A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white
EXPERIENCE

Знакомясь с традицией узо в деревне Пломари

Узнайте секреты узо с острова Лесвос, почувствуйте живые ритмы греческого лета!
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
30 минут - 1 час
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

Узо, пожалуй, передаёт как ни один другой напиток ощущение греческого лета.  Представьте таверну с видом на море и солнце на закате дня, и кристально прозрачный напиток в вашем стакане, вы опускаете кубик льда, и в миг перламутровые переливы окутывают весь стакан. Под угасающие звуки вечерних цикад Вы наслаждаетесь прохладой узо. В этом напитке можно услышать смех весёлой компании, звуки музыки и общего веселья, образы качающегося гамака и ярких лучей солнца, а также просто вечерней тишины. В любое время года попробовав узо, Вы перенесётесь в легендарное греческое лето!

Остров Лесвос считается центром производства узо. Но чтобы познакомиться с этим напитком «изнутри», лучше всего поехать в деревню Пломари на южном побережье острова. Узо, производимое здесь, берёт своё начало в 19 веке, когда купеческие семьи из Малой Азии поселились на острове и начали перегонять спиртной напиток с анисовым привкусом в бронзовых и медных дистилляционных кубах. Каждый производитель добавлял свой штрих в секретный сбор трав и пряностей, придающий нежный ликёрный оттенок данному напитку. Так зародилось легендарное узо, а в стране добавилась ещё одна традиция к весёлому застолью.

Где же ещё, как ни здесь на спиртово-водочном заводе в Пломари, знакомиться с уникальным спиртным напитком, изготовляемом либо на основе зерна, либо на основе винограда? Вы сможете наблюдать за процессами приготовления (традиционными и современными), узнать, на какой стадии добавляется анис, и какие травы и пряности придают особый привкус напитку: семена фенхеля, звёздочный анис, мастика, кардамон, кориандр, гвоздика, корица и соль из местной солеварни в деревне Каллони. Не забудьте записать секретную формулу напитка!

После дегустации пары рюмочек Вам, несомненно, захочется приобрести несколько бутылочек этого напитка. Если Вы путешествуете с компанией, хорошим продолжением экскурсии может стать ужин в прибрежной таверне с морскими закусками, чтобы ощутить на себе веселье летнего греческого застолья.

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Спиртово-водочный завод и музей BARBAYANNI

Имя Барбаянни стало созвучным как традиции узо, так и самому острову Лесвос. На винокурне работает музей, в котором представлено оборудование для разлива и фасовки этого напитка, а также первый перегонный аппарат, изготовленный в 1858 г. в Константинополе, который использовался для проверенных веками рецептов семьи Барбаянни, ставших зарекомендованной маркой.

Спиртово-водочный завод OUZO PLOMARI ISIDOROS ARVANITIS

Музей «Мир узо» поведает Вам о современных и традиционных методах производства этого напитка, изготавливаемого изначально в сделанных вручную, медных кубах. Здесь Вы увидите исторические артефакты, насчитывающие более 120 лет, и узнаете, почему узо здесь дистиллируется дважды и каждый раз на протяжение девяти часов.

Подробнее Read Less
  • Оба музея расположены по основной трассе от городка Митилини до деревни Пломари.
  • От одного музея до другого можно доехать на такси или пройтись около 1,7 км пешком.
  • До деревни Пломари можно также доехать на автобусе из Митилини.

учить больше

От городка Митилини До музея «Мир узо»:

  • На машине или на такси: 37 км (50 минут) 

Музей Мир Узо

 

До музея узо Барбаянни:

  • На машине или на такси: 39 км (55 минут) 

Музей Барбаянни Узо

  • Посетить водочные заводы в Пломари можно в любое время года. Замечательным временем станет весенний и летний периоды, когда экскурсию можно сочетать с обедом в таверне с широким выбором морских закусок. 
  • Часы работы музеев могут изменяться в летний и зимний периоды. Поэтому лучше проверить режим работы перед отправлением.
  • По праздникам и воскресеньям Музей Isidoros Arvanitis закрыт, но Музей семьи Barbayannis может открыться по предварительной договорённости.

 

  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Каждый из музеев можно обойти за 30 минут – 1 час.
  • Вход может быть либо бесплатным, либо может стоить около 2 евро за тур и дегустацию.
  • Вы можете объединиться в группы с другими посетителями музея непосредственно у входа, либо же музей может начать новую экскурсию по Вашему прибытию.

See also

You might be interested in
Rolling down hillsides and meandering through valleys, the vineyards of today are interwoven into the Heraklion landscape

Познакомьтесь с винными традициями Ираклиона!

The mastic fields come alive from mid-June to early July when the soil is levelled and the white powder (calcium carbonate) is placed around the trunks

Знакомство с традиционным продуктом Хиоса - мастикой

As the capital of Greece, Athens offers an equally wide range of fine dining options

Гастрономический тур по Афинам

Limnos offers a large variety of wines, red and white, that have a distinctive taste thanks to the volcanic soils

Лимнос - винная традиция, уходящая корнями в античность

Wine-making can be traced here to before the eruption of its legendary volcano, more than 3,000 years ago

Разыскивая истоки санторинского вина

Uncover the secrets of Messinia, through its most famous product

По оливковым садам Мессинии

A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white
EXPERIENCE

Sampling the ouzo tradition of Plomari

Discovering the secrets of Lesvos’ ouzo production is to listen in to the heartbeat of the legendary Greek summer.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
30 mins - 1 hour
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Nothing captures the essence of Greece quite like ouzo. You can picture the scene. A taverna overlooking the sea, with the sun just beginning to set on the horizon. A crystal clear liquid is poured into a glass and in drops an ice cube, instantly emitting magical swirls of white. To the sound of cicadas chirping in the background, you take sip. It tastes of camaraderie and laughter and music and sunshine; of clanking backgammon dice and twirling worry beads; and sometimes of the happiest kind of silence. Whatever the time of year, you’re instantly transported to the legendary Greek summer. 

The island of Lesvos is the heart of Greece’s ouzo production, but to feel its pulse you have to head to Plomari, on the south coast. Ouzo-making here can be traced from the 19th century, when merchant families from Asia Minor settled and began producing the anise-scented distillate in bronze or copper stills. Each added their own character in the form of secret blends of herbs and spices that gave different versions of the subtle liquorice taste. A legend was born and a country has been celebrating ever since. 

So what better way to learn about this unique grape- or grain-based spirit than to visit a Plomari distillery? You’ll witness the production processes (traditional and modern), learn just when the aniseed is added, and what herbs and spices give the best result: fennel seed, star anise, mastic, cardamom, coriander, cloves, cinnamon and salt from the local Kalloni saltpans. Just don’t except to come away with the secret formula. 

After some ouzo tasting, you’re sure to buy a bottle or two. And you’ll immediately want to find yourself a seaside taverna and order a seafood meze – and taste for yourself the camaraderie and laughter and sunshine… and the happiest kind of silence that ouzo can bring. 
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Barbayanni distillery & museum

Barbayanni is a name that has become synonymous with both ouzo and Lesvos. Its distillery features a museum where you will find original equipment used to bottle and label the spirit, as well as the first alembic, constructed in 1858 in Constantinople and used for testing the century-old recipes and techniques that became the Barbayannis family’s trademark formula.

Ouzo Plomari Isidoros Arvanitis distillery

The World of Ouzo museum will take you on a journey of modern and traditional ouzo production in small handmade copper stills. You will find historical artefacts of more the 120 years of production and learn why the ouzo here is double distilled for nine hours at a time.

Read More Read Less
  • Both museums are found on the main road from Mytilini town to Plomari.
  • You can take a taxi or walk 1.7km between the museums. 
  • Plomari can be reached by bus from Mytilini town. 

Learn more

From Mytilini town to the World of Ouzo Museum:

  • By car or taxi: 37km (50mins)

World of Ouzo Museum

 

From Mytilini town to the Barbayanni Ouzo Museum:

  • By car or taxi: 39km (55mins) 

Barbayanni Ouzo Museum

  • Visiting the Plomari ouzo distilleries can be done at any time of year, but what a shame not to do so in spring and summer when you can have the full taverna and meze experience afterwards.
  • The museum opening times differ between winter and summertime. So we suggest checking before you visit. 
  • On holidays and Sundays, the Isidoros Arvanitis Museum is closed whilst the Barbayannis Museum may open upon agreement.

 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Each museum can be visited in 30mins – 1hr.
  • Entry is either free or costs two euros for the tour and tasting.
  • You can just turn up and join other visitors, or the distilleries may start a tour just for you upon your arrival.

Plan your trip

See also

You might be interested in
Look out for the largest petrified tree trunk, with a circumference of 13.7m

Make time stand still at the petrified forest of Lesvos

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set

The best of outdoors dining and nightlife in Mykonos