Benaki Museum of Greek Culture
EXPERIENCE

Visite du musée Benaki de la culture grecque à Athènes

Situé dans l'une des plus belles demeures néoclassiques d'Athènes, le musée Benaki de la culture grecque abrite une collection unique d'œuvres d'art et d'autres objets exposés depuis l'aube de l'histoire grecque jusqu'à la création de la Grèce moderne
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
1 - 3 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

APERÇU

Le musée Benaki de la culture grecque

Le musée Benaki de la culture grecque raconte l'histoire de la Grèce à travers des œuvres d'art et des objets de collection, depuis le 6ème millénaire avant Jésus-Christ jusqu'aux civilisations grecque et gréco-romaine antiques, à l'Empire byzantin et à l'établissement de l'État grec au début du 19ème siècle et au-delà.

Il est installé dans un magnifique bâtiment néoclassique, juste à côté du Jardin national et du Parlement hellénique, ce qui en fait l'un des musées privés les plus populaires d'Athènes.

C'est à Antonis Benakis (fils d'un homme politique éminent et collectionneur passionné) que nous devons sa création en 1930. Benakis a fait don de sa vaste collection, ainsi que du manoir familial, pour la création du musée. Des dizaines de milliers d'autres œuvres (bijoux, céramiques, portraits en marbre, manuscrits, icônes religieuses, ustensiles ménagers, costumes et textiles) ont été ajoutées depuis.

Le résultat est un récit historique sans pareil, de la période néolithique au 20ème siècle, qui illustre la culture en Grèce comme une évolution continue plutôt que comme une série de moments individuels sans lien entre eux.

La collection est devenue si importante que des œuvres (notamment des objets d'art islamique, des porcelaines chinoises et des jouets rares) ont été transférées dans des musées Benaki annexes autour d'Athènes, qui méritent également d'être visités (voir la section Bon à savoir ci-dessous pour plus d'informations). Mais nous nous concentrons ici sur le musée Benaki de la culture grecque, en vous montrant les raisons pour lesquelles c'est un incontournable de votre liste de musées à visiter à Athènes.

Lire la suite Read Less

A NE PAS RATER

La Collection Permanente

Art préhistorique, grec ancien et romain

Si un objet est ancien (et en Grèce, cela signifie très ancien), il se trouve dans la section consacrée à l'art préhistorique, grec ancien et romain, qui couvre la période néolithique et l'âge du bronze (à partir du 6ème millénaire avant Jésus-Christ), les périodes géométrique et archaïque, la Grèce classique et hellénistique, et enfin l'occupation romaine jusqu'au 3ème siècle de notre ère. Parmi les objets exposés, citons les bijoux en or préhistoriques provenant d'une tombe royale de Thèbes, qui révèlent la complexité de la joaillerie mycénienne. On y trouve également des vases et des bijoux datant du 9ème au 6ème siècle avant J.-C., des poteries grecques anciennes, des portraits en marbre des souverains ptolémaïques d'Égypte, ainsi que des verreries et des stèles funéraires de l'époque romaine.

Art Byzantin 

Reliant la Grèce antique à la Grèce moderne, cette section est divisée en plusieurs parties présentant des récipients domestiques et ecclésiastiques en bronze et en argent, des sculptures miniatures et des émaux, des céramiques et des manuscrits ainsi que de magnifiques icônes de l'époque byzantine et post-byzantine. Les lampes et les lustres, ainsi que les plaques d'argent décoratives dont les sujets s'inscrivent dans la tradition artistique de l'antiquité gréco-romaine, sont à découvrir. Des matrices, des outils et des instruments de mesure témoignent également des progrès commerciaux et scientifiques de l'époque.

Art post-byzantin et néo-hellénique

Illustrant le haut niveau de culture pendant les occupations franques et ottomanes de la Grèce, cette collection du 15ème au 19ème siècle est séparée en deux sections : L'art ecclésiastique post-byzantin, avec des vases sacrés, des vêtements liturgiques et des bijoux, ainsi que du mobilier d'église sculpté en bois. Vous y trouverez des objets apportés en Grèce par des réfugiés d'Asie et de Thrace orientale. Quant à l'exposition d'art séculier néo-hellénique, elle date de la fin de l'Empire byzantin, en 1453, jusqu'à la fin du 19ème siècle. Elle comprend des reconstitutions uniques de pièces à panneaux de bois provenant de maisons de Kozani, Siatista et Hydra. De rares objets d'art en céramique illustrent la tradition ininterrompue de la poterie grecque depuis la période byzantine.

Lire la suite Read Less
Explore the vintage shops of Psirri
Group

Unexpected Athens Orientation Walk

4 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
188 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund
Come with us around this very old modern city, and see how it evolved into one of Europe’s most interesting urban spaces.

Comment se rendre au musée Benaki de la culture grecque à Athènes?

  • Le musée Benaki se trouve à l'angle de la rue Koumbari et de l'avenue Vasilissis-Sofias, dans le centre d'Athènes, en face du jardin national et près du Parlement hellénique sur la place Syntagma. La station de métro la plus proche est Syntagma (ligne bleue & rouge), depuis laquelle il faut marcher 600 mètres (10 minutes). 

Quel est le meilleur moyen de rejoindre le centre depuis l'aéroport ou le port d'Athènes?

  • Vous pouvez prendre un taxi (environ 38 € dans la journée) ou un bus, ou louer une voiture, depuis l'aéroport international d'Athènes, ou prendre le métro directement jusqu'au centre (ligne bleue).
  •  Il y a également des taxis (25 € dans la journée), des bus et une station de métro (ligne verte) au port du Pirée (changement pour la ligne bleue à Monastiraki). En fonction de votre quai de ferry, la station de métro se trouve à 15-20 minutes de marche.

Quels sont les horaires d'ouverture et combien coûtent les tickets pour le musée Benaki?

  • Le musée Benaki de la culture grecque est ouvert tous les jours (sauf les mardis et certains jours fériés) pendant toute l'année.
  • Les tickets coûtent 12 € (9 € en tarif réduit).
  • Plus d'informations sur les heures d'ouverture et les tickets

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter Athènes?

  • Pour profiter au maximum d'Athènes, il est préférable de s'y rendre entre octobre et avril, lorsque la foule estivale est peu dense et que vous apprécierez la compagnie des Athéniens dans leur quotidien.
  • Automne
  • Printemps
  • Été
  • Hiver

De combien de temps aurez-vous besoin au Musée Benaki de la culture grecque ?

  • Vous pouvez passer quelques heures dans le musée ou bien beaucoup plus. Cela dépend du temps dont vous disposez et de la profondeur de votre visite. 
  • La plupart des visites guidées durent de 1 à 3 heures et certaines peuvent combiner la visite d'autres musées et monuments d'Athènes.
  • Le musée dispose d'une bibliothèque publique avec plus de 100 000 livres et revues concernant l'histoire et l'art grecs, ainsi que le folklore, la vie intellectuelle et la religion et d'autres sujets du musée, tels que l'art islamique et l'art d'Extrême-Orient.
  • L'entrée principale du musée, située sur l'avenue Vasilissis-Sofias, est mieux adaptée aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite.
  • Le musée organise régulièrement des expositions temporaires.
  • Il y a une excellente boutique de souvenirs sur place (et une boutique en ligne) avec des articles comprenant des répliques authentiques d'expositions et des objets réalisés par des artisans traditionnels et des designers grecs modernes.
  • Il y a un café au dernier étage avec une terrasse donnant sur le jardin national.

Les autres sites du musée Benaki à Athènes sont les suivants :

            ◦ Pireos 138

            ◦ Museum of Islamic Art

            ◦ The Ghika Gallery

            ◦ The Yannis Pappas Studio

            ◦ Mentis – Antonopoulos (‘Νema΄) Passementerie

            ◦ The Benaki Toy Museum

            ◦ Delta House
 

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie des œuvres d'art exposées pour les générations futures en respectant les règles de base de la visite des musées.

Ne touchez pas les vestiges ou les monuments. Les huiles naturellement sécrétées par les doigts peuvent endommager les artéfacts.
Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Si vous voyez une pancarte interdisant de photographier avec flash, merci de la respecter. C’est une mesure destinée à la protection des monuments/ artéfacts.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Les animaux domestiques (autres que les chiens guides) ne sont pas autorisés dans les sites culturels et les musées.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Le spectacle de l’Odéon d’Hérodes Atticus à Athènes

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

Découvrez le temple enchanteur de Poséidon, à Sounion

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

Une promenade dans sites culturels de la ville de Kos

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Le spectacle de l’Odéon d’Hérodes Atticus à Athènes

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

Housed in one of Athens’ most beautiful neoclassical mansions, the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture contains a unique collection of artwork and other exhibits from the very dawn of Greek history to the creation of modern Greece
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 3 hrs
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture tells the story of Greece through artwork and collectables from the 6th millennium BC to the ancient Greek and Greco-Roman civilisations, the Byzantine Empire and the establishment of the Greek state in the early 19th century and beyond. 

It is housed in a beautiful neoclassical building just by the National Garden and Hellenic Parliament, making it one of the most popular private museums in Athens.
We have Antonis Benakis (the son of a prominent politician and an avid collector) to thank for its creation in 1930. Benakis donated his extensive collection, along with the family mansion, for the establishment of the museum. Tens of thousands of other works (including jewellery, ceramics, marble portraits, manuscripts, religious icons, household utensils, costumes and textiles) have since been added. 

The result is a unique historical narrative from the Neolithic Period to the 20th century, showcasing culture in Greece as a continuous evolution rather than a series of individual, unconnected moments.  

The collection grew so large that works (including items of Islamic Art, Chinese porcelain and rare toys) have been relocated to satellite Benaki museums around Athens, which are also worth visiting (see the Good to Know section below for more information). But here we focus on the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture, showing you why it’s a must on your list of Athens museums to visit
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Permanent Collection 

Prehistoric, Ancient Greek and Roman Art

If it’s old (and in Greece that means very old) it will be in the Prehistoric, Ancient Greek and Roman Art section, which covers the Neolithic Period and Bronze Age (from the 6th - millennium BC), the Geometric & Archaic periods, Classical and Hellenistic Greece, and finally the Roman occupation up to the 3rd century AD. Standout exhibits include prehistoric gold jewels from a royal tomb in Thebes, revealing the intricacy of Mycenaean jewellery-making. There are also vases and jewellery from the 9th-6th century BC, ancient Greek pottery, marble portraits of the Ptolemaic rulers of Egypt and glasswork and funerary steles from Roman times. 

Byzantine Art

Linking the ancient Greek world to modern Greece, this section is divided into sections showcasing household and ecclesiastical vessels made of bronze and silver, miniature sculptures and enamels, ceramics and manuscripts and beautiful icons from Byzantine and post-Byzantine times. Look out for the lamps and chandeliers and decorative silver plates displaying subject matter of the artistic tradition of Greco-Roman antiquity. There are also matrices, tools and measuring instruments shining a light on trade and scientific advances of the time.

Post-Byzantine and Neohellenic Art

Exemplifying the high level of culture during the Frankish and Ottoman occupations of Greece, this collection from the 15th-19th century is separated into two sections: Post-Byzantine Ecclesiastical Art, with sacred vessels and liturgical vestments and jewellery, as well as wood-carved church furnishings. Look for the heirlooms brought to Greece by refugees from Asia Minor and Eastern Thrace. Meanwhile, the Neohellenic Secular Art exhibits date from the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453 to the end of the 19th century, including unique reconstructions of wood-panelled rooms from houses in Kozani, Siatista and Hydra. Rare ceramic artwork demonstrates the unbroken tradition of Greek pottery from the Byzantine period. 
 

Historic heirlooms

These artefacts from the end of the 18th century connect us with many of the personalities who helped shape modern Greece, including Ioannis Kapodistrias (Greece’s first prime minister after the 1821 Revolution), King Otto (1833-1862) and King George I (1863-1913). 
Items include swords and other weapons, as well as battle standards and nautical instruments of revolutionary heroes such as Laskarina Bouboulina (telescope), Andreas Miaoulis (compass) and Lord Byron (pistols). There are also manuscripts written by the poets Dionysios Solomos and Constantine Cavafy and the Nobel Prize certificates and gold medals of celebrated poets George Seferis and Odysseus Elytis.

Collection of paintings, drawings and prints

An exhibition of almost 6,000 paintings and drawings by mainly European artists of the 17th-19th century who were inspired by Greece, as well as works by iconic 19th and 20th-century Greek artists (such as Lytras, Vryzakis and Gyzis). Depicting landscapes, ancient and modern monuments, portraits and depictions of historical events and regional costumes, the collection includes works by leading artists of the European Romantic movement and watercolours by Edward Lear and Joseph Cartwright, as well as a complete set of Greek drawings by Thomas Hope. 
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
DOLCEATT-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Dolce Athens Attica Riviera

Athens

Welcome to Dolce Athens Attica Riviera, a splendid retreat in the picturesque town of Brauron on the eastern part of Attica. Just an hour from...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Blue Sea Hotel Alimos

Athens

Located in Alimos, just 300 m from the beach, Blue Sea Hotel Alimos offers tastefully decorated accommodation with free Wi-Fi an...

Official online rates

How do you get to the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens?

  • The Benaki Museum is found on the corner of Koumbari St & Vasilissis Sofias Avenue in central Athens, opposite the National Garden and near the Hellenic Parliament on Syntagma Square. The closest metro station is Evangelismos (blue line) from where it is a 850m (11mins) walk. 

What is the best way to reach the centre from Athens airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car, from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line). 
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to blue line at Monastiraki). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20min walk to the metro station. 
     

What are the opening times and how much are Benaki Museum tickets?

  • The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture is open daily (except Tuesdays and some national holidays) throughout the year. 
  • Tickets are €12 (€9 reduced)
  • More information on opening hours & tickets: here

What is the best time to visit Athens?

  • To get the most out of Athens, it is best to visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll most enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives.
     

How much time do you need at the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture?

  • You could spend a couple of hours in the museum or much more. It’s a matter of how much time you have available and how much detail you want to go into. 
  • Most guided tours last 1-3 hours. Some may combine visits to other museums and monuments in Athens.
  • The museum has a public library with more than 100,000 books and periodicals relating to Greek history and art, as well as folklore, intellectual life and religion and other subject matter in the museum, such as Islamic art and the art of the Far East.
  • The main entrance to the museum, on Vasilissis Sofias Avenue, is better for visitors with disabilities. 
  • The museum organises regular temporary exhibitions.
  • There is an excellent on-site gift shop (and e-shop) with items that include authentic replicas of exhibits and objects by traditional craftsmen and modern Greek designers.

  • Other Benaki Museum sites in Athens include:

            ◦ Pireos 138

            ◦ Museum of Islamic Art

            ◦ The Ghika Gallery

            ◦ The Yannis Pappas Studio

            ◦ Mentis – Antonopoulos (‘Νema΄) Passementerie

            ◦ The Benaki Toy Museum

            ◦ Delta House
 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting museums.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the exhibits.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in museums.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

A tour of the archaeological site of Philippi

Ancient Epidaurus is most famous today for giving us the best-preserved ancient Greek theatre

Ancient Epidaurus, the original deluxe healing centre