National Museum of Contemporary Art
EXPERIENCE

Экскурсия по Государственному музею современного искусства в Афинах

By Katerina Paraskeva | National Museum of Contemporary Art Athens
Государственный музей современного искусства является настоящим сокровищем для любителей живописи. Через свои произведения зарубежные и греческие мастера художественного искусства затрагивают одни из самых важных вопросов современной эпохи.
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
1-2 часа
По сезону
Круглый год

ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Государственный музей современного искусства в Афинах

Госудаственный музей современного искусства (ЕМСТ) может стать прекрасным дополнением к программе тура по культурным достопримечательностям Афин, Задачей этого музея является продвижение новаторских и экспериментальных художественных движений, выражающих себя через живопись и 3D –инсталляции, фотографию и медиа-средства, а также через архитектуру и техническое проектирование.

В рамках данной задачи музей призывает поразмышлять о таких вечных понятиях, как демократия, самоопределение и отчуждение, а также задуматься над некоторыми насущными вопросами современности, такими как ситуация с беженцами в Средиземноморье, расовая дискриминация и насилие.

Музей был основан в 2000 году и изначально базировался на нескольких площадках греческой столицы, включая Концертный зал Афин и Афинскую школу художественных искусств. Но, наконец, он обрёл собственный дом в бывшем здании пивоварной фабрики «FIX», которое также является достопримечательностью Афин. Теперь музей располагается возле оживлённого района Кукаки, всего в нескольких шагах от Акрополя, на который можно полюбоваться с террасы музея. Индустриальный дизайн здания площадью в 18142 кв.м. в сочетании с минимализмом просторных выставочных залов с естественным освещением создаёт особый эффект, выводя музей на лидирующие позициии в Афинах. 

Музей регулярно проводит увлекательные временные экспозиции, однако центром внимания по праву является постоянная коллекция из 172 произведений, включающая работы 78 зарубежных и греческих современных художников. Тематика коллекции делится на следующие разделы:

  • Мемуары – Высказывания – Политические рассказы

Этот раздел рассматривает социополитическое влияние диктатуры 1967-74 годов на греческую диаспору и на жителей Греции.

  • Границы и пересечения 

Рассматриваются темы, связанные в передвижением населения, географическими и социополитическими границами..

  • Гетеротопии – Мифология обыденного – Новые перспективы

Затрагивает такие понятия, как миф, время, личная и коллективная память.

Подробнее Read Less

НЕ ЗАБЫТЬ

Постоянная экспозиция

Лодка моей жизни

Инсталляция русско-американского концептуального художника Ильи Кабакова, состоящая из деревянного забора и лодки со ступеньками по обе стороны. Посетители могут забраться по ступенькам и пройтись по лодке, наполненной 25  коробками, в которых хранятся фотографии, тексты и другие памятные вещи, отражающие жизненный путь автора. (Художник родился в еврейской семье на Украине, являвшейся тогда частью СССР, во время фашистской оккупации он был эвакуирован и работал в Москве, пока в 80-х годах не переехал в Америку). Последняя коробка однако пуста, отсылая зрителя к последнему путешествию человека, в которое отправится только душа, чтобы перейти в новый мир. 

Палатка  беженцев

Эта скульптура создана Эмилией Джакир, рождённой в Вифлееме, в память о 418 палестинских деревнях, разгромленных, опустошённых и оккупированных Израилем в 1948 году. Джакир задумала и воплотила своё произведение, проживая в Нью-Йорке в 2001 году. Оно связано с исследованием, которое проводила художница, изучая исторические повествования, касающиеся  таких социополитических вопросов, как передвижение и вынужденное перемещение населения, границы и пределы, в особенности темы потери и сопротивления. Названия 418 деревень вышиты на самой палатке.

Fix It (Почини!)

Эта инсталляция из смешанных средств создана Моной Хатум, рождённой в Бейруте. Она состоит из предметов, найденных вокруг пивоварни «Fix» (таких как ржавые запчасти, мебель, старые полки, замки и провода). В своём произведении автор размышляет на темы пространства и материи (а также о системе социального контроля, о лишении свободы, вынужденном перемещеним, подрывных действиях и потери ориентиров) через сохранение памяти индустриального городского ландшафта, переживающего упадок. В инсталляции размером 6x10 метров мигают световые лампочки позади мотка проводов, издающие жужжащие и скрипящие звуки, создавая тем самым ощущение неполадки и чувство тревоги. Таким образом автор хотела вызвать противоречивые эмоции и интерпретации её произведения.

Безымянное

Эта монументальная инсталляция, выполненная греко-итальянским художником Яннисом Кунеллисом, была создана специально для музея, как часть работы автора над темой «отчуждения современного общества через сопоставление индустриальных материалов и урбанистической массовой культуры с символами и ценностями мира до промышленной революции». Произведение состоит из чёрных металлических балок, установленных крестообразно и наклонённых к земле. Сами кресты расставлены по кругу, а в центре между ними помещён стол, заваленный мешками с углём. Стол таким образом отсылает к сакральному алтарю.

Αkropolis Redux (Режиссёрский дубль).

Эта работа южно-африканского художника Кенделя Гирса также выполнена под заказ музея. Художник родился в Южной Африке в семье белокожих родителей, но с молодости участвовал  в движении против апартеида. Его произведения посвящены вопросам сегрегации, социального давления, эксплуатации, расизма и насилия. Вдохновением для данной крупномасштабной инсталляции послужил Парфенон. Мотки колючей проволоки на стальных стеллажах изображают колонны храма. А само пространство напоминает склад военного оборудования.

Подробнее Read Less
athens-street-art-tour-logo
Group

Athens Street Art Tour

3 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
425 Отзывы
Free cancellation
Until 73 hours prior to scheduled commencement date of service: no cancellation fee
Athens' street art scene is one of Europe’s hottest, home to local and international street artists alike. Join us in this alternative art tour with...

Как добраться до Государственного музея современного искусства в Афинах?

  • Музей находится на углу проспекта Каллироис и ул. Франтзи, недалеко от центра Афин, на расстоянии 280 метров от станции метро «Сигру-Фикс» (красная линия) и 300 метров от остановки трамвая «Фикс».

Как легче всего добраться до центра Афин от аэропорта или порта?

  • Можно взять такси (стоимостью в 38 € в дневное время)  или сесть на автобус. Также можно арендовать автомобиль в Международном аэропорту Афин или сесть на метро, которое довезёт Вас прямо к центру города (синяя линия).
  • Из порта Пирей можно взять такси (стоимостью в 25 € в дневное время), а также доехать на автобусе или на метро (зелёная линия). В случае метро Вам необходимо пересесть на синюю линию на станции «Монастираки» или на красную линию на станции метро «Омония». В зависимости от причала, у которого остановился Ваш корабль, чтобы дойти до станции метро, понадобится около 15-20 минут пешком.

Какой режим работы и стоимость билетов?

  • Музей открыт ежедневно (кроме понедельников и национальных праздников)
  • Стоимость билета – 8 € (льготный билет – 4 €).
    • Более подробная информация о режиме работы и билетах: здесь 

Когда лучше всего приехать в Афины?

  • Чтобы приятнее всего провести время в Афинах, советуем приехать в период  с октября по апрель, когда нет летнего туристического столпотворения, и Вы сможете окунуться в повседневную городскую жизнь Афин.

Более подробная информация

Сколько времени понадобится, чтобы осмотреть весь музей?

  • Большинство экскурсий в Государственный музей современного искусства длится 1-2 часа. Продолжительность вашего посещения будет зависеть от того, насколько подробоно Вы желаете познакомиться с коллекцией.
  • На первом этаже имеется сувенирный магазин.
  • Помимо постоянной коллекции, в музее регулярно организуются временные экспозиции.
  • Посетителям музея выдаётся планшет с приложением виртуальной навигации на греческом, английском и французском языках. Кроме этого, Вы можете загрузить приложение ЕМСТ (доступное для программного обеспечения iOS и Android) или найти экскурсионный тур по музею в приложении Smartify, чтобы узнать подробнее о коллекции произведений.
  • Музей оснащён доступом для посетителей с инвалидностью.  Вход  для посетителей на инвалидном кресле со стороны проспекта Сигру. Более подробную информацию для посетителей с инвалидностью можно найти здесь.

 

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Соблюдая основные правила при посещении музея, Вы помогаете нам сохранить волшебство художественных произведений и передать это наследие всем будущим поколениям.

Не дотрагивайтесь до экспонатов. Естественная маслянистость человеческих отпечатков может нанести им серьёзный урон.
Животные (кроме собак-повадырей) не допускаются на территорию культурных памятников и музеев.
Пользуйтесь установленными урнами для выброса мусора. В случае если таковых нет, уносите мусор с собой.
Не дотрагивайтесь до развалин и монументов. Естественная маслянистость человеческих отпечатков может нанести серьёзный урон многим экспонатам.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Экскурсия по Национальной галерее г. Афины

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Экскурсия по Парку культуры фонда Ставроса Ниархоса в Афинах

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Экскурсия по Панафинейскому стадиону в Афинах

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Восхитительный Одеон Ирода Аттического в Афинах

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Экскурсия по Музею греческой культуры им. Бенаки в Афинах

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

Волшебная красота храма Посейдона на Сунио

Strolling around Arnaia village

Познакомьтесь с историческими деревушками Халкидики!

Strolling around Agios Nikolaos, Crete

Пеший тур близ городка Агиос Николаос

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Экскурсия по Национальной галерее г. Афины

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Экскурсия по Парку культуры фонда Ставроса Ниархоса в Афинах

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Экскурсия по Панафинейскому стадиону в Афинах

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Восхитительный Одеон Ирода Аттического в Афинах

National Museum of Contemporary Art
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

By Katerina Paraskeva | National Museum of Contemporary Art Athens
A gem for art lovers visiting Athens, the National Museum of Contemporary Art addresses some of the biggest issues of our time through the works of leading international and modern Greek artists
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1-2 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

The National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens 

A wonderful addition to the cultural highlights of Athens, the National Museum of Contemporary Art (EMST) more than lives up to its goal of promoting innovative and experimental artistic movements through painting and 3D artworks, photography and new media, and architecture and industrial design.

In doing so, it explores timeless themes such as democracy, identity and exclusion as well as some of the most pressing issues of our time, from the refugee crisis in the Mediterranean to racial discrimination and violence.

It was established in 2000 and originally housed in various locations around the Greek capital (including the Athens Concert Hall and Athens School of Fine Arts). Eventually, it found a home in the former FIX brewery – a landmark building in Athens – near the lively neighbourhood of Koukaki, a short walk from the Acropolis, which you can enjoy from the museum’s terrace. The industrial design of the 18,142m2 building and minimalism of the expansive, naturally lit exhibition spaces add to the effect, making it one of the best museums in Athens

There are regular temporary exhibitions but the permanent collection of 172 works of 78 international and modern Greek artists is the centrepiece attraction, covering themes of: 

  • Memories - Claims - Political narratives

Looking in part at the sociopolitical impact of the 1967-74 dictatorship on the Greek diaspora and those remaining in Greece.

  • Limits and passages 

Investigating issues relating to population shifts, geographical and sociopolitical boundaries.

  • Eterotopias – Mythology of the familiar – New perspectives

Dealing with concepts such as myth, time, personal and collective memory.
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Permanent Collection 

The Boat of my Life 

An installation by Russian-American conceptual artist Ilya Kabakov consisting of a wooden fence and boat with stairways at either end. Visitors can climb the stairs and walk across the boat, which is filled with 25 boxes containing photographs, texts and other memorabilia that depict the journey of the artist’s life (he was born to Jewish parents in Ukraine when it was part of the USSR, evacuated during the Nazi occupation and worked in Moscow before moving to America in the 1980s). The last box is empty, representing a person’s final voyage as nothing but a soul entering the next world. 

Refugee Tent 

This sculpture was created by Bethlehem-born Emily Jacir as a memorial to the 418 Palestinian villages destroyed, depopulated and occupied by Israel in 1948. Jacir conceived and created the work during a residency in New York in 2001. It fits into her investigation of historical narratives dealing with sociopolitical issues such as the movement and displacement of populations, borders and boundaries, and in particular with themes of loss and resistance. The names of 418 villages are embroidered onto the tent. 

Fix It

This mixed media installation by Beirut-born Mona Hatoum consists of items found on the premises of the Fix brewery (such as rusty fixtures and furnishings, shelf units, lockers and cables). It is part of the artist’s exploration of space and matter (as well as systems of social control, confinement, displacement, subversion and disorientation) through the preservation of the memory of an industrial urban landscape in decline. Within the 6mx10m installation, light bulbs flicker behind a wire mesh, producing buzzing or screeching sounds and generating an impression of dysfunction and a sense of anxiety. The effect is designed to trigger contradictory emotions and readings.
 

Untitled

A monumental installation by Greek-Italian Jannis Kounellis created for the museum as part of the artist’s theme of exploring the “alienation of contemporary society by juxtaposing industrial materials and urban mass culture with symbols and values of a pre-industrial world”. It consists of multiple cross-shaped diagonal black metal rails leaning towards the ground, with the crosses arranged in a circular pattern in the middle of which stands a table loaded with bags of charcoal. The table is designed to resemble a sacrificial altar. 

Αkropolis Redux (The Director’s Cut) 

A work by South African artist Kendell Geers, also commissioned by the museum. The artist was born into a white South African family but was involved in the anti-apartheid movement, and his work explores issues of racial segregation, suppression, exploitation, racism and violence. This large-scale installation is inspired by the Parthenon, with rolls of barbed wire on steel shelves depicting the columns of the temple. The space is designed to resemble a military equipment warehouse. 
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
Accommodation

Stalis Hotel Athens

Athens

The all new Stalis Hotel provides the ideal location for your next visit to Athens. Fully renovated in January 2010, the Hotel offers quality services...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Marathon Beach Resort

Athens

A feast for the senses. Find yourself enjoying your vacation within a complex that blends art deco, tropical, mediterranean elem...

Official online rates

How do you get to the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens?

  • The museum is located on the corner of Kallirois Ave & Amvr. Frantzi St, just outside central Athens. It is 280m from Syngrou-Fix metro station (red line) and 300m from Fix tram station.

What is the best way to reach central Athens from the airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line). 
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to blue line at Monastiraki or red line at Omonia). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20min walk to the metro station. 
     

What are the opening times and how much are tickets?

  • The museum is open every day (except Mondays and some national holidays) throughout the year. 
  • Tickets cost €8 (€4 reduced)
  • More information on opening hours & tickets here 

What is the best time to visit Athens?

  • To get the most out of Athens, it is best to visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives.

More info

How much time do you need to visit the museum?

  • Most visits to Athens’ National Museum of Contemporary Art last 1-2 hours but how long you stay will depend on how much detail you want to go into and how much time you have available.
     
  • There is a gift shop on the ground floor. 
  • There are regular temporary exhibitions in addition to the permanent collection.
  • Visitors are provided with tablets with a digital navigation application in Greek, English and French. Alternatively, you can download the EMST app (available on iOS and Android) or find a museum tour on the Smartify app to learn more about the museum’s collection on a smartphone.
  • The museum is fully accessible for people with disabilities. The entrance for visitors with limited mobility is on Syngrou Avenue. For more info on visitors with disabilities see here.

 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of the artwork on display for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting museums.

Refrain from touching any of the artwork. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a ‘No flash photography’ sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the exhibits.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites and museums.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Explore the footpaths up Mt Ipsarion

Explore the best hiking paths of Thassos