Discover the local dishes of Kardamyli, Messinia

Guide des plats et boissons grecs

Tout ce que vous devez savoir sur les produits, les plats locaux et les traditions culinaires de la Grèce

coca-colaVous aimez la cuisine grecque ou vous voulez en savoir plus sur les saveurs et les traditions culinaires de votre prochaine destination de vacances en Grèce ? alors, vous êtes au bon endroit. Notre guide des plats et des boissons grecs vous emmène pour une alléchante visite des hauts lieux gastronomiques, une découverte des plats typiques et des produits locaux. 

Nous allons faire sauter les bouchons des vins grecs et répondre à vos questions les plus importantes sur la cuisine de la Grèce : que commandent les Grecs quand ils vont dans une taverne et (une fois le soleil couché et que vous êtes vraiment détendu) pourquoi l'ouzo blanchit-il quand on lui ajoute des glaçons ?

Devenez un expert des plats grecs et des produits locaux  

Notre passion pour la cuisine nous a emmenés partout en Grèce, nous avons compilé des guides gastronomiques complets vous faisant découvrir tous les détails culinaires des îles grecques et des destinations continentales. L'huile d'olive extra-vierge, les fromages, les plats de viande et de poisson, le miel, les herbes de montagne et tous les fruits et légumes qui prospèrent sous le soleil méditerranéen vous seront présentés sur une assiette, prêts à être dégustés. 

À Athènes et à Thessalonique, nous allons découvrir les lieux de la cuisine locale (brunch, fruits de mer, cuisine de rue, ethnique et toute la gamme de la cuisine grecque – traditionnelle, moderne et restauration fine), vous guidant vers ce que vous allez manger et vers les endroits où vous trouverez tout cela. Et en Crète, dans le Péloponnèse et à Syros, nous goûterons aux produits locaux et aux plats les plus connus, nous vous proposerons des dégustations de vins et vous emmènerons dans des villages de montagne et des tavernes de bord de mer, vous informant sur l'histoire et la culture de chaque destination. 

Découvrez comment commander comme un vrai Grec

Vous trouverez des visites gastronomiques détaillées sur des îles comme Rhodes, Corfou et Tinos et nous vous ferons découvrir les fromageries et les fermes de Mykonos – vous démontrant tout ce qu’il y a à voir sur les îles grecques, même si vous pensiez tout connaître déjà.

Et surtout, vous serez informés pour être en mesure de passer votre commande dans une taverne grecque. Vous pouvez (ou non) déjà être en mesure de parler au sujet des plats typiques grecs comme la moussaka, le pastititsio, le tzatziki, la taramosalata, le kalamari, la spanakopita et le souvlaki … Et chapeau si vous savez qu'une salade grecque est une choriatiki. Mais combien d'entre vous savent ce qu'est un gourounopoula (porcelet rôti) dans le Péloponnèse, l'apaki en Crète, la loutza à Tinos et la tsitsibira à Corfou ? OK, vous pouvez deviner ce dernier quand vous le dites ça à haute voix - ginger beer (bière au gingembre). Mais cela ne fera qu'amplifier vos questions sur l'origine de la bière au gingembre, produit local de Corfou. Notre circuit gastronomique et culturel à Corfou nous a fourni la réponse !

Visitez des vignobles et dégustez des vins grecs

Un nouveau monde s'ouvrira si voyager, pour vous, signifie visiter des vignobles et entrer en contact avec les habitants de chaque région. Les vins grecs sont l'un des secrets les mieux gardés du pays, avec des caves de vinification disséminées dans tout le pays. Le terrain (montagnes et terre argileuse ou calcaire) et le climat influencent beaucoup les vins, mais l'ingrédient secret est souvent le méraki (l'amour, la passion décrivent le mieux ce mot) des producteurs locaux pour leur travail - et le fait qu'en Grèce, on fait du vin, depuis des milliers d'années. Santorin, la Chalkidique, Héraklion (en Crète), Néméa (dans le Péloponnèse), Limnos et tant d'autres destinations en Grèce possèdent des vignobles florissants. 

Notre guide des plats et des boissons  grecs vous fera découvrir les vignobles et présentera des cépages locaux comme l' Assyrtiko, le Malagouzia, le Moschofilero, le Roditis et – le roi des vins rouges grecs – l'Agiorgitiko, en les associant aux sites culturels locaux pour que vous viviez une expérience complète. 

Et nous vous emmènerons dans les champs de mastic de Chios (où est récolté l’ingrédient principal de la liqueur de mastiha) et voir les rakokazana en Crète (où la tsikoudia/le raki – ou tsipouro ailleurs en Grèce, est distillé) et vous expliquerons comment boire l'ouzo comme un grec. (Et, oui, nous allons répondre à la question très importante concernant l'ouzo : pourquoi blanchit-il quand on y ajoute de l'eau ?).

Si tout cela vous semble excitant, vous êtes au bon endroit. Kali orexi (ou bon appétit) … il est temps de rentrer. 
 

Lire la suite Read Less
Kalamarakia - Athens Riviera
Kalamarakia: A fried squid meze best enjoyed by the sea
Gemista: Seasonal vegetables stuffed with Greek love
Elaiolado: The extra-virgin olive oil that crowns a Greek salad
Kagianas: Scrambled eggs with tomato, cured pork and local cheese

Culinary highlights of Greek destinations

Turn food & drink into an experience wherever you are in Greece

Votre voyage culinaire à travers la Grèce

Un avant-goût de ce qui vous a le plus inspiré dans la cuisine et les boissons grecques

Un guide complet de la cuisine et des boissons grecques (16)

Notre menu complet d'expériences culinaires et de dégustation de produits locaux
Bougatsa is a delicious filo pastry pie made either sweet with semolina-cream filling and dusted with icing sugar and cinnamon or savoury with fillings such as cheese or mince.)

Un guide gastronomique de Thessalonique

Notre guide gastronomique de Thessalonique vous présente la scène culinaire locale, avec des conseils sur...
Want to get to know the personality of Syros? Just try the cheeses.

Un guide gastronomique de Syros

Notre guide gastronomique de Syros qui vous apprendra comment choisir vos menus et où trouver...
The Peloponnese is one of Greece’s most geographically diverse and historically rich destinations. It’s also somewhere you’ll eat like a god

Un guide gastronomique du Péloponnèse

Le Péloponnèse est l’une des destinations grecques les plus diversifiées géographiquement et les plus riches...
Ask any local and they’ll tell you Crete is the undisputed No1 foodie destination in Greece

Un guide gastronomique de la Crète

De l'huile d'olive extra-vierge, des recettes délicieuses, des vins enivrants, découvrez les produits locaux et...
Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Découvrez les racines de Mykonos par l'agrotourisme

Visiter les laiteries et les fermes de Mykonos, découvrir ses produits locaux, c'est comme écarter...
Gemista is a classic home-cooked dish

Un guide gastronomique d'Athènes

Athènes s'est forgé une réputation de destination gastronomique, avec des restaurants grecs modernes et raffinés...
Plus

Destinations gourmandes

The Acropolis hill in Athens

Athènes

Une ville très ancienne à l’âme moderne
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

Péloponnèse

Voyage au Sud“mythique”
The White Tower of Thessaloniki

Thessalonique

Mosaïque de civilisations, caléidoscope d’expériences exceptionnelles

Discover the local dishes of Kardamyli, Messinia

Greek Food & Drink Guide

Everything you need to know about local products & dishes and the culinary traditions of Greece

If you love Greek food or want to know more about the tastes and culinary traditions of your next holiday destination in Greece, you’ve come to the right place. Our Greek Food & Drink Guide takes you on a mouthwatering tour of gastronomic highlights, classic dishes and local products. 

We pop the cork on Greek wines and answer some of your most important culinary questions about Greece: What do the locals order in tavernas and (once the sunshine has sunk in and you’re truly relaxed) why does ouzo turn cloudy when you add ice?
 

Become an expert on Greek dishes and local products 

Our passion for food has taken us all around Greece, compiling comprehensive Foodie Guides that explore every culinary detail about Greek island and mainland destinations. The extra-virgin olive oil, cheeses, meat and fish dishes, honey, mountain herbs and all those fruit and vegetables that thrive in the Mediterranean sunshine are put on a plate for you to sample. 

In Athens and Thessaloniki, we lift the lid on the local food scenes (brunch, seafood, street food, ethnic and the whole spectrum of Greek dining – traditional, modern and fine-dining), guiding you to what you’ll eat and where you’ll find it once you’re there. And in Crete, the Peloponnese and Syros, we sample the local products & best-known dishes, go wine-tasting and take you into mountain villages and to seaside tavernas, examining the history and culture of each destination as we go. 
 

Learn how to order like a local

You’ll find detailed food tours on islands like Rhodes, Corfu and Tinos and we’ll open your eyes to the dairies and farms of Mykonos – showing you that there’s so much more to Greek islands, however well you think you know them.

And best of all, we’ll equip you to be able to order in a Greek taverna. You may (or may not) already be able to get your tongue around Greek classics like moussaka, pastitsio, tzatziki, taramosalata, kalamari, spanakopita and souvlaki … and kudos if you know that a Greek salad is a horiatiki. But how many of you know to ask for gourounopoula (roast pork) in the Peloponnese, apaki in Crete, loutza in Tinos and tsitsibira in Corfu? Ok, you might guess the last one when you say it out loud – ginger beer. But that will only get you wondering how ginger beer came to be a local product of Corfu. Our food and culture tour of Corfu has the answer!
 

Enjoy vineyard tours and Greek wine-tasting

A new world will open up if travel, for you, means visiting vineyards and coming into contact with locals. Greek wines are one of the country’s best-kept secrets, with wineries all over the country. The terrain (mountains and clay or limestone soil) and climate have a lot to do with it, but the secret ingredient is often the meraki (love is the closest translation) that local producers put into their work – and the fact that they were making wine in Greece thousands of years ago. Santorini, Halkidiki, Heraklion (in Crete), Nemea (in the Peloponnese), Limnos and so many other destinations around Greece have thriving vineyards. 

Our Greek Food & Drink Guide takes you on vineyard tours and introduces you to local grape varieties such as Assyrtiko, Malagouzia, Moschofilero, Roditis and – the Rolls-Royce of Greek reds – Agiorgitiko, pairing them with the local cultural highlights for a complete experience. 

And we take you into the mastic fields of Chios (where the main ingredient for mastiha liqueur is harvested) and into rakokazana in Crete (where tsikoudia/raki – or tsipouro as it’s known elsewhere in Greece, is distilled) and explain how to drink ouzo like a Greek. (And, yes, we answer that all-important question about why ouzo turns milky when you add water).

If all that sounds appetising, you’re in the right place. Kali orexi (or bon appetit)… it’s time to tuck in. 

Read More Read Less

Elaiolado: The extra-virgin olive oil that crowns a Greek salad
Kalamarakia - Athens Riviera
Kalamarakia: A fried squid meze best enjoyed by the sea
Ask any local and they’ll tell you Crete is the undisputed No1 foodie destination in Greece
Katsiki Tsigariasto : Goat gently cooked in olive oil, until tender and delicious
Kagianas: Scrambled eggs with tomato, cured pork and local cheese

Culinary highlights of Greek destinations

Turn food & drink into an experience wherever you are in Greece

Your culinary journey across Greece

A taste of what’s inspired you most about Greek food & drink

A complete guide to Greek food & drink (21)

Our full menu of culinary experiences and local product-sampling
Honey tasting in Halkidiki

A food & drink tour of Halkidiki

You’ll already know all about Halkidiki’s exotic beaches and pine-tree studded coastline, as well as...
Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, in the southwest Peloponnese, through its most famous product… luscious,...
Thassos’ marble sculpting tradition dates to the 7th century BC

Culture guide to Thassos: Traditional crafts and local products

Put the beach on hold during your holidays in Thassos and discover the island’s incredible...

The best food & drink experiences in Rethymno

Discovering the food & drink of Rethymno includes visits to a raki distillery and an...
Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

A tour of the dairies and farms of Mykonos

Visiting the dairies and farms of Mykonos is like looking behind a curtain of whitewashed...
Greek breakfasts celebrate everything we know and love about Mediterranean cuisine

The Greek breakfast experience

Discover everything that makes a traditional Greek breakfast extra-special: Homely pies, Greek yogurt with honey,...
LOAD MORE

Foodie Destinations

The Acropolis hill in Athens

Athens

An ancient city with a modern soul
Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

Peloponnese

A timeless journey to the mythical south
The White Tower of Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki

The big-hearted city of the northern Greece