7

7 DES MEILLEURES ACTIVITÉS À FAIRE À SCHINOUSSA

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour savourer une salade grecque

Schinoussa est une petite île des Cyclades, fière de son extraordinaire club de fans Grecs, mais aussi d’habitués du monde entier. Cette île, vraiment minuscule (moins de 400 habitants pour seulement 9 km carrés), est si petite que vous aurez de la difficulté à la repérer sur une carte. En fait, elle se trouve juste au sud de Naxos et à deux pas d'Iraklia, de Donousa et des îles de Koufonisia (appartenant aux fameuses petites Cyclades). L’île abrite trois petites localités - Mersini (le port), Chora (la «capitale», composée d’une unique rue que vous pouvez descendre en 5 minutes) et Messaria, et bien sûr, très peu de véhicules (la plupart des gens se rendant à la plage à pied). 

À Schinoussa, tout n’est qu’authenticité et simplicité (talons hauts à prohiber) et l’île ne dispose pas de grands hôtels ou bar à cocktails Instagram-ables… seulement la beauté sauvage de la mer et de fabuleuses plages. C’est une île te si envoûtante que vous risquez de ne plus pouvoir vous passer d’elle. Alors, nous allons vous mettre dans l'ambiance du charme de cette île et vous montrer quelques-unes des meilleures activités à faire à Schinoussa.

Commencez tout simplement par la plage de Psili Ammos

Cette plage figure toujours en tête de liste des meilleures activités à faire à Schinoussa. Vous pouvez passer la journée à Psili Ammos (signifiant « sable fin » en grec), après une petite marche d’environ 25mn (2,1km) en vous dirigeant vers le nord à partir de Chora. Vous serez accueilli par une jolie plage de sable, ombragées grâce à quelques tamaris, et par ses merveilleuses eaux cristallines. Il est préférable d'y arriver assez tôt car Psili Ammos attire de nombreux visiteurs. Et si vous êtes un lève-tôt, vous pourriez même assister au lever du soleil à Messaria, tout en cheminant vers la plage. Mais quelle que soit l’heure, vous pourrez toujours déguster un authentique petit déjeuner au village avec éventuellement des œufs frais (du pain chaud et un peu de fromage local) à To Petrino, une taverne traditionnelle de Messaria.

To Petrino is a traditional taverna in Messaria on Schinoussa

Mais avant tout, installez-vous tranquillement sur la plage de Psili Ammos et laissez opérer la magie de Schinoussa.

Suggestion : Si vous êtes à Messaria, demandez un jus de figues de barbarie fraîchement pressées, fait à partir de fruits cueillis localement.

Découvrez une plage différente chaque jour

La variété des plages de Schinoussa participe à la beauté unique de cette petite île. Elles se trouvent toutes à une distance de marche raisonnable, l’île de Schinoussa ne dépassant pas les 5 km de long. La plage la plus proche de Chora et de Mersini est la plage de Tsigouri. Située à 600m de Chora, vous pouvez vous y rendre à pied où que vous vous trouviez sur l'île. De toute façon, la plage ne dispose d’aucun espace pour se garer. À l’abri des vents du nord, la plage de Tsigouri attire des visiteurs mais est rarement bondée. Livadi, une autre plage proche de Chora (1 km) et très appréciée des familles, vous offrira son ombre naturelle et une ambiance des années 70.

A traditional taverna above Tsigouri beach in Schinoussa

Environ un tiers des chambres à louer disponibles à Schinoussa se trouvent ici. Le café-restaurant de la plage (Livadi) est parfait pour déjeuner et dîner assez tôt (Livadi est réputée comme étant l'un des meilleurs endroits de Schinoussa pour contempler le coucher du soleil). À quelques pas d’ici, se trouvent les plages d’Ai Vasilis et d'Aligaria (sablonneuses, avec leurs eaux cristallines, idéales pour l’observation des fonds marins), sur la côte sud-est, vous pourrez apprécier la petite plage de sable, Lioliou, à 2,7km de Chora. Mais le vrai trésor caché de Schinoussa est la plage de Gerolimnionas, une petite crique isolée de la côte nord-ouest, parfaite si vous désirez rester un peu à l’écart ou vous abriter du vent. 

Vos premières impressions à Mersini

Vous apprécierez chaque repas à Schinoussa, cependant, un restaurant se distingue des autres, c'est le Nikolas tis Schinoussas, un restaurant de Mersini, devenu une institution - et probablement la toute première chose que vous voyez à votre arrivée au port. Les journées de kalosyni (vents calmes), ne soyez pas surpris de voir un afflux de bateaux en provenance des îles de Koufonisia, de Paros, Antiparos ou même de Mykonos, qui viennent juste pour déjeuner chez Nikolas ! La cuisine y est excellente et le restaurant a, dans une large mesure, participé à faire connaître Schinoussa ! Nicolas, idéal pour le déjeuner ou le dîner, vous accueille dans ambiance détendue et avec un personnel très souriant ainsi qu’une vue imprenable sur le port. Si vous désirez vous baigner à proximité avant votre repas, la plage de Mersini (avec ses eaux turquoise et ses tamaris), vous attend juste de l'autre côté de la petite baie. 

Transformez chaque repas à Chora en une expérience unique

Vous aimerez certainement revenir à la minuscule Chora pendant vos vacances à Schinoussa, plus particulièrement pour le dîner. Nous vous suggérons donc quelques restaurants dont vous vous souviendrez toujours. Kyra Pothiti une taverne charmante et honnête, qui offre avec cœur des plats authentiques aux visiteurs, et constitue un merveilleux exemple des progrès réalisés par la jeune génération de restaurateurs de Schinoussa. Ce restaurant est devenu un incontournable, grâce à des plats authentiques, mais aussi revisités et très créatifs. À ne pas manquer ! Tout près d’ici, vous pourrez apprécier Deli, à Schinoussa, avec sa véranda offrant une vue panoramique sur l'île et la mer Égée… et bien sûr une excellente cuisine (surtout les plats à base de viande). Les jours d’affluence, armez-vous de patience pour trouver votre place, mais ... À Schinoussa la patience est une vertu et vous avez tout votre temps ! 

Suggestion : Deli dispose également d'un bar ouvert toute la journée, endroit parfait pour prendre un verre avant ou après le dîner.

Faites une excursion en bateau autour de Schinoussa ou partez à la découverte de l'île

Les tentations sont partout à Schinoussa … Pas seulement en ce qui concerne les plages, mais aussi en raison de toutes les autres petites îles des Cyclades qui, de loin, vous font signe ! Heureusement pour vous, l'Aeolia vient à la rescousse avec une sélection d’excursions en bateau tout autour de Schinoussa, et pour admirer et profiter au plus près des trésors cachés de l'île. Vous pouvez choisir d'explorer la côte de Schinoussa et de visiter les plages, accessibles seulement par la mer, ou effectuer la visite de plusieurs autres îles. Le capitaine Manolis et son équipage (Maria) sont des hôtes exceptionnels pour une visite d'une demi-journée autour de Schinoussa ou de visites d'une journée complète vers des îles comme Iraklia, Keros et Ano (Haut) et Kato (Bas) Koufonisi

Goûtez aux produits locaux … saveurs authentiques

Passer du temps à Schinoussa, c'est simplement revenir au plus près de la nature, notamment en raison de l’authenticité des produits locaux. Tomates, concombres, haricots verts, melons, pastèques, figues, raisins … voilà des produits aux saveurs simples et naturelles ! Mais Schinoussa est surtout célèbre pour sa … fava (purée de fèves). C’est une variété locale de petits pois jaunes et presque toujours servis en entrée dans les restaurants, et à déguster en général, avec du pain. Si cela vous plaît, vous pouvez acheter un sac de fava et en cuisiner chez vous. 

Les fèves sont vendues un peu partout (dans les mini-markets, quelques tavernes et même à bord de l’Aeolia) ! 

Mountain herbs and fava (split peas) for sale in Schinoussa

Les habitants seront heureux de partager cette recette avec vous. En conservant vos fèves au frigo, vous pouvez les cuisiner à tout moment dans un délai d'un an. Les habitants organisent même un festival de la Fava tant ce plat est typique, et auquel vous pouvez participer début Juin.

Suggestion : Bien sûr, il ne s’agit pas seulement de se nourrir, étant donné la qualité et l’authenticité de ces produits, mais aussi de tradition et d’identité. Depuis quelques années, un artiste local, appelé Akathi, peint sur des pierres et des mugs. Son style est si particulier et impressionnant qu’il est probable que vous cédiez à la tentation d’acheter quelques-unes de ses créations. Vous en trouverez une sélection chez Nikolas tis Schinoussas.

Amusez-vous aussi aux animations musicales nocturnes proposées à Vrahos

Une des dernières activités à faire à Schinoussa est certainement très inattendue puisque vous avez choisi cette île pour sa paix et sa tranquillité. Mais, aimer une vie simple et près de la nature n’empêche en rien d’apprécier quelques boissons en fin de soirée. Ainsi, à Schinoussa, vous pourrez visiter le seul lieu de musique live de l'île, Vrahos, lieu à l’atmosphère étrange de bout du monde, perdu au milieu de nulle part (à environ 15mn à pied au sud de Chora). Cet endroit reste ouvert jusque très tard dans la nuit (plus tard que n'importe quel autre endroit à Schinoussa), et bénéficie d’un nombre important de fidèles et d’habitués. Fier de son succès, ce lieu a récemment commencé à fonctionner aussi en tant que restaurant.

Les 7 meilleures activités à faire à Schinoussa

Petite île légendaire des Cyclades, Schinoussa est l'une des meilleures petites îles grecques à visiter. En raison de son atmosphère de paix et de repos, vous pourrez vous adonner à la lecture de tous les livres que vous pensiez n’avoir jamais le temps de lire, mais aussi vous allonger tranquillement sur une plage de sable et vous abandonner à la détente.

Découvrez les petits Cyclades dès maintenant

FAQ sur Schinoussa, Grèce

Schinoussa est une île des petits Cyclades, un ensemble peu connue des îles grecques, appartenant aux célèbres Cyclades (dont Mykonos, Santorini, Syros, Paros, Milos etc.) dans la mer Égée. Schinoussa se trouve juste au sud de Naxos et est très proche des autres îles des petites Cyclades comme Iraklia, Donousa et les îles de Koufonisia.

Le moyen le plus simple pour se rendre à Schinoussa est de prendre le ferry depuis Athènes (environ trois ferries par semaine depuis le port du Pirée, pour une traversée de 7-8 heures), ou en ferry, depuis Naxos, si vous y êtes déjà, pour une durée de 1,5-2 heures). Pendant la période estivale, des liaisons en ferry desservent d'autres îles des Cyclades (notamment Paros, Amorgos, Syros, Koufonisia, Iraklia et Donousa).

Non, bien sûr, trop petite, Schinoussa n'a pas d'aéroport. L'aéroport le plus proche se trouve sur l’île de Naxos, qui dispose de liaisons régulières en ferry avec Schinoussa.

Schinoussa est une petite île grecque simple, connue pour son authenticité, parfaite pour quiconque désire se détendre complètement et s’éloigner des rythmes effrénés de la vie quotidienne. 

Réservez votre voyage

santorini-sunset-sailing-semi-private-tour-logo
Group

Santorini Sunset Sailing Semi Private Tour + barbeque

5 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
401 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Admire the famous sunset of Santorini in the best possible way and enjoy your special day on Santorini's most luxurious and well-equipped yacht. Sailing in...




Schinoussa Lovers
Schinoussa Lovers

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Mylopotas is the best-known beach in Ios

8 des meilleures plages à Ios

The blue and green of the sea at Pano Koufonisi's Ammos beach is mesmerising

8 des meilleures plages des îles Koufonisia

Mikri Vigla is one of Naxos’ standout beaches where you’ll find many water sport options

10 des meilleures plages à Naxos

chora

8 des meilleures activités à faire à Sifnos

Village on Iraklia island

9 des meilleures choses à faire à Iraklia

Hiking Balos trail

Les 8 activités de plein air les plus appréciées en Grèce

Spring is a beautiful season to visit Monodendri and other Zagori villages

12 inoubliables activités à faire à Zagori

The amphitheatrically built Old Town of Skopelos

9 des meilleures activités à faire à Skopelos, l'île de Mamma Mia en Grèce

Fanaraki beach

10 des meilleures plages à Lemnos

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 bâtiments historiques à Athènes pour les amoureux de l'architecture

Aegina harbor

14 des meilleures activités à faire à Égine

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

12 des plus beaux glaciers d’Athènes

7

7 UNIQUE THINGS TO DO IN SCHINOUSSA

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a Greek salad

Schinoussa is a small island in the Cyclades with an extraordinary Greek and international fan club. It is literally tiny (fewer than 400 inhabitants and just 9 square km), so small you’ll have difficulty finding it on a map. It is just south of Naxos and a stone’s throw from Iraklia, Donousa and the Koufonisia isles (fellow members of the so-called Small Cyclades). There are just three settlements – Mersini (the port), Hora (the main ‘town’, consisting of pretty much one street that you can walk down in 5 minutes) and Messaria, and virtually no cars (most people just walk to the beach).

Holidays in Schinoussa are about authenticity and simplicity (stilettos are a no-no). There are no big hotels or Instagrammable cocktails … just beautiful sea and many fabulous beaches. It’s an island that casts a spell on those who find it unimaginable to spend a summer away from it. So let’s get you in the mood with some of the best things to do in Schinoussa.

Start as you mean to go on at Psili Ammos beach

There’s no denying that hitting the beach is No.1 on anybody’s list of best things to do in Schinoussa. So let’s start as we mean to go on, with a day at Psili Ammos (meaning fine sand in Greek), around 25mins walk (2.1km) north of Hora. You’re greeted by a narrow sandy beach, tamarisk trees and crystal-clear water. It’s best to get there early to experience Psili Ammos without crowds. And if you’re a really early bird, you could even catch the sunrise in Messaria, which you pass through on the way. But sunrise or not, you can enjoy a truly authentic village breakfast with possibly the freshest eggs on earth (with warm bread and a taste of the local cheese) at To Petrino, a traditional taverna in Messaria.

To Petrino is a traditional taverna in Messaria on Schinoussa

Or of course, you can visit for lunch or an evening meal on your way back. Other than that, find your spot on Psili Ammos beach and let Schinoussa start its magic.

Tip: Ask for freshly squeezed fragosyko juice in Messaria, made from locally grown prickly pears.

Choose a different beach every day

The beauty of Schinoussa is that you can choose a different beach for every day of your holiday. They are all within walking distance (from tip to tip, Schinoussa is only 5km long). The closest beach to Hora and Mersini is Tsigouri. It’s only 600m from Hora but, wherever you are on the island, don’t think about driving. There’s nowhere to park anyway. Tsigouri beach is protected from northerly winds and, even though it can get busy, rarely feels crowded. Another wide, sandy beach close to Hora (1km), Livadi is a favourite with families, with natural shade and a 1970s feel.

A traditional taverna above Tsigouri beach in Schinoussa

Roughly a third of Schinoussa’s available rooms-to-let are located here. The beachside cafe-restaurant (Livadi) is perfect for lunch and early dinner (Livadi is one of Schinoussa’s best sunset spots). Alternatively, a short walk away are the beaches of Ai Vasilis and Aligaria (sandy and with lovely water, especially for snorkelling) and over on the southeast coast is Lioliou, a small sandy beach that is 2.7km from Hora. And for a real hidden gem, Gerolimnionas beach is a secluded little cove on the northwest coast that’s perfect for when you crave solitude or if it’s windy. 

Get the best first impressions in Mersini

You’ll enjoy every meal in Schinoussa but if there’s one restaurant that stands out, it’s Nikolas tis Schinoussas, a restaurant located in Mersini that’s an institution – and quite possibly the very first thing you see when you arrive at the port. On days with kalosyni (calm winds), don’t be surprised to see an influx of boats from the Koufonisia isles, Paros, Antiparos or even Mykonos, just for lunch at Nikolas! The food is excellent and the restaurant has, to a great extent, put Schinoussa on the map! It is ideal for lunch or dinner, with a great ambience and smiling faces as well as views of all the activity in the port. If you want a nearby beach for a swim before your meal, Mersini beach (with turquoise water and tamarisk trees) is just across the bay. 

Make every meal in Hora an experience

You’ll be returning to tiny Hora often during your holidays in Schinoussa, especially for evening meals. So our next suggestion is a couple of dinner spots that will stay with you forever. Kyra Pothiti a lovely, honest taverna, wholeheartedly offering authentic dishes to visitors and a wonderful example of progress made by Schinoussa’s younger generation. It has evolved into an outstanding restaurant, with authentic yet imaginative dishes that aren’t to be missed. Very close by is another Schinoussa landmark, Deli, which has a verandah with panoramic views of the island and the Aegean … and of course excellent food (especially the meat dishes). On very busy days, you might have to be patient – but patience in Schinoussa is definitely a virtue! 

Local tip: Deli also has an all-day bar that is great for a drink before or after dinner.

Take a boat trip around Schinoussa or go island-hopping

Temptations are everywhere in Schinoussa … not just the beaches but what about all those other Small Cyclades islands winking at you in the distance! Luckily for you, the Aeolia comes to the rescue with a selection of boat trips around Schinoussa and to nearby island gems. You can choose to explore the Schinoussa coastline and visit beaches that are otherwise inaccessible or go island-hopping. Captain Manolis and his crew (Maria) are outstanding hosts on half-day tours around Schinoussa or full-day trips to island’s likes of Iraklia, Keros and Ano (Upper) and Kato (Lower) Koufonisi

Try the local products … they’re unforgettable

Spending time in Schinoussa is all about getting back to nature, not least because of the purity of the local produce. Tomatoes, cucumbers, green beans, melons, watermelons, figs, grapes … so that’s what they should taste like! But there’s one local product that Schinoussa is famed for … fava. It’s a local variety of yellow split pea and used to make a dip that almost every restaurant offers as a starter. If you like it, you can buy a bag of fava and make the dish at home. 

The split peas are widely available (in mini markets, some tavernas and even aboard the Aeolia) and the dip is easy to make.

Mountain herbs and fava (split peas) for sale in Schinoussa

Almost every local will be happy to share a recipe. If you store the bag in the fridge, you can cook the fava any time within a year. There’s even a Fava Festival you can attend in June.

Tip: It’s not just food when it comes to memorable local products. Over the past few years, a local artist called Akathi has been painting stones and mugs. Her style is so distinctive that as soon as you see her stones, chances are you’ll want to buy more than one. You’ll find a selection at Nikolas tis Schinoussas.
 

Enjoy the late-night music vibes of Vrachos

The last of your things to do in Schinoussa is something unexpected when it comes to an island you’ve chosen for its peace and tranquility. But just because you value the simple life doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy a few late-night drinks. So the last of our things to do in Schinoussa is to visit the island’s only live music venue, Vrachos, which feels like it’s in the middle of the nowhere (around 15mins walk south of Hora). It stays open till late (later than any other place in Schinoussa) and has a loyal local following. It is so popular that it has recently started operating as a restaurant as well.

7 unique things to do in Schinoussa

One of the legendary Small Cyclades, Schinoussa is one of the best small Greek islands to visit. It’s the kind of island where you bring all the books you’ve been longing to read, settle down on a sandy beach and press the pause button.

Discover the Small Cyclades now

FAQs about Schinoussa

Schinoussa is a member of the Small Cyclades, the little-known collection of Greek islands that are part of the famous Cyclades islands (including Mykonos, Santorini, Syros, Paros, Milos etc) in the Aegean Sea. It is just south of Naxos and very close to the other Small Cyclades islands, such as Iraklia, Donousa and the Koufonisia isles.

The easiest way to get to Schinoussa is by ferry from Athens (around three ferries a week from Piraeus Port, taking 7-8hrs) or from Naxos 1.5-2hr ferry crossing). There are also summer ferry connections with other Cycladic islands (including Paros, Amorgos, Syros, Koufonisia, Iraklia and Donousa).

No, Schinoussa does not have an airport. The closest airport is on Naxos, which has regular ferry connections with Schinoussa.

Schinoussa is a small and simple Greek island, known for its authenticity that’s perfect for anyone who wants to completely relax and get away from the rhythms of everyday life. 

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates





Schinoussa Lovers
Schinoussa Lovers

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Τraditional wind mills in Ios island, Cyclades

Discover the 8 best things to do in Ios

Mylopotas is the best-known beach in Ios

8 of the best beaches in Ios

The blue and green of the sea at Pano Koufonisi's Ammos beach is mesmerising

8 of the best beaches in the Koufonisia isles

Agathopes beach, Syros island, Greece

10 of the best beaches in Syros

Kolympithra beach on Tinos island

10 of the best beaches in Tinos

Athenians take every opportunity to max out on outdoor time

8 best ideas for a spring or autumn break in Athens

Matala beach, Crete

12 of the best beaches in Heraklion

14 of the best beaches in Pelion

Kato Zakros beach, Crete

12 of the best beaches around Agios Nikolaos

10 of the best beaches in Kythira

10 unforgettable things to do in Lemnos