National Museum of Contemporary Art
EXPERIENCE

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

By Katerina Paraskeva | National Museum of Contemporary Art Athens
Un véritable trésor pour les amateurs d'art qui visitent Athènes, le musée national d'art contemporain aborde certaines des plus grandes questions de notre époque à travers les œuvres d'artistes grecs modernes et internationaux de premier plan.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1-2 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

OVERVIEW

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

Le musée national d'art contemporain (EMST), véritable joyau de la culture athénienne, répond parfaitement à son objectif de promouvoir des mouvements artistiques novateurs et expérimentaux à travers la peinture et les œuvres d'art en 3D, la photographie et les nouveaux médias, l'architecture et le design industriel. 

Ce faisant, il explore des thèmes intemporels tels que la démocratie, l'identité et l'exclusion, ainsi que certaines des questions les plus pressantes de notre époque, de la crise des réfugiés en Méditerranée à la discrimination raciale et à la violence.

Créé en 2000, il était à l'origine hébergé dans divers endroits de la capitale grecque (notamment à l'Athens Concert Hall et à l'École des beaux-arts d'Athènes). Il a finalement trouvé refuge dans l'ancienne brasserie FIX - un bâtiment emblématique d'Athènes - près du quartier animé de Koukaki, à quelques pas de l'Acropole, que vous pouvez admirer depuis la terrasse du musée. Le design industriel du bâtiment de 18 142 m2 et le minimalisme des vastes espaces d'exposition éclairés par la lumière naturelle ajoutent à l'effet, ce qui en fait l'un des meilleurs musées d'Athènes

Des expositions temporaires sont régulièrement organisées, mais la collection permanente, qui comprend 172 œuvres de 78 artistes grecs modernes et internationaux, constitue l'attraction principale et couvre les thèmes suivants :

  • Mémoires - Revendications - Récits politiques

Étude partielle de l'impact sociopolitique de la dictature de 1967-74 sur la diaspora grecque et ceux qui sont restés en Grèce.

  • Limites et passages  

Étude des questions relatives aux déplacements de population et aux frontières géographiques et sociopolitiques.

  • Hétérotopies - Mythologie du familier - Nouvelles perspectives

Traiter de concepts tels que le mythe, le temps, la mémoire personnelle et collective.

Lire la suite Read Less

DON'T MISS

La collection Permanente

Le bateau de ma vie 

Une œuvre de l'artiste conceptuel russo-américain Ilya Kabakov, composée d'une barrière en bois et d'un bateau avec des escaliers à chaque extrémité. Les visiteurs peuvent monter les escaliers et traverser le bateau, qui est rempli de 25 boîtes contenant des photographies, des textes et d'autres souvenirs qui illustrent le voyage de la vie de l'artiste (il est né de parents juifs en Ukraine lorsque celle-ci faisait partie de l'URSS, a été évacué pendant l'occupation nazie et a travaillé à Moscou avant de s'installer en Amérique dans les années 1980). La dernière boîte est vide, représentant le voyage final d'une personne qui n'est rien d'autre qu'une âme entrant dans l'autre monde.

Tente des réfugiés  

Cette sculpture a été créée par Emily Jacir, née à Bethléem, en souvenir des 418 villages palestiniens détruits, dépeuplés et occupés par Israël en 1948. Jacir a conçu et réalisé cette œuvre lors d'une résidence à New York en 2001. Elle s'inscrit dans le cadre de ses recherches sur les récits historiques traitant de questions sociopolitiques telles que le mouvement et le déplacement des populations, les frontières et les limites, et en particulier les thèmes de la perte et de la résistance. Les noms de 418 villages sont brodés sur la tente.

Fix It

Cette œuvre de Mona Hatoum, née à Beyrouth, est une installation multimédia composée d'objets trouvés dans les locaux de la brasserie Fix (tels que des installations et des meubles rouillés, des étagères, des casiers et des câbles). Elle fait partie de l'exploration par l'artiste de l'espace et de la matière (ainsi que des systèmes de contrôle social, d'enfermement, de déplacement, de subversion et de désorientation) à travers la préservation de la mémoire d'un paysage urbain industriel en déclin. Dans l'installation de 6mx10m, des ampoules électriques clignotent derrière un grillage métallique, produisant des sons bourdonnants ou criards et générant une impression de dysfonctionnement et un sentiment d'anxiété. L'effet est conçu pour déclencher des émotions et des lectures contradictoires.

Sans titre

Installation monumentale de l'Italo-Grec JannisKounellis créée pour le musée dans le cadre de la thématique de l'artiste qui explore "l'aliénation de la société contemporaine en juxtaposant les matériaux industriels et la culture de masse urbaine aux symboles et valeurs d'un monde préindustriel". Elle se compose de multiples rails métalliques noirs diagonaux en forme de croix penchés vers le sol, les croix étant disposées en un motif circulaire au milieu duquel se trouve une table chargée de sacs de charbon de bois. La table est conçue pour ressembler à un autel sacrificiel.

Αkropolis Redux (Le montage) 

Une œuvre de l'artiste sud-africain KendellGeers, également commandée par le musée. L'artiste est né dans une famille sud-africaine blanche mais a participé au mouvement anti-apartheid, et son travail explore les questions de ségrégation raciale, de suppression, d'exploitation, de racisme et de violence. Cette installation à grande échelle s'inspire du Parthénon, avec des rouleaux de fil barbelé sur des étagères en acier représentant les colonnes du temple. L'espace est conçu pour ressembler à un entrepôt de matériel militaire.

Lire la suite Read Less
Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Gatsby Athens

Athènes

Gatsby Athens Hotel, a contemporary boutique hotel at the heart of the historic center of the Greek capital, consists of 33 rooms, providing its guests...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Evripidou Suites

Athènes

Ideally situated in the heart of Athens, Evripidou Suites offers à la carte breakfast and free WiFi. Located in the Athens C...

Official online rates

Comment se rendre au Musée national d'art contemporain d'Athènes ?

  • Le musée est situé à l'angle de l'avenue Kallirois et de la rue Amvr. Frantzi St, juste à l'extérieur du centre d'Athènes. Il est à 280 m de la station de métro Syngrou-Fix (ligne rouge) et à 300 m de la station de tram Fix.

Quel est le meilleur moyen de rejoindre le centre d'Athènes depuis l'aéroport ou le port ?

  • Vous pouvez prendre un taxi (environ 38 € dans la journée) ou un bus, ou louer une voiture à l'aéroport international d'Athènes, ou prendre le métro directement pour le centre (ligne bleue). 
  • Il y a également des taxis (25 € dans la journée), des bus et une station de métro (ligne verte) au port du Pirée (changez pour la ligne bleue à Monastiraki ou la ligne rouge à Omonia). En fonction de votre porte de ferry, la station de métro se trouve à 15-20 minutes de marche.
     

Quels sont les horaires d'ouverture et le prix des billets ?

  • Le musée est ouvert tous les jours (sauf le lundi et certains jours fériés) pendant toute l'année. 
  • Les billets coûtent 8 € (4 € réduits)
  • Plus d'informations sur les heures d'ouverture et les billets :​​​​​​ ici 

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter Athènes ?

  • Pour profiter au maximum d'Athènes, il est préférable de s'y rendre entre octobre et avril, lorsque la foule estivale est moins dense et que vous pourrez profiter de la compagnie des Athéniens qui vaquent à leurs occupations quotidiennes.

Plusd’information

Quelle est la durée de la visite du musée ?

  • La plupart des visites du musée national d'art contemporain d'Athènes durent 1 à 2 heures, mais la durée de votre visite dépendra de la profondeur de votre visite et du temps dont vous disposez.
  • Une boutique de souvenirs se trouve au rez-de-chaussée. 
  • Il y a régulièrement des expositions temporaires en plus de la collection permanente.
  • Les visiteurs disposent de tablettes avec une application de navigation numérique en grec, anglais et français. Vous pouvez également télécharger l'application EMST (disponible sur iOS et Android) ou trouver une visite du musée sur l'application Smartify pour en savoir plus sur la collection du musée sur un smartphone.
  • Le musée est entièrement accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. L'entrée pour les visiteurs à mobilité réduite se trouve sur l'avenue Syngrou. 
  • Pour plus d'informations sur les visiteurs handicapés, cliquez ici.

 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie des œuvres d'art exposées pour les générations futures en respectant les règles de base de la visite des musées.

Évitez de toucher les œuvres d'art. L'huile naturelle des doigts peut être extrêmement dommageable.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Si vous voyez une pancarte interdisant de photographier avec flash, merci de la respecter. C’est une mesure destinée à la protection des artéfacts.
Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Les animaux domestiques (autres que les chiens guides) ne sont pas autorisés dans les sites culturels et les musées.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Visite du musée Benaki de la culture grecque à Athènes

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Le spectacle de l’Odéon d’Hérodes Atticus à Athènes

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

Découvrez le temple enchanteur de Poséidon, à Sounion

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Visite du musée Benaki de la culture grecque à Athènes

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Le spectacle de l’Odéon d’Hérodes Atticus à Athènes

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

View of Skiathos from Bourtzi

Une promenade dans la ville de Skiathos

National Museum of Contemporary Art
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

By Katerina Paraskeva | National Museum of Contemporary Art Athens
A gem for art lovers visiting Athens, the National Museum of Contemporary Art addresses some of the biggest issues of our time through the works of leading international and modern Greek artists
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1-2 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

The National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens 

A wonderful addition to the cultural highlights of Athens, the National Museum of Contemporary Art (EMST) more than lives up to its goal of promoting innovative and experimental artistic movements through painting and 3D artworks, photography and new media, and architecture and industrial design.

In doing so, it explores timeless themes such as democracy, identity and exclusion as well as some of the most pressing issues of our time, from the refugee crisis in the Mediterranean to racial discrimination and violence.

It was established in 2000 and originally housed in various locations around the Greek capital (including the Athens Concert Hall and Athens School of Fine Arts). Eventually, it found a home in the former FIX brewery – a landmark building in Athens – near the lively neighbourhood of Koukaki, a short walk from the Acropolis, which you can enjoy from the museum’s terrace. The industrial design of the 18,142m2 building and minimalism of the expansive, naturally lit exhibition spaces add to the effect, making it one of the best museums in Athens

There are regular temporary exhibitions but the permanent collection of 172 works of 78 international and modern Greek artists is the centrepiece attraction, covering themes of: 

  • Memories - Claims - Political narratives

Looking in part at the sociopolitical impact of the 1967-74 dictatorship on the Greek diaspora and those remaining in Greece.

  • Limits and passages 

Investigating issues relating to population shifts, geographical and sociopolitical boundaries.

  • Eterotopias – Mythology of the familiar – New perspectives

Dealing with concepts such as myth, time, personal and collective memory.
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Permanent Collection 

The Boat of my Life 

An installation by Russian-American conceptual artist Ilya Kabakov consisting of a wooden fence and boat with stairways at either end. Visitors can climb the stairs and walk across the boat, which is filled with 25 boxes containing photographs, texts and other memorabilia that depict the journey of the artist’s life (he was born to Jewish parents in Ukraine when it was part of the USSR, evacuated during the Nazi occupation and worked in Moscow before moving to America in the 1980s). The last box is empty, representing a person’s final voyage as nothing but a soul entering the next world. 

Refugee Tent 

This sculpture was created by Bethlehem-born Emily Jacir as a memorial to the 418 Palestinian villages destroyed, depopulated and occupied by Israel in 1948. Jacir conceived and created the work during a residency in New York in 2001. It fits into her investigation of historical narratives dealing with sociopolitical issues such as the movement and displacement of populations, borders and boundaries, and in particular with themes of loss and resistance. The names of 418 villages are embroidered onto the tent. 

Fix It

This mixed media installation by Beirut-born Mona Hatoum consists of items found on the premises of the Fix brewery (such as rusty fixtures and furnishings, shelf units, lockers and cables). It is part of the artist’s exploration of space and matter (as well as systems of social control, confinement, displacement, subversion and disorientation) through the preservation of the memory of an industrial urban landscape in decline. Within the 6mx10m installation, light bulbs flicker behind a wire mesh, producing buzzing or screeching sounds and generating an impression of dysfunction and a sense of anxiety. The effect is designed to trigger contradictory emotions and readings.
 

Untitled

A monumental installation by Greek-Italian Jannis Kounellis created for the museum as part of the artist’s theme of exploring the “alienation of contemporary society by juxtaposing industrial materials and urban mass culture with symbols and values of a pre-industrial world”. It consists of multiple cross-shaped diagonal black metal rails leaning towards the ground, with the crosses arranged in a circular pattern in the middle of which stands a table loaded with bags of charcoal. The table is designed to resemble a sacrificial altar. 

Αkropolis Redux (The Director’s Cut) 

A work by South African artist Kendell Geers, also commissioned by the museum. The artist was born into a white South African family but was involved in the anti-apartheid movement, and his work explores issues of racial segregation, suppression, exploitation, racism and violence. This large-scale installation is inspired by the Parthenon, with rolls of barbed wire on steel shelves depicting the columns of the temple. The space is designed to resemble a military equipment warehouse. 
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Stalis Hotel Athens

Athens

The all new Stalis Hotel provides the ideal location for your next visit to Athens. Fully renovated in January 2010, the Hotel offers quality services...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Marathon Beach Resort

Athens

A feast for the senses. Find yourself enjoying your vacation within a complex that blends art deco, tropical, mediterranean elem...

Official online rates

How do you get to the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens?

  • The museum is located on the corner of Kallirois Ave & Amvr. Frantzi St, just outside central Athens. It is 280m from Syngrou-Fix metro station (red line) and 300m from Fix tram station.

What is the best way to reach central Athens from the airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line). 
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to blue line at Monastiraki or red line at Omonia). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20min walk to the metro station. 
     

What are the opening times and how much are tickets?

  • The museum is open every day (except Mondays and some national holidays) throughout the year. 
  • Tickets cost €8 (€4 reduced)
  • More information on opening hours & tickets here 

What is the best time to visit Athens?

  • To get the most out of Athens, it is best to visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives.

More info

How much time do you need to visit the museum?

  • Most visits to Athens’ National Museum of Contemporary Art last 1-2 hours but how long you stay will depend on how much detail you want to go into and how much time you have available.
     
  • There is a gift shop on the ground floor. 
  • There are regular temporary exhibitions in addition to the permanent collection.
  • Visitors are provided with tablets with a digital navigation application in Greek, English and French. Alternatively, you can download the EMST app (available on iOS and Android) or find a museum tour on the Smartify app to learn more about the museum’s collection on a smartphone.
  • The museum is fully accessible for people with disabilities. The entrance for visitors with limited mobility is on Syngrou Avenue. For more info on visitors with disabilities see here.

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of the artwork on display for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting museums.

Refrain from touching any of the artwork. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a ‘No flash photography’ sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the exhibits.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites and museums.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Explore the best hiking paths of Thassos