South of Areopolis, you’ll come to the indescribably lovely, much photographed little fishing port of Limeni
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
20°
WED
20°
THU
21°
FRI
21°
SAT
22°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Des forteresses, des châteaux, des cités antiques, des grottes lacustres, des baies et des plages. Dans le Péloponnèse, l'histoire de Mani et sa pierre vous séduiront

Paysage rugueux et sec. Des maisons faisant penser à des forteresses, hameaux de pierre, églises byzantines, petites baies et grottes sensationnelles. Mani (le Magne). Une société fermée, sobre, organisée pendant des siècles par une lignée de parenté. Les villages Incrustés sur les pentes abruptes du versant sud du Mont Taygète sont en permanence sur le pied de guerre.

Les Magnotes ont développé un fort sens de l’autonomie. Ce que le visiteur voit aujourd'hui est ce qu’on lui permet de voir… Et ce qu’il consomme avec gourmandise ce sont des images à la fois uniques et magiques d’une Grèce authentique dans ce coin du Péloponnèse, à l’extrémité sud de l'Europe. 


Attractions au Magne

Le tour belliqueux de Magne, soigné mais sobre

Emblème du Magne. De toute la Grèce, vous ne trouverez qu’ici un spectacle aussi imposant. Superviseur des lieux. Un volume de pierre robuste, qui s'élève verticalement, violemment entre terre et ciel. La hauteur est directement proportionnelle à sa capacité défensive, mais aussi à l’éminence et la position sociale de ses propriétaires. Sa construction est dictée par des considérations tactiques. Aucune fenêtre, petites ouvertures, des créneaux et plusieurs niveaux, pour pouvoir se défendre par le haut. Simples découpages en pierre, ils ont été créés par des artisans locaux en suivant les techniques de fortification byzantine. 

Églises byzantines : joyaux de Magne

Cet aspect de l’histoire de la Grèce est omniprésent au Magne: Byzance y est partout - et bien précisément, les églises byzantines. Elles sont présentes partout, habituellement petites et humbles. Monuments dédiés à la beauté et à la foi. Fabriquées à partir de frêne et de pierre rose. Plusieurs parmi elles ont des coupoles en briques élégantes, des sculptures en marbre et des décorations internes qui se ressemblent. La plupart de ces églises ont un grand intérêt architectural et esthétique.

Les célèbres et emblématiques tours de Vatheia

Des milliers de « clic » photos pour immortaliser la rangée des tours de Vatheia. Le village est célèbre pour sa beauté. Il est considéré exemplaire de l’architecture du Magne. C’est une attraction particulière qui mérite votre visite. 

Voyage aux grottes de Dyros

Un fleuve souterrain dans les entrailles de la roche. Atmosphère imposante, des couleurs et des formes qui frôlent la perfection. Les spéléologues considèrent les grottes de Dyros parmi des plus importantes au monde. Celle plus facilement visitable est appelée Vlichada. Elle mesure 2,5 kilomètres de longueur. Alors que celle de Alepotripa fut utilisée comme foyer à l'époque néolithique 

Le fameux village de Limeni

En descendant d’ Areopoli vers la mer, vous percevrez la beauté indescriptible de Limeni. Dans ce village côtier, le plus photographié du Magne, se trouvent une poignée de forts magnifiques, certaines auberges exceptionnelles et des tavernes. Il fut le village natal de la famille légendaire des Mavromichalis.

Trésors cachés de Magne

Le phare à la pointe du cap Tainaro

La route se termine au Cap Tainaro. La pointe aiguë de la Laconie transperce la mer et se perd dans les profondeurs de la Méditerranée. À l'extrémité sud du Magne, le célèbre phare Tainaron, une des attractions les plus singulières du Péloponnèse, regarde passer les bateaux. Juste avant, à Porto Sternés, les ruines du temple de Poséidon ont servi à ériger la chapelle Asomati.

À Porto Kayio, les pirates et les cailles 

Porto Kayio était un repaire célèbre de pirates. Toutefois, l’appellation vient des nuées de cailles. Elles y viennent stationner peu avant de suivre leur migration vers le sud. Il était un des lieux les plus renommés pour ses cailles et Magne en était le principal fournisseur de la France. N'oubliez pas de visiter aussi sa bouleversante baie abritant un notoire château.

Tefthroni : le port antique de Kotronas

À Kotronas avec ces criques pittoresques, se tenait Tefthroni, l'un des principaux ports de la région dans la Grèce antique.

  • Le tour belliqueux de Magne
  • Églises byzantines
  • Voyage aux grottes de Dyros
  • Le phare à la pointe du cap Tainaro
  • À Porto Kayio
  • Tefthroni : le port antique de Kotronas
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
age of chivalry - Rhodes

Les 10 plus célèbres monuments architecturaux en Grèce

Cités médiévales et villages traditionnels, maisons blanchies par le soleil et magnifiques châteaux: l’incomparable identité architecturale grecque
Zante - Zakynthos

L’été Grec infini

Des étés inoubliables en Grèce
Family on a trekking day looking at wild flowers

Vacances en famille en Grèce

Découvrez la Grèce avec les yeux des enfants: plages magnifiques, stations organisées, une multitude d’activités et d’expériences pour toute la famille.

Mani

Land of tower houses and castles, wild and untamed
South of Areopolis, you’ll come to the indescribably lovely, much photographed little fishing port of Limeni
Scroll
Today
20°
WED
20°
THU
21°
FRI
21°
SAT
22°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A land of tower houses, castles, ancient sites, Byzantine chapels, beautiful beaches and spectacular caves in the Peloponnese

Dry, bare and rugged. Mani is the land of the prickly pear, bristling with forbidding tower houses, stone villages, Byzantine chapels, delightful coves and astonishing caves. The people here are frugal and close-knit, still adhering to centuries-old bloodlines and family ties. 

Barricaded behind the crags of Mt Taygetos and ready for battle, the Maniots developed a powerful sense of autonomy, answerable to no one. What you see today is only what they consider permissible. But you’ll be overwhelmed with images of authentic Greece because here, in this far corner of the Peloponnese, everything is dramatic and bewitching.

What to do in Mani

The beautifully built Maniot towers

They are the emblems of Mani. Stone strongholds that thrust from the rocky land as if to strike the sky itself. Their height was directly related to their defensive prowess, but also to the rank and social position of the family to which they belonged. Their construction was dictated by military strategy: no windows, minimal openings, battlements and multiple storeys, to give their defenders the advantage. And their spare, elegant masonry was the product of generations of local craftsmen who drew inspiration from Byzantine fortification architecture.

Byzantine churches: perfect gems in a raw terrain

You will find this part of Greece’s history – Byzantium – throughout Mani. You’ll see Byzantine churches everywhere. Usually small and humble, they are nevertheless architectural masterpieces and monuments to unshakable faith. Their exteriors are of brick and russet stone, with many possessing beautiful domes, carved marble iconostases and other relief decorations. 

Vathia and its trademark towers

The cluster of towers that forms this fortified village is among the most famous in the Mani and a hauntingly beautiful sight.

A trip to the underground lakes in the Dirou Caves

The colours and shapes here are beyond description. Spelunkers consider the Dirou Caves among the most important on the planet. Open to the public, the cave at Vlyhada is 2.5km long, while that at Alepotrypa (‘fox hole’) was inhabited in Neolithic times. 

Photogenic Limeni

South of Areopolis, you’ll come to the indescribably lovely, much-photographed little fishing port of Limeni. It boasts a handful of superb tower houses, some exceptional boutique hotels and great fish tavernas.

Hidden gems of Mani

The lighthouse at Cape Tainaron, Land’s End

The road ends at Cape Tainaron. The sharp tip of the Laconian peninsula, at Matapan, pierces the Mediterranean like a warrior’s lance and the famous Tainaron lighthouse warns ships of rocky shores. This is one of the most special sights in the Peloponnese. On the way, a little before Porto Sternes, the ruins of a temple of Poseidon form the foundations for the Asomatos. Look for the ancient cisterns and a pebble mosaic. This is the second most southern spot in continental Europe after Gibraltar.

Porto Kayio, pirates and quail

Although this was a notorious pirates’ lair, the cape takes its name from the flocks of quail (quaglio in Italian) that pass through on their way south. In its heyday, the area was a major supplier of the tasty birds to France. Don’t forget to visit the stunning circular bay and the famous castle here.

Teuthrone: Kotrona’s ancient harbour

Kotrona, up the east coast, was the site of Teuthrone, one of the most important Maniot harbours in Ancient Greece.

  • Maniot towers
  • Byzantine churches
  • Dirou caves
  • The lighthouse at Cape Tainaron
  • Porto Kayio
  • Teuthrone
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece

Medieval cities and traditional villages, white houses bleached by the sun and formidable castles… a tour of Mediterranean architecture and history in a nutshell.
Zante - Zakynthos

Summer holidays in Greece

The Greek islands and mainland were made for summer
Family on a trekking day looking at wild flowers

Family holidays in Greece

Beautiful beaches, organised resorts, warm hospitality, fun for the kids… no wonder Greece is an ideal country for family holidays