The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light
EXPERIENCE

Ressentez la majesté des tombes royales de Vergine

Faites un voyage dans la capitale de l'ancien royaume de Macédoine et explorez la chambre funéraire de Philippe II, père d'Alexandre le Grand, dans cette merveille archéologique protégée par l'UNESCO à seulement une heure de Thessalonique.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
3 hereus
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Visiter les tombes royales de Vergine (ancienne Aigai), c'est se rendre à l'épicentre du célèbre royaume de Macédoine, qui régnait en Grèce et bien au-delà au 4ème siècle av. J.-C. 

C'est là que le roi Philippe II de Macédoine a vécu et est mort de 382 à 336 av. J.-C. et où son fils, Alexandre le Grand, a été couronné avant de se lancer dans sa quête légendaire de construction d'un empire. 

Aujourd'hui, Vergine nous permet de profiter d'un aperçu extraordinaire de l'ancienne capitale de la Macédoine. Ce n'est pas seulement une merveille archéologique, mais l'un des plus grands sites funéraires du monde - aux côtés de Mycènes, Troie et la vallée égyptienne des rois - parce que, comme eux, les tombes les plus importantes (y compris celle de Philippe II) ont été découvertes sans pillage et pratiquement intactes.

Uniquement fouillées dans les années 1970 et maintenant un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, les tombes royales sont présentées dans un monticule recouvert d'herbe, imitant le tumulus funéraire d'origine des Macédoniens. À côté de la tombe somptueuse de Philippe II, il y a ceux du fils adolescent d'Alexandre (Alexandre IV) et d'autres membres de la famille, ainsi que certains des trésors les plus emblématiques de l'antiquité grecque. 

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

La tombe du roi Philippe II de Macédoine

La cérémonie funèbre de Philippe II en 336 av. J.-C. a été l'une des plus somptueuses de l'Antiquité et sa chambre funéraire l'a égalée en termes de gloire. Quelque chose entre un palais et un temple, il a des colonnes dressées et une antichambre. Les portraits de lui-même et d’Alexandre sont représentés dans une scène de chasse sur la façade de la tombe, ainsi que sur le lit de mort en or et en ivoire trouvés dans la chambre. L'épouse de Philippe, Meda, de Thrace a été enterrée dans l'antichambre du tombeau.

Le théâtre d'Aigai

Comme tout lieu d'importance dans l'Antiquité, Aigai avait un théâtre. Mais ce qui rend ce théâtre spécial, c'est qu'il semble être l'endroit exact où Philippe II a été tué par un garde du corps alors qu'il célébrait le mariage de sa fille, permettant à Alexandre d'assumer le trône et de mettre en marche la règle qui a conduit à l'accumulation du célèbre empire grec, jusqu'à la vallée de l'Indus et en Afrique du Nord. 

Les tombeaux des reines

Parmi les 300 plus petits sites funéraires éparpillés sur le site se trouve l’une des tombes féminines les mieux conservées de la Macédoine antique, connue sous le nom de « Cluster des reines ». Il contient l'une des épouses d'Alexandre I (498-454 av. J.-C.), qui a été enterrée avec plus de 20 petites statues en terracotta et ce qui serait les restes de la mère (Eurydice) et de la fille (Reine Thessalonique) de Philippe II. 

Le palais

La gloire d'Aigai peut être mesurée à partir des restes de l'immense palais qui a été construit sous le règne de Philippe II. Construit sur une colline, il faisait trois fois la taille du Parthénon, avec des salles de banquet au rez-de-chaussée, et était visible sur des kilomètres comme symbole de puissance et de beauté. Il a établi la norme pour les palais royaux pour les siècles à venir.  

L'aura du Musée polycentrique

Peut-être votre souvenir le plus vivant sera-t-il de l'aura spéciale du site - collectivement connu sous le nom de Musée polycentrique. Rien ne reflète cela plus que les objets exposés dans le tumulus - le larnax d'or contenant les os de Philippe II, la couronne d'or chargée qu'il portait sur son bûcher funéraire, son immense armure et le trésor de bijoux et autres artefacts d'un âge d'or - tous affichés dans lumière faible de manière évocatrice.

Lire la suite Read Less

De Thessalonique à Vergine :

  • En voiture: 70 km (1 heure)
  • En bus (KTEL): depuis la gare routière de Makedonia via Veria (changer de bus) Service quotidien régulier.

De Thessalonique à Veria :

D' Athènes à Veria:

  • En voiture: 507 km (5 heures)
  • En bus (KTEL): Gare routière de Kifissos (Athènes) deux services par jour.
  • En train: Depuis la gare Larissis (Athènes) via Platy. Plus d'informations 

De Vergine à Veria

  • En voiture ou en taxi: 13 km (20 minutes)
  • En bus 
  • Le site archéologique est ouvert toute l'année (sauf les jours fériés). 
  • Des horaires d'ouverture saisonniers s'appliquent.
  • Vous aurez besoin d'environ trois heures pour explorer pleinement le musée et le site.     
  • Billets: 12€ (réduit 6€)

Plus d'informations 

  • Le point fort du musée est le tumulus souterrain, qui a l'avantage d'être protégé du soleil et de la pluie. Mais le site est vaste, alors portez des chaussures confortables et des vêtements adaptés à la saison.
  • Comme pour tout site archéologique en plein air, cela vaut la peine de vérifier les conditions météorologiques avant votre visite. 
  • Une boutique du musée vend des souvenirs, y compris des copies originales d'antiquités et de publications grecques.
  • Un café est ouvert pendant les heures d'ouverture du musée.
  • En ce qui concerne l’infrastructure, Veria, à proximité, offre un très bon hébergement, ainsi qu'une cuisine moderne et traditionnelle.
  • Convient aux visiteurs handicapés. 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie de notre héritage pour les générations à venir, en suivant les règles de base lors des visites de sites archéologiques.

Ne touchez pas les vestiges ou les monuments. Les huiles naturellement sécrétées par les doigts peuvent endommager les artéfacts.
Restez sur les chemins indiqués et respectez les autres visiteurs.
Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Si vous voyez une pancarte interdisant de photographier avec flash, merci de la respecter. C’est une mesure destinée à la protection des monuments.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Il est strictement interdit de fumer.
Il est strictement interdit d’emmener des animaux de compagnie (à l’exception des chiens guides).
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Thessaloniki Archaeological Museum

Un tour du musée archéologique de Thessalonique

White Tower Thessaloniki aerial view

Creusez dans l’âme de Thessaloniki à la tour blanche

We start at the emblematic White Tower, the 15th century prison that is now a museum

Une promenade pédestre à la ville historique de Thessalonique

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

A la découverte des routes de vins du Chalcidique

Thessaloniki reveals its unique identity with every bite you take

Une visite gastronomique de Thessalonique

Ηopping between villages is the perfect follow-up to enjoying the lively atmosphere of the towns and beautiful beaches of Paros

Une escapade dans les villages de Paros

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

Une visite du temple de Déméter à Naxos

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Découvrez en une promenade les richesses culturelles d’Athènes

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

Visitez le musée d'art cycladique à Athènes

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Visitez le musée d'art contemporain Goulandris à Athènes

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Voyagez dans le temps au musée archéologique national d’Athènes

The immense armour of King Philip II, displayed in evocatively dimmed light
EXPERIENCE

Feel the majesty of Vergina’s Royal Tombs

Take a journey to the capital of the ancient Kingdom of Macedonia and explore the burial chamber of Philip II, father of Alexander the Great, in this UNESCO-protected archaeological wonder just an hour from Thessaloniki.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
3 hrs
Seasons
All year round

OVERVIEW

Visiting the Royal Tombs at Vergina (ancient Aigai) is to travel to the epicenter of the famous Kingdom of Macedonia, which ruled supreme in Greece and far beyond in the 4th century BC.

This is where King Philip II of Macedon lived and died from 382-336BC and where his son, Alexander the Great, was crowned before setting out on his legendary empire-building quest.

Today, Vergina allows us to enjoy an extraordinary insight into the ancient capital of Macedonia. It’s not just an archaeological wonder, but one of the world’s great burial sites – alongside Mycenae, Troy and the Egyptian Valley of the Kings – because, like them, the most significant tombs (including that of Philip II) were discovered unlooted and virtually intact.

Only excavated in the 1970s and now a UNESCO World Heritage site, the royal tombs are presented within a grass-covered mound, mimicking the original burial tumulus of the Macedonians. Along with the palatial tomb of Philip II within it are those of Alexander’s teenage son (Alexander IV) and other family members, along with some of the most iconic treasures of Greek antiquity.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Tomb of King Philip II of Macedon

Philip II’s funeral ceremony in 336 BC was one of the most lavish of ancient times and his death chamber matched it in terms of glory. Something between a palace and a temple, it has standing columns and an antechamber. The portraits of himself and Alexander are depicted in a hunting scene on the tomb’s façade, as well as on the gold and ivory deathbed found in the chamber. Philip’s Thracian wife, Meda, was buried in the tomb’s antechamber.

The Theatre of Aigai

Like every place of importance in antiquity, Aigai had a theatre. But what makes this theatre special is that it appears to be the exact spot where Philip II was killed by a bodyguard while celebrating his daughter’s marriage, allowing Alexander to assume the throne and set in motion the rule that led to the accumulation of Greece’s famous empire, all the way to the Indus valley and into north Africa.

The Tombs of the Queens

Among the 300 smaller burial sites scattered around the site is one of the best preserved female tombs of ancient Macedonia, known as the ‘Cluster of the Queens’. It contains one of the wives of Alexander I (498-454 BC), who was buried along with more than 20 small terracotta statues and what are believed to be the remains of Philip II’s mother (Eurydice) and daughter (Queen Thessaloniki).

 

The Palace

The glory of Aigai can be measured from the remains of the enormous palace which was constructed during the reign of Philip II. Built on a hill, it was the three times the size of the Parthenon, with ground-floor banqueting rooms, and was visible for miles as a symbol of power and beauty. It set the standard for royal palaces for centuries to come.

The aura of the Polycentric Museum

Perhaps your most vivid memory will be of the special aura of the site – collectively known as the Polycentric Museum. Nothing reflects this more than the exhibits within the tumulus – the gold larnax containing Philip II’s bones, the intricate golden wreath he wore on his funeral pyre, his immense armour and the treasure trove of jewellery and other artefacts from a golden age – all displayed in evocatively dimmed light.

Read More Read Less

From Thessaloniki to Vergina:

  • By car: 70km (1hr)
  • By bus (KTEL): from Makedonia Station via Veria (change bus). Regular daily service.

From Thessaloniki to Veria:

  • By car: 73km (1hr5min)
  • By bus: More info
  • Regular daily service (1-1hr30min)
  • By train: Via Platy. More info

From Athens to Veria:

  • By car: 507km (5hr)
  • By bus (KTEL): Kifissos Station (Athens) two services daily.
  • By train: From Larissis Station (Athens) via Platy. More info

From Vergina to Veria

  • By car or taxi: 13km (20min)
  • By bus
  • The archaeological site is open all year round (except national holidays).
  • Seasonal opening hours apply
  • You will need around three hours to fully explore the museum and the site. 
  • Tickets: €12 (€6 reduced)

More info

  • The highlight of the museum in the underground burial mound, which has the benefit of being protected from both sun and rain. But the site is expansive, so wear comfortable shoes and season-appropriate clothes.
  • As with any open-air archaeological site, it’s worth checking the weather conditions before you visit. 
  • A museum shop sells souvenirs, including original copies of Greek antiquities and publications.
  • A café is open during museum operating hours.
  • As far as amenities are concerned, nearby Veria offers very good accommodation, as well as modern and traditional cuisine.
  • Suitable for visitors with disabilities.

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting cultural sites.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Stay on the marked paths and respect your fellow visitors.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the monuments.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
Smoking is prohibited.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Read Also

Here is a selection of experiences you may also like
We start at the emblematic White Tower, the 15th century prison that is now a museum

A walking tour of historic Thessaloniki

High on the hill above Hora, The Monastery of St John the Theologian

Discovering the mystical aura of Patmos’ Hora

At the top of the hill, the famous stone castle of Astypalaia which towers over Hora is a special attraction

A walking tour of Astypalea’s radiant Hora

Agios Stefanos, one of the most photogenic beaches on Kos

Sun, sea and culture at Agios Stefanos beach on Kos

Strolling around the picturesque alleyways of Plaka

Feeling the vibes of Athens around the Acropolis

We start at the emblematic White Tower, the 15th century prison that is now a museum

A walking tour of historic Thessaloniki

Domaine Porto Karras, the largest organic vineyards in Greece

Exploring the wine routes of Halkidiki

White Tower Thessaloniki aerial view

Delve into the soul of Τhessaloniki in the White Tower