Увлекательный велосипедный тур по городу Кос
EXPERIENCE

Увлекательный велосипедный тур по городу Кос

Главный город острова может похвастаться своими широкими велосипедными дорожками, которые позволят Вам быстро и удобно добраться до культурных достопримечательностей города.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
полдня или один день
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

Среди всех греческих островов Кос считается наиболее удобным для велосипедных прогулок. Именно так доезжает большинство местных жителей на работу, именно так всё больше и больше туристов предпочитает передвигаться по главному городу острова. На велоспиде можно также легко добраться до пляжей или из одной деревушки в другую.

Велосипедный тур по городу необычайно лёгок и удобен. Велосипедная дорожка длиной в 13 км пролегает вдоль берега от пляжа Фарос на востоке до пляжа Псалиди на западе. Отдельный участок дорожки заходит внутрь города, пролегая по улицам Гиппократа и Василеос Павлу и соединяя таким образом основные археологические памятники острова.

Почувствуйте целительную энергию Асклепиона Коса

Вы можете свернуть на любой понравившейся улочке, чтобы заглянуть в местные магазинчики, купить кофе или что-нибудь перекусить или же, чтобы разыскать старинный клён Гиппократа. Прародитель современной медицины жил здесь около 2500 лет назал и твёрдо верил, что для поддержания хорошего состояния здоровья необходимо найти равновесие между всеми сторонами нашей жизни. Не стоит даже гадать, какой транспорт использовал бы сегодня Гиппократ для передвижения по своему родному городу.

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Площадь Элефтериас

Площадь Свободы (именно так переводится название этой площади) представляет собой идеальную отправную точку для нашего тура не только потому, что это сердце города Кос, но также потому что именно здесь можно увидеть все исторические вехи и культурные веяния, оставившие свой отпечаток на острове. Так, например, неоклассический особняк, в котором сегодня расположен Археологический музей, был построен в 1930-х годах во время итальянской оккупации. В музее хранятся экспонаты, найденные при раскопках археологических памятников острова и охватывающий исторический период с глубокой древности до поздне-римской и эллинистической эпохи. С другой стороны, мечеть Нефтердар познакомит Вас с мусульманской архитектурой в 18-ого, сохранившейся со времён Османской империи.

Древний гимназий

Гимназий является частью археологического комплекса эллинистической и римской эпохи. Здесь соревновались атлеты в древние времена, смазывая своё тело оливковым маслом перед состязаниями и стирая его с себя после окончания мероприятия. Отсюда, кстати, происходит и второе название этого места – Ксисто, что означает «стёртый». Чтобы понять, как выглядело это строение дорического стиля, представьте, что в дополнение к восстановленным сегодня 17 колоннам в древности стояло ещё 64. А над колонадой возвышалась огромная крыша из белого мрамора.

Древняя агора

На территории античной агоры острова Кос располагался не только рынок, но также храмы, бани и жилые дома. Сохранившиеся руины относятся в основном к 5 веку до н.э., однако есть и более современные строения, как например, христианский храм в виде базилики. Здесь обнаружен алтарь Афродиты, а также частично сохранившиеся мозаичные полы из античных домов. Учитывая, что гавань находится совсем поблизости, легко представляется, что когда-то на этом месте кипела шумная торговая жизнь города. Кстати, прилегающие к агоре современные районы могут похвастаться активной ночной жизнью, модными барами и ресторанами.

Римский Одеон

Как свойственно древним римлянам, на каждой завоёванной территории обязательно строился комплекс для развлечения публики. Одеон острова Кос, построенный во 2 веке н.э, был очень впечатляющим в античные времена. Первые пять рядов выполнены из гранита и являются исконными, но следующие девять рядов были воссозданы, благодаря реставрации. В одеоне проводились музыкальные и другого рода развлекательные мероприятия. В античности это было крытое помещение, в котором также располагались мастерские и другие помещения.. 

Замок Нерантзия

А теперь направляемся в эпоху 14-15 веков, когда на острове Кос правили рыцари ордена Св. Иоанна. Направляясь вниз по улице Финикон (Пальмовой), Вы проедете через арочный мост, ведущий к средневековому замку, построенному на месте, которое раньше прелставляло собой островок. Замок состоит из двух корпусов, которые разделяет ров с водой и подъёмный мост. Первая часть замка состоит из башен, зубчатых стен и бастионов, а вторая (более старая) часть замка  относится к периоду Великих магистров.

Платан Гиппократа 

Сразу за замком находится то место, где Гиппократ читал лекции своим ученикам около 2500 лет назад, сидя под сенью кленового дерева, посаженного им самим. Дереву, которое мы видим сегодня, примерно 500 лет. Стоя здесь, попробуйте перенестись в ту эпоху и представить, каким влиянием обладал этот великий учитель, понимавший пользу трав и растений для здоровья человека в те давние времена, когда люди верили, что болезни посылались богами. Далее рекомендуем посетить лечебницу Гиппократа – Асклепион, находящийся всего в 4 км от города.

Подробнее Read Less
Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Sovereign Beach Hotel Kos

Кос

Only a few minutes away from idyllic Kardamena village, Sovereign Kos Beach Hotel lies on a peaceful spot, right on the sandy beachfront, offering you...

Official online rates

There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront
EXPERIENCE

A bespoke bicycle tour of Kos town

With generous cycle lanes in the main town and a culture of getting around on two wheels, there’s no better way to discover Kos’ cultural and historical highlights than jumping on a bike
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
Half or Full day
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Of all the Greek islands, Kos has a reputation for being the best suited to cycling. It’s how many of the locals head to work and how many visitors choose to get about once they’ve seen the cycle lanes in the main town. And elsewhere, you’ll find families and couples on two wheels heading to the beach or between villages. 

Exploring Kos’s main town by bike couldn’t be easier. There’s a 13km cycle lane stretching right along the waterfront, all the way from Faros Beach in the east to Psalidi Beach in the west. A branch also heads inland, down Hippocratous and Vasileos Pavlou avenues, linking some of the key archaeological sites. 

Feel the healing energy of the Asclepion of Kos
You can nip into any of the sidestreets to visit the shops, grab a coffee or a meal, or explore other sights – such as Hippocrates’ Old Plane Tree. The father of modern medicine understood the importance of balance in every part of life to achieve optimal health some 2,500 years ago. There’s no question what style of transport he would choose to get about his hometown today. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Eleftherias Square

Freedom Square (as the name translates) is the ideal place to start your tour, not only because it’s at the heart of Kos town but because you will literally be surrounded by the historical and cultural influences of the island. The neoclassical mansion housing the Archaeological Museum was built during the 1930’s Italian occupation and the museum gathers artefacts from Kos’ archaeological and historical sites, from ancient to post-Roman and Hellenistic times. Meanwhile, the Nefterdar Mosque will introduce you to the 18th century Islamic architecture of the Ottomans. 

The Ancient Gymnasium

Part of a wider complex of Hellenistic and Roman remains, the Gymnasium is where athletes competed in ancient times, slathering themselves in olive oil and scraping it off after their event – hence the gymnasium’s other name, Xisto, or ‘scraped’. To understand the full scale of this Doric structure, imagine that it had a further 64 columns, in addition to the 17 that have been restored, and an enormous white marble roof.

The Ancient Agora

Kos’ Ancient Agora was not just a marketplace but also contained temples, baths and houses. The remains go back to the 5th century BC, but also contain more recent structures, such as a Christian basilica. A shrine to Aphrodite has been excavated, as well as parts of mosaic floors found in houses. With the harbour right next door, you can picture the agora alive with trading and noise. Fittingly, the area around here is one of the liveliest for nightlife, with numerous bars and restaurants.

The Roman Odeon

No Roman occupation was complete without its public entertainment area and the Odeon of Kos would have been particularly atmospheric in ancient times. Dating from the 2nd century AD, the outer five rows are the original granite seats and there are a further nine restored rows above an intimate stage used for musical performances and other events. The once roofed cultural space also includes workshops and other buildings. 

Neratzia Castle 

You fast forward to the 14th and 15th centuries and the time of the Knights of St John as you reach Kos’ medieval castle. Cycling down the aptly named Finikon (Palm Tree) Avenue, you pass through one of the arches of a bridge leading to the castle, built on an area of land that used to be an island. The castle consists of two precincts divided by a moat and drawbridge. The first, larger area is made up of towers, battlements and bastions, whilst the second, older precinct is from the time of the Grand Masters.

The Plane Tree of Hippocrates 

Just past the castle, you reach the spot where Hippocrates lectured to his students two-and-half millennia ago, under the shade of a plane tree that he planted. The tree you see today is around 500 years old, giving you the perfect ambience to contemplate the extraordinary influence of the man who understood the health benefits of herbs and plants, at a time when people believed that illnesses were governed by the gods. The perfect accompaniment is to also visit the Asclepion of Kos, a 4km cycle-ride out of town. 

Read More Read Less

From the airport to Kos town: 

  • By car/taxi: 24.5km (35mins)
  • By bus: More info
  • Kos town can be visited all year round, with plenty of bike rental shops open throughout the year. 
  • Because June-August are very busy and hot months, a cycle tour is best in April-May and September-October.
  • The town is flat and perfectly suited to cycling.
  • Opening hours of cultural sights:

Archaeological Museum 

  • Summer: Open daily 8:00-20:00 (closed Tuesday) 
  • Winter: Open daily 8:30-15:30 (closed Tuesday)
  • Tickets: €6 (€3 reduced) 
  • Not suitable for visitors with disabilities. 

More info

Ancient Agora

  • Summer: Open daily 8:00-20:00 (closed Tuesday) 
  • Winter: Open daily 8:30-15:30 (closed Tuesday)
  • Free entry
  • Suitable for visitors with disabilities

Roman Odeon

  • Open all year round
  • Free entry

Neratzia Castle 

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

It’s up to you how long your bicycle tour lasts, but the highlights mentioned here can be covered in a half or full day

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Take care to follow all the road signs and cycle safely, always wearing a helmet.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

Heading northeast, you reach Ermoupouli’s magnificent main church, known locally as Agios Nikolaos of the Rich

A walking tour of colourful Ermoupoli in Syros

Idyllic landscape of Kalamata's Marina at sunset

A walking tour in up-and-coming Kalamata

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town

Agios Stefanos, one of the most photogenic beaches on Kos

Sun, sea and a splash of culture at Agios Stefanos beach on Kos

The Asclepion was built over three landscaped terraces, each having a different function

Feel the healing energy of the Asclepion of Kos

With virtually the entire southern coastline of Kos covered in beaches, there’s only one way to find your favourite

A boat tour to sample the beaches on southern Kos