Thasos

Die smaragdgrüne Insel von Thrakien
Aliki beach in Thassos_edit
Scroll
Heute
MON
13°
TUE
11°
WED
13°
THU
12°
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Ein grüner Fleck mitten im azurblauen Meer mit traumhaften Stränden. Der ursprüngliche Charme der Insel bezaubert jeden Besucher

Thasos, die Insel der sagenumwobenen Sirenen, bietet so viele Urlaubserlebnisse, wie es Blautöne im Meer und im Himmel gibt, grüne, dichte Wälder und goldene Strände. Hier können Sie Ihren Urlaub in ausgezeichneten Hotels genießen, lokale Spezialitäten in den Dörfern kosten, in den Bergen wandern und die Geheimnisse der Insel erkunden. Ganz gleich, ob Sie Naturliebhaber sind, ein Wassersportfreund oder einfach nur eine schöne Zeit verbringen wollen, Thasos ist das ideale Ziel für Ihren Sommerurlaub. 

Besichtigen Sie auf Thasos

Eine Insel für Naturliebhaber

Die Farbe Grün in all ihren Tönen umgibt Sie auf Thasos. Wandern Sie entlang der Alleen von den Stränden zu den Schluchten, Seen, Wasserfällen und die Fußwege um das Dorf herum. Erkunden Sie folgende Wege, zu Fuß oder mit dem Mountainbike: Maries-Prinos, Panagia-Potamia-Ypsario, Kallirachi-Prinos und Chrysi Ammoudia-Limenas. Lieben Sie die Natur? Dann ist Thassos die ideale griechische Insel für Ihren Sommerurlaub. 

Ankunft in Limenas

Hier ist die Anschlussstelle zum Festland. Limenas ist auch der Hauptort der Insel und das bereits seit der Antike. Besichtigen Sie den antiken Markt (Agora), die Heiligtümer des Herakles, Dionysos, Artemis und Poseidon und natürlich auch die atemberaubende Aussicht von der Akropolis und dem Theater aus dem 5. Jahrhundert – Spuren der uralten Geschichte von Thasos. Um wieder zurück in die Gegenwart zu gelangen, spazieren Sie durch den zentralen Markt mit den unzähligen Geschäften und schlendern Sie entlang der Hafenpromenade. Am Abend können Sie sich in den vielen Restaurants und Bars vergnügen. 

Palataki in Limenaria

Palataki (“kleines Schloss”) ist ein zweistöckiges, rechteckiges Gebäude mit zwei Türmen, ein typisches Beispiel des eklektizistischen Baustils. 1900 gebaut, diente es als Verwaltungssitz der deutschen Firma Seidel, die damals Minen auf Thasos betrieb. Es gilt als eindrucksvollstes Verwaltungsgebäude in der Ägäis und wird von einem der imposantesten Industriemonumente des Mittelmeers umgeben. Thasos war seit der Antike ein bedeutendes Bergwerkzentrum. Auf der an Rohstoffen reichen Insel wurde Quecksilber, Blei, Eisen, Mangan und weißer Marmor abgetragen. 

Paradies auf Erden

Schöner als die Werbeposter! Der exotische Strand mit dem bezeichnenden Namen “Paradise” gilt als einer der besten in der gesamten Ägäis. 

Die Strände von Thasos

Eher geht einem die Puste aus, als dass Thasos die Stände ausgehen: Chrysi Akti, Chrysi Ammoudia, Agios Antonios, Alykes, Trypiti, Skala Potamia, Paralia Limena, Pefkari, Skala Rachoni, Giola, Saliara (oder Marmorstrand, wie ihn die faszinierten ausländischen Touristen bezeichnen). Sie werden begeistert sein von der Kombination aus azurblauem Wasser, hellen oder goldenen Sandstrände und grüner Hintergrundkulisse. Und, um das Ganze noch zu übertreffen, gibt es hier eine große Zahl an Tavernen, Strandbars und Wassersportmöglichkeiten. 

Aktivitäten auf Thasos

Thasos hat viel zu bieten: Tiefseetauchen mit Fachpersonal in Pefkari, Wasser-Ski in Chrysi Ammoudia, Pefkari und Psili Ammos, Windsurfen am Paradise Beach und Bootsfahrten zu den entlegensten Buchten – Spiel und Spaß im Meer und im Wind auf Ihrer Trauminsel. 

Hochklassige Unterkünfte

Ganz gleich, ob Sie eines der 5-Sterne Hotels und der Ferienvillen bevorzugen, oder auch einfach nur ein möbliertes Ferienzimmer; Thasos verfügt über die gesamte Bandbreite an Unterkünften. Von Swimming-Pools und Poolbars mit Meerblick in gepflegten Grünanlagen bis zu Wassermassagen und exzellenten Restaurants.

Versteckte Juwelen auf Thasos 

Die Dörfer von Thasos

An der Küste und in den Bergen erwarten Sie auf der ganzen Insel wunderschöne Dörfer: Agios Georgios, Alyki, Theologos, Kallirachi, Kastro, Kazaviti, Koinyra, Limenaria, Maries und Panagia. 

Das archäologische Museum von Thasos

Eine 3,5 m hohe Kouros-Statue, die einen jungen Mann abbildet, begrüßt Sie am Eingang des Museums. Das Museum verfügt über bedeutende Funde aus dem 7. Jahrhundert v. Chr. bis zum 7. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Das Museumsgebäude ist ein renoviertes und ausgebautes Gebäude aus den 1930er Jahren. Witmen Sie ein paar Stunden Ihres Urlaubes und nehmen Sie an den kulturellen Veranstaltungen teil, es wird sich lohnen. 

Das Sommerfestival

Jedes Jahr finden während des Kavala-Thasos-Festivals zahlreiche Aufführungen und Konzerte statt. Die kulturellen Events finden mit der „Thasos-Hochzeit” ihren Höhepunkt, wenn antike, dionysische Riten in den regionalen Hochzeitsbräuchen aufleben.

  • Eine Insel für Naturliebhaber
  • Limenas
  • Palataki in Limenaria
  • Das Sommerfestival
  • Das archäologische Museum
  • Die Dörfer
Landmarks

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Giola lagoon the natural pool carved into the rock by the sea in Thassos

5 gründe, warum sie Thassos nicht verpassen sollten

Türkisblaue Strände, gemütliche Bergdörfer, goldenfarbenes Olivenöl und Honig ... Es gibt so viele Gründe, die nördlichste Insel Griechenlands zu besuchen. Und das ist erst der Anfang.

5 Gründe, warum sie Kavala nicht verpassen sollten

In Kavala dreht sich alles um unerwartete Mischungen: Geschichte und Kultur, architektonische Wahrzeichen und blumengeschmückte Innenhöfe, organisierte Strände und Naturschätze. Sie müssen nur wissen, wo Sie schauen sollten.
Family on a trekking day looking at wild flowers

Familienurlaub in Griechenland

Wunderschöne Strände, Feriendörfer, herzliche Gastfreundschaft, zahlreiche Aktivitäten für die ganze Familie. Für Urlaub mit Kindern, ist Griechenland das beste Reiseziel!.

Thassos

An island of blues and greens and everything in between
Marble beach, Thassos
Today
MON
TUE
WED
THU
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
A verdant splash upon an expanse of blue: as traditional as it is intensely beautiful, Thassos will enthral you

Thassos, the island of the Sirens, offers you as many options as there are colours in the blues of its sea and sky, the greens of its trees and the golden hues of its sandy beaches. On this island in the North Aegean, you will enjoy excellent hotels, sample local delicacies in the villages, hike the trails and seek out the island’s secrets. If you are a nature lover, into water sports, or just want a taste of delicious simplicity, Thassos is your ideal emerald escape.

What to do on Thassos

An island for nature lovers

On Thassos, you will find yourself engulfed in a sea of green. Take the tree-lined roads from the beaches to the ravines, lakes and footpaths around the villages. Rewarding trails like Maries-Prinos, Panagia-Potamia-Ypsario, Kallirahi-Prinos or Hrisi Ammoudia-Limenas can be enjoyed on foot or by mountain bike. For lovers of outdoor sports, Thassos is an ideal summer destination for an adventure-filled holiday.

Arrival at Limenas

This is Thassos’ link to the mainland and its capital since antiquity. Be sure to see the ancient agora; the sanctuaries of Herakles, Dionysos, Artemis and Poseidon; the Acropolis with its incredible view and the 5th-century BC theatre – all testament to the island’s long history. To get back to today’s world, walk through the central market and the small harbour by the beach. At night, you’ll have fun choosing your favourite from among dozens of restaurants and bars.

Palataki at Limenaria

Palataki (little palace) is a two-storey rectangular building with a pair of towers. Built in the early 1900s to provide office space for Speidel, the German company that was in charge of the island’s mines, it’s considered one of the most impressive of the administrative buildings in the Aegean and it’s surrounded by one of the most important industrial monuments in the Mediterranean, the mine itself. Thassos has been a centre of mining operations since antiquity with rich deposits of mercury, lead, iron, manganese and white marble.

The beaches of Thassos

You will probably run out of stamina before Thassos runs out of beaches: Paradise, Chrysi Akti, Chrysi Ammoudia, Agios Antonios, Alykes, Trypiti, Skala Potamia, Paralia Limena, Pefkari, Skala Rahoiou, Giola, Saliara or Marble beach, as enamoured tourists call it, all combine the azure of the sea, pale or golden sand and enchantingly verdant backdrops. Topping it off are the tavernas, beach bars and water sports available at some of the most popular beaches.

Discover 10 of the best beaches in Thassos

Fun and games by the beach

Thassos has it all: scuba diving at Pefkari, water skiing at Chrysi Ammoudia, Pefkari and Psili Ammos, windsurfing at Paradise and boat rides to the most isolated beaches. Fun and games in the sea and wind on the island of your dreams.

High-end hospitality

No matter your budget, Thassos will more than satisfy you. Whether you opt for one of the five-star hotels and villas, or just a room or furnished apartment, everything is here for you, from swimming pools and poolside bars with a sea view to water massages and high-class restaurants.

Hidden gems of Thassos

Summer Festival

The annual summer Kavala-Thassos Festival hosts notable performances and concerts. The cultural events reach their peak with the representation of the ‘Thassos wedding’, where you’ll witness the revival of ancient Dionysian traditions through local wedding customs.

The Archaeological Museum of Thassos

At 3.5m tall, kouros – an imposing statue representing a male youth – greets you as you enter the museum, which holds an important collection of finds from the 7th century BC to the 7th century AD in a renovated 1930s building.

The villages of Thassos

Whether on the coast or inland you’ll discover beautiful little villages all over the island, such as Agios Georgios, Alyki, Theologos, Kallirahi, Kastro, Kazaviti, Koinyra, Limenaria, Maries and Panagia.

Read More Read Less

Experience the best of Thassos

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Explore the best hiking paths of Thassos

The tear-jerking beauty of Giola on Thassos

A day at mythical Giola Lagoon in Thassos

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

5 day Itinerary in Kavala & Thassos
Think you know Greece? Before answering, allow us to introduce Kavala and Thassos, a city-and-island combo in northern Greece where you’ll discover Macedonian culture, magical beaches, mountain villages and delicious seafood
Discover It
East meets west in Kavala Old Town, with the Ottoman influence apparent in the architecture
Culture guide to Thassos: Traditional crafts and local products
Put the beach on hold during your holidays in Thassos and discover the island’s incredible crafts and local products traditions (ceramics & pottery, weaving, marble, olive oil & honey)
Discover It
Thassos’ marble sculpting tradition dates to the 7th century BC

Travel ideas

Shining the light on stories
Marble beach, Thassos

10 of the best beaches in Thassos

With some of the best beaches in Greece, Thassos offers holidays that will make you fall in love over and over again. Here are 10 of the best beaches in Thassos
Thassos’ marble sculpting tradition dates to the 7th century BC

Culture guide to Thassos: Traditional crafts and local products

Put the beach on hold during your holidays in Thassos and discover the island’s incredible crafts and local products traditions (ceramics & pottery, weaving, marble, olive oil & honey)
Keramoti beach near Kavala is also known as Ammoglossa (or sand tongue)

8 of the best beaches near Kavala

A fascinating city in northern Greece, Kavala can easily be reached by road from Thessaloniki and by air (it has its own domestic & international airport).

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€

Nearby destinations