Fakistra beach, where some scenes from the movie Mamma Mia! were filmed here
Scroll
Heute
MON
TUE
WED
THU
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Traditionelle Dörfer, Wälder, Skipisten und traumhafte Strände – ein perfektes Urlaubsziel für alle Jahreszeiten

Auf der einen Seite der pagasitische Golf, auf der anderen Seite die Ägäis. Dazwischen ein magischer Berg, der darauf wartet, erkundet zu werden: Pilio! Die Quellen rauschen, die Sonne strahlt durch die Blätter der Platanen, Apfelbäume, Eichen, Buchen, Gardenien, Hortensien und Kamelien. Alles blüht auf diesem fruchtbaren Flecken von Thessalien. Im Herbst erstreckt sich vor Ihnen die Farbpalette von Rot bis Orange. Wanderwege, alte Kirchen, Strände mit pfaublauem Wasser und hoch oben hängen Dörfer am Berghang. Ein Wochenende reicht nicht aus, um das alles aufzunehmen. Willkommen im fabelhaften Pilio.

Besichtigen Sie in Pilio

Eine Reise in die Heimat der Zentauren

So viel Schönheit lässt zwangsläufig Mythen entstehen. So herrschten der altgriechischen Sage nach in Pilio die Zentauren. Angeführt wurden Sie von Cheiron, dem weisesten unter ihnen, der ihnen die Heilkunst beibrachte, die Schlange zum Symbol der Medizin machte und sowohl Achillles als auch Asklepios in seine Geheimnisse einweihte.

Dörfer von wunderschönen Schönheit

Auf dem Weg von Volos nach Pilio liegen Portaria und Makrinitsa, die bekanntesten Ortschaften der gesamten Gegend. Hier gibt es Steinbrunnen, idyllische, alte Häuser, Wanderpfade, Fünf-Sterne-Hotels und kleine Boutique-Hotels, Kirchen und köstliche, lokale Gerichte. Von dort aus hat man einen überwältigenden Panoramablick über Volos und den pagasitischen Golf. In diesen Ortschaften mit bildhübschem Baustil wird deutlich, was Lebensqualität wirklich bedeutet.

Fahren wir Ski?

Skifahren mit Blick auf die Ägäis? Das geht! Das Skigebiet in Agriolefkes auf 1470 m wartet mit vier Skipisten für erfahrene Skifahrer und einer für Anfänger (7 km insgesamt), sowie einer warmen und gemütlichen Hütte für Après-Ski. Hier gibt es auch mehrere Geschäfte, Cafés und eine Skischule. Der fantastische Ausblick auf das Meer macht den Aufenthalt in diesem Skigebiet zu einem einzigartigen Erlebnis.

Tsangarada: Ein Dorf im Schatten der Platanen 

Im erholsamen Schatten der himmelhohen Platanenbäume von Agia Paraskevi ist Durchatmen  angesagt. Agia Paraskevi ist der berühmteste  von vier Bezirken der Gemeinde Tsangarada. Die anderen drei sind Agios Stefanos, Agia Kyriaki und Taxiarches. Entdecken Sie diese von Agia Paraskevi aus zu Fuß. Wandern Sie entlang von Kastanienbäumen, Obstbäumen und Blumen. Tsangarada ist seit Jahren ein beliebtes Urlaubsziel, prall gefüllt mit Natur und Leben.

Zagora: Der Ort der Apfelbäume

Zagora ist ein bedeutendes und unter Griechen bekanntes Anbaugebiet, vor allem für Kastanien und Kirschen. Das sind die Haupterzeugnisse des Ortes, der gleichzeitig der historische, wohlhabendste und größte Ort in der Gegend von Pilio ist. Seit Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts werden in Zagora im großen Stil Äpfel angebaut. Die örtliche Agrargenossenschaft besteht seit 1916.

Die Dörfer von Pilio

Pouri, Keramidi, Mouresi, Kissos, Milies, Vizitsa, Pinakates, Agios Georgios Nilias, Agios Lavrentios und viele mehr; die Dörfer von Pilio haben alle einen eigenen Charakter und sind einen Besuch allemal wert. Wunderschöne, traditionelle Architektur, gemütliche Pensionen, schattige Kirchplätze, urige Kaffeehäuser und Tavernen – man fühlt sich hier schnell wie ein Einheimischer.

Alte Kirchen

Die alten Kirchen von Pilio bergen erstaunliche Kunstschätze. Das Kloster Pammegiston Taxiarchon in der Ortschaft Milies wurde 1764 renoviert und ist bekannt für seine fantastische Akustik. Grund dafür sind die 48 Krüge im Dach, die umgekehrt aufgestellt sind. Das Klangerlebnis ist beeindruckend. In Kissos liegt das 1650 erbaute Agia Marina. Sehenswert sind hier die religiösen Wandmalereien, die Szenen aus der Apokalypse, dem Neuen und dem Alten Testament darstellen. Es sind nicht nur Kirchen sondern echte Sehenswürdigkeiten die Sie unbedingt besichtigen sollten.

Ägäische Strände

Pilio hat große und kleine Buchten mit weißen Kies- oder feinen Sandstränden und kristallklarem Wasser. Hier liegen die Strände direkt unterhalb von alten Herrenhäusern und Platanenbäumen, die buchstäblich das Meer berühren.

Edler  Charme und moderner Luxus

Dutzende aus Stein gebaute Herrenhäuser mit traditioneller Inneneinrichtung, Wohnstuben mit Kamin und Steinterrassen mit Blumen erwarten Sie in Pilio. Wenn Sie eher modernen Luxus bevorzugen, finden Sie hier auch Fünf-Sterne-Hotels und Privatvillen mit Pool. Sie alle liegen inmitten der üppig grünen Landschaft von Pilio. Das sorgt für erfrischend-angenehme Temperaturen, sogar während der Hitzewellen im Hochsommer.

Eisenbahnromantik

Am malerischen Bahnhof von Milies warten Eisenbahnliebhaber auf den “Mountzouris”, die Dampflok aus dem Jahr 1895. Der Schaffner setzt die Lok manuell in Betrieb und die bezaubernde, kleine Lokomotive beginnt ihre Fahrt in Richtung Ano Lechonia. Eine märchenhafte Eisenbahnfahrt zwischen Bäumen und Wäldern und über zwölf Brücken. Ein tolles Erlebnis für Groß und Klein. Eine der schönsten Erlebnisse in Pilio.

Damouchari: Wie aus einer Filmszene

Die Damouchari-Bucht ist ein echtes Postkartenmotiv. Ein bezauberndes Ambiente, düster und wild zugleich. Die Bucht wird von einer Landzunge in zwei Abschnitte geteilt. Die Tavernen bieten exzellente Gerichte inklusive Traumblick an. Der Yachthafen war der Drehort der Dancing Queen-Szene im Spielfilm Mamma Mia.

Pilios Wanderwege

Erkunden Sie den Pilio-Berg zu Fuß über das dichte Wegenetz aus gepflasterten Straßen, Fuß- und Feldwegen. Zu empfehlen sind die Routen Milies-Tsangarada, Tsangarada-Damouchari-Ai Iannis, Kissos-Mouresi, Chania-Kissos, Portaria-Chania, Damouchari-Fakistra. Erfahrene Wanderer und Naturliebhaber werden hier die Geheimnisse des Gebirges, die Geschichte und die reiche Vegetation genießen.

Versteckte Juwelen von Pilio

Blumen

Nehmen Sie die Farben Pilios mit zu sich nach Hause. In den Dörfern können Sie Hortensien, Kamellien und Gardenien erwerben. Nehmen Sie auch etwas Erdboden mit, das macht den Unterschied.

Schluchtenwanderungen

Zwei schöne Schluchten erwarten Sie in Tangarada: Fakistras und Milopotamos. Sie enden an zwei gleichnamigen Stränden.

Süd-Pilio

Von Milina bis Trikeri erstreckt sich das Gebiet, das nur von Einheimischen und Insidern besucht wird. In den beliebten Tavernen finden Sie frischen Fisch, delikate Fischsuppe und allerlei Meeresfrüchte. Mit dem Boot lassen sich die verborgenen Schönheiten des pagasitischen Golfs am besten entdecken. 

  • Fahren wir Ski?
  • Tsangarada: Ein Dorf im Schatten der Platanen
  • Zagora: Der Ort der Apfelbäume
  • Die Dörfer von Pilio
  • Alte Kirchen
  • Damouchari: Wie aus einer Filmszene
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Wandern in Greichenland: beliebte Strecken

Entdecken Sie die Geheimnisse der griechischen Berge: die beliebtesten Urlaubsziele.
age of chivalry - Rhodes

Die 10 wichtigsten architektonischen Denkmäler in Griechenland

Mittelalterliche Städte und traditionelle Dörfer, von der Sonne weiß gebleichte Häuser und wunderbare Burgen: Eine Tour durch die mediterrane Architektur und Geschichte.
Fakistra beach, where some scenes from the movie Mamma Mia! were filmed here

Authentischer sommerurlaub

Küstendörfer und Kopfsteinpflaster, regionale Spezialitäten und freundliche Einheimische, farbenfrohe Bräuche und Feste: Ein echt griechisches Willkommen

Pelion

A seasonal feast of mountain and sea
Fakistra beach, where some scenes from the movie Mamma Mia! were filmed here
Scroll
Today
19°
SUN
14°
MON
14°
TUE
15°
WED
16°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Traditional villages, ski slopes, outdoor sports, heavenly beaches and dense forests… a place for all seasons

To one side, the Pagasitikos Gulf and, to the other, the Aegean. And in between, a magical mountain to discover by the name of Pelion! Water gurgles in the fountains and sunbeams stream through the leaves of the plane trees, oaks, beeches, gardenias, hydrangeas, camellias. All around you, nature flourishes here in the fertile soil of Thessaly. In the autumn, a surreal palette of orange and red unfolds before you. Pathways, old churches, beaches with peacock-coloured water all add to this multi-coloured assemblage. Up high, its villages teeter on the edge of the mountain. One weekend isn’t enough to take it all in. Welcome to magnificent Pelion.

What to do in Pelion

Travel to the home of the mythical Centaurs

So much beauty inevitably spawned many myths and legends. Centaurs are said to have ruled Pelion, led by the wisest of them all, Chiron, who taught medicine and made the snake its symbol and who initiated both Achilles and Asclepius into his secrets.

The ‘balconies’ of the Pagasitikos

On the way from Volos to Pelion, you will pass Portaria and Makrinitsa, the star villages of the area, with their stone fountains, quaint homes, paths, boutique bed & breakfasts and five-star hotels, churches and delicious local dishes. Below, the panoramic view of Volos and the Pagasitikos Gulf is laid out at your feet. In these jewels of Pelian architecture, you’ll experience what quality of life really means.

Let’s go skiing

Skiing with a view of the Aegean? Just the ticket! The ski resort in Agriolefkes, at 1,470m above sea level, awaits you with four slopes for advanced skiers and one for beginners (7km in total), and a warm and cosy refuge for après-ski. There are also stores and cafes galore, a ski school and – as if it needed mentioning again – that spectacular sea view to match your prowess on the piste.

Tsangarada: A village in the shade of the planes 

You are standing in the shade of the sky-high plane trees, taking in the refreshing breeze. You’re in Agia Paraskevi, one of the four districts of Tsangarada, one of the most famous villages in Pelion and you’ll soon explore the others – Agios Stefanos, Agia Kyriaki and Taxiarches – by footpath, among the chestnut trees, fruit trees and flowers. A favourite destination for Greeks for many years, Tsangarada is full of nature and life.

Zagora: The apple-tree village

Zagorin apples, chestnuts and cherries are famous throughout Greece. They are the staples of Zagora, the largest, wealthiest and most historic village in Pelion. From the beginning of the 20th century, Zagorians turned to agriculture and to apples in particular. Their Agricultural Cooperative was founded in 1916.

The villages of Pelion 

Pouri, Keramidi, Mouresi, Kissos, Milies, Vizitsa, Pinakates, Agios Georgios Nilias, Agios Lavrentios... the villages of Pelion, each with its own character, are all worth a visit. Incredible architecture, traditional bed & breakfasts, shaded squares with churches, traditional coffee shops and tavernas all contribute to your quickly becoming part of the furniture!

Old churches

The old churches of Pelion hide many surprises. The Pammegiston Taxiarchon monastery in Milies was renovated in 1764 and is renowned for its amazing acoustics. Why? Some 48 jars, turned upside-down and hidden in the roof combine with five interconnecting underground wells to create a sonic sensation. At Kissos, you’ll visit Agia Marina, built in 1650, and admire its beautiful murals inspired by the Apocalypse, as well as the Old and New Testaments. All of these monasteries, churches and attractions will enchant you.

Aegean waters

As you make your way down the mountain, you’ll come across large and small beaches with white pebbles or fine sand and crystal-clear water. Off the beaches of Pelion, you’ll swim under the gaze of aristocratic Pelion houses and plane trees that practically reach the water.

Old world charm and modern luxury

A stately stay, literally. Dozens of stately stone homes, with traditional decor, living rooms with fireplaces and stone patios with flowers, await you throughout the villages of Pelion. If you’re looking for modern luxury, you’ll find 5-star hotels, private villas or condos with suites and pools. The best thing about them is that they are all are located amidst Pelion’s lush green landscape, which provides a continuous cool breeze, even during August’s heatwaves.

All aboard!

Rendezvous at Milies, the train station, to wait for the Mountzouris, the famous steam train that took its first puff in 1895 and is now welcomed at the platform with an enthusiastic show of support… a gleaming, mechanical champion of more innocent days. The driver starts up the engine by hand and the charming little train sets out for Ano Lehonia for a magical ride through trees and forests and over 12 bridges!

Damouhari: A scene from a film

The beach at Damouhari is a postcard brought to life. A lovely landscape, moody and wild at the same time, divided by a strip of land separating Old and New Damouhari. The tavernas offer a five-star dinner with a view. The marina was the location of the Dancing Queen scene in Mamma Mia.

Pelion’s footpaths

Pelion was and is a living mountain. Discover it through the dense network of trails and paths, such as Milies-Tsangarada, Tsangarada-Damouhari-Ai Iannis, Kissos-Mouresi, Chania-Kissos, Portaria-Chania and Damouhari-Fakistra. Experienced hikers and nature lovers will discover the mountain’s secrets, the history and rich vegetation.

Hidden gems of Pelion

Gifts of the earth

Take the aromas of Pelion home with you in jars and pots. All around Pelion, women make sweet preserves in a dozen incredible flavours. You’ll find it hard to resist trying them. In the villages, you can buy pots with hydrangeas, camellias, gardenias..

Canyoning

Two beautiful narrow canyons await you at Tsangarada… Fakistras and Milopotamos, ending in beaches of the same names.

South Pelion

From Milina until Trikeri, southern Pelion is a destination for locals and intrepid travellers. Taste fresh fish, plain or in a delicious soup, and seafood in the tavernas. And if time is on your side, take a boat to discover the hidden beauty of the Pagasitikos.

The legendary old steam train of Pelion is popularly known as Moutzouris

Experience the best of Pelion

Visiting a destination is just half the experience. Living it is what makes it truly memorable.
The most popular uphill trail of Pelion mountain is the trail of Centaurs

Explore the hiking paths of Pelion

There are walks you can do right across Pelion, taking you through a rich landscape of forests, streams and waterfalls and through fabulous mountain and...
  • Let’s go skiing
  • Tsangarada: A village in the shade of the planes
  • Zagora: The apple-tree village
  • The villages of Pelion
  • Old churches
  • Damouhari: A scene from a film
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Aerial view of the Old stone bridge in Klidonia Zagoria in the autumn, Epirus, Western Greece. This arch bridge with elongated arch built in 1853.

Nature

Exploring Greece’s rich natural tapestry
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

5 popular routes for trekking in Greece

If you love hiking through nature, Greece has everything you could want.
age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece

Medieval cities and traditional villages, white houses bleached by the sun and formidable castles… a tour of Mediterranean architecture and history in a nutshell.