Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m
COVER STORY

12 destinations à l’origine des mythes grecs

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m
READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour boire un café grec

De l’imagination à la réalité, revivez quelques-unes des plus belles légendes de la mythologie grecque. 

L’olivier d’Athéna, la jalousie d’Héra, la rage de Zeus, le courage de Thésée, les pouvoirs surhumains d’Achille et le fleuve qui mène aux Enfers... La mythologie regorge d’histoires liées à des lieux précis de Grèce. De nos jours, ces derniers continuent de captiver l’imagination et d’inciter au voyage. De l’Acropole au mont Olympe, préparez-vous à un périple dans le monde magique des Anciens.     

1. Athènes – Le concours entre Athéna et Poséidon 

Peu de villes peuvent se vanter d'un lien aussi étroit avec une divinité qu Athènes. Athéna, déesse de la sagesse, donna son nom à celle-ci, après avoir rivalisé avec Poséidon pour en obtenir la protection. Cet honneur devait revenir au dieu qui offrirait le cadeau le plus précieux. 

Poséidon frappa de son trident le rocher de l' Acropolis et ouvrit un puits, d’où jaillit une fontaine d’eau inépuisable.  Cependant, comme il était le dieu de la mer, celle-ci était salée et imbuvable. 

Athéna, quant à elle, fit pousser un olivier en fleurs, dont les citoyens jugèrent la valeur bien supérieure au présent de Poséidon (certaines sources disent que le juge du concours fut Cécrops, le premier roi d’Athènes). C'est pour cette raison que la capitale grecque porte le nom d’Athènes, et non de Poséidonie. 

The academy of Athens

2. Sounion – Le roi Égée, la mer Égée et le retour tragique de Thésée

Si Athéna gagna la protection d’Athènes, Poséidon n’en fut pas moins joliment dédommagé : les Athéniens érigèrent en son honneur un magnifique temple au cap Sounion. On raconte que le roi Égée se rendait chaque jour sur ce magnifique promontoire, qui domine la mer Égée à l’est de l’Attique, et qu'il surveillait l’horizon dans l’attente du retour de Thésée, son fils, parti en Crète pour combattre le dangereux Minotaure. Il avait demandé à Thésée de hisser les voiles blanches s'il revenait vainqueur. 

Cependant, le héros oublia de les changer. Quand il vit le navire s’approcher avec ses voiles noires, le roi se jeta du haut de la falaise et mourut. C'est ainsi que la mer dans laquelle il perdit la vie prit son nom: Égée.  

Découvrez le meilleur des îles de la mer Égée

3. Ithaque – Le retour d’Ulysse 

le voyage importe davantage que la destination

Nulle légende plus épique que celle du voyage d’Ulysse, qui mit dix ans à retourner à Ithaque  après une décennie de guerre à Troie. Sa réussite dut tout à son courage et à sa ruse, ainsi qu’au sacrifice de ses hommes, comme le décrit la célèbre Odyssée d’Homère. Combattre les Cicones, échapper aux Lotophages, aveugler le cyclope Polyphème (fils du dieu de la mer, Poséidon, dont il provoqua la fureur)... Ulysse surmonta chaque épreuve. Sur l’île d’Éole, il reçut un sac qui renfermait les vents, dont Éole était le maître. Le héros était sur le point d’arriver au bout de sa quête quand l’un de ses hommes succomba à la curiosité et ouvrit le sac. La tempête qui en sortit projeta Ulysse dans une nouvelle série d’aventures... Il dut survivre aux Lestrygons, géants mangeurs d'hommes, échapper aux charmes de la sorcière Circé, descendre au royaume d’Hadès et – parmi d’autres épreuves – traverser le détroit entre Charybde et Scylla, respectivement un violent tourbillon et un monstre à six têtes. 

Il finit par atteindre les rivages verdoyants d’Ithaque. Cependant, un dernier défi l’attendait. Pour récupérer sa couronne, il dut assassiner les prétendants de sa fidèle épouse, Pénélope. C'est ainsi qu’il acheva son voyage, symbole du retour et de l’accomplissement du désir le plus profond de l’homme. 

Notons qu’il existe des doutes sur le fait que l’Ithaque actuelle corresponde à celle d’Homère. Selon des sources antiques et des découvertes archéologiques, il pourrait s’agir également les îles ioniennes voisines, Céphalonie ou Leucade. Cependant, tout ceci a peu d’importance en regard du sens de l’Odyssée, qui nous rappelle que le voyage importe davantage que la destination. 

The lovely settlement of Frikes, with a sense of luxury

4. Le Pélion – La montagne des centaures

un enchaînement d'événements qui conduisirent à la guerre de Troie

Dans la forêt épaisse du mont Pélion vivaient autrefois les centaures, créatures au torse humain et aux pattes de cheval. Leur réputation ne tenait pas seulement à leur force physique, mais aussi à leur sagesse. Chiron était considéré comme le plus sage et le plus juste d’entre eux. Petit rappel des héros qui furent envoyés sur les pentes verdoyantes du Pélion pour recevoir ses enseignements: Hercule, Thésée, Jason, Ulysse, Achille et son père, Pélée, qui donna son nom à la région.  

Chiron organisa le glorieux mariage de Pélée et Thétis, auquel tous les dieux furent invités – à l’exception d’Eris, déesse de la discorde. Furieuse, cette dernière s’introduisit à la fête et plaça parmi les convives une pomme d’or sur laquelle était écrit « à la plus belle ». La dispute qui s’ensuivit entre Héra, Athéna et Aphrodite provoqua un enchaînement d'événements qui conduisirent à la guerre de Troie. 

Suivez les pas des centaures sur le Pélion

5. Cnossos – Thésée et le Minotaure 

Cnossos, site du plus grand palais de la civilisation minoenne  en Crète, est inextricablement lié au labyrinthe légendaire du roi Minos. Ce dernier y avait enfermé la progéniture sanguinaire des amours de son épouse, Pasiphaé, avec un taureau blanc. Le Minotaure, doté d'un corps d’homme et d'une tête de taureau, devint prisonnier du labyrinthe après que Minos eut consulté l’Oracle de Delphes. Tous les neuf ans, Athènes devait lui envoyer en pâture sept jeunes hommes et sept jeunes filles, en guise de punition pour la guerre qu’elle avait menée (et perdue) contre les Minoens. 

Ce châtiment perdura jusqu’à ce que le héros athénien Thésée décide de faire partie des sept jeunes gens offerts en sacrifice et qu’il vainque le Minotaure. Il fut aidé par Ariane, fille du roi Minos, qui était tombée amoureuse de lui à son arrivée en Crète.  Après lui avoir fait promettre qu'il l’emmènerait avec lui à Athènes et qu’il l’épouserait, elle lui donna une pelote de fil pour retrouver son chemin dans le labyrinthe. Thésée trouva le Minotaure et le tua. Il suivit ensuite le fil qu'il avait déroulé depuis l’entrée.   

6. Naxos – L’île où Dionysos tomba amoureux

On raconte que Zeus grandit sur Naxos. À l’origine, l’île s’appelait Dias (le nom grec de Zeus); en outre, sa plus haute montagne se nomme Zeus (ou Zas, pour les habitants). Cependant, le mythe le plus célèbre associé à cette île des Cyclades est lié à Dionysos, le dieu du vin. Alors que Thésée retournait à Athènes après avoir tué le Minotaure, il fit une brève halte à Naxos. Il y abandonna Ariane, malgré sa promesse de l’épouser. 

Celle-ci, épuisée par le voyage et par la douleur de la séparation, s’endormit sur une plage, où Dionysos la trouva par hasard. Il tomba aussitôt amoureux d’elle. Après l’avoir épousée, il la conduisit sur le mont Olympe dans une procession bachique solennelle et Zeus la rendit immortelle. Une version de la légende veut que Thésée ait abandonné Ariane sur l’îlot qui jouxte aujourd’hui l’extrémité du port de Naxos. L' Portara (entrée monumentale du temple inachevé d’Apollon) s’y dresse toujours actuellement.

7. Dion et le mont Olympe – Le jardin des dieux  

Le sanctuaire de Dion se trouvait au pied du mont Olympe. Comme son nom l’indique, il était consacré à Zeus. Un immense autel y avait été érigé, à l’ombre de la montagne des dieux, pour les offrandes qui leur étaient destinées. Avec le temps, Dion devint le centre spirituel et religieux des Macédoniens, Il accueillait d’importantes compétitions théâtrales, musicales et sportives, en l’honneur du roi des dieux et des neuf Muses, ses filles. C'est là qu’Alexandre le Grand commença sa légendaire campagne pour conquérir le vaste empire perse, après que furent organisés des jeux et des sacrifices à Zeus parmi les plus mémorables de Dion.

The Archaeological Park of Dion

8. Éleusis – L’enlèvement de Perséphone 

 le dieu des Enfers soit tombé amoureux de la jeune Perséphone

Éleusis (de nos jours Elefsina, dans l’ouest de l’Attique) était le site de l’un des sanctuaires les plus importants de la Grèce antique. C’est là que se tenaient chaque année les mystères d’Éleusis, avec une cérémonie d’initiation pour les participants, qui devaient jurer de garder le secret. Le peu que nous connaissons de ces rites est lié au mythe de l’enlèvement de Perséphone par Hadès, qui l’emmena aux Enfers, et à son retour auprès de sa mère Déméter, déesse de l’agriculture et des moissons. La légende veut que le dieu des Enfers soit tombé amoureux de la jeune Perséphone et qu'il soit apparu sur son char pour l’enlever, en passant par une brèche dans la terre. Inconsolable, Déméter ne laissa plus rien pousser jusqu’au retour de sa fille. 

L’intervention de Zeus mena à un accord selon lequel Perséphone partagerait l’année entre Hadès et sa mère. La nature se mit alors à s’affaiblir et à geler en automne et en hiver, pour renaître et verdir au printemps et en été. Le cycle symbolise celui de la nature, qui décline et renaît, mais aussi celui de la vie elle-même.

9. L’Achéron – Le fleuve qui conduit aux Enfers

Tu ne peux rien recevoir de celui qui n’a rien à donner

Le lac Achérousie et l’Achéron font partie des paysages naturels les plus beaux et les plus sereins de Grèce. Pourtant, dans l’Antiquité, on considérait que s’y trouvaient les portes des Enfers. Charon, le nocher, assurait la traversée des âmes des morts, pour les mener au royaume d’Hadès. 

Le prix du voyage s'élevait à une pièce (une obole). On raconte qu'une seule âme – celle de Ménippe, qui était sans le sou – persuada Charon de la laisser embarquer sans payer, grâce à cet argument mémorable: «Tu ne peux rien recevoir de celui qui n’a rien à donner. » Les vivants ne pouvaient pas accéder à l’Hadès. De courageux personnages y arrivèrent cependant, après avoir effectué la traversée avec Charon – notamment Hercule, Thésée et Orphée.

10. Delphes – Apollon et Python

l’oracle le plus important du monde antique

Avant de recevoir son nom mondialement connu, Delphes s'appelait Pytho, d’après Python, le redoutable dragon (ou serpent) qui y vivait. Jalouse de la déesse Léto, qui était tombée enceinte de Zeus avant qu’elle ne l’épouse, Héra avait envoyé Python pour la chasser, afin qu’elle ne puisse pas donner naissance au jumeaux Apollon et Artémis. Lorsqu’Apollon grandit, il tua le monstre avec ses flèches empoisonnées, malgré la loi divine qui interdisait le meurtre dans l’enceinte du domaine. Zeus envoya Apollon en exil, dans l’extrême nord, chez les Hyperboréens

À son retour, le dieu établit son temple et son oracle à Pytho. La grande prêtresse du sanctuaire fut appelée la Pythie, en mémoire du dragon qu'il avait assassiné. Le temple de Delphes devint l’oracle le plus important du monde antique. On y donnait des prophéties neuf fois par an, au cours des mois où Apollon était présent. 

11. Délos – Léto et l’origine des Cyclades

Bannie par Zeus, Léto parcourut le monde en quête d'un lieu où accoucher. Elle avait reçu l’interdiction de toucher les terres. Elle finit par trouver refuge sur Délos – dont on pensait qu’elle flottait –, après avoir promis la grandeur à cette île méconnue. Elle mit Artémis au monde sans difficultés, mais neuf jours et neuf nuits de douleurs furent nécessaires à la naissance d’Apollon: on raconte qu’Héra, toujours jalouse, avait enlevé Ilithyie, déesse de l’Enfantement, et qu’Artémis aurait aidé sa mère à accoucher de son frère. 

Apollon naquit sous un palmier en présence des autres déesses, envoyées pour assister à la naissance d'une divinité. Délos (alors nommée Astérios) fut ainsi associée à jamais au dieu du soleil, conducteur des Muses. Les richesses suivirent. Les anciens Déliens montrèrent leur respect à Apollon en créant un vaste sanctuaire en son honneur. Délos jouissait d’un tel statut que les Anciens la considéraient comme le cœur des îles de la région, appelées pour cette raison les Cyclades

À la découverte du lieu de naissance d’Apollon à Délos 

12. Némée – Hercule et le lion 

Le premier des douze travaux d’Hercule – et le plus connu – consista à tuer un lion qui terrorisait Némée. La peau de ce dernier résistait aux armes des hommes; quant à ses griffes, elles pouvaient déchirer l’armure la plus solide. À Némée, Hercule fut reçu dans la cabane du berger Molorchos, qui avait perdu son fils à cause du lion. Il fut le premier à rendre hommage au héros, dont il avait reconnu les pouvoirs surnaturels. Hercule suivit la bête à la trace à travers la campagne néméenne, avant de trouver sa tanière, qui comportait deux entrées. Il bloqua l’une avec des pierres et passa par l’autre; il surprit alors le lion et le frappa avec une massue. Au cours de leur lutte, l’animal arracha un doigt à Hercule. Ce dernier réalisa qu’aucune arme ne pouvait le vaincre. Il l’étrangla donc à mains nues. 

Pour prouver sa réussite et se protéger des attaques, le héros se para de la toison du lion. Eurysthée, le roi de Mycènes qui avait imposé ses travaux à Hercule, le prit tout d’abord pour la bête et se cacha. Quant à l’animal, les dieux élevèrent sa dépouille au ciel pour former la constellation du Lion.

Ruins of Ancient Corinth
Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Theoxenia Residence

Athènes

Theoxenia Residence is the newest luxury boutique hotel in the most exclusive area of Kifissia in Kefalari. It features spacious, lavishly decorated suites w...

Official online rates

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Hiking Balos trail

Les 8 activités de plein air les plus appréciées en Grèce

Oia in Santorini

Déplacement en ferry en Grèce à l'époque de la Covid-19

Sunset in Serifos

Les 12 escapades les plus romantiques de Grèce

Ancient Parthenon Acropolis Athens

10 activités à faire à Athènes avec vos enfants

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Où trouver le meilleur du street art à Athènes

Oia in Santorini

Déplacement en ferry en Grèce à l'époque de la Covid-19

From the beautiful chapel of Agios Konstantinos nearby, you can look out beyond Livadi onto Cycladic islands… Sifnos, Milos and (on clear days) Tinos and Mykonos

Découvrez les 10 meilleures choses à faire à Sérifos

Sunset in Serifos

Les 12 escapades les plus romantiques de Grèce

Ancient Parthenon Acropolis Athens

10 activités à faire à Athènes avec vos enfants

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m
COVER STORY

12 destinations that gave life to Greek mythology

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m
READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

Relive some of the greatest tales from Greek mythology… in the mind and then in the flesh. 

Athena’s olive tree, Hera’s jealousy, Zeus’ rage, Theseus’ bravery, Achilles’ superhuman powers and the river that leads to the Underworld. Mythology is full of tales relating to places in Greece that continue to capture the imagination and inspire travel. From the Acropolis to Mt Olympus, prepare to journey into the magical world of the ancients.

 

1. Athens – The contest between Athena and Poseidon

Few cities are as closely tied to a divine figure as Athens is to Athena. The goddess of wisdom gave her name to Athens after competing with Poseidon to become patron of the city. Whoever’s gift was deemed more valuable would have the honour.

Poseidon struck the rock of the Acropolis with his trident, opening up a well from which spouted an inexhaustible supply of water. But being the sea god, his water source was salty and undrinkable.

Athena, on the other hand, produced a blooming olive tree, deemed far more valuable by the citizens of the city (although some sources say Cecrops, the first king of Athens, was the judge). And so the Greek capital is known as Athens and not Poseidonia.  

The academy of Athens

2. Sounion – King Aegeus, the Aegean and the tragic return of Theseus 

Athena may have won the battle to be protector of Athens, but Poseidon was well-compensated in defeat, with a magnificent temple built in his honour by the Athenians at Cape Sounion. It is said that King Aegeus made the journey daily to the beautiful outcrop, set high above the sea in eastern Attica, and looked longingly over the horizon for the return of his son, Theseus, who had travelled to Crete to do battle with the deadly Minotaur. He had asked his son to hoist white sails if he was successful.

And so, upon seeing the black-sailed vessel approaching, Aegeus leapt from the cliffs to his death – only for the Minotaur-slaying Theseus to have forgotten to change the sails. And from that point on, the sea that claimed the life of Athens’ king would be known as the Aegean.  

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

3. Ithaca – The homecoming of Odysseus 

it’s not so much about the destination as it is the journey

No tale can be more epic than that of Odysseus’ 10-year journey back to Ithaca after the decade-long Trojan War. That he succeeded owed everything to his courage and cunning, as well as the sacrifices of his men, as famously described in Homer’s Odyssey. Battling against the Cicones, breaking free from the Lotus-Eaters, blinding the one-eyed Cyclops Polyphemus (son of the enraged sea god Poseidon) … Odysseus overcame every challenge. On the island of Aeolus (keeper of winds), he was gifted a sack containing the winds and was on the verge of completing his quest when one of his men, overcome with curiosity, opened the sack. The resultant storm blew Odysseus onto another set of adventures… surviving the man-eating giant Laestrygonians, escaping the amorous clutches of the sorceress Circe, travelling to Hades’ Underworld and (amongst other trials) navigating the strait between the six-headed monster Scylla and the violent whirlpool Charybdis.

He eventually reached the green shores of Ithaca, only to be presented with a final challenge. To reclaim his crown, he had to kill the suitors competing for the hand of his faithful wife, Penelope. In so doing, Odysseus completed the journey symbolic of homecoming and fulfilling your deepest desire.

It’s also worth noting that there are some doubts as to whether today’s Ithaca was actually Homer’s Ithaca. According to ancient sources and archaeological finds, it’s just as likely to be the neighbouring Ionian Island of Kefalonia or Lefkada. But that hardly seems to matter because Odysseus’ story is the perfect reminder that in travel, it’s not so much about the destination as it is the journey.

The lovely settlement of Frikes, with a sense of luxury

4. Pelion – The mountain of the Centaurs

a chain of events that led to the start of the Trojan War

In the dense forests of Mt Pelion lived the ancient world’s Centaurs – human-bodied from the waist up but with the legs and hooves of a horse. They were famed not just for their superb physical strength but for their wisdom, with Chiron deemed the wisest and justest of them all. A Who’s who of heroes was sent to Pelion’s leafy slopes to learn from Chiron – Hercules, Theseus, Jason, Odysseus and Achilles and his father Peleus, after whom the region was named.

Indeed, it was Chiron who organised the glorious wedding of Peleus and Thetis, to which all the gods were invited – with the exception of Eris, the goddess of strife and discord. Furious, Eris slipped into the wedding and placed a golden apple with the words ‘to the fairest’ on it amongst the guests. The ensuing argument between Hera, Athena and Aphrodite set off a chain of events that led to the start of the Trojan War.  

Follow the Centaurs’ path in Pelion

5. Knossos – Theseus and the Minotaur 

Knossos, the site of the Minoan civilisation’s grandest palace in Crete, is indelibly linked to the legendary labyrinth created by King Minos to contain the bloodthirsty offspring of the love affair between his wife, Pasiphae, and a white bull. With the body of a human and the head of a bull, the Minotaur was contained in the maze after Minos’ consultation with the Oracle of Delphi and fed seven young men and seven maidens from Athens every nine years, as punishment for the Athenians’ ill-fated war against the Minoans.

That was until Athenian hero Theseus took it upon himself to be one of the seven men and vanquish the Minotaur. He was helped by Ariadne, King Minos’ daughter who fell in love with Theseus upon his arrival in Crete. After making him promise that he would take her with him to Athens and marry her, she gave him a ball of thread to mark his route within the maze. He duly found and killed the Minotaur and successfully retraced his steps to the entrance of the maze.  

6. Naxos – Where Dionysus fell in love 

It is said that Zeus grew up on Naxos. The island was originally called Dias (Greek for Zeus) and its tallest mountain is known as Zeus (or Zas to the locals). But the most famous myth associated with the Cycladic island has to do with Dionysus, the god of wine. On his return journey to Athens after slaying the Minotaur in Crete, Theseus made a brief stop in Naxos. He left Ariadne there, despite his promise to marry her.

Exhausted from the journey and the pain of separation, Ariadne fell asleep on a beach, where Dionysus chanced upon her and instantly fell in love. After marrying her, Dionysus led Ariadne to Mt Olympus in a solemn Bacchic procession, where Zeus made her immortal. According to one version of the legend, Theseus left Ariadne on the islet that today joins the edge of the port of Naxos, where the Portara (the monumental entrance of the unfinished Temple of Apollo) still stands. 

7. Mt Olympus and Dion – the backyard of the gods  

The sanctuary of Dion was founded upon the green foothills of Mt Olympus and, as its name suggests, was dedicated to Zeus. A huge altar was erected to make divine offerings to the gods, in the shadow of their mountain home. In time, Dion became the spiritual and religious centre of the Macedonians, hosting important theatrical, musical and sporting competitions in honour of the king of the gods and his daughters, the nine Muses. Indeed, this is where Alexander the Great’s legendary campaign to conquer the vast Persian Empire began, after the staging of one of Dion’s most memorable games and sacrifices to Zeus. 

The Archaeological Park of Dion

8. Elefsina – The Abduction of Persephone

the god of the Underworld fell in love with the young Persephone

Eleusis (modern-day Elefsina, in western Attica) was the site of one of the most important sanctuaries in ancient Greece. It is where the Eleusinian Mysteries were held each year, with an initiation ceremony for participants who were sworn to secrecy. What little we know of the ritual includes the myth of the abduction of Persephone by Hades to the Underworld and her eventual return to her mother, Demeter, the goddess of agriculture. According to the myth, the god of the Underworld fell in love with the young Persephone and appeared in his chariot through a gap in the earth and kidnapped her. Inconsolable, Demeter did not let the earth bear fruit until the return of her daughter.

After the intervention of Zeus, it was agreed that Persephone would split the year between Hades and her mother, with the result that nature fell ill and froze in autumn and winter and was reborn and turned green in spring and summer. The cycle symbolises the constant decay and rebirth of nature – and consequently life itself. 

9. Acheron – The river to the Underworld

you cannot receive from him who does not have

Lake Acherousia and the Acheron River, in Epirus, are today amongst the most beautiful and serene natural landscapes in Greece. But in ancient times, it was believed that this is where the Gates to the Underworld were found. It was the task of the ferryman Charon to transport the souls of the newly deceased across the river and into the kingdom of Hades.

The cost of transportation was a coin (an obolus). It is said that only one soul, the penniless Menippus, convinced Charon to take him without payment, with the memorable argument that “you cannot receive from him who does not have”. Hades was strictly out of bounds for the living, of course, but there were some brave characters who made the crossing with Charon, amongst them Hercules, Theseus and Orpheus

10. Delphi – Apollo and Python 

the most important oracle of the ancient world

Before being given the name that has become an international landmark, Delphi was known as Pytho, after the fearsome dragon-serpent that lived there, called Python. In a fit of jealously against fellow goddess Leto, who had fallen pregnant to Zeus before her marriage to the king of the gods, Hera sent Python to chase Leto so that she would not give birth to twins Apollo and Artemis. When Apollo grew up, he killed Python with his poisoned arrows, despite murder being forbidden by divine law in the precinct in which the dragon lived. Apollo was banished by Zeus to the mythical Land of the Far North.

When he returned, he founded his own temple and oracle in Pytho and, in memory of the slain dragon, the sanctuary’s high priestess was called Pythia. Delphi’s Temple of Apollo became the most important oracle of the ancient world, offering prophecies nine times a year, during the months that Apollo was present.  

11. Delos – Leto and the origin of the Cyclades

Banished by Zeus, Leto wandered the ancient world looking for a place to give birth, having been forbidden from touching land. She eventually found refuge on Delos, believed to be floating, on the promise that the little-known island be destined for greatness. There she gave birth to Artemis without trouble, but her labour with Apollo lasted nine painful days and nights. It is said that the ever-jealous Hera had kidnapped Eileithyia, the goddess of childbirth, and that it was Artemis who assisted the delivery of her twin brother.

In the presence of the other goddesses (sent to witness the birth of a deity) Apollo was born under a palm tree, forever associating the island of Delos (then named Asterios) with the sun god and leader of the Muses.

Riches duly followed and the ancient Delians showed their appreciation to Apollo by creating a vast sanctuary in his honour. Such was the standing of Delos that the ancients saw it as the centrepiece of the surrounding islands, henceforth known as the Cyclades

Explore the birthplace of Apollo on Delos

12. Nemea – Hercules and the Nemean Lion 

The first and best-known of the Labours of Hercules was to kill a lion that was terrorising Nemea. Impenetrable to mortal weapons, the lion’s skin was golden and its claws could tear even the strongest armour. In Nemea, Hercules was welcomed to the hut of the shepherd Molorchos, who had lost his son to the lion. Recognising the supernatural powers of his guest, Molorchos was the first to pay homage to Hercules. After tracking the lion across the Nemean countryside, Hercules found its den, which he noted had two entrances. He blocked one with rocks and entered from the other, surprising the lion and beating it with a club. In the struggle, the lion cut off one of Hercules' fingers. Realising that no weapon could defeat the beast, he strangled it with his bare hands.

To prove his success and protect himself from attack, Hercules wore the lion’s golden hide. The king of Mycenae, Eurystheus, who had challenged Hercules to the labours, initially mistook him for the lion and hid. As for the lion, the gods raised what was left of it to the heavens, forming the constellation of Leo. 

Ruins of Ancient Corinth

Plan your trip

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

Litohoro village is the starting point for day trips on the mountain

7 Olympian-sized reasons to discover Pieria

Bazeos tower, one of the most well-known monuments of Naxos

8 reasons to make you visit Naxos again and again

Strolling around the cobblestone alleyways of the main town

12 Unforgettable things to do in Mykonos

Hiking to the Black Cave and Via Ferrata

11 ways to reconnect with nature in Central Greece

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

A little before you reach Koumaros, you pass Exomvourgo Castle, high up on a 640m conical hill

9 steps to uncovering the authenticity of Tinos