Tables of a restaurant in front of a church in the harbour of Naousa village, Paros island
EXPERIENCE

La visite de Naoussa allie le chic de l'île à de profondes traditions

Tradition et style vont de pair lorsque vous explorez le charmant village de pêcheurs de Naoussa à Paros.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Demi-journée
Par saison
Avril - Octobre

OVERVIEW

Les émotions sont profondes lorsque vous explorez le village de pêcheurs de Naoussa. Le deuxième plus grand établissement de Paros est aussi le plus atmosphérique : une image parfaite à travers un œil, et une île chic à travers l'autre. Il parvient, en même temps, à être à la fois profondément authentique et plein d'amour pour la vie d'aujourd'hui. 

Toutes ces maisons blanchies à la chaux et aux volets bleus de la mer Égée, ces boutiques élégantes et ces ruelles pavées, ces petites églises et ces cours remplies de bougainvilliers... c'est les effets des Cyclades. C’est une scène de tranquillité qui est bien loin de l'époque où l'île était l'objet de fréquents raids de pirates à l'époque vénitienne. 

Mais là où Naoussa, sur la côte nord de Paros, révèle son âme, c'est en explorant simplement son petit port, avec les vestiges de son passé vénitien et une abondance de bateaux de pêche traditionnels et de tavernes de fruits de mer.
 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Le port

En se promenant dans le port de Naoussa, vous êtes immédiatement frappé par deux choses: les vestiges du château vénitien (Kastelli) et les délicieux fruits de mer dans toutes les tavernes du bord de mer. 

Une partie de la forteresse vénitienne du 15ème siècle est encore visible dans le port, y compris une tour de surveillance partiellement submergée. Pendant ce temps, tout autour de vous se trouvent des cafés et des tavernes servant du poulpe grillé au charbon de bois et l'autre spécialité de l'île, le gouna, ou maquereau séché au soleil, assaisonné et grillé et servi avec du souma (un raki local) ou du vin.

Prenez votre temps pour vous promenez et admirer la façon dont les tavernes, les boutiques et les églises se fondent les unes dans les autres. Certaines des tavernes sont en fait d'anciens hangars à bateaux. A l'extrémité nord du port se trouve la pittoresque chapelle d'Agios Nikolaos, protecteur des marins et des pêcheurs (on dit que Paros possède la plus grande flotte de bateaux de pêche des Cyclades).

Les ruelles

Suivez les ruelles  blanchies à la chaux et laissez-vous guidés au milieu des bougainvillées, des pavés, des boutiques de souvenirs, des galeries d'art et des innombrables petits bars et cafés. 

Vous ne pourrez pas manquer l'église de l'Assomption de la Vierge, qui occupe le point le plus élevé du village.

Le Musée du Folklore

Prenez le temps de visiter le Musée Historique et Folklorique de Paros, situé à côté de la place principale, qui abrite la collection d'Othon Kaparis, un célèbre médecin local - des découvertes de l'Acropole Mycénienne de l'île aux objets de la vie quotidienne dans la campagne de Paros, en passant par les cartes nautiques et les livres historiques.

Lire la suite Read Less

Depuis Parikia (la capitale de Paros):  

Par voiture, taxi ou bus (KTEL): 11km

De l’aéroport à Parikia (et puis comme mentionné ci-dessus):

Par voiture, taxi ou bus (KTEL): 20km


Pour plus d’informations des bus KTEL 

  • Vous pouvez profiter pleinement de votre expérience à Naoussa entre Avril et Octobre.
  • Nous vous recommandons de visiter Naoussa en mois de Mai - Juin et Septembre - Octobre, lorsque les magasins et les sites archéologiques sont toujours ouverts, mais les routes sont moins calmes.
  • Il y a une reconstitution d'un raid de pirates le 23 août, avec des feux d'artifice et de la danse.
  • Le Musée du Folklore: Heures d'ouverture 10:00-13:00 tous les jours d' Avril à Octobre (les heures d'ouverture saisonnières s' appliquent).

Le premier dimanche de juillet, il y a une fête animée du vin et du poisson.

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Vous n'avez pas besoin d'une visite guidée pour apprécier Naoussa, donc le temps que vous prenez pour explorer dépend de vous. 
  • Les sites mentionnés peuvent être visités en une demi-journée.

Avec d'excellentes plages à proximité et toutes les tavernes et bars, pourquoi ne pas y passer la journée (et la nuit) ?

 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages, des villes et des cités grecs pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Respectez les autres visiteurs et les habitants.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

Découvrez à pieds la capitale colorée de Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

Découvrez à pieds Kalamata, une ville en pleine émergence

There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront

Découvrez la ville de Kos à vélo en suivant un parcours sur mesure

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Découvrez à pieds la ville principale de Skyros

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Découvrez à pieds la Chora de Mykonos

If it’s a jaw-dropping vista you’re after, take the steps from Imerovigli down to Skaros Rock

Découvrez les sentiers de randonnée à Santorin

Hora is the capital and harbour of Antiparos island

Une promenade pédestre à la paisible et pittoresque Chóra d'Antiparos

Tables of a restaurant in front of a church in the harbour of Naousa village, Paros island
EXPERIENCE

A walking tour of Naoussa blends island chic with deep traditions

Tradition and style go hand in hand as you explore Paros’ charming fishing village of Naoussa.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Half day
Season
April - October

OVERVIEW

Emotions run deep as you explore the fishing village of Naoussa. Paros’ second largest settlement is also its most atmospheric: picture-perfect quaintness through one eye and island chic through the other. It manages, at the same time, to be both deeply authentic and flush with a love of living life for today. 

All those whitewashed houses and Aegean-blue shutters, elegant shops and cobblestone alleyways, and little churches and bougainvillaea-filled courtyards … this is the Cyclades doing what it does nest. It’s a scene of tranquility that’s a far cry from when the island was the subject of frequent pirate raids during Venetian times.
 
But where Naoussa, on the northern shores of Paros, reveals its soul is in simply exploring its tiny harbour, with remnants of its Venetian past and an abundance of traditional fishing boats and seafood tavernas. 
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The port

Strolling through the port of Naoussa, you’re instantly struck by two things: the remnants of the Venetian Castle (Kastelli) and the delicious seafood in all the seafront tavernas. 

A part of the 15th century Venetian fortress can still be seen in the harbour, including a partially submerged watchtower. Meanwhile, all around you are coffee shops and tavernas serving char-grilled octopus and the island’s other speciality, gouna – or sun-dried mackerel, seasoned and grilled and served with souma (a local raki) or wine. 

Take your time to wander around, marvelling how the tavernas, shops and churches blend into one another. Some of the tavernas are actually former boat sheds. Taking pride of place at the northern end of the harbour is the picturesque chapel of Agios Nikolaos, protector of sailors and fishermen (they say Paros has the largest fleet of fishing boats in the Cyclades). 

The alleyways

From here, disappear into the whitewashed alleyways, amidst the bougainvillea, cobblestones, souvenir shops, arts galleries and countless small bars & cafés. 
You won’t be able to miss the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin, occupying the highest spot of the village.

The Folklore Museum

And make some time to visit the Historical and Folklore Museum of Paros, next to the main square, housing the collection of Othon Kaparis, a celebrated located doctor – from findings from the island’s Mycenaean Acropolis to items of everyday life I rural Paros, nautical maps and historical books.

Read More Read Less

From Parikia (the capital of Paros): 

By car, taxi, or bus (KTEL): 11km

From the airport to Parikia (and then as above): 

By car, taxi, or bus (KTEL): 20km


KTEL bus info
 

  • You can enjoy the full experience of Naoussa from April-October. 
  • We recommend visiting from May-June and September-October, when shops and archaeological sites are still open but the streets are quieter.
  • On August 23 there is a re-enactment of a pirate raid, including fireworks and dancing. 
  • The Folklore Museum: Opening hours 10:00-13:00 daily from April to October (seasonal opening hours apply). Tickets €2. 

There’s a lively wine and fish festival on the first Sunday of July.  

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • You don’t need a guided tour to enjoy Naoussa, so how long you take to explore is up to you. 
  • The sights mentioned can be covered in half a day. 

With excellent nearby beaches and all tavernas and bars, why not make a day (and night) of it? 

Plan your trip

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

A walking tour of colourful Ermoupoli in Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town

Hora is the capital and harbour of Antiparos island

A walking tour of Antiparos’ quiet and quaint Hora