Загори

Сокровище «за горами» в западной Греции
Vikos Gorge, the kingdom of the river and the eagles
Сегодня
MON
TUE
WED
THU
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Каменные мосты и монастыри, шедевры архитектуры, культуры и истории – это знаменитые деревни Загорохорья.

Высокие горы, пышные зеленые склоны и впечатляющие ущелья. Местность дикая. Деревни, построенные из добротного камня, известные как Загорохорья; резные мосты и монастыри, ютящиеся на скалах. Место подлинной красоты, полное соблазнов.

Вы познакомитесь с ним, пройдя по ущелью Викос, разглядывая горные вершины Астракас, слушая рев реки Войдомати, любуясь альпийским пейзажем озера Драколимни на горе Тимфи.

Вы прочувствуете эту местность, гуляя в компании с туманом в Папиго, посещая старые монастыри и церкви или наслаждаясь уютом и роскошью каменных гостиниц. Загори – это настоящее сокровище, и оно бесценно. Отправляйтесь в путешествие по красоте!

Стоит увидеть в Загори

Ущелье Викос: царство рек и орлов

Уникальный геологический феномен — каньон, который только божественная рука могла создать. Самое узкое место ущелья имеет ширину всего 1100 метров, в то время как глубина его превышает 900 метров. Ущелье Викос – это царство орлов и тишины, редких лекарственных трав и отвесных скал. Ущелье берет свое начало от моста Кокору и заканчивается мостом Аристис. Прогулка по нему – это незабываемое впечатление! 

Большое и Малое Папиго: известные братья зимыrs

Ночь. Шаги эхом отдаются на каменных дорожках. В лунном свете купаются вершины горы Астракас, агрессивно нависающие над Большим и Малым Папиго. Свет в окнах гостиниц смягчает холодную темноту. Запах горящего в каминах полена будит воспоминания детства. Вы уже мечтаете о тепле вашего жилья, с его коврами и удобными кроватями.

Ожидаете, когда же уже вы доберетесь до таверны и сможете насладиться домашними пирогами, горячим супом из фасоли со свежим хлебом, жареным мясом и красным вином. Рано утром, свежий и отдохнувший, вы пройдете по тропе, соединяющей две деревни, перейдя через арочный мост над рекой Рогову, и сможете продолжить любоваться прекрасной архитектурой и старыми церквями. Не случайно получилось, что эти две деревни являются одним из самых популярных зимних направлений в Загори. 

Внушительные «башни» горы Астракас

Наиболее величественной горой гряды Северного Пинда является Тимфи или Гамила. Одна из ее вершин – Астракас — достигает 2436 метров в высоту. К югу от вершины Астракаса формируются бесконечные вертикальные скалы, знаменитые "башни", связывающие ее с ущельем Викос. Но все это не имеет значения перед тем благоговением, которое вы испытываете каждый раз, когда поднимаете глаза на Астракас, величественные скалы которого зимой снег украшает прекрасными белыми узорами. 

Драколимни, озеро-достопримечательность!

Место озера расположено высоко в горах и полно захватывающей дух красоты. Озеро с мифическим драконом, но кроме него и с множеством реальных «дракончиков»: небольших по размеру амфибий под названием тритоны. Единственный след ледникового периода, дошедший до нас. Подъем сюда из Малого Папиго займет 4-5 часов. 

Загорохорья: мастерство и традиции

Деревни-жемчужины Западной Греции Загорохорья ждут вас, чтобы познакомить со своими традициями и красотой. Аристи, Монодендри, Викос, Дилофо, Капесово, Цепелово, Кипи... Построенные по кругу или спирали эти деревни в центре сходятся к площади с платаном, криницей, церковью и кафе. Каждая аллея вымощена камнем, каждый дом сложен из белого тесаного камня, каждый старая церковь может рассказать свою долгую историю. Архитектура Загорохорья является предметом изучения науки. А искусство старых мастеров по камню считается просто непревзойденным. 

Калогерико и мосты Загори

Калогерико: самый красивый каменный мост в Греции и один из лучших на Балканах. Характерными его чертами являются пластика и форма, словно передающиея движение. «Гусеница в движении» – так описывают ритмичную подвижность и легкую элегантность переходов его трех арок. Мост расположен недалеко от деревни Кипос и соединяет берега реки Байотикос. Неподалеку расположены и другие мосты, на которые приятно полюбоваться: мост Петуха (Кокору) или Кир Нуцу, находящиеся между селениями Кукули и Кипи, двойной арочный мост Мисиу в ущелье Викос,  а также мост Милу, что недалеко от деревни Кипи. 

Зимний отдых в роскоши

Вы любитель традиционного стиля? Или оригинального дизайн-направления? Или может быть, классического? Вы хотели бы иметь возможность насладиться спа-процедурами, расслабиться в джакузи или провести вечер у камина в компании с книгами и настольными играми?

Вам бы хотелось выпить бокал прекрасного вина или позавтракать на традиционном дворике, подставляя спину лучам зимнего солнца? Что бы вы ни предпочитали, что бы  ни пожелали получить во время своих зимних каникул, вы найдете это в деревнях Загори. Замечательные каменные гостиницы, размещающиеся в домах, являющихся шедеврами архитектуры, ожидают вас, чтобы порадовать теплым и радушным приемом.

Скрытые сокровища в Загори 

Каменная лестница Врадету

Полностью вписанная в ландшафт, элегантная, выполненная с поразительным мастерством в прошлом эта лестница была  единственным средством сообщения между деревнями Врадето и Капесово. Делая шаг за шагом, вы сможете позавидовать бесконечному терпению и мастерству талантливых мастеров, которые подарили нам эти роскошные ступеньки . 

Овирес: скульптуры, созданные водой

Почти рядом с асфальтовой дорогой, соединяющей Малый и Большой Папиго, обязательно остановитесь, чтобы осмотреть Овирес или Колимбифрес, как их называют местные жители. Они напоминают маленькие озера, полные голубой воды, и были вырезаны в скалах силой проточной воды. Самые зрелищные достопримечательности. 

Айя Параскеви на краю пропасти

Монастырь Святой Параскевы в горах Викос построен на краю одноименного ущелья, и его отделяют от центральной площади деревни Монодендри всего 800 метров вымощенной камнем тропы. Построенный в 15-ом веке монастырь может похвастаться отличной архитектурой и является охраняемым памятником культуры. 

Монастырь Панагия Сплиотисса: кружево веры на горном склоне

Прогуливаясь по лесу с вековыми деревьями, вы придете к монастырю Панагии Спилиотиссы в Аристи. Монастырь построен, в буквальном смысле, на поверхности огромной скалы, которая стоит перпендикулярно реке Войдомати. Его колокольня расположилась на самой вершине, куда вы можете при желании подняться. Вид, открывающийся оттуда, трудно описать словами.

  • Ущелье Викос
  • Драколимни
  • Монастырь Панагия Сплиотисса
  • Большое и Малое Папиго
  • «Башни» горы Астракас
  • Каменная лестница Врадету
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
age of chivalry - Rhodes

10 самых популярных архитектурных памятников Греции

Средневековые города и традиционные деревни, белые дома и высокие крепости - все это визитная карточка греческой архитектуры
Sea sports in Patmos Island

Экстремальные виды спорта в Греции

Маршруты по бездорожью, полеты в небе: в Греции приключения неповторимы
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Греция Зимой

Ясная зимняя погода Греции приветствует вас на самых захатывающих в вашей жизни зимних каникулах

Zagori

Mountains, gorges and village life at their most majestic
Vikos Gorge, the kingdom of the river and the eagles
Scroll
Today
18°
SUN
13°
MON
14°
TUE
14°
WED
13°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
The famous Zagorohoria villages: Masterpieces of architecture, culture and history surrounded by jaw-dropping nature

The Zagorohoria – to give them their full name – are a cluster of stone villages, masterfully constructed bridges and monasteries carved into the mountains. This is a pure and seductive holiday destination for all seasons. You’ll discover the area’s rare beauty walking along the Vikos Gorge, staring up at the striking peak of the Astrakas Mountain and listening to the gentle rumble of the Voidomatis River. And you’ll feel it walking in the mystical fog of the villages, visiting the old monasteries and churches, or just relaxing by the fireplace in a guesthouse. 

What to do in Zagori

Vikos Gorge: The kingdom of the river and the eagles

The Vikos Gorge is a schism in the earth that can have only been created by a divine hand. The narrowest section of the gorge is 1,100m wide and its depth reaches 900m. It is the realm of eagles, rare medicinal herbs and steep vertical rocks, beginning from the bridge of Kokoros and ending at the bridge of Aristi. Passing through it is an experience of a lifetime. 

Megalo and Mikro Papingo: Famous winter brothers

Nightime. Your footsteps echo in the cobblestone streets and the moonlight bathes Mt Astrakas, rising high above the villages of Megalo and Mikro Papingo. The light in the windows of the guest houses warms the cold darkness. The smell of burnt wood from the fireplace awakens childhood memories. You’re already dreaming of enchanting evenings in your stone villa, with a fireplace, flokati rug and comfortable bed.

You eagerly anticipate the moment when you’ll sit at a traditional taverna, enjoying handmade savoury pies, warm fasolada (bean soup) with fresh bread, grilled meat, and a few glasses of red wine. Early in the morning, well rested, you’ll walk the path that connects the two villages, along the bridge above the Rogova River, admiring the incredible architecture and old churches. It’s no surprise that these two villages are the most popular winter holiday destinations in Zagori.

The majestic ‘towers’ of Astrakas

The most magnificent mountain in the North Pindus range is Timfi. One of its peaks is Astrakas, with an altitude of 2,436m. South of the peak are huge horizontal rock formations, the famous ‘towers’, linking it with the Vikos Gorge. Only ‘awe’ can describe the feeling as you look up at Astrakas, especially during winter when snow decorates its slopes.

The ‘dragon lake’ on the mountain

This alpine lake of Drakolimni is stunningly beautiful. A mythical dragon lurks in its depths, perhaps a distant cousin of Scotland’s Loch Ness beastie! Sightings are limited these days, but don’t despair, there are many real drakakia (small dragons) that are actually microscopic amphibians called alpine newts. It’s perhaps the only trace we have of the Ice Age. To reach the lake, allow for 2-5 hours of hiking from Mikro Papingo.

Zagorohoria: Craftsmanship and traditions

Aristi, Monodendri, Vikos, Dilofo, Kapesovo, Tsepelovo and Kipi. This cluster of villages is built in a circle. In their centre is a square with a large plane tree, a fountain, a church and traditional coffee shop. You’ll fall in love with every cobblestone alleyway, every home built of white carved stone and every old church with its rich history. The architecture of Zagorohoria is a source of inspiration and education for architects. 

Artwork in stone

Make sure you seek out Kalogeriko, the most beautiful stone bridge in Greece. The fluid movement and harmonious lines of its three arches are what sets it apart from the rest. ‘A moving caterpillar’ is how the rhythmical movement of its three stringers has been described. It’s located just outside the village of Kipi and connects the banks of the Bagiotiko River.

There seem to be no end to the masterly crafted stone bridges to visit, including the Kokoris (or Noutsos) between the Koukouli and Kipi villages, the bridge of Misios at the Vikos Gorge and Milos near Kipi village.

Winter holidays in luxurious guest houses

Do you prefer traditional cottages or classic luxury? Are you in the mood for spa treatments, hydromassage or relaxing by the fireplace reading and playing board games? Looking forward to a traditional breakfast on a stone patio or the winter sun warming your back? Whatever your mountain holiday dream may be, you’ll find it in the villages of Zagori – all offering warm hospitality.

Hidden gems of Zagori

Skala tou Vardetou

Perfectly in harmony with the landscape, elegant and built with exceptional artistry, Skala used to be the only way from Vradeto village to Kapesovo. Every step of the way, you’ll admire the tireless skill and patience of the craftsman who gave us this unique cobblestone trail.

Ovires: Natural water sculptures

Right next to the road that connects Megalo and Mikro Papingo, stop to see the Ovires. They look like small lakes and have blue water and rocks carved by powerful running streams. If you go during summer, you’ll be able to take a swim.

Agia Paraskevi at the edge of the ravine

The Monastery of Agia Paraskevi at Vikos is built on the edge of a ravine and 800 metres separate it from the central square of the Monodendri village. It was built in the 15th century, has exceptional architecture and is considered a listed landmark.

Spileotissas Monastery: Faith’s elaborate embroidery

Walking through a forest with perennial plane trees, you’ll reach Panagia tis Spiliotissas. The monastery leans, literally, on a huge steep cliff that ends in the Voidomatis River. The bell tower is built at the top of the rock, which you can climb up to. The view from here is spectacular.

  • Vikos Gorge
  • The ‘dragon lake’ on the mountain
  • Monastery of Panagia Spiliotissa
  • Megalo and Mikro Papingo
  • The Towers of Astrakas
  • Vradeto Steps
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Aerial view of the Old stone bridge in Klidonia Zagoria in the autumn, Epirus, Western Greece. This arch bridge with elongated arch built in 1853.

Nature

Exploring Greece’s rich natural tapestry
Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for rafting & canyoning

It’s not the rushing water or the difficult rapids, it’s the dramatic scenery that burns the experience into your memory
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

5 popular routes for trekking in Greece

If you love hiking through nature, Greece has everything you could want.