A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white
EXPERIENCE

Vivre la tradition d’ouzo en Plomari

Découvrez les secrets de la production d'ouzo de Lesvos, c'est reconnaitre le battement de cœur du légendaire été grec.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
30 mins - 1 heure
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Rien ne reflète au mieux l’esprit de la Grèce que l'ouzo. Vous pouvez imaginer la scène. Une taverne surplombant la mer, avec le soleil qui commence tout juste à se coucher à l'horizon. Un liquide cristallin est versé dans un verre, accompagné de glaçons, émettant instantanément des tourbillons magiques de blanc. Au son du gazouillis des cigales en arrière-plan, on en prend une gorgée. Il a le goût de la camaraderie et du rire, de la musique et du soleil, du cliquetis des dés de backgammon et du Komboloï, et parfois du silence le plus heureux. Quelle que soit la période de l'année, vous êtes instantanément transporté dans le légendaire été grec.

L'île de Lesvos est le cœur de production grecque d'ouzo, mais pour bien sentir ses battements, il faut se rendre à Plomari, sur la côte sud. La fabrication de l'ouzo remonte au 19ème siècle, lorsque des familles de marchands d'Asie Mineure s'y installèrent et commencèrent à produire le distillat à l'odeur d'anis dans des alambics en bronze ou en cuivre. Chacun y ajouta son propre caractère sous forme de mélanges secrets d'herbes et d'épices qui donnèrent des versions différentes du goût subtil de la réglisse. Une légende est née et depuis, la fête commença dans le pays.

Alors, quelle meilleure façon de découvrir cet alcool unique à base de raisin ou de céréales que de visiter une distillerie à Plomari ? Vous serez témoin des processus de production (traditionnels et modernes), vous apprendrez quand l'anis est ajouté et quelles herbes et épices donnent le meilleur résultat : graines de fenouil, anis étoilé, mastic, cardamome, coriandre, clous de girofle, cannelle et sel des salines locales de Kalloni. Cependant, ne croyez surtout pas que vous aurez la formule secrète.

Après une dégustation d'ouzo, vous êtes sûr d'en acheter une ou deux bouteilles et vous aurez immédiatement envie de vous trouver une taverne au bord de la mer et de commander un meze de fruits de mer - et de goûter par vous-même à la camaraderie, aux rires et au soleil... et à la plus heureuse forme de silence que l'ouzo peut apporter.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Distillerie & Musée Barbayanni  

Barbayanni est un nom qui est devenu synonyme d'ouzo et de Lesvos. La distillerie possède un musée où vous trouverez l'équipement original utilisé pour la mise en bouteille et l'étiquetage des spiritueux, ainsi que le premier alambic, construit en 1858 à Constantinople, utilisé pour tester les recettes et les techniques centenaires qui sont devenues la formule unique et la marque de la famille Barbayanni.

Distillerie Ouzo Plomari Isidoros Arvanitis 

Le monde du musée d'Ouzo vous emmènera dans un voyage de production moderne et traditionnelle de l'ouzo dans de petits alambics en cuivre faits à la main. Vous y trouverez des objets historiques de plus de 120 ans de production et vous apprendrez pourquoi l'ouzo est ici doublement distillé pendant neuf heures à la fois.

Lire la suite Read Less
  • Les deux musées se trouvent sur la route principale de la ville de Mytlini à Plomari.
  • Vous pouvez prendre un taxi ou marcher les 1,7 km qui séparent les musées. 
  • Plomari est accessible en bus depuis la ville de Mytlini.

Plus d’infos 

Depuis la ville de Mytilini vers le musée ‘Le Monde d’Ouzo’: 

  • Par voiture ou taxi: 37km (50 mins)

Le Monde d’Ouzo

 

Depuis la ville de Mytilini Vers le musée d’ouzo Barbayanni: 

  • Par voiture ou taxi: 39km (55 mins)

Distillerie Ouzo Plomari Isidoros Arvanitis 

  • Il est possible de visiter les distilleries d'ouzo de Plomari à n'importe quel moment de l'année, mais quel dommage de ne pas le faire au printemps et en été, où l'on peut vivre l'expérience complète de la taverne et du meze par la suite.
  • Les horaires d'ouverture du musée diffèrent entre l'hiver et l'été. Nous vous conseillons donc de vérifier avant votre visite. 
  • Les jours fériés et les dimanches, le musée Isidoros Arvanitis est fermé, tandis que le musée Barbayannis peut ouvrir après un arrangement.

 

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • La visite du musée prend entre 30 minutes à 1h.
  • L'entrée est soit gratuite, soit au prix de deux euros pour la visite et la dégustation.
  • Vous pouvez simplement vous présenter et rejoindre d'autres visiteurs, ou les distilleries peuvent commencer une visite juste pour vous à votre arrivée.

 

See also

You might be interested in
Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Découvrez les spécialités de Corfou

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Découvrez les racines de Mykonos par l'agrotourisme

Pyrgos, in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko

Découvrez les spécialités de Tinos

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Découvrez les routes du vin de Santorin

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

A la découverte des routes de vins du Chalcidique

Thessaloniki reveals its unique identity with every bite you take

Une visite gastronomique de Thessalonique

Look out for the largest petrified tree trunk, with a circumference of 13.7m

Arrêtez le temps dans la forêt pétrifiée de Lesbos

A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white
EXPERIENCE

Sampling the ouzo tradition of Plomari

Discovering the secrets of Lesvos’ ouzo production is to listen in to the heartbeat of the legendary Greek summer.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
30 mins - 1 hour
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Nothing captures the essence of Greece quite like ouzo. You can picture the scene. A taverna overlooking the sea, with the sun just beginning to set on the horizon. A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white. To the sound of cicadas chirping in the background, you take sip. It tastes of camaraderie and laughter and music and sunshine; of clanking backgammon dice and twirling worry beads; and sometimes of the happiest kind of silence. Whatever the time of year, you’re instantly transported to the legendary Greek summer. 

The island of Lesvos is the heart of Greece’s ouzo production, but to feel its pulse you have to head to Plomari, on the south coast. Ouzo-making here can be traced from the 19th century, when merchant families from Asia Minor settled and began producing the anise-scented distillate in bronze or copper stills. Each added their own character in the form of secret blends of herbs and spices that gave different versions of the subtle liquorice taste. A legend was born and a country has been celebrating ever since. 

So what better way to learn about this unique grape- or grain-based spirit than to visit a Plomari distillery? You’ll witness the production processes (traditional and modern), learn just when the aniseed is added, and what herbs and spices give the best result: fennel seed, star anise, mastic, cardamom, coriander, cloves, cinnamon and salt from the local Kalloni saltpans. Just don’t except to come away with the secret formula. 

After some ouzo tasting, you’re sure to buy a bottle or two. And you’ll immediately want to find yourself a seaside taverna and order a seafood meze – and taste for yourself the camaraderie and laughter and sunshine… and the happiest kind of silence that ouzo can bring. 
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Barbayanni distillery & museum

Barbayanni is a name that has become synonymous with both ouzo and Lesvos. Its distillery features a museum where you will find original equipment used to bottle and label the spirit, as well as the first alembic, constructed in 1858 in Constantinople and used for testing the century-old recipes and techniques that became the Barbayannis family’s trademark formula.

Ouzo Plomari Isidoros Arvanitis distillery

The World of Ouzo museum will take you on a journey of modern and traditional ouzo production in small handmade copper stills. You will find historical artefacts of more the 120 years of production and learn why the ouzo here is double distilled for nine hours at a time.

Read More Read Less
  • Both museums are found on the main road from Mytilini town to Plomari.
  • You can take a taxi or walk 1.7km between the museums. 
  • Plomari can be reached by bus from Mytilini town. 

Learn more

From Mytilini town to the World of Ouzo Museum:

  • By car or taxi: 37km (50mins)

World of Ouzo Museum

 

From Mytilini town to the Barbayanni Ouzo Museum:

  • By car or taxi: 39km (55mins) 

Barbayanni Ouzo Museum

  • Visiting the Plomari ouzo distilleries can be done at any time of year, but what a shame not to do so in spring and summer when you can have the full taverna and meze experience afterwards.
  • The museum opening times differ between winter and summertime. So we suggest checking before you visit. 
  • On holidays and Sundays, the Isidoros Arvanitis Museum is closed whilst the Barbayannis Museum may open upon agreement.

 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Each museum can be visited in 30mins – 1hr.
  • Entry is either free or costs two euros for the tour and tasting.
  • You can just turn up and join other visitors, or the distilleries may start a tour just for you upon your arrival.

Plan your trip

See also

You might be interested in
Look out for the largest petrified tree trunk, with a circumference of 13.7m

Make time stand still at the petrified forest of Lesvos

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set

The best of outdoors dining and nightlife in Mykonos