Anafi

S’élève sous la lumière D’Egée
Street in Chora on Anafi island
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
20°
THU
20°
FRI
20°
SAT
21°
SUN
21°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Baignée d’une lumière éclatant, exotique et avec une nature sauvage sereine, Anafi, île peu touristique, est le lieu parfait pour des vacances enchanteresses.

On dit qu’Apollon l’a fait émerger de la mer et qu’elle était le refuge des Argonautes épuisés par leur voyage. Aujourd’hui, Anafi, enfant de la musique, est un paradis pour ses nouveaux habitants et visiteurs qui recherchent une proximité avec une nature préservée. Même les voyageurs les plus chevronnées trouveront un lieu unique de relaxation et de réflexion.

Les plages vierges, les sentiers, des collines majestueuses, les chapelles, les monuments reflétant le talent des artisans locaux et les sites archéologiques intéressant vous offriront des moments uniques en ce lieu où les gens ont une vie simple liant tradition et vie moderne.

Comparée à ses voisines cycladiques cosmopolites, Anafi, modeste et calme respire la confiance et le charme ; une histoire d’amour au premier regard. Vous chercherez toutes les opportunités pour trouver des bateaux depuis le Pirée ou Santorin pour découvrir la catharsis mentale et spirituelle d’un simple séjour sur cette île.

Attractions à Anafi

Hora of Anafi

Amphithéâtre construit sur les ruines d’un château vénitien, à 3 km du port d’Agios Nikolaos, l’Hora de l’île étincelle. Vous errerez sur ces petites allées, impressionnés par son architecture égéenne et par son atmosphère calme, relaxante et tranquille. Des petites maisons blanches et des jardins fleuris vous rappelleront Anafiotica, le quartier voisin de l’Acropole d’Athènes, construit par des artisans talentueux d’Anafi. Profitez de la vue infinie sur l’océan et laissez-vous bercer de rêveries romantiques sous le coucher du soleil derrière les deux moulins à flanc de colline.

Kalamos et Dracontospilo

Plus haut monolithe de l’est de la Méditerranée, Kalamos, à la pointe sud de l’ile, constitue son site naturel le plus impressionnant. « Le rocher le plus terrifiant au monde » selon un voyageur français du 18ème siècle, est très populaire auprès des grimpeurs et alpinistes expérimentés.

Une partie de Kalamos et la grotte de Dracontospilo accessible par un petit sentier. C’est un spectacle magnifique de stalactites et de stalagmites. Depuis la grotte vous pourrez peut-être apercevoir un groupe de phoques, qui, selon les locaux, viennent régulièrement dans la région.
 

Le monastère de Panagia Kalamiotissa

 

Il est au sommet de Kalamos, à la fin du sentier partant du monastère de Zoothohos Pigi (Kato Panagia), à une altitude de 460 m. Lors de l’ascension, admirez les paysages accidentés grandioses avec les vols de faucons et le sifflement doux du vent. Lorsque vous atteindrez le sommet, vous serez fasciné par la vue sur le temple sacré de Panagia avec son dôme et son clocher blancs, sans oublié de mentionner la mer bleue unie au ciel sur l’horizon qui sont à couper le souffle.

Plages colorées

Avec leurs eaux bleues cristallines, les plages d’Anafi offre une expérience magique loin de la foule. Des heures illimités de détentes et de plaisirs rien que pour vous.

Sur la côte sud, vous trouverez les côtes sablonneuses d’Agios Nikolaos, de Katsouni et de Klisidi. Vous pouvez aussi nager dans les eaux turquoises des plages infinies de Roukounas avec ses galets ou des côtes dorées magnifiques de Flamourou et Prasies.

Hébergement et nourriture

Des chambres et des hôtels bien gardés vous hébergeront sur l’île. Pour la nourriture, vous aurez votre plein de poissons frais et de plats à base du crocus qui pousse sur l’île. N’oubliez pas de goûter aux douceurs sucrées réalisés à base du miel local.

Les trésors cachés d’Anafi

Agios Antonios

Accrochée à la côte escarpé au nord de l’île, se trouve la chapelle d’Agios Antonios avec sa double arche attrayante sur son toit. Dans cet unique temple byzantin de l’île, vous découvrirez des fresques de la Chandeleur, de l’Ascension et de la Nativité qui datent du début du 14ème siècle.

Naviguer autour de l’île

En naviguant autour de l’île, vous pourrez découvrir des plages difficiles voire impossible d’accès depuis la route. Le passage de Kalamos, avec sa tour rocheuse verticale, sera certain le moment le plus spectaculaire.

  • Hora of Anafi
  • Kalamos et Dracontospilo
  • Le monastère de Panagia Kalamiotissa
  • Plages colorées
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Découvrez des lieux d’escapade voisins de Santorin

Il serait si simple de visiter Santorin et de considérer que vous avez trouvé en elle la perfection des Cyclades.

Street in Chora on Anafi island
Scroll
Today
14°
THU
16°
FRI
14°
SAT
15°
SUN
15°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Drenched in dazzling light, exotic, with a wild yet serene nature, Anafi, untouched by mass tourism, is an alternative and enchanting holiday proposition.

It is said to have emerged from the angry waves at the command of the god Apollo and was a refuge for the sea-weary Argonauts. Today, Anafi, the child of music, is a haven for its few residents and visitors seeking intimacy with nature at its most unspoilt. Even the most seasoned traveller will find one-of-a-kind relaxation and reflection in plentiful supply.

Virginal beaches, footpaths, majestic hills, chapels, buildings displaying the skills of local craftspeople and interesting archaeological sites will offer you unique, exciting moments in this land where people follow a simple lifestyle, harmoniously combining tradition with the modern-day.

Modest and quiet compared to its cosmopolitan Cycladic neighbours, Anafi exudes an inherent confidence in its subtle charms; definitely a case of love at first sight. You will be taking every opportunity to look at boat itineraries from Piraeus or Santorini to get more of the mental and spiritual catharsis, which just being on the island can induce. 

Things to do in Anafi

Hora of Anafi

Amphitheatrically built upon the ruins of the Venetian castle, 3 km from the harbor of Agios Nikolaos, the Hora of the island quite literally sparkles. You will wander its narrow alleys, impressed by its distinctive Aegean architecture and calmed by its relaxed, leisurely pace. Little whitewashed houses and gardens in full bloom will remind you of Anafiotica, the neighbourhood under the Acropolis of Athens, built by highly skilled craftsmen from Anafi. Enjoy the limitless view to the sea and lose yourself in romantic musings at sunset against the backdrop of the two windmills on the hillside.

Kalamos and Dracontospilo

The highest monolith in the eastern Mediterranean, Kalamos, is at the eastern end of the island and it constitutes its most impressive natural sight. “The most terrifying rock in the world”, according to an 18th-century French traveller, is particularly popular with experienced rappellers and climbers.

A part of Kalamos is the cave of Dracontospilo which can be reached only by footpath. It is a fascinating spectacle festooned with stalactites and stalagmites. From there you may spot a school of seals which, according to the locals, make frequent appearances in the area.

The Monastery of Panagia Kalamiotissa

It is at the top of Kalamos, at the end of a path starting from the Monastery of Zoothohos Pigi (Kato Panagia), at an altitude of 460m. While ascending, admire the rugged, imposing landscapes accompanied by the caws of the hawks and the gentle whistle of the wind. On reaching the summit, you’ll be awestruck at the sight of the elegant Holy Temple of Panagia with its white dome and bell tower, not to mention the breathless blue of the sea and the sky uniting on the fine thread of the horizon.

Colourful beaches

With their wild beauty and crystal clear waters, the beaches of Anafi offer a transfixing, crowd-free experience. Endless hours of fun and relaxation are at your disposal.

On the south coast, you will find the sandy shores of Agios Nikolaos, Katsouni, and Klisidi. You can also swim in the turquoise waters of the famous endless beach of Roukounas, with its pebbly sand and tamaris, or the magnificent gold coasts of Flamourou and Prasies.

Accommodation and food in Anafi 

Well-kept rented rooms and hotels will cover your accommodation needs on the island. As for food, you will have your fill of fresh fish and dishes infused with the distinctive aroma of crocus that grows on the island. Do not miss out on the opportunity to try sweets made with mouthwatering local honey.

Hidden treasures of Anafi

Agios Antonios

Clinging to the craggy northern coast of the island is the chapel of Agios Antonios with the eye-catching double arch on its roof. In the only Byzantine temple of the island, you will see frescos of Candlemas, the Ascension and Nativity dating from the early 14th century.

Circumnavigating the island

Circumnavigating Anafi by boat will allow you to discover beaches, difficult or even impossible to access by road. Passing by Kalamos, with its towering, vertical rocks, will certainly be the standout moment.

  • Hora of Anafi
  • Kalamos and Dracontospilo
  • The Monastery of Panagia Kalamiotissa
  • Colourful beaches
Landmarks