READING TIME
Solange es dauert, um einen griechischen Kaffee zu trinken
Sponsored by Aegean Airlines

Wo soll man anfangen, wenn es um die Geschichte und Kultur der griechischen Hauptstadt geht? Wir haben 20 der besten Museen Athens für dich erkundet, damit du selbst entscheiden kannst, welche du auf deine Wunschliste setzen möchtest ... und ein paar Juwelen entdecken kannst, von denen du sonst vielleicht nie gehört hättest.

Das Akropolis Museum

15 Dionysiou Areopagitou St

Die Nummer eins auf deiner Liste der besten Museen Athens und das aus gutem Grund. Das Akropolis-Museum vervollständigt das Erlebnis eines Besuchs des Parthenons ( direkt nebenan). Auf 14.000 m2 Ausstellungsfläche wird das antike Athen (insbesondere das Goldene Zeitalter des Perikles im 5. Jahrhundert) anhand von Skulpturen und Kunstgegenständen sowie Nachbildungen von Gebäuden auf dem Akropolis-Hügel, wie dem Tempel der Athena Nike und dem Ärechtheion, zum Leben erweckt. Lass dir auf keinen Fall die Parthenon-Galerie im obersten Stockwerk entgehen, in der Original- und Nachbildungen des Parthenon-Frieses zu sehen sind.

Mach eine Tour durch das Akropolis-Museum

Staatliches Museum der Archäologie

44 28th October St, Exarhia

Wenn du wissen willst, warum Griechenland als die Wiege der westlichen Zivilisation bezeichnet wird, solltest du dieses Museum besuchen. Die gesamte Geschichte Griechenlands (neolithisch, kykladisch, mykenisch, klassisch, hellenistisch, römisch, byzantinisch, venezianisch, osmanisch und modern) wird anhand von Statuen, Miniaturen, Grabsteinen, Werkzeugen, Waffen und Gegenständen des täglichen Lebens dargestellt. Es ist das größte Museum in Athen und verfügt über eine umfangreiche öffentliche Bibliothek. Im südlichen Flügel (durch einen separaten Eingang) befindet sich das Epigraphische Museum mit mehr als 14.000 Inschriften, die die erstaunlichen Details der Aufzeichnungen im antiken Griechenland enthüllen. 

National Archaeological Museum Athens

Mach eine Tour durch das Staatliche Museum der Archäologie

Museum für Kykladen-Kunst

4 Neophytou Douka St, Kolonaki

Eine faszinierende Zusammenstellung einiger der ältesten Kunstwerke Griechenlands. Es werden Sammlerstücke ausgestellt, die bis zu 5.000 Jahre alt sind und von den griechischen Kykladeninseln wie Andros, Naxos, Antiparos, Amorgos und Thera (Santorin) stammen, darunter die glatten und anmutigen Marmorfiguren von Männern und Frauen aus der frühen Kykladenzeit, die das Markenzeichen des Museums sind. Das Museum ist in der Stathatos-Villa untergebracht, einem wunderschönen Beispiel für neoklassizistische Architektur in Athen und einem der besten Werke des Architekten Ernst Ziller.

Mach eine Tour durch das Museum für Kykladen-Kunst von Athen

Staatsgalerie

50 Vassileos Konstantinou Ave, Pangrati

Ein Muss für alle Kunstliebhaber, mit Kunstwerken von Griechenlands bekanntesten Malern sowie europäischen Meistern (wie Rembrandt und Picasso) in einem kürzlich wiedereröffneten Gebäude, das genauso beeindruckend ist wie einige der ausgestellten Werke. Aber die eigentliche Attraktion der Staatsgalerie ist die Tatsache, dass sie alle Wendepunkte der modernen griechischen Geschichte - von den post-byzantinischen Jahren bis zur Revolution gegen die Osmanen und der Gründung des modernen griechischen Staates - anhand von mehr als 1.000 Kunstwerken dokumentiert. Eine schönere Geschichtsstunde kann man sich kaum vorstellen.

Mach eine Tour durch die Staatsgalerie

Benaki Museum für griechische Kultur

Koumbari Straße 1, Kolonaki

Eines der beliebtesten Privatmuseen mit Kunstwerken und Sammlerstücken aus dem 6. Jahrtausend v. Chr. bis zum 20. Der prominente Kunstsammler Antonis Benakis stiftete seine erstaunliche Sammlung (und sein wunderschönes neoklassizistisches Familienanwesen) für die Einrichtung des Museums, das heute eine noch größere Ausstellung von Schmuck, Keramik, Marmorbildnissen, Manuskripten, religiösen Ikonen, Haushaltsutensilien, Kostümen und Textilien aus allen Phasen der griechischen Geschichte beherbergt.

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Die Sammlung ist so umfangreich, dass in Athen Satelliten-Benaki-Museen entworfen wurden, darunter das Pireos 138, das Museum für Islamische Kunst, die Ghika-Galerie und das Spielzeugmuseum. 

Mach eine Tour durch das Benaki-Museum für griechische Kultur

Staatliches Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst Athen

Kallirois Ave & Amvr. Frantzi St, Koukaki

Ein Juwel für Kunstliebhaber in einem der ikonischsten Gebäude Athens (der vollständig renovierten ehemaligen FIX-Brauerei) im lebhaften Koukaki-Viertel. Die 18.142 m2 minimalistische, wunderschön beleuchtete Galerie ist der ideale Rahmen für Ausstellungen, die sich mit zeitlosen Themen wie Demokratie, Identität und Ausgrenzung, aber auch mit aktuellen Themen wie der Flüchtlingskrise am Mittelmeer und Rassendiskriminierung beschäftigen.

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Goulandris Museum für Moderne Kunst

13 Eratosthenous St, Pangrati

Es ist unglaublich, dass die rund 180 Werke von Meistern aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert (darunter Picasso, Van Gogh, Monet, Cezanne, El Greco, Gaugin und Pollock) einst die Privatsammlung eines Athener Ehepaars waren.

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Museum der antiken Agora

24 Adrianou Straße, Monastiraki

Das Museum der antiken Agora befindet sich in der restaurierten Stoa des Attalos, einem Gebäude aus dem 2. Jahrhundert v. Chr., das König Attalos II. von Pergamon den Athenern schenkte und das mit der ersten Einkaufspassage im antiken Athen in Verbindung gebracht wird, da es einst überdachte Stände für Händler beherbergte. Hier werden Ausstellungsstücke aufbewahrt, die bei Ausgrabungen in der antiken Agora gefunden wurden, darunter so unterschiedliche Alltagsgegenstände wie Erkennungsmarken, eine tönerne Wasseruhr und offizielle Wahlzettel aus Bronze bis hin zu Porträtbüsten aus der römischen Zeit.

Byzantinisches und Christliches Museum

22 Vassilissis Sofias Ave

Ein Archiv mit über 2.500 Kunstwerken aus dem byzantinischen und christlichen Erbe Griechenlands, das vom 3. Ikonen, Wandmalereien, Manuskripte und Keramiken, Textilien, Mosaike und andere Objekte sind chronologisch nach fünf großen "thematischen Routen" geordnet: Der Wasserpfad, Die Frau, Merkwürdige Objekte, Jenseits und Gold. Sie bieten Einblicke in die materielle Kultur und das geistliche Leben der jeweiligen Zeit.

Staatliches Historisches Museum

13 Stadiou St, Syntagma

Das Staatliche Historische Museum ist das älteste Museum seiner Art in Griechenland und beherbergt die Artefakte der Historischen und Ethnologischen Gesellschaft Griechenlands (gegründet 1882). Es befindet sich im alten Parlamentsgebäude (das von 1875 bis 1935 als griechisches Parlament diente) und war davor in der Staatlichen Technischen Hochschule von Athen untergebracht. Es beherbergt Artefakte wie Waffen, Manuskripte und eine große Sammlung von Trachten vom Fall Konstantinopels 1453 bis zum Zweiten Weltkrieg, wobei ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf dem griechischen Unabhängigkeitskrieg von 1821 liegt.

National Historical Museum

Athener Stadtmuseum

5-7 Paparigopoulou St, Klafthmonos-Platz

Das Athener Stadtmuseum befindet sich in zwei miteinander verbundenen Gebäuden und beherbergt Gemälde, Stiche, Skulpturen, Möbel und wichtige Dokumente eines wohlhabenden bürgerlichen Athener Haushalts aus dem 19. und frühen 20. Das neoklassizistische Haus Nr. 7 gehörte Stamatios Dekozis-Vouros (1792-1881), einem wohlhabenden Bankier aus Chios, ist aber als Alter Palast bekannt, da es die Residenz des ersten Königspaares, König Otto und Königin Amalia (1836-1843), wurde, als die Hauptstadt Griechenlands nach Athen verlegt wurde. Das so genannte Neue Gebäude in Nr. 5 bewahrt die Erinnerungen und die Geschichte der Familie Dekozis-Vouros.

Numismatisches Museum Athen

Panepistimiou-Str. 12 (El. Venizelou), Syntagma

Das Numismatische Museum von Athen beherbergt mehr als 500.000 Münzen, Medaillen, Edelsteine, Gewichte, Briefmarken und ähnliche Artefakte von 1400 v. Chr. bis zur Neuzeit und ist damit eine der reichhaltigsten Sammlungen ihrer Art. Es befindet sich in einem der legendären Athener Gebäude (bekannt als Iliou Melathron), das 1878-1880 von Ernst Ziller (einem der bekanntesten Architekten Athens) für den berühmten Archäologen Heinrich Schliemann (der die Ausgrabungsstätten von Troja und Mykene erforschte) entworfen wurde. Die restaurierten Mosaike und Wandmalereien der Villa sind ein Teil des Erlebnisses.

Entdecke die Wahrzeichen von Athen

Das Naturkundemuseum Goulandris

13 Levidou St, Kifissia

Abseits des Stadtzentrums, im nördlichen Vorort Kifissia, spielt das Goulandris-Museum für Naturgeschichte eine wichtige Rolle bei der Förderung der Naturwissenschaften. Es war das erste in Griechenland, das Umweltbewusstsein lehrt und sich für den Schutz der Lebensräume der griechischen Tierwelt und der vom Aussterben bedrohten Arten einsetzt. Es zeigt nicht nur eine große Anzahl von Insekten, Säugetieren, Vögeln, Reptilien, Muscheln, Gesteinen, Mineralien und Fossilien aus ganz Griechenland, sondern auch Hunderttausende von Pflanzenarten, von denen einige durch die eigene Forschung des Museums identifiziert wurden.  

Hellenisches Schifffahrtsmuseum

Akti Themistokleous, Piräus

Das Hellenische Schifffahrtsmuseum in der Nähe der Zea Marina in Piräus ist ein Muss für Schiffsliebhaber und beherbergt mehr als 2.500 Exponate aus Griechenlands berühmter maritimer Geschichte. Neben Modellen von Schiffen aus der archaischen und klassischen Zeit gibt es auch Exponate aus der byzantinischen Zeit Griechenlands und dem Unabhängigkeitskrieg von 1821 und darüber hinaus. Im Außenbereich befinden sich der Kommandoturm der Papanikolis (ein U-Boot aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg) und die Anker von Schiffen aus der Schlacht von Navarino von 1827 (ein Ost gegen West Gefecht vor der Westküste des Peloponnes, das als die letzte große Seeschlacht bekannt ist, die ausschließlich mit Segelschiffen ausgetragen wurde).

Jüdisches Museum von Griechenland

Nikis Str. 39, Plaka

Es erinnert an die Geschichte der jüdischen Bevölkerung Griechenlands, die zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts zu einer der größten in Europa wurde. Das Jüdische Museum Griechenlands zeigt persönliche Gegenstände, Schmuck, Dokumente und Gegenstände aus der Synagoge, die die Geschichte und das tägliche Leben der Juden in Griechenland. Ausgrabungen auf Delos haben eine antike Synagoge zum Vorschein gebracht, aber die Zahl der Juden schwoll im 15. Jahrhundert und darüber hinaus an, als verfolgte Sephardim Zuflucht in Griechenland (insbesondere in Thessaloniki) fanden. Nachdem die Zahl der Juden auf über 100.000 angestiegen war, verlor die jüdische Gemeinde während der Besetzung Griechenlands durch die Nazis unglaubliche 87 % ihrer Bevölkerung.

Museum für volkstümliche griechische Musikinstrumente

1-3 Diogenous St, Plaka

In einem der ältesten Gebäude der Stadt Plaka (erbaut Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts) erinnert das Museum für griechische Volksmusikinstrumente an die wechselvolle Geschichte der Musikwissenschaft und des Instrumentenbaus in Griechenland. Viele der Exponate stammen von Fivos Anoyanakis (einem 1915 geborenen Musikwissenschaftler, dessen Sammlung zu den bedeutendsten in Europa zählt). Sie sind nach Instrumentenarten geordnet: Membranophone (Trommeln und Tamburine), Aerophone (Flöten und Dudelsäcke), Chordophone (Lauten, Gitarren und Mandolinen) und Idiophone (Glocken und Zimbeln).

Museum für Altgriechische Technologien

6 Pindarou St, Kolonaki

Robotik und Computer, Dampf- und Düsenantrieb, Auto- und automatische Navigation, Telekommunikation, Nutzung von Wasser- und Windenergie und Kryptologie wurden alle von ... du hast es erraten, den alten Griechen erfunden. Das will das Museum für Altgriechische Technologie anhand von Originalgegenständen und Rekonstruktionen beweisen, die zeigen, dass das antike Griechenland die Wiege für viele der heutigen Erfindungen und Technologien war. Du glaubst es nicht? Es gibt nur einen Weg, es herauszufinden.

Museum für traditionelle griechische Töpferwaren

8 Hepitou St, Psyrri

Das Museum für traditionelle griechische Töpferei zeigt das moderne Bild dieses alten griechischen Handwerks. Das Museum bietet nicht nur Keramikkurse an, sondern zeichnet auch die Geschichte der griechischen Töpferei im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert anhand einer Reihe von Werkstätten nach. Du befindest dich in Nachstellungen und Darstellungen verschiedener Stile des Töpferhandwerks (mit oder ohne manuelle Drehscheibe oder mit einem Kick-Wheel), die den kulturellen Kontext und die Kunstfertigkeit der entworfenen Vasen und anderen Keramiken erläutern.

Museum für moderne griechische Kultur

4-8 Thespidos St, Plaka

Das Museum für moderne griechische Kultur besteht aus mehr als einem Dutzend Bauten aus dem 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert in Plaka, die ein Viertel Athens aus dieser Zeit nachbilden. Der Komplex umfasst das Badehaus der Winde (das einzige öffentliche Bad in Athen unter osmanischer Herrschaft, unweit des Forum Romanum) und das Museum in der Panos-Straße 22 (mit einer Ausstellung von Objekten wie Archiven, persönlichen Zeugnissen, Bildern und Worten, die die Besucher/innen dazu anregen, die Geschichten dahinter zu erkunden).

Museum der Illusionen

119 Ermou Str, Monastiraki

Zum Abschluss unserer Liste der besten Museen Athens gibt es noch etwas ganz Ausgefallenes. Das Museum der Illusionen zieht alle Familienmitglieder in seinen Bann und fordert ihre Sinne heraus. Hier kannst du Hologramme und andere optische Täuschungen in einer Reihe von speziell gestalteten Umgebungen bewundern (halte also dein Smartphone bereit), die dein Gehirn herausfordern und die Wissenschaft hinter dem Effekt erklären.

Die besten Museen Athens

Welche Museen heben sich also besonders hervor? Du brauchst wahrscheinlich nicht viel Überzeugungskraft, um das Akropolis-Museum oder das Staatliche Museum der Archäologie Athens zu besuchen. Die privaten Museen in neoklassizistischen Gebäuden klingen aber ziemlich einzigartig, oder? Und was ist mit der ganzen zeitgenössischen Kunst? Damit hast du sicher nicht gerechnet! Erzähl uns, wofür du dich entscheidest. 

acropolis-museum-discovery-tour-logo
Group

Acropolis Museum Discovery Tour

2 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
21 Bewertungen
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Explore the Acropolis Museum through the lives of ancient Athenians by decoding the objects of everyday life they left behind, revealing the secrets of their...




Entdecke 12 der besten Strände der Athener Riviera

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Guide zu griechischen Spirituosen: Alles, was du über Ouzo wissen solltest

Noctua beer

Ein Guide zu den wichtigsten griechischen Bieren und Kleinbrauereien bringt Abwechslung in deinen Urlaub

Hiking Balos trail

Die 8 beliebtesten Outdoor-Abenteuer Griechenlands

10 einzigartige Erlebnisse im Süden Chanias

Hora and the Venetian castle of Kythira

12 Top-Tipps für Kythira

Die 8 besten Dinge in Kea (Tzia)

Tzastenis beach, Trikeri

Entdecke 13 verborgene Dörfer auf dem Berg Pelion

Aerial view of Milina village

Entdecke 12 unübersehbare Dörfer auf Pelion

awe-inspiring things to do in Meteora

9 beeindruckende Aktivitäten in Meteora

20

20 OF THE BEST MUSEUMS IN ATHENS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to drink a Greek coffee

Where do you start when it comes to all the history and culture on tap in the Greek capital? Well, we’ve done the groundwork for you by exploring 20 of the best museums in Athens, so you can decide which to put on your wish list … and reveal a few gems you’d probably never have heard of otherwise. 

Acropolis Museum

15 Dionysiou Areopagitou St

Number one on your list of best Athens museums for good reason. The Acropolis Museum completes the experience of visiting the Parthenon (right next door). The 14,000m2 exhibition space is beautifully laid out, bringing ancient Athens (particularly the 5th-century Golden Age of Pericles) to life through sculptures and artefacts, as well as replicas of buildings on Acropolis Hill, such as the Temple of Athena Nike and the Erechtheion. Don't miss the top-floor Parthenon Gallery, including original and replica marbles that recreate the full Parthenon frieze.

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

National Archaeological Museum

44 28th October St, Exarhia

If you want to know why Greece is referred to as the cradle of western civilisation this is the museum to visit. All of Greece’s history (Neolithic, Cycladic, Mycenaean, Classical, Hellenistic Roman, Byzantine, Venetian, Ottoman and Modern) is represented through statues, miniatures, gravestones, tools, weapons and items from everyday life. There is also a comprehensive public library in what is Athens’ largest museum. The southern wing (through a separate entrance) houses the Epigraphic Museum, with more than 14,000 inscriptions, revealing the astonishing detail of record-keeping in ancient Greece. 

National Archaeological Museum Athens

Take a tour of the National Archaeological Museum

Museum of Cycladic Art

4 Neophytou Douka St, Kolonaki

A fascinating assembly of some of the oldest artefacts in Greece. Collectables from as long as 5,000 years ago from Greece’s Cycladic islands – such as Andros, Naxos, Antiparos, Amorgos and Thera (Santorini) – are on display, including the smooth and graceful marble figurines of men and women from the Early Cycladic Period that are the museum’s signature artefacts. The museum is housed in the Stathatos Mansion, a beautiful example of neoclassical architecture in Athens and one of the finest works of architect Ernst Ziller.

Take a tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens

National Gallery

50 Vassileos Konstantinou Ave, Pangrati

A must for all art lovers, with works by Greece’s best-known painters as well as European masters (such as Rembrandt, Picasso and Matisse) in a recently reopened building that’s as eye-catching as some of the artwork on display. But the real attraction of the National Gallery is that it traces all the pivotal moments of modern Greek history – from the post-Byzantine years to the revolution against the Ottomans and the establishment of the modern Greek state – through more than 1,000 works of art. It’s hard to think of a more beautiful history lesson.

Take a tour of the National Gallery

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

1 Koumbari St, Kolonaki

One of the most popular private museums, with artwork and collectables from the 6th millennium BC to the 20th century. Prominent politician and art collector Antonis Benakis donated his astonishing collection (and beautiful neoclassical family mansion) for the creation of the museum, which now houses an even larger display of jewellery, ceramics, marble portraits, manuscripts, religious icons, household utensils, costumes and textiles from all stages of Greek history.

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

The collection is so large that satellite Benaki museums have been created in Athens, including Pireos 138, the Museum of Islamic Art, the Ghika Gallery and the Toy Museum. 

Take a tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture 

National Museum of Contemporary Art Athens

Kallirrois Ave & Amvr. Frantzi St, Koukaki

A gem for art lovers in one of Athens’ most iconic buildings (the fully refurbished former FIX brewery in lively Koukaki). The 18,142m2 of minimalist, beautifully lit gallery space is the ideal setting for exhibits that explore timeless themes such as democracy, identity and exclusion – as well as contemporary issues such as the refugee crisis in the Mediterranean and racial discrimination.

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art

13 Eratosthenous St, Pangrati

It’s incredible to think that the 180-odd pieces from mainly 19th and 20th-century masters including Picasso, Van Gogh, Monet, Cezanne, El Greco, Gaugin and Pollock were once the private collection of an Athenian couple. 

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making

Museum of the Ancient Agora

24 Adrianou St, Monastiraki

The Museum of the Ancient Agora is found in the restored Stoa of Attalos, the 2nd-century BC building gifted to the Athenians by King Attalus II of Pergamon that has been likened to ancient Athens’ first shopping arcade, given that it once housed covered stalls for traders to sell their wares. It displays artefacts unearthed during excavations of the Ancient Agora, including everyday items as varied as identification tags, a clay water-clock and official bronze voting ballots, all the way to portrait busts from the Roman period.

Byzantine and Christian Museum

22 Vassilissis Sofias Ave

An archive of over 30,000 artefacts (either displayed or stored) from Greece’s Byzantine and Christian heritage, dating from the 3rd century AD to modern times. Icons, wall-paintings, manuscripts and ceramics, textiles, mosaics and other objects are assembled chronologically according to five broad ‘thematic routes’: The Water Path, Woman, Peculiar Objects, Walking Beyond and Gold, offering glimpses of the material culture as well as the spiritual life of their times.

Take a virtual tour of the Byzantine and Christian Museum

National Historical Museum

13 Stadiou St, Syntagma

The oldest museum of its kind in Greece, the National Historical Museum houses the artefacts of the Historical and Ethnological Society of Greece (founded in 1882). It is located in the Old Parliament Building (serving as the Hellenic Parliament from 1875-1932) and before that was in Athens’ National Technical College. It contains artefacts such as weapons, manuscripts and a large collection of traditional costumes from the Fall of Constantinople in 1453 to the Second World War, with a special emphasis on Greece’s 1821 War of Independence.

National Historical Museum

Athens City Museum

5-7 Paparigopoulou St, Klafthmonos Square

The Athens City Museum is found in two interconnected buildings, with paintings, engravings, sculptures, furniture and important documents of a wealthy middle-class Athenian household in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The neoclassical house at No.7 belonged to Stamatios Dekozis-Vouros (1792-1881), a wealthy banker from Chios, but it is known as the Old Palace as it became the residence of the first royal couple, King Otto and Queen Amalia (1836-1843), when the capital of Greece moved to Athens. The so-called New Building at No.5 preserves the memories and history of the Dekozis-Vouros family.

Numismatic Museum of Athens

12 Panepistimiou Street (El. Venizelou), Syntagma

Housing an assortment of over 500,000 coins, medals, gems, weights, stamps and related artefacts from 1400 BC to modern times, the Numismatic Museum of Athens includes one of the richest collections of its kind. It is also located in an iconic Athens building (known as the Iliou Melathron) that was designed in 1878 for celebrated archaeologist Heinrich Schliemann (who excavated the archaeological sites of Troy and Mycenae) by Ernst Ziller (one of Athens’ most prominent architects). The mansion’s restored mosaics and murals are part of the experience.

Discover the landmark buildings of Athens 

The Goulandris Natural History Museum

13 Levidou St, Kifissia

Away from the city centre, in the northern suburb of Kifissia, the Goulandris Museum of Natural History plays an important role in promoting natural sciences and encouraging the protection of Greece’s wildlife habitats and species in danger of extinction. As well as displaying large numbers of insects, mammals, birds, reptiles, shells, rocks, minerals and fossils from around Greece, it also has a display of over 200,000 species of plants, including some discovered by the museum’s own research.  

Hellenic Maritime Museum

Akti Themistokleous, Piraeus

A must for ship buffs, the Hellenic Maritime Museum, near Zea Marina in Piraeus, contains more than 2,500 items from Greece’s famous maritime history. There are models of vessels from Archaic and Classical times and exhibits from Greece’s Byzantine years and the 1821 War of Independence and beyond. The conning tower of the Papanikolis (a Second World War submarine) is found outside, alongside anchors from ships from the Battle of Navarino of 1827 (an east vs west encounter off the west coast of Peloponnese known as the last major naval battle fought exclusively with sailing ships).

Jewish Museum of Greece

39 Nikis St, Plaka

Commemorating the history of the Jewish population of Greece, which grew to one of the biggest in Europe by the start of the 20th century. The Jewish Museum of Greece displays personal effects, jewellery, documents and synagogue items detailing the history and daily lives of the Jews of Greece, including their participation in wars and rebellion. Excavations on Delos have revealed a 2nd-century BC synagogue, but Jewish numbers swelled in the 15th century and beyond, with persecuted Sephardim Jews finding refuge in Greece (especially Thessaloniki). Having risen to more than 100,000, the Jewish community lost a staggering 87% of its population during the Nazi occupation of Greece.

Museum of Greek Folk Musical Instruments

1-3 Diogenous St, Plaka

In one of the oldest buildings in Plaka (built in the mid-19th century), the Museum of Greek Folk Musical Instruments commemorates the rich history of musicology and instrument-making in Greece. More than half of the collection of Fivos Anoyanakis (a musicologist and collector born in 1912) is on display, grouped according to instrument type: membranophones (drums & tambourines), aerophones (flutes & bagpipes), chordophones (lutes, guitars and mandolins) and idiophones (bells & cymbals). 

Museum of Ancient Greek Technology

6 Pindarou St, Kolonaki

Robotics and computers, steam-driven and jet propulsion, automotive and automatic navigation, telecommunication, utilisation of hydraulic and wind energy and cryptology were all invented by … you guessed it, the Ancient Greeks. That’s what the Museum of Ancient Greek Technology seeks to prove through original artefacts and reconstructions showing how Ancient Greece was a nursery for many of the inventions and technology of today. Don’t believe it? There’s only one way to find out. 

Museum of Modern Greek Culture

4-8 Thespidos St, Plaka

The Museum of Modern Greek Culture consists of more than a dozen 19th and early 20th-century buildings in Plaka, recreating a neighbourhood of Athens from that time. The complex includes The Bath House of the Winds (the only public bath in Athens from Ottoman rule, near the Roman Forum and the Tower of the Winds) and The Museum at 22 Panos St (including an exhibition of objects such as archives, personal testimonies, images and words that encourage visitors to explore the narratives behind them).

Museum of Traditional Greek Pottery

8 Hepitou St, Psyrri

The Museum of Traditional Greek Pottery explores the modern face of this ancient Greek craft. As well as offering ceramics lessons, the museum traces the history of Greek pottery-making in the 19th and 20th centuries through a series of workshop displays. You’ll find re-enactments and representations of different styles of pottery-making (with or without a manual wheel or with a kick-wheel), explaining the cultural context and artistry of the vases and other ceramics created. 

Museum of Illusions

119 Ermou St, Psyrri

Something completely different to finish with in our list of best Athens Museums. The Museum of Illusions mesmerises all members of the family by challenging their senses. You’ll enjoy holograms and other optical illusions in an array of specially designed settings (so have your smartphone ready), teasing your brain and then explaining the science behind the effect.

The best museums in Athens

So which museums stand out? You probably don’t need much convincing to visit the Acropolis Museum or National Archaeological Museum of Greece. But those private museums in neoclassical buildings sound pretty special, right? And how about that all that modern art? Bet you weren’t expecting that! Let us know what you choose. 

Discover Athens now

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
NICHE-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Niche Hotel Athens

Athens

niche; [nis] noun 1. A place or position suitable or appropriate for a person: “I found my niche” 2. An ornamental r...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Noble Suites Athens

Athens

Noble suites is a neoclassical house built in 1901 at the footpaths of Acropolis The four levels of the building are converter to 4 luxury...

Official online rates





Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 historical buildings in Athens for architecture lovers

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about ouzo

Nightlife in Athens

A local’s guide to the Athens nightlife scene

Acrocorinth (Upper Corinth)

Discover the top 10 cultural sites in the Peloponnese

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

The Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb on the Unknown Solider

12 historical buildings in Athens for architecture lovers

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

Night view of Metsovo

Discover the 11 best things to do in Metsovo