Many of the tightly packed houses are beautifully maintained with colourful balconies, doors and window frames
EXPERIENCE

Une promenade pédestre de la ville principale simple mais sophistiquée de Folegandros

Simple, élégante et encore largement inconnue des visiteurs internationaux, Hora de Folegandros se distingue par son authenticité et son cosmopolitisme.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
Toute la journée
Par saison
Mai - Octobre

OVERVIEW

Niché entre Santorin, Milos et d'autres îles des Cyclades mieux connues, Folegandros a un sens de la découverte indubitable. Et certainement, à plus de 200 mètres dans la ville principale - avec le bleu scintillant de la mer Égée devant vous et les maisons blanchies à la chaux derrière vous - vous vous demanderez comment cela n'a jamais été sur votre radar des îles grecques auparavant.

Hora (comme la ville principale est connue) prend tout ce qui est cosmopolite e chic dans les Cyclades et le présente avec simplicité et merveille inexploitée - jusqu'à son château Vénitien au sommet d'une colline. 

Vous allez certainement parler aux gens des plages et de la cuisine de l'île, mais son battement de cœur est sans aucun doute Hora, dont les rues pavées, les cours, les églises et les places rivalisent toutes pour votre attention. Alors promenez-vous dans ses rues piétonnes et découvrez son âme profondément authentique - une maison en cubes de sucre à la fois. 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

Kastro

Le Kastro n'est pas tant un château médiéval qu'un quartier fortifié d'Hora. Beaucoup de maisons serrées ont été habitées en permanence depuis leur construction et sont magnifiquement entretenues avec des balcons, des portes et des cadres de fenêtres colorés. Vous comprendrez immédiatement comment leur proximité et leurs murs épais offrent une fortification naturelle aux raids de pirates. C'est un territoire pour se promener avec une glace à la main, à travers les rues étroites vers l'église de Panagia Pantanassa, d'où il y a une vue jusqu'aux îles de Milos, Kimolos et Sifnos.       

Les places  

Il y a une place pour chaque moment de la journée sur Folegandros ... du petit-déjeuner avec vue sur la place Pounta, au café de l'après-midi dans le Dounavis ombragé et à la place Piatsa animée pour un cocktail ou un dîner en soirée (les places Dounavis et Piatsa sont en fait joints par l'église d' Agios Nikolaos). Vous pourriez vous retrouver à acheter un souvenir fait main ou à vous asseoir dans un bar branché, ou dans une ouzerie ou une taverne sur l'une des places.

Profitez-en pour essayer quelque chose de local - matsata (pâtes de style tagliatelles faites à la main), kalasounes (tartes au fromage avec du fromage en purée) ou karpouzenia (tarte à la pastèque, au miel et aux graines de sésame).

Panagia de Folegandros

S'il y a une image Instagrammable qui crie « Folegandros », c'est celle de l'église emblématique de Panagia au-dessus de Hora. Vous le saurez de son chemin en zigzag jusqu'à la ville. Il faut environ 15 minutes pour atteindre la plus ancienne église et la meilleure vue de l'île. Dédiée à la Dormition de la Vierge Marie, elle aurait été construite sur l'emplacement d'un ancien temple. 

Lire la suite Read Less

Du port Karavostasis

  • En voiture ou en taxi: 3,4 km (7 minutes)

D' Ano Meria

  • En voiture ou en taxi: 5 km (10 minutes)

D' Agkali 

  • En voiture ou en taxi : 4,6 km (10 minutes)
  • En bus : Il y a des bus réguliers d’Hora pendant les mois d'été, qui partent derrière la mairie.  

Plus d'informations sur l'île

  • Folegandros peut être visité à tout moment de l'année, mais vous trouverez la plupart des magasins, restaurants et sites culturels ouverts de mai à octobre.
  • Les célébrations de Pâques sont particulièrement agréables à Folegandros, avec des festivités et des feux d'artifice, et une procession de l'icône de la Vierge Marie de l'église Panagia autour de l'île. Les habitants ouvrent leurs portes et offrent aux gens de la procession du vin, du raki et des gâteaux.

Mai - Juin et Septembre - Octobre sont les meilleurs mois pour visiter, quand l'île est la plus charmante et la plus calme.

  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver
  • La durée de votre promenade dépend entièrement de vous, mais les attractions énumérées ici peuvent facilement être faites en une journée.
  • Vous visiterez probablement Hora un certain nombre de fois pendant votre séjour, alors essayez de trouver un coin différent à explorer à chaque fois et voyez comment l'heure de la journée affecte votre expérience. C’est ce genre de ville. 

VOYAGER AVEC RESPONSABILITÉ

Veillons tous à préserver la magie des villages et des villes grecs pour les générations à venir.

Gardez les rues propres en utilisant les poubelles mises à votre disposition et en cas de besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Utilisez une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Respectez les monuments culturels et les reliques. N’utilisez pas de flash si vous voyez une pancarte qui l’interdit.
Soutenez les petites boutiques familiales et les producteurs locaux en choisissant un souvenir local fait main.
Respectez les plantes et les animaux.
Traitez les autres visiteurs et les habitants comme vous souhaiteriez être traité.
Ayez l’esprit curieux et n’hésitez pas à demander des bons plans aux habitants.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
With clifftop views to the sea, the hiking paths of Folegandros are the ideal way to discover a deeply authentic island in the Cyclades-Folegandros

Découvrez les sentiers de randonnée de Folegandros

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

Découvrez à pieds la capitale colorée de Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

Découvrez à pieds Kalamata, une ville en pleine émergence

There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront

Découvrez la ville de Kos à vélo en suivant un parcours sur mesure

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

Découvrez à pieds la ville principale de Skyros

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

Découvrez à pieds la Chora de Mykonos

If it’s a jaw-dropping vista you’re after, take the steps from Imerovigli down to Skaros Rock

Découvrez les sentiers de randonnée à Santorin

Many of the tightly packed houses are beautifully maintained with colourful balconies, doors and window frames
EXPERIENCE

A walking tour of Folegandros’ simple yet sophisticated main town

Simple, stylish and still largely undiscovered by international visitors, Folegandros’ Hora scores highly on both the authenticity and cosmopolitan meter.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Full day
Season
May - October

OVERVIEW

Tucked away between Santorini, Milos and other better-known Cycladic islands, Folegandros has an unmistakable sense of discovery about it. And certainly, from more than 200m up in the main town – with the sparkling blue of the Aegean Sea ahead and the whitewashed houses behind you – you’ll be asking yourself how it was never on your radar of Greek islands before.

Hora (as the main town is known) takes everything cosmopolitan and chic about the Cyclades and presents it with simplicity and untapped wonder – all the way up to its hill-top Venetian castle. 

You’ll be telling people about the island’s beaches and food for sure, but its heartbeat is without doubt Hora, whose cobblestone streets, courtyards, churches and squares all compete for your attention. So take a stroll along its car-free streets and get to know its deeply authentic soul – one sugar-cubed house at a time. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Kastro

The Kastro isn’t so much a medieval castle as a fortified district of Hora. Many of the tightly packed houses have been continuously inhabited since they were built, and are beautifully maintained with colourful balconies, doors and window frames. You’ll immediately understand how their close proximity and thick walls offered a natural fortification to pirate raids. This is ice-cream-in-hand stroll territory, through the narrow streets towards the church of Panagia Pantanassa, from where there’s a view all the way to the islands of Milos, Kimolos and Sifnos.    

The squares 

There’s a square for every time of day on Folegandros… from breakfast-with-a-view in Pounta Square, to an afternoon coffee in shaded Dounavis and on to lively Piatsa Square for an evening cocktail or dinner (Dounavis and Piatsa squares are actually joined by the church of Agios Nikolaos). You could find yourself buying a handmade souvenir or sitting at a trendy bar, or in an ouzerie or taverna in any of the squares.

Take the opportunity to try something local – matsata (handmade tagliatelle-style pasta), kalasounes (cheese pies with strained cheese) or karpouzenia (watermelon, honey and sesame seed pie).

Panagia of Folegandros

If there’s one Instagrammable image that shouts “Folegandros”, it’s of the iconic church of Panagia above Hora. You’ll know it from its zigzagging path down to town. It takes about 15 minutes to reach the oldest church and the best view on the island. Dedicated to the Dormition of the Virgin Mary, it’s believed to have been built on the site of an ancient temple. 

Read More Read Less

From Karavostasis Port

  • By car or taxi: 3.4km (7 mins)

From Ano Meria

  • By car or taxi: 5km (10 mins)

From Agkali 

  • By car or taxi: 4.6km (10 mins)
  • By bus: There are regular buses from Hora during the summer months, which depart from behind the Town Hall. 

More info on the island

  • Folegandros can be visited at any time of year but you’ll find most of the shops, restaurants and cultural sites open between May-October.
  • Easter celebrations are particularly enjoyable on Folegandros, with festivities and fireworks, and a procession of the icon of the Virgin Mary from the Panagia church around the island. Locals open their doors and treat people in the procession to wine, raki and sweets.

May-June and September-October are the best months to visit, when the island is at its most charming and quiet. 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • The length of your walk is entirely up to you, but the attractions listed here can easily be done in one day.  
  • You’ll likely be visiting Hora a number of times during your stay, so try to find a different corner to explore each time and see how the time of day affects your experience. It’s that kind of town. 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s island villages and towns alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

A walking tour through the Hora of Mykonos

You’ll feel it all the way from the lofty fortifications-Palamidi Castle is an experience in itself

A walking tour of Nafplio’s romantic Old Town

Hora is the capital and harbour of Antiparos island

A walking tour of Antiparos’ quiet and quaint Hora

With clifftop views to the sea, the hiking paths of Folegandros are the ideal way to discover a deeply authentic island in the Cyclades-Folegandros

Discover the hiking paths of Folegandros