Strolling around Douliana village charming alleyways
EXPERIENCE

Познакомьтесь с настоящим критским духом!

Не важно, как хорошо Вы знакомы с Критом – если Вы ни разу не были в деревшуках района Апокоронас на севере области Хания, считайте, что Вы не видели самых исконных его традиций!
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
2 часа
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

Оказавшись в этих деревушках, Вы сразу поймёте, что находитесь в самом сердце региона Хания. 34 живописные деревшуки района Апокоронас разбросаны по долине у подножия легендарных гор Крита – Белые горы.

Несмотря на своё близкое расположение к крупному городу, деревушки сохранили традиционный стиль и самобытность Крита.

Вы увидите это в прикладном искусстве, продолжающем жить здесь. Традиционные оливковые прессы и водяные мельницы перенесут Вас в иную эпоху. Вкуснейшая кухня и бесконечное гостеприимство местных жителей окунут Вас с неповторимый кристкий образ жизни. 

Ритмы жизни в деревни во многом определяются сменой сезона. Оливковые и фруктовые сады дышат умиротворением в весенний период и притягивают всю энергию местных жителей во время сбора урожая. Местные винодельни производят традиционную «огненную воду» - раки. Неимоверная любовь к жизни местных жителей передаётся и каждому, кто приездает сюда даже не надолго.

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

34 деревушки района Апокоронас могут составить экскурсионную программу всего отпуска. Но мы выбрали для Вас наиболее яркие и интресные: 

Вамос

Это главная и наиболее оживлённая деревня всей области. Она, несомненно, заслуживает особого внимания. На центральной площади есть магазины и таверны. А недалеко от деревни находится винодельня и местная сырная фабрика.  Особый интерес представляют также часовня Св. Девы Марии, построенна в 13 веке, и монастырь Кариди, в котором работает старинный пресс по отжатию оливкового масла. Каждый год в июле в деревне Вамос проводится самый крупный фестиваль джаза на Крите.

Дульяна

В деревне всего 40 домов, а её население составляет 200 человек. Это удивительно уютное место, расположенное на высоте 100 метров над уровнем моря. Прогуляйтесь по улочкам и цетнральной площади деревни, а также по её окрестностям. Вы можете отправиться отсюда пешком по лесной тропе до деревни Гавалохори. 

Гавалохори

Деревня примечательна своими каменными домиками, мощёными улочками, церквушками, но в особенности традиционными греческими кофейнями. Здесь также находится интереснейший Этнографический музей, в котором представлены местные наряды, старые монеты, оружие и традиционные предметы быта. Женский кооператив деревни поддерживает традиционное рукоделие, в магазине кооператива Вы сможете найти образцы искусства «копанели» - кружевного плетения, уходящими корнями в византийскую эпоху.

Каливес

Если Вы желаете остановиться в приморской деревушке, то Каливес, пожалуй, станет лучшим выбором. Деревня состоит из двух частей – старой и современной. Здесь широкий выбор ресторанов и таверн, а также гостиниц. Перед въездом в деревню находится пляж. Поэтому у Вас будет прекрасная возможность морского отдыха во время тура.

Фрес

Деревня расположена у подножия Белых гор на высоте 220 метров над уровнем моря. Ферс окружена оливоквыми садами и виноградниками. Центром жизни деревни является её большая главная площадь. Сразу за деревней находится церковь Богоматери Двух Скал, построенная на на скале, рядом с которой обрушилась ещё одна скала.

Врисес

Деревня расположена посреди зелёной долины, через кторую протекает много ручейков. Там и тут можно увидеть мостики и таверны прямо у ручья. Можно сказать, что природная стихия преобладает в этой деревне. К востоку от деревни (в сторону города Рефимно) находится  мост, построенный ещё в греко-римскую эпоху. Мост носит назание Камара. Неподалёку отсюда находится единственное естественное озеро на Крите – Курна.  Рекомендуем зайти в таверну на берегу, в которой готовят «андикристо» - ягнёнок, приготовленный возле пламени костра. 

Подробнее Read Less

Рекомендуем начать Ваш тур с деревни Вамос, так как это главная деревня региона. Если Вы будете следовать предложенному здесь маршруту, то расстояние по дороге от деревни Вамос до деревни Врисес составит 36 км.

До деревни Вамос

  • На машине или на такси:
    От центра города Хания: 31 км (40 минут) 
    От аэропорта города Хания: 35 км (45 минут)
    От города Рефимно: 39 км (45 минут)
  • На автобусе:
    Из города Хания. Более подробная ифнормация: Более подробная информация

 

  • Деревни в регионе Хания сохраняют постоянное население круглый год.
  • Даже в разгар летнего сезона (с мая по август) деревни региона Хания наполнены тишиной и поэтому представляют собой замечательную альтернативу многолюдным пляжам и исторически памятникам.
  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Советуем отвести два дня для тура по деревнм и окрестностям города Хания.
  • Если Ваше время ограничено, и Вы предпочитаете организованный тур, то можно выбрать один из предлагаемых в городе. Такие туры включают обычно посещение семи деревень (около 8 часов), при этои в программу входит также посещение монастырей, традиционных кофеен и пекарен, этнографического музея, а также деугстации местного раки и сыров.

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Помогите нам сохранить волшебную красоту греческих деревушек, провинций и городов, чтобы передать это живое наследие будущим поколениям.

Поддерживайте чистоту на улицах. Используйте установленные мусорные урны. В случае их отсутствия носите мусор с собой до ближайшего мусорного бака.
Берегите культурные памятники и монументы. Не используйте вспышку на фотоаппарате, если висят таблички с соответствующим ограничением. Данная мера направлена на сохранение монумента.
Поддерживайте местный рынок, покупая продукты и сувениры в небольших магазинах и семейных лавках. Это также прекрасная возможность найти интересные предметы ручной работы.
Берегите флору и фауну.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Относитесь уважительно к другим отдыхающим и к местным жителям.
Не бойтесь обращаться за советом или с просьбой о помощи к местным жителям.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Containing 450 species of plant and animal life, the Samaria Gorge is a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve

Завораживающее ущелье Самария близ города Хания на Крите

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

Райский уголок для отпуска – пляж Элафониси на Крите

The magical blend of blues you’re presented with as you approach Balos from above

Критский пляж Балос очарует Вас своей волшебной красотой!

Strolling around Douliana village charming alleyways
EXPERIENCE

Village-hop through Chania at its most authentic

It doesn’t matter how well you think you know Crete, if you haven’t visited the Apokoronas villages in northern Chania, you haven’t experienced it at its traditional best
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 days
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

You’ll immediately know you’ve looked into the soul of Chania when you visit its villages. And nowhere more so than in the Apokoronas, a collection of 34 settlements built in the shadow or valleys of Crete’s legendary White Mountains or by the coastline.

So close to the city of Chania that you’ll be astonished how completely they’ve kept their traditional ways, the villages radiate all the authenticity of this proud region of Crete.

You’ll experience it in all the crafts that surround you, and in the timelessness of the olive press you’ll visit, with a stone still being turned by a watermill. It is in the melt-in-the-mouth food and, above all, in the wide-eyed smile of locals who greet you as if they’ve known you forever.

The changing scenery of each season still determines the flow of daily life here. You’ll see it in the orchards and olive groves – from the serenity of the springtime bloom to the collective energy of harvest-time in the olive groves and vineyards. And you’ll find it in the makeshift distilleries that create the local firewater (raki) that fuels the endless banter of the locals. It’s this love of life they so much want to share with you.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

With 34 Apokoronas villages, you could spend an entire holiday village-hopping in Chania, but here are some highlights not to be missed:

Vamos

The area’s principal village is the liveliest and deserves most time. Beyond the shops and tavernas of the main square, you can visit a winery nearby and there’s also an excellent cheese factory. The 13th century chapel of the Virgin Mary and the Karydi Monastery, with its arched olive oil press, are also well worth a visit. Every July, Vamos organises the largest Jazz Festival in Crete.

Douliana

With 40 houses and a total population of 200, there’s a wonderfully cosy feel to this village, which is 100m above sea level. You could spend your time just soaking up the atmosphere of the central square but you should also try one of the short walks from the village. There’s one that passes through a forest to Gavalohori.

Gavalohori

You’ll enjoy the stone houses, paved streets and churches, and especially the super-traditional Cretan coffee shops of Gavalohori. There’s an interesting Folk Museum – with local costumes, old coins, weapons and traditional items of daily use – and a local Women’s Cooperative has a shop that keeps old crafts alive, such as kopaneli, a form of lace needling with Byzantine roots.

Kalyves

If you’re looking for a village by the sea, Kalyves is a great choice. There’s an old and new section to the village, but that hasn’t stopped it retaining all its traditional feel. There are plenty of eating options, and accommodation too. Best of all, there’s a beach just before the entrance, so your village-hopping doesn’t interrupt your daily dose of beach-time.

Fres

Built on the foothills of the White Mountains, at an altitude of 220m, Fres is surrounded by olives groves and vineyards. Its large main square is the centre of village life and just outside the village is the intriguingly named church of Panagia of the Two Rocks (it was built on a rock that tumbled down the mountain and another boulder lies nearby).

Vrises

Set within a green valley and characterised by running water (its name means springs), bridges and waterside tavernas and cafes, Vrises is a village dominated by nature. Just east (on the road to Rethymno), there’s a bridge dating to Greco-Roman times – the so-called Greek Kamara. And close by is Crete’s only natural lake, Lake Kourna. If you’re lucky enough to order antikristo (lamb cooked next to, not over, the flames) in a taverna that has traditional Cretan music, you’ll want to stay here forever.

Read More Read Less

It’s worth starting your village-hopping experience in Vamos, as the ‘lead village’ of the region. If you follow the proposed itinerary, the total distance by road (from Vamos to Vrises) is 36km.

To Vamos

  • By car/taxi:
    From Chania city centre: 31km (40mins)
    From Chania airport: 35km (45mins)
    From Rethymno: 39km (45mins)
  • By bus:
    From Chania. More info

 

  • You can visit the villages of Chania and find them alive with residents going about their daily life all year round.
  • Even during the peak holiday period of May-August, you’ll find Chania’s villages quiet and an excellent change of tempo to the popular beaches and cultural sites.
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • It’s worth dedicating two days to the villages and surrounding countryside of Chania.
  • If your time is limited and you prefer an organised excursion, there are tours that go to around seven villages (approx. 8hrs), that include visits to monasteries, a traditional café and bakery, a folk museum, and cheese tasting and raki distillery experiences.

Plan your trip

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Let’s all try to keep the magic of Greece’s villages alive for future generations.

Keep the streets as clean as possible by using the bins provided or, if necessary, keeping your rubbish with you until you find one.
Respect the cultural monuments and relics and don’t use flash photography if there’s a sign forbidding it. It’s to protect the relics.
Do your best to support small, independent family-owned stores and local producers, taking home something handmade and local.
Respect the plants and animals.
Be inquisitive and definitely ask the locals for tips.
Respect your fellow visitors and the locals.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The cultural wealth of Athens revealed in a stroll

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

A tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens

Thessaloniki Archaeological Museum

A tour of the Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki

View of traditional tavern in Pythagoreio

Village-hopping in Samos, from mountain to coast

The crown jewels of the main town are the Byzantine Kastro and even older monastery

A walking tour of Skyros’ main town

Containing 450 species of plant and animal life, the Samaria Gorge is a UNESCO-protected Biosphere Reserve

Hiking the spectacular Samaria Gorge in Chania

The magical blend of blues you’re presented with as you approach Balos from above

Prepare to be mesmerised at Crete's Balos beach

Elafonissi is an island you can easily wade to through knee-deep water

The dreamscape of Crete’s Elafonissi beach