There are plenty of wineries to choose from, in the foothills of the White Mountains and around the Apokoronas villages
EXPERIENCE

Un parcours culinaire à La Canée

Vignobles, pressoirs à olives et cours de cuisine... À La Canée, tout devient une expérience gastronomique. Goûtez-y et découvrez l’âme de la Crète!
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
2 - 3 Jours
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Probablement avez-vous déjà entendu parler de la nourriture et du vin de l’île. Riche en éléments sains, l’alimentation crétoise est généralement considérée comme le régime méditerranéen original, source de la vivacité de ses habitants. Lors d'un séjour à  La Canée, consacrez une journée à cette richesse extraordinaire de la région – une expérience aussi gratifiante que la découverte de ses plages, de sa culture, de ses gorges et de ses montagnes.


Les oliviers qui couvrent l’horizon de feuilles vert et argent, les vignobles vallonnés et les vins parfumés qu'ils produisent, le filet doré de l’huile d’olive sur des tomates rouge vif, l’odeur du thym de montagne et de l’origan... Tout ce que vous découvrirez dans ce paysage incroyable fait partie de l’héritage culturel de l’île. 

De même, chaque expérience culinaire à La Canée est une fenêtre sur l’âme de la Crète - qu’il s’agisse d’un cours de cuisine (avec le sourire et les anecdotes du professeur pour meilleurs ingrédients), de la découverte d’un vignoble avec dégustation de vin, ou de la visite d’un pressoir à olives traditionnel. Chaque village possède ses producteurs de fromage et ses apiculteurs. Vous découvrirez avec plaisir la variété déconcertante de légumes-feuilles, de légumes secs et de légumes frais qui accompagnent tant de plats - tsigariasto, boureki, kalitsounia, pilafi, dakos -, ainsi que toutes sortes de délicieux produits laitiers et de viandes grillées. Aussi, quoi que vous fassiez, n’oubliez pas d’aiguiser votre appétit.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Votre séjour à La Canée constituera un voyage culinaire en soi, mais trois expériences en valent particulièrement la peine:

La visite d'un vignoble

On produit du vin en Crète depuis 4000 ans et l’île possède plus de 10 cépages indigènes. Aussi, les moments que vous passerez à La Canée ne seront-ils pas complets sans la visite d'un vignoble. Il en existe un grand nombre, dans les contreforts des montagnes Blanches et autour des villages d’Apokoronas, où vous découvrirez les cépages mantilari et vilana (respectivement les rouge et blanc les plus abondants de l’île). Une dégustation de vins constitue par ailleurs une belle occasion de découvrir certains fromages crétois (graviera jaune épicée, anthotiro et myzithra d'un blanc crémeux). Une touche finale sur le thème du vin: vous pouvez visiter un rakokazano (une distillerie de raki), qui utilise les raisins de fin de saison pour produire la célèbre eau-de-vie crétoise.

La visite d'un pressoir à olives

L’huile d’olive, reine de la cuisine en Crète... Oui, mais à condition qu’elle soit crétoise. Dorée et poivrée, mais douce sur le palais en même temps, elle figure dans tous les plats que vous goûterez à La Canée. De même, la vue sur les oliveraies accompagnera chacun de vos trajets hors de la ville. Vous pouvez visiter des pressoirs à olives dans les villages de montagne et aux alentours. Certains continuent d'utiliser des moulins en pierre traditionnels, tandis que d’autres combinent des techniques anciennes et modernes pour produire une excellente huile d’olive vierge extra. Pensez à en acheter une ou deux bouteilles à emporter chez vous. 

Un cours de cuisine

Sur une île autosuffisante en matière de produits naturels, manger « de la ferme à l’assiette » relève moins du mouvement culinaire que d’un mode de vie. Dès lors, rien de tel qu’une leçon de cuisine pour vous familiariser avec les fromages artisanaux locaux et les autres produits tels que le miel, la charcuterie, les légumes-feuilles et les légumes secs. Peut-être même apprendrez-vous à fumer la viande comme on le fait sur l’île. Avez-vous déjà préparé un repas dont tous les ingrédients étaient produits sur place et de manière durable? 

Avec un peu de chance, vous pourrez en cueillir quelques-uns dans un potager avant d’apprendre à préparer un repas crétois à cinq services, arrosé de bière ou de vin local et d'une bonne dose de rire. Cela modifiera votre manière de cuisiner. De retour chez vous, vous serez devenu un véritable chef cuisinier crétois et vous pourrez réitérer l’expérience plus d'une fois. 

Lire la suite Read Less
Done
Done
Done
Done
THALASSABE-photo-0 Offre
Accommodation

Thalassa Beach Resort Chania

Chania

Thalassa Beach Resort & Spa lies in front of one of the most beautiful beaches of Chania, on the island of Crete, with breathtaking view...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Elia Potie

Chania

Centrally located in the charming Old Town of Chania, Elia Potie Studios features elegant accommodation with free WiFi. A variet...

Official online rates

Il existe à La Canée de nombreuses possibilités de vignobles et de pressoirs à olives à visiter, ainsi que plusieurs cours de cuisine. En voici quelques-uns qui vous plairont:

  • La plupart des adresses où vivre de belles expériences culinaires sont ouvertes toute l’année. 
  • Téléphonez ou vérifiez qu'un endroit est ouvert avant de vous y rendre, car vous ne pourrez accéder à certains que sur demande, en particulier au cours des saisons les plus calmes de l’année.
  • Il vaut également la peine de visiter les lieux à la période des récoltes (en septembre pour le raisin, en novembre pour les olives) ou au printemps, quand on presse le raisin et que les vignes sont en fleurs. 

Le printemps et l’automne à La Canée permettent de profiter de toutes les activités en plein air de la région (y compris des leçons de cuisine), avec un temps plus frais et moins de monde. 

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • Il vous faudra 2 ou 3 jours pour profiter de toutes les expériences que nous vous proposons.
  • La visite d'un domaine viticole vous prendra 2-3 heures, selon ce que vous choisirez d'y faire.
  • Pour la découverte d'un pressoir à olives, suivie d'un repas composé de produits locaux, prévoyez environ 4 heures.
  • Un cours de cuisine dure à peu près 4 heures, en comptant le repas. 

See also

You might be interested in
Containing 450 species of plant and animal life, the Samaria Gorge is a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve

Randonnée dans les spectaculaires gorges de Samaria à la Canée

Strolling around Douliana village charming alleyways

Faites le tour des villages à la Canée à son plus authentique

The magical blend of blues you’re presented with as you approach Balos from above

Succombez au charme de la plage de Balos en Crète

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

Le paysage magique de la plage crétoise Elafonisi

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set.

Les meilleurs restaurants et endroits pour sortir le soir à Mykonos

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

A la découverte des routes de vin à Thessalonique

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

Le meilleur de la légendaire ambiance nocturne de Thessalonique

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Découvrez les spécialités de Corfou

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Découvrez les racines de Mykonos par l'agrotourisme

There are plenty of wineries to choose from, in the foothills of the White Mountains and around the Apokoronas villages
EXPERIENCE

An unforgettable food tour of Chania in Crete

With tours of vineyards and olive presses and a cookery lesson using delicious local products, a food tour of Chania reveals why Crete is the birthplace of the Mediterranean diet
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 3 days
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

An unforgettable food tour of Chania

You’ll have heard about the food and wine of Crete. Rich in everything healthy and wholesome, it’s widely considered the original Mediterranean diet and the very essence of its famously spirited people. So dedicating a day to a food tour of Chania is just as rewarding as discovering the region’s famous beaches, culture, and mountains and gorges. 

The way the olive groves blanket the landscape with green and silver leaves, the gently rolling vineyards and aromatic wines they produce, the golden drizzle of olive oil over blush-red tomatoes and the scent of mountain thyme and oregano… everything you experience in the countryside of Chania is part of its intangible cultural heritage. 

Just as every culinary experience in Crete is a window into the island’s soul… whether it’s a cookery lesson (where the key ingredients are the smile and stories of your teacher), wine-tasting and a vineyard tour, or a visit to a traditional olive oil press. Every village in Chania will have its cheese producers and apiaries and you’ll adore being introduced to a bewildering variety of greens, pulses and fresh vegetables that accompany so many dishes – tsigariasto, boureki, kalitsounia, pilafi, dakos – as well as all sorts of delicious dairy products and grilled meat. So whatever you do on your holiday in Chania, don’t forget to bring your appetite.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

A food tour of Chania

Your entire holiday in Chania will be a culinary journey, but three experiences stand out:

A tour of a vineyard and wine-tasting

They’ve been making wine in Crete for 4,000 years and the island boasts more than 10 indigenous grape varieties. So no time spent in Chania is complete without visiting a vineyard. There are plenty to choose from, from the foothills of the White Mountains to the Apokoronas villages, where you’ll be introduced to mantilari and vilana (Crete’s most prolific red and white grape respectively). Wine-tasting is also a great way to discover Cretan cheeses (yellow, piquant graviera and smooth-white myzithra and anthotiro). And for a final twist on the wine theme, you can also visit a rakokazano (raki distillery) where end-of-season grapes are turned into the local firewater.

Visiting an olive press and olive oil tasting

It isn’t just that olive oil is king when it comes to cooking in Crete… it’s that Cretan olive oil is king. Golden and peppery, but at the same time smooth on the palate, olive oil will feature in almost every meal you’ll enjoy in Chania. Just as the sight of olive groves will accompany every journey outside Chania town. There are olive presses you can visit in and around mountain villages that still use stone mills and others that combine traditional and modern techniques to produce amazing extra-virgin olive oil. Just don’t forget to buy a bottle or two to take home with you. 

A cookery class with a local

On an island that’s self-sufficient in natural produce, farm to fork isn’t so much a culinary movement as a way of life. So there’s no better way than with a cookery lesson to get to know Crete’s cheeses and natural products like honey, cured meats, greens and pulses. You could even learn how to smoke meat Cretan-style. 

And when have you ever made a meal where all your ingredients were locally and sustainably sourced? 

If you’re lucky, your food tour in Chania will include picking some ingredients from a vegetable patch before cooking a five-course Cretan meal – washed down with local wine or beer and a lot of laughter. It will turn you into a Cretan Master Chef when you’re home. 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
CHANIAINN-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Chania Inn

Chania

Perfectly situated in the heart of the Venetian harbour.

Official online rates

What are the best places to visit on a Chania food tour?

There are plenty of options for vineyards, olive presses and cookery lessons in Chania, but here are a few favourites (all distances from Chania town):

What is the best time for a food tour of Chania? 

  • Most local businesses offering excellent culinary experiences are open all year round
  • Make sure to call or be certain they are open before visiting as some only open upon request, especially at quieter times of the year.
  • It’s worth visiting at harvest-time (September for grapes, November for olives) or during spring when the grapes are pressed and vineyards are in bloom. 

Spring and autumn are very special times in Chania when you can enjoy all the region’s outdoor activities (including cookery lessons) with cooler weather and fewer people. 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long does a food tours of Chania last? 

It depends on whether you dedicate a day to the experience, or spread your food & wine tour over your entire holiday.

  • Visiting a winery will last 2-3 hours, depending on which experiences you choose.
  • A tour of an olive press, accompanied by a meal with local products, lasts around 4 hours.
  • A cooking class usually lasts around 4 hours, including time to enjoy your meal. 
  • To enjoy all the culinary experiences described here, you will need 2-3 days.

See also

You might be interested in
Containing 450 species of plant and animal life, the Samaria Gorge is a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve

Hiking the spectacular Samaria Gorge in Chania

Strolling around Douliana village charming alleyways

Fill up on Cretan authenticity in the villages of Chania

The magical blend of blues you’re presented with as you approach Balos from above

Prepare to be mesmerised at Crete's Balos beach

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

The dreamscape of Crete’s Elafonisi beach

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set.

The best Mykonos nightlife and dining spots

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

A food and culture tour of Corfu island

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

A tour of the dairies and farms of Mykonos