берегите флору и фауну.
Относитесь уважительно к другим отдыхающим и к местным жителям.
Не бойтесь обращаться за советом или с просьбой о помощи к местным жителям.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Paragka beach, Mykonos

Как незабываемо отдохнуть на легендарных пляжах острова Миконос?

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Агротуристический тур познакомит Вас с корнями острова Миконос!

Agora represents the daily life on Delos

Место, где родился Аполлон

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Сделайте глубокий вдох и отдохните в зелёных уголках Афин!

High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

Окунитесь в мистическую атмосферу столицы острова Патмос!

Hora is the capital and harbour of Antiparos island

Тихий и причудливый городок Хора на острове Антипарос

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Прогуливаясь по столице острова Скирос

From the beautiful chapel of Agios Konstantinos nearby, you can look out beyond Livadi onto a who’s who of Cycladic islands

Кикладическая красота и шарм острова Серифос

You’ll feel it all the way from the lofty fortifications-Palamidi Castle is an experience in itself

Пешая экскурсия по романтическому Нафплио

View of instagrammable Little Venice in Mykonos
EXPERIENCE

A walking tour in Mykonos town (Hora)

Behind the Instagrammable beauty of Mykonos’ main town beats a strong, authentic heart that you’ll adore discovering, reflecting everything magical about Greece’s Cyclades isles
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Half day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

A walking tour in Mykonos town

From celebrities to fashionistas, Mykonos’ catwalk of visitors won’t need convincing of the Instagrammable beauty of perhaps Greece’s most iconic Aegean island. But what happens when you look beyond the clubs and cocktails, and glitz and glamour? Well, the answer is that it takes just a few steps to discover that the main town of Mykonos (known as Hora) has a deeply authentic pulse. And once you’ve found it, you won’t want to let go. 

You’ll know all about the Cycladic beauty of Hora from the images of cascading bougainvillea and snow-white houses with blue window frames and balconies. But what about the captains’ houses, full of nobility and grandeur? Or the story behind the Town Hall, built in the 1870s to house a Russian count during the Russo-Turkish wars, now housing a library?

And do you know the name of the female revolutionary (‘la Bella Greca’) who played a pivotal role in Mykonos’ successful uprising against the Turks in the 1820s and who has a square named after her?

You’ll visit museums that tease out Mykonos’ history and visit centuries-old churches, as well as hearing the stories behind the island’s famous windmills and Little Venice. And how about an insider’s tip on where to experience the best sunset in town? All before you’ve ordered yourself that well-deserved cocktail!

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Highlights of Mykonos town

The Archaeological Museum 

It’s worth starting at the very beginning. Located by the Old Harbour, the Archaeological Museum takes you as far back as the 9th and 8th centuries BC, with a special focus on ancient ceramics and pottery excavated in Mykonos and Delos (the archaeological treasure trove island a short boat ride away). Another of the museum’s highlights are the remnants of a 2nd-century BC statue of Hercules, made of Parian marble.

Manto Square 

At the end of the Old Harbour, you’ll arrive at a square with an elegant bust that includes a short introduction to Manto Mavrogenous. Known in social circles as ‘la Bella Greca’, because of her beauty and finesse, she was born in 1796 in Italy to a wealthy Greek family and arrived in Mykonos in 1821. She brought not just her cosmopolitan charm and knowledge of multiple languages, but also a burning passion to take part in the liberation of Greece from the Ottomans. She is said to have funded (and even participated in) several naval operations and supported the training of local revolutionary forces. 

Matogianni 

Known for its boutiques and finery, the Matogianni district of Mykonos also has a number of historical treasures. You’ll find three identical wells, which were the island’s main water supply into the 18th century. Interestingly, they are only around 5m deep. The Maritime Museum of Mykonos is also here, with models of ships from the early Minoan period all the way to the 20th century, as well as other nautical memorabilia such as manuscripts and photos. You’ll also pass the home of Manto Mavrogenous’ mother. 

The windmills of Mykonos

The windmills on the hill above the harbour need no introduction. Built by the Venetians in the 16th century, their thatched roofs and wooden sail frames are symbols of the island. Their construction revolutionised the agricultural landscape of Mykonos, in the town and in locations such as Ano Mera, allowing communities to expand and export grains.

Little Venice 

Along with the windmills, Little Venice is the most photographed spot in Mykonos town. The line of colourful, interconnected homes was built in the 18th century. What makes them special is that their foundations are in the sea. It is said that pirates stored their loot here but, nowadays, they are mostly restaurants and bars – as well as a romantic backdrop to an evening stroll. 

Panagia Paraportiani 

And finally, to the insider’s tip for a magical sunset spot to end your day: the most photographed church in Mykonos, Panagia Paraportiani. Sculpted into the rock and painted the most radiant white, its name translates as ‘Our Lady of the Side Gate’ because its entrance was found in a small side entrance to the Kastro area. It has stood in this spot for 600 years, with construction starting in 1425 and completed in the 17th century. What isn’t immediately obvious is that it is actually five churches, with four built at ground level and a fifth, Byzantine church, one floor up. 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Accommodation

Amazon Mykonos Resort & Spa

Mykonos

The Amazon Mykonos Resort & Spa is a Brand New 5* Hotel, which will operate for the first time in May 2021. The exterior areas...

Official online rates

Accommodation

My Mykonos Boutique Hotel

Mykonos

Placed in a majestic quiet location in Mykonos, just a step away from the main town and close to the port, My Mykonos Boutiq...

Official online rates

How do you get from the airport to Mykonos town?

- There are regular buses and taxis from the airport, around 3.5km from Hora. You can also hire a car from the airport. 

How do you get from the port to Mykonos town?

- There are buses and taxis from both the New Port and Old Port to Hora (2.5/3.5km) and a sea bus service from the Old Port from April-November (8mins). You can also walk from Hora along the coast road (approx. 35mins)

More info
 

When is the best time to visit Mykonos? 

  • The main town can be enjoyed all year round but it does get very busy from June-August. So to get the most personal experience, it’s best to visit from April-early June and late September-October.
  • Walking in the midday heat isn’t recommended, as the sun reflects brightly off the whitewashed houses. However, the effect of the light (and often the gentle breeze) is magical in the morning and afternoon. So it is recommend to start your walk at either 9:00 (when the main town is at its quietest) or around 17:00.
  • Museums and archaeological sites 

Archaeological Museum

  • Summer (April to October): Open daily 8:30-15:00 (except Mondays and national holidays) 
  • Tickets: €4 (€2 reduced)
  • More info or call +30 22890 22325 
  • Suitable for visitors with disabilities

Maritime Museum

  • Summer (April to October): Open daily 9:30-13:30 & 18:30-21:30 
  • Tickets: €4 (€2 reduced)
  • More info
  • Not suitable for visitors with disabilities

More info on Mykonos museums
 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long do walking tours of Mykonos town last? 

  • Organised tours covering some of the highlights take 3-4 hours. But it’s worth dedication more time to exploring on your own (eg half a day) as there is so much to experience.  

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set.

The best Mykonos nightlife and dining spots

Paragka beach, Mykonos

How to get the best out of beach life in Mykonos

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

A tour of the dairies and farms of Mykonos

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Explore the best hiking paths of Thassos

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast