Aujourd'hui
SAT
SUN
MON
TUE
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Des ponts et des monastères, des chefs-d’œuvre d’architecture, de culture et d’histoire, les célèbres Zagorochoria. L’expérience de ce pays vous fascinera.

Des montagnes très hautes, des versants pleins de végétation et des gorges impressionnantes. Un lieu sauvage, suggestif. Des ponts - œuvres d’art, des monastères construits sur le rocher. Des villages-attractions connus sous le nom de Zagorochoria. Un lieu authentique, séduisant.

Vous allez le découvrir en marchant à la gorge de Vikos, en contemplant les « tours » d’Astraka, en écoutant le bruit du fleuve Voïdomatis, en admirant le lac des dragons alpique de Tymfi. Vous allez le « sentir », en marchant à Papigo en compagnie de la brume, en visitant les vieux monastères et églises ou en jouissant de la chaleur et du luxe des chambres d’hôtes en pierres. Zagori est un « trésor » inestimable. Votre voyage à sa beauté vous emmènera à sa découverte. 

Attractions à Zagori

La gorge de Vikos : le royaume du fleuve et des aigles.

Un phénomène géologique unique, une crevasse dans la terre que seule une main divine aurait pu créer. Le point le plus étroit entre les deux côtés et à peine de 1.100 m. de large, tandis que sa profondeur dépasse les 900 mètres. La gorge de Vikos est le royaume des aigles et du silence, des herbes médicinales rares et des rochers verticaux. Elle commence du pont de Kokoros et aboutit au pont d’Aristi. Sa descente est une expérience de vie!

Grand et Petit Papigo : les fameux frangins de l’hiver

Nuit. Vos pas résonnent sur les pavés en pierre. La lune caresse les roches d’Astraka, qui se dressent violemment en dessus du Grand et du Petit Papigo. La lumière des fenêtres des chambres d’hôtes adoucit le noir froid. L’odeur du bois qui brûle éveille des mémoires d’enfance. Vous rêvez déjà de la chaleur de votre chambre d’hôte, avec les couvertures et tapis de laine épaisse et les lits confortables.

Vous ne voyez pas l’heure pour vous asseoir à la taverne, savourer des « pites » délicieuses, une soupe chaude de haricots avec du pain frais, des grillades et du vin rouge. Tôt le matin, vous allez marcher sur un sentier qui relie les deux villages, en passant par le pont voûté par-dessus du torrent de Rogovos et tout en admirant l’architecture et leurs vieilles églises. Ce n’est pas un hasard que ces deux villages soient parmi les destinations hivernales les plus populaires à Zagori. Vos vacances y seront, sans aucun doute, une expérience exceptionnelle.

Les tours impressionnantes d’Astraka

Le mont le plus majestueux dans le massif de Pindos du Nord est Tymfi ou Gamila. Un de ses sommets est celle d’Astraka à une altitude de 2436 m. Au sud du sommet d’Astraka se forment ses fameuses « tours », des roches verticales qui la connectent à la gorge de Vikos. Mais tout cela n’est pas très important devant l’effroi que vous allez ressentir à chaque fois que vous haussez votre regard vers Astraka. En hiver, la neige orne les roches majestueuses de magnifiques motifs blancs.

Drakolimni, un lac-attraction

Un point montagneux de beauté à couper le souffle. Un lac avec un dragon légendaire, mais aussi avec plusieurs « petits dragons » réels, des petits amphibies qui s’appellent tritons. Une trace, la seule qu’on a, de l’ère des glaciers. Pour arriver ici, il vous faudra 4-5 heures de marche depuis le Petit Papigo.

Zagorochoria, des villages de l’artisanat et de la tradition

En Épire, des villages-joyaux vous attendent pour vous introduire à leur beauté et leurs traditions. Aristi, Monodendri, Vikos, Dilofo, Kapesovo, Tsepelovo, Kipi… construits en spirale ou en cercle, tous ces villages ont à leur centre un platane avec une fontaine, une église, un café traditionnel. Chaque rue pavée, chaque maison faite de pierre taillée blanche, chaque vieille église raconte une longue histoire. L’architecture des villages de Zagori est un objet d’étude pour les architectes. Et l’art des vieux artisans de la pierre est insurpassable. 

L’art de la pierre volante : Kaloyeriko et les ponts de Zagori

Kaloyeriko, le pont le plus beau de Grèce et un des plus beaux dans les Balkans. Il est caractérisé par un mouvement aérien et par sa plasticité. On décrit le mouvement rythmique et l’élégance légère de ses trois arches comme une « chenille en mouvement ». Il se trouve pas loin du village Kipi et relie les rives du torrent de Bagiotiko. Il y en a d’autres à admirer, celui de Kokoros ou de kyr Noutsos entre les villages Koukouli et Kipi, celui à deux arches de Missios à la gorge de Vikos, de Mylos près du village Kipi.

Vacances d’hiver sur fond de luxe

Vous êtes amateur du traditionnel ? Ou du design, peut-être ? Ou plutôt du classique ? Vous avez envie d’un spa, d’un hydro-massage, de vous relaxer près de la cheminée avec des jeux de société et des livres ? D’un merveilleux verre de vin ou peut-être d’un petit déjeuner dans la cour dallée, le soleil d’hiver vous chauffant le dos ? Tout ce que vous préférez, tout ce que vous imaginez pour vos vacances d’hiver, vous allez le retrouver dans les villages de Zagori. Des chambres d’hôtes merveilleuses, dans des bâtiments qui sont des vrais chefs-d’œuvre architecturaux, vous attendent pour vous offrir un accueil chaleureux.

Hidden gems of Zagori

L’escalier de Vradeto

Absolument intégré dans le paysage, élégante, construite avec une technique impeccable, l’Escalier fut jadis la seule manière de communication entre les villages Vradeto et Kapesovo. A chaque pas, admirez la patience infinie et l’ingéniosité des artisans talentueux qui nous ont fait ce cadeau unique.

Ovirès : les sculptures de l’eau

Presque tout de suite à côté de la route asphaltée qui relie le Grand et le Petit Papigo, arrêtez-vous pour voir les Ovirès ou Kolimbithrès, comme les appellent les locaux. Ressemblant à des petits lacs, ont les eaux bleu et ont été taillés sur les rochers par la force de l’eau. C’est l’une des attractions parmi les plus impressionnantes de la région.

Aghia Paraskevi au bord de la gorge

Le monastère d’Aghia Paraskevi à Vikos, construit au bout du ravin homonyme, est séparé de la place centrale du village Monodendri par 800 m. de chemin pavé. Érigé au XVe siècle, il est d’une architecture exceptionnelle, classé monument historique.

Le monastère de Spiliotissa : broderie de la Foi dans le rocher

En marchant dans une forêt de platanes centenaires, vous arrivez à Panaghia Spiliotissa du village d’Aristi. Le monastère touche littéralement les bords d’un rocher immense, qui aboutit verticalement dans le fleuve Voïdomatis. Le clocher est construit au sommet du rocher, auquel vous arrivez en grimpant. La vue de là-haut est difficile à décrire.

  • La gorge de Vikos
  • Drakolimni
  • Le monastère de Spiliotissa
  • Grand et Petit Papigo
  • Les tours d’Astraka
  • L’escalier de Vradeto
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Destinations populaires en Grèce

Ce ne sont ni les eaux vives ni les passages difficiles. C’est la nature autour de vous qui s’associe à votre activité at qui vous offre des expériences incroyables de descente de rivière.
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Randonnées populaires en Grèce

Découvrir les secrets de la Grèce: les top destinations pour les sports de montagne
age of chivalry - Rhodes

Les 10 plus célèbres monuments architecturaux en Grèce

Cités médiévales et villages traditionnels, maisons blanchies par le soleil et magnifiques châteaux: l’incomparable identité architecturale grecque

Zagori

Mountains, gorges and village life at their most majestic
Vikos Gorge, the kingdom of the river and the eagles
Scroll
Today
18°
SUN
13°
MON
14°
TUE
14°
WED
13°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
The famous Zagorohoria villages: Masterpieces of architecture, culture and history surrounded by jaw-dropping nature

The Zagorohoria – to give them their full name – are a cluster of stone villages, masterfully constructed bridges and monasteries carved into the mountains. This is a pure and seductive holiday destination for all seasons. You’ll discover the area’s rare beauty walking along the Vikos Gorge, staring up at the striking peak of the Astrakas Mountain and listening to the gentle rumble of the Voidomatis River. And you’ll feel it walking in the mystical fog of the villages, visiting the old monasteries and churches, or just relaxing by the fireplace in a guesthouse. 

What to do in Zagori

Vikos Gorge: The kingdom of the river and the eagles

The Vikos Gorge is a schism in the earth that can have only been created by a divine hand. The narrowest section of the gorge is 1,100m wide and its depth reaches 900m. It is the realm of eagles, rare medicinal herbs and steep vertical rocks, beginning from the bridge of Kokoros and ending at the bridge of Aristi. Passing through it is an experience of a lifetime. 

Megalo and Mikro Papingo: Famous winter brothers

Nightime. Your footsteps echo in the cobblestone streets and the moonlight bathes Mt Astrakas, rising high above the villages of Megalo and Mikro Papingo. The light in the windows of the guest houses warms the cold darkness. The smell of burnt wood from the fireplace awakens childhood memories. You’re already dreaming of enchanting evenings in your stone villa, with a fireplace, flokati rug and comfortable bed.

You eagerly anticipate the moment when you’ll sit at a traditional taverna, enjoying handmade savoury pies, warm fasolada (bean soup) with fresh bread, grilled meat, and a few glasses of red wine. Early in the morning, well rested, you’ll walk the path that connects the two villages, along the bridge above the Rogova River, admiring the incredible architecture and old churches. It’s no surprise that these two villages are the most popular winter holiday destinations in Zagori.

The majestic ‘towers’ of Astrakas

The most magnificent mountain in the North Pindus range is Timfi. One of its peaks is Astrakas, with an altitude of 2,436m. South of the peak are huge horizontal rock formations, the famous ‘towers’, linking it with the Vikos Gorge. Only ‘awe’ can describe the feeling as you look up at Astrakas, especially during winter when snow decorates its slopes.

The ‘dragon lake’ on the mountain

This alpine lake of Drakolimni is stunningly beautiful. A mythical dragon lurks in its depths, perhaps a distant cousin of Scotland’s Loch Ness beastie! Sightings are limited these days, but don’t despair, there are many real drakakia (small dragons) that are actually microscopic amphibians called alpine newts. It’s perhaps the only trace we have of the Ice Age. To reach the lake, allow for 2-5 hours of hiking from Mikro Papingo.

Zagorohoria: Craftsmanship and traditions

Aristi, Monodendri, Vikos, Dilofo, Kapesovo, Tsepelovo and Kipi. This cluster of villages is built in a circle. In their centre is a square with a large plane tree, a fountain, a church and traditional coffee shop. You’ll fall in love with every cobblestone alleyway, every home built of white carved stone and every old church with its rich history. The architecture of Zagorohoria is a source of inspiration and education for architects. 

Artwork in stone

Make sure you seek out Kalogeriko, the most beautiful stone bridge in Greece. The fluid movement and harmonious lines of its three arches are what sets it apart from the rest. ‘A moving caterpillar’ is how the rhythmical movement of its three stringers has been described. It’s located just outside the village of Kipi and connects the banks of the Bagiotiko River.

There seem to be no end to the masterly crafted stone bridges to visit, including the Kokoris (or Noutsos) between the Koukouli and Kipi villages, the bridge of Misios at the Vikos Gorge and Milos near Kipi village.

Winter holidays in luxurious guest houses

Do you prefer traditional cottages or classic luxury? Are you in the mood for spa treatments, hydromassage or relaxing by the fireplace reading and playing board games? Looking forward to a traditional breakfast on a stone patio or the winter sun warming your back? Whatever your mountain holiday dream may be, you’ll find it in the villages of Zagori – all offering warm hospitality.

Hidden gems of Zagori

Skala tou Vardetou

Perfectly in harmony with the landscape, elegant and built with exceptional artistry, Skala used to be the only way from Vradeto village to Kapesovo. Every step of the way, you’ll admire the tireless skill and patience of the craftsman who gave us this unique cobblestone trail.

Ovires: Natural water sculptures

Right next to the road that connects Megalo and Mikro Papingo, stop to see the Ovires. They look like small lakes and have blue water and rocks carved by powerful running streams. If you go during summer, you’ll be able to take a swim.

Agia Paraskevi at the edge of the ravine

The Monastery of Agia Paraskevi at Vikos is built on the edge of a ravine and 800 metres separate it from the central square of the Monodendri village. It was built in the 15th century, has exceptional architecture and is considered a listed landmark.

Spileotissas Monastery: Faith’s elaborate embroidery

Walking through a forest with perennial plane trees, you’ll reach Panagia tis Spiliotissas. The monastery leans, literally, on a huge steep cliff that ends in the Voidomatis River. The bell tower is built at the top of the rock, which you can climb up to. The view from here is spectacular.

  • Vikos Gorge
  • The ‘dragon lake’ on the mountain
  • Monastery of Panagia Spiliotissa
  • Megalo and Mikro Papingo
  • The Towers of Astrakas
  • Vradeto Steps
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Aerial view of the Old stone bridge in Klidonia Zagoria in the autumn, Epirus, Western Greece. This arch bridge with elongated arch built in 1853.

Nature

Exploring Greece’s rich natural tapestry
Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for rafting & canyoning

It’s not the rushing water or the difficult rapids, it’s the dramatic scenery that burns the experience into your memory
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

5 popular routes for trekking in Greece

If you love hiking through nature, Greece has everything you could want.