Benaki Museum of Greek Culture
EXPERIENCE

Tour durch das Benaki Museum der Griechischen Kultur in Athen

In einem der schönsten neoklassizistischen Herrenhäuser Athens ist das Benaki Museum für Griechische Kultur eine einmalige Kunstsammlung und andere Exponate der Frühzeit der griechischen Geschichte bis zur Entstehung des modernen Griechenland bestaunen.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Dauer
1 - 3 stunden
Nach Jahreszeit
Das ganze Jahr über

ÜBERBLICK

Das Benaki Museum für Griechische Kultur

Das Benaki Museum für Griechische Kultur vermittelt die griechische Geschichte durch Kunstwerke und Sammlerstücke aus dem 6. Jahrtausend v. Chr. bis hin zu den antiken griechischen und griechisch-römischen Zivilisationen, dem Byzantinischen Reich und der Gründung des griechischen Staates im frühen 19.

Es ist in einem wunderschönen neoklassizistischen Gebäude direkt neben dem Nationalgarten und dem Parlament untergebracht und damit eines der beliebtesten privaten Museen in Athen.

Wir verdanken die Gründung des Museums im Jahr 1930 Antonis Benakis, dem Sohn eines prominenten Politikers und begeisterten Sammlers. Benakis stiftete seine umfangreiche Sammlung zusammen mit dem Familienanwesen für die Gestaltung des Museums. Zehntausende weiterer Werke (darunter Schmuck, Keramik, Marmorbildnisse, Manuskripte, religiöse Ikonen, Haushaltsgegenstände, Kostüme und Textilien) sind seitdem dazugekommen.

Das Endergebnis ist eine einzigartige historische Erzählung, die von der neolithischen Zeit bis ins 20. Jahrhundert reicht. Sie zeigt die Kultur Griechenlands als eine kontinuierliche Entwicklung und nicht als eine Reihe von einzelnen, zusammenhanglosen Ereignissen.  

Die Sammlung ist so groß geworden, dass die Werke (darunter islamische Kunst, chinesisches Porzellan und seltenes Spielzeug) in andere Benaki Museen in Athen verlegt wurden, die ebenfalls einen Besuch wert sind (weitere Informationen findest du im Abschnitt Wissenswertes). Aber hier konzentrieren wir uns auf das Benaki Museum für Griechische Kultur und zeigen dir, weshalb es auf deiner Liste der zu besuchenden Museen in Athen ein Muss ist.. 

Weiterlesen Read Less

NICHT VERPASSEN

Die Dauerausstellung

Prähistorische, antike griechische und römische Kunst

Wenn etwas alt ist (und in Griechenland bedeutet das sehr alt), dann ist es in der Sektion für prähistorische, altgriechische und römische Kunst vertreten, die das Neolithikum und die Bronzezeit (ab dem 6. Jahrtausend v. Chr.), die geometrische und archaische Epoche, das klassische und hellenistische Griechenland sowie die römische Besatzungszeit bis zum 3. Jahrhundert nach Christus präsentiert. Zu den herausragenden Exponaten gehören prähistorische Goldjuwelen aus einem Königsgrab in Theben, die die Komplexität der mykenischen Schmuckherstellung veranschaulichen. Außerdem werden Vasen und Schmuck aus dem 9. bis 6. Jahrhundert v. Chr., antike griechische Töpferkunst, Marmorbildnisse der ptolemäischen Herrscher Ägyptens sowie Glasarbeiten und Totenstähle aus der Römerzeit ausgestellt.

Byzantinische Kunst

Als Bindeglied zwischen der antiken griechischen Welt und dem modernen Griechenland ist dieser Bereich in Abschnitte unterteilt, in denen Haushalts- und Kirchengegenstände aus Bronze und Silber, Miniatur-Skulpturen und Emaille, Keramik und Manuskripte sowie wunderschöne Ikonen aus byzantinischer und post-byzantinischer Zeit ausgestellt werden. Schau dir die Lampen, Kronleuchter und schmückenden Silberplatten an, die das Thema der griechisch-römischen Kunsttradition der Antike aufgreifen. Auch Matrizen, Werkzeuge und Messinstrumente geben Aufschluss über den Handel und die wissenschaftlichen Fortschritte der damaligen Zeit.

Post-byzantinische und neo-hellenische Kunst

Diese Sammlung aus dem 15. bis 19. Jahrhundert ist ein Beispiel für das hohe kulturelle Niveau während der fränkischen und osmanischen Besetzung Griechenlands und ist in zwei Bereiche unterteilt: Post-byzantinische kirchliche Kunst mit sakralen Gefäßen, liturgischen Gewändern und Schmuck sowie holzgeschnitzten Kircheneinrichtungen. Halte Ausschau nach den Erbstücken, die von Flüchtlingen aus Kleinasien und dem östlichen Thrakien nach Griechenland kamen. Die Exponate der Ausstellung "Neohellenische Weltliche Kunst" reichen vom Untergang des Byzantinischen Reiches 1453 bis zum Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts, darunter einzigartige Rekonstruktionen von holzgetäfelten Räumen aus Häusern in Kozani, Siatista und Hydra. Seltene Keramiken zeigen die ungebrochene griechische Töpferkunst Tradition aus der byzantinischen Zeit.

 

Weiterlesen Read Less

Wie erreichst du das das Benaki Museum für Griechische Kultur in Athen?

  • Das Benaki Museum befindet sich an der Kreuzung der Koumbari Street und der Vasilissis Sofias Avenue im Zentrum Athens, gegenüber dem Nationalgarten und unweit des griechischen Parlaments am Syntagma-Platz. Die nächstgelegene U-Bahn-Station ist Syntagma (blaue & rot Linie), von dort aus sind es 600 m (10 Minuten) Fußweg.

Wie erreiche ich am besten vom Flughafen oder Hafen Athens das Stadtzentrum?

  • Vom internationalen Flughafen Athens kannst du ein Taxi (ca. 38 € Tagsüber), einen Bus oder ein Mietauto nutzen oder direkt mit der Metro (blaue Linie) ins Stadtzentrum fahren.
  • Es gibt auch Taxen (25 € Tagsüber), Busse und eine Metrostation (grüne Linie) am Hafen von Piräus (Umsteigen in die blaue Linie in Monastiraki). Je nach Fähranleger sind es 15-20 Minuten Fußweg bis zur Metrostation.
     

Wie sind die Öffnungszeiten und wie viel kosten die Eintrittskarten für das Benaki Museum?

  • Das Benaki Museum für Griechische Kultur ist das Jahr hindurch täglich (außer Dienstag und an einigen gesetzlichen Feiertagen) geöffnet. 
  • Tickets kosten 12 € (9 € mit Ermäßigung).
  • Weitere Informationen zu Öffnungszeiten und Tickets: Hier

Wann ist die beste Zeit für einen Besuch Athens?

  • Um das Beste Athens herauszuholen, besuchst du es am besten in den Monaten zwischen Oktober und April, wenn sich die Menschenmassen im Sommer lichten und du die Gesellschaft der Athenerinnen und Athener im Alltag am meisten genießen kannst.

Wieviel Zeit solltest du für das Benaki Museum für Griechische Kultur einplanen?

  • Du kannst ein paar Stunden im Museum verbringen oder viel mehr. Es kommt darauf an, wie viel Zeit du zur Verfügung hast und wie sehr du ins Detail gehen magst. 
  • Die meisten Führungen dauern etwa 1-3 Stunden. Manche können Besuche in anderen Museen und Denkmälern in Athen beinhalten.
  • Zum Museum gehört eine öffentliche Bibliothek mit mehr als 100.000 Büchern und Zeitschriften über die griechische Geschichte und Kunst, aber auch über Folklore, das intellektuelle und religiöse Leben und andere Themen, die im Museum behandelt werden, wie islamische Kunst und die Künste des Fernen Ostens.
  • Der Haupteingang des Museums in der Vasilissis Sofias Avenue ist für Besucher mit Einschränkungen besser geeignet. 
  • Das Museum organisiert regelmäßig wechselnde Ausstellungen.
  • Vor Ort gibt es einen ausgezeichneten Geschenke-Shop (und E-Shop) mit uthentischen Nachbildungen von Ausstellungsstücken und Objekten von     traditionellen Handwerkern und modernen griechischen Designern.
  • Es gibt ein Café auf der obersten Etage mit einer Terrasse mit Blick auf den Nationalgarten.

  • Weitere Benaki Museum Standorte Athens sind:

            ◦ Pireos 138

            ◦ Museum of Islamic Art

            ◦ The Ghika Gallery

            ◦ The Yannis Pappas Studio

            ◦ Mentis – Antonopoulos (‘Νema΄) Passementerie

            ◦ The Benaki Toy Museum

            ◦ Delta House
 

VERANTWORTUNGSVOLL REISEN

Bitte helfen Sie uns, den Zauber der ausgestellten Kunstwerke für die künftigen Generationen zu bewahren, indem Sie alle Grundregeln für den Besuch von Museen befolgen.

Berühren Sie bitte keine Überreste oder Monumente. Die natürlichen Öle der Finger können äußerst schädlich für die Artefakte sein.
Verwenden Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Abfalleimer, oder nehmen Sie gegebenefalls Ihren Müll mit, bis Sie einen Abfalleimer finden.
Wenn ein Schild mit der Aufschrift "Kein Blitzlicht" vorhanden ist, beachten Sie es bitte. Es ist zum Schutz der Denkmäler.
Benutzen Sie eine wiederauffüllbare Wasserflasche, um Ihre Kunststoffverbrauch zu minimieren.
In Kulturstätten sind Haustiere (außer Blindenhunde) nicht erlaubt.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Ein Rundgang durch das Kulturzentrum der Stavros Niarchos Stiftung in Athen

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Führung durch die Nationale Galerie Athen

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Das Spektakel im Odeon des Herodes Atticus in Athen

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Eine Tour durch das Nationalmuseum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Athen

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Eine Tour durch das Panathenaic Stadion in Athen

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

Ein Besuch zum zauberhaften Tempel des Poseidon in Sounion

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Ein Rundgang durch das Kulturzentrum der Stavros Niarchos Stiftung in Athen

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Führung durch die Nationale Galerie Athen

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Das Spektakel im Odeon des Herodes Atticus in Athen

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Eine Tour durch das Nationalmuseum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Athen

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Eine Tour durch das Panathenaic Stadion in Athen

The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

Eine Tour durch die archäologische Stätte von Philippi

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

Housed in one of Athens’ most beautiful neoclassical mansions, the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture contains a unique collection of artwork and other exhibits from the very dawn of Greek history to the creation of modern Greece
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 3 hrs
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture tells the story of Greece through artwork and collectables from the 6th millennium BC to the ancient Greek and Greco-Roman civilisations, the Byzantine Empire and the establishment of the Greek state in the early 19th century and beyond. 

It is housed in a beautiful neoclassical building just by the National Garden and Hellenic Parliament, making it one of the most popular private museums in Athens.
We have Antonis Benakis (the son of a prominent politician and an avid collector) to thank for its creation in 1930. Benakis donated his extensive collection, along with the family mansion, for the establishment of the museum. Tens of thousands of other works (including jewellery, ceramics, marble portraits, manuscripts, religious icons, household utensils, costumes and textiles) have since been added. 

The result is a unique historical narrative from the Neolithic Period to the 20th century, showcasing culture in Greece as a continuous evolution rather than a series of individual, unconnected moments.  

The collection grew so large that works (including items of Islamic Art, Chinese porcelain and rare toys) have been relocated to satellite Benaki museums around Athens, which are also worth visiting (see the Good to Know section below for more information). But here we focus on the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture, showing you why it’s a must on your list of Athens museums to visit
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Permanent Collection 

Prehistoric, Ancient Greek and Roman Art

If it’s old (and in Greece that means very old) it will be in the Prehistoric, Ancient Greek and Roman Art section, which covers the Neolithic Period and Bronze Age (from the 6th - millennium BC), the Geometric & Archaic periods, Classical and Hellenistic Greece, and finally the Roman occupation up to the 3rd century AD. Standout exhibits include prehistoric gold jewels from a royal tomb in Thebes, revealing the intricacy of Mycenaean jewellery-making. There are also vases and jewellery from the 9th-6th century BC, ancient Greek pottery, marble portraits of the Ptolemaic rulers of Egypt and glasswork and funerary steles from Roman times. 

Byzantine Art

Linking the ancient Greek world to modern Greece, this section is divided into sections showcasing household and ecclesiastical vessels made of bronze and silver, miniature sculptures and enamels, ceramics and manuscripts and beautiful icons from Byzantine and post-Byzantine times. Look out for the lamps and chandeliers and decorative silver plates displaying subject matter of the artistic tradition of Greco-Roman antiquity. There are also matrices, tools and measuring instruments shining a light on trade and scientific advances of the time.

Post-Byzantine and Neohellenic Art

Exemplifying the high level of culture during the Frankish and Ottoman occupations of Greece, this collection from the 15th-19th century is separated into two sections: Post-Byzantine Ecclesiastical Art, with sacred vessels and liturgical vestments and jewellery, as well as wood-carved church furnishings. Look for the heirlooms brought to Greece by refugees from Asia Minor and Eastern Thrace. Meanwhile, the Neohellenic Secular Art exhibits date from the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453 to the end of the 19th century, including unique reconstructions of wood-panelled rooms from houses in Kozani, Siatista and Hydra. Rare ceramic artwork demonstrates the unbroken tradition of Greek pottery from the Byzantine period. 
 

Historic heirlooms

These artefacts from the end of the 18th century connect us with many of the personalities who helped shape modern Greece, including Ioannis Kapodistrias (Greece’s first prime minister after the 1821 Revolution), King Otto (1833-1862) and King George I (1863-1913). 
Items include swords and other weapons, as well as battle standards and nautical instruments of revolutionary heroes such as Laskarina Bouboulina (telescope), Andreas Miaoulis (compass) and Lord Byron (pistols). There are also manuscripts written by the poets Dionysios Solomos and Constantine Cavafy and the Nobel Prize certificates and gold medals of celebrated poets George Seferis and Odysseus Elytis.

Collection of paintings, drawings and prints

An exhibition of almost 6,000 paintings and drawings by mainly European artists of the 17th-19th century who were inspired by Greece, as well as works by iconic 19th and 20th-century Greek artists (such as Lytras, Vryzakis and Gyzis). Depicting landscapes, ancient and modern monuments, portraits and depictions of historical events and regional costumes, the collection includes works by leading artists of the European Romantic movement and watercolours by Edward Lear and Joseph Cartwright, as well as a complete set of Greek drawings by Thomas Hope. 
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
DOLCEATT-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Dolce Athens Attica Riviera

Athens

Welcome to Dolce Athens Attica Riviera, a splendid retreat in the picturesque town of Brauron on the eastern part of Attica. Just an hour from...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Blue Sea Hotel Alimos

Athens

Located in Alimos, just 300 m from the beach, Blue Sea Hotel Alimos offers tastefully decorated accommodation with free Wi-Fi an...

Official online rates

How do you get to the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens?

  • The Benaki Museum is found on the corner of Koumbari St & Vasilissis Sofias Avenue in central Athens, opposite the National Garden and near the Hellenic Parliament on Syntagma Square. The closest metro station is Evangelismos (blue line) from where it is a 850m (11mins) walk. 

What is the best way to reach the centre from Athens airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car, from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line). 
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to blue line at Monastiraki). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20min walk to the metro station. 
     

What are the opening times and how much are Benaki Museum tickets?

  • The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture is open daily (except Tuesdays and some national holidays) throughout the year. 
  • Tickets are €12 (€9 reduced)
  • More information on opening hours & tickets: here

What is the best time to visit Athens?

  • To get the most out of Athens, it is best to visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll most enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives.
     

How much time do you need at the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture?

  • You could spend a couple of hours in the museum or much more. It’s a matter of how much time you have available and how much detail you want to go into. 
  • Most guided tours last 1-3 hours. Some may combine visits to other museums and monuments in Athens.
  • The museum has a public library with more than 100,000 books and periodicals relating to Greek history and art, as well as folklore, intellectual life and religion and other subject matter in the museum, such as Islamic art and the art of the Far East.
  • The main entrance to the museum, on Vasilissis Sofias Avenue, is better for visitors with disabilities. 
  • The museum organises regular temporary exhibitions.
  • There is an excellent on-site gift shop (and e-shop) with items that include authentic replicas of exhibits and objects by traditional craftsmen and modern Greek designers.

  • Other Benaki Museum sites in Athens include:

            ◦ Pireos 138

            ◦ Museum of Islamic Art

            ◦ The Ghika Gallery

            ◦ The Yannis Pappas Studio

            ◦ Mentis – Antonopoulos (‘Νema΄) Passementerie

            ◦ The Benaki Toy Museum

            ◦ Delta House
 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting museums.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the exhibits.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in museums.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

A tour of the archaeological site of Philippi

Ancient Epidaurus is most famous today for giving us the best-preserved ancient Greek theatre

Ancient Epidaurus, the original deluxe healing centre