Meteora

Eine Reise zu einem heiligen Ort
Unesco has declared Meteora a World Heritage Site
Scroll
Heute
FRI
SAT
SUN
MON
13°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Von prähistorischen Flüssen geformte, gigantische Steinsäulen – gekrönt von berühmten Klöster

Meteora bedeutet „im Raum freischwebend“. Auf den ersten, zweiten und dritten Blick auf diese unglaublich hohen, senkrechten Felsen kommen Besucher aus dem Staunen nicht heraus. Aber es ist nicht nur die unglaubliche Geologie der Region, auch die hoch oben gebauten Klöster sind mehr als imposant. Wie sie dorthin kamen? Die Mönche, die sie gebaut haben, waren Kletterer im ursprünglichen Sinn.

Mit Seilzügen, Netzen und ihren bloßen Händen schafften sie die Baumaterialien hinauf. Heute kommen Kletterer aus der ganzen Welt nach Meteora, um sich mit diesen gigantischen Felsen zu messen. Von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt, vom griechischen Staat zum heiligen, unantastbaren Ort bestimmt, werden auch Sie die magische Stimmung dieses ehrwürdigen Ortes spüren.

Besichtigen Sie in Meteora

Monströse Felspfeiler und demütige Eremiten

Wie ein Wald erheben sich in Thessalien die unglaublichen Felsen senkrecht im flachen Tal nördlich von Kalambaka, südlich des Pindos-Gebirges. Das Klosterleben begann hier im 11. Jahrhundert mit der Ankunft der ersten Mönche, die sich in Nischen dieser himmlischen Säulen zurückzogen. Im 14. Jahrhundert kam der Heilige Athanasios von Meteora in die Gegend und gründete die erste Klostergemeinschaft im Kloster des Großen Meteoron. Andere Mönche folgten ihm aus verschiedenen Ecken Griechenlands und errichteten insgesamt 20 Klöster.

Kloster wie Adlerneste

Derzeit gibt es sechs aktive, florierende, restaurierte Klöster, die jeden Besucher in ihren luftigen Gefilden gastfreundlich begrüßen:
 Agios Nikolaos Anapafsa, Metamorphosis tou Sotiros oder Megalou Meteorou, Varlaam, Roussanos, Agia Triada und Agios Stephanos. Alle  anderen, ob restauriert oder aufgegeben, sind leer.

Der ideale Ort für Kletterbegeisterte

In der frühen Zeit der Klöster war Klettern eine Notwendigkeit, kein Sport. Es gab keinen anderen Weg, um an die Spitze zu kommen. Nur mit Hilfe von Seilen, Netzen, bloßen Händen oder langen, wackeligen Leitern konnte der Gipfel erklommen werden. Heute zieht die Herausforderung dieser göttlichen Pfeiler Kletterer aus aller Welt an. Sie genießen die klassischen Stein-Kletterrouten mit großer Länge und ohne übermäßige Sicherheitsvorkehrungen. Alle Routen sind in der traditionellen Weise von unten nach oben geschnitten. Einige gehen gerade hoch bis zu einer Höhe von 500 m.

Kastraki, ein Dorf zwischen den Felsen

Mit Abstand das schönste Dorf in der Umgebung fügt sich wunderbar an den Fuß der riesigen Felsen an und begrüßt die Kletterer, die  hier zwischen den  gemütlichen Hotels, Privatpensionen und Campingplätzen wählen können. Es gibt auch viele Tavernen und kleine Geschäfte. Palio (Alt-)Kastraki wurde zu einer geschützten, traditionellen Siedlung erklärt.

Kalambaka: das Tor zur höheren Gefilden

Kalambaka öffnet die Tür zu Meteora. Das kommerzielle und touristische Zentrum der Region hat viele Hotels, Pensionen und gute Restaurants. Verbringen Sie einen traumhaften Urlaub, hier in Zentralgriechenland.

Versteckte Juwelen in Meteora

Die Brückenbögen der Sarakina

Unterwegs von Kalambaka in Richtung Trikala gelangt man zum historischen See Sarakina 8 km außerhalb der Stadt. Es ist die Reise wert, denn hier steht die größte Steinbrücke in Trikala, die berühmte Sechsbogenbrücke  aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Eine der schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Gegend.

Die Theopetra-Höhle

Nur 4 km außerhalb von Kalambaka wartet eine weitere Überraschung: Eine riesige Höhle, deren Hauptraum etwa 500 m² misst. Wissenschaftler vermuten, dass die Kalksteinhöhle Theopetra  („Göttlicher Stein“) während der späten Kreidezeit vor etwa 137-60 Millionen Jahren entstand. Sie wurde schon vor 50.000 Jahren bewohnt.

Wandern und Mountainbiken in Meteora

Wandern in Meteora ist entspannend und spannend zugleich. Die vielen Abenteuerurlaubs-Agenturen von Zentralgriechenland  organisieren Gruppenwanderungen, aber auch Mountainbiken ist ein verlockendes Angebot.

Hike among the gigantic rock pillars of Meteora to enjoy truly breathtaking views

Erleben Sie das Beste von Meteora

You pass along a deep gorge full of nature, admiring extraordinary-coloured water and plane trees

Rafting im Schatten der außergewöhnlichen Meteora

Die magische Landschaft der Meteora Klöster und Felsformationen bietet Ihnen eine weitere Reise mit dem Erlebnis, den Pinios-Fluss hinunter zu raften.
Walk among the gigantic rock pillars of Meteora to enjoy truly breathtaking views

Erkunden Sie die Wanderwege von Meteora

Was für einen besseren Weg gibt es, um diese Wunder der Natur und des menschlichen Strebens zu erkunden, als ein Paar Wanderschuhe anzuziehen und inmitten...
  • Monströse Felspfeiler und demütige Eremiten
  • Kloster wie Adlerneste
  • Der ideale Ort für Kletterbegeisterte
  • Kastraki, ein Dorf zwischen den Felsen
  • Kalambaka: das Tor zur höheren Gefilden
  • Wandern und Mountainbiken in Meteora
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Moni Arkadiou, Crete

Religion in Griechenland

Klöster, Kirchen, Wallfahrtsorte und Pilgerreisen geben Einblicke in die orthodoxe Tradition
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter in Griechenland

Der lichtdurchflutete griechische Winter verspricht ein Winterurlaubserlebnis der besonderen Art
Bäume mit goldenen Blättern am Herbst in Valia Κalda

Herbstferien in Griechenland

Meteora

Somewhere between heaven and earth
Unesco has declared Meteora a World Heritage Site
Scroll
Today
WED
THU
FRI
SAT
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Pillars of rock, sculpted by prehistoric rivers and crowned by otherworldly monasteries, monuments to the power of faith

Meteora means ‘suspended in space’. Your first, second and third sight of these impossibly tall, vertical rocks will have you gasping in disbelief. But it’s not just the incredible geology that stretches your imagination. It’s the monasteries balanced on these pinnacles. How did they get there? The monks who built them were the original rock climbers, lifting the materials up with pulleys, nets and their bare hands.

Today, fans of the sport come to Meteora from the world over, to pit themselves against these gigantic rocks. Unesco has declared Meteora a World Heritage Site. The Greek state calls it a sacred spot, inviolate and immutable. You’ll no doubt come up with other adjectives to describe Meteora, this wonder of the world.

What to do in Meteora

Stone giants  and humble hermits

In Thessaly, a forest of mind-bending stone monoliths rises perpendicular to the flat valley north of Kalambaka, south of the Pindus Mountains. Monasticism here began in the 11th century with the first hermits arriving in Thessaly from Mount Athos to retreat to niches in these heavenly pillars. In the 14th century, the Blessed Athanasios of Meteora came to the area and founded the first monastic community in the monastery of the Great Meteoron. Other monks followed from other corners of Greece, creating a total of 20 monasteries.

Monastic eyries

At present there are six active, flourishing, restored monasteries and convents, which welcome each visitor hospitably to their lofty realms. These are Agios Nikolaos Anapafsa, Metamorphosis tou Sotiros or Megalou Meteorou, Varlaam, Roussanos, Agia Triada and Agios Stephanos. All the others, whether restored or abandoned, are empty.

A place for rock climbing enthusiasts

From the earliest days of the monasteries, rockclimbing was a necessity, not a sport. There was no other way to get to the top except by using ropes, nets, bare hands or long rickety ladders. Nowadays, the challenges of these divine columns attract climbers from all over. They enjoy the classic rock-climbing routes, often without excessive safety precautions. All the routes have been cut in the traditional way from down up. To the eyes of the initiated they look impossible, some going virtually straight up to a height of 500m.

Kastraki, a village nestled among the rocks

By far the prettiest village in the area, Kastraki fits snugly at the base of the giant rocks and welcomes climbers, who can take their pick of cozy hotels, rooms in private houses and camping sites, tavernas and shops. Palio (Old) Kastraki has been declared a protected traditional settlement.

Kalambaka: the gateway to the higher realm

Kalambaka opens the door to Meteora. The commercial and tourist hub of the region, it has lots of hotels, rooms to let and good restaurants – all the makings of a dreamy holiday. Take a stroll in the old part of town, called Spotos, which has been given a tasteful facelift. Don’t miss Greece’s only woodworking school here and a traditional foundry, where you’ll find rare hand-crafted bronzeware.

Hidden gems of Meteora

The multi-arched bridge of Sarakina

Heading from Kalambaka towards Trikala, you’ll come to the historic hamlet of Sarakina 8km outside town. It’s worth the trip to see the largest stone bridge in Trikala prefecture, a  famous six-arched edifice, which went up in the 16th century. It is one of the most interesting attractions in the area.

The Theopetra Cave

Just 4km outside Kalambaka, another surprising sight awaits you in the shape of an enormous cave, whose main chamber measures about 500 sq. m. Scientists calculate that the formation of the limestone Theopetra (or god-rock) Cave occurred during the late Cretaceous period, 137 million to 60 million years ago. It was inhabited as early as 50,000 years ago.

Hiking and mountain biking in Meteora

Hiking in Meteora is relaxing and exciting at the same time. You can join a group through one of the many adventure tourism agencies in the area. Mountain biking is another enticing option.

Hike among the gigantic rock pillars of Meteora to enjoy truly breathtaking views

Experience the best of Meteora

You pass along a deep gorge full of nature, admiring extraordinary-coloured water and plane trees

Rafting in the shadow of the extraordinary Meteora

The magical landscape of the Meteora monasteries and rock formations takes you on yet another journey with the experience of rafting down the Pinios River.
Walk among the gigantic rock pillars of Meteora to enjoy truly breathtaking views

Exploring the hiking paths of Meteora

How better to explore these miracles of nature and human endeavour than to pull on a pair of hiking shoes and set out amidst the...
  • Stone giants and humble hermits
  • Monastic eyries
  • A place for rock climbing enthusiasts
  • Kastraki, a village nestled among the rocks
  • Kalambaka: the gateway to the higher realm
  • Hiking and mountain biking in Meteora
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Aerial view of the Old stone bridge in Klidonia Zagoria in the autumn, Epirus, Western Greece. This arch bridge with elongated arch built in 1853.

Nature

Greece’s natural tapestry
Parnassos Ski Resort: Skiing in Greece with sea view

Winter holidays in Greece

Greece's bright light welcomes you to experience the most exciting winter holidays of your life
Trees with golden leaves at autumn in Valia Κalda

Autumn holidays in Greece