If you are interested in exploring the other grape varieties, there are wineries around Lixouri
COVER STORY

Un guide gastronomique de la Céphalonie

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour savourer une salade grecque
Quelle place tiennent les repas lorsque vous choisissez votre destination de vacances ? Eh bien, si vous êtes le genre de voyageur qui aime déguster des vins, découvrir des cours de cuisine, flâner dans un marché, observer ce que les locaux achètent, et goûter à un plat différent chaque jour de vos vacances, vous aimerez notre guide gastronomique de la Céphalonie.

La plus grande des îles Ioniennes de Grèce, la Céphalonie (également Képhalonia) sait porter la cuisine grecque à un niveau supérieur. Ses habitants célèbres pour leur vivacité sont aussi connus pour entretenir avec amour et passion le meilleur de leur terre rude – c'est ce qu'en grec, on appelle « méraki ». Leurs vins (surtout le Robola), les fromages, le miel, l'huile d'olive extra-vierge et maints autres produits locaux sont très prisés, chaque gorgée, chaque bouchée, ayant la capacité de ramener à un souvenir agréable. 

Lorsque vous mangerez de la kréatopita (tourte à la viande de Céphalonie unique en son genre), grâce à l'arôme des herbes sauvages, vous serez transporté vers le paysage épique du mont Ainos, le parc national de l’île. Tout comme les contes des viticulteurs vous reviendront à l'esprit quand vous boirez un verre de Robola bien frais. Et lorsque vous grignoterez des mandoles (amandes glacées), vous resterez avec un goût si doux que vous serez convaincu d'avoir découvert votre prochaine île grecque de prédilection. 

Alors préparez-vous car, dans notre guide gastronomique incontournable de la Céphalonie, nous allons sélectionner pour vous les meilleurs produits locaux et vous conduire vers des oliveraies, des vignobles, des exploitations apicoles et chez des producteurs de fromage.

Que manger à Céphalonie : Les produits locaux 

Fromages, huile d'olive, miel et confiseries au goût de Céphalonie

Au fur et à mesure de votre découverte, vous comprendrez rapidement le lien étroit de la Céphalonie avec la cuisine. Les oliveraies, les amanderaies et les vignes sont en osmose totale avec le paysage, pendant que les chèvres et les moutons paissent librement dans la campagne. Vous ne serez donc pas surpris que la visite d’un pressoir à olives et d’un producteur de fromage soit en tête de votre liste d’expériences gastronomiques incontournables dans l’île de Céphalonie.

Dégustez des fromages et des yaourts dans une ferme familiale

Il existe plus d'une douzaine de fromageries que vous pouvez visiter (certaines appartenant à une famille de la 5e génération), produisant environ 100-120 tonnes de fromage de Céphalonie par an. La majeure partie est de la féta (avec son goût unique en raison de la qualité des laits de chèvre utilisés) mais vous pourrez également goûter à la myzithra (comparable au fromage cottage) et à la prentza, qui sont des sous-produits de la féta, ainsi qu'au manouri (à pâte semi ferme), au kéfalotiri et à la gravièra (à pâte dure et jaune, souvent râpée pour les pâtes). Vous aimerez également goûter aux yaourts (au lait de brebis). Assurément, vous ne partirez pas les mains vides.

Découvrez ce que veut dire huile d'olive et miel

Ensuite, vous pourrez vous diriger vers un pressoir à huile d'olive. Une fois que vous aurez goûté à l’huile d’olive extra-vierge de Céphalonie, il n’y aura pas de retour possible. On dit que sa saveur délicate est due à la brise douce de la mer Ionienne rafraîchissant les oliviers pendant l'été et à la protection offerte par le mont Ainos en hiver. 
Et ne manquez pas les panneaux routiers indiquant une exploitation apicole et leurs ventes de miel. Environ 70,000 tonnes de miel de Céphalonie sont récoltées entre juin et août ! Ce miel est délicatement parfumé au thym sauvage et, si vous avez de la chance, au pin noir du mont Ainos, que les abeilles adorent butiner.

Offrez-vous une friandise de Céphalonie

Votre dernier soin (et c'est un vrai régal) est d'adopter le rituel quotidien de grignoter une friandise sucrée. Si vous vous trouvez dans une boulangerie ou une pâtisserie, n'essayez même pas de résister à la tentation de goûter aux barres de nougat ou de pasteli (graines de sésame). Mais les friandises les plus authentiques de Céphalonie sont à base d'amandes et remontent à la période de l'occupation vénitienne du 16eau 17e siècle. Les amandes glacées appelées mandoles portent le nom italien pour amande (mandorla) et sont toujours prépares de façon traditionnelle, cuites et mélangées dans des chaudrons de cuivre et teintes en rouge avec des algues. Parmi les autres spécialités aux amandes figurent la mandolata (nougat au miel, sucre et blancs d'œufs battus en neige). Elle était très appréciée et recherchée par les aristocrates vénitiens à l'époque où le sucre était un luxe.

Une expérience gastronomique incontournable est de se rendre dans un kaféneion traditionnel de village pour voir quelles pâtisseries au sirop fraîchement préparées sont proposées, comme le baklava, le galaktoboureko (gâteau de feuilles filo fourré de semoule au lait) ou la carydopita (gâteau aux noix), ou peut-être une gourmandise à base de coing comme le pastokydono ou le comfeto qui accompagneront parfaitement votre café grec.

Que manger à Céphalonie : Les spécialités locales

Comment commander ses plats comme un habitant de Céphalonie

Le poisson frais, la viande et les légumes produits localement feront de chaque plat de Céphalonie un moment inoubliable. Mais s’il existe un type de plat représentatif de la Céphalonie, ce sont bien les tourtes (ou pites, comme on les appelle en grec). Chaque chef (dans les tavernes familiales c'est le plus souvent la mère) aura sa propre version de ces tourtes, la bakaliaropita (à la morue), l'anginaropita (aux cœurs d'artichaut), la tyropita (feuilles de filo fourrées au fromage de féta ou d'un mélange de fromages) et la chortopita (aux herbes sauvages). Que vous soyez à Argostoli ou à Lixouri (les ports de Céphalonie), ou dans des villages comme Fiskardo, Sami, Poros, Skala, Lassi et tant d'autres, vous trouverez une variété de tourtes, chacune ayant son propre caractère. 

Mais la reine incontestée de Céphalonie est (roulements de tambour, s'il vous plaît !) … la kréatopita (tourte de filo ou autre pâte fourrée à la viande) – dont la farce est un succulent mélange de viandes de veau et d'agneau, généreusement épicée avec de la cannelle et de la muscade, et mijotée dans une riche sauce tomate, avec de l'ail, des légumes émincés (carottes, poireaux, pommes de terre) et aromatisée à la marjolaine. Le paradis dans votre assiette !
 

Choisissez votre plat préféré et cuisinez-le chez vous

Un autre plat de viande typique de la Céphalonie est la tsérépa, se référant au récipient en argile dans laquelle le poulet (mariné pendant la nuit) est lentement mijoté avec de l'origan, de l'ail, des tomates, du jus de citron et des pommes de terre jusqu'à ce qu'il devienne tendre et délicieux. La tsérépa est placée sur des braises mais rien ne vous empêche de recréer ce plat dans une cocotte à la maison.
Vous trouverez également tous vos plats grecs préférés, comme la moussaka, le pastitissio, le souvlaki et le gyros, le poulpe grillé et le calmar frit, et bien sûr la salade grecque (choriatiki) et tous ces plats de légumes que nous aimons tous. Les plats locaux favoris sont les tsigaridia (herbes sautées) et la bourbourelia (soupe de haricots et de légumineuses bien assaisonnée, avec un filet d'huile d'olive). 

Les boissons à Céphalonie : Le vin de la région 

Apprenez-en plus sur l'histoire viticole de Céphalonie, en commençant par le vin Robola

La production de vin dans l’île de Céphalonie est très ancienne, mais c'est à l'époque des Vénitiens que le patrimoine viticole s'est vraiment enraciné dans l'île. Le plus grand héritage venant des Vénitiens a été la variété Robola, (bien que le sol pierreux et calcaire rendent difficile la culture de la vigne) qui est devenue synonyme de Céphalonie. Les Vénitiens l'appellent Vino di Sasso, « vin de pierre ».

Les blancs secs produits (en bouche, un peu acides mais aussi terreux et parfois légèrement boisés) sont servis dans chaque taverne et restaurant de l'île grâce aux efforts de la coopérative Robola, un ensemble d'environ 300 producteurs installés principalement dans la région dite de Robola, sur le plateau d'Omalon, et sur les pentes sud et nord-ouest du mont Ainos. La coopérative est en fait le plus grand producteur de vin de Céphalonie. 

Visitez un domaine viticole et apprenez-en plus sur l'AOP Robola (la seule AOP tirant sa dénomination d'un cépage et non d'une zone géographique) est un must pour tout gourmet se respectant. Et si vous êtes de passage à la fin août, vous aurez peut-être la chance d’assister au Robola Wine Festival, célébrant le foulage des premières grappes de la saison. (Consultez une source officielle pour connaître les dates exactes de l'année.)

Optez pour une mini-visite d'un domaine viticole et faites la différence

Cela ne finit pas avec le Robola. D'autres cépages sont cultivés dans l’île de Céphalonie, notamment le Mavrodaphne (produisant des vins à robes rouges rubis intenses et des rosés) et le Muscat (vins de dessert à base de raisins secs).

De nombreuses caves de vinification proposent des dégustations de vins et des visites de vignobles. La Petrakopoulos Winery, près du village pittoresque de Thiramonas, perpétue une tradition vieille de plusieurs siècles de production de Robola à petite échelle (limitée à 25,000 bouteilles), tandis que l' Orealios Gaea,Orealios Gaea installée sur les pentes du mont Ainos, porte le nom de son rare terroir et de la nature environnante.

La Sarris Winery est située dans la partie sud-ouest de la Céphalonie, dans la région de Svoronata, à proximité de l'aéroport de l'île, et offre des dégustations de vins de Robola primés.

Si vous souhaitez explorer les autres vignobles, vous en trouverez autour de Lixouri, parmi lesquels le Haritatos Vineyard (avec des rouges et des rosés de Mavrodaphne ainsi que des variétés de Moschato et de Muscat); le Domaine Foivos (Mavrodaphne, Muscat et vins rouges et blancs de Mantzavina et avec des techniques innovantes dont le vieillissement des bouteilles sous l'eau) et le Sclavos Wines (produisant un mélange de Mavrodaphne et Vostilidi et des vins du cépage à peine prononçable de Métagéitnion).  

Enfin, près d'Argostoli se trouve le Gentilini Winery qui, en plus d'offrir une visite des vignobles et une dégustation de vins, propose également un hébergement agréable dans le domaine. 

Haritatos vineyard in Lixouri
Done
Done
Done
Done
PRINCESSHK-photo-0 Offre
Accommodation

Princess Hotel Kefalonia

Céphalonie

HOTEL PRINCESS This family-run hotel on the outskirts of Lassi is exceptionally well-located, near the golden, sandy beach of...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Europe Hotel

Céphalonie

The hotel which gives life to all your dreams for unforgettable vacation! We welcome you at the picturesque Argostoli town in Ke...

Official online rates

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Hiking Balos trail

Les 8 activités de plein air les plus appréciées en Grèce

Oia in Santorini

Déplacement en ferry en Grèce à l'époque de la Covid-19

It’s time to explore everything you’ll recall about Kefalonia for a lifetime

Les 10 souvenirs inoubliables de Céphalonie que vous emporterez avec vous

Snorkeling in the Blue Caves of Zakynthos

9 raisons d'aimer Zakynthos

Easter pot smashing on Corfu

Pâques sur les îles Ioniennes

plongée souterraine

Plongée: les destinations les plus populaires en Grèce

Oia in Santorini

Déplacement en ferry en Grèce à l'époque de la Covid-19

If you are interested in exploring the other grape varieties, there are wineries around Lixouri
COVER STORY

A foodie guide to Kefalonia

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a Greek salad
How high do you rate food when it comes to choosing a holiday destination? Well, if you’re the kind of traveller who loves wine-tasting, cookery lessons, going around a market and seeing what the locals are buying, and trying a different dish every day of your holiday, then you’ll love our foodie’s guide to Kefalonia.

The largest of Greece’s Ionian Islands, Kefalonia (also spelt Cephalonia) has taken Greek food to another level. The famously spirited locals are known for nurturing the very best out of their rugged soil with love and passion – ‘meraki’ as it’s called in Greek. Their wines (especially Robola), cheeses, honey, extra-virgin olive oil and other local products are highly prized, with every sip and bite having the ability to bring back a cherished memory. 

When you eat kreatopita (the one-of-a-kind Kefalonian meat pie) you’ll be transported back to the smell of wild herbs and the epic landscape of Mt Ainos, the island’s national park. Just as you’ll be reminded of the tales of wine growers when you drink a glass of chilled Robola. And when you snack on mandoles (glazed almonds), you’ll be left with the sweetest aftertaste, convincing you that you might just have found your next favourite Greek island. 

So get your appetite ready as we sample local products and head to olive groves, vineyards, apiaries and cheese producers in our ultimate foodie’s guide to Kefalonia.

What to eat in Kefalonia: The local products

Cheeses, olive oil, honey & sweets that taste of Kefalonia

As you explore, you’ll quickly understand Kefalonia’s close connection with food. Olive groves, almond trees and vines merge with the landscape, and goats and sheep roam freely in the countryside. So you won’t be surprised that visiting an olive press and a cheese producer is at the top of your list of must-do foodie experiences on Kefalonia.

Sample cheeses and yogurts at a family-run farm

There are more than a dozen cheese factories that you can visit (some of them 5th generation family-owned), producing an estimated 100-120 tonnes of Kefalonian cheese a year. The bulk of that is feta (which has a unique taste because of the blend and quality of the goat’s and sheep’s milk used) but you’ll also get to sample the likes of myzithra (similar to cottage cheese) and prentza, which are byproducts of feta production, as well as manouri (semi-soft) and kefalotiri and graviera (hard and yellow, often grated over pasta). You’ll also love sampling the yogurts (made from sheep’s milk). There’s no way you’ll leave empty-handed.

Discover the meaning of olive oil and honey

Next up, you head to an olive oil press. Once you’ve tried Kefalonian extra-virgin olive oil, there’ll be no turning back. They say the delicate flavour is because the trees get a cooling breeze from the Ionian Sea during the summer and are protected by Mt Ainos in the winter. 
And keep an eye out for road signs pointing to an apiary and honey for sale. Around 70,000 tonnes of Kefalonian honey is harvested between June and August! It is delicately scented with wild thyme and, if you’re lucky, Mt Ainos’ black pine, which the bees feed on.

Treat yourself to a Kefalonian sweet

Your final treat (and it’s quite a treat) is to make a daily ritual of nibbling something sweet. Don’t even try to resist the temptations in a bakery or pastry store when you see the nougat or pasteli (sesame seed) bars. But the most authentic Kefalonian sweets are almond-based, going back to the 16th-17th century Venetian occupation. The sugar-glazed almonds called mandoles are named after the Italian for almond (mandorla) and are still made in the traditional way, heated and stirred in copper cauldrons and dyed red with seaweed. Other almond delicacies include mandolata (a nougat made with honey, sugar and whisked egg whites). They were prized by Venetian aristocrats when sugar was a luxury.

The ultimate foodie experience is to find yourself a traditional village kafeneion and see what freshly made syrupy sweets they have, like baklava, galaktoboureko (filo-covered milk pie) or karydopita (walnut pie), or maybe a quince-based sweet like pastokydono or comfeto to go with your Greek coffee.

What to eat in Kefalonia: The local dishes

How to order food like a Kefalonian

Fresh fish and locally sourced meat and vegetables will make just about every dish in Kefalonia memorable. But if there’s one type of food that screams ‘Kefalonia’, it’s the pies (or pites, as they’re known in Greek). Every chef (and in family-run tavernas that often means the mother in the kitchen) will have their own version of pies, from bakaliaropita (with salted cod) and anginaropita (artichoke hearts) to tyropita (cheese pies from feta or a mixture of cheeses) and hortopita (wild greens). Whether you’re in Argostoli or Lixouri (Kefalonia’s ports), or villages like Fiskardo, Sami, Poros, Skala, Lassi and so many others, you’ll find a selection of pies, each made a little bit differently. 

But the undisputed pie king of Kefalonia is (drum roll, please!) … kreatopita (meat pie) – a succulent mixture of veal and lamb, generously spiced with cinnamon and nutmeg, cooked into a rich tomato sauce with marjoram, garlic and chopped carrots, leeks and potatoes. Heaven in a slice!


 

Pick your favourite dish and recreate it at home

Another classic Kefalonian meat dish is tserepa, referring to the clay vessel in which chicken (marinated overnight) is slowly cooked with oregano, garlic, tomatoes, lemon juice and potatoes until tender and delicious. The tserepa pot is heated on coals but there’s nothing to stop you from recreating the dish in a pot at home.
You’ll also find all your favourite Greek food, like moussaka, pastitsio, souvlaki and gyros, grilled octopus and fried squid, and of course Greek salad (horiatiki) and all those vegetable-based dishes we all love. Local favourites are tsigaridia (sautéed greens) and bourbourelia (a well-seasoned bean and legume soup, finished with a drizzle of olive oil). 

What to drink in Kefalonia: The local wine

Learn about Kefalonia’s wine legacy, starting with Robola

Wine and Kefalonia go a long way back but it was during the time of the Venetians that the island’s wine-producing heritage really took root. The Venetians’ greatest legacy was the Robola grape, which (despite being tricky to grow in the stony, limestone soil) has become synonymous with Kefalonia. The Venetians called it Vino di Sasso, ‘wine of stone’.

The dry whites that it produces (with citrusy yet earthy flavour and sometimes oaked) are served in every taverna and restaurant on the island thanks to the efforts of the Robola Cooperative, a collection of around 300 growers found mostly in the so-called Robola Zone in the Omalon plateau and the southern and northwestern slopes of Mt Ainos. The cooperative is effectively Kefalonia’s largest wine producer. 

Visiting a winery and learning more about PDO Robola (the only PDO named after a grape varietal rather than a location) is a must for any self-respecting foodie. And if you’re visiting at the end of August, you might be lucky enough to catch the Robola Wine Festival, celebrating the crushing of the season’s first grapes. (Check out an official source to see the exact dates each year.)

Go on a mini wine tour to taste the difference

It doesn’t end with Robola. Other grapes are grown in Kefalonia, notably Mavrodaphne (producing intense ruby-coloured reds and roses) and Muscat (dessert wines made from dried raisins).

Numerous wineries offer wine-tasting and vineyard tours. The Petrakopoulos Winery, near the picturesque village of Thiramonas, continues a centuries-old tradition of small-scale Robola production (limited to 25,000 bottles), while the nearby Orealios Gaea, on the slopes of Mt Ainos, is named after the rare terroir and surrounding nature.

Sarris Winery is located in the south-west part of Kefalonia, in the area of Svoronata, close to the island’s airport, offering wine tasting of awarded robola wines.

If you are interested in exploring the other grape varieties, there are wineries around Lixouri – among them Haritatos Vineyard (with reds and roses from Mavrodaphne as well as wines from Moschato and Muscat grapes); Domaine Foivos (Mavrodaphne, Muscat and red and white Mantzavina wines and with innovations that include experimenting with ageing bottles underwater) and Sclavos Wines (producing a blend of Mavrodaphne and Vostilidi and the scarcely pronounceable Metageitnion grape).  

Finally, near Argostoli is Gentilini Winery which, as well as offering vineyard tours and wine-tasting, doubles as a retreat with accommodation in the winery. 

Haritatos vineyard in Lixouri

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Monambeles Villas

Kefalonia

Monambeles Villas in Kefalonia is located in Svoronata village and consists of complex of 5 luxurious, fully equipped , comforta...

Official online rates

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Noctua beer

A guide to the best Greek beer and microbreweries to freshen up your holiday

Oia in Santorini

Getting around Greece by ferry in the Covid-19 era

Hiking Balos trail

The 8 most popular outdoor adventures in Greece

It’s time to explore everything you’ll recall about Kefalonia for a lifetime

10 vivid memories you’ll be taking home from Kefalonia

Easter pot smashing on Corfu

Celebrate Easter in the Ionian

Scuba cave diving

5 popular scuba diving destinations in Greece

Plaka district in Athens

Unique things to do in Athens right now!

Acrocorinth (Upper Corinth)

Discover the top 10 cultural sites in the Peloponnese

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 of the best museums in Athens

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

Athens shopping guide: Where to find the best Greek designers & memorabilia

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 historical buildings in Athens for architecture lovers

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens