12

DESTINATIONS POPULAIRES POUR DES EXPÉRIENCES DE VOILE DANS LA MER ÉGÉE

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour manger une tranche de pastèque

Naviguer sur la mer Égée au choix d’îles et d’îlots innombrables et aux expériences uniques. Faites-en la découverte à l’aide du vent, sur votre voilier

Pourquoi la mer Égée est l’endroit idéal pour la navigation en Grèce? Parce que les changements légers et progressifs de la température, combinés aux changements stables et prévisibles des vents, la proximité des îles, l’absence des marées et des courants marins, les eaux transparentes et les nombreuses baies inexplorées, les îles pittoresques, la pêche, la plongée marine et les sports aquatiques, offrent sans aucun doute, les préalables idéaux pour des vacances de rêves sur l’eau.

Il y a peu d' endroits au monde qui réunissent ensemble tout ces caractéristiques. Les méltèmes (phénomène connu à l’Antiquité sous le nom d’Etisiai), des vents saisonniers d’adresse nordique, de 5 à 7 Beaufort qui dominent à partir du mois de mai jusqu’en septembre, constituent la raison principale du fait que la mer Égée soit particulièrement chère aux navigateurs. Pour ceux qui connaissent bien la voile, les méltèmes offrent des conditions idéales à la navigation car ils aident à diminuer la distance entre les îles.

Attique

Pour commencer votre voyage à la voile, un de points de départ parmi les plus préférés est Athènes. On y trouve plusieurs marinas qui proposent des services supérieurs, comme c’est le port de plaisance de Zéa, l'Athens Marina et le port de Flisvos – capable d’héberger des grands yachts – ou encore le port de plaisance d’Alimos – qui est la base pour la plupart des yachts charters. Du côté est, sur le port de Lavrion on a l'Olympic Marine qui a le privilège de nombreux aménagements pour la voile. La location des bateaux est très fréquente et le choix est vaste en voiliers avec ou sans équipage, petits ou grands. La grande majorité des compagnies de charter qui offrent des formules de vacances tout compris, entreprennent également le transport des clients de et vers l’aéroport.

View of Athens city during sunset by Arthur Yeti

Sur la mer Égée à destination des Cyclades

Les Cyclades constituent une destination particulièrement attractive pour la voile en raison de leur paysages pittoresques et de leur proximité à Athènes. Le contraste du bleu de la mer et du blanc de maisons devenu désormais emblématique du pays, ainsi que la proximité des îles, fait que les Cyclades proposent des possibilités multiples même pour des vacances à court terme. La distance entre les îles des Cyclades se couvre parfois dans une seule journée, fait qui permet de débarquer, si l’on veut, deux fois pendant la même journée, à des destinations différentes.

Kéa, Kythnos, Sérifos, Syros

Si vous commencez votre voyage sur bateau par un des ports de plaisance d’Athènes, de la côte est, vous aller venir à l’encontre de certaines îles qui vous défient à les découvrir avec votre voilier: l’île de Tzia (Kéa), de Kythnos, de Serifos et plus à l’est encore de l’île de Syros, la capitale des Cyclades qui est une base centrale des compagnies de location de voiliers. Il est possible alors de louer un voilier sur une île au cœur des Cyclades et de commencer le tour à partir de là. Ou alors, une fois le voyage terminé, de rendre le bateau à Syros et retourner à la destination initiale par avion ou par un de nombreux ferry. La capitale de Syros, si imposante, avec son port grand et bien protégé, est une de destinations à ne pas rater si vous comptez voyager à voile.

Explorez le charme cycladique d’ Hora de Serifos

Tinos, Mykonos, Andros

Il faudra toutefois faire attention à l’île de Tinos et de Mykonos car les vents qui dominent là-bas sont plus forts ainsi que les vagues. Ces vents de provenance nord-est, dits les Gregous, «descendent» du passage resserré des Dardanelles. Le port de Mykonos est moins abrité que celui de Tinos, donc il faudra y faire attention. L’île cosmopolite d’Andros a beaucoup plus à offrir que ses belles plages. La Hora d’Andros est une destination à ne pas manquer. Son port en face de la baie est très protégé et son charme est typique des Cyclades.

Windmills of Mykonos

Sifnos, Paros, Naxos

L’île de Sifnos, de Paros et de Naxos se situent plus au nord et constituent des destinations préférées pour plein des touristes car elles offrent plusieurs alternatives d’amarrage de même qu'elles protègent les bateaux du vent du nord qui domine sur la mer Egée. Toutes ces îles sont d’ailleurs des excellentes stations pour toute sorte de provisions, fuel et eau mais aussi tout genre d’achat. L’île de Paros est aussi réputée pour la course internationale de windsurfing, qui s’y organise chaque année, grâce à ses vents stables n'entrainant pas des vagues.

Milos

L’île de Milos qui se situe plus au sud, offre des magnifiques paysages lunaires et des plages extraordinaires. Le golfe d’Adamas est bien abrité et il a l'équipement et les services nécessaires pour ceux qui voyagent sur bateau. N’oubliez pas de visiter le village de Kleftiko au sud de l’île.

Atterrissage sur le paysage lunaire de la plage de Sarakiniko

Sikinos et Folegandros

L’île de Sikinos et de Folegandros situées encore plus au sud, sont des plus belles îles des Cyclades. Ces sont des cadres idéeaux pour faire la voile, à fréquentation faible et d’une beauté naturelle rare. Leurs ports sont tout petits et offrent des facilités restreintes.

Amorgos et Ikaria

 À cause de la proximité des îles, les vagues sur la mer Égée sont basses mais parfois très fortes. Les passages, du nord ou du sud, par l’île d’Amorgos, ainsi que la traversée de la mer d’Icare pendant la période des méltèmes exigent une bonne expérience à la voile. Cependant le spectacle du monastère de la Panaghia Hozoviotissa, escarpé sur les roches au dessus de la mer, ne pourrait en être que la meilleure récompense.

Santorin

L’île volcanique de Santorin, une des plus célèbres îles grecques, constitue un spectacle unique dans le monde, spécialement vue depuis la mer. Pourtant, l’île n’a pas des installations d'accostage spéciales et n’offre pas de facilités pour ceux qui naviguent.

Chapel on Santorini with a Caldera view

Koufonissia

Une destination digne pour ceux qui cherchent des destinations plus discrètes sans être pour autant privés de couleurs typiques des Cyclades, sont les îles de Koufonissia. Le grand Koufonissi dispose d’ailleurs d'un nouveau port de plaisance et peut devenir le point de départ pour de nombreuses explorations dans la région. Il n’est pas rare de trouver dans les innombrables criques, des bateaux ancrés dont les locataires visitent les îles à l’aide de leur tender.Fishing boat on turquase waters on Koufonisi

Dodécanèse

Les îles du Dodécanèse bien qu'éloignées d’Athènes, offrent la possibilité de location de voiliers sur place. Dans le Dodécanèse qui constituent une destination idéale pour la voile en mer Égée, vous trouverez des îles avec des attractions qui méritent votre visite pendant que vous soyez dans la région. Spécialement pendant la période des méltèmes, faire un aller-retour au Dodécanèse semble un défi intéressant pour ceux qui connaissent bien la voile puisque les navigations sont ouvertes, en gîte, et les bateaux avalent de milles facilement. 

Sporades

En partant au nord, vers les îles de Sporades, le paysage change. Ici les îles à l'image des celles de la mer Égée du nord, présent une végétation impressionnante: les arbres atteignent presque les bords de plages. Les îles de Skiathos, de Skopelos et d’Alonnissos, rivalisent de beautés naturelles. L’île de Skyros, avec sa Hora construite sur une roche au sommet de l’île, se distingue de loin. La distance entre ces îles est toute petite et on fait donc habituellement le tour de l’ensemble des Sporades. Elles ne disposent pas de grandes marinas équipées, mais elles ont toutes des petits ports de plaisance où on peut amarrer et faire de provisions. En revanche, les nombreuses petites criques des Sporades sont idéales pour mouiller l’ancre de votre bateau.

Saint Ioannis Beach in Skopelos island  

 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Kavala

Giola lagoon the natural pool carved into the rock by the sea in Thassos

5 raisons de ne pas manquer Thassos

Multiple footpaths allow you to explore the countryside of Central greece

Top 5 (+1) des activités physiques en Grèce centrale

Snorkeling in the Blue Caves of Zakynthos

9 raisons d'aimer Zakynthos

10 conseils d'habitants pour visiter Samos

Santorini is the embodiment of everything magical about the Greek islands

12 destinations grecques incroyables à voir absolument

Adventure teams doing rafting on the cold waters of the Voidomatis

Rafting & Canyoning: Destinations populaires en Grèce

Vue du château de Lindos depuis la baie de Saint-Paul

Cochez toutes les 8 cases de la liste ultime des objectifs à realiser à Rhodes

plongée souterraine

Plongée: les destinations les plus populaires en Grèce

Stone houses with sea view in Monemvasia

En voilier autour du Péloponnèse

12

12 POPULAR SAILING DESTINATIONS IN THE AEGEAN

Marketing Greece
READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a slice of watermelon

What better way to see the Aegean than by boat? All you have to do is decide which islands to hop to and which unexplored bays to anchor in.

Mild and gradual changes in temperature, steady, predictable winds, minimal tides and strong currents, crystal-clear waters and countless bays, a plethora of islands and the short distances between them, picturesque harbours, safe anchorages, the possibility of fishing, diving, water skiing… It’s doubtful whether any other sea on the planet can muster a longer list.

And then there are the meltemia, the prevailing north winds that blow every summer from about 5 to 7 Beaufort from May to September, a phenomenon known since antiquity and ideal for sailing. What more do you want? Here are some of the best destinations in the island chains (Argosaronic, Cyclades, Dodecanese and Sporades) that make the Aegean Sea so special!

Setting sail

Setting off by boat into the Aegean, one of the most popular departure points is from Piraeus or the marinas on the south coast of Athens, such as Zea, Flisvos, which can accommodate the most luxurious cruisers, as well as Alimos, which is the home port for most of the charter companies. On the east coast, at Lavrio, the Olympic Marine has extensive facilities for sailing. Given the number of yacht charterers, you can take your pick from a huge variety of sailboats, with crew or bareboat of any size. Most of the firms also arrange their clients’ transfers from the airport and offer them a full package of sea experiences/itineraries.

View of Athens city during sunset by Arthur Yeti

The Cyclades

The Cyclades are a particularly attractive sailing destination, mainly because of their relative proximity to Athens and the great variety of experiences they promise. The contrast of their pure white houses against the deep blue of the sea is Greece’s trademark internationally, not to mention the colours of its flag. And because the distance between islands is small, a yachting holiday can take in numerous ports and coves within a very short time. You could even sail to a different island every day, although each one merits close examination.

Kea, Kythnos, Serifos & Syros

Sailing east from one of Athens’ marinas, you’ll come across a few Cycladic islands worth exploring. You’ll find Kea first, then Kythnos, Serifos and Syros, the capital of the Cyclades, which is a base for many charter companies. This means that you could easily charter your yacht from the heart of the archipelago and start your explorations at once, while you also have the option of finish your cruise there and return to Athens by plane or ferry. Aristocratic Ermoupoli, the capital of Syros, with its large and safe harbour, is a destination well worth visiting by boat.

Exploring the Cycladic charm of Serifos’ Hora

 

Tinos, Mykonos and Andros

Tinos and Mykonos are also ideal destinations, although they need more caution since the winds there can be stronger and there can be higher waves brought down from the Dardanelles by the prevailing northeasterlies.

Windmills of Mykonos

Sifnos, Paros & Naxos

SifnosParos and Naxos to the south are classic choices, with a succession of private coves that are protected from the prevailing north winds or meltemia. All these islands boast good marinas with connections for fuel and water but also every kind of food supply. Paros also hosts international windsurfing competitions every year, thanks to the ideal conditions of steady winds without choppy waves.

A walking tour of Naoussa blends island chic with deep traditions

Milos

Milos, further south, offers spectacular lunar landscapes and dramatic coves and beaches that can be reached only by yacht. It also has one of the largest, almost enclosed harbours in the Mediterranean and the port, Adamas, is safe in all weathers and has facilities for servicing yachts. If you make it to Milos, a must-see is the volcanic rock formations at Kleftiko on the south coast.

Landing on the lunar landscape of Sarakiniko beach

 

Sikinos & Folegandros

Heading south you come to Sikinos and Folegandros which, though off the beaten track, are ideal settings for sailing and are among the most strikingly beautiful islands in the Cyclades. Their ports are small and somewhat exposed, so keep your eye on the weather forecast.

Amorgos & Ikaria

Waves in the Aegean are apt to be low because the islands’ relatively proximity, but the winds can be strong and need certain nautical experience, an example being conditions often found during the crossing from Amorgos to Ikaria. Still, the sight of Hozoviotissa monastery cut out of the rock, seemingly suspended above the sea, is a reward in itself.

Santorini

There can be no more awesome sight than sailing into the Caldera of Santorini, which has ample anchorage facilities and services for yachts.

Sampling the wine routes of Santorini

Chapel on Santorini with a Caldera view

Koufonisia

Perhaps one of the most delightful destinations for those who prefer a low-key, natural setting rather than a zippy nightlife when the day is done, are the Koufonisia isles. These small, unspoilt islands now benefit from a new marina on Ano Koufonisi, making them an ideal base for exploring the islets, inhabited and not, in the vicinity. No longer a secret, their sheltered coves are often filled with boats at anchor.Fishing boat on turquase waters on Koufonisi

The Dodecanese

Cruising the distant Dodecanese is made easier by the possibility of chartering a yacht locally. Especially in summer, the meltemia make comings and goings by sailboat a very attractive option for experienced sailors, since the seas are open. But don’t expect to get there in a single day. Airports exist on almost all the islands – Rhodes, Kastellorizo, Karpathos, Astypalaia, Leros, Kalymnos, Kassos and Kos – which makes getting there from Athens easy. 

Like the Cyclades, these islands are fairly close to one another, apart from Kastellorizo, so you can visit a different one every day. Bear in mind that each island has more than enough to repay a longer stay. From Rhodes, the capital of the chain, to the tiny islands of Lipsi, Arki and Agathonisi, this group has so much to discover. Leros, Kos, and of course Rhodes, have magnificent marinas for all sizes of yachts.

Sporades

The thickly wooded Sporades islands are wonderful to explore by yacht. It’s a toss up as to which of the three, Skiathos, Skopelos and Alonissos, is the greenest, while their ‘brother’ Skyros to the south is both pine-wooded and rocky, with its white Hora atop a bare promontory, visible from miles away, and modern marina. Again the distances between these islands are negligible and you can easily visit them all, as well as their smaller uninhabited relatives in the Sporades Marine Park. The meltemia, too, are milder here than in the southern Aegean.

Saint Ioannis Beach in Skopelos island  

Plan your trip

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Psarou beach on Mykonos

12 iconic beaches to love on Mykonos

Famous for its celebrity beaches, Mykonos has another side when it comes to beach life that it keeps away from the spotlight.

12 relaxing beaches chosen by locals on Mykonos

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos

8 unforgettable highs and hidden depths in Kalymnos

Hora's famous castle, majestic views of the Aegean, windmills and whitewashed homes make up a remarkable traditional settlement

5 reasons why Astypalea will be your favourite summer hangout

Psarou beach on Mykonos

12 iconic beaches to love on Mykonos

Famous for its celebrity beaches, Mykonos has another side when it comes to beach life that it keeps away from the spotlight.

12 relaxing beaches chosen by locals on Mykonos

Nature… the true guardian of Mt Olympus

7 magical getaways just 60mins from Thessaloniki

The peak of Mt Olympus

8 mythical experiences on Mt Olympus

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Meet the Cycladic escapes neighbouring Santorini

The most famous village in Karpathos island, with panoramic views

8 reasons to make you want to explore Karpathos