9

9 IMPRESSIONNANTES ACTIVITÉS DANS LES MÉTÉORES

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour savourer une salade grecque

Difficile de ne pas être fasciné par les tours rocheuses géantes des Météores et les monastères centenaires juchés à leurs sommets, comme suspendus à quelques centaines de mètres. Et pendant que vous contemplez ce site protégé par l'UNESCO, vous serez également subjugué par le paysage, l'un des plus inspirants de Grèce pour des activités allant des visites culturelles à des expéditions de randonnée, en passant par le rafting en rivière et la chasse à la truffe. Vous adorerez toutes ces activités dans les Météores – situées à environ 3h de Thessalonique et 4h d'Athènes en voiture – impressionnants rochers à l’aura unique semblant venir d’un autre monde. 

Profitez d'un coucher de soleil inoubliable

Aussi étonnantes qu'elles puissent paraître, les photos des Météores ne correspondent en aucune mesure avec la réalité. Vous devez vraiment les voir de vos propres yeux pour l'apprécier pleinement. Mais pour un plaisir visuel ultime, vous devez voir les rochers et les monastères de Météores au coucher du soleil. 

The charm of hiking on Meteora is that it is a completely wild and unspoilt environment, so please help keep it that way

Quel que soit le lieu choisi pour les contempler, vous resterez sans voix devant un spectacle à couper le souffle quand le soleil couchant teint de rouge ces images sorties tout droit d'un autre monde ! 

Visite des Météores au coucher du soleil 

Partez sur les sentiers de randonnée des Météores

Les randonnées sont classées parmi les activités les plus prisées aux Météores pour de très bonnes raisons. Entre les monastères existe un réseau dense de sentiers de randonnée utilisés par les moines et les pèlerins à travers les siècles depuis les origines. Suivre ces chemins constitue l'un des meilleurs moyens d'explorer la région, tout en restant à l'écart de la foule des visiteurs. Certains sentiers mènent de Kalambaka au monastère de la Sainte Trinité, et beaucoup d'autres partent du village de Kastaki, passant par le rocher de l'Agio Pnevma (Saint-Esprit) et ses célèbres grottes d'ermites. Une chapelle dédiée à l'Esprit Saint construite à l'intérieur d'une des grottes (qui aurait été habitée par un moine du 10èmesiècle), fait partie d'un festival annuel du village de Kastaki. 

Explorez les sentiers de randonnée des Météores 

Visitez des monastères mondialement célèbres

La communauté monastique des Météores s’est installée au 14ème siècle, et les premiers moines sont arrivés dans la région avec l'intention de construire des monastères. Sur les 24 monastères des Météores du 16ème siècle, six sont encore actifs actuellement : Les monastères du Grand Météore, de Varlaam, de Roussanou, d'Agios Stéfanos, d'Agios Nikolaos, ainsi que le monastère de la Sainte Trinité. Visiter les monastères est un must quand il s'agit d’activités dans les Météores.

Tous offrent une vue imprenable et une histoire riche, chacun ayant une atmosphère caractéristique. Au-delà, les monastères d'Agios Antonios et d'Agios Nikolaos de Badovas, ainsi que le monastère d'Ypapantis (situé au nord), ayant bénéficié récemment d'un programme de restauration, peuvent également être visités.

Visitez les monastères des Météores

Allez pratiquer l'escalade…tout comme les moines d'autrefois

Les plus célèbres grimpeurs de roche aux Météores étaient les moines au début de leur implantation. Mais ils n'ont pas été pas les premiers à escalader les Météores. Les moines ont été initiés à l'escalade par les habitants de la région qui les ont aidés à gravir les sommets des rochers afin d'y établir les monastères que nous admirons aujourd'hui. Il est donc tout à fait logique qu'aujourd'hui, les Météores soit devenues un site d'escalade mondialement connu. Et pas réservé aux seuls experts. Même en tant que débutant, vous disposerez de toute l’expertise et de tout le matériel nécessaire pour commencer dans l’un des sites d’escalade les plus impressionnants.    

Partez à la conquête de la via ferrata de la Grande Sainte

Le Great Saint (Grand Saint) – ou Agia, comme les habitants l’appellent – n’est pas seulement la plus haute falaise des Météores, c’est aussi le terme de l’ascension la plus épique proposée aux visiteurs plus actifs. Le sentier de randonnée et d'escalade de la Great Saint via ferrata s'élève à environ 430m au-dessus de la ville de Kalambaka, suivant un chemin escarpé passant à travers des piliers géants de roche, des anfractuosités et des crevasses nécessitant un guide et un équipement spécialisés.

C'est une activité exaltante, qui aboutit à la forteresse d'une ancienne cité et qui jouit d'une vue époustouflante sur la région, sur le village de Kastaki et toute a plaine de Thessalie. Sans aucun doute, énormément d’adrénaline pour cette activité incontournable dans les Météores.

Relevez le défi de la via ferrata des Météores

Profitez d'une dégustation de vins et de plats locaux

Les Météores ne sont pas seulement un site exceptionnel classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO ; c’est aussi une destination merveilleuse pour les gourmets. Si vous désirez goûter à des plats et des produits locaux, flânez un peu dans Kalambaka. Les tourtes faites maison et le miel récolté par les moines sont absolument extraordinaires. Vous pourrez également visiter des domaines viticoles par vous-même ou dans le cadre d'une visite oenogastronomique guidée, et vous installer pour déguster un repas à la ferme avec viandes grillées, fromages locaux et salades bio.

 

Allez à la chasse aux truffes et dégustez un repas forestier

Passez au niveau supérieur de votre expérience gastronomique… Les forêts denses autour des Météores, célèbres pour leurs truffes et champignons  de saison, vous offriront l'occasion de participer à une chasse à la truffe et aussi de profiter d'un repas cuisiné sur place avec les fruits de votre travail.

Au cours d'une expéditions avec des chiens truffiers et leurs entraîneurs, on vous enseignera l'art de repérer et de collecter les précieux champignons. Puis, en pleine forêt, un chef vous aidera à préparer un repas à base de truffes et de champignons. Pour terminer votre journée, vous trouverez de nombreuses informations dans les musée d'Histoire Naturelle des Météores et musée des Champignons de Kalambaka.

Amplifiez votre émerveillement lors d'une excursion en VTT

Que vous soyez un néophyte du VTT ou un amateur de sensations fortes, les Météores vous offrent des paysages incomparables à parcourir à vélo. Certaines routes et sentiers hors-piste vous emmèneront au-delà des monastères dans la campagne, surtout si vous participez à une excursion guidée. On vous conseille vivement de faire un détour par le monastère unique d'Ypapanti, l'un des plus anciens des Météores, littéralement sculpté dans le rocher, qui n'abrite plus aucun moine désormais. De ce côté nord des Météores s'étend une très belle forêt de chênes qui n'attend que vous et votre vélo. 

Faites du rafting pour une dernière aventure aquatique

Enfin, une activité à laquelle vous ne vous attendiez pas. Le rafting sur la rivière Pinios ajoute une dimension supplémentaire à votre séjour aux Météores. Long d'environ 8km et ne dépassant pas les niveaux de difficulté 2 et 3 au printemps et en automne, cet itinéraire est idéal pour tous les membres de la famille ou les groupes d'amis. Vous traverserez une campagne magnifique et serez largement récompensé par des vues imprenables sur ces étranges immenses formations rocheuses. Des excursions sont organisées toute la journée avec pique-niques au bord de la rivière et baignades. 

The world-famous Meteora only know how to do epic, especially on full moon days!

Les incontournables des activités dans les Météores

Alors, par quoi avez-vous été le plus attiré parmi ces activités amusantes à faire dans les Météores ? Randonnée parmi les monastères ? Chasse aux truffes ? Escalade ? VTT : Ou êtes-vous plus romantique, préférant attendre le coucher du soleil et afin de vous contempler un spectacle inoubliable ?

Où Manger Et Boire Dans Les Météores

  • Meteora: Situé en plein cœur de Kalambaka, en face de la place Dimariou, un restaurant historique de la région sert une cuisine de grande qualité depuis 1924.
  • Meteoron Panorama: L'espace de restauration le plus élégant avec une vue magnifique et une cuisine de qualité à base de produits locaux. 
  • Valia Calda: Le seul restaurant de ce genre dans la région, offrant une cuisine locale avec des influences de recettes de la population valaque habitant des montagnes du Pinde.
  • Black Live: Un des lieux de prédilection des habitants avec de savoureux plats de viande et un emplacement idéal pour les familles, juste au-dessus de la rivière Pinios un peu en dehors de Kalambaka (à Diava). Une aire de jeux est proposée pour les enfants ainsi qu'une vue panoramique sur les Météores. 
  • Fourtounis: Spécialisé dans les mézés accompagnés du célèbre tsipouro "eau de feu" de la région.
  • Kalami: Situé sur la place principale, avec des souvlakis de porc et la vue sur le rocher Adrahti.  
  • Efrosino: Un restaurant traditionnel avec des tourtes mémorables, des grillades et des plats locaux.
  • Gousios: Un restaurant familial qui offre une véritable expérience de repas à la ferme avec des viandes grillées d'excellente qualité, à environ 15mins de Kalambaka. N’oubliez pas de goûter le fromage galotyri et les herbes sauvages.
  • Platanos: Sur la route en direction de Grevena, à 15mins de Kalambaka. Un choix de haute qualité qui marie tradition locale et présentation moderne. 
  • Arados: Un restaurant de grillades offrant le nec plus ultra avec simplicité et grande qualité sur la place d'un hameau perdu, à 20mins pour Kalambaka. 
  • Pub 38: Un choix de bières grecques et de plats à Kalambaka, spécialisé dans les saucisses de fabrication locale. 
  • Castiro Bar: Des boissons, des cafés et des repas dans cet partie pittoresque de la vieille ville de Kastaki.
meteora-susnet-tour-logo
Group

Meteora Sunset Tour

4
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
867 Avis
Join the ultimate small-sized sunset tour in Meteora and discover the hidden gems of this area! A 'life-seeing' experience rather than a sight-seeing experience.




Visit Meteora
Visit Meteora
Travel Services

Visit Meteora is a group of passionate travel professionals who offer day & multiday tours of the area packed with local knowledge and hidden gems.

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Kafeneio in Palaios Panteleimonas

Guide des spiritueux grecs : Tout ce que vous devez savoir sur le tsipouro

Hiking Balos trail

Les 8 activités de plein air les plus appréciées en Grèce

Caldera view in Santorini

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

Kalymnos is an international climbing destination, overwatching the island of Telendos

Escalade en Grèce: 3 destinations populaires

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Destinations populaires en Grèce

8 des meilleures choses à faire à Kea (Tzia)

12 des meilleures plages à Rhodes

Hora and the Venetian castle of Kythira

12 des meilleures choses à faire à Cythère

Balos beach, Crete

Découvrez 15 des meilleures plages en Crète

If you love traditional village life, red wine, smoked cheese and the epic mountain scenery in northern Greece, you’ll love all the things to do in Metsovo

Découvrez le top des 11 activités à Metsovo

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 des meilleurs musées d’Athènes

9

9 AWE-INSPIRING THINGS TO DO IN METEORA

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a Greek salad

It’s impossible not to be amazed by the giant rocks of Meteora and the centuries-old monasteries at their peaks, hundreds of metres in the air. But as you gaze around the UNESCO-protected site, you’ll also be enthralled by the landscape, one of the most inspiring in Greece for activities ranging from cultural tours and hiking expeditions to river-rafting and truffle-hunting. You’ll love all the things to do in Meteora – around 3hrs from Thessaloniki and 4hrs from Athens by car but with an aura that belongs to another world.

Experience a sunset you’ll never forget

As incredible as they look, photographs of Meteora come nowhere near to matching the real thing. You truly have to experience it with your own eyes to fully appreciate it. But for the ultimate visual treat, you have to witness the rocks and monasteries of Meteora at sunset.

The charm of hiking on Meteora is that it is a completely wild and unspoilt environment, so please help keep it that way

Set out on the hiking trails of Meteora

There’s a good reason that a hiking trip is amongst the most popular activities in Meteora. Between the monasteries exists a network of hiking trails used by the original monks and pilgrims centuries ago. Following these paths is one of the best ways to explore the area, whilst keeping away from the crowds. There are trails that lead from Kalambaka to the Holy Trinity Monastery, and many more from the village of Kastraki, including one leading to the rock of Agio Pnevma (Holy Spirit) and its famous ‘hermit caves’. A chapel dedicated to the Holy Spirit has been built inside one of the caves (said to have been inhabited by a 10th-century AD monk) which forms part of an annual festival for the villagers of Kastraki.

Explore the hiking paths of Meteora

Explore the world-famous monasteries

The monastic community of Meteora dates back to the 14th century, when the first monks arrived in the area with the intention of building monasteries. Of the 24 Meteora monasteries operating in the 16th century, six remain active: Great Meteoron, Varlaam, Roussanou, Agios Stefanos and Agios Nikolaos, as well as the Holy Trinity Monastery.

Visiting the monasteries is a must when it comes to things to do in Meteora. All offer amazing views and rich history, and each has a unique ambience. Beyond these, the monasteries of Agios Antonios and Agios Nikolaos of Badovas, as well as the Monastery of Ypapanti (located to the north), can also be visited, having been part of a recent restoration program.

Tour the monasteries of Meteora

Go rock climbing … just like the original monks

The most famous rock climbers in Meteora were the original monks. But they weren’t the first rock climbers in Meteora. The monks learned their rock-climbing skills from the locals, who helped them scale the peaks and establish the monasteries we admire today. So it is fitting that, today, Meteora has become a world-famous rock-climbing site. And not just for experts. Even if you’re a beginner, you’ll be provided with all the expertise and gear needed to get started in one of the most awesome rock-climbing sites you’ll witness.    

Conquer the Great Saint via ferrata

Great Saint – or Agia, as the locals call it – isn’t just the highest peak of Meteora, it’s also the end-point of the most epic ascent available to the more active visitors. The Great Saint via ferrata hiking and scrambling route rises some 430m above the town of Kalambaka, following a hidden trail through rock pillars, cracks and crevices that requires a guide and specialist equipment.

It’s an exhilarating activity, stopping at a stronghold of an ancient city and enjoying captivating views of the area, including the village of Kastraki and the plain of Thessaly. Undoubtedly, one of the most adrenaline-filled things to do in Meteora.

Challenge yourself on the via ferrata of Meteora

Revel in a food and wine-tasting tour

Meteora isn’t just an amazing UNESCO World Heritage site; it’s also a wonderful destination for foodies. If you’re interested in sampling dishes and local products, take a stroll around Kalambaka. The homemade pies and honey made by monks are out of this world. There are also local wineries you can visit on your own or as part of a food & wine tour, where you’ll also sit down to a farm-to-table meal with grilled meats, local cheese and organic salads

 

Go truffle-hunting and enjoy a forest meal

Taking your foodie experience to the next level… the dense forests around Meteora are famous for their seasonal truffles and mushrooms, giving you the opportunity not just to hunt for them and enjoy a meal cooked on-site with the fruits of your labour.

There are expeditions with truffle dogs and their trainers, who will teach you the art of spotting and retrieving the valuable fungi. A chef will then help you prepare a truffle-and mushroom-based meal right in the forest. To round off your day, there’s also a wealth of information in the Meteora Natural History and Mushroom Museum in Kalambaka.

Max out on the awe factor on a mountain-biking tour

Whether you’re a first-time mountain biker or a skilled thrill-seeker, Meteora offers an incredible landscape to explore by bike. There are road and off-road trails that take you past monasteries and into the countryside, especially if you join a guided tour. A great tip is to visit the Ypapanti Monastery, no longer inhabited by monks but one of the oldest in Meteora and literally carved into the rock. This northern side of Meteora has a beautiful oak tree forest you can cycle through.

Go river-rafting for a final splash of epic

Lastly, an activity you wouldn’t be expecting. Rafting down the Pinios River adds another dimension to your stay in Meteora. Approximately 8km long and reaching no more than Grade 2-3 in difficulty in spring and autumn, the route is ideal for all members of the family or groups of friends, rafting through wonderful countryside before being gifted yet more views of those wondrous rock formations. There are tours lasting the whole day that include riverbank picnics and the chance to swim in the river.

The world-famous Meteora only know how to do epic, especially on full moon days!

Top things to do in Meteora

So what grabbed your attention amongst all the fun things to do in Meteora? Hiking between the monasteries? Truffle-hunting? Rock-climbing? Mountain biking? Or are you a romantic type, happy to wait till sunset and treat yourself to a view to last a lifetime?

Where to eat and drink in Meteora

  • Meteora: Located right in the centre of Kalambaka, opposite Dimarhiou Square, a landmark restaurant in the region serving great quality food since 1924.
  • Meteoron Panorama: The most elegant dining space with excellent views and high quality cuisine made from local ingredients.
  • Valia Calda: The only restaurant of its kind in the area, offering local cuisine with influences from the recipes of the Vlach population of Pindos Mountain range.
  • Black Live: A local hangout with tasty meat dishes and an ideal location for families, just over the Pinios River outside Kalambaka (in Diava). There is a safe play area for kids and panoramic views of Meteora.
  • Fourtounis: Specialising in meze along with the area’s famous tsipouro firewater.
  • Kalami: Situated in the main square, with great pork souvlaki and views towards the Adrahti rock. 
  • Efrosino: A traditional restaurant with memorable pies, grilled food and local dishes
  • Gousios: A family restaurant that provides a pure farm-to-table experience with excellent quality grilled meats, around 15mins from Kalambaka. Try the galotyri cheese and wild greens.
  • Platanos: On the road towards Grevena, 15mins from Kalambaka. A high-quality choice that marries local tradition with modern presentation. 
  • Arados: A grill house offering the ultimate in simplicity and high quality in the square of a hidden hamlet 20mins for Kalambaka.
  • Pub 38: A choice of Greek beers and food in Kalambaka, specialising in locally made sausages.
  • Castiro Bar: For drinks, coffee and food in the picturesque old part of Kastraki.

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

meteora-susnet-tour-logo
Group

Meteora Sunset Tour

4 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
867 Reviews
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Join the ultimate small-sized sunset tour in Meteora and discover the hidden gems of this area! A 'life-seeing' experience rather than a sight-seeing experience.
hiking-and-scramble-tour-of-great-saint-logo
Group

Hiking and Scramble Tour of Great Saint

3 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
334 Reviews
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Beauty, peace, exhilaration – only a few of the many words that try to capture the atmosphere of Meteora!




Visit Meteora
Visit Meteora
Travel Services

Visit Meteora is a group of passionate travel professionals who offer day & multiday tours of the area packed with local knowledge and hidden gems.

Stay connected with Greece

Koukounaries beach, Skiathos, Greece

10 of the best beaches in Skiathos

Kafeneio in Palaios Panteleimonas

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about tsipouro

Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

Caldera view in Santorini

12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe

Kalymnos is an international climbing destination, overwatching the island of Telendos

3 Popular rock climbing destinations in Greece

View of the old port of Skopelos

10 of the best things to do in Skopelos, Greece’s Mamma Mia island

The blue and green of the sea at Pano Koufonisi's Ammos beach is mesmerising

8 of the best beaches in the Koufonisia isles

Mersini in one of Schinoussa’s most beautiful beaches

7 unique things to do in Schinoussa

There are so many reasons to choose North Evia for your holidays

Make a difference with holidays in North Evia