Trigonou square in Akrotiri
EXPERIENCE

Visite d’Akrotiri à Santorin

By K.Konstantinidis

Akrotiri à Santorin est l'un des plus importants sites préhistoriques d'Europe et l'un des sites archéologiques les mieux conçus

Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1-2 heures
Par saison
Mai - Octobre

APERÇU

Visite d’Akrotiri à Santorin

Si vous avez bien appris vos leçons d’histoire, vous savez que visiter Akrotiri se trouvera en tête de liste des principales choses à faire à Santorini. Le site archéologique dans le sud-ouest de l'île est ancien - très ancien ! – Et il représente une pièce essentielle du puzzle de la préhistoire européenne. 

Pour le mettre en perspective, l'ancienne cité d'Akrotiri a été habitée avant l'éruption volcanique qui a créé Santorin et sa caldeira. Nous parlons du 4e millénaire avant J.-C., au moins (période néolithique). En effet, diverses cités ont existé ici à l’âge de Bronze jusqu'à ce qu'Akrotiri devienne, vers 1500 av. J.-C., l'un des principaux centres urbains de la mer Égée. Les fouilles de 50 hectares aujourd'hui ont mis au jour des vestiges datant de cette époque, la plupart d'entre eux ayant été conservées dans des cendres volcaniques, lui donnant le surnom de « Pompéi de la Grèce » 

C’est également l’un des sites archéologiques les mieux conçus de Grèce, composé d’un toit bioclimatique maintenant une température agréable même en été, grâce à une ventilation naturelle tout en fournissant la lumière naturelle et en protégeant les objets des éléments. 

Vous remarquerez des passerelles suspendues au-dessus des bâtiments et atteignant jusqu'à trois étages. La conception vous permet d'apprécier pleinement les espaces publics et l'urbanisme de la cité antique, dont un réseau complexe de drainage, ainsi que des objets montrant que les ingénieurs, les architectes et les artistes avaient créé une société florissante et avancée qui commerçait avec toute la région.

Lire la suite Read Less

A NE PAS RATER

Les alentours d'Akrotiri à Santorin 

Bien que votre attention devrait se porter à juste titre sur le site archéologique d’Arkrotiri, d'autres attractions dans ce coin de Santorin peuvent compléter votre itinéraire si vous voulez y passer une journée.

La plage rouge de Santorin 

À environ 1,7km du site archéologique d’Akrotiri, elle est l’un des lieux de baignade les plus fameux de  Santorin. Comme son nom l'indique, la plage rouge (Kokkini Paralia) est célèbre pour les dépôts de minerai de fer apportés par le versant de roche volcanique et par les cailloux rouille de la plage – bien qu'en réalité, une palette de couleurs s’offre à vos yeux sur la plage. C'est l'un des endroits de baignade parmi les plus spectaculaires à Santorin. 

Fruits de mer et poisson dans une taverne 

Avant ou après votre baignade, c’est une bonne idée de déguster un repas de poissons au bord de la mer. Lorsque vous marchez le long de la côte, d'Akrotiri à la plage rouge, vous tomberez sur un superbe endroit  servant les fruits de mer les plus frais (goûtez aux  mulets rouges - ou barbounia) ainsi que d'autres produits locaux fantastiques, comme les tomates cerises et les fava (fèves). Commandez un verre de vin blanc Asyrtiko frais (produit localement) et admirez la vue.

Village d'Akrotiri 

À environ 2km au nord du site archéologique, se trouve le village d'Akrotiri, une petite cité qui s'est développée autour de la forteresse du 14èmesiècle construite à son sommet. Vous profiterez d’une vue incroyable sur la caldeira mais ce que vous apprécierez le plus, c’est de flâner dans ses petites ruelles. La beauté des Cyclades est présente ailleurs comme à Santorin, mais ici, règne une authenticité encore plus palpable et qui charme d’une manière très particulière. À La Ponda (le château vénitien), un atelier vous attend ainsi qu’une exposition de tsampouna – instruments de type cornemuse fabriqués à partir de la peau de chèvre, emblèmes de Santorin. Profitez de l'occasion pour entrer dans l'église d'Agia Théodosia, juste avant de visiter la forteresse.

Le phare d'Akrotiri

Chaque coucher de soleil sur Santorin est magique, mais quelque chose d’unique se manifeste lorsque le soleil se fond dans la mer Égée, surtout depuis le phare de l'extrémité ouest de l'île. Situé à 4,7km de la ville d'Akrotiri (vous pouvez y aller en randonnée et revenir si vous en avez l’énergie ), ce phare est l'un des plus anciens de Grèce. Construit par une société commerciale française en 1892, le phare s’allume encore toutes les 20 secondes. Des tavernes de poissons vous attendent si vous désirez manger.  

Lire la suite Read Less
Group

The Caldera Hike

4.5 hours / 10 km (6 miles)
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
33 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Enjoy a guided walking tour on Santorini’s most impressive path, right on the rim of the famous volcanic caldera. Follow the footsteps of ancient merchants,...
sea-kayak-santorini-logo
Group

Santorini Sunset Sea Kayak & Snorkel with Dinner

5 Hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
119 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
On this sunset kayak and snorkel adventure in Santorini, you will visit black, white and red beaches. Enter magnificent sea caves, swim and snorkel. Your...

Comment vous rendre sur le site archéologique d’Akrotiri à Santorin ?

  • Depuis Fira :

En voiture ou en taxi : 10,2km (15mn)
En bus : Pour plus d'info: 
KTEL Santorini

  • Depuis Oia:

En voiture ou en taxi : 20,4km (30mn)

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter Santorin ?

  • Vous pouvez profiter du site archéologique d’Akrotiri toute l'année mais les mois pouvant associer d’agréables moments de baignade et visites à Santorin sont de mai à octobre.
  • Vous vivrez la meilleure expérience de visite en avril-juin ou septembre-octobre, où la foule des touristes s’est un peu dispersée, quand toutes les choses à faire sur Santorini (dont Akrotiri) deviennent plus personnalisées. 

Quel est le prix des billets d’entrée sur Le site archéologique d’Akrotiri à Santorin ?

  • Les billets coûtent 12 € (6 € tarif réduit) pour entrer sur le site archéologique. 
  • Veuillez noter que les heures d'ouverture varient en fonction de la saison. 
  • Pour plus d'informations: Le site archéologique d’Akrotiri à Santorin
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

Il faut combien de temps pour visiter le site d’Akrotiri à Santorin ?

  • Vous aurez besoin de 1-2h pour visiter le site archéologique, cela dépendant du temps que vous voudrez bien lui consacrer.
  • En fonction de votre moyen de transport, une journée, au moins, sera nécessaire pour voir tout ce qui est inclus dans cette expérience. 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

S'il vous plaît, aidez à préserver la magie des îles grecques, des sites culturels et de l'environnement naturel pour les générations futures.

Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable et essayez de minimiser l’usage du plastique.
N’emportez rien de la plage (coquillages, cailloux, fossiles, sable, etc.).
Respectez la vie marine, les plantes et animaux sur la côte.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Ne touchez pas les vestiges ou les monuments. Les huiles naturellement sécrétées par les doigts peuvent endommager les artéfacts.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Une excursion en bateau à Thirasia, la version de Santorin telle qu'elle était il y a 50 ans

Explore the best hiking trails in Santorini

Découvrez les sentiers de randonnée à Santorin

Découvrez les routes du vin de Santorin

Une promenade dans sites culturels de la ville de Kos

Strolling around Arnaia village

Découvrez les villages intemporels de Chalcidique

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

Trigonou square in Akrotiri
EXPERIENCE

A tour of Akrotiri on Santorini

By K.Konstantinidis

Akrotiri in Santorini is one of Europe’s most important prehistoric settlements and also one of the best-designed archaeological sites

Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1-2 hrs
Season
May - October

OVERVIEW

A tour of Akrotiri on Santorini 

If you’ve done your homework, you’ll know that visiting Akrotiri always features in lists of top things to do on Santorini. The archaeological site in the southwest of the island is old – very old! – and represents a vital piece in the puzzle of European prehistory.

To put it into perspective, the ancient city of Akrotiri was inhabited before the volcanic eruption that created Santorini and its caldera. We’re talking about at least the 4th millennium BC (the Neolithic Period). Indeed, various settlements existed here through the Bronze Age until Akrotiri became, in around 1500 BC, one of the main urban centres of the Aegean. The 50-acre excavation you see today is from that time, much of it preserved in volcanic ash, giving it the nickname ‘Greece’s Pompeii’

It’s also one of the best-designed archaeological sites in Greece, with a bioclimatic roof maintaining a comfortable temperature even in peak summer through natural ventilation at the same time as providing natural light and protecting the artefacts from the elements.

There are walkways suspended above buildings that reach as high as three storeys. The design allows you to fully appreciate the public spaces and town planning of the ancient city, including a complex drainage system, as well as artefacts showing that engineers, architects and artists inhabited what was once a flourishing and advanced society that traded widely with the region. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

A tour of Akrotiri on Santorini 

Although your focus should rightly be on the archaeological site of Arkrotiri, there are other attractions in this corner of Santorini that you can add to your itinerary if you want to make a day of it.

Santorini’s Red beach

Around 1.7km from the archaeological site of Akrotiri is one of Santorini’s best-known swimming spots. As the name suggests, the Red Beach (Kokkini Paralia) is famous for the iron ore deposits in the volcanic rock face and the rust-coloured pebbles on the beach – although in reality there is a whole palette of colours on the beach. It’s one of the most dramatic places to swim in Santorini.

Seafood in a taverna

Either before or after your swim, there’s a perfect place for you to enjoy a seafood meal by the sea. As you walk from Akrotiri along the coast to Red beach, there’s a great spot that serves the freshest seafood (you have to try the red mullet – or barbounia) along with other fantastic local produce, like cherry tomatoes and fava (split peas). Order yourself a glass of chilled Asyrtiko whiter wine (locally produced) and admire the view.

Akrotiri town 

Around 2km north of the archaeological site is the town of Akrotiri, a settlement that grew around the 14th-century fortress built at its highest point. There’s a great view of the caldera but what you’ll most enjoy is just exploring the alleyways. You’ll find the same Cycladic beauty as elsewhere on Santorini, but there’s a down-to-earth authenticity about it here that is enjoyable in a different way. Within La Ponda (as the Venetian castle is known), there’s a workshop and exhibition of tsampouna – the bagpipe-like instruments made from goats’ skin, for which Santorini is known. Take the opportunity to pop into the church of Agia Theodosia, just before the fortress.

The Akrotiri Lighthouse

Every sunset on Santorini is magical, but there’s something extra-special about how the sun melts into the Aegean when viewed from the lighthouse at the island’s westernmost point. It’s 4.7km from Akrotiri town (meaning you can hike there and back if you’re feeling energetic) and the lighthouse is one of the oldest in Greece. Having been built by a French trading company in 1892, it still emits a pulse of light every 20 seconds. There are seafood tavernas around here, too.

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Group

Oia’s Hidden Treasures

4 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
33 Reviews
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 8 days in advance for a full refund.
Join us for a scenic tour of Oia’s secret spots, and the beauty of the surrounding villages. Discover blue domed whitewashed churches, walk through a...

How do you get to the archaeological site of Akrotiri on Santorini?

  • From Fira:

By car or taxi: 10.2km (15mins)
By bus: More info: KTEL Santorini

  • From Oia:

By car or taxi: 20.4km (30mins)
 

When is the best time to visit Santorini?

  • You can enjoy the archaeological site of Akrotiri all year round but the months with the best swimming weather in Santorini are May to October.
  • You’ll have the best experience by visiting in April-June & September-October, when there are fewer visitors and all the things to do on Santorini (including Akrotiri) feel more personalised. 

How much do tickets for The archaeological site of Akrotiri in Santorini cost?

  • Tickets cost €12 (€6 reduced) to enter the archaeological site. 
  • Note that seasonal opening times apply. 

Skip the line - Book your tickets

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long do you need to visit Akrotiri in Santorini?

  • You will need 1-2hrs to visit the archaeological site, depending on how much depth you want to go into.
  • Depending on your means of transport, you’ll need at least a day to include everything included in this experience. 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help preserve the magic of Greece’s islands, cultural sites and natural environment for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Don’t remove any shells, rocks, fossils or sand from the beach.
Respect the marine life and the plants and animals onshore.
Explore your surroundings but please keep to designated paths for your own safety and to avoid disrupting the flora and fauna.
Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
View of Santorini island from Thirassia

A boat trip to Thirasia, the Santorini of 50 years ago

When it comes to Old World wines, Santorini makes a special case for attention

Enjoy a vineyard and wine tour of Santorini

Explore the best hiking trails in Santorini

Explore the best hiking trails in Santorini

The Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno has an architecture and history that will captivate you

A tour of the Monastery of Arkadi in Crete

Fiskardo village, Kefalonia

Explore the scenic villages of Kefalonia

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Explore the Minoan Palace of Phaistos in Crete

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

A stroll around the cultural landmarks of Kos town

Strolling around Agios Nikolaos, Crete

A walking tour of Agios Nikolaos in Crete