The gate of the Olympus National Park
Scroll
Heute
13°
THU
FRI
SAT
SUN
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Ein göttlicher Urlaub auf Griechenlands höchstem Berg, dem mythischen Sitz der zwölf Olympischen Götter

Vielleicht haben Sie sich ja schon immer mal gewünscht, einmal auf dem Thron des Göttervaters Zeus zu sitzen und auf ganz Griechenland herabzusehen. Nun, in der Tat, dort oben ist zwar kein Thron zu besichtigen, aber Besucher bemerken gleich, dass der Olymp in Zentralgriechenland doch eine Welt für sich ist. Griechenlands sagenumwobener und  höchster Berg hält für jeden Besucher etwas Besonderes bereit - und dazu muss man nicht unbedingt den Gipfel besteigen:  Sanft ansteigende Pfade, versteckte Ecken, turmhohe Bäume, Felsvorsprünge und seltene Wildblumen.

Sie können die Gebirgsausläufer mit dem Auto oder dem Mountainbike erkunden. Am meisten können sich aber die Wanderer freuen. Es hat sich vielleicht einmal unmachbar angehört, aber jetzt ist klar: Sie können den atemberaubenden Gipfel des berühmten Olymp erklimmen.

Besichtigen Sie auf dem Olymp

Mytikas-Der Gipfel von Griechenland

Mytikas ist der höchste Gipfel des Olymps. Das Gebirgsmassiv hat vier weitere, nur wenig tiefer liegende Gipfel, den Skolio, Stefani, Skala und Profitis Ilias. Meist verdecken sie Wolken, aber wenn Sie Glück haben, werden Sie  einmal freie Sicht auf die Gipfel haben,werden Sie ihn strahlend und erleuchtend sehen.  Vielleicht deshalb lautete eine der antiken Bedeutung des Wortes „Olymp“ zur Zeit Homers “der Leuchtende”.

Klettern im Königreich der Götter

Der Dichter Homer beschreibt den strahlend-leuchtenden Olymp, “den ewigen Sitz der Götter, nie von Winden erschüttert, nie von Regen durchnässt, nie von Schnee bedeckt, jedoch ist es hier wolkenlos und die Luft ist klar und über ihm schwebt ein strahlendes Weiß” (Odyssee, VI, 41). Dieses leuchtende Weiß ist es, das noch heute die Kletterer inspiriert. Mit der passenden Ausrüstung und einer Portion Willen, kann jeder, der einigermaßen fit ist, den Gipfel des Olymp langsam aber sicher erreichen.

Der Nationalpark und das einzigartige Ökosystem

Im Herzen des Olymp liegt Griechenlands bedeutendster Nationalpark. Hier können Sie Zwiesprache mit Griechenlands “göttlichem” Naturerbe halten. Sturzrinnen und Erhöhungen, Schluchten und Hochplateaus, tiefe Höhlen und gewaltige Felsen machen den Olymp zu einem Naturerlebnis der Superlative. Entdecken Sie mehr als 1500 Pflanzenarten, einige davon nur hier beheimatet, dutzende Tierarten sowie viele seltene Vögel.

Den Gipfel erklimmen

Der Wanderweg beginnt an der Stelle Prionia, 1100 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel. Sie können mit dem Auto bis zum Startpunkt fahren. Von da an aber sind die Beine dran. Die Wanderroute E4 führt auch hier hinauf, über den Ort Litochoro und die Epineas-Schlucht. Die Wanderung dauert durchschnittlich drei Stunden bis Sie die Hütte Spilios Agapitos erreichen, sowie weitere drei Stunden von dort aus bis zum Gipfel Mytikas. Allerdings ist es nicht zwingend, die gesamte Route an einem Tag zu wandern.

Versteckte Juwelen des Olymp

Die Enipeas-Schlucht  eine Abenteuerreise

Auf dieser Route beginnt der Aufstieg in der Schlucht, die von dem Fluss Enipeas geformt wurde. Sie liegt oberhalb des Ortes Litochoro. Nach einer etwa vierstündigen Wanderung erreichen Sie das Kloster des Heiligen Dionysios, das im 15. Jahrhundert gegründet wurde. Bestaunen Sie die Kuppel und sammeln Sie Kräfte, um den Aufstieg fortzusetzen.

Von Angesicht zu Angesicht mit Zeus

Am Olymp-Gipfel Stefani, der auf Griechisch wegen seiner Form “Kranz” genannt wird, sind Sie der Mythologie ganz nahe. Denn auf diesem Gipfel soll der Sage nach Zeus gethront haben. In der Dämmerung kann man mit etwas Fantasie am Gipfelfelsen das Gesicht eines Mannes mit einer Hakennase und langem Haar erkennen. Manch einer wird sagen, dass dies der Götterkönig selbst sei. 

Der Olymp-Marathon

Dieser Marathon hat eine alte Route der Antike wieder ins Leben gerufen. Einmal im Jahr machten sich Athleten zu Ehren des Gottes Zeus auf den Weg zum Gipfel des Olymp. Der Marathon startet an der archäologischen Stätte von Dion, 5 m über dem Meeresspiegel, und endet auf einer Höhe von 2780 m, knapp unterhalb des berühmten „Thron des Zeus”.

Epineas waterfalls, with a beautiful plunge pool that you can swim in

Erleben Sie das Beste von Olymp

Hiking from Myli, just outside Litochoro, to Prionia (the highest point reachable by car) is one of the most popular routes

Erkundung der Wanderwege des Olymp

Ob Sie die Heimat der Götter erobern oder sanft durch die göttliche Natur wandern möchten, der Olymp steht bereit, Sie zu begrüßen.
  • Mytikas-Der Gipfel von Griechenland
  • Der Nationalpark und das einzigartige Ökosystem
  • Den Gipfel erklimmen
  • Die Enipeas-Schlucht
  • Der Olymp-Marathon
Highlights

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 fantastische Reiseziele in Griechenland, die Sie unbedingt sehen sollten

Sie kennen das Gefühl, wenn Sie einen Ort gefunden haben, wovon Sie allen erzählen wollen.
Aerial view of the Old stone bridge in Klidonia Zagoria in the autumn, Epirus, Western Greece. This arch bridge with elongated arch built in 1853.

Natur

Griechenlands Natur hat Reize zu jeder Jahreszeit
Wooden bridges criss-cross the 10km Epineas path along the densely-forested valley

Wandern in Greichenland: beliebte Strecken

Entdecken Sie die Geheimnisse der griechischen Berge: die beliebtesten Urlaubsziele.

Olympus

A mythical escape of mountain and sea
The gate of the Olympus National Park
Scroll
Today
16°
TUE
WED
THU
FRI
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Whether you want the challenge of reaching Greece’s highest peak or fancy exploring some of the hiking paths along the lower slopes, Mt Olympus more than lives up to its legend as home of the 12 Olympian gods

Central Greece’s highest and most majestic mountain, Olympus, is a world in itself. There is much to discover even if you don’t make it to the summit: gentle paths, hidden corners, towering trees, wildflowers and unruly rocks, below and above the clouds. You can explore the foothills by car or mountain bike, but the greatest rewards will go to the hikers on these awesome peaks.

What to do in Olympus

Mytikas, 2,917m closer to heaven

Only birds (and planes) fly higher than Mytikas, the highest of Olympus’ peaks. It and the other slightly lower summits – Skolio, Stefani, Skala and Prophitis Ilias – make up this massive range, often veiled in clouds. But when they part, there is no more dazzling sight than these dramatic natural spires boldly outlined against the deep blue firmament. After all, one of the meanings of the word Olympus has, since Homer’s days, been ‘shining’.

In the realm of the gods

As Homer described the shining palace of the gods of Ancient Greece, “Olympus was not shaken by winds nor ever wet with rain, nor did snow fall upon it, but the air is outspread clear and cloudless, and over it hovered a radiant whiteness.” (Odyssey, VI, 41) This whiteness inspires present-day climbers, too. With the proper equipment (and a bit of determination), any reasonably fit person can reach the top, slowly but surely, one step at a time.

National Park and a unique ecosystem

You’ll immediately understand why Olympus is the country’s first and most important national park. Ravines and ridges, gorges and plateaus, deep caves and daunting rocks make impressive snapshots. But they’re not just photogenic. This mountain hosts more than 1,500 types of plant (some endemic), dozens of animal species and many rare birds.

Climbing to the summit

Most hikers start the challenge of scaling Olympus at Prionia, 1,100m above sea level. You can come this far by car but from here on, it’s just you and your legs. The E4 path also passes this way via coastal Litohoro, along the Enipeas Gorge. It’s an average of three hours to the Spilios Agapitos refuge, maybe another three to Mytikas. But you don’t have to do it all in one day.

Hidden gems of Olympus

The Enipeas Gorge: travel to adventure

This path begins the ascent from the gorge formed by the Enipeas River, above the village of Litohoro. After about four hours of walking, you’ll come to the well-known monastery of Agios Dionysios, which has been there since the mid-15th century. With your gaze fixed on its dome, you’ll take courage and continue the climb.

Tête-à-tête with Zeus

Mythology relates that Stefani, the peak shaped like a wreath as its name implies, was where Zeus sat enthroned. Here in the heady atmosphere and rarified air of Olympus, mythology lives on. At dusk, you can just make out a male profile with a hooked nose and long hair in the fading light. Some say it’s the ruler of the gods himself.

The Mt Olympus Marathon

A modern-day marathon has revived the route of the ancient Greeks who, once a year and in honour of their beloved god Zeus, made the journey to the peaks of Mt Olympus. The marathon starts at the archaeological site of Dion, just 5m above sea level, and reaches a height of 2,780m, just below the Throne of Zeus.

Epineas waterfalls, with a beautiful plunge pool that you can swim in

Experience the best of Olympus

Hiking from Myli, just outside Litochoro, to Prionia (the highest point reachable by car) is one of the most popular routes

Exploring the hiking trails of Mount Olympus

Whether you want to conquer the home of the gods or gently hike through divine nature, Mt Olympus stands ready to greet you
  • Mytikas, 2,917m closer to heaven
  • National Park and a unique ecosystem
  • Climbing to the summit
  • The Enipeas Gorge
  • The Mt Olympus Marathon
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Litohoro village is the starting point for day trips on the mountain

7 Olympian-sized reasons to discover Pieria

You know you’re in Pieria because you have Mt Olympus, the legendary mountain of the gods, on one side of you and a beach-lined 70km coastline on the other.
Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 incredible places in Greece you have to see to believe

You know the feeling when you find a place you can’t wait to tell people about. Somewhere you know everyone should visit at least once.
Aerial view of the Old stone bridge in Klidonia Zagoria in the autumn, Epirus, Western Greece. This arch bridge with elongated arch built in 1853.

Nature

Exploring Greece’s rich natural tapestry