Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils
EXPERIENCE

Tauchen Sie in die tief verwurzelte Weinkultur von Limnos ein

Von antiken Traubensorten bis hin zu ihren modernen Weiß- und Rottönen, werden Sie die Geschichte der nordägäischen Insel Limnos mit ihren familiengeführten Weingütern und Weinbergen lieben.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
2-3 stunden oder 3-4 tage
Nach Jahreszeit
Das ganze Jahr über

OVERVIEW

Wir werden wohl nie genau wissen, wie der Wein geschmeckt hat, den die Achäer, während der Belagerung von Troja getrunken haben, aber er war (zumindest nach Homers Ilias) aus Limnos und sie haben damals jeden Tropfen genossen. Um die Insel über ihre Weinberge und Weingüter zu erkunden, muss man auf eine sehr reiche und lange Weinbautradition zurückgreifen.

Zwei Rebsorten dominieren bei den Weinen von Limnos, und Sie werden es lieben, beide kennenzulernen: Limnio (die wohl älteste Rebsorte) und Muscat of Alexandria, eine weiße Rebsorte, die zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts aus Ägypten eingeführt wurde.

Während die weiße Muskateller-Traube jetzt bei der Herstellung dominiert, hat Limnio mit seinen trockenen, halbtrockenen und süßen Rotweinen eine Wiederbelebung erlebt. Beide Sorten haben den Status der geschützten Ursprungsbezeichnung erreicht.

Dies sind die Geschichten, die Sie mit nach Hause nehmen werden (sowie eine oder zwei Flaschen), nachdem Sie die Weingüter der Insel, die sich in Familienbesitz befinden, besucht haben. Sie erfahren, wie sich die Reben an den vulkanischen Boden der Insel Hephaistos angepasst haben und wie sie tief, bis auf den Boden beschnitten werden, damit sie vor starkem Wind und Wasserverlust geschützt werden. Und wie die Weinbautechniken, die Limnos in der Antike zu einem Weinhandelszentrum machten, von den Römern vorangetrieben und von byzantinischen Mönchen bewahrt wurden.

Weiterlesen Read Less

DON'T MISS

Wein und Kultur gehen Hand in Hand. Wenn Sie also die Weinberge von Limnos besuchen, sollten Sie auch die kulturellen Höhepunkte der Insel erkunden.

Das Schloss Myrina

Die byzantinische Burg befindet sich am höchsten Punkt von Myrina (in der Nähe von Kaspakas) und wurde im 12. und 13. Jahrhundert erbaut. Die Aussicht von oben ist unglaublich und Sie werden Reste von Häusern, einen unterirdischen gewölbten Raum und einen gesunden Hirschbestand in seinen Mauern finden. Während Sie ein Weingut in Kaspakas besuchen, holen Sie sich eine Tüte Mandeln. Das Dorf ist bekannt dafür.

Antiker Hephaistos

In der Nähe von Karpasi (einem anderen Weinanbaugebiet) liegt das antike Hephaistos. Die Ruinen, die ein Theater in ihr Zentrum schließen, sind die Überreste der antiken Stadt, die im 5. und 4. Jahrhundert v. Chr. aufblühte und dem Gott des Feuer

Bonus

Im Norden der Insel liegt Ammothines, ein 70.000 Quadratmeter großes Gebiet mit goldenen Sanddünen (ein in Europa seltenes Phänomen, das als Sahara Griechenlands bezeichnet wird). Hätten Sie sich jemals vorstellen können, in Griechenland Sandsurfen zu können?

Weiterlesen Read Less

Die Dörfer Karpasi, Kaspakas und Agios Dimitrios sind die wichtigsten Weinanbaugebiete auf Limnos und werden daher wahrscheinlich Ihre Hauptreiseziele sein, wenn es um den Besuch von Weingütern geht. (Eine Auswahl ist unten angegeben.)

Von Myrina nach

Vom Flughafen von Limnos nach Myrina

  • Mit dem Auto oder mit dem Taxi: 20km (25min)
     
  • Viele der Weingüter von Limnos sind das ganze Jahr über für Besucher geöffnet (einige auf Anfrage).
  • Die beste Erfahrung bietet ein Besuch von April bis Mai, wenn die Weinberge zum Leben erweckt werden und das Wetter oft perfekt zum Spazierengehen und Picknicken ist. Oder von Mitte August bis September während der Erntezeit.
  • Herbst
  • Frühling
  • Sοmmer
  • Winter
  • Die Besichtigung aller genannten Weinberge dauert ca. 3-4 Tage (einschließlich der kulturellen Zugaben).
  • Die Erfahrung in jedem Weingut, einschließlich Weinprobe und Besichtigung von Weinberg und Keller, dauert 2-3 Stunden. Es lohnt sich, jedes Weingut vor dem Besuch zu kontaktieren.

Siehe auch

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Genießen Sie eine kulinarische Tour durch Korfu

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Entdecken Sie die Wurzeln von Mykonos auf einer Agrotourismus-Tour

Rolling down hillsides and meandering through valleys, the vineyards of today are interwoven into the Heraklion landscape

Probieren Sie die Weinrouten von Heraklion

Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils
EXPERIENCE

Tap into the deep-rooted wine culture of Limnos

From ancient grapes to modern whites and reds, you’ll love hearing the story of the North Aegean island of Limnos through its family-owned wineries and vineyards.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2-3 hrs or 3-4 days
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

We’ll never know what the wine drank by the Achaeans during of Siege of Troy tasted like but (according to Homer’s Iliad, at least) it was from Limnos and they enjoyed every drop of it. So to explore the island through its vineyards and wineries is to tap into a very rich and long wine-making tradition.

Two varieties dominate Limnos’ wines and you’ll love learning about both: Limnio (believed to be the most ancient grape variety) and Muscat of Alexandria, a white grape introduced at the start of the 20th century from Egypt. 

Whilst the white Muscat grape now dominates production, there has been a revival of Limnio, with the dry, semi-dry and sweet reds that it produces turning heads in ever-greater numbers. Both varieties have achieved Protected Designation of Origin status.  

These are the stories you’ll be taking home with you (as well as a bottle or two) after visiting the island’s family-owned wineries. You’ll learn how the vines have adapted to the island of Hephaestus’ volcanic soil and are pruned low to the ground to protect them from high winds and water loss. And how the viniculture techniques that made Limnos a wine-trading centre in antiquity were taken forward by the Romans and preserved by Byzantine monks. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Wine and culture are an irresistible combination, so while you’re visiting Limnos’ vineyards make sure you also explore the island’s cultural highlights. 

Myrina Castle 

Located at the highest point of Myrina (close to Kaspakas), the Byzantine Castle was constructed in the 12th and 13th centuries. The view from the top is incredible and you’ll find remains of houses, an underground vaulted room and a healthy deer population within its walls. While you’re visiting a winery in Kaspakas, pick up a bag of almonds. The village is renowned for them.
 

Ancient Hephaestus 

Close to Karpasi (another wine-producing area), is Ancient Hephaestus. Centering around a theatre, the ruins are what remains of the ancient city that flourished during the 5th and 4th century BC and was dedicated to the god of fire and volcanoes. There is a wonderful sea view from the theatre. 

Bonus

To the north of the island is Ammothines, a 70,000sqm area of golden sand dunes (a rare phenomenon in Europe, dubbed the Sahara of Greece). Did you ever imagine being able to sand surf in Greece?

Read More Read Less

The villages of Karpasi, Kaspakas and Agios Dimitrios are the main wine-growing areas on Limnos and so will likely be your main destinations when it comes to visiting wineries. (A selection is given below.) 

From Myrina to

From Limnos Airport to Myrina

  • By car of taxi: 20km (25mins)
     
  • Many of the wineries of Limnos are open to visitors all year round (some upon request). 
  • The best experience is to visit during April-May, when the vineyards come to life and the weather is often perfect for walking and picnics. Or from the middle of August to September during the harvest period. 
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • To visit all the vineyards mentioned will take around 3-4 days (including the cultural bonuses).
  • The experience at each winery, including wine tasting and touring the vineyard and cellar, will take 2-3 hours. It’s worth contacting each winery before visiting.

Plan your trip

 

See also

You might be interested in
Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Uncover the roots of Mykonos on an agro-tourism tour

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Sampling the wine routes of Santorini