If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki
EXPERIENCE

Le meilleur de la légendaire ambiance nocturne de Thessalonique

S'il y a une ville qui est devenue synonyme de vie nocturne, c'est bien celle-ci. Les divers quartiers de Thessalonique ne cessent de trouver de nouvelles façons de captiver les visiteurs, avec des tavernes traditionnelles et des concept-bar.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1 à 3 nuits
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Chaleureuse, diversifiée, à cœur jeune, dynamique et à tout jamais accueillante, Thessalonique est une ville qui sait s'amuser.  Elle est le fruit d'un mélange d'influences en constante évolution, n'hésitant jamais à se réinventer, notamment autour de sa gastronomie, qui est au cœur de son émergence en tant que l'une des destinations de vacances les plus prisées d'Europe. 

Vous pouvez vous y promener tranquillement jusqu'à ce que vous tombiez sur un endroit qui vous séduise... une boutique de designer, un restaurant de meze, une taverne ou peut-être un bar à vin, à bière ou à cocktail. Mais il est également recommandé de découvrir certains quartiers à l'avant-garde, en particulier ceux où les tables d'extérieur bourdonnent du début du printemps à la fin de l'automne.

Le choix se fera peut-être en fonction du style de musique qui y est joué... pop, rock, indie, soul, jazz ou rebetiko (folk grec). C'est le genre d'endroit où le même bar peut moudre des grains de café et attirer une foule pour un brunch animé le jour, puis se mettre à la glace pilée et aux rondelles de citron et laisser un mixologue se défouler avec un menu de cocktails le soir. Et à Thessalonique, la nuit est vraiment synonyme de nuit. 
 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

La rue Mitropoleos 

L'une des principales rues commerçantes de Thessalonique, et ses environs, qui est devenue un lieu de divertissement incontournable à l'atmosphère si particulière. Vous y trouverez des bâtiments néoclassiques convertis en bars, cafés et boutiques élégants, ainsi qu'un grand nombre de restaurants. Faites le tour avant de faire votre choix, notamment la rue Proxenou Koromila, parallèle à la rue Mitropoleos. La tentation n'en finit pas, avec des tables pavées chargées de plats élégamment présentés et des bars accueillants.

Ladadika

Parmi les quartiers les plus populaires de Thessalonique et la définition du terme "cool urbain". Situé à l'ouest du centre ville, près du port, Ladadika était un quartier commercial connu pour la vente en gros de produits pétroliers (ladi est le pétrole en grec) avant de se dégrader progressivement. Puis, dans les années 1980, un projet de rénovation et de réaménagement de la rue Aigyptou et de ses environs a transformé les entrepôts en tavernes, bistrots, pubs, bars à vin et même en boîtes de nuit, donnant ainsi naissance à l'un des quartiers les plus branchés de Thessalonique. Et en bonus, rendez-vous sur la place Emboriou (juste au-dessus de la rue Tsimiski) pour découvrir d'autres bars à vin et restaurants de bon goût. 

La rue Valaoritou 

La soirée se prolonge jusque tard dans la nuit à Valaoritou (une rue qui est aussi devenue le symbole d'un quartier). Vous y trouverez toute une série de bars, chacun avec un style musical et un décor distinct, et des bâtiments dont l'architecture représente le vieux Thessalonique. On y trouve l'église catholique et le conservatoire d'État, ainsi que les arcades de Malakopi, où chacun des bars et des pubs a sa propre atmosphère. Vous trouverez également de nombreuses boutiques anciennes dans ce qui était le quartier commercial de la ville (dont la rue Ermou), aujourd'hui transformé en restaurants et cafés.

Le bazar Bit 

Voici un petit trésor que vous risquez de manquer si vous ne savez pas où chercher. Bit Bazaar est un petit quartier qui accueillait autrefois les réfugiés grecs revenant d'Asie dans les années 1920.  Il est caché entre les rues Olympou, Venizelou et Tositsa, sur une place centrale avec de petites maisons à deux étages. Certains des magasins d'antiquités qui ont fait la renommée du bazar sont toujours là, mais vous y trouverez aussi des boutiques transformées en cafés, tavernes et bars proposant de la musique différente. Si vous ne les trouvez pas, il suffit de demander. C'est devenu un lieu de rencontre privilégié des étudiants.

Les classiques 

On ne peut pas venir à Thessalonique sans flâner sur le front de mer. Ce n'est pas seulement une promenade emblématique le long du Golfe Thermique - qui s'étend du quartier de Ladadika, en passant par la Tour Blanche et jusqu'à la salle de concert de Thessalonique (Megaro Mousikis) - mais c'est aussi un lieu de rencontre privilégié pour les résidents et les visiteurs et abrite une file apparemment infinie de restaurants, cafés et bars. Les endroits les plus animés se trouvent autour de la place Aristote et de la Tour Blanche, mais il y a aussi beaucoup de bars et de cafés meze retirés.

Ano Poli et les châteaux

Pour une vue différente de Thessalonique, dirigez-vous vers les rues étroites et les châteaux vénitiens de la Haute Ville. Prenez votre temps pour explorer, en admirant l'architecture macédonienne traditionnelle (rues pavées, placettes et maisons à deux étages) dans l'un des plus anciens quartiers de la ville. Vous apprécierez encore plus les délices des cafés et tavernes traditionnels du quartier de Tsinari, et autour de la tour Trigoniou, des jardins du Pacha et de l'Heptapyrgion. Pour un petit plaisir supplémentaire, trouvez-vous une ouzerie ou un bar avec une terrasse et savourez la vue sur la ville et le golfe Thermique.

Lire la suite Read Less

 Depuis l’aéroport à la placette Aristotelous

Depuis la placette Aristotelous à Ano Poli

  • Thessalonique est une excellente destination de city break tout au long de l'année et représente une escale naturelle splendide pendant vos vacances dans la grande région. 
  • La ville est animée par le grand nombre d'étudiants, ce qui en fait une destination particulièrement agréable d'octobre à mai.
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

See also

You might be interested in
Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

A la découverte des routes de vin à Thessalonique

Thessaloniki Archaeological Museum

Un tour du musée archéologique de Thessalonique

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

Ressentez la majesté des tombes royales de Vergine

White Tower Thessaloniki aerial view

Creusez dans l’âme de Thessaloniki à la tour blanche

We start at the emblematic White Tower, the 15th century prison that is now a museum

Une promenade pédestre à la ville historique de Thessalonique

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

A la découverte des routes de vins du Chalcidique

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set.

Les meilleurs restaurants et endroits pour sortir le soir à Mykonos

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

A la découverte des routes de vin à Thessalonique

Corfu old town and Spianada square from above

Découvrez les spécialités de Corfou

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Découvrez les racines de Mykonos par l'agrotourisme

Pyrgos, in the north, has a charming square where you can settle down to Greek coffee and a slice of galaktoboureko

Découvrez les spécialités de Tinos

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is Thessaloniki
EXPERIENCE

The best of Thessaloniki’s legendary nightlife scene

If there’s a city that’s become synonymous with nightlife and entertainment, this is it. Thessaloniki’s diverse neighbourhoods keep finding new ways to enthral visitors, with everything from traditional tavernas to concept bars and shops for every taste.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 3 nights
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Warm, diverse, young-hearted, vibrant and eternally welcoming, Thessaloniki knows just how to have fun.  It is a product of its ever-evolving mix of influences, never shy to reinvent itself, particularly around its food & drink scene, which is at the heart of its emergence as one of Europe’s hottest city break destinations. 

You can just walk around until you find a place that grabs your fancy… designer store, meze restaurant, taverna or perhaps a wine, beer or cocktail bar. But it’s also worth knowing a few of the neighbourhoods that give it its edge, especially the ones where outdoor tables are buzzing from early-spring till late-autumn.

Perhaps you’ll choose according to the style of music that’s playing… pop, rock, indie, soul, jazz or rebetiko (Greek folk). It’s the sort of place the same bar can be grinding coffee beans and attracting a lively brunch crowd by day, before switching to crushed ice and lemon slices and letting a mixologist loose with a cocktail menu by night. And in Thessaloniki, night really does mean night. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Mitropoleos Street

One of Thessaloniki’s main shopping streets has also evolved into a prime entertainment spot. Running parallel to the waterfront, Mitropoleos St has its own special atmosphere, with neoclassical buildings converted into elegant bars, cafes and shops and an array of restaurants. You’ll probably make the choice of where to eat from browsing the pavement tables, many with elegantly presented dishes using delicious-looking ingredients. 

Ladadika

One of Thessaloniki’s most popular neighbourhoods and the definition of urban cool. Located west of the city centre, near the port, Ladadika was a commercial district known for selling wholesale oil products (ladi is oil in Greek) before gradually becoming rundown. Then came a renovation and pedestrianization project in the 1980s, on and around Aigyptou Street, transforming warehouses into tavernas, bistros, pubs, wine bars and even nightclubs and, in so doing, spawning one of Thessaloniki’s hippest neighbourhoods. And as an extra tip, check out Emboriou Square (just above Tsimiski St) for other tasteful wine bars and eateries. 

Valaoritou Street

The fun goes on long into the night in Valaoritou (a street that’s also become a byword for a neighbourhood). You’ll find a whole range of bars, each with its own musical style and decor, and buildings whose architecture represents the old Thessaloniki. The city’s Catholic Church and State Conservatory are found here, as is the Malakopi Arcade, whose handful of bars and pubs have their own unique atmosphere. You’ll also find plenty of old shops in what is essentially the city’s commercial district (including Ermou St) that have been turned into restaurants and cafes.

Bit Bazaar

Here’s a little treasure you might miss if you don’t know where to look. Bit Bazaar is a tiny district that once housed Greek refugees returning from Asia Minor in the 1920s.  It’s hidden away between Olympou, Venizelou and Tositsa streets, in a central square with small two-storey houses. Some of the antique shops for which the bazaar was famous are still here, but you’ll also find shops converted into cafes, tavernas and bars with alternative music. If you can’t find it, just ask. It’s become a favourite student hangout.

The classics

You can’t come to Thessaloniki without strolling along the waterfront. It’s not just an iconic walk along the Thermaic Gulf – stretching from the Ladadika district past the White Tower and all the way to Thessaloniki Concert Hall (Megaro Mousikis) – but it’s also a favourite hangout for residents and visitors and the location of a seemingly endless line of restaurants, cafes and bars. The liveliest stretches are around Aristotelous Square and the White Tower, but there are also plenty of tucked-away meze bars and cafes. 

Ano Poli and the castles

For a different view of Thessaloniki, head to the narrow streets and Venetian castles of the Upper Town. Take your time to explore, noting the traditional Macedonian architecture (stone-paved streets, squares and two-storey houses) in one of the city’s oldest districts. It will make the delicacies in the traditional cafes and tavernas of the Tsinari neighbourhood, and around the Trigoniou Tower, Pasha’s Gardens and Heptapyrgion, even more enjoyable. For an extra special treat, find yourself an ouzerie or bar with a terrace and drink up the view of the city and Thermaic Gulf. 

Read More Read Less

From the airport to Aristotelous Square

From Aristotelous Square to Ano Poli

  • Thessaloniki is an excellent city break destination all year round and is a natural stopover during holidays in the wider region. 
  • The city has a vibrant student life, so is especially enjoyable from October to May.
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

Plan your trip

See also

You might be interested in
Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki Archaeological Museum

A tour of the Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki

We start at the emblematic White Tower, the 15th century prison that is now a museum

A walking tour of historic Thessaloniki

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light

Feel the majesty of Vergina’s Royal Tombs

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

Exploring the wine routes of Halkidiki

White Tower Thessaloniki aerial view

Delve into the soul of Τhessaloniki in the White Tower

Touring the vineyards and cellars will give you an appreciation of the first rate facilities

Exploring the wine routes of Thessaloniki

Nights out don’t get any more legendary. Signature cocktails as the sun begins to set.

The best dining and nightlife spots in Mykonos

Spring on the island of Mykonos and amazing view to the Aegean

Uncover the roots of Mykonos on an agro-tourism tour