12

12 HISTORISCHE GEBÄUDE IN ATHEN FÜR ARCHITEKTURLIEBHABER

READING TIME
Solange es dauert, um ein Souvlaki zu essen

Athen ist voller architektonischer Wunderwerke, die von der glorreichen und turbulenten Vergangenheit der Stadt zeugen. Elegante Villen und marmorierte neoklassizistische Gebäude aus dem 19. Jahrhundert mischen sich mit modernen mehrstöckigen Wohnhäusern (den sogenannten Polykatiken), die alle zu dem einzigartigen Stadtbild beitragen. Begleite uns auf einem Spaziergang durch das Stadtzentrum und entdecke 12 Wahrzeichen Athens, die ein einzigartiges architektonisches Erbe darstellen. 

Das griechische Parlament und der ehemalige Königspalast

Syntagma-Platz

Das aktuelle griechische Parlamentsgebäude befindet sich an der Spitze des Syntagma-Platzes und diente als königlicher Palast von König Otto und Königin Amalia (die den angrenzenden Nationalgarten in Auftrag gaben) und später König Georg I. und seiner Familie. Sein Bau begann 1836, drei Jahre nachdem Athen zur Hauptstadt des neuen griechischen Staates wurde. Das von dem bayerischen Architekten Friedrich von Gärtner entworfene und von italienischen Steinmetzen und deutschen Zimmerleuten errichtete Gebäude ist der größte neoklassizistische Bau in Athen.

The Hellenic Parliament is the largest neoclassical structure in Athens

Die königliche Familie residierte hier bis zu einem Brand im Jahr 1909 und 1929 wurde es zum Sitz des Parlaments, fünf Jahre nachdem ein Referendum die Monarchie abgeschafft hatte. Wenn du zur vollen Stunde kommst, wirst du Zeuge der Ablösung der Präsidentenwache durch die Evzones (Sonderwachen), die das Grab des Unbekannten Soldaten schützen. 

Die Athenische Trilogie

Panepistimiou Straße (El. Venizelou)

Wenn du die Panepistimiou-Straße in Richtung Syntagma-Platz hinaufschlenderst, triffst du auf drei imposante neoklassizistische Gebäude, die zusammen als Athener Trilogie bekannt sind und die Vision und das Prestige von König Otto zeigen sollten und die den Begriff "Athener Architektur" geprägt haben. Das zentrale Gebäude - die Universität von Athen - wurde als Erstes (ab 1839) nach Entwürfen des dänischen Architekten Christian Hansen gebaut. An der Fassade ist ein prächtiges Wandgemälde zu sehen, das König Otto neben klassischen Persönlichkeiten aus Kunst und Wissenschaft abbildet. 

Auf der rechten Seite befindet sich die Akademie von Athen, Griechenlands höchste Forschungseinrichtung, die von Theophil Hansen (dem Bruder von Christian) entworfen wurde, der sich eindeutig von der Akropolis inspirieren ließ. Sie wurde 1885 von Hansens Schüler Ernst Ziller fertiggestellt, einem in Sachsen geborenen Architekten, von dem wir noch viel mehr hören werden. Die Statuen von Athena und Apollo stehen auf ionischen Säulen zu beiden Seiten des Eingangs, darunter befinden sich Skulpturen von Platon und Sokrates.

The academy of Athens

Auf der linken Seite befindet sich die Nationalbibliothek (auch als Vallianeio-Villa bekannt) mit ihrer charakteristischen halbrunden Treppe. Der Bau begann 1888 nach Plänen von Theophil Hansen und wurde unter der Leitung von Ziller fertiggestellt. Die Originalbände und Manuskripte sind heute in der aktuellen Nationalbibliothek im Kulturzentrum der Stavros Niarchos Stiftung untergebracht. 

Nationales Archäologisches Museum

28. Oktober Straße (44 Patission Straße)

Das neoklassizistische Gebäude, das das Nationale Archäologische Museum beherbergt, wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erbaut und sollte ebenfalls das moderne Gesicht der Architektur in Athen zeigen. Die ursprünglichen Entwürfe stammten von dem Architekten Ludwig Lange, wurden aber von Ziller und Panagis Kalkos abgeändert. Die Ausstellungshallen des Museums erstrecken sich über eine Fläche von 8.000 m² und beherbergen fünf große Dauerausstellungen. Vor dem Museum gibt es einen wunderschönen Garten, der mit Skulpturen geschmückt ist.

Das alte Parlamentsgebäude

Stadiou Straße 13

Das Gebäude, das seit 1960 das Nationale Historische Museum beherbergt, ist eines der wichtigsten in Athen. Es diente von 1875 bis 1935 als Parlamentsgebäude und war der ursprüngliche Sitz der griechischen Volksvertretung. Seine Geschichte beginnt jedoch noch früher. Einst das Haus des Athener Industriellen Alexandros Kontostavlos, wurde es 1833 von König Otto als ständige Residenz der königlichen Familie ausgewählt.

The Old Parliament House

Von 1843 bis 1854 wurde es als Sitzungssaal für das Parlament und den Senat genutzt, bis es 1854 abbrannte. Seit 1960 beherbergt es das Nationale Historische Museum. Neben dem Eingang findest du eine Statue von Theodoros Kolokotronis, einem der Helden des griechischen Unabhängigkeitskrieges von 1821. 

Das Historische Museum der Universität Athen

Tholou Straße 5

Das Historische Museum der Universität Athen stammt aus der Zeit vor dem 18. Jahrhundert und gilt als eines der ältesten noch erhaltenen Wohngebäude der Stadt. Es gehörte dem Architekten Stamatios Kleanthis und bietet von den Hängen des Akropolishügels aus einen herrlichen Blick auf die Altstadt. Von 1837 bis 1841 beherbergte sie die erste Universität des eigenständigen Griechenlands, die etwa ein Jahrhundert lang die einzige Hochschuleinrichtung in Griechenland war, weshalb sie auch als "Alte Universität" bekannt ist.  Das Historische Museum der Universität Athen beherbergt seltene Bücher, Manuskripte und Diplome sowie wissenschaftliche Instrumente und andere Erinnerungsstücke des Museums.

The National &  Kapodistrian University of Athens

Photo by: National &  Kapodistrian University of Athens

Athener Stadtmuseum

Ioannou Paparrigopoulou-Straße 5 & 7

Two of the Greek capital´s oldest buildings, close to Klafthmonos Square in central Athens, house the Athens City Museum (Vouros-Eutaxias Foundation). The two-floor residence at No.5 was renovated in 1916, displaying elements of eclecticism (the architectural style incorporating numerous historical motifs which dominated Athens by the late 19th century). Today’s façade isn’t the original, designed by military engineer Gerasimos Metaxas. However, it still preserves its past glory. Dubbed the ‘Old Palace’, the neoclassical house at No.7 belonged to a wealthy banker from the island of Chios. When the capital of Greece moved to Athens, it became the first residence of King Otto and Queen Amalia in the city. The buildings were transformed into the Athens City Museum in the 1970s. 

Zappeion-Halle

Vassilisis Olgas Straße

Die Zappeion-Halle (oder Mansion) ist ein weiterer großartiger Entwurf des dänischen Architekten Theophil Hansen, der 1888 eröffnet wurde. Inspiriert wurde sie jedoch schon einige Jahrzehnte zuvor von dem vermögenden Wohltäter Evangelos Zappas, als die ersten modernen Olympischen Spiele 1896 in Athen geplant wurden. Daher wird es auch als das erste eigens für die Olympischen Spiele errichtete Gebäude bezeichnet. Du wirst den neoklassizistischen Stil von Hansen wiedererkennen, denn der korinthische Säulengang wurde bei den ersten Spielen für die Fechtveranstaltungen genutzt.  

The Zappeion hall now functions as an exhibition space

Seitdem wurde es als Standort für den ersten staatlichen Radiosender Griechenlands (vier Jahrzehnte lang), als Krankenhaus und als Sitz des Organisationskomitees für die Olympischen Spiele 2004 in Athen genutzt. Heute dient es als Ausstellungsort. Von hier aus kannst du den Nationalgarten betreten, der auch Ausgänge zum Herrenhaus Maximos (Wohnsitz des Premierministers) und zum Präsidentenpalast in der Irodou Attikou Straße hat.

Gennadios-Bibliothek

Souidias Straße 61

Mit über 100.000 Bänden und Manuskripten zur griechischen Geschichte, Literatur und Kunst aus der Antike ist das Gennadaion (wie es auch genannt wird) eine der wichtigsten Bibliotheken in Athen. Sie ist auch eine der schönsten, denn sie befindet sich in einem beeindruckenden Gebäude aus den 1920er Jahren, das im Stil eines klassischen Tempels und Gartens gestaltet wurde und in einer grünen Enklave unter dem Lycabettus-Hügel liegt. Es wurde mit einem Zuschuss der Carnegie Foundation gebaut, um die 26.000 wertvollen Werke zu beherbergen, die Joannes Gennadius, ein griechischer Diplomat und Bibliophiler, gestiftet hatte. Gegenüber befindet sich die American School of Classical Studies, die Eigentümerin der Bibliothek ist. 

Numismatisches Museum von Athen

Panepistimiou Straße 12 (El. Venizelou 12)

Das Iliou Melathron (wie das Gebäude genannt wird) hat eine große Geschichte. Es wurde von einem der größten Architekten Athens (Ernst Ziller) als Wohnsitz für einen der berühmtesten Archäologen Griechenlands, Heinrich Schliemann (der die antiken Städte Mykene und Troja ausgegraben hat), entworfen. Es wurde zwischen 1878 und 1880 erbaut und gilt als eines von Zillers besten Bauwerken, das die Stile der Renaissance und des Neoklassizismus vereint. Es ist mit Fresken und Mosaiken mit Motiven aus dem Trojanischen Krieg und anderen antiken Episoden geschmückt, die von Schliemanns Arbeit inspiriert wurden. Das Museum mit seinem Gartencafé beherbergt eine Sammlung von 500.000 Münzen, Medaillen, Edelsteinen, Briefmarken und anderen Artefakten von 1400 v. Chr. bis zur Neuzeit. 

Museum für Kykladische Kunst

Vasilissis Sofias Ave & Irodotou Straße

Eine weitere ikonische ehemalige Athener Residenz erwartet dich in der Stathatos-Villa, die heute eines der führenden Privatmuseen der Stadt beherbergt. Es ist eines der auffälligsten Gebäude in der Vasilissis Sofias Ave. Der prächtige Eck-Eingang führt zu einem kunstvollen Säulengang und einer bogenförmigen Fassade, die einen Balkon im ersten Stock trägt. Das Dach wird von Statuen der Göttinnen Athene und Nike gekrönt. Auch dieses Gebäude verdanken wir Ziller, der es 1895 entworfen hat (wobei Aspekte der klassischen griechischen und römischen Architektur im Vordergrund standen). Ursprünglich für die prominente Familie Stathatos erbaut, wurde es mehrfach renoviert (u. a. als Botschaft), bis es vom griechischen Staat erworben und der Goulandris-Stiftung überlassen wurde, die 1986 das Museum für Kykladenkunst gründete. Das Herrenhaus Stathatos wird heute für die zeitweiligen Sammlungen des Museums genutzt, während der Zugang zur ständigen Sammlung über das angrenzende neue Gebäude in der Neofitou Douka Straße erfolgt. 

The museum of Cycladic Art

Das Rathaus von Athen

Kotzia-Platz (61 Athinas-Straße)

Das Rathaus von Athen, das nur einen kurzen Spaziergang vom Omonia-Platz entfernt liegt, wurde seit seiner Errichtung im Jahr 1874 mehrfach renoviert, hat aber seine Funktion nicht verloren. Als Sitz der Stadtverwaltung überwacht es seit fast 150 Jahren die Entwicklung von Athen. Das von dem Architekten Panagiotis Kalkos entworfene und mit einem Darlehen der Bank von Griechenland in Höhe von 130.000 Drachmen errichtete Gebäude bestand ursprünglich aus zwei Etagen (von denen die Gemeinde nur eine belegte). Doch mit den wachsenden Anforderungen an das Rathaus wuchs auch sein Platzbedarf, sodass 1937 eine dritte Etage hinzugefügt wurde. Sein schlichtes neoklassizistisches Äußeres steht im Kontrast zu den detailreichen Gemälden und Wandmalereien bekannter griechischer Künstler aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, die mythologische und historische Themen darstellen.

Nationales Theater von Griechenland

Agiou Konstantinou Straße 22

Dein letztes geschichtlich bedeutendes Gebäude in Athen stammt aus der Feder von - wem sonst? - Ernst Ziller. Das Königliche Theater (wie es ursprünglich hieß) wurde von König Georg I. in Auftrag gegeben und zwischen 1895 und 1901 erbaut. Es gilt als eines der schönsten neoklassizistischen Gebäude in Athen und obwohl es Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts kurzzeitig geschlossen werden musste, wurde es in den 1930er Jahren renoviert und als Nationaltheater wiedereröffnet. Die geringe Grundstücksgröße und die Neigung des Geländes machen Zillers Entwurf umso beeindruckender. 

12 historische Gebäude in Athen für Architekturliebhaber

Was hat dich an den Wahrzeichen von Athen beeindruckt? War es die Majestät der Athener Trilogie? Oder vielleicht war es ein ehemaliges neoklassizistisches Privathaus, das heute ein Museum ist? Wie auch immer, wir wetten, dass du Athen nie wieder auf dieselbe Weise sehen wirst.

 

athens-highlights-mythology-tour-logo
Group

Athens Highlights Mythology Tour

4 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
1227 Bewertungen
Free cancellation
Until 73 hours prior to scheduled commencement date of service: no cancellation fee
Join our Athens mythological tour & get to the heart of the ancient world by exploring Athens' landmark sites through timeless myths. Uncover fascinating stories...
day-tour-to-the-unesco-listed-meteora-monasteries-by-train-logo
Group

Day Rail Tour to the Majestic Meteora Monasteries

14 Hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
649 Bewertungen
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 48 hours in advance for a full refund
Join our full day rail tour from Athens and visit the breathtaking Meteora Monasteries. Countless panoramic images will remain etched in your memory with the...




Clio Muse Tours
Clio Muse Tours
Self-guided Audio & Virtual Tours Experts

Clio Muse Tours creates and distributes self-guided audio tours and virtual tour experiences for museums, outdoor landmarks, archaeological sites and city walks in Greece and abroad. 

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
Athenians take every opportunity to max out on outdoor time

8 beste Ideen für einen Frühlings- oder Herbsturlaub in Athen

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

12 der coolsten Eisdielen Athens

Walking around an Αthenian neighbourhood

Zu Fuß durch Athen: Ein Leitfaden für Reisende

Aerial view of Sounio, Attica, Greece

Entdecke 12 der besten Strände der Athener Riviera

The Natural Park and wetland of Schinias, Attica, Greece

12 der besten Strände nur 90 Minuten von Athen entfernt

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 der besten Museen Athen

10 unvergessliche Aktivitäten auf Lemnos

10 der besten Strände in Kythira

Athenians take every opportunity to max out on outdoor time

8 beste Ideen für einen Frühlings- oder Herbsturlaub in Athen

Skala Eressou is one of the most popular seaside settlements in Lesvos

12 der besten Strände auf Lesbos

Thassos’ marble sculpting tradition dates to the 7th century BC

Kulturreiseführer für Thassos: Traditionelles Handwerk und lokale Produkte

12

12 HISTORICAL BUILDINGS IN ATHENS FOR ARCHITECTURE LOVERS

READING TIME
As long as it takes to eat a souvlaki

Modern Athens architecture inspired by ancient Greece

Athens is dotted with architectural marvels that bear witness to the city’s glorious and turbulent past. Elegant mansions and marbled neoclassical buildings of the 19th-century blend with modern multi-storey housing (known as polykatikies), all contributing to the city’s quirky urbanscape. So join us as we take a stroll around the city centre and discover 12 landmark Athens buildings that showcase a unique architectural heritage.

The Hellenic Parliament & Former Royal Palace

Syntagma Square

Situated at the top of Syntagma Square, the current Greek Parliament building served as the Royal Palace of King Otto and Queen Amalia (who commissioned the adjoining National Garden) and later by King George I and his family. Its construction began in 1836, three years after Athens became the capital of the new Greek state. Designed by the Bavarian architect Friedrich von Gärtner and built by Italian stonemasons and German carpenters, it’s the largest neoclassical structure in Athens.

The Hellenic Parliament is the largest neoclassical structure in Athens

The royal family resided here until a fire in 1909 and it became the seat of Parliament in 1929, five years after a referendum abolished the monarchy. If you visit on the hour, you will witness the Changing of the Presidential Guard by the Evzones (special guards) protecting the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. 

The Athenian Trilogy

Panepistimiou Street (El. Venizelou)

As you stroll up Panepistimiou St towards Syntagma Square, you encounter three imposing neoclassical buildings – collectively known as the Athenian Trilogy – that were designed to show the vision and prestige of King Otto and put the words ‘Athens architecture’ on the map. The central building – the University of Athens – was built first (from 1839) from designs by Danish architect Christian Hansen. You’ll note a magnificent mural on the front, depicting King Otto alongside classical personifications of the arts and sciences. 

To the right is the Academy of Athens, Greece’s highest research establishment, designed by Theophil Hansen (brother of Christian), who was clearly inspired by the Acropolis. It was finished in 1885 by Hansen’s student, Ernst Ziller, a Saxony-born architect who you’ll be hearing a lot more about. Statues of Athena and Apollo sit on Ionic columns either side of the entrance, with sculptures of Plato and Socrates below.

The academy of Athens

To the left is the National Library (also known as Vallianeio Mansion), with its distinctive semi-circular staircase. Construction began in 1888 according to plans by Theophil Hansen and it was finished under the supervision of Ziller. The original tomes and manuscripts are now housed in the current National Library, at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Centre. 

National Archaeological Museum

28th October St (44 Patission St)

The neoclassical building that houses the National Archaeological Museum was built at the end of the 19th century and was another intended to showcase the new face of architecture in Athens. The original designs were made by the architect Ludwig Lange but they were modified by Ziller and Panagis Kalkos. The museum’s exhibition halls cover an area of 8,000 m², housing five major permanent collections. There is a wonderful garden in front of the museum, decorated with sculptures.

The Old Parliament House

13 Stadiou St

The building that, since 1960, has housed the National Historical Museum is one of the most important in Athens. It served as the Parliament House from 1875-1935 and was the original base of the Greek National Assembly. However, its story begins even earlier. Once the home of Athenian industrialist Alexandros Kontostavlos, it was selected by King Otto in 1833 as a permanent residence of the royal family.

The Old Parliament House

From 1843-1854, it was used as a meeting hall for the Parliament and Senate, until it burned down in 1854. Since 1960 it has housed the National Historical Museum. By the entrance, you will find a statue of Theodoros Kolokotronis, one of the heroes of the 1821 Greek War of Independence. 

The Athens University History Museum

5 Tholou St

Dating from before the 18th century, the site of the Athens University History Museum is considered one of the oldest residential buildings still standing in the city. It belonged to the architect Stamatios Kleanthis and, built on the slopes of Acropolis Hill, offers a magnificent view of the old city centre. From 1837-1841, it housed the first university of independent Greece which, for about a century, was the only institution for higher education in Greece, leading to it being known as the ‘Old University’.  The Athens University History Museum displays rare books, manuscripts and diplomas as well as scientific instruments and other memorabilia of the museum.

The National & Kapodistrian University of Athens

Photo by: National &  Kapodistrian University of Athens

Athens City Museum

5 & 7 Ioannou Paparrigopoulou St

Two of the Greek capital´s oldest buildings, close to Klafthmonos Square in central Athens, house the Athens City Museum (Vouros-Eutaxias Foundation). The two-floor residence at No.5 was renovated in 1916, displaying elements of eclecticism (the architectural style incorporating numerous historical motifs which dominated Athens by the late 19th century). Today’s façade isn’t the original, designed by military engineer Gerasimos Metaxas. However, it still preserves its past glory. Dubbed the ‘Old Palace’, the neoclassical house at No.7 belonged to a wealthy banker from the island of Chios. When the capital of Greece moved to Athens, it became the first residence of King Otto and Queen Amalia in the city. The buildings were transformed into the Athens City Museum in the 1970s. 

Zappeion Hall

Vassilisis Olgas St

Zappeion Hall (or Mansion) is another grand design of Danish architect Theophil Hansen, opening in 1888. However, its inspiration came from wealthy benefactor Evangelos Zappas some decades earlier, in the plans being made for Athens to host the first modern Olympic Games in 1896. As such, it has been dubbed the first purpose-built Olympic building. You’ll recognise Hansen’s neoclassical style, with the Corinthian portico being used to stage fencing events in the first Games. 

The Zappeion hall now functions as an exhibition space

It has since been used as a location for Greece’s first state radio station (for four decades), as a hospital and to house the organising committee ahead of the 2004 Athens Olympics. It now functions as an exhibition space. From here, you can enter the National Garden, which also has exits to Maximos Mansion (residence of the Prime Minister) and the Presidential Mansion on Irodou Attikou St. 

Gennadios Library

61 Souidias St

With over 100,000 volumes and manuscripts on Greek history, literature and art from antiquity, the Gennadaion (as it is also known) is one of the most important libraries in Athens. It is also one of the most beautiful, located in a striking 1920s building designed in the style of a classical temple and garden and situated in a leafy enclave under Lycabettus Hill. It was built with a grant from the Carnegie Foundation to house the 26,000 rare works donated by Joannes Gennadius, a Greek diplomat and bibliophile. Opposite is the American School of Classical Studies, which owns the library. 

Numismatic Museum of Athens

12 Panepistimiou St (El. Venizelou 12)

The Iliou Melathron (as the building is called) has a grand history. It was designed by one of Athens’ greatest architects (Ernst Ziller) as a residence for one of Greece’s most celebrated archaeologists, Heinrich Schliemann (who excavated ancient Mycenae and Troy). Built between 1878-1880, it is considered one of Ziller’s finest structures, uniting Renaissance and neoclassical styles, and is adorned with frescoes and mosaics with themes from the Trojan War and other ancient episodes inspired by Schliemann’s work. The museum, which has a garden cafe, has a collection of 500,000 coins, medals, gems, stamps and other artefacts from 1400 BC to modern times. 

Museum of Cycladic Art

Vasilissis Sofias Ave & Irodotou St

Another iconic former Athens residence awaits at the Stathatos Mansion, now the location of one of the city’s leading private museums. It is one of the most striking buildings on Vasilissis Sofias Ave, with a lavish corner entrance leading to an elaborate portico and arched facade supporting a first-floor balcony. Crowning the roof are statues of the goddesses Athena and Nike. We once again have Ziller to thank for its design in 1895 (with aspects of classic Greek and Roman architecture to the fore). Originally built for the prominent Stathatos family, it has undergone various renovations (including use as an embassy) until it was acquired by the Greek state and granted to the Goulandris Foundation, which established the Museum of Cycladic Art in 1986. The Stathatos Mansion is now used for the museum’s temporary collections, with access to the permanent collection being from the adjoining new building on Neofitou Douka St.

The museum of Cycladic Art

Athens City Hall

Kotzia Sqaure (61 Athinas St)

Athens’ City Hall, a short walk from Omonia Square, has seen numerous renovations since it was constructed in 1874, but its function has never changed. As the seat of the municipality, it has overseen the development of Athens for close to 150 years. Designed by architect Panagiotis Kalkos, and built with a 130,000 drachma loan from the Bank of Greece, it was originally two floors (and the municipality occupied only one of them). But as the functions of City Hall grew so did its needs for floor space, so a third floor was added in 1937. Its simple neoclassical exterior contrasts with the details of the paintings and murals of renowned 19-century Greek artists inside, with representations of mythological and historic themes.

National Theatre of Greece

22 Agiou Konstantinou St

Your final historical Athens building is designed by – who else? – Ernst Ziller. The Royal Theatre (as it was originally known) was commissioned by King George I and built between 1895-1901. It is regarded as one of the most beautiful neoclassical buildings in Athens and, though it was briefly forced to close in the early 20th century, it was renovated in the 1930s and reopened as the National Theatre. The small plot size and incline of the land make Ziller’s design all the more impressive. 

Modern Athens architecture inspired by ancient Greece

So what caught your eye about the landmark buildings of Athens? Was it the majesty of the Athens Trilogy? Or maybe it was a one-time private neoclassical house turned into a museum? Either way, we bet you’ll never look at Athens in the same way again.

Discover Athens now 

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
METROPE-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Electra Metropolis Athens

Athens

Inviting and brand new, “Electra Metropolis”, located in the heart of Athens is the place to stay whether you are here for business or pleasure....

Official online rates

ACROPHILL-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Acropolis Hill Hotel Athens

Athens

Acropolis Hill Hotel is a new 3-Star Hotel which opened its doors on the 29th of October 2010 to welcome its guests in the most...

Official online rates





Clio Muse Tours
Clio Muse Tours
Self-guided Audio & Virtual Tours Experts

Clio Muse Tours creates and distributes self-guided audio tours and virtual tour experiences for museums, outdoor landmarks, archaeological sites and city walks in Greece and abroad. 

Read Also

Here is a selection of stories you may also like
Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 of the best museums in Athens

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

When in Telendos, you must visit the family-owned tavernas where a fresh catch of seafood comes in every morning

Greek Spirits Guide: Everything you need to know about ouzo

Nightlife in Athens

A local’s guide to the Athens nightlife scene

Acrocorinth (Upper Corinth)

Discover the top 10 cultural sites in the Peloponnese

Take a tour of the Acropolis Museum

20 of the best museums in Athens

Museum of Greek Culture Shop

17 Greek designers for the most chic shopping in Athens

Discover 12 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

11 of the coolest ice cream spots in Athens

Night view of Metsovo

Discover the 11 best things to do in Metsovo