12

12 BÂTIMENTS HISTORIQUES À ATHÈNES POUR LES AMOUREUX DE L'ARCHITECTURE

READING TIME
Tout le temps nécessaire pour savourer un souvlaki

La ville d’Athènes est parsemée de merveilles architecturales témoignant du passé glorieux et tumultueux de la cité. Les élégantes demeures et les bâtiments néoclassiques de marbre datant du 19ème siècle se marient harmonieusement à des constructions et logements modernes aux nombreux étages (connus sous le nom de polykatikies), tous contribuant à l’originalité du paysage urbain de la ville. Joignez-vous à nous pour une promenade dans le centre-ville et découvrons 12 bâtiments d'Athènes, témoins d’un patrimoine architectural unique. 

Le Parlement hellénique et l'ancien Palais royal

Place Syntagma

Édifié sur la partie haute de la place Syntagma, l'actuel Parlement grec a autrefois servi de Palais royal au roi Otto et à la reine Amalia (cette dernière étant à l’origine du Jardin national adjacent), puis, plus tard, au roi George I et sa famille. Sa construction a commencé en 1836, trois ans après la désignation d’Athènes comme capitale du nouvel État grec. Conçu par l'architecte bavarois Friedrich von Gärtner et construit par des maçons italiens et des charpentiers allemands, il constitue la plus vaste structure néoclassique d'Athènes.

The Hellenic Parliament is the largest neoclassical structure in Athens

La famille royale y a résidé jusqu'à l’incendie de 1909, et il est ensuite devenu le siège du Parlement à partir de 1929, cinq ans après l'abolition de la monarchie par référendum. Si vous y allez sur le coup de l’heure, vous assisterez alors au changement de la Garde présidentielle par les Evzones (gardes spéciaux) protégeant la tombe du Soldat inconnu. 

La Trilogie d’Athènes

Rue Panépistimiou (El. Vénizélou)

En vous promenant sur la rue Panépistimiou en direction de la place Syntagma, vous passerez devant trois imposants bâtiments néoclassiques, connus sous le nom collectif de Trilogie d’Athènes, et conçus pour témoigner de la pensée visionnaire et du prestige du roi Otto, mais également afin de créer la notion d’ « architecture d'Athènes ». Le bâtiment central – l’Université d'Athènes – a été construit en premier (à partir de 1839), suivant la conception de l'architecte danois Christian Hansen. Vous remarquerez une magnifique fresque sur la façade, représentant le roi Otto aux côtés de personnalités classiques des arts et des sciences. 

À droite se trouve l’Académie d'Athènes, le plus important institut de recherche de Grèce, conçu par Théophile Hansen (frère de Christian), clairement inspiré de l'Acropole. L’Académie a été achevée en 1885 par l’élève de Hansen, Ernst Ziller, un architecte né en Saxe qui fera énormément parler de lui par la suite. Des statues d'Athéna et d'Apollon sont disposées sur les colonnes ioniques de chaque côté de l'entrée, accompagnées de sculptures représentant Platon et Socrate juste au-dessous.

The academy of Athens

À gauche, vous remarquerez la Bibliothèque nationale (également connue sous le nom de manoir Vallianeio) avec son escalier semi-circulaire caractéristique. Sa construction, commencée en 1888 suivant les plans de Théophile Hansen a été achevée sous la supervision de Ziller. Les tomes et manuscrits originaux sont maintenant conservés dans l'actuelle Bibliothèque nationale, au Centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos. 

Musée national d’Archéologie

Rue du 28 octobre (44, rue Patission)

Le bâtiment néoclassique qui abrite le musée national d’Archéologie a été érigé à la fin du 19ème siècle, pour contribuer, lui aussi, à créer le nouveau visage de l'architecture à Athènes. Les conceptions originales sont l'œuvre de l'architecte Ludwig Lange, cependant, elles ont été modifiées par Ziller et Panagis Kalkos. Les salles d’exposition du musée couvrent une superficie de 8 000 m² et abritent cinq grandes collections permanentes. En face, un magnifique jardin, orné de sculptures, agrémente le musée.

L'Ancien Parlement

13, rue Stadiou

Ce bâtiment qui, depuis 1960, abrite le musée d’Histoire nationale, est l'un des plus importants d'Athènes. Ayant servi de Parlement entre 1875-1935, il a constitué le point de départ de l'Assemblée nationale de la Grèce. Cependant, son histoire commence beaucoup plus tôt. Autrefois, lieu de résidence de l'industriel athénien Alexandros Kontostavlos, il a été choisi par le roi Otto en 1833 comme résidence permanente de la famille royale.

The Old Parliament House

De 1843 à 1854, il a été utilisé comme salle de réunion pour le Parlement et le Sénat, jusqu'à ce qu'il soit ravagé par un incendie en 1854. Depuis 1960, il abrite le Musée d’Histoire nationale. À l'entrée, vous êtes accueilli par une impressionnante statue de Théodoros Kolokotronis, l'un des plus importants héros de la guerre d'indépendance de la Grèce de 1821. 

Musée d'Histoire de l'Université d'Athènes

5, rue Tholou

Sa construction étant antérieure au 18ème siècle, le site du musée d'Histoire de l'Université d'Athènes est considéré comme l'un des plus anciens bâtiments résidentiels de la ville encore debout. Au départ, propriété de l'architecte Stamatios Kléanédhis, cet édifice construit sur les pentes de l'Acropole, offre une vue magnifique sur la vieille ville. Entre 1837 et 1841, il a accueilli la première université de la Grèce indépendante, et, pendant environ un siècle, a été la seule institution d'enseignement supérieur en Grèce, ce qui lui vaut le nom de « vieille université ».  Le musée d'Histoire de l'Université d'Athènes abrite des livres, des manuscrits et diplômes d’une grande rareté, ainsi que des instruments scientifiques et autres objets de collection du musée.

The National &  Kapodistrian University of Athens

Photo by: National &  Kapodistrian University of Athens

Musée de la Ville d'Athènes

5 et 7, rue Ioannou Paparrigopoulou

Deux des plus anciens bâtiments de la capitale grecque, à proximité de la place Klafthmonos dans le centre d'Athènes, abritent le musée de la Ville d'Athènes (Fondation Vouros-Eutaxias). La résidence de deux étages au n° 5, rénovée en 1916, expose des objets éclectiques (le style architectural incorporant de nombreux motifs historiques dominant à Athènes à la fin du 19ème siècle). La façade d'aujourd'hui n'est pas l'originale, conçue, alors, par l'ingénieur militaire Gérasimos Métaxas. Cependant, il conserve de nombreux éléments de sa gloire passée. Surnommée le « Vieux Palais », la demeure néoclassique sise au n° 7, appartenait à un riche banquier de l'île de Chios. Lorsque la capitale de la Grèce a été transférée à Athènes, le « Vieux Palais » est alors devenue la première résidence du roi Otto et de la reine Amalia dans la ville. À partir des années 70, les bâtiments ont été transformés pour abriter le musée de la Ville d'Athènes. 

Le Zappéion

Avenue Vassilisis Olgas

Le Zappéion (ou Palais), une autre création importante de l'architecte danois Théophile Hansen, ouvre en 1888. Cependant, son inspiration provient du richissime philanthrope Grec, Evangelos Zappas, quelques décennies plus tôt, lors de la conception des projets pour l’accueil des premiers Jeux Olympiques modernes à Athènes, réalisés finalement en 1896. En tant que tel, le Zappéion constitue le premier bâtiment olympique construit à Athènes. Vous reconnaîtrez le style néoclassique de Hansen, le portique corinthien étant utilisé pour organiser les épreuves d’escrime des premiers Jeux.

The Zappeion hall now functions as an exhibition space

Depuis, il a hébergé la première station de radio publique de la Grèce (pendant quarante ans), a servi d’hôpital et a accueilli le comité organisateur en vue des Jeux Olympiques d'Athènes de 2004. Désormais, il fonctionne en tant qu’espace d'exposition. De là, vous êtes invités à parcourir les belles allées du Jardin national, disposant de quelques portes en direction de la résidence Maximos (résidence du Premier ministre) et de la demeure présidentielle sur la rue Irodou Attikou 

Bibliothèque Gennadios

61, rue Souidias

Avec plus de 100 000 volumes et manuscrits sur l'histoire grecque, la littérature et l'art de l'antiquité, le Gennadaion (comme on le connaît également) est l'une des bibliothèques les plus importantes d'Athènes. C'est également l'une des plus belles, hébergée dans un remarquable bâtiment datant des années 1920, conçue dans le style d'un temple classique et entourée d’une enclave verdoyante au pied de la colline du Lycabette. Elle a été construite grâce à une subvention de la Fondation Carnegie pour abriter les 26 000 œuvres rares offertes par Joannes Gennadius, diplomate et bibliophile Grec. Face à la bibliothèque, se trouve l'American School of Classical Studies, propriétaire actuel de la bibliothèque. 

Musée numismatique d'Athènes

12, rue Panépistimiou (El. Vénizélou 12)

L'Iliou Mélathron (ainsi qu’on appelle ce bâtiment) possède une grande histoire. Conçu par l'un des plus grands architectes d'Athènes (Ernst Ziller), il a été la résidence de l'un des archéologues les plus célèbres de Grèce, Heinrich Schliemann (qui a entrepris les fouilles de l’ancienne Mycènes et de Troie). Édifié entre 1878 et 1880, et considéré comme l’une des plus belles constructions de Ziller, il marie les styles renaissance et néoclassique, est orné de fresques et de mosaïques illustrant des épisodes de la guerre de Troie, ainsi que d’autres événements plus anciens inspirés par les découvertes de Schliemann. Le musée, agrémenté d’un café de jardin, abrite une importante collection de 500 000 pièces de monnaie, de médailles, de pierres précieuses, de timbres et d’autres objets datant de 1400 av. J.-C. jusqu’à l'époque moderne. 

Musée d'Art cycladique

Avenue Vasilissis Sofias et rue Irodotou

Une autre ancienne résidence emblématique d'Athènes vous attend à la villa Stathatos, hébergeant aujourd'hui l'un des principaux musées privés de la ville. C'est l'un des plus beaux bâtiments de l'avenue Vasilissis Sofias, présentant une entrée d'angle somptueuse menant à un riche portique et une façade à arcades soutenant le balcon du premier étage. Les déesses Athéna et Athéna Nike couronnent le toit. Une fois de plus, nous pouvons remercier Ziller pour cette magnifique création de 1895 (composée d’éléments d’architecture grecque classique et romaine au premier plan). Construit à l'origine pour la famille Stathatos, le bâtiment a subi diverses rénovations (il a même abrité une ambassade) jusqu'à son acquisition par l'État grec, pour être concédé ensuite à la Fondation Goulandris, qui y a établi le musée d'Art cycladique en 1986. Le manoir Stathatos est maintenant dédié aux collections temporaires du musée, alors que l’accès à la collection permanente se fait depuis le nouveau bâtiment adjacent sur la rue Néofitou Douka 

The museum of Cycladic Art

Hôtel de Ville d'Athènes

Place Kotzia (61, rue Athinas)

L’Hôtel de Ville d’Athènes, situé à quelques pas de la place Omonia, a connu de nombreuses modifications et rénovations depuis sa construction en 1874, mais sa fonction n’a jamais changé. En tant que siège de la municipalité, il supervise le développement d'Athènes depuis près de 150 ans. Conçu par l'architecte Panagiotis Kalkos, et construit grâce à un prêt de 130 000 drachmes de la Banque de Grèce, il était composé, à l’origine, de deux étages (les services municipaux n'ayant occupé qu'un seul d'entre eux). Mais étant donné le développement considérable des fonctions de l'Hôtel de Ville ainsi que ses besoins en espace, un troisième étage lui a été ajouté en 1937. De l’extérieur, la simplicité de son style néoclassique contraste avec la richesse des tableaux et des peintures murales ornant l’intérieur de l’édifice et représentant des thèmes mythologiques et historiques, œuvres d’artistes Grecs renommés du 19 siècle.

Théâtre national de Grèce

22, Rue Agiou Konstantinou

Le dernier bâtiment historique d'Athènes que nous vous présentons a été conçu par – qui d'autre ? – Ernst Ziller, bien sûr ! Le Théâtre royal (ainsi nommé à l'origine) est une commande du roi George I et a été construit entre 1895 et 1901. Considéré, lui aussi, comme l'un des plus beaux bâtiments néoclassiques d'Athènes et, bien qu'il ait dû brièvement être fermé au début du 20ème siècle, il a été rénové durant les années 1930, puis réouvert en tant que Théâtre national. La superficie réduite et l’inclinaison du terrain rendent la conception de Ziller d’autant plus impressionnante. 

12 bâtiments historiques à Athènes pour les amoureux de l'architecture

Finalement, qu'est-ce qui vous a attiré le plus des bâtiments historiques d’Athènes ? Était-ce la majesté de la Trilogie d'Athènes ? Ou bien, l’élégance d’une demeure néoclassique privée et transformée en musée ? Quelle que soit votre préférence, nous sommes sûrs que votre regard sur Athènes a complètement changé.

 

Réservez votre voyage





Clio Muse Tours
Clio Muse Tours
Self-guided Audio & Virtual Tours Experts

Clio Muse Tours creates and distributes self-guided audio tours and virtual tour experiences for museums, outdoor landmarks, archaeological sites and city walks in Greece and abroad. 

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Athenians take every opportunity to max out on outdoor time

Les 8 meilleures idées pour une escapade de printemps ou d'automne à Athènes

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

12 des plus beaux glaciers d’Athènes

Walking around an Αthenian neighbourhood

Parcourir Athènes à pied : Un guide pour flâner dans la ville

Aerial view of Sounio, Attica, Greece

Découvrez 12 des meilleures plages de la Riviera d'Athènes

The Natural Park and wetland of Schinias, Attica, Greece

12 des meilleures plages à moins d’1h30 d’Athènes

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 des meilleurs musées d’Athènes

10 des meilleures activités à faire à Lemnos

10 des meilleures plages à Cythère

Athenians take every opportunity to max out on outdoor time

Les 8 meilleures idées pour une escapade de printemps ou d'automne à Athènes

Skala Eressou is one of the most popular seaside settlements in Lesvos

12 des meilleures plages de Lesvos

Thassos’ marble sculpting tradition dates to the 7th century BC

Guide culturel de Thassos : Artisanat traditionnel et produits locaux

Spring is a beautiful season to visit Monodendri and other Zagori villages

12 inoubliables activités à faire à Zagori

12

12 HISTORICAL BUILDINGS IN ATHENS FOR ARCHITECTURE LOVERS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a souvlaki

Modern Athens architecture inspired by ancient Greece

Athens is dotted with architectural marvels that bear witness to the city’s glorious and turbulent past. Elegant mansions and marbled neoclassical buildings of the 19th-century blend with modern multi-storey housing (known as polykatikies), all contributing to the city’s quirky urbanscape. So join us as we take a stroll around the city centre and discover 12 landmark Athens buildings that showcase a unique architectural heritage.

The Hellenic Parliament & Former Royal Palace

Syntagma Square

Situated at the top of Syntagma Square, the current Greek Parliament building served as the Royal Palace of King Otto and Queen Amalia (who commissioned the adjoining National Garden) and later by King George I and his family. Its construction began in 1836, three years after Athens became the capital of the new Greek state. Designed by the Bavarian architect Friedrich von Gärtner and built by Italian stonemasons and German carpenters, it’s the largest neoclassical structure in Athens.

The Hellenic Parliament is the largest neoclassical structure in Athens

The royal family resided here until a fire in 1909 and it became the seat of Parliament in 1929, five years after a referendum abolished the monarchy. If you visit on the hour, you will witness the Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. 

The Athenian Trilogy

Panepistimiou Street (El. Venizelou)

As you stroll up Panepistimiou St towards Syntagma Square, you encounter three imposing neoclassical buildings – collectively known as the Athenian Trilogy – that were designed to show the vision and prestige of King Otto and put the words ‘Athens architecture’ on the map. The central building – the University of Athens – was built first (from 1839) from designs by Danish architect Christian Hansen. You’ll note a magnificent mural on the front, depicting King Otto alongside classical personifications of the arts and sciences. 

To the right is the Academy of Athens, Greece’s highest research establishment, designed by Theophil Hansen (brother of Christian), who was clearly inspired by the Acropolis. It was finished in 1885 by Hansen’s student, Ernst Ziller, a Saxony-born architect who you’ll be hearing a lot more about. Statues of Athena and Apollo sit on Ionic columns either side of the entrance, with sculptures of Plato and Socrates below.

The academy of Athens

To the left is the National Library (also known as Vallianeio Mansion), with its distinctive semi-circular staircase. Construction began in 1888 according to plans by Theophil Hansen and it was finished under the supervision of Ziller. The original tomes and manuscripts are now housed in the current National Library, at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Centre. 

National Archaeological Museum

28th October St (44 Patission St)

The neoclassical building that houses the National Archaeological Museum was built at the end of the 19th century and was another intended to showcase the new face of architecture in Athens. The original designs were made by the architect Ludwig Lange but they were modified by Ziller and Panagis Kalkos. The museum’s exhibition halls cover an area of 8,000 m², housing five major permanent collections. There is a wonderful garden in front of the museum, decorated with sculptures.

The Old Parliament House

13 Stadiou St

The building that, since 1960, has housed the National Historical Museum is one of the most important in Athens. It served as the Parliament House from 1875-1935 and was the original base of the Greek National Assembly. However, its story begins even earlier. Once the home of Athenian industrialist Alexandros Kontostavlos, it was selected by King Otto in 1833 as a permanent residence of the royal family.

The Old Parliament House

From 1843-1854, it was used as a meeting hall for the Parliament and Senate, until it burned down in 1854. Since 1960 it has housed the National Historical Museum. By the entrance, you will find a statue of Theodoros Kolokotronis, one of the heroes of the 1821 Greek War of Independence. 

The Athens University History Museum

5 Tholou St

Dating from before the 18th century, the site of the Athens University History Museum is considered one of the oldest residential buildings still standing in the city. It belonged to the architect Stamatios Kleanthis and, built on the slopes of Acropolis Hill, offers a magnificent view of the old city centre. From 1837-1841, it housed the first university of independent Greece which, for about a century, was the only institution for higher education in Greece, leading to it being known as the ‘Old University’.  The Athens University History Museum displays rare books, manuscripts and diplomas as well as scientific instruments and other memorabilia of the museum.

The National & Kapodistrian University of Athens

Photo by: National &  Kapodistrian University of Athens

Athens City Museum

5 & 7 Ioannou Paparrigopoulou St

Two of the Greek capital´s oldest buildings, close to Klafthmonos Square in central Athens, house the Athens City Museum (Vouros-Eutaxias Foundation). The two-floor residence at No.5 was renovated in 1916, displaying elements of eclecticism (the architectural style incorporating numerous historical motifs which dominated Athens by the late 19th century). Today’s façade isn’t the original, designed by military engineer Gerasimos Metaxas. However, it still preserves its past glory. Dubbed the ‘Old Palace’, the neoclassical house at No.7 belonged to a wealthy banker from the island of Chios. When the capital of Greece moved to Athens, it became the first residence of King Otto and Queen Amalia in the city. The buildings were transformed into the Athens City Museum in the 1970s. 

Zappeion Hall

Vassilisis Olgas St

Zappeion Hall (or Mansion) is another grand design of Danish architect Theophil Hansen, opening in 1888. However, its inspiration came from wealthy benefactor Evangelos Zappas some decades earlier, in the plans being made for Athens to host the first modern Olympic Games in 1896. As such, it has been dubbed the first purpose-built Olympic building. You’ll recognise Hansen’s neoclassical style, with the Corinthian portico being used to stage fencing events in the first Games. 

The Zappeion hall now functions as an exhibition space

It has since been used as a location for Greece’s first state radio station (for four decades), as a hospital and to house the organising committee ahead of the 2004 Athens Olympics. It now functions as an exhibition space. From here, you can enter the National Garden, which also has exits to Maximos Mansion (residence of the Prime Minister) and the Presidential Mansion on Irodou Attikou St. 

Gennadios Library

61 Souidias St

With over 100,000 volumes and manuscripts on Greek history, literature and art from antiquity, the Gennadaion (as it is also known) is one of the most important libraries in Athens. It is also one of the most beautiful, located in a striking 1920s building designed in the style of a classical temple and garden and situated in a leafy enclave under Lycabettus Hill. It was built with a grant from the Carnegie Foundation to house the 26,000 rare works donated by Joannes Gennadius, a Greek diplomat and bibliophile. Opposite is the American School of Classical Studies, which owns the library. 

Numismatic Museum of Athens

12 Panepistimiou St (El. Venizelou 12)

The Iliou Melathron (as the building is called) has a grand history. It was designed by one of Athens’ greatest architects (Ernst Ziller) as a residence for one of Greece’s most celebrated archaeologists, Heinrich Schliemann (who excavated ancient Mycenae and Troy). Built between 1878-1880, it is considered one of Ziller’s finest structures, uniting Renaissance and neoclassical styles, and is adorned with frescoes and mosaics with themes from the Trojan War and other ancient episodes inspired by Schliemann’s work. The museum, which has a garden cafe, has a collection of 500,000 coins, medals, gems, stamps and other artefacts from 1400 BC to modern times. 

Museum of Cycladic Art

Vasilissis Sofias Ave & Irodotou St

Another iconic former Athens residence awaits at the Stathatos Mansion, now the location of one of the city’s leading private museums. It is one of the most striking buildings on Vasilissis Sofias Ave, with a lavish corner entrance leading to an elaborate portico and arched facade supporting a first-floor balcony. Crowning the roof are statues of the goddesses Athena and Nike. We once again have Ziller to thank for its design in 1895 (with aspects of classic Greek and Roman architecture to the fore). Originally built for the prominent Stathatos family, it has undergone various renovations (including use as an embassy) until it was acquired by the Greek state and granted to the Goulandris Foundation, which established the Museum of Cycladic Art in 1986. The Stathatos Mansion is now used for the museum’s temporary collections, with access to the permanent collection being from the adjoining new building on Neofitou Douka St.

The museum of Cycladic Art

Athens City Hall

Kotzia Sqaure (61 Athinas St)

Athens’ City Hall, a short walk from Omonia Square, has seen numerous renovations since it was constructed in 1874, but its function has never changed. As the seat of the municipality, it has overseen the development of Athens for close to 150 years. Designed by architect Panagiotis Kalkos, and built with a 130,000 drachma loan from the Bank of Greece, it was originally two floors (and the municipality occupied only one of them). But as the functions of City Hall grew so did its needs for floor space, so a third floor was added in 1937. Its simple neoclassical exterior contrasts with the details of the paintings and murals of renowned 19-century Greek artists inside, with representations of mythological and historic themes.

National Theatre of Greece

22 Agiou Konstantinou St

Your final historical Athens building is designed by – who else? – Ernst Ziller. The Royal Theatre (as it was originally known) was commissioned by King George I and built between 1895-1901. It is regarded as one of the most beautiful neoclassical buildings in Athens and, though it was briefly forced to close in the early 20th century, it was renovated in the 1930s and reopened as the National Theatre. The small plot size and incline of the land make Ziller’s design all the more impressive. 

Modern Athens architecture inspired by ancient Greece

So what caught your eye about the landmark buildings of Athens? Was it the majesty of the Athens Trilogy? Or maybe it was a one-time private neoclassical house turned into a museum? Either way, we bet you’ll never look at Athens in the same way again.

Discover Athens now 

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
METROPE-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Electra Metropolis Athens

Athens

Inviting and brand new, “Electra Metropolis”, located in the heart of Athens is the place to stay whether you are here for business or pleasure....

Official online rates

ACROPHILL-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Acropolis Hill Hotel Athens

Athens

Acropolis Hill Hotel is a new 3-Star Hotel which opened its doors on the 29th of October 2010 to welcome its guests in the most...

Official online rates





Clio Muse Tours
Clio Muse Tours
Self-guided Audio & Virtual Tours Experts

Clio Muse Tours creates and distributes self-guided audio tours and virtual tour experiences for museums, outdoor landmarks, archaeological sites and city walks in Greece and abroad. 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 of the best museums in Athens

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about ouzo

Nightlife in Athens

A local’s guide to the Athens nightlife scene

Acrocorinth (Upper Corinth)

Discover the top 10 cultural sites in the Peloponnese

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 of the best museums in Athens

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

Night view of Metsovo

Discover the 11 best things to do in Metsovo