There are plenty of wineries to choose from, in the foothills of the White Mountains and around the Apokoronas villages
EXPERIENCE

Eine kulinarische Tour durch Chania

Weinberge, Olivenpressen und Kochkurse… Wohin Sie auch in Chania blicken, finden Sie ein Gastronomie-Erlebnis und, sobald Sie alles probiert haben, werden Sie die eigentliche Seele Kretas entdeckt haben
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
2 - 3 stunden
Nach Jahreszeit
All year round

OVERVIEW

Kretas Küche und Wein dürften Ihnen schon ein Begriff sein. Reich an gesundheitsfördernder und vollwertiger Ernährung: Die Küche von Kreta gilt häufig als die originelle Mittelmeer-Diät und das eigentliche Wesen der bekanntlich temperamentvollen Einheimischen. Wenn Sie sich also in Chania, befinden, wird Sie ein ganzer Tag von hervorragender kulinarischer Tradition genauso viel belohnen, wie das Erkunden von Stränden, Kultur, Bergen und Schluchten. 

Die Olivenhaine, die den Horizont mit grünsilbrigen Blättern bedecken, die sanft hügeligen Weinberge und die aromatischen Weinsorten, die hier hergestellt werden, der Olivenöl-Faden über den feuerroten Tomaten und der Duft von Bergthymian und Oregano… Alles, was Sie in der kulinarischen Landschaft Kretas erleben, gehört mit zum immateriellen Kulturerbe der Insel. 

Alle kulinarischen Erlebnisse in Chania öffnen ein Fenster zur Seele Kretas – sei es ein Kochkurs (wobei die Schlüsselzutaten das Lächeln und die Witze Ihrer Lehrerin oder Ihres Lehrers sein werden), eine Weinverkostung und eine Weinbergtour, oder ein Besuch in einer traditionellen Olivenpresse. Jedes Dorf hat seine eigenen Käsehersteller und Bienengärten, und Sie werden die Bekanntschaft mit einer verwirrenden Vielfalt an Grüngemüse, Hülsenfrüchten und frischem Gemüse – die so viele Gerichte begleitet, wie Tsigariasto, Boureki, Kalitsounia, Pilafi, Dakos  – genießen, aber auch mit allen möglichen leckeren Milcherzeugnissen und gegrilltem Fleisch. Also egal, was Sie alles machen möchten: Vergessen Sie nicht, Ihren Appetit mitzubringen! 

Weiterlesen Read Less

DON'T MISS

Ihr ganzer Urlaub in Chania wird sowieso eine kulinarische Reise sein, doch drei Erlebnisse heben sich hier heraus:

Eine Weinbergtour

Wein wird auf Kreta seit 4.000 Jahren hergestellt, und die Insel hat mehr als 10 einheimische Rebsorten vorzuweisen. Ohne einen Besuch in einem Weinberg ist daher kein Urlaub in Chania vollständig. Es gibt eine große Auswahl, in den Vorgebirgen der Weißen Berge und um die Apokoronas Dörfer herum, wo Sie Mantilari und Vilana (die fruchtbarsten roten und weißen Rebsorten Kretas) kennenlernen werden.  Weinverkostungen sind auch ein ausgezeichneter Weg, um in einige Käsesorten Kretas eingeführt zu werden (zum gelben, pikanten Graviera und zu den weißen Weichkäsen Myzithra und Anthotiro). Und, als letzte, überraschende Wendung in Sachen “Wein”, können Sie auch ein Rakokazano (Raki-Brennerei) besuchen, wo die Weintrauben vom Saisonende zum berühmten Branntwein Kretas werden.

Besuch in einer Olivenpresse

Olivenöl ist einfach über alles auf Kreta, was die Küche betrifft… Aber nicht irgendein beliebiges Olivenöl, sondern das kretische Olivenöl. Golden und pfefferig, und jedoch gleichzeitig sanft im Gaumen, das Olivenöl ist in fast jedem Gericht enthalten, das Sie in Chania genießen werden. Und das gilt auch für den Anblick von Olivenhainen, der Sie auf jedem Ausflug in der Umgebung von Chania begleiten wird. Sie können Olivenpressen in Bergdörfern und deren Umfeld besuchen, in denen traditionelle Steinmühlen immer noch benutzt werden, aber es gibt auch andere, die althergebrachte und modernen Methoden kombinieren, um hervorragendes natives Olivenöl extra herzustellen. Vergessen Sie also keineswegs, eine Flasche oder zwei zu kaufen, um mit nach Hause zu nehmen. 

Ein Kochkurs

Auf einer eigenständigen Insel ist das Konzept “vom Bauernhof zum Teller” eigentlich keine kulinarische Bewegung, sondern Lebensweise überhaupt. Es gibt kaum einen besseren Weg, sich mit den einheimisch hergestellten Käsesorten und anderen Erzeugnissen, wie Honig, geräuchertem Fleisch, Gemüse und Hülsenfrüchten näher kennenzulernen, als einen Kochkurs zu besuchen. Sie könnten sogar lernen, Fleisch wie ein Einheimischer zu räuchern. Und wann war eigentlich das letzte Mal, dass Sie gekocht haben und alle Ihre Zutaten lokal und nachhaltig produziert worden waren? 

Mit etwas Glück werden Sie sogar etwas aus einem Gemüsebeet ernten, bevor Sie ein Fünf-Gänge-Menü zubereiten lernen – am besten zu einem lokal hergestellten Wein oder Bier, und eine Menge Lachen. So etwas wird Ihre Kochweise durchaus ändern und Sie zu einem Master-Chef aus Kreta verwandeln, was Sie auch zu Hause immer wieder erleben werden können. 

Weiterlesen Read Less
Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

SanSal Boutique Hotel

Chania – Samaria gorge

SanSal is a new boutique hotel located in Chania, a spectacular location on the northwest coast of the island of Crete. Mod...

Official online rates

ARCHONTIKI-photo-0 Angebot
Accommodation

Archontiki Hotel Chania

Chania – Samaria gorge

Archontiki City Hotel is a new, family-run hotel, located right at the heart of the city of Chania. The hotel first opened in Ju...

Official online rates

Es gibt zahlreiche Optionen, um Weinberge, Olivenpressen und Kochkurse in Chania zu besuchen, aber hier finden Sie einige, die Sie belohnen werden:

  • Die meisten Unternehmen hier bieten das ganze Jahr über hervorragende kulinarische Erlebnisse an. 
  • Nehmen Sie lieber im Voraus mit ihnen Kontakt, um sicherzustellen, dass sie geöffnet sind, da einige, insbesondere zu ruhigeren Jahreszeiten, nur auf Anfrage öffnen. 
  • Es lohnt sich auch, Ihren Besuch in der Erntesaison zu planen (September für Weintrauben, November für Oliven), oder die Gegend im Frühling zu besuchen, wenn die Trauben gepresst werden und die Weinberge in voller Blüte stehen. 

Frühling und Herbst sind ganz besondere Jahreszeiten in Chania, und Sie können alle Outdoor-Aktivitäten der Region (auch Kochkurse unter anderem) zu angenehmeren Wetterbedingungen und mit weniger Leuten genießen. 

  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter
  • Um alle hier beschriebenen Erlebnisse zu genießen, brauchen Sie 2-3 Tage.
  • Ein Besuch in einem Weingut dauert 2-3 Stunden, je nachdem, für welche Erlebnisse Sie sich entscheiden.
  • Eine Olivenpresse-Tour, zusammen mit einer Mahlzeit mit lokal hergestellten Produkten, dauert etwa 4 Stunden.
  • Ein Kochkurs dauert normalerweise um die 4 Stunden, einschließlich der Zeit, um Ihre Mahlzeit zu genießen. 
Strolling around Douliana village charming alleyways

Village hopping durch Chania von seiner authentischsten Seite

Containing 450 species of plant and animal life, the Samaria Gorge is a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve

Wandern in der spektakulären Samaria-Schlucht in Chania

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

Die Traumlandschaft des Elafonisi Strandes auf Kreta

The magical blend of blues you’re presented with as you approach Balos from above

Lassen Sie sich am Balos Strand auf Kreta verzaubern

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set.

Das Beste aus der Gourmet- und Nachtleben-Szene von Mykonos

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Erkunden Sie die Weinstraßen von Thessaloniki

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

Das Allerbeste von Thessalonikis legendärer Nightlife-Szene

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Genießen Sie eine kulinarische Tour durch Korfu

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Entdecken Sie die Wurzeln von Mykonos auf einer Agrotourismus-Tour

There are plenty of wineries to choose from, in the foothills of the White Mountains and around the Apokoronas villages
EXPERIENCE

An unforgettable food tour of Chania in Crete

With tours of vineyards and olive presses and a cookery lesson using delicious local products, a food tour of Chania reveals why Crete is the birthplace of the Mediterranean diet
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 3 days
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

An unforgettable food tour of Chania

You’ll have heard about the food and wine of Crete. Rich in everything healthy and wholesome, it’s widely considered the original Mediterranean diet and the very essence of its famously spirited people. So dedicating a day to a food tour of Chania is just as rewarding as discovering the region’s famous beaches, culture, and mountains and gorges. 

The way the olive groves blanket the landscape with green and silver leaves, the gently rolling vineyards and aromatic wines they produce, the golden drizzle of olive oil over blush-red tomatoes and the scent of mountain thyme and oregano… everything you experience in the countryside of Chania is part of its intangible cultural heritage. 

Just as every culinary experience in Crete is a window into the island’s soul… whether it’s a cookery lesson (where the key ingredients are the smile and stories of your teacher), wine-tasting and a vineyard tour, or a visit to a traditional olive oil press. Every village in Chania will have its cheese producers and apiaries and you’ll adore being introduced to a bewildering variety of greens, pulses and fresh vegetables that accompany so many dishes – tsigariasto, boureki, kalitsounia, pilafi, dakos – as well as all sorts of delicious dairy products and grilled meat. So whatever you do on your holiday in Chania, don’t forget to bring your appetite.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

A food tour of Chania

Your entire holiday in Chania will be a culinary journey, but three experiences stand out:

A tour of a vineyard and wine-tasting

They’ve been making wine in Crete for 4,000 years and the island boasts more than 10 indigenous grape varieties. So no time spent in Chania is complete without visiting a vineyard. There are plenty to choose from, from the foothills of the White Mountains to the Apokoronas villages, where you’ll be introduced to mantilari and vilana (Crete’s most prolific red and white grape respectively). Wine-tasting is also a great way to discover Cretan cheeses (yellow, piquant graviera and smooth-white myzithra and anthotiro). And for a final twist on the wine theme, you can also visit a rakokazano (raki distillery) where end-of-season grapes are turned into the local firewater.

Visiting an olive press and olive oil tasting

It isn’t just that olive oil is king when it comes to cooking in Crete… it’s that Cretan olive oil is king. Golden and peppery, but at the same time smooth on the palate, olive oil will feature in almost every meal you’ll enjoy in Chania. Just as the sight of olive groves will accompany every journey outside Chania town. There are olive presses you can visit in and around mountain villages that still use stone mills and others that combine traditional and modern techniques to produce amazing extra-virgin olive oil. Just don’t forget to buy a bottle or two to take home with you. 

A cookery class with a local

On an island that’s self-sufficient in natural produce, farm to fork isn’t so much a culinary movement as a way of life. So there’s no better way than with a cookery lesson to get to know Crete’s cheeses and natural products like honey, cured meats, greens and pulses. You could even learn how to smoke meat Cretan-style. 

And when have you ever made a meal where all your ingredients were locally and sustainably sourced? 

If you’re lucky, your food tour in Chania will include picking some ingredients from a vegetable patch before cooking a five-course Cretan meal – washed down with local wine or beer and a lot of laughter. It will turn you into a Cretan Master Chef when you’re home. 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
CHANIAINN-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Chania Inn

Chania

Perfectly situated in the heart of the Venetian harbour.

Official online rates

What are the best places to visit on a Chania food tour?

There are plenty of options for vineyards, olive presses and cookery lessons in Chania, but here are a few favourites (all distances from Chania town):

What is the best time for a food tour of Chania? 

  • Most local businesses offering excellent culinary experiences are open all year round
  • Make sure to call or be certain they are open before visiting as some only open upon request, especially at quieter times of the year.
  • It’s worth visiting at harvest-time (September for grapes, November for olives) or during spring when the grapes are pressed and vineyards are in bloom. 

Spring and autumn are very special times in Chania when you can enjoy all the region’s outdoor activities (including cookery lessons) with cooler weather and fewer people. 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How long does a food tours of Chania last? 

It depends on whether you dedicate a day to the experience, or spread your food & wine tour over your entire holiday.

  • Visiting a winery will last 2-3 hours, depending on which experiences you choose.
  • A tour of an olive press, accompanied by a meal with local products, lasts around 4 hours.
  • A cooking class usually lasts around 4 hours, including time to enjoy your meal. 
  • To enjoy all the culinary experiences described here, you will need 2-3 days.

See also

You might be interested in
Containing 450 species of plant and animal life, the Samaria Gorge is a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve

Hiking the spectacular Samaria Gorge in Chania

Strolling around Douliana village charming alleyways

Fill up on Cretan authenticity in the villages of Chania

The magical blend of blues you’re presented with as you approach Balos from above

Prepare to be mesmerised at Crete's Balos beach

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

The dreamscape of Crete’s Elafonisi beach

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set.

The best Mykonos nightlife and dining spots

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

A food and culture tour of Corfu island

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

A tour of the dairies and farms of Mykonos