There are numerous hiking trails (with names such as The Three Capitals, From the Sea to the Sky and Hidden Valley
EXPERIENCE

Découvrez les chemins de randonnée de Tinos

Tinostrails
Le réseau de chemins de randonnée de Tinos, qui parcourt toute l'île, est un moyen idéal d'explorer un paysage qui respire l'authenticité.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
3 - 4 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Il faut peu de temps pour être captivé par l'île magnifique de Tinos et par ses nombreux points d'intérêt culturels et historiques. La marche est le meilleur moyen de les découvrir. C'est donc une chance que les chemins de randonnée forment un incroyable réseau sur Tinos. À l'origine, ceux-ci étaient utilisés par les habitants pour relier des hameaux qui, autrement, vivaient dans l'isolement.

Sur les 300 km de chemins qui traversent Tinos, environ 150 ont été balisés. Certains forment une boucle; d'autres suivent la côte et vous font passer par des barrages, des sites archéologiques, des monastères, des musées du folklore, une forteresse vénitienne, des dizaines de pigeonniers et même des roches sphériques uniques dont l'origine demeure un mystère.

On pourrait passer une semaine sur Tinos et choisir chaque jour un itinéraire différent.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Il y a de nombreux sentiers de randonnée (qui portent des noms tels que « les trois capitales », « de la mer jusqu'au ciel », ou encore « la vallée cachée »). Nous vous présentons ici « les hauts plateaux » (M1), qui vous emmène sur une boucle de 8,3 km à travers le plateau de Livaderi, au cœur de l'île.

Les villages

En longeant le plateau de Livaderi, vous passerez parmi des villages qui incarnent l'authenticité de Tinos. Koumaros, Falatados, Myrsini, Steni, Kechros, Tzados et Karia - vous les découvrirez tous avec plaisir. Vous reconnaîtrez l'architecture cycladique classique, avec de petites maisons blanches et des rues étroites. Mais l'atmosphère des villages est aussi incontestablement tinienne, avec d'innombrables églises et pigeonniers. Nous avons imaginé un parcours qui commence de Koumaros pour y revenir, mais vous pouvez démarrer de n'importe quel village. Si vous souhaitez effectuer une distance moins longue, il existe un raccourci (M1A) qui va vers le sud, depuis Falatados vers Tzados, en évitant deux villages.

Les rochers de Volakas

Entre Koumaros et Falatados, vous passerez par un site géologique unique dans Tinos - de gros  rochers lisses de granit, appelés les formations géologiques de Volakas (ou Volax). Diverses explications ont été données à leur origine, dont une éruption volcanique, mais la meilleure est celle selon laquelle il s'agirait des débris d'une ancienne bataille de boulets de canons entre Titans. Vous verrez d'autres formations étranges de ce genre en suivant les parcours plus difficiles de M2 et M2A, qui vous emmèneront également au village pittoresque de Volakas, célèbre pour ses paniers tressés. 

La forteresse d' Exomvourgo 

Peu avant d'atteindre Koumaros, vous passerez devant la forteresse d' Exomvourgo, en hauteur sur une colline conique de 640 m. Elle vaut la peine d'une visite, si vous vous en sentez l'énergie. (Vous suivrez brièvement les sentiers M4 et T1 pour y accéder). Elle date du XIe siècle et est maintenant en grande partie en ruines, mais elle fut l'une des fortifications les plus impressionnantes dans la région pendant plus de quatre siècles. La vue sur la mer, depuis le sommet, vaut largement la peine d'effectuer la montée.

Lire la suite Read Less

Depuis Chora (la ville principale)

  • En voiture: 10 km (16 minutes)
  • En bus: Les bus passent par certains villages (Falatados, Steni, Myrsini), mais vérifiez les horaires pour vous assurer qu'ils concordent avec votre marche.

Bus information

  • À pieds: Le sentier de randonnée T1 (qui relie M1 et M4) démarre à Chora.

 Pour plus d'informations

  • On peut profiter des chemins de randonnée à toute période de l’année. Chaque saison a ses charmes. Le printemps (avec ses fleurs sauvages et ses cours d'eau) est particulièrement agréable, de même que l'automne. 
  • Mettez-vous en route tôt le matin ou dans l'après-midi, pour éviter la chaleur de midi. Vous pouvez aussi faire coïncider votre marche avec le coucher du soleil.

Il vaut la peine de visiter Tinos en avril-juin (notamment à Pâques, qui est une expérience spéciale à vivre sur Tinos) et en septembre-octobre, afin d'éviter la haute saison.

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

Le parcours M1:

  • Début et fin: Koumaros-Karia (chemin circulaire)
  • Distance: 8,3 km
  • Difficulté: 1/5
  • Durée: 3 à 4 heures, selon votre vitesse et le nombre d'arrêts que vous effectuerez.

Que prévoir:

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des merveilles naturelles de la Grèce pour les générations à venir.

Gardez vos déchets avec vous jusqu’à ce que vous trouviez une poubelle.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Suivez les chemins indiqués, pour votre sécurité et pour éviter d’endommager la flore.
Ne nourrissez pas les animaux.
Respectez l’environnement et ne cueillez pas de plantes ou de fleurs.
Respectez tous les sites et les monuments culturels que vous verrez sur votre chemin.
Ne vous aventurez pas dans des activités qui dépassent votre condition physique.
Respectez les autres randonneurs.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Pyrgos, in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko

Découvrez les spécialités de Tinos

Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Faire du Canoë à la gorge d’Orlias au Mt Olympe

Containing 450 species of plant and animal life, the Samaria Gorge is a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve

Randonnée dans les spectaculaires gorges de Samaria à la Canée

Hiking from Myli, just outside Litochoro, to Prionia (the highest point reachable by car) is one of the most popular routes

Explorer les sentiers de randonnée du mont Olympe

The most popular uphill trail of Pelion mountain is the trail of Centaurs

Partez à la découverte des chemins du Pélion

Walk among the gigantic rock pillars of Meteora to enjoy truly breathtaking views

Découvrez les pistes de randonnée dans les Météores

If it’s a jaw-dropping vista you’re after, take the steps from Imerovigli down to Skaros Rock

Découvrez les sentiers de randonnée à Santorin

There are numerous hiking trails (with names such as The Three Capitals, From the Sea to the Sky and Hidden Valley
EXPERIENCE

Discover the hiking paths of Tinos

Tinostrails
Crisscrossing the entire island, Tinos’ extensive network of hiking trails is the ideal way to explore a landscape that exudes authenticity.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
3 - 4 hrs
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

It takes no time at all to be completely captivated by the beautiful island of Tinos and its many cultural and historical highlights, which is why hiking is absolutely the best way to discover it. 

Lucky us, therefore, that there is a quite incredible network of walking paths on Tinos, originally used by residents to link otherwise unconnected settlements across the island. 

Of the 300km of path crisscrossing Tinos, about 150km have so far been marked out. Some go in a loop and others follow the coast, taking you past dams, archaeological sites, monasteries, folk museums, a Venetian castle, dozens of dovecotes and even unique spherical rocks whose origin remain a mystery. 
In fact, you could spend a week on Tinos and choose a different hiking route each day. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

There are numerous hiking trails (with names such as The Three Capitals, From the Sea to the Sky and Hidden Valley. Here we focus on The Highlands (M1), which takes you on an 8.3km loop across the Livaderi plateau in the heart of the island. 

The villages

As you skirt the Livaderi plateau, you pass through villages that capture all the authenticity of Tinos. Koumaros, Falatados, Myrsini, Steni, Kechros, Tzados and Karia – you’ll enjoy discovering them all. You’ll recognise the classic Cycladic architecture of little white houses and narrow alleyways but the atmosphere in the villages is also unmistakably Tinian, with innumerable churches and dovecotes. Here, we have envisaged starting and finishing at Koumaros, but you can set out from any of the villages. And if you want to reduce the distance, there is a shortcut branch (Μ1Α) that leads south from Falatados towards Tzados, cutting out two villages.

The boulders of Volakas

Between Koumaros and Falatados, you’ll pass a geological sight that is unique to Tinos – smooth, large granite boulders known as the Geological Formations of Volakas (or Volax). Various explanations have been offered as to their formation, including volcanic eruption, but by far the best is that they are the debris of an ancient cannonball fight of Titans. You can see more of these strange formations on the more challenging M2 and M2A trails, which also take you to the quaint village of Volakas, famous for its basket-weaving. 

Exomvourgo Castle 

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill. It’s well worth a visit, if you’re feeling energetic. (You briefly follow the M4 and T1 trails to get there.) Dating from the 11th century, the castle is now largely ruins but it was one of the most formidable fortifications in the region for more than four centuries. The sea view from the top more than makes the climb worthwhile. 

Read More Read Less

From Hora (the main town)

  • By car or taxi: 10km (16mins)
  • By bus: Buses pass through some of the villages (Falatados, Steni, Myrsini) but check the timetable to be sure that it works for your walk.

Bus information

  • By foot: The T1 hiking trail (which links with M1 and M4) starts in Hora.

 More information

  • The hiking paths of Tinos can be enjoyed all year round but each season has its own charm. Springtime (with wildflowers and running water) is particularly beautiful, as is autumn.
  • Set out in early morning or in the afternoon to avoid the midday heat and perhaps coincide your walk with the sunset.

It is worth visiting in April-June (with Easter being a particularly special experience on Tinos) and September-October, in order to avoid the peak season. 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

The M1 hiking route

  • Start & Finish: Koumaros-Karia (circular)
  • Distance: 8.3km
  • Difficulty: 1/5
  • Duration: 3-4hrs depending on your speed and number of stops 

What to pack:

Plan your trip

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try and keep the magic of Greece’s natural wonders alive for future generations.

Don’t forget to keep any rubbish with you until you reach a bin.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Please keep to designated paths for your own safety and to avoid disrupting the wildlife.
Tempted as you might be, please don’t feed any animals.
Respect the local environment by not picking any plants or flowers.
Respect any cultural sites or monuments you encounter on the way.
Always check the weather and don’t attempt anything that is beyond your abilities or physical condition.
Respect your fellow hikers.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Canyoning the Orlias Gorge on Mt Olympus

You pass along a deep gorge full of nature, admiring extraordinary-coloured water and plane trees

Rafting in the shadow of the extraordinary Meteora

With clifftop views to the sea, the hiking paths of Folegandros are the ideal way to discover a deeply authentic island in the Cyclades-Folegandros

Discover the hiking paths of Folegandros

Hiking from Myli, just outside Litochoro, to Prionia (the highest point reachable by car) is one of the most popular routes

Exploring the hiking trails of Mount Olympus