Кея

Ancient, accessible and cosmopolitan
For a walk that takes you back in time, come to Ioulis, a colorful village in Tzia
Scroll
Сегодня
17°
THU
19°
FRI
18°
SAT
16°
SUN
18°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Расположенный недалеко от Афин кикладский остров Кея очарует вас своей атмосферой и множеством тропинок

Кея находится всего в часе пути от порта Лаврион. Космополитический, доброжелательный и доступный. Уже начиная с весны те, кто хорошо знает остров, каждые выходные приезжают сюда насладиться аурой Эгейского моря и поесть свежей рыбы в гаванях острова. Откройте для себя пляжи, старинные церкви, башни, водяные и ветряные мельницы. Пройдите по тропам времени, которые приведут вас в Древнюю Грецию. Иулида, Кориссия, Пиесса, Карфея. Четыре древних города-государства были расположены на Кее, где согласно мифам сначала жили только нимфы.

Исследуйте места кораблекрушений в морских глубинах около острова и совершите прогулку на внедорожниках. Может быть, пришло время познакомиться с островом Кея поближе?

 

Стоит увидеть на Кее

Лев Иулиды

Хранитель и эмблема острова: «лев» Иулиды. Полюбуйтесь статуей, связанной с легендами острова, которая датируется эпохой ранней архаики. Достойный пример скульптурной школы Кеи – истинный царь острова. 

Иулиде: Иулида город на Кее

Пора познакомится с традициями. Добро пожаловать в Иулиду – единственный из древних городов, построенный в глубине острова Кея, а не на побережье. Расположившаяся на склоне природного амфитеатра, Иулида приглашает вас полюбоваться ею: особняки и загородные дома, сводчатые аллеи, фонтаны, традиционная архитектура и городское планирование, венецианский замок, сохранившийся до сегодняшних дней.

Уделите немного времени зданию мэрии, построенному в неоклассическом стиле, проект которого был разработан архитектором Эрнстом Чилером, и обязательно посетите Археологический музей Кеи, который считается одним из самых замечательных по всем Кикладам

Затонувшие корабли

Морское дно вблизи острова Кея таит много секретов. Британский океанский лайнер «Британик», брат «Титаника», затонул здесь, нарвавшись на немецкую мину, в 1916 году. Это было всего лишь шестое его путешествие. Место крушения было исследовано командой Жак-Ива Кусто в 1975 году. До сегодняшнего дня очень мало водолазов смогли подобраться к затонувшему кораблю, лежащему на глубине 120 метров и считающемуся одним из самых важных затонувших на Средиземном море кораблей во все времена. На рифе Кундурос можно найти еще один потерпевший крушение корабль: пароход «Патрис», затонувший в 1868 году. 

Один день классической эпохи в Карфее

"Эти узкие, скалистые груди Карфеи, я не променял бы даже на Вавилон» – пишет Пиндар, лирический поэт Древней Греции. И хотя бы поэтому стоит посвятить один день визиту в самый главный из четырех древних городов-государств на острове Кея, Карфею, знававшую времена процветания в архаический период.

Здесь, в наиболее важном месте археологических раскопок на Кее история все так же жива в дорическом храме Аполлона Пифийского, построенном в 530 г. до н. э. над морем; в пропилеях и в храме, который как считается, посвящен богине Афине; в части сохранившейся городской стены. В Карфею стоит прийти по древней тропе, идущей вдоль реки Вафипотамос, как это делалось в древние времена. Один час прогулки и сразу после нее купание в прохладной воде на пляже Полес. 

Пляжи Кея

Вуркари, Ялискари, Корисия, Кундурос, Оркос, Писсес, Спафи. Песок, тамариски, эвкалипты и спокойные воды Кеи особенно полюбятся тем, кто отдыхает на яхте. 

 

Скрытые сокровища Кеи

Башни на Кее

Неподалеку от Склавоникола вы можете ознакомиться с уцелевшей частью башни Панахра эллинистической эпохи, высота которой достигает 4,5 метра. Лучше сохранилась близлежащая башня Агиа Марина – она насчитывает пять уровней и является одним из самых высоких  и хорошо сохранившихся памятников Средиземноморья. 

Доисторические поселения на Кее

Запланируйте посещение доисторических поселений Агиа Ирини и Кефала, сохранившихся в хорошем состоянии. Они считаются самыми интересными на Кикладах. 

Прогулки по тропам и на внедорожнике

Тем, кому по душе вождение по бездорожью, понравятся грунтовые дороги Кея. А все остальные могут насладиться исследованием острова, пройдя по специально размеченным тропам, 65% которых вымощены камнем.

3_Cosmopolitan, friendly and accessible, Tzia is just an hour away from the port of Lavrio, in eastern Attica

Лучшее в Кеи

Sunset in Poros island

Круиз одного дня по островам около Афин

Они расположены так близко, что кажется, до них можно подать рукой. Острова Саронического залива окунут вас в атмосферу греческого лета!
  • Лев Иулиды
  • Иулиде: Иулида город на Кее
  • Затонувшие корабли
  • Пляжи Кея
  • Башни на Кее
  • Прогулки по тропам и на внедорожнике
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

Популярные направления для плавания по Эгейскому морю

Путешествуя по Эгейскому морю среди бесчисленных островов и островков и уникальных впечатлений, вы откроете Грецию ветров и морей
Hydra's alleyways

Острова недалеко от Афин

Идра, Спецес, Порос, Эгина, Кея: самые близкие в Афинам острова, с историй, стилем и знаменитыми посетителями. Превосходное решение для маленького побега от городской суеты в любое время года

Tzia

Ancient yet cosmopolitan, just a stone’s throw from Athens
For a walk that takes you back in time, come to Ioulis, a colorful village in Tzia
Scroll
Today
17°
THU
17°
FRI
18°
SAT
18°
SUN
18°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Close to Athens but part of the Cyclades island chain, cosmopolitan Tzia offers invigorating walks past ancient cities and a wide choice of sandy beaches

Cosmopolitan and friendly Tzia is just an hour away from the port of Lavrio, east of Athens. Those who know the island – whether as Tzia or its alternatives Kea, Gia or Zea – begin their weekend sojourns in spring, enjoying fresh fish at the tavernas in the marinas. You’ll love discovering its beaches, old churches, Hellenistic towers, watermills and windmills… and trekking its trails that pass no fewer than four ancient cities (Ioulis, Korissia, Poiessa and Karthaia). Mythology says that the first home of the nymphs was here and it isn’t hard to imagine why. 

 

What to do in Tzia

The Lion of Ioulis

The carved statue of the Lion of Ioulis is the guard and emblem of the island, associated with its myths and dating to the early Archaic Period. 

Ioulis: An ancient city in Tzia

For a walk that takes you back in time, come to Ioulis – of the ancient cities, the only one built inland. Spread along the slope like an amphitheatre, it invites you to lose yourself in the magic of its stately homes, vaulted alleys, fountains, traditional architecture and Venetian castle. Devote a moment to the neoclassical Town Hall, designed by the famous architect Ernst Ziller. The Archaeological Museum, considered one of the most important of its kind in the Cyclades, is a must-see. 

Shipwrecks of the deep

The HMHS Britannic, sister-ship to the Titanic, was sunk near Tzia by a German naval mine in 1916 on only its sixth voyage. Jacques Yves Cousteau’s team explored it in 1975 but, to date, few divers have approached the wreck, located at a depth of 120m, even though it’s considered one of the most significant shipwrecks in the Mediterranean. On the reef of Koundourou, there’s another sunken ship – the steamer Patris that went down in 1868.

A day in the Classical period

“This narrow, rocky land of Karthaia, I would not exchange it with Babylon,” wrote the ancient Greek poet Pindar.  It’s worth devoting a day to visit the most important of all the four ancient cities of Tzia, which flourished in the Archaic period. Here history comes to life in the Doric Temple of Pythiou Apollona, built in 530 BC and thought to be dedicated to Athens. Try to arrive at Karthaia by the ancient trail of Vathipotamou, just as worshippers once did. A one-hour walk is rewarded by a refreshing swim at Poles beach.

A dip in the sea

The sandy beaches of Vourkari, Gialiskari, Korissia, Koundouros, Orkos, Pisses and Spathi are shaded by eucalyptus trees, among others, and all boast calm, clear waters. They are especially popular with boat owners.

 

Hidden gems of Tzia

The towers

A short distance from Sklavonikola, you will discover a part of the Tower of Panachras, from the Hellenistic period, measuring 4.5m in height. There is also the nearby tower of Agia Marina. At five storeys, it is one of the tallest surviving monuments of the Mediterranean.

Prehistoric settlements

Plan a trip to the prehistoric settlements of Agia Irini and Kefalas, which remain in good condition. 

Trails and 4x4s

If you’re into off-road driving, come with your jeep: you’ll love the dirt roads of Tzia. A more sedate way to get to know the island is by trekking its many signposted trails.

3_Cosmopolitan, friendly and accessible, Tzia is just an hour away from the port of Lavrio, in eastern Attica

Experience the best of Tzia

Sunset in Poros island

A day cruise to the islands close to Athens

So close that you feel you could almost touch them, the islands of the Saronic Gulf offer a generous taste of Greek summer to anyone...
  • The Lion of Ioulis
  • Ioulis: An ancient city in Tzia
  • Shipwrecks of the deep
  • A dip in the sea
  • The towers
  • Trails and 4x4s
Highlights

Plan your trip

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

12 Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

What better way to see the Aegean than by boat? All you have to do is decide which islands to hop to and which unexplored bays to anchor in.
Hydra's alleyways

7 Islands close to Athens

Hydra, Spetses, Poros, Aegina, Tzia/Kea: Welcome to the charming little islands near Athens, which offer history and style in abundance and are ideal for a quick getaway all year round.