10

ENTDECKE DIE 10 BESTEN AKTIVITÄTEN AUF SERIFOS

READING TIME
Solange es dauert, um einen griechischen Salat zu essen

Serifos ist als eine der beliebtesten griechischen Inseln für Familien, Gruppen und Paare berühmt geworden und ist ein vielversprechender Diamant der Kykladen. Das könnte an den vielen unberührten Stränden und ihrer faszinierenden Geschichte liegen, die sich um die alten Eisenerz- und Kupferminen und die Mythologie um Perseus und Medusa abspielt. 

Aber vielleicht liegt es auch daran, dass die Hauptstadt (Hora) einem Amphitheater gleicht und ursprünglich ein Beobachtungsposten für Piraten war, der den heutigen Besuchern einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Ägäis offeriert. Wir überlassen es dir gerne, dich zu entscheiden. Aber um dir die Auswahl zu erleichtern, haben wir 10 der besten Aktivitäten auf Serifos zusammengestellt. Verrate uns, wofür du dich entschieden hast.

Den kykladischen Charme von Hora kennenlernen

Ein Bummel durch die wohl fotogenste Inselhauptstadt der Kykladen ist die beste Gelegenheit, deinen Urlaub auf Serifos einzuläuten. Vom Kastro, dem höchsten Punkt der Stadt, hast du einen atemberaubenden Blick auf andere Kykladeninseln wie Sifnos, Milos und Kimolos, An niedlichen kleinen Plätzen wie die Piazza Pano kannst du wahre Köstlichkeiten wie Rakomelo (mit Honig und Gewürzen versetzter Raki) kosten.

Entdecke die zauberhafte Hora auf Serifos 

Serifos from above

In der Töpferwerkstatt (Kerameio) erfährst du alles über die Herstellung handgefertigter Töpferwaren der Insel und kannst ein Souvenir erwerben. In den Sommermonaten organisiert die Töpferei Workshops für Kinder und Gruppen von Freunden. Ein weiterer Geheimtipp ist, den Pfad von Livadi nach oben zu wandern, um von dort weitaus mehr von der Hora und dessen zauberhafte Aussicht auf sich wirken zu lassen.

Erkunde die antiken Minen in Mega LivadiDefinitiv eines der Highlights auf Serifos. Die antiken Minen haben die Geschichte der Insel schon ab dem 6. Jahrhundert v. Chr. beeinflusst. Der Reichtum, den sie einbrachten, trug zur Einführung einer Währung bei,

Definitiv eines der Highlights auf Serifos. Die antiken Minen haben die Geschichte der Insel schon ab dem 6. Jahrhundert v. Chr. beeinflusst. Der Reichtum, den sie einbrachten, trug zur Einführung einer Währung bei, auf der ein Frosch, das offizielle Tier der Insel, abgebildet war. Die bedeutendsten Minen befinden sich in Mega Livadi, im Südwesten der Insel. 

Megalo Livadi bay protected from the summer winds and the ruins of the mine's facilities

Das erste, was dir auffallen wird, wenn du dich hierher begibst, sind die Überreste einer Brücke, die im August 1916 während eines der ersten blutigen Aufstände des neuzeitlichen Griechenlands, der zur Einführung eines 8-Stunden-Arbeitstages für die Bergarbeiter führte, halb zerstört wurde. Du wirst die Minen und die rustikalen Waggons bestaunen und die Mineralien im Gestein mit deinen eigenen Händen ertasten können, um buchstäblich eins mit der Insel zu werden. 

Die Festivals miterleben, besonders am 15. August

Jede der Kykladeninseln hat ihre eigenen Festivals, besonders im August. Und wenn du dich für eines auf Serifos entschieden hast, dann ist es der am 15. August (der absolute Höhepunkt der Festival-Saison) in der Kapelle der Panagia Skopiani, die an einem Hang zum Meer hin erbaut wurde. Serifo´s bedeutsamstes Festival wird von reichlich lokalem Weißwein, traditioneller Kichererbsensuppe und langsam gegartem Ziegenfleisch mit Kartoffeln ergänzt. 

The church Of Panagia Skopiani, offers one of kind views of the Aegean

Du wirst nicht mehr gehen wollen. Du solltest auf dein Herz zu hören, denn du wirst den ersten Sonnenaufgang geniessen, während die Geigen und Lyren weiterhin die Ambiente mit Melodien untermalen.

Beach-Hopping an der Südküste von Serifos

Aufgrund ihrer Landschaft und der Tatsache, dass sie eine relativ kleine Insel ist, hat Serifos eine enorme Anzahl an Stränden (die Einheimischen zählen weitaus mehr als die offiziellen 72), die alle ziemlich nah beieinander liegen. Mit anderen Worten, du hast eine Insel gefunden, die perfekt für Strand-Hopping ist! Beginne in Kalo Ambeli, fahre weiter zum wunderschönen Vagia, entspanne unter den Tamariskenbäumen von Ganema und sorge dafür, dass die Zeit nicht zu knapp wird, um die wahre Schönheit von Maliadikou auf dich einwirken zu lassen. Alle diese Strände verdienen es, zu den besten der Kykladen zu gehören.

Sonnenaufgang von Hora aus betrachten

Ok, die Hauptstadt bietet zwar nicht unbedingt einen Blick auf den Sonnenuntergang direkt über dem Meer, aber von hier aus wirst du einen der bezauberndsten Sonnenaufgänge deines Lebens geniessen können. Selbstverständlich wird dies nach einer unvergesslichen Nacht in Hora der Fall sein. Ein paar lokale Tipps sind ein Glas Rakomelo im Tou Stratos, einer der Kultbars der Insel, oder Cocktails im To Gaidaros. Außerdem werden dir die eindringlich schönen Melodien der Volkslieder von Rebetika, wie sie in der Bar Vatrachos gespielt werden, für immer prägen. Die Magie der Nacht wird noch in deinen Ohren klingen und den Sonnenuntergang so wunderschön erscheinen lassen, dass er einfach nicht real sein kann. Das ist eines der Highlights, die Serifos zu einer der besten griechischen Inseln für Pärchen ausmachen.

Light up the night at Serifos charming Hora

Auf dem Petria Wanderweg geht es sogar noch höher

Wenn dir die Aussicht von Kastro aus nicht genügt und du die Ägäis von noch höheren Lagen aus bestaunen möchtest, solltest du den Petria-Wanderweg oberhalb von Hora hinaufsteigen. Wenn dir die Aussicht von Kastro aus nicht genügt und du die Ägäis von noch höheren Lagen aus bestaunen möchtest, solltest du den Petria-Wanderweg oberhalb von Hora hinaufsteigen. 

The incredible view from the highest point of town is a wonderful way to start your walk

Es ist ein gut zugänglicher und ausgeschilderter Wanderweg, der definitiv eine Erfahrung wert, die nicht von einem typischen Besucher unternommen wird. Atme besonders viel von den Aromen der wilden Kräuter und Sträucher entlang des Petria Wanderweg ein.

Auch im August an einem ruhigen Strand entspannen

Besonders beliebt bei Gästen von Serifos, die eine ruhige griechische Insel suchen, ist die Tatsache, dass es hier selbst im Hochsommer eine ganze Reihe von einsamen Stränden zu finden gibt. Platis Gialos, Skala und Avessalos sind nur einige der Top-Strände, die es zu besuchen gilt. Die Frage ist, wie viele der 72 Strände von Serifos du wohl wirklich schaffen kannst.

Sikamia beach

Im Monat Juli - Ernte der Bienenstöcke

Auf der Insel Serifos wirst du nichts mehr als die Liebe zur Natur zu schätzen lernen. Und du wirst schnell bemerken, dass die Einheimischen eine außergewöhnliche Beziehung zu ihrer Umwelt haben. Die Bienen von Serifos produzieren Honig mit einem sehr ausgeprägten Aroma von wildem Thymian und Lavendel, der kürzlich den Status einer geschützten Herkunftsbezeichnung erhielt. Die Bienen haben es geschafft, die lebhaften Sommerwinde, die Trockenheit und die Sonne der Kykladen zu zähmen. . Die Einheimischen wiederum bieten ihnen ideale Bedingungen für das Wohl ihrer Bienenstöcke, wobei sie mit ihnen stets behutsam und mit Respekt umgehen. Der Moment der Honigernte, die im Juli stattfindet, wird von einheimischer Musik und einem Glas lokal gebrautem Rakomelo unterstrichen und ist ein Genuss, den man nur auf den Kykladen erleben kann.

Honeymakers in Serifos

Kloster besuchen und Weine kosten

Das Kloster Taxiarches ist ein fester Bestandteil der Geschichte von Serifos. Es hat alle Piratenüberfälle der venezianischen und osmanischen Zeit auf der Insel überlebt. Von außen ähnelt es einem Schloss, aber im Inneren findest du eine Kirche, verschiedene Innenhöfe, Speisesäle und Mönchszellen. Das absolute Highlight ist der Besuch am Vorabend des 8. Novembers, während des Feiertages des Erzengels Gabriel, wenn die Gäste die Ehre haben, nicht nur von den Mönchen bekocht zu werden, sondern auch in einer der Mönchsstuben zu übernachten. Als Bonus gibt es gleich nebenan auf dem Chrysoloras Weingut Bio-Weißwein zu kosten und eine Führung durch den ersten besuchbaren Weingut der Insel zu absolvieren.

Nachmittags-Kaffee an der Pano Piazza

Die Legende besagt, dass bei einem Nachmittagskaffee auf einem schönen Platz der Kykladen die Zeit stehen bleibt. Und wenn du dich für die Pano Piazza (auch bekannt als Agios Athanasiou Platz) entscheidest, wirst du der Legende nicht widersprechen können. Bunte kleine Tische, das Rathaus, eine Großmutter in traditioneller Kleidung, die dir im Vorbeigehen zulächelt, das Läuten der Kirchenglocken, der Kaffee, der traditionell auf heißer Asche gebrüht wird... all das sind Bilder und Klänge, die auf dem stimmungsvollsten Platz der Insel zu deinen werden.

 

Die 10 besten Aktivitäten, die du in Serifos unternehmen kannst

Wir hoffen, dass dir unser Inselguide für Serifos gefallen hat, besonders wenn du auf der Suche nach einer völlig unberührten griechischen Insel und einem Urlaub am Strand der Kykladen mit viel Sonne und authentischem Flair bist.

Jetzt Serifos kennenlernen  

 

FAQ über Serifos, Griechenland

  • Wie erreichst du die Insel Serifos?

Du kannst Serifos mit der Fähre vom Hafen von Piräus und vielen benachbarten Kykladeninseln (wie Mykonos, Santorini, Milos, Sifnos und Folegandros) erreichen. Die Überfahrt vom Hafen von Piräus nach Serifos dauert etwa 3 Stunden. Auf Serifos gibt es keinen Flughafen.

  • Zu welcher Jahreszeit ist die beste Zeit für einen Urlaub auf Serifos?

Serifos ist eine beschauliche griechische Insel, die du zu jeder Zeit im Sommer gerne besuchen kannst – auch während der Hochsaison in den Monaten Juli und August. Das Ägäische Meer lädt von Mai/Juni bis Oktober zum Baden ein.

  • Wofür ist die Insel Serifos bekannt? 

Serifos ist als eine der unberührtesten Inseln Griechenlands bekannt und ist die perfekte Destination für Familien, Gruppen und Paare, die einen authentischen Urlaub auf einer griechischen Insel verbringen möchten. Trotz der ruhigen Lage gibt es auf Serifos jede Menge zu unternehmen. Vor allem für jene, die die Atmosphäre und Schönheit der Kykladen-Inseln lieben und dennoch einen ruhigeren Urlaubsort als Mykonos, Santorini und selbst Milos möchten.

 

Stef Greece
Stef Greece
Travel Photographer and local Serifos expert

I'm Stefanos, a photographer, photoblogger and travel influencer from Greece. I invite you to wander with me around beautiful Greece and the world through my lens.

Outdoor-Aktivitäten

Santorini Sunset Sea Kayak

Santorini Kykladen
On this sunset kayak and snorkel adventure in Santorini, you will visit black, white and red beaches. Enter magnificent sea caves, swim and snorkel. Your...
Von: 95 €

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Sunset in Serifos

Die 12 romantischsten Urlaubsziele in Griechenland

Who hasn’t dreamed of visiting Santorini The iconic caldera and chic Cycladic aura are part of you even before you’ve arrived.

12 unvergessliche Erlebnisse auf Santorin

Psarou beach on Mykonos

12 kultige Strände auf Mykonos, die Sie einfach lieben werden

Famous for its celebrity beaches, Mykonos has another side when it comes to beach life that it keeps away from the spotlight.

12 entspannende Strände auf Mykonos, von Einheimischen ausgewählt

View of Santorini island from Thirassia

Lernen Sie die kykladischen Zufluchtsorte in der Nähe von Santorin

If you are looking for a boho feel and that extra touch of Instagrammability, go to Kolymbithra beach bar!

9 Schritte, um die Originalität von Tinos zum Vorschein zu bringen

Sunset in Serifos

Die 12 romantischsten Urlaubsziele in Griechenland

Ancient Parthenon Acropolis Athens

Die 10 besten Ausflüge in Athen mit Kindern

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Wo du die beste Street Art in Athen zu sehen bekommst

Who hasn’t dreamed of visiting Santorini The iconic caldera and chic Cycladic aura are part of you even before you’ve arrived.

12 unvergessliche Erlebnisse auf Santorin

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 Reiseziele, die die griechische Mythologie zum Leben erwecken

Nothing keeps a true traveller-at-heart from the pleasure of exploring

Die 6 besten Covid-freundlichen Spaziergänge in Athen

10

DISCOVER THE 10 BEST THINGS TO DO IN SERIFOS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a Greek salad

Serifos has become known as one of the best Greek islands for couples, families and groups of friends and is an up-and-coming gem of the Cyclades. You could put it down to the many pristine beaches and intriguing history, centring on the island’s ancient iron ore and copper mines and tales of mythology involving Perseus and Medusa.

Or maybe it’s because the main town (Hora) is built like an amphitheater and was once a pirate lookout, gifting today’s visitors unbelievable views of the Aegean. We’ll leave it to you to decide.But to help you, we’ve selected 10 of the best things to do in Serifos. Let us know what you choose.

Taking in the Cycladic charm of Hora

Just strolling around possibly the most photogenic main town of the Cyclades is the best way to start your holidays on Serifos. From Kastro, the peak, you’ll be treated to views of other Cycladic islands, like Sifnos, Milos and Kimolos, and in cute little squares like Pano Piazza you’ll experience authentic tastes such as rakomelo (raki infused with honey and spices).

Explore the charming Hora of Serifos

Serifos from above

Pop into the town’s pottery studio (Kerameio) to learn all about the island’s handcrafted ceramics and pick up a souvenir. In summer months, the studio organizes pottery workshops for kids and groups of friends. A local tip is to follow the footpath up from Livadi. You’ll see more of the main town and the view is even more magical.

Exploring the old mines in Mega Livadi

Definitely one of the top things to do in Serifos. The old mines have influenced its history since the 6th century BC, when the riches they produced contributed towards it establishing a currency on which a frog, the island’s official animal, was displayed. The most important mines are found in Mega Livadi, in the south-west.

Megalo Livadi bay protected from the summer winds and the ruins of the mine's facilities

The first thing you’ll notice when you travel here are the remains of a bridge, half-destroyed in August 1916, during one of the first bloody uprisings of modern Greece that resulted in the establishment of an 8-hour working day for the miners. You can explore the mines and the rusty wagons and run your hands along the mineral deposits in the rock becoming, literally, one with the island.

Experiencing the festivals, especially on Aug 15

Every one of the Cycladic islands has its festivals, especially in August. And if you’re going to choose just one on Serifos, it has to be on August 15 (the climax of the festival season) at the Chapel of Panagia Skopiani, built on a slope facing the sea. It is Serifos’ biggest festival and is accompanied by plenty of local white wine, traditional chickpea soup and slow-cooked goat with potatoes.

The church Of Panagia Skopiani, offers one of kind views of the Aegean

You won’t want to leave. And you would do very well to listen to your heart because you will witness the sunrise on the horizon, while the violins and lyres continue to fill the air with melodies.

Beach-hopping on the south coast of Serifos

Because of its landscape and the fact that it is a relatively small island, Serifos has an abundance of beaches (the locals count more than the official 72) that are all pretty close to each other. In other words, you’ve found an island that’s perfect for beach-hopping! Start from Kalo Ambeli, continue to wonderful Vagia, relax under the tamarisk trees of Ganema and make sure you don’t run out of time to visit the wild beauty of Maliadiko. They’re all beaches that deserve to be included amongst the best in the Cyclades.

Witnessing the sunrise from Hora

Ok so the main town doesn’t offer a sunset view over the sea but from here you’ll witness one of the most magical sunrises of your life. Obviously, this will happen after an unforgettable night in Hora. A few local tips: have a glass of rakomelo at Stou Stratou, one of the island’s iconic bars, or cocktails at To Gaidaros. And the hauntingly beautiful tunes of rebetika folk songs, such as those played at Vatrachos bar, will stay with you forever. Everything magical about the night will still be reverberating in your ears, making the sunset seem too beautiful to be real. It’s one of the things that makes Serifos one of the best Greek islands for couples.

Light up the night at Serifos charming Hora

Heading even higher on the Petria footpath

If the view from Kastro isn’t enough and you want to enjoy the Aegean Sea from even higher up, then head up the Petria footpath above Hora. The view of the main town from the top is so spectacular you’ll feel like you are flying.

The incredible view from the highest point of town is a wonderful way to start your walk

It’s an easy, well-signed footpath and definitely an experience not chosen by the average visitor. Make sure to take an extra big lungful of the aromas of the wild herbs and bushes along the way.

Relaxing on quiet beaches, even in August

One thing adored by visitors to Serifos, especially ones seeking a quiet Greek island, is that holidays here involve a whole selection of empty beaches, even at the peak of summer. The likes of Platis Gialos, Skala and Avessalos are just a few of the top beaches to visit. The question is, how many of Serifos’ 72 beaches do you think you can tick off?

Sikamia beach

The harvesting of beehives in July

In Serifos, you’ll love nothing more than being close to nature. And you’ll quickly learn that locals have a unique relationship with their natural environment. Serifos’ bees produce honey with a distinct aroma of wild thyme and lavender that is about to be awarded Protected Designation of Origin status. The bees have managed to tame the brisk summer winds, dry conditions and Cycladic sunshine and locals, in turn, provide them with ideal conditions for their beehives to thrive, always handling the inhabitants delicately and with respect. The sight of the honey being harvested in July, accompanied by local music and a glass of locally brewed rakomelo, is a treat that can only be experienced in the Cyclades.

Honeymakers in Serifos

Enjoying a monastery visit and wine-tasting

The Taxiarches Monastery is an important part of the living history of Serifos, especially as it survived all the pirate raids of the island’s Venetian and Ottoman days. From the outside, it resembles a castle but within you’ll find a church, courtyards, dining quarters and the monks’ cells. The absolute highlight comes if you visit on the eve of November 8, during the festival of the Archangel Gabriel when guests have the honour of being cooked for by the monks and sleeping the night in one of the cells. And there’s a bonus just next door at the Chrysoloras Winery, where you can taste organic white wines and have a tour of the island’s first vineyard open to visitors.

Stopping for afternoon coffee in Pano Piazza

Legend says that when you have an afternoon coffee in a beautiful island square in the Cyclades, time stops. And when you choose Pano Piazza (also known as Agios Athanasiou Square), you won’t argue with legend. Multicoloured little tables, the Town Hall, a grandmother dressed in traditional attire smiling to you as she passes, the chime of church bells, the coffee brewed on hot ashes in the traditional way … these are all images and sounds that become yours in the island’s most atmospheric square.

 

The 10 best things to do in Serifos

We hope you enjoyed our Serifos’ island guide, especially if you are looking for a totally unspoilt Greek island and beach holidays in the Cyclades filled with sun and authenticity.

Discover Serifos now

 

FAQs about Serifos, Greece

  • How do you get to Serifos island?

You can reach Serifos by ferry from Piraeus port and many of the neighbouring Cycladic islands (like Mykonos, Santorini, Milos, Sifnos and Folegandros). The voyage from Piraeus port to Serifos takes approximately 3 hours. There is no airport on Serifos.

  • What is the best time of year to visit Serifos?

Serifos is a very quiet Greek island so you will enjoy visiting at any time during the summer, even in the peak holiday months of July and August. The Aegean Sea is perfect for swimming from May/June till October.

  • What is Serifos island best known for?

Serifos is known as one of the most unspoilt Greek islands and is a perfect choice for couples, families and groups of friends looking for an authentic Greek island holiday experience. Despite being quiet there are plenty of things to do on Serifos, especially for those who love the atmosphere and beauty of the Cyclades islands but want somewhere quieter than the likes of Mykonos, Santorini and even Milos.

 

Stef Greece
Stef Greece
Travel Photographer and local Serifos expert

I'm Stefanos, a photographer, photoblogger and travel influencer from Greece. I invite you to wander with me around beautiful Greece and the world through my lens.

Plan your trip

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Incredible Sarakiniko beach, a trip to the moon in Milos island

12 Popular sailing destinations in the Aegean

age of chivalry - Rhodes

The 10 most important architectural monuments in Greece

Milos, Greece - September 10, 2015: Top view of canoes at Tsigrado Beach in Milos island, Cyclades,

Island-hopping from Milos in the Cyclades

Zante - Zakynthos

Summer holidays in Greece

Leonidas Giannakopoulos - Eternal traveler, Metaxourgeio

Where to find the best street art in Athens

Ancient Parthenon Acropolis Athens

10 Best things to do in Athens with kids

Nothing keeps a true traveller-at-heart from the pleasure of exploring

6 Best Covid-friendly strolls in Athens

Who hasn’t dreamed of visiting Santorini The iconic caldera and chic Cycladic aura are part of you even before you’ve arrived.

12 Unforgettable things to do in Santorini

Mount Olympus summit. The "Throne of Zeus" 2.919m

12 destinations that gave life to Greek mythology

Psarou beach on Mykonos

12 iconic beaches to love on Mykonos