Aerial view of Thessaloniki's White Tower
ITINERARY

City break de 5 jours à Thessalonique et dans ses environs

Vivez le passé et le présent colorés de Thessalonique, dans un voyage varié qui se prolongera hors de la ville pour vous faire découvrir des trésors inattendus.

Une ville réputée pour sa diversité culturelle vous accueille chaleureusement, avec ses sites et ses saveurs célèbres. Vous découvrirez un monde façonné par les Macédoniens et les Romains, puis par les Vénitiens, les Ottomans et d’autres peuples. Vous explorerez également la région de Thessalonique, avec la charmante Vergina et une dégustation de vin. Vous aurez même l’occasion de voir le mont Olympe et l’un de ses villages.

L’itinéraire a été testé par Discover Greece ; nous y avons donc repris les restaurants et les organismes qui nous ont soutenus. Il existe bien sûr de nombreuses autres possibilités. Par ailleurs, n’hésitez pas à raccourcir ou à prolonger votre séjour à votre guise.
 

SHOW ROUTE ON MAP DOWNLOAD AS PDF
Start point - End point
Aéroport de Thessalonique
Distance
462.5 km
Means of transport
Airplane, Car, Foot
Durée
5 jours
Highlights
L’atmosphère de Thessalonique, le front de mer, le centre historique, Ano Poli, les saveurs locales, le mont Olympe, les tombes royales de Vergina
DAY 1 OVERVIEW

Le front de mer

26km Car, Foot 3

Votre premier jour sera consacré au front de mer. Vous découvrirez l’âme de la ville au cours d’une promenade du côté sud, qui compte plusieurs lieux historiques et représente parfaitement l’atmosphère de Thessalonique. Avantage non négligeable : à peine votre avion aura-t-il atterri à l’aéroport « Macédoine », que vous serez déjà sur place pour commencer votre parcours.

View of Aristotelous square

Un petit déjeuner ou un brunch grec

Trouvez-vous un café ou un restaurant pour faire le plein d’énergie. Il en existe un grand choix autour de la Place Aristote, point central du front de mer. Nous avons choisi le restaurant sur le toit d’ Electra Palace, non seulement pour son brunch méditerranéen, mais aussi pour sa vue sur le golfe Thermaïque.

The itinerary starts at the iconic White Tower and ends at the castles of the Upper Town

Une promenade sur le front de mer

À partir de la Place Aristote, dirigez-vous vers la Tour blanche (prenez votre temps pour visiter son intéressant musée). Poursuivez ensuite vers la statue équestre d’Alexandre le Grand et la sculpture des parapluies, toutes deux emblématiques de la ville. Comme les habitants en savent plus long, nous nous sommes laissé guider par dot2dot et avons terminé notre journée au Megaro Mousikis, salle de concert.

Creativity and artistry on a plate await at Thria Restaurant (near the Concert Hall)

Un dîner gastronomique

Il existe à Thessalonique un choix infini de restaurants. Nous avons voulu vous présenter tous les styles, en commençant par un exemple de la scène gastronomique, en plein essor. Une assiette créative et artistique vous attend à Thria , près du Megaro Mousikis. Carpaccio de bar parsemé de zestes d’agrumes, risotto de truffe noire aux champignons et à la crème de marron... Vous pouvez imaginer le menu.

DAY 2 OVERVIEW

Le centre historique et un domaine viticole

108.5 km Car, Foot 4

Une journée entière vous attend pour découvrir d’autres sites culturels, avant de vous rendre chez un producteur de vin, dans l’une des régions viticoles d’origine de Thessalonique. Après un arrêt pour goûter des herbes et du thé de montagne, vous finirez la journée en ville, où vous profiterez d'un délicieux repas et de la célèbre vie nocturne.

The UNESCO-protected Rotunda is part of the Galerian Complex of Thessaloniki

Une visite des monuments

Avec dot2dot, vous poursuivrez votre découverte des lieux culturels de Thessalonique, depuis l’héritage vénitien de la ville haute (la tour Trigoniou et le monastère de Vlatadon) jusqu’à l’église d’Agios Dimitrios (saint patron de la ville), classée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, en passant par la rotonde et l’agora romaines (ainsi que d’autres monuments). Déjeunez au café Mitsos, près du marché animé de Kapani, avec des sardines et des calamars grillés.

Découvrez à pied les points d’intérêt de Thessalonique 

If you’re a wine-lover, there’s an extra special treat in store when you visit Thessaloniki!

Le domaine Gerovassiliou

Il existe de nombreux vignobles à visiter près de Thessalonique. Ktima Gerovassiliou se trouve dans la région viticole la plus connue, Épanomi, à 40 minutes au sud. Les hivers doux et les étés chauds, tempérés par une brise marine rafraîchissante, y constituent un microclimat idéal, comme le découvrirent les Anciens et les Vénitiens (ces derniers l’utilisèrent de manière plus intensive). Le site comprend un musée, ainsi que 72 hectares de vignoble aux cépages locaux et internationaux. Attendez-vous également à une dégustation de vin.

Explorez les routes du vin de Thessalonique 

The aromas are very different on your next stop as you experience the heady scents of sage, lavender, verbena, thyme, peppermint and other Mediterranean sun-loving herbs at family-run Votanakia, in the village of Peristera.

Une ferme d’herbes aromatiques

Votre prochaine étape vous mènera à des parfums bien différents : ceux, enivrants, de la sauge, de la lavande, de la verveine, du thym, de la menthe poivrée et d’autres herbes méditerranéennes qui s'épanouissent au soleil. Rendez-vous à Votanakia, établissement familial du village de Peristera. Vous y découvrirez les vertus thérapeutiques des herbes, ainsi qu’un assortiment de délicieuses infusions. Ne partez pas sans un sachet de thé de montagne.

Dinner is at Nama, in Agion Apostolon, which serves delicious modern Greek cuisine.

La cuisine grecque moderne de Thessalonique

Vous voici de retour à Thessalonique, dans l’un des quartiers qui recèlent de bons restaurants, à l’écart du centre. Vous dînerez à Nama, sur la place Agion Apostolon. Le restaurant sert une cuisine grecque moderne délicieuse. Une courte marche vous mènera ensuite au quartier décontracté d’Ano Ladadika pour y prendre un verre, dans l’un de ses sympathiques petits bars. Vous comprendrez rapidement pourquoi la vie nocturne de Thessalonique constitue une expérience en soi.

DAY 3 OVERVIEW

Les saveurs locales et Vergina

150 km Car, Foot 3

Voici une nouvelle journée prometteuse, avec deux expériences très différentes, mais aussi mémorables l’une que l’autre. Tout d’abord, un parcours gastronomique pour découvrir l’héritage culinaire extraordinaire de Thessalonique. Ensuite, une visite de l’endroit le plus emblématique de la région : la tombe de Philippe II de Macédoine (père d’Alexandre le Grand), à Vergina.

Enjoy innovative dishes or traditional delicates in a taverna

Un parcours gastronomique

Chaque journée passée à Thessalonique ravira vos papilles, mais cette avant-midi permettra de consacrer à ses spécialités l’attention qu’elles méritent. Nous avons choisi pour guide Thessaloniki Urban Adventures. Vous commencerez votre matinée avec un café grec, en parlant des influences culturelles de la ville (franque, ottomane, juive, arabe, anatolienne, pontique...). Vous vous rendrez ensuite au marché couvert de Modiano, avec son toit de verre, pour goûter de la feta, des olives et des loukoums. Vous découvrirez la bougatsa (pâtisserie à la crème et à la pâte filo, saupoudrée de cannelle et de sucre glace) et le tsoureki (brioche tressée). La découverte s’achèvera avec un mezzé.

Une visite gastronomique de Thessalonique 

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

Les tombes royales de Vergina

La nécropole royale d’Aigai, site du patrimoine de l’UNESCO, se situe à une heure de Thessalonique et constitue une étape incontournable lorsqu’on visite la région. Le tumulus funéraire du IVe siècle av. J.-C. a été reconstruit pour protéger les tombes royales de Philipe II et d’autres membres de la royauté macédonienne. On y trouve également un musée, qui abrite certaines des découvertes antiques les plus impressionnantes. Le site vous laissera une impression nouvelle de l’histoire de la Macédoine.

Découvrez les tombes royales d’Aigai 

Litohoro village is the starting point for day trips on the mountain

Litochoro

Votre journée s’achève à Litochoro, le village le plus proche du mont Olympe. Vous arriverez à temps pour une promenade en soirée. Vous pourrez admirer l’architecture locale et ressentir l’atmosphère d’un village à la fois montagnard et côtier (il se trouve à 15-20 minutes à peine de la côte de Piérie). À vous de choisir le type de dîner que vous préférerez... Cuisine de montagne macédonienne dans le centre, ou poissons en bord de mer, dans une taverne comme Psarokokalo?

DAY 4 OVERVIEW

Le mont Olympe

68 km Car, Foot 2

Vous passerez cette journée sur le mont Olympe, en commençant par une promenade dans la nature le long des gorges d’Enipeas. L’après-midi, vous vivrez l’authenticité d'un village de montagne, où le mode de vie n’a guère changé au fil des décennies.

A beautiful introduction in the Enipeas Gorge

Une randonnée aux gorges d’Enipeas

Pas besoin de grimper jusqu’au sommet du mont Olympe pour ressentir son énergie mythique. À partir de Prionia (1100 m. d’altitude), la promenade le long des gorges d’Enipeas (2h30 ou 1h15 sans haltes) vous fera voir des paysages magnifiques. Vous sillonnerez les gorges sur des ponts de bois et vous atteindrez le petit monastère d’Agios Dionysios, caché dans la forêt. Avant de vous mettre en route, passez par l’agence de gestion du parc national de l’Olympe (juste à l’extérieur de Litochoro), où vous obtiendrez des informations sur sa faune et sa flore, ainsi que sur les conditions météorologiques. Vous pourrez également avoir un guide, si vous contactez l’agence au préalable.

Explorez les sentiers de randonnée du mont Olympe 

Traditional house in Palaios Panteleimonas village

Palaios Panteleimonas

Vous passerez l’après-midi à Palaios Panteleimonas, qui incarne la vie des villages du mont Olympe. Profitez de l’architecture macédonienne, des magasins de produits locaux et de la place principale, ombragée par des platanes multi-centenaires. Il existe différentes tavernes, comme Olympos, qui porte bien son nom et offre une vue imprenable sur la région. Les habitants vous y préparent avec enthousiasme des plats aux ingrédients issus d'un potager familial. Dégustez-y un verre de tsipouro (eau-de-vie) d’arbouses.

Un parcours des villages mythiques sur le mont Olympe 

DAY 5 OVERVIEW

Thessalonique

110km Airplane, Car, Foot 3

De retour à Thessalonique, vous pourrez vous rendre directement à l’aéroport ou, si vous en avez le temps, prendre un moment pour dire au revoir à la deuxième plus grande ville de Grèce. À Ano Poli, vous profiterez d'une dernière vue sur le golfe Thermaïque et vous vous constituerez quelques nouveaux souvenirs.

Upper town views of Thessaloniki

Ano Poli

Les rues pavées et l’architecture originale de la ville haute vous inspireront la nostalgie, avant même que vous ne partiez. Les ruelles incitent à la promenade, avec d’innombrables endroits où vous arrêter et où admirer la mer au loin, encadrée par les fortifications vénitiennes et certaines des plus anciennes maisons de Thessalonique. Vous aurez plusieurs rues rien que pour vous, pour une provision de souvenirs.

Tsinari district in Upper Town

Un dernier mezzé

Pour votre dernier repas à Thessalonique, nous avons prévu une tradition intemporelle. Il existe à Ano Poli plusieurs petites ouzeries pittoresques, telles que Tsinari, avec ses quelques tables sur le trottoir et leurs nappes colorées. Vous aurez bientôt devant vous un assortiment de fruits de mer, de légumes et de viandes, ainsi qu’un verre d’ouzo rafraîchissant ou une carafe de vin local frais. N’oubliez pas que vous avez un avion à prendre!

Thessalonikis' waterfront and White Tower at sunset

Un long au revoir

Vous prendrez l’avion à l’aéroport de Thessalonique Macédoine. Prévoyez du temps pour un dernier passage par les boutiques de l’aéroport, à la recherche du souvenir qui vous rappellera votre voyage, ou bien d’un cadeau pour partager vos expériences avec vos amis et votre famille.

Un itinéraire testé pour vous

Lors de notre parcours de 5 jours à Thessalonique, nous avons invité une équipe de médias allemands à vivre elle-même l’expérience. Restez connecté pour voir son verdict!

Done
Done
Done
Done
ANATOLIATH-photo-0 Offre
Accommodation

Anatolia Hotel Thessaloniki

Thessalonique

For your accommodation in Thessaloniki, choose the Anatolia Hotel Thessaloniki, a convenient, elegant and stylish establishment right in the heart of the fin...

Official online rates

Accommodation

The Caravan Hotel Thessaloniki

Thessalonique

The Caravan is a very small bed and breakfast with 13 rooms and variety of room types. The renovated neoclassical building locat...

Official online rates

More itineraries

If you’re looking for other routes to explore
The immense armour of King Philip II

Un voyage de 5 jours au cœur de l’ancienne Macédoine

Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

Un Road Trip de 8 jours à Thessalonique et à la Chalcidique

Aerial view of Thessaloniki's White Tower
ITINERARY

A 5-day extended city break in and around Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki’s colourful past and present becomes yours on an all-encompassing journey that extends beyond the city walls to some unexpected treasures.

A city renowned for its cultural diversity welcomes you warmly as you become acquainted with its most famous sights and tastes. You discover a world shaped by the ancient Macedonians and Romans, as well as the Venetians, Ottomans and other cultures. And you explore the surrounding area, visiting magical Vergina and going wine-tasting. You even get to experience Mt Olympus and one of its villages. 

As an itinerary that’s been road-tested by Discover Greece, we’ve included the restaurants and experience providers that supported the journey. There are, of course, plenty of alternatives out there and feel free to shorten or lengthen your stay as you wish. 
 

SHOW ROUTE ON MAP DOWNLOAD AS PDF
Start point - End point
Thessaloniki Airport
Distance
462.5 km
Means of transport
Airplane, Car, Foot
Duration
5 days
Highlights
The vibe of Thessaloniki, the waterfront, the historic center, Ano Poli, the local flavors, mount Olympus, Vergina’s Royal Tombs
DAY 1 OVERVIEW

The waterfront

26km Car, Foot 3

Your first day in Thessaloniki is dedicated to the waterfront. Strolling along the city’s southern flank is like tapping into its lifeblood. It connects many historical sights and perfectly captures the atmosphere. Best of all, your plane barely has time to land at Thessaloniki’s Makedonia Airport and, before you know it, you can be here, your city break well and truly underway. 

View of Aristotelous square

Greek breakfast or brunch

Find yourself a cafe or restaurant and fill up with energy for the day ahead. There are plenty of options around Aristotelous Square, the focal point of the waterfront. Our choice was the rooftop restaurant of Electra Palace, not just for the Mediterranean brunch but because of the sweeping view of the Thermaic Gulf. 

The itinerary starts at the iconic White Tower and ends at the castles of the Upper Town

A waterfront walking tour

From Aristotelous Square, you arrive at the White Tower (take your time in the fascinating museum) and beyond that is the statue of a horse-mounted Alexander the Great and the Umbrellas installation – both emblems of the city. Locals know best, of course, so we were shown around by dot2dot experience providers, ending the day at the Megaro Moussikis Concert Hall. 

Creativity and artistry on a plate await at Thria Restaurant (near the Concert Hall)

The gourmet dining scene

Thessaloniki’s eating options are limitless, so we’ve made sure to cover all the different styles, kicking off with an example of the city’s burgeoning gourmet dining scene. Creativity and artistry on a plate await at Thria Restaurant (near the Concert Hall). Seabass carpaccio sprinkled with citrus zest, black truffle risotto with mushrooms and chestnut cream… you get the idea!

DAY 2 OVERVIEW

The historic centre & a winery

108.5 km Car, Foot 4

There’s a full day in store as you discover more cultural highlights before heading out of town to a winery in one of the city’s original wine-producing areas. After a pit stop to talk herbs and mountain tea, you end the day back in Thessaloniki for more great food and a taste of the city’s famous nightlife. 

The UNESCO-protected Rotunda is part of the Galerian Complex of Thessaloniki

A tour of the monuments

Joining your experience provider again, you discover more of Thessaloniki’s cultural highlights… from the Upper Town’s Venetian legacy (the Trigoniou Tower and Vlatadon Monastery) and the UNESCO-protected Church of St Dimitrios (the city’s patron saint) to the Roman’s Agora and Rotunda (and other monuments). Lunch is at Mitsos cafe by the lively Kapani food market, with grilled squid and sardines. 

Discover the open sights of Thessaloniki 

If you’re a wine-lover, there’s an extra special treat in store when you visit Thessaloniki!

The Gerovassiliou Winery

There are plenty of wineries to visit near Thessaloniki. Ktima Gerovassiliou is in the best-known grape-growing region, Epanomi, 40 minutes due south. The microclimate of mild winters and hot summers tempered by a cooling sea breeze is ideal – as the ancients and (more intensively) the Venetians discovered. There’s an on-site museum, as well as 72 hectares of vineyard with local and international varietals, as well as wine-tasting to look forward to. 

Explore the wine routes of Thessaloniki 

The aromas are very different on your next stop as you experience the heady scents of sage, lavender, verbena, thyme, peppermint and other Mediterranean sun-loving herbs at family-run Votanakia, in the village of Peristera.

An aromatic herb farm

The aromas are very different on your next stop as you experience the heady scents of sage, lavender, verbena, thyme, peppermint and other Mediterranean sun-loving herbs at family-run Votanakia, in the village of Peristera. You’ll be introduced to the therapeutic benefits of the herbs as well as a variety of delicious infusions. Don’t leave without a packet of mountain tea. 

Dinner is at Nama, in Agion Apostolon, which serves delicious modern Greek cuisine.

The modern Greek cuisine of Thessaloniki

Back to Thessaloniki and one of the neighbourhoods away from the city centre that hide some great restaurants. Dinner is at Nama, in Agion Apostolon square, which serves delicious modern Greek cuisine. After that, it’s a short walk for a drink at one of the atmospheric little bars in the urban-cool Ano Ladadika district. You’ll understand why nightlife in Thessaloniki is an experience in itself. 

DAY 3 OVERVIEW

Urban tastes & Vergina

150 km Car, Foot 3

There’s another full day to look forward to as you enjoy two very different (but equally memorable) experiences. Firstly, a food tour exploring Thessaloniki’s extraordinary culinary heritage, followed by a visit to the region’s most iconic Macedonian landmark, the tomb of Philip II of Macedon (father of Alexander the Great) in nearby Vergina.  

Enjoy innovative dishes or traditional delicates in a taverna

A gastro tour

Every day in Thessaloniki is a gastronomic treat but this morning gives food the exclusivity it deserves. Thessaloniki Urban Adventures are our guides, starting the day with a Greek coffee and discussing the city’s cultural influences (Frankish, Ottoman, Jewish, Arab, Anatolian, Pontiac…) before heading into the glass-roofed Modiano Market to taste feta, olives and loukoumia (Turkish Delight). You’ll be introduced to bougatsa (phillo pastry-wrapped, cinnamon and icing sugar-dusted custard treats) and tsoureki (a plaited, sweetened bread) and finish with a meze lunch.

Enjoy a culinary tour of Thessaloniki 

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

The Royal Tombs of Vergina

The UNESCO-protected Royal Tombs of Aigai (an hour west of Thessaloniki) are a worthy centrepiece to any holiday in the region. The 4th-century BC burial tumulus has been reconstructed to preserve the palatial tombs of Philip II and other Macedonian royalty and includes an atmospheric museum showcasing some of the most impressive finds of antiquity. The entire archaeological site will leave you with a renewed appreciation for Macedonian history.

Explore the Royal Tombs of Aigai 

Litohoro village is the starting point for day trips on the mountain

Litochoro

Your day ends in Litochoro, the closest settlement to Mt Olympus. You arrive in time for an evening stroll, admiring the local architecture and feeling of a town that is part-mountainous, part-coastal (only 15-20mins from the Pieria coastline). So the choice of dinner style is up to you… Macedonian mountain fare in town or seafood by the beach, at a taverna like Psarokokalo?

DAY 4 OVERVIEW

Mt Olympus

68 km Car, Foot 2

You spend a full day on Mt Olympus, beginning with a nature walk along the Enipeas Gorge. The afternoon is filled with the authenticity of a mountain village, where the way of life has barely changed in decades.

A beautiful introduction in the Enipeas Gorge

Hiking the Enipeas Gorge

You don’t need to reach the summit of Mt Olympus to feel its mythical energy. From Prionia (1,100m altitude), the walk along the Enipeas Gorge is utterly beautiful (2hr30min or 1hr15min without stops). You criss-cross the gorge on wooden bridges and reach the little Monastery of Agios Dionysios hidden in the forest. Before setting out, pass by the Olympus National Park Management Agency (just outside Litochoro), which has information on Olympus’ flora and fauna and weather conditions. If you contact them beforehand, they can arrange a guide. 

Explore the hiking trails of Mt Olympus 

Traditional house in Palaios Panteleimonas village

Palaios Panteleimonas

Your afternoon is spent in Palaios Panteleimonas, the embodiment of Mt Olympus village life. Enjoy the Macedonian architecture, shops selling local products and a main square shaded by centuries-old plane trees. There are taverna options, like as the aptly named Olympos, with balcony views over the region or and locals enthusiastically preparing dishes with ingredients from a family-owned vegetable plot. Enjoy a glass of tsipouro (firewater) made from wild strawberry trees.

Go mythical village-hopping on Mt Olympus 

DAY 5 OVERVIEW

Thessaloniki

110km Airplane, Car, Foot 3

Returning to Thessaloniki, you either head straight to the airport or (if you have time) take the opportunity to say a proper goodbye to Greece’s second-largest city. Returning to Ano Poli, there’s a final view of the Thermaic Gulf and one or two more memories in store.

Upper town views of Thessaloniki

Ano Poli

The cobblestone streets and original architecture of the Upper Town will bring on feelings of nostalgia even before you’ve left. The alleyways here are perfect for strolling, with countless opportunities to stop and take in the distant sea view, framed by Venetian fortifications and some of Thessaloniki’s oldest houses. With many of the streets to yourself, you’ll lock in the memories. 

Tsinari district in Upper Town

A meze meal to end with

Your final meal in Thessaloniki is reserved for something timelessly traditional. There are plenty of quaint little ouzeries in Ano Poli, such as Tsinari, with just a handful of pavement tables covered by colourful tablecloths. An assortment of seafood, vegetable and meat meze will soon be spread before you, as well as a refreshing glass of ouzo or carafe of chilled local wine. Just don’t forget you’ve got a flight to catch. 

Thessalonikis' waterfront and White Tower at sunset

A long goodbye

Thessaloniki’s Makedonia Airport is your departure point. Leave time for a final whirl of the shops in the airport, looking for that memento that will bring back all the memories or a gift to share your experiences with friends and family back home. 

Plan your trip

More itineraries

If you’re looking for other routes to explore
The immense armour of King Philip II

A 5-day road trip to the heart of Ancient Macedonia

A 7-day road trip around exotic Halkidiki

An 8-day road trip to Thessaloniki & Halkidiki