Benaki Museum of Greek Culture
EXPERIENCE

Экскурсия по Музею греческой культуры им. Бенаки в Афинах

Музей им. Бенаки, расположенный в красиве йшем неоклассическом здании Афин, хранит уникальную коллекцию произведений искусства и других экспонатов, охватывающих перид от истоков греческой цивилизации до формирования современного государства Греции.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
1 - 3 часа
По сезону
Круглый год

OVERVIEW

Музей греческой культуры им. Бенаки 

Музей греческой культуры им. Бенаки поведает Вам историю Греции через произведения искусства и экспонаты, представлющие самые различные эпохи: от 6-ого тысячилетия до н. э. до древнегреческой и греко-римской эпохи, от времён Византийской империи до формирования современного греческого государства в начале 19-ого века и далее.

Музей расположен в стенах красивейшего неоклассического здания недалеко от Национального сада и Парламента Греции. Это один из самых популярных частных музеев в Афинах.

Музей обязан своим появлением Антонису Бенакису (сыну выдающегося политика и коллекционера искусства), который основал его в 1930 году. Бенакис предоставил обширную коллекцию, наряду с семейным особняком, для учреждения музея. С тех пор к основной коллекции были добавлены десятки тысяч экспонатов, включая ювелирные украшения, керамические изделия, мраморные статуи, рукописи, иконы, предметы домашней утвари, костюмы и ткани.

В результате сложилась уникальная историческая мозаика, охватывающия период с  Каменного века до современности. Таким образом, у посетителей есть возможность увидеть не разрозненные моменты истории, но непрерывный путь развития цивилизации в Греции.

Со временем коллекция разрослась настолько, что многие эспонаты (включая произведения исламского искусства,  китайский фарфор и редкие игрушки) были распределены в отдельные дочерние музеи им. Бенаки, расположенные в разных районах Афин, которые мы тоже рекомендуем посетить. (За более подробной информацией отсылаем к разделу статьи «Полезная информация»). Здесь же мы сосредоточим внимание на Музее греческой культуры им. Бенаки, который просто нельзя не включить в экскурсионную программу по музеям Афин

Подробнее Read Less

DON'T MISS

Постоянная коллекция 

Доисторический период, Древняя Греция и Римская эпоха

Самые древние экспонаты (а в случае Греции мы говорим о глубокой древности) находятся в зале Доисторического, древнегреческого и римского периодов, который охватывает период от Неолитической эпохи и Бронзового века (с 6-ого тысячилетия до н. э.), до Геометрического и Архаического периода, а далее до Классической античности и Эллинистической эпохи, заканчиваясь временами Римского завоевания вплоть до 3-ого века н. э. Среди экспонатов особенно выделим ювелирные украшения доисторической эпохи, найденные в гробнице в Фивах, которые ярко подтверждают развитость ювелирного мастерства в Микенскую эпоху. Кроме того, отметим вазы и украшения, относящиеся к периоду с 9-ого по 6-ой века до н. э., а также древнегреческие глиняные сосуды, мраморные бюсты Птолемейских правителей Египта, стеклянные изделия и надгробные монументы Римской эпохи.

Византийское искусство

Этот зал музея словно проводит невидимую нить между античной и современной Грецией. Сам зал разделён на несколько секций, которые демонстрируют предметы домашнего обихода и церковные сосуды, выполненные из бронзы и серебра, миниатюрные скульптуры и керамические статуэтки, посуду и рукописи, а также прекрасные иконы византийских и пост-византийских времён. Обратите внимание на лампы и люстры, декоративные серебряные тарелки с изображением сюжетов, характерных для художественной традиции греко-римской античности.  Вы также увидите матрицы, инструменты и измерительные приборы, которые проливают свет на состояние науки и торговли в эпоху Византии.

Пост-византийское и новогреческое искусство

Коллекция 15-19 веков  ярко демонстрирует высокий уровень развития культуры и цивилизации во времена завоеваний греческих территорий франками и Османской империей. Зал разделён на две секции. В первой представлено церковное искусство Византии: священные сосуды, обрядные одеяния, украшения а также элементы церковного убранства из резного дерева. Особенно обратите внимание на реликвии, привезённые в Грецию беженцами из Малой Азии и Восточной Фракии. Вторая секция посвященая светскому искусству Новогреческого периода. Экспонаты этой коллекции относятся к периоду после падения Византийской империи в 1453 году до 19-ого века. Сюда вошли уникальные реконструкции деревянных домов из городов  Козани, и Сиатитса,  а также с острова Идра. Редкие керамические произведения искусства демонстрируют непрерывную традицию гончарного мастерства в Греции и связь с Византийским периодом.

 

Подробнее Read Less

Как добраться до Музея греческой культуры им. Бенаки в Афинах?

  • Музей им. Бенаки находится на пересечении ул. Кумбари и проспекта Василиссис Софиас, в центре Афин, напротив Национального сада и недалеко от Парламента Греции, расположенного на площади Синтагма. Ближайшей станцией метро является станция «Синтагм» (синяя и красная линия), откуда можно дойти пешком до музея (600 метров, 10 минут). 

Как легче всего добраться до центра Афин из аэропорта или порта?

  • Можно взять такси (стоимостью 38 € в дневное время)  или сесть на автобус. Также можно арендовать автомобиль в Международном аэропорту Афин или сесть на метро, которое довезёт Вас прямо к центру города (синяя линия).
  • Из порта Пирей можно взять такси (стоимостью 25 € в дневное время), а также доехать на автобусе или на метро (зелёная линия). В случае метро, Вам необходимо пересесть на синюю линию на станции «Монастираки». В зависимости от причала, у которого остановился Ваш корабль, чтобы дойти до станции метро, понадобится около 15-20 минут пешком.
     

 

Какой режим работы и стоимость билетов в Музее им. Бенаки?

  • Музей греческой культуры им. Бенаки работает круглогодично и открыт ежедневно (кроме вторников и некоторых национальных праздников).
    Цена билета – 12 € (льготный билет - 9€).
    Более подробная информация о режиме работы и билетах по ссылке: здесь

Когда лучше всего посетить Афины?

  • Чтобы как можно полнее познакомиться с Афинами, лучше всего приехать в период с октября по апрель, когда нет летнего столпотворения туристов и можно окунуться  в повседневную городскую жизнь Афин.

Сколько времени требуется, чтобы обойти Музей греческой культуры им. Бенаки?

  • В музее можно провести пару часов, а можно и намного больше. Всё зависит от того, насколько подробно Вы желаете  познакомиться с коллекцией музея.
  • Большинство экскурсий в сопровождении гида длятся 1-3 часа. Некоторые туры включают в себя посещение и других музеев и памятников на территории Афин.
  • В музее имеется публичная библиотека, в которой собрано более 100 000 книг и периодических изданий по греческой истории и искусству, в том числе о фольклоре, духовной жизни и религии, а также на другие темы, которыми занимается музей, как например Исламское искусство и искусство Дальнего Востока
  • Главный вход в музей находится со стороны проспекта Василиссис Софиас, он также удобен для посетителей с двигательной инвалидностью.
  • Музей организует постоянные и временные экспозиции.
  • В музее работает прекрасный сувенирный магазин магазин (а также электронный магазин), в котором можно найти точные копии экспонатов и других предметов традиционного прикладного искусства и работы современных греческих дизайнеров.

  • Дополнительные выставочные площадки Музея им. Бенаки:

            ◦ Pireos 138

            ◦ Museum of Islamic Art

            ◦ The Ghika Gallery

            ◦ The Yannis Pappas Studio

            ◦ Mentis – Antonopoulos (‘Νema΄) Passementerie

            ◦ The Benaki Toy Museum

            ◦ Delta House
 

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Соблюдая основные правила при посещении музея, Вы помогаете нам сохранить волшебство художественных произведений и передать это наследие всем будущим поколениям.

Не дотрагивайтесь до экспонатов. Естественная маслянистость человеческих отпечатков может нанести им серьёзный урон.
Пользуйтесь установленными урнами для выброса мусора. В случае если таковых нет, уносите мусор с собой.
Будьте добры соблюдать ограничения по запрету на вспышку, так как оно направлено на защиту экспонатов.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Используйте установленные мусорные урны (будьте особенно аккуратны с жевательными резинками, которые могут повредить мрамор).
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Экскурсия по Национальной галерее г. Афины

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Экскурсия по Парку культуры фонда Ставроса Ниархоса в Афинах

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Экскурсия по Панафинейскому стадиону в Афинах

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Экскурсия по Государственному музею современного искусства в Афинах

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Восхитительный Одеон Ирода Аттического в Афинах

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

Волшебная красота храма Посейдона на Сунио

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Экскурсия по Национальной галерее г. Афины

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Экскурсия по Парку культуры фонда Ставроса Ниархоса в Афинах

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Экскурсия по Панафинейскому стадиону в Афинах

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Экскурсия по Государственному музею современного искусства в Афинах

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Восхитительный Одеон Ирода Аттического в Афинах

The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

Экскурсия по археологическому памятнику в Филиппах

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

Housed in one of Athens’ most beautiful neoclassical mansions, the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture contains a unique collection of artwork and other exhibits from the very dawn of Greek history to the creation of modern Greece
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 3 hrs
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture tells the story of Greece through artwork and collectables from the 6th millennium BC to the ancient Greek and Greco-Roman civilisations, the Byzantine Empire and the establishment of the Greek state in the early 19th century and beyond. 

It is housed in a beautiful neoclassical building just by the National Garden and Hellenic Parliament, making it one of the most popular private museums in Athens.
We have Antonis Benakis (the son of a prominent politician and an avid collector) to thank for its creation in 1930. Benakis donated his extensive collection, along with the family mansion, for the establishment of the museum. Tens of thousands of other works (including jewellery, ceramics, marble portraits, manuscripts, religious icons, household utensils, costumes and textiles) have since been added. 

The result is a unique historical narrative from the Neolithic Period to the 20th century, showcasing culture in Greece as a continuous evolution rather than a series of individual, unconnected moments.  

The collection grew so large that works (including items of Islamic Art, Chinese porcelain and rare toys) have been relocated to satellite Benaki museums around Athens, which are also worth visiting (see the Good to Know section below for more information). But here we focus on the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture, showing you why it’s a must on your list of Athens museums to visit
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The Permanent Collection 

Prehistoric, Ancient Greek and Roman Art

If it’s old (and in Greece that means very old) it will be in the Prehistoric, Ancient Greek and Roman Art section, which covers the Neolithic Period and Bronze Age (from the 6th - millennium BC), the Geometric & Archaic periods, Classical and Hellenistic Greece, and finally the Roman occupation up to the 3rd century AD. Standout exhibits include prehistoric gold jewels from a royal tomb in Thebes, revealing the intricacy of Mycenaean jewellery-making. There are also vases and jewellery from the 9th-6th century BC, ancient Greek pottery, marble portraits of the Ptolemaic rulers of Egypt and glasswork and funerary steles from Roman times. 

Byzantine Art

Linking the ancient Greek world to modern Greece, this section is divided into sections showcasing household and ecclesiastical vessels made of bronze and silver, miniature sculptures and enamels, ceramics and manuscripts and beautiful icons from Byzantine and post-Byzantine times. Look out for the lamps and chandeliers and decorative silver plates displaying subject matter of the artistic tradition of Greco-Roman antiquity. There are also matrices, tools and measuring instruments shining a light on trade and scientific advances of the time.

Post-Byzantine and Neohellenic Art

Exemplifying the high level of culture during the Frankish and Ottoman occupations of Greece, this collection from the 15th-19th century is separated into two sections: Post-Byzantine Ecclesiastical Art, with sacred vessels and liturgical vestments and jewellery, as well as wood-carved church furnishings. Look for the heirlooms brought to Greece by refugees from Asia Minor and Eastern Thrace. Meanwhile, the Neohellenic Secular Art exhibits date from the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453 to the end of the 19th century, including unique reconstructions of wood-panelled rooms from houses in Kozani, Siatista and Hydra. Rare ceramic artwork demonstrates the unbroken tradition of Greek pottery from the Byzantine period. 
 

Historic heirlooms

These artefacts from the end of the 18th century connect us with many of the personalities who helped shape modern Greece, including Ioannis Kapodistrias (Greece’s first prime minister after the 1821 Revolution), King Otto (1833-1862) and King George I (1863-1913). 
Items include swords and other weapons, as well as battle standards and nautical instruments of revolutionary heroes such as Laskarina Bouboulina (telescope), Andreas Miaoulis (compass) and Lord Byron (pistols). There are also manuscripts written by the poets Dionysios Solomos and Constantine Cavafy and the Nobel Prize certificates and gold medals of celebrated poets George Seferis and Odysseus Elytis.

Collection of paintings, drawings and prints

An exhibition of almost 6,000 paintings and drawings by mainly European artists of the 17th-19th century who were inspired by Greece, as well as works by iconic 19th and 20th-century Greek artists (such as Lytras, Vryzakis and Gyzis). Depicting landscapes, ancient and modern monuments, portraits and depictions of historical events and regional costumes, the collection includes works by leading artists of the European Romantic movement and watercolours by Edward Lear and Joseph Cartwright, as well as a complete set of Greek drawings by Thomas Hope. 
 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

Done
Done
Done
Done
DOLCEATT-photo-0 Offer
Accommodation

Dolce Athens Attica Riviera

Athens

Welcome to Dolce Athens Attica Riviera, a splendid retreat in the picturesque town of Brauron on the eastern part of Attica. Just an hour from...

Official online rates

Accommodation

Blue Sea Hotel Alimos

Athens

Located in Alimos, just 300 m from the beach, Blue Sea Hotel Alimos offers tastefully decorated accommodation with free Wi-Fi an...

Official online rates

How do you get to the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens?

  • The Benaki Museum is found on the corner of Koumbari St & Vasilissis Sofias Avenue in central Athens, opposite the National Garden and near the Hellenic Parliament on Syntagma Square. The closest metro station is Evangelismos (blue line) from where it is a 850m (11mins) walk. 

What is the best way to reach the centre from Athens airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car, from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line). 
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to blue line at Monastiraki). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20min walk to the metro station. 
     

What are the opening times and how much are Benaki Museum tickets?

  • The Benaki Museum of Greek Culture is open daily (except Tuesdays and some national holidays) throughout the year. 
  • Tickets are €12 (€9 reduced)
  • More information on opening hours & tickets: here

What is the best time to visit Athens?

  • To get the most out of Athens, it is best to visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll most enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives.
     

How much time do you need at the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture?

  • You could spend a couple of hours in the museum or much more. It’s a matter of how much time you have available and how much detail you want to go into. 
  • Most guided tours last 1-3 hours. Some may combine visits to other museums and monuments in Athens.
  • The museum has a public library with more than 100,000 books and periodicals relating to Greek history and art, as well as folklore, intellectual life and religion and other subject matter in the museum, such as Islamic art and the art of the Far East.
  • The main entrance to the museum, on Vasilissis Sofias Avenue, is better for visitors with disabilities. 
  • The museum organises regular temporary exhibitions.
  • There is an excellent on-site gift shop (and e-shop) with items that include authentic replicas of exhibits and objects by traditional craftsmen and modern Greek designers.

  • Other Benaki Museum sites in Athens include:

            ◦ Pireos 138

            ◦ Museum of Islamic Art

            ◦ The Ghika Gallery

            ◦ The Yannis Pappas Studio

            ◦ Mentis – Antonopoulos (‘Νema΄) Passementerie

            ◦ The Benaki Toy Museum

            ◦ Delta House
 

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting museums.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the exhibits.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in museums.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

 The Panathenaic Stadium (Kallimarmaro) in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

The theatre was central to Philippi’s history

A tour of the archaeological site of Philippi

Ancient Epidaurus is most famous today for giving us the best-preserved ancient Greek theatre

Ancient Epidaurus, the original deluxe healing centre