Nemea viniculture and winemaking has centuries-long tradition
EXPERIENCE

Explorez les routes des vins de Némée

Dans des vignobles d'autant plus magiques pour les paysages incroyables du Péloponnèse, profitez d'une tradition viticole qui donne l'impression d'avoir été offerte par les dieux.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
4-5 jours or 2-3 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Lorsque le dieu Dionysos a partagé avec Oeneus le secret de la viticulture et l'a exhorté à multiplier les vignes du monde, il se pourrait bien que la vallée de Némée soit l'endroit où il lui a demandé de porter une attention particulière. Le terrain légèrement ondulé de Némée, dans le nord-ouest du Péloponnèse, n'est pas seulement beau à l'œil. Il se trouve qu'il abrite l'un des cépages les plus célèbres de Grèce et sa plus grande zone d'Appellation d'Origine Protégée.

Dans un cadre d'oliviers et de cyprès, les vignobles à flanc de coteau produisent avec succès de nombreux cépages éminents d'Europe (Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah…). Mais c'est le raisin Agiorgitiko aromatique pour lequel Némée a développé à juste titre une renommée internationale et qui fait les amateurs de vin ronronner d'excitation.

Il y a beaucoup de caves à visiter, chacune offrant sa propre expérience. Vous pouvez vous attendre à des visites de vignobles et de caves et à des dégustations de vins accompagnées de produits locaux. Et lorsque vous avez terminé, n'oubliez pas d'acheter une ou deux bouteilles d'Agiorgitiko épicé et corsé ... afin que vous puissiez, vous aussi, continuer le travail d'Oeneus lorsque vous êtes chez vous et aider à passer le mot. 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Là où il y a de la culture, il y a du vin… et vice versa. Alors, pendant que vous visitez les vignobles, assurez-vous d'explorer d'autres points forts du Péloponnèse.

Némée antique et Musée

Datant du 6ème siècle av. J.-C., ce site archéologique est l'endroit où les Jeux Néméens (l'un des quatre Jeux panhelléniques de la Grèce antique) ont été organisés. Le stade est antérieur à celui de l'ancienne Olympie, la différence étant qu'à ces Jeux, les vainqueurs recevaient une couronne de feuilles de céleri sauvage, pas de feuilles d'olivier). Le musée présente des expositions du sanctuaire de Zeus, à qui le site est dédié, et d'autres objets de cette région.

Corinthe antique et le Château de l'Acrocorinthe

Près du canal qui sépare désormais le Péloponnèse du reste du continent, la Corinthe antique date du 10ème siècle av. J.-C. À sa hauteur, elle rivalisait facilement en termes de richesse et de renommée avec Athènes et Thèbes, et son acropole fortifiée (l'Acrocorinthe), à 1 km au sud et dédiée à Aphrodite, était considérée comme l'une des plus spectaculaires de l'Antiquité. Les tours que vous pouvez explorer aujourd'hui sont pour la plupart des temps francs et vénitiens.

Lac Stymphalia & Musée de l'Environnement

Situé sur un plateau montagneux à une altitude de 600 mètres, le lac Stymphalia fait partie du Réseau Natura 2000 de biotopes européens protégés. C’est un merveilleux site d’observation des oiseaux, avec 170 espèces recensées qui passent par là ou y résident. Sur les pentes de l'une des collines environnantes, où (selon la mythologie) Hercule a tué les oiseaux stymphaliens, le musée de l’environnement vise à explorer l'équilibre possible entre l'homme et la nature.

Lire la suite Read Less

Il y a de nombreux vignobles à Némée (et dans la zone plus large de Corinthe), il est donc préférable de planifier votre voyage. Les instructions pour une sélection de caves sont données ci-dessous.

Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur les caves ici.

D'Athènes

  • De nombreux caves de Némée sont ouverts aux visiteurs toute l'année (certains sur demande).
  • La meilleure expérience est de visiter en avril-mai, lorsque les vignobles s'animent et que le temps est souvent idéal pour la marche et les pique-niques. Ou de la mi-août à septembre pendant la période de récolte.
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • La visite de toutes les caves mentionnées prend 4-5 jours (y compris les bonus culturels).
  • L'expérience dans chaque cave, y compris la dégustation de vin et la visite du vignoble et de la cave, prendra 2-3 heures. Cela vaut la peine de contacter chaque cave avant de visiter.

See also

You might be interested in
Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Découvrez les spécialités de Corfou

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Découvrez les racines de Mykonos par l'agrotourisme

Pyrgos, in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko

Découvrez les spécialités de Tinos

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Découvrez les routes du vin de Santorin

A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white

Vivre la tradition d’ouzo en Plomari

Nemea viniculture and winemaking has centuries-long tradition
EXPERIENCE

Exploring the wine routes of Nemea

At vineyards that are all the more magical for the incredible scenery of the Peloponnese, enjoy a wine-growing tradition that feels like it was gifted by the gods.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
4-5 days or 2-3 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

When the god Dionysus shared with Oeneus the secret of viniculture and urged him to go forth and multiply the vines of the world, it could well be that the Valley of Nemea is where he asked him to pay special attention. The gently undulating terrain of Nemea, in the northwest Peloponnese, isn’t just beautiful on the eye. It happens to be home to one of Greece’s most celebrated grape varieties and its largest Protected Designation of Origin zone. 

In a setting of olive groves and cypress trees, the hillside vineyards successfully produce many of Europe’s leading grape varieties (Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah…). But it is the aromatic Agiorgitiko grape for which Nemea has rightly developed international renown and that gets oenophiles purring with excitement. 

There are plenty of wineries to visit, each offering its own experience. You can look forward to tours of vineyards and cellars and wine-tasting accompanied by local products. And when you’re done, don’t forget to buy a bottle or two of spicy, full-bodied Agiorgitiko … so you, too, can continue Oeneus’ work when you’re home and help spread the word. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Where there’s culture, there’s wine … and vice versa. So while you’re visiting the vineyards, make sure you explore other highlights of the Peloponnese. 

Ancient Nemea & Museum

Dating from the 6th century BC, this archaeological site is where the Nemean Games (one of the four Panhellenic Games of Ancient Greece) were staged. The stadium predates the one in Ancient Olympia, with the difference being that at these Games, the winners received a wreath of wild celery leaves, not olive leaves). The museum holds exhibits from the Sanctuary of Zeus, to whom the site is dedicated, and other artefacts from here and the wider region. 
 

Ancient Corinth & the Acrocorinth Castle

Close to the canal that now divides the Peloponnese from the rest of the mainland, Ancient Corinth dates to the 10th century BC. At its height, it easily competed in terms of wealth and fame with Athens and Thebes, and its fortified acropolis (the Acrocorinth), 1km to the south and dedicated to Aphrodite, was considered one of the most spectacular of antiquity. The towers you can explore today are mostly from Frankish and Venetian times. 

Lake Stymphalia & the Environment Museum 

Situated in a mountainous plateau at an altitude of 600m, Lake Stymphalia is part of the Natura 2000 network of protected European biotopes. It’s a wonderful birdwatching site, with 170 recorded species either passing through or residing here. On the slopes of one of the surrounding hills, where (according to mythology) Hercules slew the Stymphalian birds, the Environment Museum aims to explore the balance possible between man and nature. 

Read More Read Less

There are many wineries in Nemea (and the wider Corinth area), so it’s best to plan your trip.
Directions to a selection of wineries are given below.

You can find more information on wineries here

From Athens

  • Many of the wineries of Nemea are open to visitors all year round (some upon request). 
  • The best experience is to visit during April-May, when the vineyards come to life and the weather is often ideal for walking and picnics. Or from mid-August to September during the harvest period. 
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • To visit all the wineries mentioned takes 4-5 days (including the cultural bonuses).
  • The experience at each winery, including wine tasting and touring the vineyard and cellar, will take 2-3 hours. It’s worth contacting each winery before visiting.

See also

You might be interested in
Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Tap into the deep-rooted wine culture of Limnos

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Sampling the wine routes of Santorini

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

Following the olive route in Messinia