Milos, Greece - September 10, 2015: Top view of canoes at Tsigrado Beach in Milos island, Cyclades,
COVER STORY

Les Cyclades: De la merveilleuse Milos à ses somptueuses voisines cycladiques

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour savourer une salade grecque

Vous comprendrez très vite pourquoi votre périple dans les îles commence par Milos. Ce n’est pas seulement parce qu’il y a un aéroport et que l’île est facile d’accès en bateau depuis le Pirée, mais aussi parce que le paysage unique donne envie de déployer ses ailes… D’abord ici, puis sur la toute proche Kimolos, la délicieuse Sifnos et la charmante Serifos. Vous êtes prêt?

À la découverte d’un trésor naturel: Milos

Le passé volcanique de Milos a donné naissance à l’un des plus beaux paysages de Grèce. Cette île entraîne l’imagination autant qu’elle invite aux vacances. Elle est idéale pour une pause autant que pour un plus long séjour. En plus, c’est le point de départ parfait pour d’autres îles dans les Cyclades.

Le rivage et les plages offrent un spectacle grandiose – PalaiochoriPapafragasGerontasPlathiena... ou peut-être Tsigrado, que l’on atteint via une corde, et sa grande sœur voisine, Firiplaka, qui est une plage de sable. Où que vous alliez, vous vous demanderez comment la roche parvient à rendre ces nuances rouges, vertes et jaunes.

Il faut absolument voir Sarakiniko, avec ses formations rocheuses blanches qui attireront les photographes, et Kleftiko, ancien refuge de pirates. Ne manquez pas non plus les maisons de pêcheurs de Klima et Mandrakia, les premières catacombes chrétiennes, les mines de soufre désaffectées et le musée des minéraux, qui répondra à toutes vos questions sur la couleur des rochers.

Laissez-vous hypnotiser par Milos

Polyegos, not just a virgin landscape of pristine beaches, but an escape for rare and protected wildlife, just off Milos

L’éclatante beauté de Kimolos

Il faut environ 40 minutes pour se rendre de Milos à sa petite sœur volcanique, Kimolos – une île que les Vénitiens ont baptisée Arzantiera à cause de l’argent que l’on y extrayait. De nos jours, ce sont les plages de sable qui confèrent à l’île son éclatante beauté. Parmi elles, se trouvent Ellinika, avec ses tombeaux anciens visibles depuis la côte, Aliki, idéale pour des moments en famille, et Prasa, prisée par les phoques moines quand les touristes sont absents. Kimolos parvient à mêler une beauté exotique et un côté rude et sauvage.

Chorio n’est pas une ville mais un hameau, simple et tout à fait charmant, avec des patios joliment entretenus et des habitants accueillants. On trouve des chemins de randonnée, un château médiéval et un musée archéologique mais, admettons-le, vous êtes probablement là pour les plages et la sérénité absolue!

Découvrez un filon d’argent sur l’Egée

Un trait d’argent dans la mer Égée

Depuis Milos, vous pouvez aussi vous rendre à Sifnos (à 40 minutes de là), un autre bijou doté de belles plages, mais aussi réputé pour sa nourriture. Lieu de naissance de Nicholas Tselementes, qui a écrit en 1932 l’ancêtre de tous les livres de recettes grecques, chaque fête y est accompagnée d’un délice, comme les finikia (biscuits au miel parfumés aux clous de girofle) à Noël ou le mastelo (agneau cuit dans un plat d’argile, avec du vin rouge et de l’aneth) à Pâques. Le siglino (porc fumé) se trouve sur les menus de tout le pays et la revithada, soupe de pois chiches, est particulièrement appréciée.

Quant aux plages, les plus populaires sont Platys Gialos – une longue plage de sable – et Kamaras, mais allez voir aussi VathiGlyfo et Seralia. Cette dernière est une petite baie de galets au sud de Kastro, le port de Sifnos dans l’Antiquité.

Dégustez une bouchée de Sifnos

Sifnos' Hora from above

Serifos, la mariée rougissante

Finalement, nous arrivons à Serifos, à environ 30 minutes de Sifnos. C’est la quintessence de l’île cycladique, avec un tissu de maisons blanches qui recouvrent la colline, telle une robe de mariée, et avec un charme presque pudique. Les plages se comptent par dizaines (il y en a plus de 70, d’après les habitants): Lia, Koutalas, Vagia, Ganema, Kalo Ambeli, Psili Ammos ou encore Sykamis, pour n’en citer que quelques-unes.

Il vaut la peine de faire une excursion en bateau autour de l’île, pour les lieux de baignade et les vues sur les tunnels miniers qui pénètrent au creux de la montagne. Promenez-vous aussi depuis la ville principale jusqu’à l’église d’Agios Konstantinos (voire le château vénitien, au-dessus d’elle), où vous prononcerez le vœu de revenir un jour.

Laissez-vous charmer par Serifos

Les Cyclades

De la merveilleuse Milos à ses somptueuses voisines cycladiques

Depuis la beauté intense et théâtrale de Milos, vous découvrirez donc la sérénité de Kimolos, les délices de Sifnos et la pudeur de Serifos – un périple qui vous donnera un aperçu de l’incroyable diversité des îles cycladiques, avec l’abondance de vues et de goûts qui les rendent emblématiques.

Explorez les Cyclades

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Découvrez des lieux d’escapade voisins de Santorin

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 étapes pour découvrir Tinos dans toute son authenticité

Fyropotamos, a seaside settlement with a tiny sandy beach

8 raisons qui font de Milos un endroit totalement unique

Miaouli Square with its grand Town Hall, palm trees and cafes and shops

8 bons plans pour égayer vos vacances à Syros

Bazeos tower, one of the most well-known monuments of Naxos

8 bonnes raisons pour visiter Naxos encore et encore

plongée souterraine

Plongée: les destinations les plus populaires en Grèce

The peak of Mt Olympus

Les 8 expériences les plus mythiques à Mt Olympe

Myrtos beach, Kefalonia

Les 10 souvenirs inoubliables de Céphalonie que vous emporterez avec vous

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Découvrez des lieux d’escapade voisins de Santorin

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 raisons d’explorer Karpathos

Kalymnos en 8 sommets inoubliables et profondeurs cachées

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 atouts d’Astypalée, votre meilleure découverte de l’été

Milos, Greece - September 10, 2015: Top view of canoes at Tsigrado Beach in Milos island, Cyclades,
COVER STORY

Island-hopping from Milos in the Cyclades

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a Greek salad

You’ll immediately understand why your island-hopping adventure in the Cyclades starts on Milos. It’s not just because there’s an airport and it’s an easy ferry ride from Piraeus, but because the unique landscape makes you want to spread your wings… first here and then on to nearby Kimolos, delicious Sifnos and charming Serifos. Are you ready?

Discovering the natural treasure that is Milos

Milos’ volcanic past gave birth to some of the most iconic scenery in Greece. This is an island that stretches the imagination as much as it does the holiday season, ideal for an island break as much as it is for a summer vacation. And it’s a perfect point of departure for other islands in the Cyclades.

There’s more than a touch of drama to the coastline and beaches… PalaiochoriPapafragasGerontasPlathiena… or perhaps Tsigrado (reached by rope) and its big sandy sister next door, Firiplaka. Wherever you go, you’ll be left wondering just how the rocks do that mineral red-green-yellow thing.

Sarakiniko (with its photoshoot-ready white rock formations) and Kleftiko (with its pirate-hideaway past) are must-sees. As are the pretty-as-a-picture fishermen’s boat houses of Klima and Mandrakia, the early Christian catacombs, the disused sulphur mines and informative mineral museum – which answers all those questions about the colours of the rocks.

Be mesmerised by Milos

Polyegos, not just a virgin landscape of pristine beaches, but an escape for rare and protected wildlife, just off Milos

The reflected beauty of Kimolos

It’s around a 40-minute hop to Milos’ volcanic little brother, Kimolos, an island the Venetian’s christened Arzantiera because of the silver once mined here. Nowadays, it’s the sandy beaches that provide the island’s reflected beauty – amongst them Ellinika, with its ancient tombs visible from the shore, family-friendly Aliki and Prasa, a favourite of monk seals when tourists aren’t there. Kimolos manages to mix exotic beauty with and rugged wildness.

The Horio is not so much a town but a hamlet, simple and utterly charming, with beautifully tended patios and welcoming locals. There are hiking routes and a medieval castle and archaeological museum but, let’s face it, you’re probably here for the beaches and absolute serenity.

Discover a streak of silver in the Aegean

Celebrating delicious Sifnos

From Milos you could also head to Sifnos (from 40 minutes away), another gem dotted with fine with beaches but also famed for its food. Birthplace of Nicholas Tselementes, who wrote the father of all Greek cookbooks, in 1932, every festivity is accompanied by something delicious – Finikia (clove-scented, honey biscuits) at Christmas and mastelo (lamb in a clay pot with red wine and dill) at Easter. Siglino (cured pork) is found on menus all around Greece, and there’s the heart chickpea soup Revithada.

For beaches, the long, sandy Platys Gialos and Kamaras are the most popular, but look up VathiGlyfo and Seralia – the latter a small and fine-pebbled bay south of Kastro, Sifnos’ port in antiquity.

Take a bite out of Sifnos

Sifnos' Hora from above

The blushing bride that is Serifos

And, finally, we reach Serifos, around 30 minutes beyond Sifnos. This is the quintessential Cycladic island with a cluster of bride-white cubed houses flowing down a hill like a wedding dress and an almost blushing charm. There are beaches by the dozen (more than 70, claim the locals), with Lia, Koutalas, Vagia, Ganema, Kalo Ambeli, Psili Ammos, Sykamis to name a few.

A boat trip around the island is worth it, with its swimming spots and views of mining tunnel entrances reaching deep into the mountainside. And take a long stroll up from the main town to the Church of Agios Konstantinos (and possibly the Venetian castle above it) where you’ll make your vow that one day you’ll return.

Be charmed by Serifos

The Cyclades

From eye-candy Milos, to its sumptuous Cycladic neighbours

So from the drama and intense beauty of Milos, you’ll experience the serenity of Kimolos, mouthwatering Sifnos and blushing Serifos – an island-hopping adventure that introduces you to the extraordinary diversity and wealth of sights and tastes that make up Greece’s iconic Cyclades islands.

Explore Cyclades

Plan your trip

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
You’ll have seen Lefkada even if you haven’t been. Its beaches routinely feature in Top 10 lists around the world, capturing everything magical about the Ionian Sea

10 ways to let your feet (and mind) wander in Lefkada

Mykonos has a unique way of making everyone who visits feel special

12 beach styles to love in Mykonos

Strolling around the cobblestone alleyways of the main town

12 Unforgettable things to do when in Mykonos

Hiking to the Black Cave and Via Ferrata

11 ways to reconnect with nature in Central Greece

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe

Halkidiki's exotic crystal clear waters

Exotic never felt so close as in Halkidiki

Scuba cave diving

5 popular scuba diving destinations in Greece

Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

12 Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

Holidays in Greece: Agios Sostis in Zakynthos island

Getting started with a dream holiday in Greece

age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece

Fakistra beach, where some scenes from the movie Mamma Mia! were filmed here

5 authentic sun & beach holiday ideas in Greece

Navagio beach from above

10 of the best beaches in Greece