You could spend hours just walking the streets of Hora, building up an appetite as you go
EXPERIENCE

Познакомьтесь с островным островом жизни, прогуливаяс по городку Хора острова Наксос

Знакомство с главным городком острова Наксос окунёт Вас в историю острова и его образ жизни, в котором гармонично сочетается венецианский шарм и пляжный отдых.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
один день
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

Приглашаем Вас совершить пешую экскурсию по главному городу острова Наксос - самого крупного из цепочки Кикладических островов. Городок Хора оправдает ожидания даже самых требовательных туристов. 

Гостей острова, прибывающих морским путём, встречают знаменитые ворота острова – Портара, по форме напоминающие эмблему общества «National Geographic». А над самим городом возвышается венецианская крепость. Считается, что город выстроен на том же месте, что и в античности. Итак, экскурсия обещает стать незабываемой!

Трудно поверить, но в стенах крепости сохранилось средневековое поселение в довольно хорошем состоянии. Архитектура города, простирающегося под стенами крепости, удивляет гармоничным сплетением венецианских и католических мотивов с классическими традициями Кикладических островов.

По улочкам Хоры можно гулять часами, не замечая, как летит время и... как нагуливается аппетит. К счастью, Накос славится своей кухней, которую можно отведать в прекрасных тавернах города. Ну а на последок почему бы не искупнуться на одном из близлежащих пляжей? Разве не это составляет настоящие островные каникулы?

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Портара

Это главный символ острова Наксос. Портара является единственным элементом, сохранившимся от храма Аполлона, который кстати никогда не был завершён. Но размеры сохранившихся ворот дают отчётливое представление о грандиозном проекте храма. Портара расположена на крошечном островке Палатиа, который сегодня соединяется с главным островом. Согласно мифологии, именно здесь Тесей попращался с Ариадной, возвращаясь после победы над минотавром на Крите.

Венецианская крепость и поселение

Войдя в крепость через ворота Трани, Вы перенесётесь в иное пространство и в иную эпоху. Возле Вас стоит Башня Аперафитиссас, единственно сохранившаяся из 12 башен крепости. Она также известна под названием Криспи или Глезос. Сегодня здесь находится Византийский музей. Вокруг Вас старинные дома с гербовыми вывесками, построенные в 14 -15 веках. Но сама крепость была заложена ещё в 13 веке венецианцем Марком Санудо, который вместе с соратниками завоевал 17 островов Эгейского моря и основал Эгейское герцогство, столицей которого стал остров Наксос. В стенах крепости Вы также встретите здание Della Rocca Barozzi, которое сегодня является Венецианским музеем, а также Католический кафедральный собор. Пейзаж города изящно дополняют кафе и тематические магазинчики с сувенирами.

Археологический музей

Музей расположен недалеко от крепости в красивом здании 17-ого века. Здесь Вы сможете познакомиться с богатой историей острова – от времён раннего христианства вглубь веков к архаической, классической и эллинистической эпохам. Обратите внимание на мозаичный пол на террасе, изображающий женскую фигуру верхом на морском чудовище.

Пляж Св. Георгия 

Пляж Св. Георгия особенно популярен среди семей с детьми, благодаря песчаному берегу и мелководью. Находится он совсем недалеко от города. На пляже имеются все необходимые удобства (зонты, шезлонги, бары и таверны), а значит, беззаботный отдых после пешего тура гарантирован.

Местная кухня 

Остров славится своей замечательной кухней. Советуем отыскать Ваше любимое место для обеда и завтрака в городе. Кухня острова богата широким выбором: это и морепродукты, и сыры (арсенико и гравьера), и мясные блюда, такие как свиной окорок в винном соусе с чесноком, а также «фрикасэ» с листиками лаванды. Остров также славится своим сортом картофеля. Среди сладостей стоит отметить «Мелахрино» - ореховый пирог с цитрусовыми нотками, пропитанный сиропом. Обычно этот пирог подаётся с мастичным мороженым. И, конечно же, нельзя забыть о цитроновом ликёре острова Наксос.

Подробнее Read Less

Из деревень Св. Прокопий и Св. Анна

Из деревни Плака

  • На машине или на такси: 10 км (22 минуты)

Если Вы не остановились в городе Хора, а приехали на машине, воспользуйтесь государственными парковочными зонами.
Машины допускаются только по объездной дороге, которая начинается от аэропорта.
Набережная закрыта для машин в послеобеденное и ночное время.

  • Городок Хора на острове Наксос красив в любое время года
  • Рекомендуем приезжать на остров в период с мая по июнь и с сентября по откябрь, когда остров не столь многолюден.

Большинство магазинов, ресторанов и культурных памятников открыты с мая по октябрь.

  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Продолжительность тура зависит только от Вас. Но чтобы обойти все указанные достопримечательности, понадобится один день.
  • Вы можете распланировать посещение достопримечательностей города на всё время Вашего отпуска. Пешие прогулки по главному города Наксоса останутся незабываемы!

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Помогите нам сохранить волшебную красоту греческих деревушек, провинций и городов, чтобы передать это живое наследие будущим поколениям.

Поддерживайте чистоту на улицах. Используйте установленные мусорные урны. В случае их отсутствия носите мусор с собой до ближайшего мусорного бака.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Берегите культурные памятники и монументы. Не используйте вспышку на фотоаппарате, если висят таблички с соответствующим ограничением. Данная мера направлена на сохранение монумента.
Поддерживайте местный рынок, покупая продукты и сувениры в небольших магазинах и семейных лавках. Это также прекрасная возможность найти интересные предметы ручной работы.
Берегите флору и фауну.
Относитесь уважительно к другим отдыхающим и к местным жителям.
Не бойтесь обращаться за советом или с просьбой о помощи к местным жителям.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

Экскурсия по храму Деметры на острове Наксос

Beautiful paved streets, neoclassical buildings and a lively market and shops all testify to Halki’s past as the capital of Naxos

Тур по горным деревушкам острова Наксос

High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

Окунитесь в мистическую атмосферу столицы острова Патмос!

Hora is the capital and harbour of Antiparos island

Тихий и причудливый городок Хора на острове Антипарос

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Пеший тур по столице острова Миконос

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Прогуливаясь по столице острова Скирос

From the beautiful chapel of Agios Konstantinos nearby, you can look out beyond Livadi onto a who’s who of Cycladic islands

Кикладическая красота и шарм острова Серифос

You’ll feel it all the way from the lofty fortifications-Palamidi Castle is an experience in itself

Пешая экскурсия по романтическому Нафплио

You could spend hours just walking the streets of Hora, building up an appetite as you go
EXPERIENCE

A walking tour of Naxos’ Hora, the complete island town

From a Venetian castle that’s still full of life to enjoying a sneaky swim at the beach, exploring Naxos’ main town is the ideal way to understand an island that has it all.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

It simply wouldn’t be possible for the biggest town of the biggest island in the Cyclades not to offer a complete walking tour experience. And Naxos’ Hora doesn’t disappoint.
 
From the famous Portara (the gateway that looks like the National Geographic logo) that greets you if you arrive by boat, to the Venetian Castle at the top of the hill on which Hora is located, you’ll enjoy discovering a town believed to have been built on the island’s original ancient city.

But what you won’t have guessed by simply looking up at the castle is that, within its walls, there’s a medieval settlement that’s still very much alive. You’ll particularly enjoy how Venetian and Catholic elements merge into classic Cycladic architecture and colours as the neighbourhood expands beyond the castle. 

You could spend hours just walking the streets of Hora, building up an appetite as you go. Thankfully, Naxos’ legendary food is fully represented in Hora’s tavernas and shops with local products. And to top it all, how about a quick swim on a beach right by town? What more could you want? 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Portara

If there’s a landmark of Naxos, this is it. The Portara is all that exists of a 6th century temple to Apollo that was never completed (but you can imagine its intended size just from its standalone marble doorway). The little island on which it stands, Palatia, is now connected to the mainland. According to mythology, it is where Theseus abandoned his love Ariadne, after killing the Minotaur in Crete.

The Venetian Castle and settlement 

Walking through the castle’s Trani Gate, you’re transported to another time and mood. Next to you is the Glezos Tower (or Aperathitissas or Krispi Tower, as it’s also called), housing a Byzantine Museum. And as you wander around, you’ll find mansion houses with coats of arms, dating to the 14th and 15th centuries, although the castle itself goes back to the early 13th century. It was built by Venetian Marco Sanudo, who with his comrades occupied 17 Aegean islands and formed the Duchy of Aegean, based in Naxos. Elsewhere within the castle, you will find the Della Rocca Barozzi, which has been converted into a Venetian Museum, and a Catholic Cathedral. The scene is completed by small picturesque cafes and concept stores with souvenirs shops with views all the way to the port.
 

The Archaeological Museum 

Located near the castle, the Archaeological Museum is housed in a handsome 17th century building. You’ll enjoy a sweeping journey of Naxian history through artefacts from Early Christian times (5300BC - 5th century AD) all the way to the Archaic, Classical and Hellenistic eras. Look out for the mosaic floor on the terrace, depicting a female figure riding a sea monster.

Agios Giorgos Beach 

Popular with families because of its sand and shallow water, Agios Giorgos beach is just a short distance from the main town. You’ll find everything you need here (umbrellas, sunbeds, bars and tavernas) to take the weight off your feet and soak up a bit of sun during your walk.

The food 

You’ll pass no shortage of eating options (brunch, lunch or dinner), so it’s worth scouting your ideal spot. There’s plenty Naxos is famous for on the food front: seafood, cheese (arseniko and graviera), and meat dishes such as pork rosto (pork leg stuffed with garlic and cooked in wine) and fricassee with provatsa (the leafy part of sea lavender). The island is also renowned for its potatoes. For something sweet, ask for Melachrino (walnut pie scented with citrus and drenched in syrup) served with kaimaki (mastic resin-scented ice cream) … and of course Naxian citron liqueur. 

Read More Read Less

From Agios Prokopios & Agia Anna 

  • By car or taxi: 5.7km (13mins) & 7.2km (16mins)
  • By bus: More info

From Plaka

  • By car or taxi: 10km (22 mins)

If you are not staying in Naxos town and arrive by car, there are municipal parking areas. The coast road is closed for all vehicles during the afternoon and at night.

  • The Hora of Naxos can be visited all year round
  • You’ll find most of the shops, restaurants and cultural sites open between May-October.

If you can, visit in May-June and September-October, when Naxos is at its most charming and quiet. 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • The length of your walk is up to you, but the sites mentioned here can be covered in one day.
  • You can break up your walk around Naxos town over the course of your holiday. The more you walk, the more you’ll discover.

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s island towns and villages alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

A walking tour of colourful Ermoupoli in Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata