Ancient Epidaurus is most famous today for giving us the best-preserved ancient Greek theatre
EXPERIENCE

Épidaure, le premier centre de guérison de luxe

De nos jours, le site antique d’Épidaure est surtout connu pour son théâtre, le mieux conservé de Grèce ancienne, où l’on donne encore des représentations. Cependant, à l’époque, les malades et les blessés y trouvaient aussi un centre complet de guérison,
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1-2 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

L’Asclépéion d’Épidaure était, dans l’Antiquité, le sanctuaire le plus célèbre du dieu de la médecine. Les blessés et les infirmes du pays s’y rassemblaient pour y recevoir les soins d’Asclépios. Toutefois, il s’agissait aussi d'un site culturel. Les soins y étaient spirituels autant que physiques; l’emplacement même du sanctuaire, situé dans une vallée paisible qui embaumait le pin, en Argolide (nord-est du Péloponnèse), contribuait à cet effet. 

Son monument le plus connu est le théâtre - à juste titre, puisqu’il s’agit du théâtre antique le mieux conservé de Grèce et de l’une des constructions les plus parfaites de l’Antiquité. Il possède une acoustique incroyable. Si vous vous tenez en son centre et que vous parlez normalement, on peut vous entendre clairement depuis la dernière rangée. 

À partir de ce point, le sanctuaire s’étend devant vous: les élégants temples d’Asclépios et d’Artémis, l’enkoimeterion (dortoir où se déroulaient les soins), l’édifice où séjournaient les visiteurs et les espaces de détente pour les patients, mais aussi la palestre (similaire à un gymnase) et le stade, où les visiteurs pouvaient faire de l’exercice et où concouraient les athlètes célèbres. Mentionnons également la construction la plus énigmatique du site : la tholos, bâtiment rond à la fonction incertaine mais à la beauté incontestée.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Le théâtre  

Construit à l’âge d'or du sanctuaire - au IVe siècle av. J.-C., pendant la période hellénistique -, le théâtre pouvait accueillir au départ 6000 spectateurs. Toutefois, sa capacité a augmenté avec le renom de l’Asclépéion, jusqu’à atteindre le double de celle de départ. Il s’agissait d'un lieu de divertissement pour les patients. On considérait les représentations comme une partie de leur traitement. Plus de deux millénaires après, les visiteurs continuent de profiter de son acoustique et de son cadre exceptionnels, ainsi que des tragédies et des comédies antiques qui y sont jouées.  

L’hôtellerie

En poursuivant votre chemin dans le sanctuaire, le premier édifice que vous rencontrerez sera le katagogeion, qui tenait lieu d’hôtel. Il fallait un endroit pour accueillir tant de visiteurs, de patients et de fidèles. Naturellement, celui-ci était à la hauteur. Même de nos jours, il serait considéré comme un grand bâtiment, avec ses deux étages et ses 160 chambres, dont certaines donnaient sur quatre cours ornées de plantes et d’arbres. Il s’agissait de suites de luxe complètes, pour ceux qui ne souhaitaient pas dormir sous tente -  la dolce vita avait manifestement sa place dans l’Antiquité.

La palestre et l’odéon

Dans la grande palestre (semblable à un gymnase), les patients pouvaient pratiquer l’exercice physique, qui faisait partie de leur traitement. Toutefois, ils n’étaient pas les seuls à utiliser les lieux. C'est là que s’entraînaient les athlètes qui venaient prendre part aux jeux organisés à Épidaure. Les patients profitaient d’ailleurs des événements sportifs, auxquels participaient les meilleurs athlètes de l’époque. Un odéon fut ajouté dans la cour principale, auparavant vide, pour les nouveaux événements apportés par les Romains, tels que les concours de pantomime ou de chant.

Le stade

Les vestiges restaurés du stade d’Épidaure sont impressionnants. Au fur et à mesure que l’on explore le site, on se rend compte de l’importance que revêtaient les événements sportifs dans la thérapie et la guérison des patients. Comme pour la palestre, cependant, ces espaces n’étaient pas réservés aux seuls malades. Toute personne qui se rendait au sanctuaire pour les festivals et autres événements, ou pour vénérer les dieux dans les temples, assistait aux compétitions sportives.

Le temple d’Asclépios

En réalité, le dieu de la médecine était originaire de Trikala, et non d’Argolide. Mais comment les habitants d’Épidaure auraient-ils pu laisser cette situation inchangée ? Avec la popularité grandissante du sanctuaire, de nouveaux mythes ont rapidement fait leur apparition et ont associé Asclépios à la région, parfaits pour la publicité de l’hôpital. Il était donc normal que le temple le plus élaboré lui soit consacré. On peut imaginer à quel point l’édifice devait être impressionnant, lorsqu'on regarde les sculptures particulièrement raffinées qui l’ornaient - la plupart d’entre elles sont exposées dans le musée du site, ainsi qu’au Musée archéologique national.

La tholos

La tholos circulaire (appelée thymélé), construction d’une élégance et d'une beauté immenses, fait partie des édifices les plus mystérieux de l’Antiquité. Vous pourrez voir dans le musée du site certains de ses éléments constitutifs, finement exécutés, qui vous impressionneront par leur perfection. On sait que le bâtiment fut conçu par Polyclite le Jeune, auteur d'un ouvrage qui le décrivait et qui précisait sa fonction. Hélas, ce livre n’a pas été conservé et il n’existe aucune autre référence connue à la tholos, qui demeure donc pour l’instant une énigme. L’idée la plus répandue est qu’il s’agissait de la tombe monumentale d'un ancien héros, dans laquelle avaient lieu des cérémonies mystiques. Les fouilles en cours semblent soutenir cette hypothèse.

L’enkoimeterion (ou abaton)

À côté de la tholos, se trouve le bâtiment principal du sanctuaire, d’un point de vue médical: l’enkoimeterion (ou abaton), où les patients passaient la nuit pour qu’Asclépios vienne leur rendre visite en rêve. Les prêtres-médecins interprétaient leurs songes le lendemain et leur prescrivaient un traitement. Nous possédons plusieurs inscriptions qui font référence aux « miracles » d’Asclépios. Des légendes se répandaient au loin, comme celle de l’enfant muet. Les médecins avaient demandé au père de celui-ci s’il paierait pour la thérapie, ce à quoi l’enfant aurait répondu avec énergie : « Oui! » Avec le développement de la médecine à partir de la période hellénistique (323 av.J.-C.-31 ap. J.-C.), la superstition s’est vue peu à peu remplacée par des traitements plus scientifiques.

Lire la suite Read Less
Done
Done

Depuis Athènes

  • En voiture: 139 km (2h)
  • En bus: depuis la station de Kifissos jusqu’à Epidavros.

Plus d'informations sur 

  • Le site archéologique est ouvert toute l’année, hormis les jours fériés.
    L’idéal est de le visiter entre avril et septembre, pour pouvoir profiter des plages à proximité.
    L’Ancienne Épidaure constitue le bonus parfait à un road trip dans le Péloponnèse ou à un city trip à Athènes, quelle que soit la période de l’année.
    Si vous vous rendez à Épidaure entre juin et août, vous pourrez combiner votre visite du site à une pièce de théâtre durant le Festival d’Athènes et d’Épidaurel, nombre d’entre elles sont surtitrées en anglais.

Heures d’ouverture

  • Les horaires dépendent de la saison. 
  • D’avril à août :  ouvert tous les jours de 8h à 20h. More info
  • La visite du site et du musée dure une à deux heures - tout dépend des détails que vous souhaitez voir.
  • Entrée: 12€ (6€ pour les tarifs réduits)

Plus d’informations sur 

  • Le site est assez vaste et peu ombragé : mieux vaut prévoir un chapeau, des lunettes de soleil et de la crème solaire, ainsi qu’une bouteille d’eau.
  • Pensez également à porter des vêtements confortables.
  • Si vous ne séjournez pas à Athènes, vous trouverez des hôtels et des maisons d’hôte dans la ville côtière de Palaia Epidavros (Ancienne Épidaure), ainsi que des tavernes et d’autres installations. 
  • Un autre endroit agréable où loger est Nauplie, d’où vous pourrez poursuivre votre voyage à travers les mythes du Péloponnèse.


 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie de notre héritage pour les générations à venir, en suivant les règles de base lors des visites de sites culturels.

Ne touchez pas les vestiges ou les monuments. Les huiles naturellement sécrétées par les doigts peuvent endommager les artéfacts.
Restez sur les chemins indiqués et respectez les autres visiteurs.
Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Il est strictement interdit d’emmener des animaux de compagnie (à l’exception des chiens guides).
Il est interdit de fumer.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Suivre la route d’olive en Messénie

The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

Une visite du site archéologique de Philippes

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

De la montagne au littoral, un parcours dans les villages de Samos

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

Découvrez le temple enchanteur de Poséidon, à Sounion

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Le tour des villages mythiques sur les flancs du Mont Olympe

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Une escapade dans les villages de Paros

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

Une visite du temple de Déméter à Naxos

Ancient Epidaurus is most famous today for giving us the best-preserved ancient Greek theatre
EXPERIENCE

Ancient Epidaurus, the original deluxe healing centre

Ancient Epidaurus is most famous today for giving us the best-preserved ancient Greek theatre, where productions still take place. But as the sick and wounded found out in antiquity, it was also an all-encompassing centre for healing, worship and sport.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1-2 hours
Season
All year around

OVERVIEW

The Asclepeion of Epidaurus was antiquity’s most famous sanctuary to the god of medicine. It gathered the injured and infirm from across the land who sought the therapeutic hand of Asclepius. But it was also a site of culture, with treatments being as much spiritual as they were physical, and the very location of the sanctuary – in a peaceful, pine-scented valley in the northeastern Peloponnese’s Argolida region – part of the effect. 

Its most famous monument is the theatre – and rightly so because it is Greece’s best-preserved ancient theatre and one of the most perfect structures of antiquity. Its acoustics are unbelievable. If you stand in the centre and speak normally, you can be heard clearly in the back row. 

From here, the sanctuary spreads before you: the elegant temples of Asclepius and Artemis and the enkoimeteria (a sleeping hall where treatments took place), as well as the guest house and recreational areas for patients, the palaestra (or gymnasium) and the stadium where visitors could exercise and revered athletes competed. And there is the site’s most enigmatic structure, the Tholos, a round building that was of uncertain function but undisputed artistry.
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The theatre 

Built in the sanctuary’s heyday, in the 4th-century BC during the Hellenistic period, the theatre originally sat 6,000 spectators. But as the renown of the Asclepeion grew, so did its theatre’s seating capacity, more than doubling over time. Essentially, it was a place of entertainment for patients, with theatrical productions being considered part of their therapy. And more than two millennia later, visitors are still enjoying the gift of the theatre’s acoustics and the setting, with reproductions of ancient tragedies and comedies. 

The guest house

Continuing into the sanctuary, the first building you encounter is the so-called Katagogeion, essentially a hotel. So many visitors, so many patients, so many worshippers… they all needed somewhere to sleep and, naturally, the level was high. Even in our day, it would be considered a big building, with two floors and 160 rooms, some opening on to four courtyards filled with plants and trees. They were full-on luxury suites for those who didn’t want to sleep in tents. The dolce vita clearly had a place in antiquity too.

The Palaestra and Odeon

The large palaestra (like a gymnasium) was where patients could exercise as part of their treatment. But it wasn’t just patients who used it. This is where athletes who came to take part in games staged in Epidaurus worked out. And patients, in turn, enjoyed live sports events featuring the best athletes of the time. An Odeon was added in the previously empty main courtyard for new events brought by the Romans, such as pantomime and singing contests.

The stadium

The restored remains of the Stadium of Epidaurus are impressive. The more you explore the site, the clearer it becomes how important athletic events were to the therapy and recovery of patients. And just as in the palaestra, these spaces weren’t used just by patients. Everyone who gathered in the sanctuary for festivals and events, or to worship at the temples, watched the athletes competing.

The Temple of Asclepius

The god of medicine was actually born in Trikala, not Argolida. But as if the folk of Epidaurus would leave it at that? With the growing popularity of the sanctuary, it wasn’t long before new myths came into being and Ascelpius was soon a local. It would have helped in the marketing of the hospital! So it was only reasonable that the most elaborate temple of the sanctuary be dedicated to Asclepius. We can imagine how impressive the temple would have been from the exceptionally fine sculptures decorating it, many of which can be admired in the on-site museum and in the National Archaeological Museum in Athens.

The Tholos

Amongst the most mysterious buildings of the ancient world, the circular Tholos (known as the Thymele) would have been a structure of immense beauty and elegance. Some of its relics, preserved in the site’s museum, take the breath away for the perfection of their execution. We know that it was designed by Polykleitos the Younger, who wrote a book about it, describing the building and its use. Unfortunately, the book hasn’t survived and there is no other reference to the Tholos, so it remains an enigma yet to be solved. Prevailing wisdom supports the theory that it was the monumental tomb of an ancient hero, within which mystical ceremonies took place. Ongoing excavations, support this possibility.

Enkoimeteria (or Abaton)

Right next to the Tholos is the principal building, from a medical perspective, of the sanctuary. It was called the Enkoimeteria (or Abaton) and is where patients spent the night in order for Asclepius to come to them in a dream. The priest-doctors would interpret the dreams the following day and prescribe the therapy. We have many inscriptions referring to the “miracles” of Asclepius and legends spread far and side, such as that of the mute child. The doctors asked the father if he intended to pay for the treatment, to which the child replied emphatically: “Yes!”. As medicine developed throughout the Hellenistic period (323BC- 31AD) and beyond, superstition began to be replaced by therapies with a more scientific approach.
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done

From Athens

  • By car: 139km (2hrs)
  • By bus: From Kifisos bus terminal to Epidavros

More info
 

  • The archaeological site is open all year round (except national holidays).
  • The best period to visit is April to September to enjoy the nearby beaches.
  • Ancient Epidaurus is the perfect addition to a road trip around the Peloponnese or a city break in Athens at any time of year.
  • If you visit in June to August you can combine the tour of the archaeological site with a theatrical production during the Athens and Epidaurus Festival, as many have English supertitles.

Opening hours

  • Seasonal opening hours apply. 
  • April to August: Daily from 8:00-20:00. More info
  • You will need around 1-2 hours to explore the site and museum, depending on how much detail you want to go into.
  • Tickets: €12 (reduced €6)

More info

  • There’s little shade and the archaeological site is expansive so don’t forget your hat, sunglasses and sunscreen and bring a water bottle.
  • Wear comfortable footwear.
  • If you aren’t staying in Athens, there are hotels and guest houses in the coastal town of Palaia (Old) Epidavros as well as tavernas and other amenities. 
  • Another great place to stay is Nafplio, from where you can continue your journey around the mythical Peloponnese.


 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting cultural sites.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Stay on the marked paths and respect your fellow visitors.
Use the bins provided or keep your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
Smoking is prohibited.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

A night at the legendary Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

A tour of the archaeological site of Philippi

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Mythical village-hopping on the slopes of Mt Olympus

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos