Porto Katsiki beach Valdemaras D
Scroll
Heute
13°
SAT
11°
SUN
11°
MON
11°
TUE
12°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dichte Wälder, kosmopolitischer Charme und weltberühmte Strände

Sie haben bestimmt schon einmal Fotos von den weltbekannten Stränden auf Lefkada gesehen. Wenn Sie allerdings erst einmal angekommen sind, ist die Realität sogar noch schöner als die Fantasie. Lefkada, oder auch Lefkas genannt, liegt im ionischem Meer und ist leicht zugänglich, gastfreundlich und lebendig – das Rezept für einen perfekten Sommerurlaub. Kathisma, Egremni, Porto Katsiki – die schönsten Strände im Mittelmeer – haben internationale Anerkennung gewonnen und werden jährlich mit der Blauen Flagge (als Symbol für Reinheit und Qualität) ausgezeichnet.

Kitesurfen Windsurfen, Gleitschirmfliegen, Tauchen, Flüge im Propellerflugzeug, Reiten, Mountainbiken, Segeln um die umliegenden Inseln wie Skorpios... Es gibt kein Ende an Aktivitäten und Sportangeboten. Erkunden Sie  die Insel, entspannen Sie sich in luxuriösen oder traditionellen Hotels, essen Sie in Restaurants direkt am Wasser. Lefkada-Stadt lädt zu einem kulturellen Spaziergang durch die Gassen ein, wo Volkslieder erklingen und die berühmten  bouranelous (Angler) ihr Glück versuchen. Tauchen Sie ein in die magische Welt von Lefkada.

 

Besichtigen Sie in Lefkada 

Die bekanntesten Strände in Lefkada

Das Paradies ist so nah: Strände mit  türkis- und azurblaues Wasser treffen auf weißen Sand, weiße Klippen und glatte, weiße Kieselsteinen. Exotische Strände, Buchten, Klippen, die ins Meer abfallen, die Strände Kathisma, Egremni, Milos, Pefkoulia, Myli und  Ammoglossa werden Sie verzaubern. Der beste Strand der Insel ist Porto Katsiki. Jedes Bad ist eine Seelenreinigung, jeder Strand ein unvergessliches Erlebnis.

Mit offenen Segeln um die kleinen Inseln rund um Lefkada

Am Nydri wiegen sich die Masten im Rhythmus des Windes. Lösen Sie diese Seile und setzen die Segel in azurblauem Wasser zu den ionischen Inseln Pringiponisa, Meganisi, Kalamos und Kastos. Für Segler gehören sie zu den beliebtesten Reisezielen in Griechenland.

Skorpios: Die Insel von Onassis

In der Nähe von Nydri liegt eine der berühmtesten Inseln - nicht nur von Griechenland sonder - von der Welt. Die Sommerzuflucht des Reedereimagnaten Aristoteles Onassis. Er kaufte die Insel 1963 und verzierte sie mit allen Arten von Bäumen und exotischen Pflanzen. Liz Taylor, Richard Burton , Winston Churchill, Könige, Herzöge, Industrielle und natürlich Jackie O – sie alle nahmen an den berühmten Festen und Feiern auf Skorpios und Onassis' Yacht Christina teil. Er wurde hier im Jahre 1975 begraben.

Surfen auf Lefkada

Surfbrett, Segel und auf geht´s nach Vasiliki und Ai Gianni, zwei der besten Strände der Welt für diesen Sport und die Heimat der internationalen Windsurf-Regatta. Wenn Sie lieber Kitesurfen, ist Myli in der Nähe der Stadt ideal. Wer noch mutiger ist, kann sich mit Gleitschirmfliegen einen weiteren Adrenalinkick holen – ein unvergessliches Flugerlebnis mit Landung auf Kathisma, einem der schönsten Strände in Lefkada. Oder fliegen Sie mit einem Leichtflugzeug durch den Himmel. 

Die Legende des Leuchtturms von Lefkata

 An der Stelle 60 m über dem Meeresspiegel, wo heute ein Leuchtturm steht, wurden früher den alten Göttern Opfer gebracht. Deswegen wurde der Tempel Lefkata Apollona hier gebaut. Nach dem 6. Jahrhundert wurden die Gottesopfer durch Opfer verzweifelter Liebhaber ersetzt. Die Dichterin Sappho war angeblich die erste, die sich an den dramatischen, weißen Klippen das Leben nahm.
Die Sappho-Klippe wird auch Kavos Tis Kyras (Damenkap) genannt, nach den unglücklich verliebten Mädchen, die sich hier in den Tod warfen. Er ist eine der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten Lefkadas und Sie sollten Ihn unbedingt besichtigen. 

Von der Burg von Agia Mavra nach Gyra

Am Eingang der Stadt begrüßt Sie die Burg. Im Jahr 1300 erhielt der Venezianer Giovanni Orsini die Insel als Mitgift und begann, die Burg zu bauen. Seine Abwehrstrategie waren sieben Bastionen auf sieben Seiten. Im Inneren befindet sich die Kirche von Agia Mavra, der Schutzpatronin von Lefkada, die jeden 3. Mai mit einem großen Fest gefeiert wird. Vor der Burg auf der Nordwestseite der Stadt umschließt ein dünner Streifen Land, 7 km lang, die Gyras-Lagune. Die rote Villa Kalkani, Windmühlen und Fischerhäuser stehen auf diesem einmaligen Feuchtgebiet, das vielen geschützten Vogelarten eine Heimat gibt.

Spaziergänge voller Überraschungen in Lefkada

Wie der Wind werden auch Sie durch die Gassen der Stadt wirbeln. Schlendern Sie durch Lefkada, über die belebten Plätze und Bürgersteige, entlang der Geschäfte und Kirchen und bewundern Sie die Architektur des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts: Eindrucksvolle Türme, Tempel und exquisite, ionischen Symbole. Die farbigen Metallfassaden in den höheren Stockwerken sind eine einheimische Technik, um Schäden durch Erdbeben zu minimieren. 

Agios Nikitas

Autos sind hier verboten, so dass Sie diese traditionelle Siedlung nur zu Fuß erkunden können: Ein charmanter kleiner Yachthafen, Fisch-Tavernen, Cafés und Bars am Wasser, kleine Hotels und Steinhäuser. Von hier aus können Sie ein Boot nach Mylo nehmen. Die exotische und schöne Insel ist einen Besuch wert.

 

Geheime Juwelen von Lefkada

Die venezianische Olive

In den Schatten der Jahrhunderte alten Olivenbäume versteckt sich eine Geschichte. Der Hain, der den westlichen Teil der Stadt umfasst, wurde im Auftrag der Venezianer im 17. Jahrhundert gepflanzt. Ideal für einen Spaziergang oder eine Radtour durch die unsterblichen Olivenbäume.

Dimosari-Wasserfälle

Folgen Sie dem schattigen Weg unter den Platanen, bis Sie dieses einzigartige Bild sehen: Riesige Felsen und Wasser, das mit großer Kraft in den blauen See fließt. Erfrischen Sie sich in dem kühlen Nass. Ihr Urlaub in Lefkada wird Ihnen ein unvergessliches Erlebnis bleiben.

Englouvis Linsen

Klein, aber groß im Geschmack. Die Linsen werden zum Agios Donatos-Fest (7. August) in großen Kesseln von den Dorffrauen auf dem Plateau oberhalb des Dorfes gekocht. Ein Fest auf dem Teller an dem Sie unbedingt teilnehmen sollten!

Prigkiponisia islets in Lefkada

Erleben Sie das Beste von Lefkada

Kathisma is where wild beauty goes to get a cosmopolitan upgrade

Der Kathisma Strand auf Lefkada

Schon die Szenerie von Kathisma ist genug, um seine Besucher zu bezaubern… Und dazu bekommen sie auch seine unglaubliche Energie zu spüren.
You know you've arrived somewhere special when you are greeted by a staircase of around 100 steps, carved right into the rockface

Der majestätische Strand von Porto Katsiki auf Lefkada

Die Felswand-Kulisse von Porto Katsiki ist von Grandeur und Schönheit geprägt, die kein anderer Strand je erfassen könnte.
Meganisi-An island of just three villages and a population of around 1000

Erkundung der magischen Welt jenseits von Nydri auf Lefkada

Unumgängliche Strände, Insellegenden, traditionelle Fischerdörfer und eine Meereshöhle, die einst ein U-Boot aus dem 2. Weltkrieg schützte, sind nur ein Teil der Welt, die sich...
  • Die Legende des Leuchtturms von Lefkata
  • Mit offenen Segeln um die kleinen Inseln rund um Lefkada
  • Lefkada Strand Porto Katsiki
  • Surfen auf Lefkada
  • Skorpios: Die Insel von Onassis
  • Von der Burg von Agia Mavra nach Gyra
Highlights

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Aerial photo of competition sport paddle surfing or sup between 2 men in tropical waters of Vouliagmeni beach, Athens riviera, Attica, Greece

Surfing, Wasseski und Wakeboarding in Griechenland

Vom Frühling bis spät in den Herbst hinein ist Griechenland das Reiseziel für Surfer und Kiter
Easter pot smashing on Corfu

Ostern auf den Ionischen inseln

Ein göttliches Fest der Farben, Musik und Optimismus ein Vorgeschmack auf den Sommer.
Porto Katsiki beach

Die besten strände in den Ionischen insel

Die Ionischen Inseln bieten eine reiche Auswahl an Stränden, die aus Farben bestehen, die kaum beschrieben werden können. Nur ein paar Highlights reichen aus, um Appetit zu machen.

Lefkada

The sparkling gemstone of the Ionian
Porto Katsiki beach Valdemaras D
Scroll
Today
22°
TUE
20°
WED
19°
THU
19°
FRI
19°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A jewel of an island, with dense forests, cosmopolitan charm and famous beaches

You’re bound to have seen photographs of Lefkada’s world-famous beaches. But when you arrive, you’ll quickly realise that they’re even better in real life. Lefkada (or Lefkas) is easily accessible, hospitable and lively – a recipe for the perfect summer holiday. Kathisma, Egremni, Porto Katsiki – amongst the most beautiful beaches in the Mediterranean – have won international acclaim and are awarded annually with Blue Flags.

Windsurfing, kitesurfing, paragliding, scuba diving, flights in a prop plane, horseback riding, mountain biking, sailing around the surrounding islets, like Skorpios… there’s no end to the activities on offer here. Welcoming Lefkada town will invite you to savour its culture by walking its alleyways, listening to its folk songs, enjoying bowls of Englouvi lentils on the feast day of Agios Donatas and meeting the famous bouranelous, the city dwellers for whom angling is still a major hobby. Immerse yourself in the magical world of Lefkada.

 

What to do on Lefkada

The most popular beaches 

Ready to dive into paradise? This is where turquoise meets azure against a backdrop of white sand, white cliffs or smooth white pebbles. Vast exotic beaches, bays, cliffs that plunge into the sea and a forest of pine trees that tumble intoxicatingly towards the coast. And what a coast! Kathisma, Egremni, Milos, Pefkoulia, Myli, Ammoglossa ... beaches that trip off the tongue. And the island’s number one star, Porto Katsiki. Every swim here seems unforgettable.

Set sail to the islets around Lefkada

At Nydri, row upon row of masts sway to the rhythm of the wind, always poised to cast off. Untie those ropes and set sail in the Ionian’s azure waters for delightful hideaways like Pringiponisa, Meganisi, Kalamos and Kastos. 

Skorpios: Onassis’ island sanctuary

Near Nydri, you’ll find Skorpios, the one-time summer refuge of legendary shipping tycoon Aristotle Onassis. He bought it in 1963 and decorated it with all types of trees and exotic plants. Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, Winston Churchill, kings, dukes, shipping magnates and, of course, Jackie O … all took part in famous parties and celebrations on Skorpios and on Onassis’ yacht, Christina, where they discovered the magic of the Ionian Sea. He was buried here in 1975.

Surfin' Lefkada

Board, boom, sail… and we’re off to windsurf in Vasiliki and Ai Gianni, two beaches loved by windsurfers and home to the International Regatta. If you prefer kitesurfing, Myli, near Lefkada town, is ideal. And if you’re even more courageous, you can paraglide at gorgeous Kathisma beach. Or soar through the sky with one of the Aeroclub’s prop planes or light aircraft.

The legend of Cape Lefkata

When you get here, the legendary energy sweeps you off your feet. At the spot where a lighthouse now stands, 60m above sea level, was the Temple of Lefkata Apollona, where sacrifices were made to the gods in ancient times.

Sacrifices to the gods were eventually replaced by the sacrifices of desperate lovers. The poet Sappho was allegedly the first to jump in 570 BC and the dramatic white cliff is named Sappho’s Leap after her. It has also been called Kavos tis Kyras (Lady’s Cape), after the love-struck girls who also threw themselves to their deaths here. 

From the castle of Agia Mavra to Gyra

When you enter the town, you’ll be welcomed by the castle. In 1300, the Venetian leader Giovanni Orsini received Lefkada as a dowry and began fortifying it with seven bastions on seven sides. Inside, you’ll find the church of Agia Mavra, patron saint of Lefkada, celebrated on May 3 with a huge feast day. From the castle to the northwest side of town, there is a thin strip of land, 7km long that encircles the Gyras Lagoon. The red villa Kalkani, windmills and fishermen’s homes adorn this unique wetland, along with numerous species of protected birds.

Surprises in the alleyways of Lefkada

Like the playful breezes, you will whirl around the town’s alleyways, where you’re in for a whole series of surprises: in the lively squares and sidewalks, stores and churches, 17th and 18th-century architecture, impressive steeples, exquisite temples and Ionian icons. Here, you’ll be struck by the coloured sheet-metal facades of the houses’ upper floors. It’s a unique local ‘life hack’ devised to minimise earthquake damage.

Quaint Agios Nikitas

Cars are prohibited here, so you’ll explore this traditional settlement on foot. It’s a charming little marina, where, amongst the trees, fish tavernas, water’s edge cafes and bars, small hotels and stone-clad cottages abound. From here, you can take a caique to the exotic and beautiful Myli nearby.

 

Hidden gems of Lefkada

The Venetian Olive Grove

The grove, which embraces the western side of town, was planted by order of the Venetians in the 17th century. You’ll enjoy a walk or a bike ride through the immortal olive trees.

Dimosari Waterfalls

Follow the shady path under the planes, until you come upon a unique vision: water cascading with great force over enormous rocks into a radiant blue lake. You won’t be able to resist a dip.

Englouvis lentils 

Small in size but great in flavour. Cooked in large cauldrons by the village women on Agios Donatos’ feast day (August 7) on the plateau above the village. A festival on your plate!


10 ways to let your feet (and mind) wander in Lefkada

Prigkiponisia islets in Lefkada

Experience the best of Lefkada

Meganisi-An island of just three villages and a population of around 1000

Exploring the magical world beyond Nydri on Lefkada

Unmissable beaches, island legends, traditional fishing villages and a sea cave that once sheltered a WW2 submarine are just part of the world that opens...
You know you've arrived somewhere special when you are greeted by a staircase of around 100 steps, carved right into the rockface

The majesty of Porto Katsiki beach on Lefkada

There’s a grandeur and beauty to Porto Katsiki cliff-face setting that no other beach can hope to capture
Kathisma is where wild beauty goes to get a cosmopolitan upgrade

Kathisma beach in Lefkada

Just the setting is enough for Kathisma to wow its visitors … and that’s before they feel its incredible energy
  • The legend of Cape Lefkata
  • Set sail to the islets around Lefkada
  • Porto Katsiki beach
  • Surfin' Lefkada
  • Skorpios: Onassis’ island sanctuary
  • From the castle of Agia Mavra to Gyra
Highlights

Plan your trip

 

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Boat trip to Egremnoi beach

10 ways to let your feet (and mind) wander in Lefkada

You’ll have seen Lefkada even if you haven’t been. Its beaches routinely feature in Top 10 lists around the world, capturing everything magical about the Ionian Sea
Easter pot smashing on Corfu

Celebrate Easter in the Ionian

A divine celebration of colour, music and optimism for that first taste of summer
Porto Katsiki beach

The best swimming spots in 7 island gems in the Ionian

The Ionian Islands offer a rich tapestry of beaches, made up of colours that can barely be described… Just a few highlights are enough to whet the appetite.

Nearby destinations

You might also be interested in exploring