Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils
EXPERIENCE

Лимнос - винная традиция, уходящая корнями в античность

История Лимноса, островка в северной части Эгейского моря, неразрывно связана с винодельческой традицией - от древних виноградников до современных сортов белого и красного вина.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
2-3 часа или 3-4 дня
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

Мы никогда не узнаем, какой вкус был у вина, которое пили ахейцы во время осады Трои. Но если доверять «Илиаде» Гомера, вино было с острова Лимнос, и ахейцы наслаждались каждой его каплей. Поэтому знакомство с  виноградниками и винодельнями этого острова окунёт Вас в богатую и давнюю историю, в истоках которой зародилась винодельческая традиция.

На острове доминириует два винных сорта – и оба заслуживают внимания посетителей. Это сорт Лимнио, считаемый самым древним сортом винограда, и сорт Адександрийский Мускат, завезённый в Грецию из Египта в начале 20-ого века.

Хотя белый мускатный виноград на сегодняшний день выращивается в наибольшем количестве на острове, в последние годы наблюдается возрождение сорта Лимнио, из которого производят сухое, полусухое и сладкое красное вино. Оба сорта получили статус марки с защищённым наименованием происхождения.  

Истории, услышанные на здешних семейных винодельнях, захочется забрать с собой, также как и бутылочку другую местного вина. Вы узнаете, как виноградники адаптировались к вулканической почве острова, а также, что лозы пригибают низко к земле, чтобы защитить их от сильных морских ветров и от эрозии почвы. Вы познакомитесь с традициями в культивировании винограда, которые помогли Лимносу ещё в древности стать центром виноделия. Все эти достижения были позднее унаследованы римлянами и сохранены византийскими монахами. 

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Винодельческие и культурные традиции острова составляют великолепное сочетание. Поэтому во время пребывания на Лимносе стоит совмещать посещение виноградникиов и культурных достопримечательностей острова.

Крепость Мирина

Расположена в наивысшей точке Мирины (недалеко от Каспакаса). Построена в 12-13 веках во времена Византийской империи. Вид, открывающийся с замка, просто потрясающий. В стенах крепости Вы увидите руины жилищ, подвальную темницу, а также популяцию оленей. Во время посещения винодельни в деревне Каспакас, не забудьте купить мешочек миндаля. Деревня славится своим миндалём.

Древний Гефест

Недалеко от Карпаси, ещё одной винной местности, находится древний Гефест, в центре которого расположен античный театр. От древнего города, процветавшего в 5-6 веках до н. э., остались лишь развалины. Как следует из названия, город был посвящён богу огня и вулканов – Гефесту. Из театра также открывается чудесный морской вид.

Бонус

В северной части острова расположена местность Аммотинес, покрытая золотыми песчаными дюнами. Это редкое природное явление в Европе воссоздаёт условия Сахары в Греции. Вы когда-нибудь думали, что в Греции можно попробать серфинг на песке?

Подробнее Read Less

Деревни Карпаси, Каспакас и Агиос Димитриос являются основными ценрами виноделия на острове. Ниже предлагается список виноделен, которые можно посетить в этих местах.

От Мирины до

От аэропорта Лимноса до Мирины:

  • На машине или на такси: 20 км (25 минут)
  • Многие из виноделен Лимноса открыты для посетителей круглый год (некоторые открываются по просьбе посетителей)
  • Наиболее интересным временем для посещения является период с апреля по май, когда виноградники вновь оживают, а погода по большей части прекрасно подходит для прогулок на природе и пикника. Другим подходящим временем является период с середины августа по сентябрь, так как это время сбора урожая.
  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Посещение всех указанных виноградников может занять около 3-4 дней (включая посещение культурных достопримечательностей). 
  • Посещение каждой винодельни в отдельности, включая дегустацию вин, экскурсию по винному погребу и прогулку по винограднику, займёт около 2-3 часов. Рекомендуется предварительно позвонить на винодельню.

 

See also

You might be interested in
Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Понакомьтесь с гастрономической культурой Корфу!

Nemea viniculture and winemaking has centuries-long tradition

Знакомясь с винными тропами региона Немея

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Агротуристический тур познакомит Вас с корнями острова Миконос!

Rolling down hillsides and meandering through valleys, the vineyards of today are interwoven into the Heraklion landscape

Познакомьтесь с винными традициями Ираклиона!

The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks

Знакомство с традиционным продуктом Хиоса - мастикой

Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils
EXPERIENCE

Tap into the deep-rooted wine culture of Limnos

From ancient grapes to modern whites and reds, you’ll love hearing the story of the North Aegean island of Limnos through its family-owned wineries and vineyards.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2-3 hrs or 3-4 days
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

We’ll never know what the wine drank by the Achaeans during of Siege of Troy tasted like but (according to Homer’s Iliad, at least) it was from Limnos and they enjoyed every drop of it. So to explore the island through its vineyards and wineries is to tap into a very rich and long wine-making tradition.

Two varieties dominate Limnos’ wines and you’ll love learning about both: Limnio (believed to be the most ancient grape variety) and Muscat of Alexandria, a white grape introduced at the start of the 20th century from Egypt. 

Whilst the white Muscat grape now dominates production, there has been a revival of Limnio, with the dry, semi-dry and sweet reds that it produces turning heads in ever-greater numbers. Both varieties have achieved Protected Designation of Origin status.  

These are the stories you’ll be taking home with you (as well as a bottle or two) after visiting the island’s family-owned wineries. You’ll learn how the vines have adapted to the island of Hephaestus’ volcanic soil and are pruned low to the ground to protect them from high winds and water loss. And how the viniculture techniques that made Limnos a wine-trading centre in antiquity were taken forward by the Romans and preserved by Byzantine monks. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Wine and culture are an irresistible combination, so while you’re visiting Limnos’ vineyards make sure you also explore the island’s cultural highlights. 

Myrina Castle 

Located at the highest point of Myrina (close to Kaspakas), the Byzantine Castle was constructed in the 12th and 13th centuries. The view from the top is incredible and you’ll find remains of houses, an underground vaulted room and a healthy deer population within its walls. While you’re visiting a winery in Kaspakas, pick up a bag of almonds. The village is renowned for them.
 

Ancient Hephaestus 

Close to Karpasi (another wine-producing area), is Ancient Hephaestus. Centering around a theatre, the ruins are what remains of the ancient city that flourished during the 5th and 4th century BC and was dedicated to the god of fire and volcanoes. There is a wonderful sea view from the theatre. 

Bonus

To the north of the island is Ammothines, a 70,000sqm area of golden sand dunes (a rare phenomenon in Europe, dubbed the Sahara of Greece). Did you ever imagine being able to sand surf in Greece?

Read More Read Less

The villages of Karpasi, Kaspakas and Agios Dimitrios are the main wine-growing areas on Limnos and so will likely be your main destinations when it comes to visiting wineries. (A selection is given below.) 

From Myrina to

From Limnos Airport to Myrina

  • By car of taxi: 20km (25mins)
     
  • Many of the wineries of Limnos are open to visitors all year round (some upon request). 
  • The best experience is to visit during April-May, when the vineyards come to life and the weather is often perfect for walking and picnics. Or from the middle of August to September during the harvest period. 
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • To visit all the vineyards mentioned will take around 3-4 days (including the cultural bonuses).
  • The experience at each winery, including wine tasting and touring the vineyard and cellar, will take 2-3 hours. It’s worth contacting each winery before visiting.

Plan your trip

 

See also

You might be interested in
Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Uncover the roots of Mykonos on an agro-tourism tour

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Sampling the wine routes of Santorini