Elafonisi beach
ITINERARY

8-tägiger Roadtrip, um das Beste von Chania zu erleben

Von seiner unglaublichen Landschaft und Kultur bis hin zu seinem legendären Essen und Dorfleben fängt Chania die Seele Kretas ein. Und wenn Sie es erst einmal erlebt haben, wird es für immer ein Teil von Ihnen sein.

Von der Stadt Chania aus breitet sich diese außergewöhnlich vielfältige Region Kretas vor Ihnen aus. Ein 8-tägiger Roadtrip erkundet die schönsten Strände und Berge der Region, einschließlich Outdoor-Aktivitäten wie SUP-ing und Wandern, und schöpft die Authentizität der berühmten gastfreundlichen Einheimischen und ihrer Traditionen aus. All das kann jederzeit von April bis Oktober genossen werden, wobei die ruhigeren und kühleren Monate zu beiden Seiten des Hochsommers noch spezieller sind.

Sie können Ihre Reise jederzeit verlängern oder verkürzen, abhängig von Ihrer Zeit und Ihren Interessen. Beachten Sie außerdem, dass alle Entfernungen tägliche Hin- und Rückfahrten nach Chania beinhalten. Wenn Sie jedoch unterwegs eine Unterkunft in der Nähe finden, können Sie die Rückfahrt ablehnen.

SHOW ROUTE ON MAP DOWNLOAD AS PDF
Start point - End point
Altstadt von Chania - Die apokoronas-dörfer
Entfernung
Bis zu 830 km
Means of transport
Boat, Car, Foot, Bike
Dauer
8 Tage
Highlights
Die exotischen Strände von Balos und Elafonisi, Wandern in der Samaria-Schlucht,das Essen und die Einheimischen
DAY 1 OVERVIEW

Chania stadt

22 km Car, Foot 3

Egal, ob Sie ein Auto am Flughafen Chania nehmen (50 Minuten Flugzeit von Athen entfernt) oder mit dem Boot von Piräus (ca. 8 Stunden bis zum Hafen von Souda) anreisen, der erste Tag Ihrer Reise wird größtenteils zu Fuß verbracht. Die Stadt Chania hat alles, um Sie in Stimmung zu halten - Kultur, Denkmäler, Geschäfte und eine wunderbare Einführung in das Essen, das Sie während Ihres Aufenthalts genießen werden.

Chania Old town

Ein Spaziergang durch die Altstadt

Die ganze Geschichte, der Charme und das Leben von Chania stecken in der Altstadt, in der Sie stundenlang die malerischen kleinen Gassen, Geschäfte und Cafés erkunden können. Überall sind Überreste der reichen Geschichte von Chania zu sehen - das Große Arsenal an den Werften, die Giali Tzamisi-Moschee und die venezianische Firkas-Festung (von wo aus Sie den ersten Blick auf den Hafen und die Weißen Berge von Chania erhaschen können).

The Venetian Harbour

Der venezianische Hafen

Die romantischste Kulisse in Chania ist ohne Zweifel der Hafen, den die Venezianer im 14. Jahrhundert errichteten. Er wurde von zentraler Bedeutung für den Marine-Widerstand gegen die Türken und die Stadt blühte als Handelszentrum auf. Verpassen Sie nicht die Neoria (enge Steingebäude, die einst als Werften für Schiffsreparaturen dienten) und den legendären Leuchtturm, der um die Wende des 17. Jahrhunderts von den Venezianern erbaut und in den 1830er Jahren von den Ägyptern fertiggestellt wurde.

Chania, sunset dinner in Tabakaria

Abendessen beim Sonnenuntergang in Tabakaria

Ein verstecktes Juwel für Ihre erste Mahlzeit ist Tabakaria am östlichen Stadtrand. Das Viertel war im frühen 19. Jahrhundert für seine Gerbereien bekannt, in denen noch Lederfelle verarbeitet werden und vielen von ihnen teilweise renoviert wurden. Es ist ein wunderbar stimmungsvoller Ort für ein Abendessen am Meer.

DAY 2 OVERVIEW

Balos

110 km Car, Foot 3

Bilder der unglaublich schönen Lagune von Balos auf der nordwestlichsten Halbinsel Kretas sind um die Welt gereist - und das aus gutem Grund. Man kann sie mit dem Boot besichtigen, aber wenn Sie es vorziehen dorthin zu fahren und dann bis zum Strand hin laufen, können Sie die Natura 2000-geschützte Region in vollen Zügen genießen. Lassen Sie sich begeistern!

Balos Crete aerial view

Majestätischer Balos Strand

Die exotischen Grün- und Blautöne, sowie die weitläufigen Sandbänke von Balos sind die ersten Anziehungspunkte, aber es lohnt sich, sie zu erkunden, sobald Sie dort sind. Das Gebiet ist die Heimat einer reichen Pflanzen- und Tierwelt und das Schnorcheln - besonders dort, wo die Lagune tiefer wird - ist magisch.

Lassen Sie sich am Balos Strand

Watching the sunset at Balos beach from above, one of the most beautiful beaches of Crete and Europe

Der herrliche Sonnenuntergang

Es lohnt sich, den Tag auf Balos zu verbringen - nicht nur, um den Strand zu genießen, sondern auch um aufzubrechen, während die Sonne untergeht, denn auf dem 1 km langen Weg zurück zum Parkplatz gibt es einen Aussichtspunkt, von dem aus Sie noch einen letzten Blick auf die Lagune werfen und all diese Farben in der untergehenden Sonne genießen können. Beachten Sie die schimmernden rosa Flecken von zerkleinerten Muscheln im Sand.

Crete: Local dishes cooked in the wood-fired oven

Essen im Dorf Kalyviani

Um einen herrlichen Eindruck von Chania zu bekommen, halten Sie im Dorf Kalyviani, eine kurze Fahrt entlang der Straße zurück in die Stadt. Es ist ein verschlafenes Dorf mit rund 300 Einwohnern und einigen ausgezeichneten, familienfreundlichen Restaurants. Achten Sie auf die lokalen Gerichte, die im Holzofen zubereitet werden. Sie sind himmlisch.

DAY 3 OVERVIEW

Elafonisi

155 km Car, Foot 2

Elofonisi ist der andere Pin-up-Strand von Chania. Diesmal fahren Sie an die Südwestspitze von Chania und belohnen sich mit einem Paradies aus feinem weißen Sand und seichtem türkisfarbenem Wasser. Manchmal ist Elafonisi eine Insel, die Sie durch knietiefes Wasser erreichen können, und manchmal ist sie mit dem Festland verbunden. Aber es ist immer herzzerreißend schön.

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

Exotischer Elafonisi Strand

Es gibt einen organisierten Teil des Strandes auf dem Festland, an dem Sie den ganzen Tag über Annehmlichkeiten finden. Erkunden Sie jedoch unbedingt das gesamte Natura 2000-geschützte Gebiet. In den Sanddünen finden Sie seltene Pflanzen und es gibt viele Buchten für die Privatsphäre.

Experience Die Traumlandschaft des Elafonisi Strandes

Water sports are popular where the Elafonisi lagoon widens

SUP-ing am Kedrodasos Strand

In der Nähe gibt es einen weiteren (weitaus weniger bekannten) Paradiesstreifen. Kedrodasos bedeutet Zedernwald - obwohl die Bäume, nach denen der Strand benannt ist, eigentlich Wacholderbüsche sind. Um das Beste aus diesem traumhaften Strand herauszuholen, leihen Sie sich ein Stand-Up-Paddleboard und erkunden Sie die Bucht. Das Gefühl der Flucht ist magisch. (Ein Tipp für alle, die es etwas aktiver mögen als SUP: Der Strand von Falasarna im Nordwesten von Chania ist ein Surf-Hub.)

DAY 4 OVERVIEW

Loutro bootsausflug

146 km Boat, Car 3

Keine Reise nach Chania ist vollständig, ohne die Küste zu erkunden. Sie sind also heute an der Südküste unterwegs nach Chora Sfakion. Die Fahrt über 73 km dauert 1 Stunde 25 Minuten. Wenn Sie dort sind, können Sie sich zurücklehnen und eine ganztägige Bootsfahrt genießen. Ein Tipp ist es, die Douroundous Bäckerei in Chora Sfaklion zu besuchen und sich vor der Abfahrt mit lokalen Köstlichkeiten einzudecken.

Fishing boat at Loutro

Loutro

Die meisten Bootsfahrten von Chora Sfakion gehen nach Loutro. Es ist nicht nur eine der stimmungsvollsten Siedlungen in Chania, sondern ist umso besonderer, weil sie nur auf dem Seeweg erreichbar ist. Sie werden vom kristallklaren Wasser, den weiß getünchten Häusern und dem Geruch der Fischtavernen am Wasser verführt.

Marmara beach

Marmara Strand

Wenn Sie mit einem noch größeren Gefühl der Abgeschiedenheit ins Wasser eintauchen möchten, wählen Sie eine Bootsfahrt, die Sie zum Strand von Marmara führt, direkt an der Küste aufwärts. Der kompakte Kiesstrand bietet fantastisch klares Wasser und einen Blick auf die Aradena-Schlucht. (Der andere Weg dorthin ist eine 6 km lange Wanderung.) Es gibt eine sehr gute Taverne direkt über dem Strand.

Agia Roumeli

Agia Roumeli ist als der Endpunkt der Samaria-Schlucht berühmt und, abgesehen von der 16 km langen Wanderung durch die Schlucht, nur mit dem Boot erreichbar. Bei einer Bootsfahrt können Sie nachmittags vor der dramatischen Kulisse der berühmten Schlucht schwimmen.

DAY 5 OVERVIEW

Die Weissen Berge

86 km Car, Foot 2

Bei Ihrem ersten Blick auf die Lefka Ori (wie die Berge auf Griechisch genannt werden) werden Sie von dem Drang überwältigt, etwas zu erkunden. Die gesamte kretische Landschaft eignet sich für Outdoor-Aktivitäten, aber keine Kulisse ist packender als die höchste Bergkette der Insel (2.450 m), zu der auch die Bergwüste mit mehr als 50 Gipfeln gehört, die sich über 2 km vor Ihnen erheben.

Wandern in der Samaria-Schlucht bei Chania auf Kreta

Wandern in der Samaria-Schlucht

Die gesamte Länge der Samaria-Schlucht abzudecken, ist eines der großartigsten Wandererlebnisse Europas. Sie müssen jedoch nicht die gesamte Strecke zurücklegen, um das Majestätische zu spüren. In Xyloskalo, dem Ausgangspunkt der Wanderung durch die Schlucht, können Sie im ersten Teil der Schlucht durch den Kiefernwald zur Kapelle von Agios Nikolaos (4 km) laufen und dann zurück fahren und das UNESCO-geschützte Biosphärenreservat in vollen Zügen genießen.

Wandern in der spektakulären Samaria-Schlucht

Along the way you will meet beautiful rock formations and cypress trees hanging on the edge of the path to Gigilos peak

Erkunden Sie den Gigilos Trail

Wenn Sie nach einer weniger bekannten, aber ebenso epischen Möglichkeit suchen, die Weißen Berge zu genießen, ist der Gigilos-Trail eine großartige Empfehlung. Mit der Zuflucht Kallergis (nordöstlich von Xyloskalo) als Ausgangspunkt bietet der Weg eine großartige Aussicht und ein Gefühl der völligen Isolation. Sie können wandern oder sogar gemietete Mountainbikes aus Chania mitbringen.

DAY 6 OVERVIEW

Ein kulinarischer rundgang

166 km Car, Foot 3

Es ist ein Muss, einen Tag den gastronomischen Erlebnissen von Chania zu widmen. Für Kreter ist Essen eine Lebensweise, bei der Einfachheit, Nachhaltigkeit, frische, lokale Produkte, Respekt vor der Tradition und (vor allem) herzliche Gastfreundschaft im Vordergrund stehen. Hier werden drei Haltestellen beschrieben, wobei in der Gesamtentfernung alle drei inbegriffen sind. Sie können jedoch eine oder zwei auswählen und Ihren Tag danach ausrichten.

Vineyards in Chania

Eine Weintour

Die Weinherstellung auf Kreta reicht Jahrtausende zurück und Weinberge (die oft einheimische Rebsorten anbauen) befinden sich am Fuße der Weißen Berge und am Rande der Dörfer von Chania. Eine Weinprobe und eine Weinbergtour sind die einzige Möglichkeit, die reiche Geschichte und die köstlichen Aromen der Rot- und Weißweine der Region kennenzulernen. Im Dorf Vatolakkos befindet sich das Weingut Manousakis, das sich dem ökologischen Landbau widmet. Wenn Sie sich abenteuerlustig fühlen, können Sie die Offroad-Weinbergtour unternehmen. Sie werden es lieben.

It is in the melt-in-the-mouth food and, above all, in the wide-eyed smile of locals who greet you as if they’ve known you forever

Ein Kochkurs

Lokale handwerkliche Käsesorten, Honig, Fleisch von lokelen Bauern und eine ganze Menge anderer saisonaler Produkte werden lebendig, wenn Sie die Geheimnisse lokaler Kombinationen und Kochtechniken kennenlernen - natürlich begleitet von einem Glas Tsikoudia (Feuerwasser), das in einer saisonalen Brennerei hergestellt wird. Es gibt viele Kochkurse zur Auswahl. Die Olivenfarm im Dorf Litsarda ist eine großartige Option.

discover why olive oil production in Chania is an art form

Natürlich Olivenöl!

Keine Küche in Chania ist komplett ohne eine Flasche Olivenöl aus der Region. Olivenöl hat in Chania etwas Ursprüngliches. Sie spüren es in Olivenhainen, die überall auf dem Land zu finden sind, und schmecken jede traditionell, steingemahlene und kaltgepresste, exquisite, extra vergine Olive. Besuchen Sie Biolea in Kolympari und entdecken Sie, warum die Olivenölproduktion in Chania eine Form von Kunst ist.

DAY 7 OVERVIEW

Die Apokoronas-dörfer

68 km Car, Foot 3

Wenn Sie Chania von seiner authentischsten Seite erleben möchten, fahren Sie in die Dörfer. Einige sind bergig und andere küstennah, aber alle spiegeln die Essenz von Chania wider: die Traditionen, Bräuche, den Kontakt mit der Natur und das ruhmreiche Leben der Einheimischen, die Sie wie einen alten Freund begrüßen. Wenn Sie sich die Zeit nehmen, einige der 34 Dörfer von Apokoronas zu erkunden, werden Sie immer wieder dafür belohnt.

The main kafenio of Vamos, in the central square of the village

Vamos

Vamos ist das größte Dorf der Apokoronas und natürlicherweise der Ausgangspunkt für Ihre Dorfhüpftour. Mit vielen Geschäften mit lokalen Produkten zum Stöbern und Gassen zum Erkunden, hält Vamos jedoch nichts davon ab, Ihnen das wunderbare Bergdorfgefühl zu vermitteln. Es gibt auch eine ausgezeichnete Käserei und eine Kapelle aus dem 13. Jahrhundert, und jedes Jahr im Juli veranstaltet Vamos das größte Jazzfestival Kretas.

Village hopping durch Chania

 there’s a wonderfully cosy village feel to Douliana

Douliana

Mit rund 200 Einwohnern hat Douliana ein wunderbar gemütliches Dorfgefühl mit traditionellen Steinhäusern und einer winzigen Kirche. Sie werden die Aussicht auf die Bucht von Souda und die Weißen Berge lieben und es gibt eine Handvoll kurzer Wanderwege, die vom Dorf ausgehen, darunter einer nach Gavalohori.

traditional shop in Gavalochori

Gavalohori

Egal, ob Sie zu Fuß oder mit dem Auto anreisen, Sie werden von authentischen Steinhäusern, Kopfsteinpflasterstraßen und urigen Cafés begrüßt. Bestellen Sie sich einen traditionellen Kaffee und sprechen Sie mit den Einheimischen. In Gavalohori gibt es ein sehr gutes Volksmuseum mit einer Sammlung lokaler Kostüme, alter Münzen und Gegenständen aus dem dörflichen Alltag vergangener Tage.

DAY 8 OVERVIEW

Dorfhüpftour (teil II)

77 km Car, Foot 3

Sie werden schnell erkennen, warum es nicht ausreicht, nur einen Tag in den Dörfern von Apokoronas zu verbringen. Nachdem Sie für eine Nacht nach Chania zurückgekehrt sind (oder noch besser in einem der Dörfer übernachtet haben), lohnt es sich, einen zweiten Tag im Dorf zu verbringen. So werden Sie die Architektur, die Wassermühlen, die Kirchen, die handgefertigten lokalen Produkte und die belebenden Einheimischen umso mehr zu schätzen wissen.

If you’re looking for a village by the sea, Kalyves is a great choice

Kalyves

Das Schöne an Kalyves ist, dass es am Meer liegt, was bedeutet, dass Ihre Dorfhüpftour dieses Tages mit einem erfrischenden Bad beginnen oder enden kann. Es gibt einen neuen und einen alten Dorfteil, aber das hindert das ganze Dorf nicht daran, ein traditionelles Gefühl zu bewahren, während Sie gleichzeitig alle Einrichtungen geboten bekommen, um sich mit Lebensmitteln regelrecht einzudecken. Die Tavernen am Meer eignen sich hervorragend für eine Mahlzeit mit Meeresfrüchten. 

Built on the foothills of the White Mountains, at an altitude of 220m, Fres is surrounded by olives groves and vineyards

Fres

Als nächstes geht es in die Ausläufer der Weißen Berge, vorbei an Olivenhainen und Weinbergen und auf 220 m Höhe in das Dorf Fres. Das Leben in Fres dreht sich um den Dorfplatz, mit Geschäften, Cafés und Tavernen, aber Sie sollten auch die Kirche von der ‚Paniagia der zwei Felsen’ außerhalb des Dorfes besuchen (wie der Name schon sagt, auf einem Felsen erbaut), in der sich eine Sammlung von schönen Fresken befindet.

Panorama of the lake Kourna, Chania

Vrises

Ihr letztes Dorf verführt Sie noch weiter in die Natur, während Sie dorthin fahren. Vrises befindet sich in einem grünen Tal, das von fließendem Wasser umgeben ist (der Name bedeutet „Quellen“). Nehmen Sie sich Zeit, um die Landschaft mit dem nahe gelegenen Kourna-See, dem einzigen natürlichen See Kretas, zu erkunden, bevor Sie sich in einer am Wasser gelegenen Taverne im Dorf zu einer Mahlzeit niederlassen.

 

More itineraries

If you’re looking for other routes to explore
Voidokilia beach, every Instagrammer’s dream

Ein 10-tägiger Road-Trip durch den Peloponnes

Voidokilia beach, every Instagrammer’s dream

Ein 10-tägiger Road-Trip durch den Peloponnes

Elafonisi beach

8-tägiger Roadtrip, um das Beste von Chania zu erleben

The exotic greens and blues of the water in Balos, Crete
ITINERARY

8-day road trip to experience the best of Chania

From incredible countryside and culture to legendary food and village life, Chania captures the very soul of Crete. A road trip is the perfect way to discover it. And once you’ve experienced it, it never fails to become a part of you.

Using the town of Chania as your base, this extraordinarily diverse region of Crete spreads out before you. An 8-day road trip introduces you to the best experiences in Chania, from swimming and watersports to hiking in the mountains. You will also taps into the authenticity of the famously welcoming locals and their traditions. 

The itinerary can be enjoyed any time from April to October, with the quieter and cooler months either side of peak summer being even more special. Feel free to lengthen or shorten it depending on your time and interests. And note that all distances include daily return journeys to Chania town, which you can opt not to do if you find nearby accommodation along the way. So strap in as we set out to discover the very best of Chania. 

SHOW ROUTE ON MAP DOWNLOAD AS PDF
Start point - End point
Chania Old Town
Distance
Up to 830 km (515 miles)
Means of transport
Boat, Car, Foot, Bike
Duration
8 days
Highlights
The exotic beaches of Balos and Elafonisi, hiking in the Samaria Gorge, the food
DAY 1 OVERVIEW

Chania old town

22 km Car, Foot 3

Whether you pick up a car at Chania Airport (50min flight from Athens) or arrive by boat from Piraeus (around 8hrs to the Port of Souda), the first day of your road trip in Chania will be spent largely on foot. Chania Old Town has everything to get you in the mood – culture, monuments, shops and a wonderful introduction to the food you’ll enjoy throughout your stay. 

Chania Old town

A stroll around the Old Town

All the history, charm and life of Chania is packed into the old town, where you could spend hours exploring the picturesque little alleyways and shops and cafes. There are remnants of Chania’s rich history everywhere – the Grand Arsenal by the dockyards, the Giali Tzamisi Mosque and the Venetian Firkas Fortress (from where you’ll catch your first glimpse of the harbour and Chania’s White Mountains) amongst them.

The Venetian Harbour

The Venetian Harbour

Without a doubt, the most romantic setting in Chania’s Old Town is the Venetian harbour, built in the 14th century. It became central to the naval resistance against and the Turks and Chania flourishing as a commercial hub. Don’t miss the Neoria (narrow, stone buildings once serving as ship repair yards) and the iconic lighthouse, introduced by the Venetians at the turn of the 17th century and finished by the Egyptians in the 1830s.

Chania, sunset dinner in Tabakaria

Sunset dinner in Tabakaria

For a hidden gem in which to enjoy your first meal, head to Tabakaria on the eastern outskirts of town. The district was famous for its tanneries in the early 19th century, with many of the buildings once used to process leather hides still standing and some having been renovated. It’s a wonderfully atmospheric setting for a seaside meal. 

DAY 2 OVERVIEW

Balos Lagoon

110 km Car, Foot 3

Images of the impossibly beautiful lagoon of Balos, on the north-westernmost peninsula of Crete, have travelled the world – and with good reason. It can be visited by boat but driving there and walking down to the beach is the best way to enjoy the Natura 2000-protected landscape. Prepare to be wowed! A day trip here is one of the top experiences in Chania. 

Balos Crete aerial view

Majestic Balos beach

The exotic greens and blues and sweeping sandbanks of Balos beach are what first catch the eye, but it’s worth exploring once you’re here. The plant life is perfectly adapted to this corner of Crete and the snorkelling – especially where the lagoon becomes deeper – is magical. 

Experience Balos beach

Watching the sunset at Balos beach from above, one of the most beautiful beaches of Crete and Europe

The magnificent sunset

It’s worth spending the day at Balos – not just to enjoy the beach but to leave as the sun is setting. There’s a viewpoint on the 1km walk back up to the car park, from where you can have one last (loooong!) look at the lagoon and appreciate all those colours in the setting sun. Those shimmering flecks of pink in the sand… they’re from crushed shells. 

Crete: Local dishes cooked in the wood-fired oven

Dining in Kalyviani village

For a glorious taste of authentic Cretan cuisine stop at Kalyviani village, a short drive along the road back to town. It’s a sleepy village of around 300 residents with some excellent, family-friendly restaurants. Look out for the local dishes cooked in the wood-fired oven. They’re heavenly. 

See also> Crete: Food as a celebration

DAY 3 OVERVIEW

Elafonisi

155 km Car, Foot 2

Elafonisi is Chania’s other pin-up beach and, as beauty queen beaches go, it takes some beating. This time you drive to the southwestern tip of Chania and your reward is a paradise of fine white sand and shallow turquoise water. Sometimes Elafonisi is an island you can reach by wading through knee-deep water and sometimes it’s connected to the mainland. But it’s always heart-meltingly beautiful. 

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

Exotic Elafonisi beach

There’s an organised side to Elafonisi beach on the mainland, on which you can find amenities to stay the whole day, but make sure you explore the entire area, which is also Natura 2000-protected. Amongst the sand dunes, you’ll find rare plants and there are plenty of coves for privacy.

Experience Elafonissi beach

Water sports are popular where the Elafonisi lagoon widens

SUP-ing at Kedrodasos beach

There’s another (far less known) swathe of paradise nearby. Kedrodasos means cedar forest – although the trees from which the beach takes its name are actually junipers. To get the most out of this dreamy beach, hire a Stand-Up Paddleboard and explore the cove. The sense of escape is magical. (A tip for those who prefer something even more active than SUP: Falasarna Beach, in northwest Chania, is a surfing hub.)

DAY 4 OVERVIEW

Loutro boat trip

146 km Boat, Car 3

No Chania road trip is complete without exploring the coastline, so you’re off to Chora Sfakion on the south coast today. It is a 73km (1hr25) drive but once you’re there you can sit back and enjoy an all-day boat excursion. A tip is to visit the Douroundous Bakery in town and stock up on local delicacies before setting off. 

Fishing boat at Loutro

Loutro

Most boat excursions from Chora Sfakion head to Loutro. It’s not only one of Chania’s most atmospheric settlements but is even more special because it’s only accessible by sea. You’ll be seduced by the crystal clear water, whitewashed houses and smell from the fish tavernas on the waterfront.

Marmara beach

Marmara beach

If you want to swim with an even greater sense of seclusion, pick a boat that also takes you to the beach of Marmara, just up the coast. The compact, pebbly beach has fantastically clear water and a view of the Aradena Gorge. (The other way to get there is a 6km hike.) There’s a very good taverna just above the beach. 

Agia Roumeli

Agia Roumeli is famous as the end-point of the Samaria Gorge and, other than completing the 16km walk down the gorge, it is only accessible by boat. You will be able to enjoy an afternoon swim with a dramatic backdrop of the famous gorge.

DAY 5 OVERVIEW

The White Mountains

86 km Car, Foot 2

With your first sight of the Lefka Ori (as the mountains are known in Greek), you’re overtaken by the urge to explore. The entire Cretan landscape is perfect for outdoor activities but no setting is more gripping than the island’s tallest mountain range (reaching 2,450m), which is the setting for so many of the best experiences in Chania. More than 50 peaks rising above 2km. Distance: 86km 

Walking through the Samarias Gorge, Crete

Hiking in the Samaria Gorge

Covering the full length of the Samaria Gorge is one of the great hiking trails of Europe and an experience no ‘best of’ list of Chania could ever be without. But you don’t need to walk the full distance to feel its majesty. Arriving at Xyloskalo, the starting point of the trail, you can head through the pine forest in the first part of the walk to the chapel of Agios Nikolaos (4km) and back and fully enjoy the UNESCO-protected reserve.

Experience Samaria Gorge

Along the way you will meet beautiful rock formations and cypress trees hanging on the edge of the path to Gigilos peak

Exploring the Gigilos trail

If you’re looking for a lesser-known but equally epic way to enjoy the White Mountains, the Gigilos Trail is a great local tip. Using the Kallergis Refuge (northeast of Xyloskalo) as your base, the trail offers big, big views and a feeling of total isolation. You could hike or even bring mountain bikes from Chania.

DAY 6 OVERVIEW

A food tour of Chania

166 km Car, Foot 3

Dedicating a day to the best culinary experiences of Chania is a must. For Cretans, food is a way of life, with an emphasis on simplicity, sustainability, fresh local produce, respect for tradition and (most importantly) generosity. Three stops are suggested here. The total distance is for all three but you can choose one or two and build your day around that.

A culinary tour of Chania

Vineyards in Chania

A wine tour

Wine-making in Crete goes back thousands of years and vineyards (often cultivating indigenous grape varieties) can be found in the foothills of the White Mountains and the outskirts of villages of Chania. A wine-tasting and a vineyard tour are the best way to learn about Chania’s rich viticulture history and delicious reds and whites. In the village of Vatolakkos, there’s Manousakis Winery, which is dedicated to organic production. If you’re feeling adventurous, take the off-road vineyard tour. You’ll love it.

It is in the melt-in-the-mouth food and, above all, in the wide-eyed smile of locals who greet you as if they’ve known you forever

A cookery class

Local artisan cheeses, honey, meats sourced from nearby farmers and a whole load of other seasonal produce come to life as you learn the secrets behind local combinations and cooking techniques – accompanied, of course, a glass of tsikoudia (firewater) made in a seasonal distillery. There are plenty of cookery classes to choose from, with The Olive Farm, in the village of Litsarda, being a great option.

discover why olive oil production in Chania is an art form

Olive oil, naturally!

No kitchen in Chania is complete without a bottle of local olive oil. There’s something primal about olive oil in Chania. You feel it in olive groves right across the countryside and taste it the traditional stone-milled, extra-virgin olive oil. Head to Biolea, in Kolympari, and discover why olive oil production in Chania is an art form.

DAY 7 OVERVIEW

The Apokoronas villages

68 km Car, Foot 3

The best of Chania, when it comes to authenticity, is found in the villages. Some are mountainous and others coastal, and all capture the essence of Chania: the traditions, customs, contact with nature and the gloriously slow living of locals who greet you like an old friend. So the next two days are dedicated to exploring some of the 34 Apokoronas villages. You’ll be rewarded over and over. 

The main kafenio of Vamos, in the central square of the village

Vamos

A natural starting point to your day village-hopping in Chania, mountainous Vamos is the biggest of the Apokoronas villages, with plenty of shops with local products and alleyways to explore. There’s also an excellent cheese factory and a 13th-century chapel to visit and, each July, Vamos hosts one of Crete’s largest jazz festivals.

Village hop through Chania

 there’s a wonderfully cosy village feel to Douliana

Douliana

With around 200 residents, there’s a wonderfully cosy village feel to Douliana, with traditional stone houses and a tiny church. You’ll love the views of the Bay of Souda and the White Mountains and there is a handful of short walking paths that set out from the village, including one to Gavalohori.

traditional shop in Gavalochori

Gavalohori

Whether you arrive by foot or car, you’ll be greeted by authentic stone houses, cobblestone streets and quaint coffee shops in Gavalohori village. Order yourself a traditional coffee and make a point of speaking with the locals. There’s a Folk Museum with a collection of local costumes, old coins and items of everyday village life from days gone by. 

DAY 8 OVERVIEW

Village hopping (part II)

77 km Car, Foot 3

You’ll already have discovered why spending just one day in the Apokoronas villages isn’t enough. So after returning to Chania town for the night (or better still, overnighting in one of the villages), you’re heading back out village-hopping. You’ll appreciate the architecture, watermills, churches, handmade local products and energising locals all the more – as well as the countryside, which has more than a hint of the Tuscan about it. 

If you’re looking for a village by the sea, Kalyves is a great choice

Kalyves

The beauty of Kalyves is that it’s by the sea, meaning that your day village-hopping can begin or end with a cheeky swim. There’s an old and new section to the village, meaning there’s both a traditional feel and all the facilities for you to stock up with provisions for the day. The seafront tavernas are a great option for a seafood meal. 

Built on the foothills of the White Mountains, at an altitude of 220m, Fres is surrounded by olives groves and vineyards

Fres

You’re off into the foothills of the White Mountains next, passing by olive groves and vineyards and rising 220m to the village of Fres. Life in Fres centres around the village square, with shops, cafes and tavernas and, just outside town, is the church of Paniagia of Two Rocks (built, as the name suggests, on a rock) in which there is a collection of beautiful frescoes. 

Panorama of the lake Kourna, Chania

Vrises

Your final village takes you further into nature as you head to Vrises, situated in a green valley surrounded by running water (its name means ‘sources’). Take your time to enjoy the countryside, with the nearby Lake Kourna being Crete’s only natural lake, before settling down for a meal to remember in a waterfront taverna in the village. 

FAQ about road trips in Crete, Greece 

  • Where is Crete in Greece?

Crete is the largest and southernmost island in Greece, located between the Aegean and Libyan Sea. It has a population of around 630,000. Just above Crete are the Cyclades islands and, to the northeast, the Dodecanese islands. 

  • What are the main cities and regions of Crete?

Crete is divided into four administrative units called prefectures. Chania is in the west, followed by Heraklion, Rethymno and Lassithi. Chania, Heraklion and Rethymno are also the names of the main towns in these prefectures. The capital of Lassithi (the easternmost prefecture) is Agios Nikolaos.

  • How do you get to Chania in Crete?

Chania can easily be reached by plane or boat. The airport (international and domestic flights) is 15km (25-30 minutes) from the town centre. You can hire car from the airport, or take a taxi or bus into the city centre. (Tickets are bought on the bus.) There are also daily ferry connections from Piraeus and periodically from islands in the Cyclades and Dodecanese. High-speed ferries (seasonal) reach Chania in 5-7hrs from Piraeus and conventional ferries take 9-12hrs.

  • What is the best time of year to visit Chania?

Chania (and Crete generally) benefits from very good weather for most of the year, with summer conditions starting earlier and ending later than elsewhere in Greece. It does get busy in the peak summer holiday months (July and August), so come in May-June or September if you can. The ideal months to enjoy a road trip in Crete are April-May and September-November.  

  • What is it like to drive in Crete?

There is a good road network in Crete, particularly along the north coast (E75) between the main towns (Chania, Heraklion, Rethymno and Elounda). And there are main roads towards the south and between the main mountain ranges. Just remember that you drive on the left in Greece and that roads between smaller settlements can be narrow and windy, particularly in the mountains. If you are worried, it is best to avoid driving at night on country roads. Look out for the goats. They have right of way. 
For all questions relating to insurance and driving licenses, make sure you get advice before arriving in Greece. Your car rental company will be able to advise you. 

 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Elia Fatma Boutique Hotel

Chania

In a narrow alley in the heart of the Old Harbour of Chania, you will find the Fatma Hanoum Hotel, an old mansion that harmoniou...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Avra Apartments Venetian Harbour

Chania

<p><span style="color:#4e5f70;">Ideally positioned only <strong>a few steps away from all major landmarks</strong>, shopping streets ...

Official online rates

More itineraries

If you’re looking for other routes to explore
5-day late-summer and autumn road trip in Chania

5-day late-summer and autumn itinerary in Chania

Voidokilia beach, every Instagrammer’s dream

10-day road trip around the Peloponnese

5-day late-summer and autumn road trip in Chania

5-day late-summer and autumn itinerary in Chania

The immense armour of King Philip II

A 5-day road trip to the heart of Ancient Macedonia

Three Cycladic gems, each with their own unique character, and so close to one another (and the ports of Athens) that you won’t be able to wait to get started.

A 10-day island-hopping tour of Andros, Syros and Tinos

Alikes, one of most beautiful and popular beaches on the island, looking onto the Sithonia peninsula

An 8-day road trip to Thessaloniki & Halkidiki

A boat trip to Skiathos remote and wild Lalaria beach

The very best of Skiathos in 6 days