Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making
EXPERIENCE

Экскурсия по Музею современного искусства им. Гуландриса в Афинах

Basil & Elise Goulandris Foundation, Photo © Christophoros Doulgeris
Музей-сокровищница, появление которого ожидалось на протяжении 30 лет. Сегодня зздесь хранятся работы известнейших представителей современного искусства!
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
продолжительность
1 - 2 часа
По сезону
Круглый год

ОБЩИЙ ОБЗОР

Пикассо, Ван Гог, Моне, Сезан, Эль Греко, де Кирико, Миро, Дега, Гоген, Поллок... Кажется, что мы просто перечисляем самые известные имена современной живописи. Но именно такие имена составляют особенную экспозицию этого музея. Это частная коллекция греческой супружеской четы Гуландри, любящей современное искусство и решившей представить своё собрание афинской публике. 

Музей современного искусства им. Гуландриса очарует вас. Любители искусства просто не должны пропустить его, даже если находятся в Афинах совсем ненадолго.

Музей является даром фонда им. Василия и Элизы Гуландри, завершение которого ожидалось на протяжении последних 30 лет. Известные судовладельцы - чета Гуландри собирала свою коллекцию на многих аукционах в Лондоне и Нью-Йорке всегда с мечтой о том, что сможет выставить эти произведения в Афинах. (Меньший по размерам Музей современного искусства на их родном острове Андрос функционирует с 1979 года). Мечта воплотилась в реальность в октябре 2019 года, когда новый музей был открыт для публики в отреставрированном неоклассическом здании в набирающем популярность районе Панграти, который когда-то считался районом артистической богемы города. Музей расположен недалеко от Панафинейского стадиона.

Музей представляет все ведущие артистические направления современного искусства – реализм, импрессионизм, кубизм, абстракционизм... В экспозицию входят около 180 произведений, в основном относящиеся к 19-му и 20-му столетиям, выполенные всемирно известными художниками. Кроме того, в музее есть отдельный зал, посвящённый известным именам греческой живописи.

Экспозицию дополняют скульптуры, библиотека и коллекция мебели. Возможно, посещение этого музея станет самым необычным пунктом вашей культурной программы в Афинах!

Подробнее Read Less

НЕ ЗАБЫТЬ

Зарубежные мастера

Коллекция настолько обширна, что не знаешь с какого имени начать. Картина «Сбор оливок» Винсента Ван Гога осталась в истории как одна из трёх работ, которые были завершены мастером во время его пребывания в психиатрической клинике на юге Франции. А работа Пабло Пикассо «Обнажённая с поднятыми руками» является одним из тех произведений, которые придвинули художника к кубизму. Клод Моне провёл бесконечное количество часов, запечатлевая на полотне одно и то же место в разное время суток. Его картина «Руанский кафедральный собор» (в розовом оттенке) считается одним из наиболее завершённых произведений этой серии, на котором собор изображён при первых лучах солнца.  Сюрреализм представлен произведениями Хуана Миро «Кузнечик» и Василия Кандинского «Оба полосатые». Не пройдите мимо картины отличительной простоты и мастерства «Портрета  художника, смотрящего через плечо», выполненного Полем Сезанном. В музее также выставлены работы Эль Греко, творившего в  16 веке. Его картина «Св. Вероника с плащяницей» изображает Христа на пути к распятию. Кроме того, в музее хранится коллекция набросков разных художников, включая Анри Матисса, Брака, Пикассо, Бальтюса и Жана Фотрие. 

Греческие художники

Рекомендуем не пропустить зал с работами интересных греческих художников. Одними из самых признанных являются Яннис Царухис, чей излюбленный морской мотив представлен в этом музее, и Яннис Моралис, чья серия работ  1977-1994 годов  под названием «Эротика», кажется, что была создана в течение нескольких дней.  Обратите внимание на работу Алекоса Фасьяноса «Чудесный день» (или «Утренний велосипедист»), отличающуюся самобытным и образным стилем. Также заслуживает внимания картина Янниса Гаитиса «Снятие с креста», принадлежащая к серии под названием «Памятники древности», которая была создана как протест против коммерциализации античного наследия. Вас также ждут веяния кубизма в произведении Никоса Хатзикириакоса-Гикоса «Парижские крыши». Полюбуйтесь на эти угловатые крыши, чердачные комнаты и треугольные постаменты его неколассических зданий.

Другие эскпонаты

Кроме знакомства с живописью, посетители музея смогут увидеть скульптуры и другие произведения искусства более мелких размеров.  Скульптура Огюста Родена «Вечная весна», запечатлевающая влюблённую пару, признана редким и одним из красивейших образцов его творчества. «Маленькая четырнадцатилетняя танцовщица» Эдгара Дега является единственной скульптурной работой мастера, выставлявшейся при его жизни. «Женщина Венеции V» Альберто Джакометти представляет собой бронзовый отлив одной из известных «Венецианских женщин», созданных скульптором, когда он представлял Францию на Биеннале в Венеции.   «Трубадур» Джорджио де Кирико представяет собой яркий пример того, как итальянский художник использовал манекены, чтобы передать мотив матафизического. В музее есть также зал, в котором представлена коллекция французской мебели лучших мастеров по дереву. Кроме того, вы встретите предметы быта 18-ого века, в том числе китайские произведения из фарфора и нефрита. 

Кафе-ресторан

Кафе-ресторан музея им. Гуландриса можно запросто причислить к коллекции самих экспонатов! Это городской сад под открытым небом, где вас ждёт вкуснейшее меню креативной средиземноморской кухни, составленное признанным шеф-поваром Греции Андреасом Лагосом. Атмосфера ресторана успокаивает и одновременно поднимает настроение. Здесь приятно посидеть в раздумьях, осмысливая увиденные в залах музея произведения искусства.

Библиотека

Желающим познакомиться с музеем поглубже предлагем зайти в библиотеку музея, книжная коллекция которой насчитывает более 5000 греческих, английских и французских книг по теории и истории искусства, живописи, скульптуре, дизайну, искусству гравюр, архитектуре и прикладному искусству. Здесь также представлены каталоги выставок и монографии выдающихся зарубежных и греческих художников, периодические издания зарубежных музеев, энциклопедии и справочники по искусству.

Подробнее Read Less
athens-highlights-mythology-tour-logo
Group

Athens Highlights Mythology Tour

4 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
1227 Отзывы
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Join our Athens mythological tour & get to the heart of the ancient world by exploring Athens' landmark sites through timeless myths. Uncover fascinating stories...

От аэропорта

  • На метро: На синей линии до станции Евангелизмос, а далее 1 км пешком (15 минут).
  • На машине или такси: 34 км (30 минут, примерно 38 € в дневное время)

Из порта Пирей

  • На метро: На зелёной линии до станции Монастираки, а далее на синей линии до станции Синтагма и оттуда пешком 1,4 км (20 минут), или же до станции Евангелизмос и далее пешком 550 метров (8 минут).
  • На машние или такси: 14 км (30 минут, примерно 25 € в дневное время).

Рекомендуем планировать поездку в период с октября по апрель, так как в это время нет скопления туристов. Кроме того, поездка в Афины в такое время года позволит окунуться в ритм жизни местных жителей и увидеть город в его естественном режиме.

  • Осень
  • Весна
  • Летом
  • Зима
  • Рекомендуем провести в музее от двух часов и более, в зависомости от имеющегося времени, а также от того, насколько подробно вы хотите ознакомиться с экспозициями.
  • Большинство экскурсий с гидом длятся 1-2 часа.
  • В стоимость входного билета входит аудио-тур на индивидуальном устройстве с описанием экспонатов.
  • Кафе-ресторан открыт в часы работы музея, но Вам не требуется покупать входной билет, чтобы зайти в кафе.
  • Музей проводит мастер-классы и другие мероприятия для детей.
  • При музее работает сувенирный магазин, а также его онлайн версия.
  • В зависимости от периода вашего приезда в Афины, вам может посчастливиться попасть на одно из мероприятий, проводимых в музее (более подробная информация)
  • Музей оснащён просторными лифтами и доступом для посетителй, использующих инвалидное кресло. Также в музее предоставляются бесплатно инвалидные кресла. Входной билет для посетителей с инвалидностью и сопровождающих их лиц бесплатный.
  • Если у вас останется в запасе время, рекомендцем прогуляться по окрестным улочкам района Панграти, где вы встретите множество интересных магазинчиков и ресторанов-кафе.

РЕКОМЕНДАЦИИ ДЛЯ ОТДЫХАЮЩИХ

Соблюдая основные правила при посещении археологических мест, Вы помогаете нам сохранить потрясающее богатство культурного наследия Греции и передать его всем будущим поколениям.

Не дотрагивайтесь до развалин и монументов. Естественная маслянистость человеческих отпечатков может нанести серьёзный урон многим экспонатам.
Пользуйтесь установленными урнами для выброса мусора. В случае если таковых нет, уносите мусор с собой.
Будьте добры соблюдать ограничения по запрету на вспышку, так как оно направлено на защиту экспонатов.
Пользуйтесь многоразовыми ёмкостями для воды, чтобы уменьшить использование пластиковых бутылок.
Животные (кроме собак-повадырей) не допускаются на территорию культурных памятников.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·
A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Экскурсия по Национальной галерее г. Афины

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Экскурсия по Парку культуры фонда Ставроса Ниархоса в Афинах

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Экскурсия по Панафинейскому стадиону в Афинах

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Экскурсия по Государственному музею современного искусства в Афинах

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Восхитительный Одеон Ирода Аттического в Афинах

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Экскурсия по Музею греческой культуры им. Бенаки в Афинах

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

Экскурсия по Национальной галерее г. Афины

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Экскурсия по Парку культуры фонда Ставроса Ниархоса в Афинах

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Экскурсия по Панафинейскому стадиону в Афинах

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Экскурсия по Государственному музею современного искусства в Афинах

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Восхитительный Одеон Ирода Аттического в Афинах

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Экскурсия по Музею греческой культуры им. Бенаки в Афинах

Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens is a gem of a museum and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the Goulandris Museum of Modern Art in Athens

Basil & Elise Goulandris Foundation, Photo © Christophoros Doulgeris
A gem of a museum – and a dream that was more than 30 years in the making – allows us to enjoy the biggest names in Contemporary Art under one Athens roof.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
1 - 2 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

Picasso, Van Gogh, Monet, Cezanne, El Greco, de Chirico, Miro, Degas, Gaugin, Pollock… What sounds like a check-list of many of the biggest names in Modern Art also happens to be one of the most extraordinary collections of artwork in the world. That it’s the private collection of an art-loving Greek couple on display in an Athens museum makes it all the more incredible.
 
You’ll find the Goulandris Museum of Modern Art fascinating and it’s an absolute must for art enthusiasts, whether you’re staying in Athens or you’re just passing through.

Part of the Basil and Elise Goulandris Foundation, it is a gift that was more than 30 years in the making. The ship-owning couple accumulated their collection mainly at auctions in London and New York and always dreamed of exhibiting it in Athens (the smaller Goulandris Museum of Contemporary Art in their native Andros has operated since 1979). The dream became a reality in October 2019 with the opening of this museum in a refurbished neoclassical building in up-and-coming Pangrati, near the Panathenaic Stadium, a neighbourhood once known for its lively arts scene.

You have to pinch yourself as you sweep through all the great pioneering movements of Contemporary Art – realism, impressionism, cubism, abstract… There are around 180 pieces of mainly 19th and 20th century international artists and a section dedicated to some of the biggest names in Greek art. 

With sculptures, a library and a collection of furniture completing the experience, it is likely to be the most unexpected treasure trove you’ll discover in Athens. 
 

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

The international masters

It’s hard to know where to begin, given all the mastery on display. Vincent Van Gogh’s Olive Picking stands out as it was one of only three he completed during his time at a psychiatric clinic in southern France, whilst Pablo Picasso’s Nude Woman with Raised Arms is one of the works that set him on a journey exploring cubism. Claude Monet spent long hours painting the same subject at different times of day and his Rouen Cathedral in the Morning (Pink Dominant) is regarded as one of the most complete paintings of the series, capturing the very first morning light. You’ll wonder at the surrealism of Joan Miró’s The Grasshopper and the colourful harmony of Wassily Kandinsky Both Striped. And don’t forget to pause and admire the rare yet masterful simplicity of Paul Cézanne’s late 19th-century Portrait of the Artist Looking Over His Shoulder and El Greco’s 16th-century Veil of St Veronica, depicting Christ on his way to crucifixion. There is also a collection of sketches of artists including Henri Matisse, Braque and Picasso, Balthus and Jean Fautrier.

Greek artists

Make sure you take the opportunity to discover some of Greece’s finest talent. Two of the most recognised are Yannis Tsarouchis, whose favoured motif of sailors is represented in the museum, and abstract artist Yannis Moralis, whose two works called Erotic are from 1977 and 1994 yet look like they were created within days of each other. Look out for A Wonderful Day (The Morning Cyclist) by Alekos Fassianos, a popular artist known for his idiosyncratic, figurative painting style, and Yannis Gaïtis’ Descent from the Cross. It belongs to a series known as Antiquities, created in protest against the commercialisation of antiquities. You’ll also enjoy the cubist influences in the entangled roofs, terrace rooms and triangular pediments of neoclassical buildings in Nikos Chatzikyriakos-Gikas’ Paris Rooftops.
 

Other exhibits

As well as paintings, you’ll have the chance to admire sculptures and other small objects. Auguste Rodin’s Eternal Springtime is recognised as a rare and very beautiful example of a Rodin sculpture representing a couple in love. Edgar Degas’ Little Dancer Aged Fourteen is the only sculpture Degas exhibited during his lifetime. Alberto Giacometti’s Femme de Venise V is a bronze cast of one of the famous ‘Women of Venice’ Giacometti created when he represented France for the Venice Biennale. And Giorgio de Chirico’s Troubadour I is a good example of the Italian artist’s use of mannequins to explore the theme of the metaphysical. There is also a hall dedicated to a collection of French furniture, of the most famous ébénistes, and other objects from the 18th century, as well as Chinese artwork made of jade or porcelain.

The cafe-restaurant

You can practically add the Goulandris Museum’s cafe-restaurant onto its list of exhibits. It is referred to as an ‘open, urban garden’, with a mouth-watering menu of creative Mediterranean dishes assembled by distinguished Greek chef Andreas Lagos. It t has a soothing yet wonderfully uplifting air in which to sit and contemplate the astonishing artwork you have just witnessed. 

The library

Those who want to delve even deeper can explore the museum's collection of more than 5,000 Greek, English and French books covering areas such as Theory and History of Art, Painting, Sculpture, Design, Engraving, Architecture and Decorative Arts. There are also catalogues of exhibitions and monographs of distinguished foreign and Greek artists, as well as publications of international museums and art institutions, periodicals of art, encyclopedias and art dictionaries.

Read More Read Less

From the airport 

  • By metro: Blue Line to Evangelismos station and then a 1km walk (15mins)
  • By car or taxi: 34km (30mins, approx. €38 during the day)

From Piraeus port

  • By metro: Green line to Monastiraki station and then Blue line to Syntagma Station and then 1.4km walk (20mins) or Evangelismos station and then a 550m walk (8mins)
  • By car or taxi: 14km, (30mins, approx. €25 during the day)
     

To get the most out of the experience visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll also most enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives and feel like a local.

  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • You could spend a couple of hours in the museum or much more. It’s a matter of how much time you have available and how much detail you want to go into. 
  • Most guided tours last 1-2 hours.
  • The entry fee includes an individual audio tour device with recorded information about the artwork.
  • The cafe-restaurant operates during museum opening times and you don’t need a ticket to enter. 
  • The museum runs workshops and activities for children
  • There is a museum shop and an e-shop here.
  • Depending on when you are in Athens, you may be lucky enough to attend one of the museum’s events (More info)
  • There is wheelchair access and the building has spacious lifts. Wheelchairs for people with reduced mobility are available free of charge. Entry for those with disabilities and the person accompanying them is free.
  • If you have a little more time, you can explore the surrounding area of Pangrati, which has interesting shops and places to eat.

Plan your trip

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of the artwork on display for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting museums.

Refrain from touching any of the artwork. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a ‘No flash photography’ sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the exhibits.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites and museums.
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
View from Lycabetus hill in Athens

Fill your lungs with the unexpected green spaces of Athens

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The cultural wealth of Athens revealed in a stroll

Sunset in Poros island

A day cruise to the islands close to Athens

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

A tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens

Streets of Plaka, Athens

Feeling the vibes of Athens around the Acropolis

Palaios Panteleiomonas is a centuries-old village whose inhabitants had chosen to relocate to the coast before returning to breathe new life into the village

Mythical village-hopping on the slopes of Mt Olympus

Τhe Temple of Demeter, the 6th-century BC sanctuary dedicated to the goddess of harvest and fertility

A tour of the Temple of Demeter on Naxos

View of Acropolis and Odeon of Herodes Atticus

The cultural wealth of Athens revealed in a stroll

You can appreciate the museum’s stature even before you enter, with its imposing 19th-century neoclassical facade

Journey through time at the National Archaeological Museum in Athens

The Museum of Cycladic Art presents us with artwork so elegant that it still influences fashion trends today

A tour of the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens