Discover the local dishes of Kardamyli, Messinia

Griechischer Guide für Speisen und Getränke

Alles, was du über das griechische Essen und Trinken wissen musst

coca-colaWenn du griechisches Essen liebst oder mehr über die Geschmacksrichtungen und kulinarischen Traditionen deines nächsten Urlaubsziels in Griechenland erfahren möchtest, bist du hier genau richtig. Unser Guide für die griechische Küche nimmt dich mit auf eine köstliche Tour zu gastronomischen Highlights, klassischen Gerichten und regionalen Produkten. 

Wir lassen die Korken der griechischen Weine knallen und beantworten dir die wichtigsten kulinarischen Fragen zu Griechenland: Was bestellen die Einheimischen in den Tavernen und warum wird der Ouzo trübe, wenn du Eis hinzufügst, wenn die Sonne scheint und du wirklich entspannt bist?

Werde ein Experte für griechische Gerichte und regionale Produkte

Unsere Leidenschaft für das Essen hat uns durch ganz Griechenland geführt und wir haben umfassende Foodie Guides zusammengestellt, die jedes kulinarische Geheimnis der griechischen Inseln und des Festlands beleuchten. Natives Olivenöl, Käse, Fleisch- und Fischgerichte, Honig, Bergkräuter und all das Obst und Gemüse, das in der mediterranen Sonne gedeiht, werden für dich auf den Teller gebracht und zum Probieren angeboten. 

In Athens und Thessaloniki, stellen wir dir die regionalen Food-Szenen vor (Brunch, Meeresfrüchte, Street Food, ethnische Küche und das ganze Spektrum der griechischen Küche - traditionell, modern und gehoben) und sagen dir, was du essen kannst und wo du es findest, wenn du einmal da bist. Auf Kreta, dem Peloponnes und Syros, probieren wir die lokalen Produkte und die bekanntesten Spezialitäten, machen eine Weinprobe und führen dich in Bergdörfer und Tavernen am Meer, wobei wir uns mit der Geschichte und der Kultur des jeweiligen Ortes beschäftigen.

Lerne, wie ein Einheimischer zu bestellen

Auf Inseln wie Rhodos, Korfu und Tinos findest du ausführliche kulinarische Touren, und wir bringen dir die Molkereien und Bauernhöfe von Mykonos – näher - wir zeigen dir, dass die griechischen Inseln noch viel mehr zu bieten haben, ganz gleich, wie gut du sie zu kennen glaubst.

Und das Beste ist, dass wir dich fit machen, in einer griechischen Taverne zu bestellen. Griechische Klassiker wie Moussaka, Pastitsio, Tzatziki, Taramosalata, Kalamari, Spanakopita und Souvlaki kennst du vielleicht schon (oder auch nicht) ... und Hut ab, wenn du weißt, dass ein griechischer Salat ein Horiatiki ist. Aber wie viele von euch wissen, dass man auf dem Peloponnes nach Gourounopoula (Schweinebraten), auf Kreta nach Apaki, auf Tinos nach Loutza und auf Korfu nach Tsitsibira fragen sollte? Ok, das letzte wirst du vielleicht erraten, wenn du es laut aussprichst - Ingwerbier. Aber dann würdest du dich nur wundern, wie das Ingwerbier zu einem regionalen Produkt von Korfu wurde. Unsere Kulinarik- und Kulturtour auf Korfu hat die Antwort!

Ausflüge in die Weinberge und griechische Weinproben genießen

Wenn Reisen für dich bedeutet, Weinberge zu bereisen und mit Einheimischen in Kontakt zu kommen, eröffnet sich dir eine ganz neue Welt. Griechische Weine sind eines der bestgehüteten Geheimnisse des Landes, mit Weingütern überall im Land. Das Terrain (Berge und Lehm- oder Kalksteinböden) und das Klima haben viel damit zu tun, aber die geheime Zutat ist oft die Meraki (Liebe ist die treffendste Übersetzung), die die lokalen Erzeuger in ihre Arbeit stecken - und die Tatsache, dass sie in Griechenland schon vor Tausenden von Jahren Wein hergestellt haben. Santorini, Halkidiki, Heraklion (auf Kreta), Nemea (auf dem Peloponnes), Limnos und viele andere Orte in Griechenland haben blühende Weinberge. 

Unser Greek Food & Drink Guide nimmt dich mit auf Weinbergstouren und stellt dir lokale Rebsorten wie Assyrtiko, Malagouzia, Moschofilero, Roditis und - den Rolls-Royce der griechischen Rotweine - Agiorgitiko vor, die wir mit den kulturellen Highlights der Region kombinieren. 

Außerdem nehmen wir dich mit auf die Mastixfelder von Chios (wo die Hauptzutat für Mastiha-Likör geerntet wird) und nach Rakokazana auf Kreta (wo Tsikoudia/Raki - oder Tsipouro, wie er anderswo in Griechenland bekannt ist - destilliert wird) und erklären dir, wie man Ouzo wie ein Grieche trinkt. (Und ja, wir beantworten die wichtige Frage, warum Ouzo milchig wird, wenn du Wasser hinzufügst).

Wenn das alles appetitlich klingt, bist du hier genau richtig. Kali orexi (oder bon appetit)... es ist Zeit, zuzugreifen.

Weiterlesen Read Less
Kalamarakia - Athens Riviera
Kalamarakia: A fried squid meze best enjoyed by the sea
Gemista: Seasonal vegetables stuffed with Greek love
Elaiolado: The extra-virgin olive oil that crowns a Greek salad
Kagianas: Scrambled eggs with tomato, cured pork and local cheese

Culinary highlights of Greek destinations

Turn food & drink into an experience wherever you are in Greece

Deine kulinarische Reise durch Griechenland

Eine Kostprobe dessen, was dich am meisten an griechischen Speisen und Getränken inspiriert hat

Ein kompletter Guide für griechisches Essen und Trinken (16)

Unser komplettes Angebot an kulinarischen Erlebnissen und Verkostung regionaler Produkte
Bougatsa is a delicious filo pastry pie made either sweet with semolina-cream filling and dusted with icing sugar and cinnamon or savoury with fillings such as cheese or mince.)

Ein Foodie-Guide für Thessaloniki

Unser Foodie-Guide für Thessaloniki stellt dir die lokale Food-Szene vor und gibt dir Tipps, was...
Want to get to know the personality of Syros? Just try the cheeses.

Ein Foodie-Guide zu Syros

Willkommen in unserem Foodie-Guide zu Syros. Hier erfährst du, was du am besten bestellst und...
The Peloponnese is one of Greece’s most geographically diverse and historically rich destinations. It’s also somewhere you’ll eat like a god

Ein Foodie Guide über Peloponnes

Der Peloponnes ist eines der geografisch abwechslungsreichsten und geschichtsträchtigsten Reiseziele Griechenlands, das mit bedeutenden antiken...
Ask any local and they’ll tell you Crete is the undisputed No1 foodie destination in Greece

Ein Foodie-Guide zu Kreta

Von extra-nativem Olivenöl über köstliche Rezepte bis hin zu umwerfenden Weinen - Entdecke die lokalen...
Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Entdecken Sie die Wurzeln von Mykonos auf einer Agrotourismus-Tour

Käserei- und Bauernhofbesuche auf Mykonos und das Erkunden der Lokalprodukte sind quasi ein Blick hinter...
Gemista is a classic home-cooked dish

Ein Foodie-Guide zu Athen

Athen hat einen guten Ruf als Reiseziel für Feinschmecker, mit modernen griechischen und gehobenen Restaurants,...
Mehr laden

Feinschmeckerziele

The Acropolis hill in Athens

Athen

Eine alte Stadt mit moderner Seele
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

Der Peloponnes

Eine reise in den mythischen Süden
The White Tower of Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki

Ein Mosaik aus Kulturen

Discover the local dishes of Kardamyli, Messinia

Greek Food & Drink Guide

Everything you need to know about local products & dishes and the culinary traditions of Greece

If you love Greek food or want to know more about the tastes and culinary traditions of your next holiday destination in Greece, you’ve come to the right place. Our Greek Food & Drink Guide takes you on a mouthwatering tour of gastronomic highlights, classic dishes and local products. 

We pop the cork on Greek wines and answer some of your most important culinary questions about Greece: What do the locals order in tavernas and (once the sunshine has sunk in and you’re truly relaxed) why does ouzo turn cloudy when you add ice?
 

Become an expert on Greek dishes and local products 

Our passion for food has taken us all around Greece, compiling comprehensive Foodie Guides that explore every culinary detail about Greek island and mainland destinations. The extra-virgin olive oil, cheeses, meat and fish dishes, honey, mountain herbs and all those fruit and vegetables that thrive in the Mediterranean sunshine are put on a plate for you to sample. 

In Athens and Thessaloniki, we lift the lid on the local food scenes (brunch, seafood, street food, ethnic and the whole spectrum of Greek dining – traditional, modern and fine-dining), guiding you to what you’ll eat and where you’ll find it once you’re there. And in Crete, the Peloponnese and Syros, we sample the local products & best-known dishes, go wine-tasting and take you into mountain villages and to seaside tavernas, examining the history and culture of each destination as we go. 
 

Learn how to order like a local

You’ll find detailed food tours on islands like Rhodes, Corfu and Tinos and we’ll open your eyes to the dairies and farms of Mykonos – showing you that there’s so much more to Greek islands, however well you think you know them.

And best of all, we’ll equip you to be able to order in a Greek taverna. You may (or may not) already be able to get your tongue around Greek classics like moussaka, pastitsio, tzatziki, taramosalata, kalamari, spanakopita and souvlaki … and kudos if you know that a Greek salad is a horiatiki. But how many of you know to ask for gourounopoula (roast pork) in the Peloponnese, apaki in Crete, loutza in Tinos and tsitsibira in Corfu? Ok, you might guess the last one when you say it out loud – ginger beer. But that will only get you wondering how ginger beer came to be a local product of Corfu. Our food and culture tour of Corfu has the answer!
 

Enjoy vineyard tours and Greek wine-tasting

A new world will open up if travel, for you, means visiting vineyards and coming into contact with locals. Greek wines are one of the country’s best-kept secrets, with wineries all over the country. The terrain (mountains and clay or limestone soil) and climate have a lot to do with it, but the secret ingredient is often the meraki (love is the closest translation) that local producers put into their work – and the fact that they were making wine in Greece thousands of years ago. Santorini, Halkidiki, Heraklion (in Crete), Nemea (in the Peloponnese), Limnos and so many other destinations around Greece have thriving vineyards. 

Our Greek Food & Drink Guide takes you on vineyard tours and introduces you to local grape varieties such as Assyrtiko, Malagouzia, Moschofilero, Roditis and – the Rolls-Royce of Greek reds – Agiorgitiko, pairing them with the local cultural highlights for a complete experience. 

And we take you into the mastic fields of Chios (where the main ingredient for mastiha liqueur is harvested) and into rakokazana in Crete (where tsikoudia/raki – or tsipouro as it’s known elsewhere in Greece, is distilled) and explain how to drink ouzo like a Greek. (And, yes, we answer that all-important question about why ouzo turns milky when you add water).

If all that sounds appetising, you’re in the right place. Kali orexi (or bon appetit)… it’s time to tuck in. 

Read More Read Less

Elaiolado: The extra-virgin olive oil that crowns a Greek salad
Kalamarakia - Athens Riviera
Kalamarakia: A fried squid meze best enjoyed by the sea
Ask any local and they’ll tell you Crete is the undisputed No1 foodie destination in Greece
Katsiki Tsigariasto : Goat gently cooked in olive oil, until tender and delicious
Kagianas: Scrambled eggs with tomato, cured pork and local cheese

Culinary highlights of Greek destinations

Turn food & drink into an experience wherever you are in Greece

Your culinary journey across Greece

A taste of what’s inspired you most about Greek food & drink

A complete guide to Greek food & drink (21)

Our full menu of culinary experiences and local product-sampling
Honey tasting in Halkidiki

A food & drink tour of Halkidiki

You’ll already know all about Halkidiki’s exotic beaches and pine-tree studded coastline, as well as...
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, in the southwest Peloponnese, through its most famous product… luscious,...
Thassos’ marble sculpting tradition dates to the 7th century BC

Culture guide to Thassos: Traditional crafts and local products

Put the beach on hold during your holidays in Thassos and discover the island’s incredible...

The best food & drink experiences in Rethymno

Discovering the food & drink of Rethymno includes visits to a raki distillery and an...
Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

A tour of the dairies and farms of Mykonos

Visiting the dairies and farms of Mykonos is like looking behind a curtain of whitewashed...
Greek breakfasts celebrate everything we know and love about Mediterranean cuisine

The Greek breakfast experience

Discover everything that makes a traditional Greek breakfast extra-special: Homely pies, Greek yogurt with honey,...
LOAD MORE

Foodie Destinations

The Acropolis hill in Athens

Athens

An ancient city with a modern soul
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

Peloponnese

A timeless journey to the mythical south
The White Tower of Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki

The big-hearted city of the northern Greece