Thassos’ marble sculpting tradition dates to the 7th century BC
COVER STORY

Kulturreiseführer für Thassos: Traditionelles Handwerk und lokale Produkte

If there’s one material for which Thassos is known internationally, it’s marble
READING TIME
Solange es dauert, um einen griechischen Kaffee zu trinken

Es gibt so viele Gründe, sich in Thassos zu verlieben. Das türkisfarbene Wasser und die exotischen Strände sind genau das Richtige für einen Traumurlaub auf einer griechischen Insel ... aber auch die Bergdörfer und die grüne Landschaft im bergigen Landesinneren. Und wenn du die nördlichste Insel Griechenlands (nur eine kurze Autofahrt und Fährüberfahrt von Kavala entfernt) wirklich kennenlernen willst, dann ist es an der Zeit, dass du die lokalen Produkte und das traditionelle Handwerk von Thassos kennenlernst. Du lernst die Menschen kennen, die hinter dem Handwerk stehen, und kannst so eine noch engere Verbindung zur Insel aufbauen. Töpfern, Weben, Marmorieren, Olivenöl und Honig ... ihre Geheimnisse kennenzulernen, gehört zu den besten Dingen, die du während deines Urlaubs auf Thassos erleben kannst. 

KUNSTHANDWERK AUF THASSOS

Keramik und Töpferei

Es gibt so viele Spuren der Kreativität und des Könnens, die die antike griechische Welt mit der heutigen verbinden, und das erste Handwerk auf Thassos ist eines der häufigsten, aber oft vergessenen Beispiele. Keramik und Töpferwaren waren in der Antike ein wichtiger Bestandteil des täglichen Lebens. Tonkrüge, Vasen, Amphoren, Votivgaben (Geschenke für die Götter), Spielzeug und andere Gegenstände wurden dutzendweise an Ausgrabungsstätten auf der Insel gefunden.

Im Archäologischen Museum von Thassos in Limenas kannst du das anhand von Artefakten aus dem 7. vorchristlichen Jahrhundert sehen. Im Museum erfährst du, wie sich die Kunstwerke auf den antiken Töpferwaren entwickelt haben, von Streifen, Spiralen und Linien bis hin zu Darstellungen von Blumen, Blättern und Tieren und natürlich von Menschen in wichtigen Momenten wie Schlacht, Hochzeit, Geburt und Tod. 

Taking part in a traditional ceramics workshop in Thassos The workshop of Costis Chrisogelos in Limenas

Mit deinem neu erworbenen Wissen bist du bestens gerüstet, wenn du deine Reise durch das Kunsthandwerk auf Thassos fortsetzt - nur einen kurzen Spaziergang vom Hafen entfernt, in der Costis Pottery, der Werkstatt von Costis Chrisogelos (der von allen nur Kyrios Costis oder Mr. Costis genannt wird). Sein Laden ist einer der schönsten Flecken in Limenas und vielleicht triffst du ihn sogar an seiner fußbetriebenen Töpferscheibe - genau wie seinen Großvater im Jahr 1908, als er sich den Töpfern der Insel Sifnos anschloss und nach Thassos zog.

Damals waren etwa zwei Dutzend Menschen in der Werkstatt beschäftigt, die Erde herbeischafften, Ton herstellten, formten, glasierten, brannten und die Produkte (meist Gebrauchsgegenstände wie Brotschalen, Olivengläser und Teller) zum Export auf die Schiffe brachten. Die Produkte von heute sind mehr filigran und detailliert. Einige werden immer noch auf einer per Fußpedal angetriebenen Drehscheibe hergestellt, andere auf einem elektrischen Rad, aber alle werden mit der gleichen Liebe und Aufmerksamkeit wie früher glasiert und in einem Brennofen gebrannt. Kaufe dir als Erinnerung an dein neu erworbenes Wissen etwas (Tassen, Kerzenständer, Teller, Vasen usw. mit schönen Motiven). Und wenn du fertig bist, kannst du dich auf den 3,5 km langen Rundweg vom Alten Hafen aus begeben, der dich an der antiken Akropolis und dem Theater der Stadt, dem Athena-Tempel, dem Panas-Heiligtum und anderen Stätten vorbeiführt, und dir all die Keramikgegenstände vorstellen, die dort ausgegraben wurden.

The view from the Costis Pottery workshop in Thassos

Weben und Sticken

Ein weiteres antikes Handwerk, das über die Jahrhunderte hinweg mit dem Alltag verwoben war, ist das Weben. Die Göttin Athene (die Athen seinen Namen gab) galt als Schutzherrin und Lehrerin dieses Handwerks, während Ariadne (deren Faden Theseus half, aus den Fängen des im Labyrinth umherstreifenden Minotaurus zu entkommen) auf den Fresken von Knossos als Weberin für die Kostüme der minoischen Frauen abgebildet ist. Aber erst in der byzantinischen Zeit erlebte die Weberei einen richtigen Aufschwung, angefangen bei Bettwäsche und anderen Haushaltsgegenständen bis hin zu den prunkvollen Gewändern von Priestern und Kaisern. Vor allem aber wurde die Kunst des Webens von der Mutter an die Tochter weitergegeben, denn Stickereien waren ein wertvoller Bestandteil der Mitgift.

Embroidery was traditionally a skill passed from mother to daughter in Greece Weaving and embroidery craft in Thassos

Im Thasitiko Spiti (Thassianisches Haus) im Kalogeriko im Alten Hafen von Limenas kannst du alles über die lokale Webtradition erfahren. Das Kalogeriko ist ein hübsches zweistöckiges Gebäude aus dem 19. Jahrhundert im Alten Hafen, dessen zweite Etage in ein Folkloremuseum umgewandelt wurde, in dem mehr als 50 Familien ihre Trachten und andere Gegenstände des täglichen Lebens ausstellen (Taschen, Handtücher zum Abdecken von Teig, Bett- und Sofabezüge und Decken). 

Das Museum stellt ein traditionelles Haus auf Thassos nach, mit Schlafzimmer, Küche und Wohnzimmer und bestickten Gegenständen in jedem Raum. Die leuchtenden Farben (Grün-, Rot- und Gelbtöne) der Stickereien, die auf einem fußbetriebenen Webstuhl aus Baumwolle oder Wolle hergestellt werden, werden dich beeindrucken. Schau dir an, wie sich die strengen geometrischen Muster (Sterne, Rauten usw.) zu mehr komplizierten Mustern (Blumen, Schmetterlinge usw.) entwickeln. 

The Thasitiko Spiti museum in Thassos’ Old Harbour recreates a 19th-century Thassian house You can learn all about the local weaving tradition at the Thasitiko Spiti

Marmorabbau und Kunstwerke 

Wenn es ein Material gibt, für das Thassos international bekannt ist, dann ist es Marmor. Der thassosische Marmor ist bekannt für seine schneeweiße Farbe und seine Reinheit, die nahezu durchsichtig wirkt. Heute sind etwa 10 Marmorbrüche in Betrieb, was erstaunlich ist, wenn man bedenkt, dass in der Nähe der Dörfer Limenaria und Maries bereits in prähistorischer Zeit Marmor abgebaut wurde und Thassos damit eine der ältesten Marmorabbaustätten Europas ist. 

Hoop earrings made by Thassian Marble

Thassian marble is marvelled for its snow-white colour and purity Thassian marble is marvelled for its snow-white colour and purity

Die Blütezeit des Bergbaus auf Thassos war im 7. und 6. Jahrhundert v. Chr., als Siedler aus Paros (einer anderen Insel mit einer reichen Marmorgeschichte) kamen, um die natürlichen Ressourcen von Thassos (einschließlich Gold und Holz) auszubeuten. Sie legten nicht nur Marmorbrüche an, sondern gründeten auch die berühmte antike Bildhauerschule, in der viele der Statuen, Friese und Grabstelen entstanden, die du im Archäologischen Museum bewundern kannst. Thassos wurde zu einem Exporteur von Marmor, nicht nur innerhalb Griechenlands, sondern auch in ganz Kleinasien. Wenn du den Strand von Alyki besuchst, kannst du in der Nähe des Strandes noch immer den (jetzt halb versunkenen) antiken Steinbruch erkennen. Wenn du dort stehst, kannst du dir die Szene aus dem 7. Jahrhundert v. Chr. vorstellen, als die Boote in der Bucht auf ihre Ladung warteten und der komplexe Lademechanismus mit Seilen und Rollen die Marmorplatten transportierte.

Kostas Lovoulos setzt diese Tradition in seiner Freiluft-Werkstatt in Limenaria fort, die eine wahre Fundgrube für Marmorarbeiten ist (wenn du vorbeikommst, kannst du mit etwas Glück sehen, wie er den Stein in außergewöhnliche Kunstwerke verwandelt). Und wenn du das Dorf Theologos im Herzen von Thassos besuchst, findest du dort Ladis Marble Art und die Werkstatt von Stavros Ladis, der stilvolle Armbänder, Medaillons, Ohrringe und anderen Schmuck aus Marmor herstellt. Das ist auch eine gute Gelegenheit, um einen Spaziergang durch Theologos (die Hauptstadt von Thassos in osmanischer Zeit) zu machen und die Ausläufer des Berges Ipsarion zu erkunden.

Das Polygnotou Vagis Museum am Hauptplatz von Potamia (in einem zweistöckigen Gebäude, das früher eine Grundschule war) ist dem Leben und Werk des berühmten Bildhauers gewidmet und bildet den Abschluss deiner Marmortour durch Thassos. Vagis wurde als Sohn eines Zimmermanns in dem Dorf geboren und zog 1911 nach Amerika, wo er eine erfolgreiche Karriere als Maler und Bildhauer machte. Das Museum stellt 98 Skulpturen und 15 Gemälde aus den Jahren 1920-1960 aus.  

LOKALE PRODUKTE AUS THASSOS

Oliven und Olivenöl

Ein weiteres Exportgut, für das Thassos bekannt ist, ist die Throuba-Olive, eine mittelgroße, qualitativ hochwertige Olive, aus der ein hervorragendes natives Olivenöl mit niedrigem Säuregehalt, vielen Antioxidantien und einer tollen Farbe, Aroma und Geschmack gewonnen wird. 

Einheimisches Olivenöl begleitet jede deiner Mahlzeiten auf Thassos und du kannst dir in den Geschäften auf der ganzen Insel eine Flasche davon für zu Hause kaufen. Wenn du jedoch mehr über das berühmte Produkt von Thassos erfahren und die Beziehung der Insel zu dieser uralten Frucht wirklich verstehen willst, solltest du die Sotirelis Olivenölmühle in Panagia besuchen. Sie wurde 1915 gegründet und war noch 2007 in Betrieb, als sie in ein funktionstüchtiges Museum umgewandelt wurde. 

Du wirst Zeuge des Extraktionsprozesses, der von einer Wassermühle angetrieben wird und bei dem keine chemischen Behandlungen zum Einsatz kommen... nur die Kaltextraktion mit Steinmühlen, die die Oliven bei Temperaturen von maximal 27°C zu einer Paste mahlen (damit die ätherischen Öle erhalten bleiben). Nach dem Mahlen wird die Olivenpaste in Malaxer (wo die Säfte langsam gemischt werden) und dann in Separatoren (wo das Olivenöl durch Zentrifugalkraft vom Pflanzenwasser getrennt wird) gefüllt. Du wirst Olivenöl nie wieder auf dieselbe Weise betrachten. 

Der lokale Honig

Der letzte Teil deiner Tour zu Handwerk und lokalen Produkten auf Thassos besteht darin, die süßeste Tradition der Insel kennenzulernen. Honig ist ein ebenso altes Produkt auf Thassos wie Olivenöl und Marmor und war früher die einzige Möglichkeit, Lebensmittel zu süßen. Es gibt viele kleine Honigerzeuger, die aktive Mitglieder der Imkerkooperative von Thassos sind, und du kannst Gläser mit Honig an Straßenständen und in Geschäften kaufen. Aber einer der besten Orte, um etwas über die Honigproduktion auf Thassos zu erfahren, ist der Koutlis Honey Shop in Potamia. 

Es ist ein Familienbetrieb in der dritten Generation und es gibt nichts, was die Familie nicht über Honig weiß. Das Geheimnis des Geschmacks ihres Honigs (abgesehen davon, dass er vollkommen biologisch ist) liegt in der Vegetation, von der sich die Bienen ernähren: Kiefern- und Blütenhonig, Orangenblütenhonig, Thymianhonig, Kastanienhonig, Wald- und Eichenhonig, Heidehonig und mehr. Und wenn du wirklich tief in die Erzeugnisse der Imkereien der Familie Koutlis eintauchen willst, kannst du frischen Pollen, Gelée Royale, Propolis (ein natürliches Harzgemisch, das von Honigbienen produziert wird und für seine therapeutischen Eigenschaften bekannt ist) und Bienenwachsbalsam für die Haut kaufen. 

Das traditionelle Handwerk und die lokalen Produkte von Thassos

Strände, Dörfer und jetzt auch noch ein reiches Erbe an Kunsthandwerk und lokalen Produkten ... es gibt unzählige Gründe, Thassos zu besuchen. Was steht auf deiner Wunschliste für deinen Urlaub auf Thassos?

Jetzt Thassos und Kavala entdecken

Stay connected with Greece

Greek Lines hoop earrings

Greek Lines hoop earrings

200€
Marble beach, Thassos

10 der besten Strände auf Thassos

Fine white sand and shallow water greet you at Fanaraki beach in Lemnos

10 der besten Strände auf Lemnos

Keramoti beach near Kavala is also known as Ammoglossa (or sand tongue)

8 der besten Strände in Kavala

Admiring the view from Seychelles beach in Ikaria

10 der besten Strände auf Ikaria

Oia in Santorini

Mit der Fähre durch Griechenland in der Zeit von Covid-19

Fteri beach, Kefalonia

Urlaub in Griechenland: Alle zutaten eines traumurlaubs

14 der besten Strände auf Pelion

Genießen Sie ein Theaterstück in Athen, der Stadt, in der das Theater geboren wurde

Τraditional wind mills in Ios island, Cyclades

Entdecke die 8 besten Dinge, die man in Ios tun kannst

10 unvergessliche Aktivitäten auf Lemnos

10 der besten Strände in Kythira

Athenians take every opportunity to max out on outdoor time

8 beste Ideen für einen Frühlings- oder Herbsturlaub in Athen

Thassos’ marble sculpting tradition dates to the 7th century BC
COVER STORY

Culture guide to Thassos: Traditional crafts and local products

If there’s one material for which Thassos is known internationally, it’s marble
READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

There are so many reasons to fall in love with Thassos. The turquoise water and exotic beaches are the perfect ingredients for a dream holiday on a Greek island … but so too are the mountain villages and greenery of the mountainous interior. And if you really want to get to know Greece’s northernmost island (just a short drive and ferry crossing from the city of Kavala) then it’s time you were introduced to Thassos’ local products and traditional crafts. You’ll get to meet the people behind the crafts, helping you forge an even closer bond with the island. Pottery, weaving, marblework, olive oil and honey … learning all about their secrets is amongst the best things to do on your holidays in Thassos. 

THASSOS LOCAL CRAFTS

Ceramics and pottery

There are so many unbroken lines of creativity and skill that link the ancient Greek world with today and the first of your crafts in Thassos is one of the most common yet often overlooked examples. Ceramics and pottery were a vital part of everyday life in the ancient world, with clay jugs, vases, amphorae, votives (gifts for the gods), toys and other items unearthed by the dozen at excavation sites around the island.

You’ll witness as much in Limenas, starting at Thassos’ Archaeological Museum, through artefacts dating from the 7th century BC. Visiting the museum, you’ll see the evolution of the artwork on ancient pottery, from stripes, coils and lines to depictions of flowers, leaves and animals and of course people in life-affirming moments such as scenes of battle, marriage, birth and death. 

Taking part in a traditional ceramics workshop in Thassos The workshop of Costis Chrisogelos in Limenas

Your newfound knowledge sets you up perfectly as your crafts journey around Thassos continues a short walk from the port, at Costis Pottery, the workshop of Costis Chrisogelos (he’s known to everyone as Kyrios Costis or Mr Costis). His shop is one of the most Instagrammable spots in Limenas and you might even find him at his foot-powered pottery wheel – just as you would have found his grandfather in 1908 after joining the potters of Sifnos island in moving to Thassos.

Back in the day, around two dozen people would have been employed at the workshop, bringing soil, making clay, shaping, glazing, firing and carrying the products (mostly functional items like bowls for bread, jars for olives and plates) to boats for export. Today’s items are more delicate and detailed. Some are still produced on a foot pedal-powered turntable and others on an electric wheel, but they are all glazed and double-baked in a kiln with the love and attention of old. Buy yourself something as a reminder of your newfound knowledge (mugs, candlesticks, plates, vases etc with lovely designs). And once you’re done, you can set off on the circular 3.5km route from the Old Harbour that takes you past the city’s ancient Acropolis and Theatre, the Temple of Athena and Sanctuary of Panas and other sites, imagining all the ceramic artefacts unearthed there.

The view from the Costis Pottery workshop in Thassos

Weaving and embroidery

Another ancient craft intertwined with everyday life over the centuries is weaving. The goddess Athena (who gave Athens its name) was considered the patroness and teacher of the craft, while Ariadne (whose thread helped Theseus escape the clutches of the labyrinth-roaming Minotaur) is depicted in the frescoes of Knossos as weaving the costumes of Minoan women. But it was during Greece’s Byzantine years that weaving really took off, from bedclothes and other household items to the ornate vestments of priests and emperors. Most importantly, it was a skill passed from mother to daughter as embroideries were a valuable item of dowries.

Embroidery was traditionally a skill passed from mother to daughter in Greece Weaving and embroidery craft in Thassos

You can learn all about the local weaving tradition at the Thasitiko Spiti (Thassian House), within the Kalogeriko in Limenas’ Old Harbour. The Kalogeriko is a handsome two-floor 19th-century building in the Old Harbour whose second floor has been turned into a folklore museum, with exhibits contributed by more than 50 families, including local costumes and other examples of items of daily life (bags, towels to cover rising dough, bed and sofa covers and blankets). 

The museum recreates a traditional Thassos home, including a bedroom, kitchen and living room, with embroidered items in each room. You’ll be impressed by the bright colours (greens, reds and yellows) of embroidery created on a foot-powered loom using cotton or wool. Note how the strict geometric patterns (stars, rhombuses etc) evolve into more intricate designs (flowers, butterflies etc). 

The Thasitiko Spiti museum in Thassos’ Old Harbour recreates a 19th-century Thassian house You can learn all about the local weaving tradition at the Thasitiko Spiti

Marble mining and artwork

If there’s one material for which Thassos is known internationally, it’s marble. Thassian marble is marvelled for its snow-white colour and purity, appearing almost translucent. Around 10 marble quarries operate today, which is astonishing given the evidence (near the villages of Limenaria and Maries) that marble was mined here in Prehistoric times, making it one of the oldest marble mining sites in Europe.

Hoop earrings made by Thassian Marble

Thassian marble is marvelled for its snow-white colour and purity Thassian marble is marvelled for its snow-white colour and purity

The heyday of Thassos mining was in the 7th and 6th century BC when settlers from Paros (another island with a rich marble history) arrived to exploit Thassos’ natural resources (including gold and timber). As well as establishing marble quarries, they set up the famed ancient School of Sculpture, producing many of the statues, friezes and funerary steles you can enjoy in the Archaeological Museum. Thassos became an exporter of marble, not just within Greece but also across Asia Minor. If you visit Alyki beach, you can still make out the (now half-submerged) ancient quarry near the beach. As you stand there, imagine the 7th-century BC scene of boats within the bay awaiting their cargo and the complex loading mechanism of ropes and pulleys to move the marble slabs.

Kostas Lovoulos continues that tradition in his outdoor workshop in Limenaria, which is a treasure trove of marblework (if you pass by, you might be lucky enough to find him turning stone into extraordinary works of art). And if you visit Theologos village, in the heart of Thassos, you’ll find Ladis Marble Art and the workshop of Stavros Ladis, who creates stylish bracelets, lockets, earrings and other jewellery with marble. It’s also a good excuse to take a walk around Theologos (Thassos’ capital in Ottoman times) and explore the foothills of Mt Ipsarion.

Wrapping up your marble tour of Thassos, the Polygnotou Vagis Museum in the main square of Potamia (in a two-storey building that was once a primary school) is dedicated to the life and work of the famous sculptor. The son of a carpenter, Vagis was born in the village and moved to America in 1911, where he had a successful career as a painter and sculptor. The museum exhibits 98 works of sculpture and 15 paintings from 1920-1960.

THASSOS LOCAL PRODUCTS

Olives and olive oil

Moving on to local products now, there’s another export for which Thassos is renowned … the throuba olive, a medium-sized, high-quality olive that makes excellent low-acidity extra-virgin olive oil with large amounts of antioxidants and a great colour, aroma and flavour. Local olive oil will accompany your every meal in Thassos and you can pick up a bottle to take home in shops all around the island. But to learn more about Thassos’ famous product and really understand the relationship of the island with the ancient fruit, visit the Sotirelis Olive Oil Mill in Panagia. It was founded in 1915 and was still operating in 2007, after which it was turned into a working museum.

You’ll witness the extraction process powered by a watermill and using no chemical treatments… just cold extraction with stone mills that grind the olives into a paste at temperatures that never exceed 27°C (ensuring essential oils are preserved). After grinding, the olive paste is transferred into malaxers (where the juices are slowly mixed) and then separators (where centrifugal power separates the olive oil from the vegetable water. You’ll never look at olive oil the same way again. 

The local honey

The final part of your crafts and local products tour of Thassos is to learn about the island’s sweetest tradition. Honey is as ancient a product on Thassos as olive oil and marble, once being the only way to sweeten food. There are plenty of small honey producers who are active members of the Beekeeping Cooperative of Thassos and you’ll find jars of honey for sale in roadside stalls as well as in shops. But one of the best places to learn about honey-making in Thassos is the Koutlis Honey shop in Potamia.

It’s a 3rd-generation family-run business and there’s nothing they don’t know about honey. The secret to the taste of the honey they produce (apart from it being totally organic) is the vegetation on which the bees feed, with pine tree & blossom honey, orange blossom honey, thyme honey, chestnut honey, forest and oak honey, heather honey and more. And if you really want to dig deep into the products of the Koutlis family apiaries, you can buy fresh pollen, royal jelly, propolis (a natural resinous mixture produced by honeybees known for its therapeutic properties) and beeswax balm for the skin. 

The traditional crafts and local products of Thassos

Beaches, villages and now a rich heritage in crafts and local products … the reasons to visit Thassos keep coming. What’s going to be on your wish list of things to do on your holidays in Thassos?

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Fanaraki beach

10 of the best beaches in Lemnos

Marble beach, Thassos

10 of the best beaches in Thassos

Keramoti port, Kavala

8 of the best beaches near Kavala

Admiring the view from Seychelles beach in Ikaria

10 of the best beaches in Ikaria

Oia in Santorini

Getting around Greece by ferry in the Covid-19 era

Fteri beach, Kefalonia

Getting started with a dream holiday in Greece

Τraditional wind mills in Ios island, Cyclades

Discover the 8 best things to do in Ios

12 of the best beaches in Lesvos

The amphitheatrically built Old Town of Skopelos

9 of the best things to do in Skopelos, Greece’s Mamma Mia island

The blue and green of the sea at Pano Koufonisi's Ammos beach is mesmerising

8 of the best beaches in the Koufonisia isles

Mersini in one of Schinoussa’s most beautiful beaches

7 unique things to do in Schinoussa