A tour of the National Gallery of Athens
EXPERIENCE

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

By nationalgallery.gr
Avec des peintures d'artistes grecs éminents, la Galerie nationale d'Athènes, fraîchement rénovée, est un incontournable pour les amateurs d'art qui visitent la ville. Elle retrace l'évolution de la Grèce moderne à travers l'art
Thrace region-id="pin-13"; Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Durée
2 - 3 heures
Par saison
Toute l’année

APERÇU

Une visite à la galerie nationale d’Athènes

La Galerie nationale est le musée qu'Athènes espérait. Il a été créé en 1900 mais son aspect actuel - dans un bâtiment ultramoderne et entièrement rénové qui a rouvert en 2021 - rend enfin justice à la richesse extraordinaire de ses expositions. 

Vous y trouverez le joyau occasionnel d'un maître européen (comme Rembrandt et Picasso), mais la véritable raison de votre visite est de témoigner de l'évolution de la Grèce moderne à travers les œuvres de ses artistes les plus éminents. 

Des années colorées de l'ère post-byzantine aux principaux événements et personnalités de la révolution de 1821 contre les Ottomans et à l'établissement de l'État grec moderne, l'histoire de la Grèce est représentée par des portraits, des natures mortes, des paysages et des scènes marines aux motifs historiques et mythologiques, ainsi que par des thèmes personnels des artistes. 

Plus de 1 000 œuvres sont réparties sur 21 000 m2 dans un décor minimaliste et chic, l'éclairage (en grande partie naturel) donnant souvent l'impression que les peintures sont presque lumineuses.

Vous découvrirez des œuvres de peintres grecs modernes de renom, parmi lesquels Dominikos Theotokopoulos (plus connu sous le nom d'El Greco), Nicos Engonopoulos, Yiannis Moralis, Iakovos Rizos, Kostas Tsoklis Giorgos, Gounaropoulos, Giorgos Iakovidis, Evripidis Koutlidis et Alekos Fassianos, ainsi que ceux qui figurent dans la liste des "A ne pas rater" ci-dessous - bien qu'il ne soit pas nécessaire d'être un passionné pour apprécier leur beauté ou leur importance

Lire la suite Read Less

A NE PAS RATER

Street Market (1979-1982) de Panayiotis Tetsis 

L'exposition commence dans le hall du musée avec un triptyque de 15 mètres de long, débordant de couleurs, de bruits et d'arômes d'un marché du centre-ville d'Athènes, peint dans le style post-impressionniste caractéristique de l'artiste. C'est une scène qui montre que la Galerie nationale d'Athènes est ouverte à tous.

Portrait de Mme Serpieri (1869) par Nikephoros Lytras  

Surnommé "le père de la peinture grecque moderne", Lytras était l'un des favoris du roi Othon et de la reine Amalia et son portrait du couple royal est l'une de ses œuvres phares. Cependant, c'est ce portrait grandeur nature de l'épouse d'un industriel grec qui lui a valu d'être remarqué par la nouvelle bourgeoisie d'Athènes - notamment grâce à son cadre luxueux en or fabriqué en France. 

Sur la terrasse (1897) par Iakovos Rizos  

Rizos, qui a fait ses études à Paris, évoque l'esprit de la Belle Époque dans cette vision romantique d'aristocrates athéniens de la fin du 19ème siècle se prélassant sur le balcon d'une maison néoclassique de Plaka, avec l'Acropole resplendissante en arrière-plan.

Les fiançailles des enfants (1877) par Nikolaos Gyzis 

Cette peinture à l'huile représente la coutume des familles grecques qui engageaient leurs jeunes enfants à se marier à l'époque ottomane (peut-être pour les protéger des intérêts des Turcs). Le garçon regarde sa bague avec curiosité tandis que le prêtre s'adresse à la fille et que les familles regardent avec satisfaction.

Le Christ (vers 1900) de Konstantinos Parthenis 

Le thème de cette monumentale peinture à l'huile circulaire - représentant un Christ en deuil portant une couronne d'épines - est renforcé par l'émotion représentée dans les couleurs (un spectre de bleus se fondant dans le jaune à la place d'un halo) et les yeux regardant vers le ciel.

Composition (1975) de Yannis Gaitis

Nous passons ensuite au pop art des années 1970 avec les figures stylisées caractéristiques de Yannis Gaitis, rassemblées en foule pour représenter la société de consommation de masse et habillées aux couleurs du drapeau grec.

Peinture murale (1932) de Fotis Kontoglou

Cette peinture murale géante n'a jamais été destinée à être dévoilée au public, puisqu'elle recouvrait à l'origine le mur de la maison de l'artiste. Elle est peinte dans un style d'église post-byzantine, avec des sections représentant des épisodes importants de sa vie, notamment une représentation du Panthéon des personnages qu'il admirait (Homère, Pythagore, Hérodote, Plutarque, etc.), de sa femme et de sa fille, ainsi que de ses plus grandes peurs.

Le studio (1960) de Nikos Hatzikyriakos-Ghika  

Dans son style post-cubiste idiosyncratique, Ghika nous donne un aperçu de son espace de travail, comprenant des meubles et des équipements qui faisaient partie de sa vie quotidienne. Dans un style en partie inspiré de Picasso, pas un seul espace est négligé

Bonus: 1821 en peinture

Un certain nombre d'expositions permanentes et temporaires se sont réunies pour commémorer le bicentenaire de la guerre d'indépendance de la Grèce contre les Ottomans, représentant certains des événements et des personnalités les plus emblématiques de l'histoire grecque moderne. Parmi celles-ci, citons l'épisode de la guerre d'indépendance grecque de 1856 d'Eugène Delacroix (montrant un soldat à cheval sur le champ de bataille, vêtu d'un kilt blanc flottant "foustanella", d'une ceinture noire et d'un gilet brodé) et le Massacre de Chios de 1824 (illustrant les horreurs de l'un des épisodes les plus brutaux de la guerre). 

Les tableaux de Theodoros Vryzakis comprennent L'exode de Missolonghi, 1853 (montrant les habitants en fuite attaqués par les Turcs qui cherchent à se venger de leur défaite dans la ville quelques mois plus tôt), L'accueil de Lord Byron à Missolonghi, 1861 (montrant l'arrivée du poète romantique anglais qui a perdu la vie en combattant avec les Grecs en 1824) et La Grèce exprimant sa gratitude, 1858 (une allégorie mythologique de la nation, enfin libérée). Quant à l'œuvre de Nikolaos Gyzis, Après la destruction de Psara, ca 1869-1898, elle met en scène les dirigeants révolutionnaires Giorgos Kolokotronis, Alexandros Mavrokordatos et Andreas Miaoulis ainsi que le lieutenant bavarois et philhellène Karl Krazeisen.

Lire la suite Read Less

Réservez votre voyage

beat-the-crowds-acropolis-afternoon-tour-logo
Group

Beat the crowds acropolis afternoon tour

2 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
62 Avis
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 72 hours in advance for a full refund
The afternoon hours are perfect to visit the greatest landmark in Athens. As the crowds have thinned and the summer heat has eased, you'll visit...
athens-street-art-tour-logo
Group

Athens Street Art Tour

3 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
425 Avis
Free cancellation
Until 73 hours prior to scheduled commencement date of service: no cancellation fee
Athens' street art scene is one of Europe’s hottest, home to local and international street artists alike. Join us in this alternative art tour with...

Comment se rendre à la Galerie nationale d'Athènes ?

  • Le musée se trouve au 50 avenue Vasileos Konstantinou (près de l'avenue Vasilissis Sofias) dans le quartier de Pangrati à Athènes. Il se trouve à 200 mètres de la station de métro Evangelismos (ligne bleue).

Quel est le meilleur moyen de rejoindre le centre d'Athènes depuis l'aéroport ou le port ?

  • Vous pouvez prendre un taxi (environ 38 € durant la journée) ou un bus, ou louer une voiture à l'aéroport international d'Athènes, ou prendre le métro directement pour le centre (ligne bleue). 
  • Il y a également des taxis (25 € durant la journée), des bus et une station de métro (ligne verte) au port du Pirée (changement pour la ligne bleue à Monastiraki). En fonction de votre quai de ferry, la station de métro se trouve à 15-20 minutes de marche.

Quelle est la meilleure période de l'année pour visiter Athènes ?

  • Pour profiter au maximum d'Athènes, il est préférable de s'y rendre entre octobre et avril, lorsque la foule estivale est moins dense et que vous pourrez profiter de la compagnie des Athéniens dans leur quotidien.

 Quels sont les horaires d'ouverture de la Galerie nationale d'Athènes ?

  • Le musée est ouvert tous les jours (sauf le mardi et certains jours fériés), toute l'année. 
  • Les billets coûtent 10 € (5 € en tarif réduit).
  • Plus d'informations sur les heures d'ouverture et les billets ici 

De combien de temps auriez-vous besoin à la Galerie nationale d'Athènes ?

  • Vous pouvez passer 2 à 3 heures dans le musée ou beaucoup plus. Tout dépend du temps dont vous disposez et de la profondeur de votre visite.
  • Il y a une boutique de souvenirs à la réception qui est ouverte de 10h00 à 17h30.
  • Des écrans tactiles sont disponibles à l'entrée et donnent toutes les informations dont vous aurez besoin pour profiter au maximum du musée.
  • Des expositions temporaires sont régulièrement organisées en plus de la collection permanente.
  • Le café Ilissos, au rez-de-chaussée, dispose de tables dans la cour et, au dernier étage, vous trouverez le café-restaurant Parthenis, qui offre une vue panoramique sur l'Acropole et la colline de Lycabettus. 
  • Le musée est entièrement accessible aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite. 
  • Une bibliothèque, répartie sur deux étages, propose une vaste collection de livres sur l'art moderne grec et européen.
  • La Galerie nationale possède environ 20 000 œuvres d'art, pour la plupart en dépôt. Certaines sont également exposées dans des musées annexes à Athènes et dans le reste de la Grèce. Parmi les musées annexes, citons le Glyptothèque national de Goudi (sculptures), la Galerie nationale - Département de Nauplie (consacrée à la révolution de 1821), l'annexe de Kerkyra (Corfou (avec une collection permanente d'art grec moderne) et le Musée Kapralou à Égine (à la mémoire du sculpteur Christos Kapralos).

VOYAGEZ RESPONSABLE

Aidez-nous à préserver la magie des œuvres d'art exposées pour les générations futures en respectant les règles de base de la visite des musées.

Ne touchez pas les vestiges ou les monuments. Les huiles naturellement sécrétées par les doigts peuvent endommager les artéfacts.
Utilisez les poubelles mises à votre disposition et si besoin, gardez vos déchets jusqu’à ce que vous en trouviez une.
Si vous voyez une pancarte interdisant de photographier avec flash, merci de la respecter. C’est une mesure destinée à la protection des artéfacts.
Optez pour une bouteille d’eau réutilisable, afin de minimiser l’utilisation du plastique.
Les animaux domestiques (autres que les chiens guides) ne sont pas autorisés dans les sites culturels et les musées.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

Stay connected with Greece

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

Bleecker bag Alphabet blue

25€
Hoop earrings

Thassos Marble hoop earrings

200€
The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron

Le Palais de la musique d'Athènes (Mégaron)

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

Une visite au centre culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos à Athènes

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

Visite du musée Benaki de la culture grecque à Athènes

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

Le spectacle de l’Odéon d’Hérodes Atticus à Athènes

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

Un tour au stade Panathénaïque d’Athènes

National Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Musée National d’art Contemporain d’Athènes

You’ll find plenty more examples of Tinos’ famed marblework in the windows and doors, as you wander the streets of Pyrgos

Explorez les plus beaux villages de Tinos

The Arkadi Monastery in Rethymno has an architecture and history that will captivate you

Visite du monastère d'Arkadi en Crète

The Atrium of the Muses in the gardens of the Athens Megaron

Le Palais de la musique d'Athènes (Mégaron)

Minoan Palace of Phaistos Festos, Crete

Découvrez le Palais minoen de Phaistos en Crète

Finikas Ave. - Neratzia Castle, Kos, Greece

Une promenade dans sites culturels de la ville de Kos

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens
EXPERIENCE

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens

By nationalgallery.gr
With paintings by prominent Greek artists, the stunningly refurbished National Gallery of Athens is a must for art lovers visiting the city, tracing the evolution of modern Greece through art.
Thrace region-id="pin-13";Macedonia Macedonia Epirus Thessaly Sporades Ionian Islands Western Greece Central Greece Attica Peloponnese Crete Cyclades North Aegean Islands Dodecanese Dodecanese Karpathos Astypalea Tilos Sitia Faistos - Matala Patmos Kastelorizo Kasos Kos Leros Halki Rhodes Symi Sfakia - Loutro Rethymno Elounda - Agios Nikolaos Agia Galini Plakias Hersonissos - Malia Ierapetra Heraklion Chania Nisyros Ikaria Lipsi Tzia - Kea Thasos Samos Lesvos Samothrace Limnos Chios Kalymnos Paros Naxos Zante - Zakynthos Lefkada Corfu Santorini Milos Kythnos Kimolos Serifos Syros Sifnos Koufonisia Ios Kefalonia Mykonos Paxi Ithaca Arta Ioannina Tinos Parga - Sivota Metsovo Anafi Sikinos Folegandros Donousa - Iraklia - Schinoussa Antiparos Zagori Mountainous Arkadia Porto Heli - Ermioni Preveza Amorgos Andros Delos Messolongi Ancient Olympia Aegina Kythira Archea Epidavros Patra Nafplio Kardamyli Kalamata Ilia Corinth Western Messinia Kalavryta Elafonissos Nafpaktos Spetses Poros Hydra Alexandroupolis Pylos Mycenae Monemvasia Loutraki Piraeus Athens Arahova Xanthi Galaxidi Mystra - Sparta Mani Edipsos Karpenisi Delphi Chalkida Karystos Evia Skyros Vergina Alonissos Volos Karditsa Skopelos Skiathos Kastoria Thessaloniki Prespes Agios Athanasios Edessa Serres Veria Larissa - Tempi Elati - Pertouli Trikala Pelion Meteora Drama Ammouliani Mount Athos - Ouranopolis Nymfeo Mount Olympos Katerini Halkidiki Grevena Lake Kerkini Naoussa Kozani Kilkis Kavala Pella Lake Plastira
Duration
2 - 3 hours
Season
All year round

OVERVIEW

A tour of the National Gallery of Athens 

The National Gallery is the museum Athens was waiting for. It was established in 1900 but its current incarnation – in an ultra-modern, fully refurbished building reopened in 2021 – finally does justice to the extraordinary wealth of its exhibits. 

You’ll find the occasional gem by a European master (such as Rembrandt and Picasso) but the real reason for visiting is to witness the evolution of modern Greece through the works of its most prominent artists. 

From the colourful post-Byzantine years to key moments and personalities of the 1821 revolution against the Ottomans and the establishment of the modern Greek state, Greece’s history is depicted in portraits, still lifes and landscapes & seascapes with historical and mythological motifs, as well as personal themes of the artists. 
More than 1,000 works are spread across 21,000m2 amidst decor that is minimalist and chic, with the lighting (much of it natural) often giving the impression that the paintings are almost luminous. 

You’ll be introduced to works by the best-known modern Greek painters – amongst them Dominikos Theotokopoulos (better known as El Greco), Nicos Engonopoulos, Yiannis Moralis, Iakovos Rizos, Kostas Tsoklis Giorgos, Gounaropoulos, Giorgos Iakovidis, Evripidis Koutlidis and Alekos Fassianos, as well as those in the Don’t Miss highlights below – although you certainly don’t need to be an aficionado to appreciate their beauty or significance.

Read More Read Less

DON'T MISS

Street Market (1979-1982) by Panayiotis Tetsis 

The exhibition starts in the museum lobby with a 15m long triptych bursting with the colours, noises, and aromas of a downtown Athens marketplace, painted in the artist’s characteristic post-Impressionistic style. It’s a scene that says that Athens’ National Gallery is open to everyone. 

Portrait of Mrs. Serpieri (1869) by Nikephoros Lytras 

Known as ‘the father of modern Greek painting’, Lytras was a favourite of King Otto and Queen Amalia and his portrait of the royal couple is his defining work. However, it was this larger-the-life portrait of the wife of a Greek industrialist that got him noticed by Athens’ newly formed Bourgeoisie – even more so given the super-opulent gold frame made in France. 

On the Terrace (1897) by Iakovos Rizos 

Paris-educated Rizos evokes the spirit of the Belle Epoque in this romanticised vision of late-19th-century Athenian aristocrats lounging on a balcony of a neoclassic house in Plaka, with the Acropolis resplendent in the background. 

The Betrothal of the Children (1877) by Nikolaos Gyzis 

The custom of Greek families engaging young children to be married during Ottoman times (possibly to protect them from the interests of Turks) is represented in this oil painting. The boy looks quizzically at his ring whilst the priest addresses the girl and the families look on in satisfaction. 

Christ (ca 1900) by Konstantinos Parthenis 

The theme of this monumental circular oil painting – depicting a mournful Christ wearing a thorny crown – is enhanced by the emotion portrayed in the colours (a spectrum of blues merging with yellow in place of a halo) and eyes gazing up at heaven.

Composition (1975) by Yannis Gaitis

You move on to 1970s pop art next with Yannis Gaitis’ characteristic stylised figures, gathered crowd-like to depict mass consumer society and dressed in the colours of the Greek flag. 

Wall Painting (1932) by Fotis Kontoglou

This giant wall painting was never intended for public display, having originally lined the wall of the artist’s house. It is painted in a post-Byzantine church style, with sections depicting aspects central to his life, including a Pantheon of figures he admired (Homer, Pythagoras, Herodotus, Plutarch etc), his wife and daughter and depictions of his greatest fears. 

The Studio (1960) by Nikos Hatzikyriakos-Ghika 

In his idiosyncratic post-cubist style, Ghika gives us an insight into his workspace, including furniture and equipment that were part of his daily life. Not a single space is left unused in a style in part inspired by Picasso. 

Bonus: 1821 in Painting

A number of permanent and temporary exhibits gathered to commemorate the bicentennial anniversary of Greece’s War of Independence against the Ottomans, representing some of the most iconic events and personalities of modern Greek history. Amongst them are Eugène Delacroix’s Episode from the Greek War of Independence, 1856 (showing a mounted soldier on the battlefield, wearing a flowing white ‘foustanella’ kilt, black sash belt and embroidered waistcoat) and The Massacre at Chios, 1824 (capturing the horrors of one of the war’s most brutal episodes). 

Theodoros Vryzakis’ paintings include The Exodus from Missolonghi, 1853 (showing fleeing residents under attack by Turks seeking revenge for losing control of the city some months earlier), The Reception of Lord Byron at Missolonghi, 1861 (capturing the arrival of the English romantic poet who lost his life fighting with the Greeks in 1824) and Greece Expressing Gratitude, 1858 (a mythological allegory of the nation, finally liberated). Meanwhile, Nikolaos Gyzis’ After the Destruction of Psara, ca 1869-1898 portrays revolutionary leaders Giorgos Kolokotronis, Alexandros Mavrokordatos and Andreas Miaoulis as well as Bavarian lieutenant and Philhellene Karl Krazeisen. 

Read More Read Less

Book your trip

All your holiday planning needs in one place, letting you book direct and benefit from official online rates

athens-street-art-tour-logo
Group

Athens Street Art Tour

3 hours
  • star-1
  • star-2
  • star-3
  • star-4
  • star-5
375 Reviews
Athens' street art scene is one of Europe’s hottest, home to local and international street artists alike. Join us in this alternative art tour with...

How do you get to the National Gallery of Athens?

  • The museum is found at 50 Vasileos Konstantinou Ave (near Vasilissis Sofias Ave) in the Pangrati neighbourhood of Athens. It is a 200m walk from Evangelismos metro station (blue line).

What is the best way to reach central Athens from the airport or port?

  • You can catch a taxi (about €38 during the day) or bus, or hire a car from Athens International Airport, or take the metro directly to the centre (blue line). 
  • There are also taxis (€25 during the day), buses, and a metro station (green line) at Piraeus port (change to the blue line at Monastiraki). Depending on your ferry gate, it could be a 15-20min walk to the metro station. 

What is the best time of year to visit Athens?

  • To get the most out of Athens, it is best to visit between October-April when the summer crowds have thinned and you’ll enjoy the company of Athenians going about their daily lives.

 What are the opening times of the National Gallery of Athens?

  • The museum is open daily (except Tuesdays and some national holidays) all year round. 
  • Tickets cost €10 (€5 reduced).
  • More information on opening hours & tickets: here
  • Autumn
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter

How much time do you need at the National Gallery of Athens?

  • You could spend 2-3 hours in the museum or much more. It’s a matter of how much time you have available and how much detail you want to go into. 
  • There is a gift store by the reception that is open from 10:00-17:30.
  • Touchscreens are available by the entrance giving all the information you need to get the most of the museum.
  • There are regular temporary exhibitions in addition to the permanent collection.
  • The Ilissos Cafe on the ground floor has courtyard tables and on the top floor you will find the Parthenis Cafe-Restaurant, with panoramic views of the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill. 
  • The museum is fully accessible to visitors with mobility difficulties. 
  • There is a library spread over two floors with a wide collection of books on Greek and European modern art.
  • The National Gallery possesses around 20,000 pieces of art, mostly held in storage. Some are also exhibited in satellite museums in Athens and around Greece. Annexe museums include the National Glyptoteque in Goudi (sculptures), the National Gallery - Department of Nafplio (dedicated to the 1821 revolution), the Kerkyra (Corfu) Annex, (with a permanent collection of modern Greek art) and the Kapralou Museum in Aegina (in memory of sculptor Christos Kapralos).

TRAVEL RESPONSIBLY

Please help us preserve the magic of our heritage for future generations by following all the basic rules of visiting museums.

Refrain from touching any remains or monuments. The fingers’ natural oils can be extremely damaging to artefacts.
Use the bins provided or, if need be, take your rubbish with you.
If there’s a “No flash photography” sign, please respect it. It’s to protect the exhibits.
Use a refillable water bottle to try to minimise your use of plastic.
No pets (other than guide dogs) are allowed in cultural sites.
Read More Read Less
YOU NEED TO KNOW ·

See also

You might be interested in
Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

It’s worth timing your visit to coincide with the sunset

A visit to the magical Temple of Poseidon at Sounion

A stroll around the cultural landmarks of Kos town

Stavros Niarchos Foundation in Athens

A tour of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens

Benaki Museum of Greek Culture

A tour of the Benaki Museum of Greek Culture in Athens

National Museum of Contemporary Art

A tour of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens

The Herodion (as it’s commonly called) is one of the most striking Athens monuments and one of the world’s oldest functioning theatres

The spectacle of the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens

A tour of the Panathenaic Stadium in Athens