Folegandros

L’alternative des cyclades
Panagia of Folegandros Church
Scroll
Aujourd'hui
15°
SAT
12°
SUN
14°
MON
16°
TUE
17°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Elle impressionne par sa beauté, elle ravit de son rythme de vie tranquille. Les vacances à Folegandros vous assurent une place à l’amitié sur un fond de mer Égée

Il y a à peine quelques années, l’île restait un secret bien caché au cœur de la mer Égée. Un secret partagé entre quelques initiés. Aujourd’hui, tous ceux qui choisissent régulièrement cette destination, et ils sont désormais plus nombreux, essaient de tout faire pour ne pas le divulguer. L’île à la beauté pure et aux rythmes nonchalants vous fera faire comme eux.

Les places avec leurs petites tables à côté des vieilles églises, la falaise sur laquelle la Hora (le village principal de l’île) se tient en équilibre, les rakis au miel, la sensation d’appartenir à un groupe d’amis quand vous chantez avec vos voisins sur les bancs des bars, les maisons avec les volets multicolores, les plages aux eaux phénoménales: tout cela vous rendra fou amoureux du lieu et protecteur de sa beauté. Bienvenue à Folegandros!

Attractions à Folegandros

Une Hora au bord de la falaise

Folegandros est une des plus belles capitales insulaires de la mer Égée et une des mieux entretenues. Elle vous fera rêver. La vue depuis la rambarde sur la place de Pounta est à vous couper le souffle. En marchant vers la place Dounavi, la Piatsa, la place Maraki, en vous reposant contre les murs des maisons cycladiques et des vieilles églises, en goûtant les pâtes traditionnelles appelées Matsata et les câpres cuisinées, vous vous fondrez immédiatement dans ce microcosme merveilleux.

Le Kastro de Folegandros

Autrefois, suspendue au-dessus du passage couvert (dit Megalo Skiadi) conduisant à la partie entourée de remparts du Kastro (le Château en grec), une cloche sonnait chaque soir pour signaler la fermeture des portes en fer qui permettaient d’y accéder.

Il ne faisait bas bon rester en-dehors à l’époque... Les maisons de Kato Rouga, elles, sont peintes en blanc ainsi que dans de superbes couleurs très vives ; elles démontrent une architecture singulière étonnante, comme si elles avaient été directement moulées toutes entières en argile. Admirez-les en vous asseyant sur les marches peintes à la chaux et ensuite marchez jusqu’à atteindre l’église de Pantanassa. La vue de cet endroit vous permet de distinguer Milos, Sifnos et Kimolos.

Une ascension prodigieuse

Vous montez les larges marches, vous les comptez, vous vous essoufflez, vous vous arrêtez un peu à chaque virage car la vue sur la Hora devient de plus en plus prodigieuse. Vous avez surement pensé que ça serait plus long et hésité à monter mais la pente est douce et seulement quinze minutes plus tard, vous vous trouvez dans la cour de l’église de la Panaghia imposante qui dispose de trois dômes, fait rare dans l’architecture caractéristique de la mer Égée.

Ici est conservée l’icône de la Sainte Vierge. À Pâques, Folegandros se vêtit de son meilleur costume et l’icône est honorée: elle est sortie pour la procession qui traverse toute l’île et les maisons lui ouvrent leurs portes pour l’accueillir. Vous serez chanceux si vous allez pouvoir suivre cette procession, ne la ratez pas si vous en avez l’occasion.

Se baigner dans la mer comme au bon vieux temps

À pied, en barque et plus rarement en voiture, vous allez découvrir les plages de Folegandros avec du sable, des galets et des eaux limpides. Agkali, Aghios Yeorghios, Vardia, Livadaki, Chochlidia, Katergo. Emportez quelques vivres et votre livre et profitez d’une plage telle que nous la connaissions jadis: sans transats, parasols et espresso freddo! Les plages de l'île vous récompenseront par la beauté hors du commun de leur environnement naturel.

 

Les trésors cachés de Folegandros

Les sentiers

Si vous additionnez leur longueur, vous obtiendrez un nombre supérieur au double de la longueur des routes bitumées! A Folegandros, île agricole et d’élevage, les locaux utilisent des dizaines de vieux sentiers, pavés sur de grands tronçons. Parcourez-les, ils vous emmèneront aux plus beaux secrets de la mer Égée!

Le Musée d’Art Populaire de Folegandros

Il est situé à Ano Meria, le seul village de l’île hormis la Chora qui conserve son apparence agricole traditionnelle. Vous y découvrirez le mode de vie dans une vraie ferme d’une île des Cyclades et vous pourrez voir la maison, le cellier, le four, la meule de pierre et les murs caractéristiques circulaires en pierres sèches de Folegandros qui servent à protéger les agrumes du vent. 

Le phare d’Apropounta

Il se trouve au cap Michelo et vous pouvez y aller à pied. Il a été allumé pour la première fois en 1912 et sa tour fait 11 mètres de haut. D’ici, vous pourrez profiter de la superbe vue, puisque toute la mer Égée s’étend à vos pieds!

Traditional houses at castle of Folegandros district

Vivez le meilleur de Folegandros

Many of the tightly packed houses are beautifully maintained with colourful balconies, doors and window frames

Une promenade pédestre de la ville principale simple mais sophistiquée de Folegandros

Simple, élégante et encore largement inconnue des visiteurs internationaux, Hora de Folegandros se distingue par son authenticité et son cosmopolitisme.
With clifftop views to the sea, the hiking paths of Folegandros are the ideal way to discover a deeply authentic island in the Cyclades-Folegandros

Découvrez les sentiers de randonnée de Folegandros

Traversant un paysage sauvage et magnifique de collines et de terres arables, et avec une vue sur la falaise jusqu'à la mer, les sentiers de...
  • Le phare d’Apropounta
  • Une Hora au bord de la falaise
  • Une ascension prodigieuse
  • Le Musée d’Art Populaire de Folegandros
Highlights

Folegandros

Clifftop charm and beaches where beauty is your reward
Panagia of Folegandros Church
Scroll
Today
24°
TUE
23°
WED
23°
THU
23°
FRI
24°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
This island in the Cyclades will sweep you off your feet with its beauty, charm and relaxing rhythm

A few years ago, Folegandros was a well-kept secret in the heart of the Aegean, known to a discerning few. Now, more and more people are discovering this small island with its rugged beauty and easy pace. Its main town, Hora, teeters precariously on the edge of a high cliff, with its many squares framed by graceful, typically Cycladic church facades and old-fashioned tavernas with views of the Aegean.

In the evenings, taverna tables fill up and the village becomes even more welcoming. Honeyed raki flows, music starts, people sing and friends are made. By day, you’ll meet them again on beaches lapped by emerald waters or in the colourful alleyways of the oldest part of town. 

What to do on Folegandros

Hora: A real cliffhanger

Probably one of the most spectacularly situated of all island villages, Hora adds new meaning to the word breathtaking. Its oldest part, the walled medieval Kastro, is beautifully preserved. Will you dare stand on the parapet at Pounta Square and admire the view? From there, you can stroll to Hora’s other squares. Each has its own character, with an exquisite church and small houses glistening under layers of whitewash. You understand the truth of the saying “small is beautiful”.

Medieval Folegandros survives

In the roofed passage to the walled district of Kastro once hung a bell that would ring out every evening to announce the closing of an iron gate. You wouldn’t want to be left outside in those days! As though moulded from white clay, the little houses of the Kato Rouga neighbourhood are like sculptures embellished with lively colours. Rest for a longer look and then walk to the Church of Pantanassa. From there you can see the islands MilosSifnos and Kimolos.

Above Hora, you’ll think Zorro left his mark

Above Hora, a striking white path zigzags across the face of the mountain, heading up to a special Folegandros landmark, the Church of the Panagia. Don’t hesitate, the walk is surprisingly gentle and short. And the rewards are great. The church is a rare example of Aegean ecclesiastical architecture, with three domes. Inside there is a portable icon of the Virgin, which on her feast days is carried in procession around all the houses of the island – a moving and impressive spectacle. The views are superb.

Pristine beaches in spectacular settings

Whether you walk, take the bus or jump into a caique, you will find Folegandros beaches delightful and photogenic. Whatever your choice, fine pebbles or golden sand, you’ll find the water inviting and clear. Angali, Agios Georgios, Vardia, Livadaki, Hochlidia, Katergo will become familiar names. But remember to take a picnic with you. Sun loungers, umbrellas or iced coffees are rarer on Folegandros than elsewhere in the Aegean. Their beauty alone is reward enough. 

 

Hidden gems of Folegandros

A treat for hikers

If you were to measure them, the island’s pathways would be far, far longer than its asphalted roads. Generations of farmers and shepherds carved out dozens of routes to their pastures and crops, which any self-respecting hiker would want to try. Most of them are paved with flagstones. Hike as many as you can. They’ll lead you to some of the most beautiful secrets of the Aegean.

The Folk Museum 

Ano Meria, the island’s only other village besides Hora, has kept its strictly agricultural character. Here, in an old farmhouse, you can see what a traditional farmstead was really like, with its storage cellar, outdoor oven, olive press and – a Folegandros phenomenon – walled-in lemon trees. The winter wind blows so fiercely that the locals erect high stone walls around each one to protect them. 

The lighthouse

Eleven metres tall, the lighthouse at Cape Mihelo has been operating since 1912. Put the hike that leads here on your list of interesting walks and take in the breathtaking view as the entire Aegean unfolds before you.

Traditional houses at castle of Folegandros district

Experience the best of Folegandros

Many of the tightly packed houses are beautifully maintained with colourful balconies, doors and window frames

A walking tour of Folegandros’ simple yet sophisticated main town

Simple, stylish and still largely undiscovered by international visitors, Folegandros’ Hora scores highly on both the authenticity and cosmopolitan meter.
With clifftop views to the sea, the hiking paths of Folegandros are the ideal way to discover a deeply authentic island in the Cyclades-Folegandros

Discover the hiking paths of Folegandros

Crossing a wild and beautiful landscape of hills and farmland, and with clifftop views to the sea, the hiking paths of Folegandros are the ideal...
  • The lighthouse
  • Hora: A real cliffhanger
  • Above Hora, you’ll think Zorro left his mark
  • The Folk Museum
Highlights