Горная Аркадия

Элегантное украшение из природы и истории
The stone mansions of Stemnitsa from above
Scroll
Сегодня
THU
FRI
SAT
SUN
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Богатые традиции, величественная природа, исторические деревни, монастыри и древние города

Река Лусиос сверкает на дне ущелья. Древние храмы и множество монастырей делает святой эту землю. Исторические деревни с традиционной архитектурой и сделанные со вкусом каменные гостевые дома. Горная Аркадия: уникальный, почти «мифический» маршрут в сердце Пелопоннеса. Стемница, Димитцана, Каритена, Древняя Гортина, монастыри Предтечи и Философов. Рафтинг, пешие походы, традиционные продукты и восхитительные местные рецепты, а также уникальный в Греции музей Гидравлики. Вы можете насладиться всем этим даже в выходные.

Стоит увидеть в Горной Аркадии

Знаменитые деревни Горной Аркадии

Разбросанные по лесистому склону каменные дома с черепичными крышами и церкви с изящными колокольнями. Димитцана, Стемница, Каритена. Каждая деревня – длинная история, каждый квартал – архитектурное украшение. В Димитцане посетите её знаменитую  библиотеку и музей Гидравлики. В Стемнице полюбуйтесь башней с часами, особняком Бурназо и церквями 12-го и 15-го веков. В Каритена на вас произведет большое впечатление крепость, которую называют «Толедо Греции». Она была построена в 13-ом веке и является одной из самых важных крепостей на Пелопоннесе.

«Отшельники» в ущелье -  монастыри Предтечи и Философов

Отведав сладкие пончики, которые предложат вам монахи, вы выйдете на деревянный балкон монастыря Иоанна Предтечи, который буквально весит над ущельем Лусио с 16-го века: только божественным можно назвать вид, открывающийся с балкона. Вся красота Пелопоннеса у ваших ног.

От монастыря ведет чудесная тропинка, которая спускается до реки Лусиос, а затем поднимается по противоположному склону ущелья и приводит вас к еще одному монастырю – Новому Монастырю Философов. Этот монастырь построен в 1691-ом году. Войдите в него, чтобы полюбоваться фресками 1693-го года. Рядом с ним находится более старый монастырь 10-го века. Это важная достопримечательной района.

Древняя Гортина: древние греки в долине

Древняя Гортина является наиболее важным памятником древности в долине реки Лусиос в Горной Аркадии. Долина была динамично развивающейся местностью. Руины города, который процветал в классическую и эллинистическую эпоху, находятся на выходе из ущелья. Раскопки выявили на свет два Акрополя, два Асклепиона, оборудование для принятия лечебных ванн, храмы и термальные бани.

Сила воды: удивительный Музей Гидравлики

Музей, единственный в своём роде в Греции, представляет технологию,  которая использует движущую силу воды. Здесь находятся образцы водяных мельниц, применяемых в производстве пороха, ракии и выделки кожи.

Легендарный город Триполи

Триполи расположен в центре района Аркадия и является его столицей. Город построен на высоте 650 м. Он основан в начале 14-го века и до конца 19-го века назывался Триполица. Многие завоеватели, такие как венецианцы и турки, оставили здесь свои следы. В Триполи ещё остались некоторые неоклассические здания и достойные внимания церкви, есть также большие площади и парки.
Стоит посетить Военный музей, Культурный Центр, Государственную центральную библиотеку Матзунио и превосходно организованный Археологический музей, расположенный в здании работы архитектора Чилера.

Скрытые сокровища Горной Аркадии

Рафтинг и пешие походы

Река Лусиос идеально подходит для рафтинга на надувных лодках, рассчитанных на 6-8 человек. Ущелье также можно использовать  и для пеших походов. В этом уголке Пелопоннеса любители активного отдыха и природы смогут зарядить свои батарейки.

Местные продукты

Маленькие четырёхугольные макаронные изделия, которые вы найдёте в магазинах с традиционными продуктами, называются «тутумья». Стоит купить и другие ручной работы макароны, высушенную душистую траву и сладости.

Интерьер домов Горной Аркадии

Каков был интерьер традиционного дома в Горной Аркадии? Это вы узнаете, посетив этнографический музей в Стемнице. 

  • Знаменитые деревни Горной Аркадии
  • Монастыри Предтечи и Философов
  • Древняя долина Гортина
  • Сила воды: удивительный Музей Гидравлики
  • Легендарный город Триполи
  • Этнографический музей Стемницы в Горной Аркадии
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Греция Зимой

Ясная зимняя погода Греции приветствует вас на самых захатывающих в вашей жизни зимних каникулах
Весна на острове Санторини

Греция Весной, Греческая природа во всей своей красе

Теплый климат, цветущая природа, особые обычаи. Весна в Греции дарит впечатления, которые нельзя упустить

Mountainous Arcadia

A masterpiece of nature in the Peloponnese
The stone mansions of Stemnitsa from above
Scroll
Today
11°
FRI
11°
SAT
12°
SUN
10°
MON
10°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Time-honoured traditions, historic villages, monasteries and ancient civilisations

As the Lousios River sparkles in the gorge, ancient temples and old monasteries sanctify the landscape here. Welcome to Mountainous Arcadia, a mythical destination in the Peloponnese, known for its historic villages with traditional architecture and tasteful stone guest houses. Stemnitsa, Dimitsana, Karytaina, Ancient Gortyna … and the monasteries of Prodromos and Philosophos all await. Add to them rafting, hiking, local products, delicious traditional fare, the open-air Water Power Museum and much more.

What to do in Mountainous Arcadia

Quaint villages 

Spread out along the wooded slopes with their stone, tile-roofed homes and churches with elegant bell towers are Stemnitsa, Dimitsana and Karytaina. Each village has its own long history, natural beauty and array of attractions. In Dimitsana, you’ll visit the library and the open-air Water-Power Museum. In Stemnitsa, you’ll admire the clock tower of St George’s Orthodox Church, the Bournazos mansion and churches of the 12th and 15th centuries. In Karytaina, you’ll be impressed by the castle known as the Greek Toledo. Built in the 13th century, it was one of the best-fortified castles in the Peloponnese.

The Prodromos and Philosophos monasteries

If you are lucky, the monks of the Prodromos Monastery will treat you to sweet loukoumia (Turkish delight) and, then, as you walk out onto one of the wooden balconies of the monastery, built overlooking the Lousios Gorge in the 16th century, you’ll savour a view that is equally divine.
The beauty of the Peloponnese lies at your feet and a path leads down to the Lousios River and then ascends to the other side of the gorge, bringing you to the Philosophos Monastery, built in 1691. There’s a 10th-century Catholic church to visit as well as well as the so-called New monastery (Nea Moni Philosophou), where you can admire the murals that have embellished it since 1693. It is one of the most impressive attractions in the area.

The ancient valley of Gortyna

The most important ancient site in the Lousios Valley, this landscape exudes a timeless energy. The remains of the city that flourished during the Classical and Hellenistic periods lie at the edge of the gorge. Excavations uncovered two acropolises, two Asklepeia (health centres), bath-houses, temples and thermal springs.

The open-air Water-Power Museum

The only one of its kind in Greece, this museum displays the technology of the pre-industrial period that exploited the driving force of water. By touring the facilities – the restored gunpowder mill, tanneries, fulling mill, distillery, watermill – you’ll learn all about these modes of production. 

Legendary Tripoli

The epicentre of Arcadia is the capital, Tripoli, built 650m above sea level. It was founded at the beginning of the 14th century and called Tripolitsa (little Tripoli) until the 19th century. Many of its conquerors, such as the Venetians and the Turks, left their mark here. In Tripoli, there are still listed neoclassical buildings and impressive churches, large squares and parks. It is worth visiting the War Museum, Cultural Centre, Matzouneio Public Library and the extremely well-organised Archaeological Museum, housed in a building designed by Ernst Ziller, an architect so enamoured by Greece that he ended up adopting its nationality.

Hidden gems of Mountainous Arcadia

Rafting and trekking in the Lousios River

The river is perfect for whitewater rafting and you’ll also love hiking and trekking in the gorge. Here in this Peloponnese landscape, lovers of outdoor sports will recharge their batteries.

Traditional local products

The small square pastries that you’ll see in all the shops selling traditional products are called toutoumia. Now’s your chance to stock up on local herbs, sweets and handmade pasta too.

Folklore Museum of Stemnitsa

What does the interior of a traditional home in Mountainous Arcadia look like? You’ll find out at the Folklore Museum of Stemnitsa, where reproductions of traditional workshops are also on view. 

  • Quaint villages
  • The Prodromos and Philosophos monasteries
  • The ancient valley of Gortyna
  • The open-air Water-Power Museum
  • Legendary Tripoli
  • Folklore Museum of Stemnitsa
Highlights

Plan your trip

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Popular destinations for rafting & canyoning

It’s not the rushing water or the difficult rapids, it’s the dramatic scenery that burns the experience into your memory
Springtime on the island of Santorini

Spring holidays in Greece

Warm weather, nature in full bloom and unique customs… Spring in Greece is a celebration not to be missed
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter holidays in Greece

Greece's bright light welcomes you to experience the most unexpected winter holidays of your life