Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village
EXPERIENCE

Волшебный тур по горным деревушкам Олимпа

Желаете увидеть самобытные места или оказаться посреди дикой природы? Тогда горные деревушки Олимпа – это как раз то самое место. Волшебная природа, легенды и мифология сливаются в единое целое в этом прекрасном регионе северной Греции.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
1 - 2 дня
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

Верится или не верится, но именно на Олимпе обитали 12 античных богов, среди них и всемогущий Зевс. Возможно, найти жилище богов Вам не посчастливится, зато Вы непременно будете очарованы великолепной природой первого Национального парка Греции, находящегося сегодня под защитой ЮНЕСКО как заповедная экосистема. На склонах горы расположены также традиционные деревушки, которые поддерживают живой интерес к прикладному искусству. 

Популярность деревушек Олимпа значительно возросла в последние годы благодаря тому, что путешественники открывают для себя весь спектр горных приключений, которые им может предоставить гора: походы, горный велосипед, катание на лошади, спуск по каньону, скалолазание, параглайдинг или поездка на внедорожнике по грунтовым дорогам и склонам. 

Местные жители, которые когда-то покинули здешние места, вернулись вновь, чтобы возродить красоту своих деревень в традиционном македонском стиле, и открыли новые таверны и лавочки, чтоы продавать местные изделия ручной работы.

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Литохоро 

Деревенский образ жизни продолжает сохраняться в небольшом городке Литохоро, который служит отправной точкой для большинства походов на Олимп. В старой части города Вас ждёт традиционная македонская архитектура – двухэтажные дома с деревянными балконами и перекладинами. Но Вы также заметите живую морскую традицию, если посмотрите на неоклассические дома судовладельцев. Большинтсво пешеходных улочек ведут к главной площади (как это обычно происходит в деревнях). Современные веяния ярко видны в стиле современных ресторанчиков и кафе. Однако преобладают в стиле города традиционные таверны, расположенные в центре городка, а также вдоль реки Энипей.  Именно здесь начинается подножие горы Олимп. Неподалёку находится также деревушка Мили, известная своими водяными мельницами и часовенками (Святых Апостолов и Пророка Илии). От этой деревушки отходит зарегистрированная  горная тропа Е4.

Ано Скотина

Входя в деревушку Анос Скотина, расположенную на высоте 750 метров в низовьях Олимпа, Вы очутитесь среди хвойных деревьев и берёз. Многие дома здесь были построены ещё в 17 и 18 веках. А церковь Св. Афанасия, известная своим замечательным резным иконостасом, относится к 14 веку. Было время, когда жители деревни начали переезжать из деревни. Но постепенно население снова вернулось в деревню, восстановив свои дома и превратив многие из них в небольшие гостиницы. Сердцем деревни является её главная площадь, посередине которой возвышаются церковь Дормитион (Успения Богородицы) и огромный клён. С площади открывается панорамный вид  до самого моря. От деревни отходят пешие и велосипедные тропы, а также маршруты для внедорожников.

Палеос Пантелеимонас

Это ещё одна деревня, жители которой когда-то покинули её, перебравшись  ближе к побережью, но затем вновь вернулись, давая вторую жизнь деревенским домам с черепичной крышей, открывая традиционные таверны и небольшие гостиницы. На улицах деревни не ездят машины, а главную площадь по традиции украшает большой клён. Здесь же стоит и церковь Св. Пантелеимона.Советуем остаться на площади, чтобы перекусить и отведать местного вина или ягодной водки «кумара», изготавливаемой из дикой земляники. В округе также находятся магазинчки, торгующие домашними макаронными изделиями, сладостями и ароматным мёдом.

Палеи Пори

Деревушка Палеи Пори обрела современные условия комфорта (как например, электричество) гораздо позже, чем другие соседние деревушки. Вдоль узеньких пешеходных улочек деревни стоят великолепные дома, построенные ещё в 18 и 19 веках. В центре находится главная площадь с огромным клёном прямо посередине и церковью Св. Георгия византийского периода. Отсюда открывается бескрайний вид до самого Фермейского залива. Многие традиционные дома в деревне переустроены под небольшие гостиницы. Сразу за деревней простирается лес, в котором находятся две прелестные церкви (Святых Апостолов и Зоодозу Пигис). 

Дион

Последним пунктом тура станет поселение, неразрывно связанное с историей  всего региона. Дион представлял собой самое важное святилище при царе Филиппе ΙΙ и его сыне Александре Македонском в 4 веке до н. э. Археологический памятник, находящийся здесь, отличается зелёным ландшафтом и изобилием воды. Святилище было посвящено богу Зевсу. Прогуливаясь по зелёной территории этого исторического памятника, Вы встретие несколько алтарей, посвящённых предводителю всех богов, а также египетской богине Исиде. В зоне археологического памятника находится также музей и античный театр, в котором и сегодня каждое лето проводятся культурные мероприятия в рамках Олимпийского фестиваля. Одна из дорог, выходящих из Диона ведёт к  маленькой церкушке Св. Константина. Именно там начинается ущелье Орлиас, идеально подходящее для похода по дикой природе или даже для более активного отдыха. А под конец дня рекомендуем остаться на ужин в одной из местных таверн, наслаждаясь вкуснейшими местными рецептами.

Подробнее Read Less

Рекомендуем выбрать отправным пунктом для данного тура город Салоники, в котором расположен ближайший международный аэропорт. Приехав в деревню Литохоро, Вы можете выбрать любой порядок осмотра представленных выше деревушек. Не бойтесь сочетать пункты по собственному вкусу, особенно если Вы желаете включить в программу разные виды отдыха на природе. Деревушки расположены недалеко одна от другой. 

На машине:

  • От аэропорта Салоник до городка Литохоро (121 км, 1час 20 минут)
  • От Литохоро до деревни Ано Скотина (28 км, 47 минут)
  • От Ано Скотина до деревни Палеос Пантелеимонас (9,3 км, 23 минуты)
  • От Палеос Пантелеимонас  до деревни Палеи Пори (5,7 км, 17 минут)
  • От Палеи Пори до Диона (37 км, 37 минут)

Посетить деревушки Олимпа можно в любое время года, но наиболее благоприятным временем является период с мая по октябрь, особенно если Вы желаете совместить поездку с отдыхом на одном из прекрасных пляжей на побережье Пиерии или совершить спуск по каньону в ущелье Орлиас, или даже подняться до одной из вершин Олимпа.

  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Отправившись рано утром, Вы сможете посетить все деревушки за один день. Однако время на каждую деревушку будет довольно ограниченным.
  • В любой из деревушек есть возможность остаться на ночлег. Наиболее широкий выбор гостиниц имеется в Литохоро, расположенной близ  Диона.

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Помогите нам сохранить волшебную красоту греческих деревушек, провинций и городов, чтобы передать это живое наследие будущим поколениям.

Поддерживайте чистоту на улицах. Используйте установленные мусорные урны. В случае их отсутствия носите мусор с собой до ближайшего мусорного бака.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Поддерживайте местный рынок, покупая продукты и сувениры в небольших магазинах и семейных лавках. Это также прекрасная возможность найти интересные предметы ручной работы.
Пожалуйста, следуйте намеченным тропам для Вашей личной безопасности, а также для сохранения дикой природы.
Относитесь уважительно к другим отдыхающим и к местным жителям.
Не бойтесь обращаться за советом или с просьбой о помощи к местным жителям.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Спуск по каньону реки Орлиас на горе Олимп

Hiking from Myli, just outside Litochoro, to Prionia (the highest point reachable by car) is one of the most popular routes

По альпинистким тропам Олимпа

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

Волшебная красота храма Посейдона на Сунио

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Знакомясь с деревушками острова Парос

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

Экскурсия по храму Деметры на острове Наксос

The villages of Evritania overflow with everything magical about Central Greece

Тур по горным деревушкам региона Эвритания

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Культурное наследие Афин за одну прогулку!

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Экскурсия по Музею современного искусства им. Гуландриса в Афинах

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village
EXPERIENCE

Mythical village-hopping on the slopes of Mt Olympus

Whether you’re looking for pockets of authenticity in which to unwind or an escape for activities in nature, the villages of Mt Olympus capture everything mythical about the legendary mountain of the gods in northern Greece.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 2 days
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

It’s up to you whether you believe the 12 gods of Ancient Greece, among them the all-powerful Zeus, still live on Mt Olympus. But what you won’t have any trouble finding – within the greenery of Greece’s first National Park and a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve – are villages still inhabited by locals doing their bit to keep the traditions and crafts of this mythical mountain very much alive.

The popularity of Olympus’ villages has grown as visitors discover all the adventures offered on the mountain (hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding – or perhaps adrenaline-filled canyoning, rock climbing, paragliding or 4x4ing along dirt paths).

Residents who had drifted away to nearby coastal settlements have returned, restoring buildings in the traditional Macedonian style and opening guesthouses, tavernas and shops to sell their handmade local products. 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Litochoro

Village life still beats strongly in the small town of Litochoro, the base for so many adventures on Mt Olympus. In the old town, you will find architecture that is unmistakably Macedonian (two-storey houses, with wooden beams and balconies) and there’s a strong maritime tradition in the neoclassical captain’s houses. Likewise, many of the narrow alleys wind back to the main square (as they do in a village). There are modern twists to restaurants and cafes, but there’s still a traditional atmosphere in the tavernas along the Enipeas River and in the centre (drinking tsipouro and eating meze). Mt Olympus appears through its foothills and nearby is Myli, with its watermills and the chapels of Agion Apostolon and Profitis Ilias, where you can pick up the E4 long-distance hiking trail. 

Ano Skotina

You’re surrounded by a forest of fir and beech trees as you enter Ano (Upper) Skotina, around 750m up on the lower slopes of Mt Olympus. Many of the houses here are from the 17th or 18th century and the church of Agios Athanasios (with a wonderful wood-carved iconostasis) dates to the 14th century. There was a time when the residents of Ano Skotina began to relocate. But slowly they have returned, restoring properties and opening guesthouses and tavernas. The heart of the village is the square, with the 19th-century Church of the Dormition (Kimisis Theotokou) and an enormous plane tree. There is a view all the way to the sea and, around the village, are footpaths for hiking, mountain biking or 4x4ing.

Palaios Panteleimonas 

Another centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the red roof-tiled houses and open traditional tavernas and guesthouses. The car-free roads and plane tree-lined main square (with the Church of Agios Panteleimonas) are a joy – especially whilst having a bite with a glass of local wine or a koumara tsipouro (firewater made from the fruit of the wild strawberry tree). Around you are shops selling handmade pasta and sweets and jars of blossom-scented honey. 

Palaioi Poroi 

Palei Pori (as it’s pronounced) is a village that received modern comforts (such as electricity) later than its neighbours. Most of its narrow alleyways, lined with handsome 18th and 19th century buildings, lead to the main square, with a huge plane tree, the Byzantine church of Agios Georgios and views all the way to the Thermaic Gulf. Many of the houses in the village have been converted into traditional guesthouses and above the settlement is a forest, in which you will find two pretty churches (Agion Apostolon and Zoodochou Pigis.)

Dion

Your final stop is another settlement inextricably linked with the region’s history. Dion was the most sacred sanctuary of King Philip II and his son Alexander the Great in the 4th century BC and its archaeological site – noted for its greenery and water features – was dedicated to Zeus. Strolling around the park, you’ll find sanctuaries to the leader of the gods and (amongst others) the Egyptian goddess Isis. There’s an on-site museum and the ancient theatre still stages cultural events, as one of the venues of the Olympus Festival each summer. One of the roads out of Dion leads to the little church of Agios Konstantinos, where the Orlias Gorge begins, perfect for a nature walk (or something more active). And don’t forget to finish the day at a taverna serving hearty local dishes.

Read More Read Less

It’s worth starting your journey from the city of Thessaloniki, which has the nearest international airport. After driving to Litochoro, you can follow the order of the villages as presented, but feel free to mix and match, especially if you’ve planned outdoor activities. All the villages are close to each other.

By car:

  • From Thessaloniki Airport to Litochoro (121km, 1hr20min)
  • From Litochoro to Ano Skotina (28km, 47min)
  • From Ano Skotina to Palaios Panteleimonas (9.3km, 23min)
  • From Palaios Panteleimonas to Palaioi Poroi (5.7km, 17min)
  • From Palaioi Poroi to Dion (37km, 37min)

You can visit the villages of Olympus at any time of year but the ideal months are May to October, especially if you want to enjoy a swim at one of the beaches along the Pieria coastline or go canyoning along the Orlias Gorge or hiking towards the peaks of Olympus.

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • Starting early in the morning, you can visit all of the villages in one day, but you’re unlikely to spend as much time as you would like in each.
  • You’ll find accommodation in all the villages (with nearby Litochoro having the most options if you are in Dion).

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages, towns and cities alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Explore your surroundings but please keep to designated paths for your own safety and to avoid disrupting the flora and fauna.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Just the setting catapults this experience into once-in-a-lifetime territory, surrounded by the thick forest and gushing waters

Canyoning the Orlias Gorge on Mt Olympus

Hiking from Myli, just outside Litochoro, to Prionia (the highest point reachable by car) is one of the most popular routes

Exploring the hiking trails of Mount Olympus

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The cultural wealth of Athens revealed in a stroll

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

A tour of the Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

A tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens