The Aliakmonas Fjords
ITINERARY

7-дневный дорожный тур по Салоникам и северной Греции

Выбрав Салоники в качестве базового города и отправной точки, приглашаем Вас отправиться в 7-дневный тур по северной Греции. Без сомнения, это один из лучших маршрутов для дорожного тура в Греции!

Маршрут 7-дневного дорожного тура начинается в Салониках и пролегает через весь регион Македонии. Он прекрасно подойдёт для семейных пар и дружеских компаний, ведь в программу включены городские развлечения, природные красоты и места для абсолютного отдыха – всё, что необходимо для ощущения полной свободыи расслабления. После знакомства с достопримечательностями Салоник мы предлагаем отправиться в поход на гору Олимп, отдохнуть на пляжах в Халкидики, полюбоваться на озеро Керкини и побывать на водопадах Эдессы. 

Большинство автомобильных поездок этого тура рассчитаны на 1 час езды (максимум 1 час 30 минут). Все направления предлагаемого маршрута проверены нами специально для Вас (не забудьте посмотреть наши видео). Пргорамму тура можно сократить или расширить по Вашему усмотрению. Пункты этого маршрута можно легко менять местами и сочетать по-новому, в зависимости от времени года. Отметим, что маршрут особенно подходит для осенне-зимнего периода (с октября до марта).

Start point - End point
центр города Салоник
Расстояние
1,108 km
Means of transport
Car
продолжительность
7 дней
Самое интересное
площадь Арстотеля, Белая башня, Ано Поли, гора Олимп, пляж Поссиди в Халкидики, наблюдение за птицами на озере Керкини, город Верия, водопады в Эдессе, винная дегустация в городке Гуменисса, термальные источники Позар.
DAY 1 ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Салоник

27 км Car, Foot 3

В качестве базового города на первые 4 дня этого тура выберем Салоники. Это второй по величине город Греции и самый важный центр на севере страны. Здесь удивительным образом переплетаются различные культуры. Вы увидите множество исторических памятников, ощутите любовь города к кулинарным традициям, а главное – любовь к самой жизни! Аэропорт находится всего в 17 км (27 минут) от центра города.

The itinerary starts at the iconic White Tower and ends at the castles of the Upper Town

Набережная

Любой тур по Салоникам следует начинать с набережной города. Нет лучшего места, чтобы прочувствовать его истинную атмосферу. Короткая прогулка по набережной даст возможность познакомиться с основными достопримечательностями города, в том числе с Белой башней (на посещение которой стоит уделить отдельное время) и с площадью Аристотеля (где бьётся сердце города). Во время такой прогулки можно прикупить кофе навынос или позавтракать в одном из кафе, наблюдая за городом. Рекомендуем попробовать «бугацу» (слоёный пирог со сладкой или солёной начинкой) или «кулури» (калачик, покрытый кунжутными семенами). Оба эти лакомства происходят из Салоник!

Закажите обзорную экскурсию по культурным памятникам Салоник! 

After all that walking, you deserve a good meal at the Upper Town

Верхний город (Ано Поли)

После хорошей прогулки пешком предлагаем пополнить силы хорошим обедом. Приглашаем Вас увидеть Верхний город, где сохраняются руины Византийской крепости и монастырей, находящихся под защитой ЮНЕСКО. Улочки Ано Поли создают атмосферу деревушки, а вид, открывающийся на Фермейский залив, просто превосходный! В ясную погоду можно разглядеть даже гору Олимп. Советуем заглянуть в одну из традиционных закусочных, которые называются «узери».

Experience the city of Thessaloniki by night

Ночная жизнь

Разумеется, чтобы завершить день интересно, мы отправимся в один из баров и ресторанов Салоник. Надо отметить, что это был первый город в Греции, который ЮНЕСКО признало гастрономическим направлением. Особенно выделим несколько районов города и отдельные улицы, которые знамениты своей ночной жизнью. Это район Лададика, ул. Митрополеос, ул. Валаориту, базар Бит. Если честно, то Вам не составит ни малейшего труда подыскать ресторан на свой вкус. Вас порадует широкий выбор вин, пива, коктейлей и разнообразных блюд. Салоники одновременно креативный и простой в контакте город, что отражается и в ночной жизни.

Яркая ночная жизнь Салоник

DAY 2 ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Гора Олимп

192 км Car, Foot 2

Тур по северной Греции по сути начинается во второй день, так как мы отправляемся на мифическую, гору Олимп – пристанище 12 древних богов. Находится Олимп в 1 часе и 10 минутах езды (91 км) к югу от города и манит к себе каждого отдыхающего в Салониках! Предлагаем пойти в поход по живописным склонам в подножии Олимпа и посетить деревню Литохоро. Мы запланировали вернуться в Салоники в конце дня, но Вы можете смело остаться здесь и дольше.

Hiking the Enipeas Gorge Valley

Поход вдоль реки Энипей

Оказавшись тут, кажется невероятным, что ещё вчера ты находился в  одном из самых оживлённых городов Европы. Ущелье, по которому протекает река Энипей, является одним из самых живописных и нетрудных маршрутов на горе Олимп. Тропа отходит из местечка Мили (чуть выше деревни Литохоро) и зигзагом уходит вверх до местечка Прионья (наивысшая точка, до которой едет машина). В пути Вас ждут деревянные мосты, живописный лес с пещерами, небольшой монастырь и скрытые водопады. Это лучший способ, чтобы познакомиться  с горой Зевса, особенно в осенние и зимние месяцы, когда верхние участки Олимпа недоступны для любительских походов и походов с детьми. Длина маршрута составляет 10 км, набор высоты доходит до 700 местров. Если силы закончатся раньше, можно вернуться назад на середине маршрута или организовать транспорт, который заберёт Вас из местечка Прионья. Или же взять такси для подъёма на гору, а назад спуститься пешком.

Познакомьтесь с пешими тропами горы Олимп! 

Spend a night in Litochoro, a town at the base of Mt. Olympus

Литохоро

Вторую половину дня предлагаем провести в великолепной деревне Литохоро. Советуем прочитать статью об интересных вариантах отдыха на Олимпе, Мы уверены, Вам захочется остаться здесь подольше и даже с ноч ёвкой. (Кроме того, выбор гостиниц имеется также в деревне Палеос Пантелеимонас). Литохоро сочетает в себе горный и морской стили. Ведь находясь здесь, можно видеть не только горный пейзаж со стороны Олимпа, но также любоваться на длинные песчаные пляжи региона Пьерия. Прогуляйтесь по старому центру деревни, который запомнится Вам своей традиционной македонской архитектурой.

DAY 3 ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Халкидики

285 км Car, Foot 2

Совершенно иной пейзаж ожидает Вас на третий день. Предлагаем отправиться на полуостров Халкидики, знаменитый своими экзотическими пляжами и великолепной береговой линией. Это место очаровывает отдыхающих в любое время года. Дивные пляжи и уютные горные деревушки притягательны круглый год.

Possidi beach is just 1hr30min away from the centre of Thessaloniki

Пляж Поссиди

Пляж Поссиди находится всего в 1,5 часах езды (105 км) от центра Салоник, на середине пути по западному побережью полуострова Кассандра (первого из трёх полуостровов Халкидики). Это длинный песчаный пляж, часть которого сама похожа на небольшой полуостровок. Прогуливаясь по этому берегу, чувствуешь единение с природой. Останьтесь здесь подольше, чтобы насладиться каждой минутой, проведённой среди дивной красоты. Также можно остаться на обед в одной из морских таверн.

Strolling around Arnaia village

Деревушка Арнеа

Перед тем, как вернуться в Салоники, предлагаем увидеть центральные районы Халкидики (ещё 1,5 часа езды) и направиться в одну из горных деревушек, характерных для северной Греции. На этот раз мы увидим, пожалуй, одну из самых красивых деревушек во всём регионе. Арена отличается своей длинной историей и яркими красками. Старинные дома, наполовину каменные, наполовину раскрашенные в жёлто-кирпичные тона, великолепно сохранились до сегодняшних дней. Центральная площадь деревни, носящая имя Аристотеля, имеет абсолютно традиционный стиль. В середине площади растёт большой платан, а вокруг расположены таверны и кафе, в которых любят засиживаться местные жители, перебирая в руках чётки. Советуем попробовать варёный кофе в греческом стиле, приготовленный традиционным способом на углях. Чуть ниже главной площади находится Ткацкий музей, в котором запечатлена историю деревни Арнеа как известного ткацкого центра в Греции. Из деревни отправимся сразу в Салоники на ночлег (1 час 20 минут езды, 74 км).

DAY 4 ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Озеро Керкини

198 км Boat, Car, Foot 2

Озеро Керкини (1,5 часа езды, 99 км к северу от Салоник) является поистине самым великолепным озером в Греции. Эо искусственный водоём, построенный в 30-е года прошлого века, ставший одним из самых важных природных заповедных зон страны. Предлагаем начать день с наблюдения за птицами, а затем отправиться в тур на внедорожнике в стиле сафари. В кенце дня опять же вернёмся в Салоники на последний ночлег в городе.

Boat tour which give the visitor the opportunity to admire the incomparable beauty of Lake Kerkini

Лодочная прогулка и наблюдение за птицами

Прелагаем провести утро, катаясь на традиционной лодке «плавес» по озеру Керкини и наслаждаясь спокойными видами самого озера, а также реки Стримон и её дельтой. В зависимости от  времени года, Вы сможете увидеть фламинго, пеликанов и бакланов. В общей сложности на озере обитает около 300 видов птиц (перелётных и эндемиков). Флора и фауна этого водоёма тоже очень богата и находится под защитой конвенции Ramsar. Трудно поверить, что Вы находитесь в Греции!

On a Jeep tour we spotted  a herd of water buffalo around  the unique nature of Lake Kerkini

Тур в стиле сафари и наблюдение за буйволами

И вот, когда кажется, что всё уже увидено, мы предлагаем Вам ещё одно необычное для Греции развлечение. Приглашаем Вас в тур на внедорожнике, чтобы увидеть водяных буйволов, пасущихся в полях вокруг озера. Это самая большая популяция этих животных в Греции. В магазинах города Керкини можно увидеть множество продуктов из мяса и молока буйвола. Наблюдение за этими животными станет незабываемым моментом всего отпуска! Не забудьте взять с собой камеру и фотоаппарат. Ведь пейзажи, которые Вы увидите здесь, просто великолепны!

DAY 5 ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Верия

92 км Car, Foot 3

На пятый день мы предлагаем изменить пункт базирования и перенестись в город Верия (55 минут езды, 72 км от Салоник). Это привлекательный маленький городок, являющийся центром региона Иматия. Здесь Вы увидите традиционную македонскую архитектуру, отведаете вкуснейшие сладости, а также познакомитесь с одним из самых запоминающихся мест в северной Греции. Итак, Верия – следующий пункт нашего дорожного тура недалеко от Салоник.

Veria is a fascinating little city that is the capital of the region of Imathia

Город Верия

Верия была основана в 5 веке до н. э., но основное историческое наследие этого гоорда связано с периодом 11-14 веков н. э., когда Верия стала одним из важных городов Византийской империи, что отчёливо видно по сохранившимся церквям. Здесь также есть еврейский квартал, известный под названием Барбута, который был основан ещё в середине 19-ого века, когда в северной Греции проживало много еврейских общин (особенно в Салониках), образовавшихся после гонений в Европе. Прогулка по узким улочкам города, особенно в районе Кириотис, оставит незабываемые впечатления. Вы увидите двухэтажные деревянные дома, а также каменные здания в традиционно македонском стиле.

Revani sweet-tasting Veria

Сладкий пирог «ревани»

Если грек говорит, что едет в Верию, то ждите, что он привезёт оттуда сладкий пирог «ревани», который готовится из манки, пропитывается апельсиновым сиропом, посыпается корицей и тёртым миндалём. Это объедение! «Ревани» стал сегодня самым главным продуктом, производимым в Верии на экспорт, который расходится по всей Греции. «Ревани», изготавливаемые в семейной пекарне Хохлиуру, являются настоящими кулинарными шедеврами. А сама пекарня радует всех своим мастерством уже 130 лет! Именно поэтому обязательно загляните в их фирменный магазин, находящийся в центре города, что увидеть своими глазами и даже попробовать эти наивкуснейшие пироги.

The Aliakmonas Fjords

Бухточки реки Альякмонас

Последний пункт этого дня находится в 10 километрах от Верии. Это смотровая площадка над бухточками реки Альякомонас. Этот пейзаж станет одним самых ярких моментов Вашего путешествия по северной Греции. Здесь можно устроить великолепный пикник или прост привезти с собой кофе и сладкий «ревани», чтобы отдохнуть, любуясь замечательным видом. Эту поездку можно сочетать с посещением монастыря Богородицы в деревушке Каллипетра, находяшейся совсем неподалёку. А если желаете избавиться от лишних калорий, набранных после всех сладостей, то предлагаем прогуляться пешком по плотине через реку Альякмонас. Кроме того, говоря о Верии, нельзя не упомянуть и Вергину, известную царскими гробницами Филиппа ΙΙ и Александра Македонского. Ведь этот исторический памятник находится всего в 14 км от Верии. Однако чтобы познакомиться с ним, рекомендуем выделить отдельный экскурсионный день.

DAY 6 ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Эдесса

110 км Car, Foot 2

Наш тур по северной Греции продолжается и на этот раз предлагаем отправиться к северу от Верии (50 минут езды, 48 км) и побывать в городе Эдесса. Это город водопадов! Река Эдессос спускается каскадами через город, что в 19-ом и 20-ом веках использовалось местными производителями текстиля для установки водяных мельниц, которые приводили в движение станки. Мы также включили в программу дня ещё два интересных пункта, связанных с водой и водными процедурами – ещё одно прекрасное озеро и термальные источники! А затем отправимся на ночлег в сам город Эдесса.

Edessa’s waterfalls

Водопады и парк

Это место сначала становится слышно, а уже потом видно. Но увиденное, несомненно, очарует Вас! Каранос является самым крупным и впечатляющим из всех водопадов Эдессы. Вода падает вниз с каскада высотой в 70 метров прямо в самом сердце города. Можно даже пройти позади водопада! Прогуливаясь по городскому парку, Вы увидите десятки деревянных мостиков и более мелких водопадов, а также Водяной музей под открытым небом, в котором сохранены водяные мельницы и ткацкие станки. На ужин так или иначе предлагаем вернуться в город. Поэтому либо сейчас, либо вечером Вы всё равно захотите прогуляться по самому городу. Особенно рекомендуем район Вароси, остававшийся христианским даже во времена Османской империи.

Lake Vegoritida, Edessa

Озеро Вегоритида

Ещё одно живописное место северной Греции находится всего в 40 минутах езды (27 км) к западу. Это озеро Вегоритида, которое входит в тройку самых крупных озёр в Греции, а также может похвастаться чуть ли не самой богатой флорой и фауной в стране. Вокруг озера можно прокатиться на велосипеде. Также можно порыбачить, а в тёплые месяцы даже поплавать. Чтобы узнать побольше о лодочных прогулках, обратитесь в Центр туристической информации. Озеро Вегоритида станет одним из лучших снимков Вашего Инстаграма.

Pozar Thermal Baths in Loutraki

Термальные источники Позар

В качестве альтернативы для пункта 2 предлагаем направиться к северу от города Эдесса  (34 минуты езды, 32 км) и доехать до термальных источников Позар, находящихся недалеко от деревни Аридеа. Позар открыт круглый год для желающих искупаться в целебной воде, так как вода в источниках имеет постоянную температуру 30-38 градусов Цельсия. Вода из источников собирается в специальный бассейн, а рядом протекает река с талой водой. Самые смелые могут попробовать окунуться поочерёдно в оба водоёма! Вдалеке возвышается гора Каймакчалан (являющийся естественной границей страны на севере), поэтому общий пейзаж производит волшебное впечатление. Не забудьте надеть удобную обувь для ходьбы, чтобы иметь возможность прогуляться по тропе, ведущей через горное ущелье в северном направлении. В горах также работает лыжный центр, который великолепно дополнит программу тура в зимний период.


 

DAY 7 ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Гуменисса

204 км Car, Foot 2

Последний день дорожного тура по северной Греции недалеко от Салоник пройдёт в маленьком городке Гуменисса, находящемся в 58 км (1 час езды) от Эдессы. Городок был построен ещё в Эллинистическую и Римскую эпохи, а во времена Византии был важным религиозным центром. Однако мы приглашаем Вас сюда, чтобы побывать на местной винодельне перед тем, как отправиться дальше знакомиться с красотами природы. Вечером этого дня нам предстоит вернуться в Салоники (105 км, 1 час и 35 минут езды).

Visit Goumenissa a small town that dates to Hellenistic and Roman times

Посещение винодельни

Оставляем на Ваше усмотрение, какую из виноделен Гумениссы Вы решите выбрать. Каждая из них сможет познакомить Вас с одним из самых нежных греческих сортов винограда под названием Ксиномавро. Есть также ещё один сорт – Негос, который составляет небольшой процент местной винной продукции. Однако сорт Ксиномавро является королём македонского вина, несмотря на довольно высокую прихотливость при выращивании. Из него изготавливают сложные вина с фруктовыми оттенками. На экскурсии по винограднику и во время дегустации Вам расскажут самые интересные подробности о производстве местного вина, которое в этом районе связано с семейными винодельнями, передающими свои традиции из поколения в поколение. Теплота и щедрость виноделов тоже останется приятным впечатлением от этого тура.

The Skra Waterfalls are in a nature reserve north of Goumenissa, in the prefecture of Kilkis

Водопады Скра

А как ещё можно завершить тур по северной Греции?! Конечно же, ещё раз любуясь природой Македонии. Водопады Скра находятся на территории природного заповедника чуть севернее Гумениссы, в области Килкис. Чтобы увидеть их, нужно пройти несколько километров по тропе, отходящей от деревни Скра. Это целая цепочка небольших водопадов, которые Вы будете встречать один за другим, но мы рекомендуем дойти до самого впечатляющего из них, который образует возле себя Изумрудное озеро (Вы, конечно, догадалась, почему оно так называется). Вот ещё одно незабываемое впечатление, которое навсегда останется в памяти после этого путешествия.

More itineraries

East meets west in Kavala Old Town, with the Ottoman influence apparent in the architecture

5-дневная незабываемая поездка в город Кавала и на остров Фасос

Aerial view of Thessaloniki's White Tower

5-дневный тур по Салоникам и окрестному региону

The immense armour of King Philip II

5-дневный тур на машине к самому сердцу древней Македонии

Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

8-дневный тур по полуострову Халкидики и Салоникам

East meets west in Kavala Old Town, with the Ottoman influence apparent in the architecture

5-дневная незабываемая поездка в город Кавала и на остров Фасос

5-day late-summer and autumn road trip in Chania

5-дневный тур поздним летом или осенью по региону Ханья

The immense armour of King Philip II

5-дневный тур на машине к самому сердцу древней Македонии

Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

8-дневный тур по полуострову Халкидики и Салоникам

Морская поездка на уединённый и дикий пляж Лалария на острове Скиатос

Все красоты Скиатоса за 6 дней!

Десятидневный тур по полуострову Пелопоннес

Десятидневный тур по полуострову Пелопоннес

The Aliakmonas Fjords
ITINERARY

7-day road trip from Thessaloniki into northern Greece

An epic road trip into northern Greece, including the best of Thessaloniki and filled with incredible culture, food, lakes, hiking, mountain villages, thermal baths and even a winery visit.

Our 7-day road trip from Thessaloniki into Macedonia is designed for couples and friends, with just enough city life and no end of natural highlights and relaxation to make you feel totally free. After enjoying the best of Thessaloniki, there’s hiking on Mt Olympus, beach-time in Halkidiki, bird-watching in Lake Kerkini, exploring the waterfalls of Edessa and many more treats to inspire you.

Most car journeys are around 1hr (max 1hr30min) and we’ve road-tested the experiences for you (check out our video). Feel free to shorten or extend your stay. It’s an itinerary designed for you to mix and match your stops and to be enjoyed at any time of year – although autumn and winter (from October to March) are ideal.

Start point - End point
Thessaloniki city centre
Distance
1,108 km
Means of transport
Car
Duration
7 days
Highlights
Aristotelous Square, White Tower, Ano Poli, Mt Olympus, Possidi beach in Halkidiki, bird-watching at Lake Kerkini, Veria town, Edessa’s waterfalls, wine-tasting in Goumenissa, Pozar Thermal Baths
DAY 1 OVERVIEW

Thessaloniki

27 km Car, Foot 3

Your base for the first 4 days of your road trip is the focal point of day one. Thessaloniki is Greece’s second-largest city and the most important urban centre of the north. It’s a fascinating blend of cultures, with historical and cultural highlights, and a love of food and the good life. The airport is just 17km (27min) from the centre.

The itinerary starts at the iconic White Tower and ends at the castles of the Upper Town

The waterfront

Every visit to Thessaloniki should start at the waterfront. There’s no better way to get a feeling for the laid back atmosphere of the city. One short stroll will introduce you to the landmarks – including the White Tower (make time to visit the museum) and Aristotelous Square (the heart of the city) – but you could just as easily grab coffee and breakfast and watch Thessaloniki do its thing. Ask for a bougatsa (sweet or savoury) or a koulouri (a sesame seed-coated bread ring). Both originated here. 

Take a tour of the cultural highlights of Thessaloniki 

After all that walking, you deserve a good meal at the Upper Town

The Upper Town (Ano Poli)

After all that walking, you deserve a good meal. Our treat is to take you to the Upper Town, with the remains of Byzantine fortresses (the castles of Thessaloniki) and UNESCO-protected monasteries. There’s a village feel to the alleyways of Ano Poli and the view of the Thermaic Gulf is second-to-none. On a clear day, you can see Mt Olympus. Find yourself a traditional ouzerie (specialising in meze) and settle back. You’ll be here a while.

Experience the city of Thessaloniki by night

The nightlife

The only way to end your day. The food & drinks scene of Thessaloniki is legendary. In fact, it was the first destination in Greece to become UNESCO City of Gastronomy. There are a few neighbourhoods and streets that stand out for nightlife (Ladadika, Mitropoleos St, Valaoritou St, Bit Bazaar) but, honestly, you won’t have any difficulty finding somewhere that matches your mood – beer, wine, cocktails and pretty much any kind of food. Thessaloniki is both creative and totally comfortable with itself, characteristics that come out in any good night out. 

Discover the nightlife scene of Thessaloniki

DAY 2 OVERVIEW

Mt Olympus

192 Km Car, Foot 2

Your tour around northern Greece starts today as you head to the mythical mountain of the 12 gods, Mt Olympus, around 1hr10min (91km) to the south and a beacon for any visitor to Thessaloniki. You follow a gentle but utterly beautiful walk on the lower slopes of Olympus, followed by time in Litochoro, a town at the base of the mountain. You return to Thessaloniki for the night, but feel free to extend your stay here.

Hiking the Enipeas Gorge Valley

Hiking the Enipeas Gorge Valley

You won’t believe that just yesterday you were in one of Europe’s most lively cities. The Enipeas Gorge is a beautiful (and easy) hike on Mt Olympus, starting at Myli (just above Litochoro) and winding up to Prionia (the highest point reachable by car). You cross wooden bridges and pass through a pristine forest with caves, a small monastery and hidden waterfalls. It’s a wonderful way to be introduced to Zeus’ primary residence, particularly during autumn and winter months (when the trails on the upper slopes of Mt Olympus are off-limits) and with children. It’s a 10km route and a 700m elevation gain, so you can always turn back halfway or arrange for transport back from Prionia. Or get a taxi up and walk down.

Explore the hiking paths of Mt Olympus 

Spend a night in Litochoro, a town at the base of Mt. Olympus

Litochoro

You spend the rest of the afternoon exploring the fascinating town of Litochoro. In fact, once you learn about the incredible number of things to do on Mt Olympus, you’ll probably want to spend the night here – or better still, come back for more. (A village alternative with accommodation is Palaios Panteleimonas). Litochoro has a unique mountain and sea feel (not only do you have epic views of Mt Olympus but it also overlooks the long, sandy beaches of Pieria. Stroll around the Old Town, with its traditional Macedonian architecture and tavernas with local food. 

DAY 3 OVERVIEW

Halkidiki

285 km Car, Foot 2

The scenery couldn’t be more different for Day 3 as you venture into Halkidiki, famous for its exotic beaches and dreamy coastline. Here’s your chance to discover that it’s a magical destination at any time of year, experiencing the therapeutic beauty of the beaches whatever the season and a cosy mountain village. 

Possidi beach is just 1hr30min away from the centre of Thessaloniki

Possidi beach

Possidi beach is just 1hr30min (105km) from the centre of Thessaloniki, midway down the western coast of Kassandra (the first leg of Halkidiki’s three-pronged peninsula). It’s an incredible expanse of sand (part of the beach is like a peninsula) on which to stroll and reconnect with nature. So take your time and savour every minute. It’s up to you whether you have a seafood meal here or eat at your next stop.

Strolling around Arnaia village

Arnea village

Rather than returning directly to Thessaloniki, you head into central Halkidiki (it’s another 1hr30min drive but it’s worth it) to a mountain village that is typical of northern Greece and, quite possibly, the most beautiful in the region. There’s so much history and colour in Arnea, with its beautifully preserved buildings, part-stone and part-painted different shades of ochre and yellow. The central square (also called Aristotelous) is totally traditional, with a plane tree, tavernas and cafes with worry-bead twirling locals. Be sure to order a Greek coffee made on embers in the time-honoured way. Just below the main square is the Weaving Museum, recording Arnea’s history as a centre of the craft in Greece. From Arnea, you return to Thessaloniki for the night (1hr20min, 74km).

DAY 4 OVERVIEW

Lake Kerkini

198 km Boat, Car, Foot 2

Lake Kerkini (1hr30min, 99km north of Thessaloniki) is hands-down one of the most gorgeous parts of Greece. It’s a man-made reservoir, created in the 1930s, which has become one of the country’s most important nature reserves and is a protected national park. The day starts bird-watching and moves on to a Jeep safari tour. You return to Thessaloniki for a final night.

Boat tour which give the visitor the opportunity to admire the incomparable beauty of Lake Kerkini

A bird-watching boat trip

You spend your morning in one of the plaves (the traditional boats of Lake Kerkini), exploring the serene waters of the lake as well as Strymon River and its delta. Depending on the season, you’ll tick off flamingos, pelicans and cormorants. In all, there are around 300 bird species (migratory and indigenous) as well as other animal and plant life in this Ramsar Convention-protected wetland. Pinch yourself, you really are in Greece.

On a Jeep tour we spotted  a herd of water buffalo around  the unique nature of Lake Kerkini

Water buffalo-spotting on a Jeep Safari

Just when you think you’ve seen it all for new experiences in Greece, you spend your afternoon in an off-road vehicle admiring the water buffalo (yes water buffalo!) in the fields around the lake, the largest such colony in the country. There are buffalo products (cured meats and dairy) on sale in Kerkini town but the best bit is just watching the animals serenely grazing. So don’t forget your camera. The scenery is a knockout. 

DAY 5 OVERVIEW

Veria

92 km Car, Foot 3

You change base from today, heading to Veria (55min, 72km from Thessaloniki), a fascinating little city that is the capital of the region of Imathia. There’s a sweet treat in store as well as more Macedonian architecture and one of the most memorable views on your road trip from Thessaloniki around northern Greece. Stay the night in Veria.

Veria is a fascinating little city that is the capital of the region of Imathia

Veria town

Veria was founded in the 5th-century BC but its most striking legacy is from the 11th-14th century AD when it was an important outpost of the Byzantine Empire, something you’ll recognise in the dozens of churches. There’s also a Jewish quarter (known as Barbouta) from the 1850s, a time when there were Jewish communities in northern Greece (particularly in Thessaloniki), from Jews fleeing persecution elsewhere in Europe. You’ll adore walking down the narrow streets, especially the mazy Kyriotissa neighbourhood, with more two-storey wooden and stone buildings in the Macedonian style.

Revani sweet-tasting Veria

Revani sweet-tasting

If a Greek says they’re going to Veria, you can look forward to them bringing back a box of revani – a traditional semolina sponge cake sprinkled with cinnamon and flaked almonds and (the all-important ingredient) oozing orange-flavoured sugar syrup. Yum! Revani is now Veria’s most important export (at least to the rest of Greece). The Chochliourou family are masters of the craft of creating revani for an astonishing 130 years! So there’s no way you’re leaving without visiting their store in the centre of town to see (or rather taste) what all the fuss is about.  

The Aliakmonas Fjords

The Aliakmonas Fjords

Your final stop is 10km from Veria, at a viewpoint above the Aliakmonas Fjords. The scenery will be one of the highlights of your road trip in northern Greece. It’s a great picnic spot, or you could grab a coffee-to-go and some revani and enjoy them with a river view. What a combo! The Monastery of the Virgin Mary at Kallipetra is right next door and you can work off your excesses by walking across the Aliakmonas dam. As a final thought, you can’t mention Veria and not consider visiting Vergina and the Royal Tombs of Aigai (the burial site of Philip II of Macedon, father of Alexander the Great). It’s just 14km from Veria. But that might be an experience for another day.

DAY 6 OVERVIEW

Edessa

110 km Car, Foot 2

Your tour of northern Greece continues 50min (48km) north of Veria to Edessa, Greece’s city of waterfalls. We have the Edessos River to thank for these creations of nature, and the 19th and 20th-century textile-industrialists of Edessa to thank for the watermills that drove their looms. Two more water-filled experiences compete for your attention as your second stop (another magical lake or thermal baths) before you settle down for the night in Edessa.

Edessa’s waterfalls

The waterfalls and the park

You hear them before you see them, but seeing really is believing when it comes to Edessa’s waterfalls. Karanos is by far the largest and all the more impressive that it produces a full 70m cascade of water in the heart of a city. You can even walk behind the waterfall. Exploring the city’s park, there are dozens of wooden bridges and more scattered waterfalls, as well as an open-air Water Museum, with water-powered mills and looms. You’ll be in Edessa for dinner, so whether it’s now or later take a walk around town, especially within Varosi, the Christian district during Ottoman times.

Lake Vegoritida, Edessa

Lake Vegoritida

Another example of the beautiful nature of northern Greece lies just 40min (27km) to the west at Lake Vegoritida. It’s amongst the top three largest natural lakes in Greece and one of the richest in terms of animal and plant life. You can cycle around the lake, fish and (in warmer months) even swim. For sailing and boat trips, consult with the Tourist Information Kiosk. Another Insta hotspot. 

Pozar Thermal Baths in Loutraki

Pozar Thermal Baths

Alternatively, head 34min (32km) north of Edessa to the Pozar Thermal Baths, close to Aridea. Pozar is a year-round highlight for bathers in the area because of the 30-38°C spring water that collects in a pool, right next to a meltwater river. You can even hop between the two if you’re feeling brave. With Mt Kaimaktsalan (one of Greece’s natural northern borders) in the distance, the setting is pure magic. So bring a pair of good walking shoes and follow the path up the gorge heading north as far as you want. There’s also a ski centre in the area as a bonus during winter visits. 

DAY 7 OVERVIEW

Goumenissa

204 km Car, Foot 2

The final day of your road trip from Thessaloniki into northern Greece brings you to Goumenissa (1hr, 58km from Edessa), a small town that dates to Hellenistic and Roman times that was also an important religious centre in Byzantium. Your reason for being here, however, is to visit a winery before ending with another burst of water-filled nature and your final 1hr35min (105km) drive to Thessaloniki.

Visit Goumenissa a small town that dates to Hellenistic and Roman times

Vineyard visit

It’s up to you which of Goumenissa’s wineries you visit (there are a few) but, whichever you choose, you’ll be introduced to one of Greece’s finest red grape varieties, Xinomavro. There’s another red grape called Negoska that accounts for a small percentage of local production, but Xinomavro is king in Macedonia and – despite being challenging to grow – produces complex and fruity reds. You’ll learn all about it during a vineyard and wine-tasting tour and discover how most wineries here are multi-generational, family-owned businesses. The personality and generosity of the wine-growers is part of the experience.

The Skra Waterfalls are in a nature reserve north of Goumenissa, in the prefecture of Kilkis

Skra Waterfalls

How else could you end your tour of northern Greece than having one last taste of Macedonian nature? The Skra Waterfalls are in a nature reserve north of Goumenissa, in the prefecture of Kilkis, at the end of a short path that starts a few kilometres outside Skra village. There is a series of small waterfalls on the walk, but you’ll know when you reach the star attraction because it tumbles into the Emerald Lake (as its plunge pool is called … no prizes for guessing why!). It’s another unforgettable memory to take home with you. There have been a few!

FAQs

Greece is a relatively small country, with Athens and Thessaloniki (the capital and second-largest city) 500km (5hr30min drive) apart in the south and north. Around 80% of the mainland is mountainous, with small towns and villages throughout. Wherever you are, you’ll find tavernas with locals and small hotels and rooms to rent. Many of the coastal settlements have a Greek island feel.

There are so many options for road trips in northern Greece. Apart from the road trip from Thessaloniki outlined here, the following are great bases from which to explore, with mountains, local traditions, fantastic food and nature activities.

Kavala: A city that blends east and west, with sandy beaches and beautiful day-trips to enjoy in the region, including Thassos (Greece’s northernmost island).
Kastoria: A lakeside jewel with fascinating neighbourhoods and a springboard to treasures such as the Prespes Lakes, Nymfaio, Grevena and the North Pindos Mountains.
Ioannina: Another lakeside treasure brimming with history and a stepping stone to the Zagorochoria mountain villages and the Pindos Mountains.
Halkidiki: The entire region has road-trip potential, from the beaches of Kassandra and Sithonia, to the mountain villages and wineries of central Halkidiki. To the east lies the Mt Athos peninsula.

Greece has a good motorway network, with the National Highway (A1) running from Athens to Thessaloniki, the Egnatia Odos (A2) cutting across northern Greece (from the port of Igoumenitsa in the west to the Turkish border in the east), the Olympia Odos (A8) in the Peloponnese and the Ionia Odos (A8) in western Greece (from the Gulf of Corinth to Ioannina) being the main routes for road trips. They all have tolls (credit cards accepted) and are in good condition, with regular public toilets and motorway service stations (with cafes and shops) and good signage (including electronic emergency updates).

You can rent a car at all Greek airports, as well as in cities, islands and many towns. Major international companies are represented (especially at airports and in cities) and you will also find local providers. Larger companies will allow you to rent a car in one location and drop it off at another, with an additional cost. 
 

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

mt-olympus-2-day-1-logo
Group

Mt. Olympus 2-day

2 days
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
24 Reviews
If your time is limited but still want to fully experience mountain Olympus, this 2-day trip is just designed for you! You will hike with...
enipeas-gorge-logo
Group

Enipeas Canyon hike

8 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
10 Reviews
A great day hiking in Enipeas gorge were you will have the opportunity to experience the unique natural beauty of the lower Olympus area. The...

More itineraries

East meets west in Kavala Old Town, with the Ottoman influence apparent in the architecture

5 day Itinerary in Kavala & Thassos

Aerial view of Thessaloniki's White Tower

A 5-day extended city break in and around Thessaloniki

The immense armour of King Philip II

A 5-day road trip to the heart of Ancient Macedonia

Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

An 8-day road trip to Thessaloniki & Halkidiki

East meets west in Kavala Old Town, with the Ottoman influence apparent in the architecture

5 day Itinerary in Kavala & Thassos

5-day late-summer and autumn road trip in Chania

5-day late-summer and autumn itinerary in Chania

The immense armour of King Philip II

A 5-day road trip to the heart of Ancient Macedonia

Three Cycladic gems, each with their own unique character, and so close to one another (and the ports of Athens) that you won’t be able to wait to get started.

A 10-day island-hopping tour of Andros, Syros and Tinos

Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

An 8-day road trip to Thessaloniki & Halkidiki

A boat trip to Skiathos remote and wild Lalaria beach

The very best of Skiathos in 6 days